View Full Version : The Cricket Thread
Pages :
[
19]
Spudulika
15/03/2015, 11:10 AM
Well they did ok at the world cup - but they will be booking flights tonight - they battling not good enough today - and the bowling is just not fast enough!
I heard this all the time from Aussie colleagues, the difference between our tier and the 1st class bunch is fast bowling. Bangladesh sorted theirs out a bit, but we don't have a consistent paceman who can really do the business. Issue I guess is that anyone who is anyone will go to England first.
16/03/2015, 2:07 AM
Well they did ok at the world cup - but they will be booking flights tonight - they battling not good enough today - and the bowling is just not fast enough!
The batting has always been sub standard, as long as I can remember. Including the shorter version, we've gone out of the 4 of the last 5 WC's on NRR. Put simply, we don't score enough and concede too many. Setting targets is a persistent issue. We get behind the going rate, then panic trying to make it up and therefore lose cheap wickets. If we're lucky, someone might scrape a 100, the top teams often get two hundreds per innings. There's the difference.
There's also been a fair amount of dropped catches at crucial points, that have cost up to 100 runs per drop. That's completely unacceptable at this level.
So it's the long trek home. As the ICC would rather us not play in the world cup, there will be plenty of time to reflect and rebuild. The next time around, our game has to be much better to show them that we should be there ahead of those who take their place in it for granted.
Wolfman
16/03/2015, 6:49 PM
http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015/content/story/851003.html
Real ale Madrid
28/03/2015, 7:33 PM
Well, who is getting up for this?
Real ale Madrid
30/03/2015, 10:50 AM
So much for all the cricket lovers. Pity NZ couldn't make more of a game of it.
30/03/2015, 1:06 PM
It was all set up for Australia to win it really. Fitting tribute to Phil Hughes too.
swinfordfc
30/03/2015, 2:57 PM
Ireland got a mention on the BBC page as twm of the tournament as we beat 2 test nation sides so fair play to all involved in the set up - its a pity that the ICC are most interested in just keeping cricket just for the 10 test nations side and not trying to expand the sport! Dont think we see us at a world cup again!
Real ale Madrid
30/03/2015, 3:21 PM
Ireland got a mention on the BBC page as twm of the tournament as we beat 2 test nation sides so fair play to all involved in the set up - its a pity that the ICC are most interested in just keeping cricket just for the 10 test nations side and not trying to expand the sport! Dont think we see us at a world cup again!
Whats stopping us from qualifying for the next tournament?
The Qualifying tournament is in 2018 and will comprise of countries ranked 9-12 in the world - currently Zimbabwe / Bangladesh / Ireland / Afghanistan and 2 probably from Scotland / Netherlands / UAE / Kenya.
A six team tournament where we should be well capable of getting into the top 2. Need to stop crying over this and just qualify.
swinfordfc
31/03/2015, 11:27 AM
Whats stopping us from qualifying for the next tournament?
The Qualifying tournament is in 2018 and will comprise of countries ranked 9-12 in the world - currently Zimbabwe / Bangladesh / Ireland / Afghanistan and 2 probably from Scotland / Netherlands / UAE / Kenya.
A six team tournament where we should be well capable of getting into the top 2. Need to stop crying over this and just qualify.
It's going to be held in Bangladesh in the heat so thats a big plus for them - they probably qualified because of this so that leaves one place to fight 5 teams ..... chances not great in fairest ....... I dont like the chances! I not crying about it .... just telling it as i see it!
03/05/2015, 10:03 PM
Great three day Test in Barbados.
08/05/2015, 10:23 AM
I see there's a one day "friendly" Irl v Eng @ Malahide.
Looks cold out there, England on top, Irl are under pressure 27-2, 8 overs played, the good news is that rain is forecast in 21 minutes.
08/05/2015, 11:23 AM
Rain stopped play already. Expected it, difficult to see if much more of the match will be played at all.
Probably a good thing for Ireland after a poor start. 56-4 after 18 overs.
TheBoss
08/05/2015, 6:14 PM
I have posted about this before, why do the Irish Cricket Union always want to play games in May, we always get rain in May, it is too risky to schedule games at this time of year, they should be looking at end of June, July, August, that's when we get a "summer" even if it is cloudy.
12/05/2015, 11:09 AM
There probably wasn't a window to play England at any other time. We kinda have to grin and bear it.
