View Full Version : The Cricket Thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

05/05/2010, 10:12 PM
You can, he switched over in order to gain more money for himself rather than play for the nation that trained him, coached him, made him become an international for his country. Where would he be if there was no Ireland cricket team, he is spitting in the face of Irish cricket, how is this a good example to young players in Ireland when your best players change allegiance. If he never played for Ireland, I could accept more, but the fact is, he played for Ireland. When he was growing up, did he want to play for England, I think not. On his basis, he should be supporting England in other sports now, since he proved that he is no Irish man.

[Rant over :D]

Sorry Boss dont agree here, what has Cricket got to do with his nationality, remember its still only a game, and IMHO he is entitled to opt for whatever situation benefits himself

09/05/2010, 10:30 AM
I read in the paper today that Ed Joyce is coming back to play for Ireland. Anyone know when this is happening?

TheBoss
09/05/2010, 2:07 PM
As far as I know, he has to wait until April 2011 before he can come back, as does another player who wants to play for them, Hamish Marshall, he has played for New Zealand but can qualify for Ireland due to having an Irish Passport, he also has to wait until April 2011, both players will look for dispensation from the ICC in order to join them in the next few months.

samhaydenjr
24/05/2010, 9:31 PM
I read in the paper today that Ed Joyce is coming back to play for Ireland. Anyone know when this is happening?

RTE have confirmed that Ed Joyce plans to play for Ireland again and that Cricket Ireland are going to seek special dispensation for Joyce to play at the 2011 World Cup - http://www.rte.ie/sport/cricket/2010/0524/joycee.html

25/05/2010, 9:00 AM
yes its true Ed Joyce is returning to Irish cricket , thats fantastic news for us and will help us push onto another level.

TheBoss
25/05/2010, 1:34 PM
I think it is a farce of a rule, he may help the team progress a bit but the rule is a joke.

27/05/2010, 10:41 AM
Morgan gets his first test cap for England today.

27/05/2010, 12:40 PM
I think it is a farce of a rule, he may help the team progress a bit but the rule is a joke.

ye it is in truth

27/05/2010, 12:42 PM
Morgan gets his first test cap for England today.

Fair play to the lad a world class player lets hope he performs at test level though. The key to his succes is all the hurling he played when he was younger its given him the ability to play some ridiculously good shots.

27/05/2010, 1:03 PM
The key to his succes is all the hurling he played when he was younger

same with pietersen I believe

ArdeeBhoy
27/05/2010, 11:48 PM
More interesting than the latest recruit to "ROTW" 'S 'B' team at Lords is that the Aussie team are going to have a warm-up knockabout at Croke before the ODI next(?) month v. Ireland in Clontarf.....

Just a shame we can't play there, but the crowd would be more lost than a Carlow v.Leitrim game??

29/05/2010, 9:58 AM
same with pietersen I believe

Sure KP never played hurling.... did he?

rebelarmyexile
16/06/2010, 8:00 PM
Tarf all set for tomorrow. Live on Setanta from 10.30am. Sold Out yesterday 4,500.

Headed down for a pint earlier and to have a look.

The place is looking great, reminds me of 1999 World Cup.

Here a few photos of the preparations

http://gi