ICU handled it well and have offered tickets to other games in lieu of the English game.
02/06/2015, 1:06 PM
Such a shame that cricket is so vulnerable to the weather. Bank holiday Monday. Couch at the ready. Great series between England and NZ. Excelllent morning as NZ hit England to all parts of the ground and Eng openers hold firm. Riveting viewing in the afternoon? Alas the rain comes down and Sky have to go in to their vaults to produce substitute entertainment. :( I suppose I better do the vacuuming for a few brownie points but not the preferred option.
swinfordfc
04/06/2015, 12:49 PM
Ireland have to try to bowl out UAE today as bad weather is promise tomorrow - have got 2 - need another 8 today!
Real ale Madrid
18/06/2015, 11:54 AM
Great series between England and NZ.
Delighted to see an Eoin Morgan led England turn things around so dramatically in the series - he hit 113 yesterday while England chased down 350 with ease. Series decider on Saturday.
27/07/2015, 1:15 PM
Strange to have a cricket tournament in Ireland, with the weather and all that, but so it was with Ireland finishing 3rd, being well beaten by the Dutch in the semi-final. But at least the main aim was achieved with us qualifying for the 20/20 World Cup in India in 2016.
Crosby87
14/01/2016, 4:41 PM
Some cricket guy named Kieran Powell is trying out for MLB teams including the Mets and Yankees. But he is already 25...he must be high.
22/02/2016, 3:07 PM
What sort of accent has Eoghan Morgan now? It's a real hybrid of Dublin, England and Australian.
24/02/2016, 8:48 AM
I think it's back to being called Irish born Eoin, after his team endured "the most one sided spell in t20 history", in their final match of a 10 tour of SA which was "10 days too long"
In the penultimate match, I truly felt a heartbreak hotel moment for Eoin when SA needed 2 runs from the last ball to win and got it after going for broke, some English player fumbled the ball and missed a dead cert run-out.
Tragic stuff indeed :)
24/02/2016, 9:13 AM
Will they not keep him until the World T20 Cup which is coming up? He is being lambasted again for not singing GSTQ http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/cricket/piers-morgan-lambasts-irishman-eoin-morgan-for-not-singing-british-national-anthem-34472432.html
24/02/2016, 12:06 PM
Will they not keep him until the World T20 Cup which is coming up? He is being lambasted again for not singing GSTQ http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/cricket/piers-morgan-lambasts-irishman-eoin-morgan-for-not-singing-british-national-anthem-34472432.html
One needs to qualify "he is being lambasted" with "by Piers Morgan".
25/02/2016, 8:19 PM
The sledging must have been truly off the scale if Australian David Warner was provoked enough to call it vulgar and derogatary (http://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/35657340).
09/03/2016, 3:31 PM
Ireland in serious bother against Oman in the first T20 WC game. Just taken a first wicket as I type this..
09/03/2016, 3:40 PM
Opening partnership gone now and the run rate dropping rapidly. Think Ireland will salvage this.
09/03/2016, 3:48 PM
A big third wicket there too. The next two or three overs will be massive.
09/03/2016, 4:30 PM
Literally tossed it away. Some unforgivable bowling in the last four overs.
09/03/2016, 4:31 PM
Made a complete balls of it. Nobody to blame but themselves. Massive uphill battle to make the next phase now.
09/03/2016, 4:33 PM
Made a complete balls of it. Nobody to blame but themselves. Massive uphill battle to make the next phase now.
It's a massive uphill battle to win either of their matches. The next phase isn't a realistic thing to think about.
09/03/2016, 4:47 PM
Didn't see it but to lose to Oman is a disaster for Irish cricket.
09/03/2016, 5:12 PM
I didn't know this t20 was on, glad I wasn't following it.
Is it a disaster for Irish cricket Owls?
09/03/2016, 5:32 PM
Was watching it on and off between work, left it when they were 91/5 or something, how the hell did they lose that, came back when they had 10 balls left, even that last one where the ball went through his legs, ffs. Jesus.
11/03/2016, 2:39 PM
After a nervy couple hours, Bangladesh game about to get underway in a reduced 12 over match due to rain. Massive game, and definitely right decision to go in bowling this time.
11/03/2016, 5:13 PM
eh no.......looks like they weren't going to do much anyway.....
11/03/2016, 11:43 PM
eh no.......looks like they weren't going to do much anyway.....
Jesus it was absolutely shocking altogether again. Probably a blessing in disguise that it was abandoned as they were about to get their arses handed to them.
swinfordfc
14/03/2016, 12:53 PM
Irish cricket is finished ....... Poterfield should not be captain and def should not be batting 1st!
14/03/2016, 9:41 PM
Irish cricket is finished ....... Poterfield should not be captain and def should not be batting 1st!
Definitely, and so slow, jesus its 20 20 speed it up a bit. Why are all the irish lads carrying the extra weight as well. Crikey.....
20/03/2016, 10:33 PM
What is fundamentally damaging to Irish cricket and sincere efforts to develop cricket in Ireland are the determined efforts by the world cricket authorities to sabotage the development of cricket in the associate countries.
Who can forget the first OD wc ireland were in when cricket hit the sporting consciousness of a nation, in that thriller against Zimbabwe in Jamaica, or that match against Pakistan?
The cricket team captained by Trent johnson were voted team of the year in an rte poll. Maybe that didn't register in world cricket as they reduced the qualification criteria to make it virtually impossible for an associate to ever play at a world cup again. A closed top 10 cricket club, similar to what they have in 6 nation rugby, is anathema to the fundamental ethos of sport. What cricket player will sacrifice 4 years just to have virtually no chance to play at the world cup'
21/03/2016, 2:02 PM
I didn't know this t20 was on, glad I wasn't following it.
Is it a disaster for Irish cricket Owls?
Financially it must be. Not to get through to the main group stage must have cost the ICU a fortune in relative terms, although I don't have the figures to hand.
04/04/2016, 12:19 PM
Cracking T20 final yesterday. I thought England had done enough after 19 overs.
04/04/2016, 12:22 PM
What is fundamentally damaging to Irish cricket and sincere efforts to develop cricket in Ireland are the determined efforts by the world cricket authorities to sabotage the development of cricket in the associate countries.
I think they have copped on to some extent now though. For example
http://www.cricbuzz.com/cricket-news/78281/international-cricket-council-mulls-two-division-format-for-test-cricket-after-2019-world-cup
04/04/2016, 8:34 PM
Wasnt a bad world cup all the same, pity about Ireland but the Windies are always a joy to watch.....
05/04/2016, 2:54 PM
Cracking T20 final yesterday. I thought England had done enough after 19 overs.
"Let's bowl at his legs. Oh dear that has gone for 6. I know, let's try again. Oh dear, that's also gone for 6. Hmmm, I think I'll bowl at his legs. Aghhh, that's gone for 6. Bet he can't do that 4 times in a row.......".
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Albert Einstein
Felt for Morgan. He must be devastated as his place in the team is at risk.
07/04/2016, 10:36 AM
Felt for Morgan. He must be devastated as his place in the team is at risk.
On the other hand, it might be the kick he needs to bring him back into the Irish setup.
19/08/2016, 9:24 AM
Biggest drubbing in a long time :( Pakistan 337/6 (47) Ireland 82/10 (23.4)
19/08/2016, 3:57 PM
What has been happening to our team at all of late? We just seem to be drifting?
ForzaForth
30/08/2016, 8:47 AM
Am I just dreaming, or is there a cricket pitch visible from the NII in Co. Wicklow, on the opposite side of the road from Lil Doyle's pub? Noticed it while driving up to the Bohs match last night. Thanks for any information.
30/08/2016, 1:04 PM
Am I just dreaming, or is there a cricket pitch visible from the NII in Co. Wicklow, on the opposite side of the road from Lil Doyle's pub? Noticed it while driving up to the Bohs match last night. Thanks for any information.
That'll be Peter Savill's gaff in in Wickla.
Oak Hill CC:
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/international-cricket-grounds-future-uncertain-after-noise-dispute-with-neighbours-29236214.html
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/midsummer-day-s-dream-a-real-picture-1.1267970
http://www.independent.ie/regionals/wicklowpeople/news/millionaires-dream-brings-topclass-cricket-to-wicklow-27839946.html
https://www.google.ie/maps/place/Oak+Hill+Cricket+Ground/@52.9306166,-6.1043181,2013m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m5!3m4!1s0x0:0xab2c26b911c18f52!8m2 !3d52.9293822!4d-6.1017728
30/08/2016, 1:34 PM
Yep, played there a couple of times :)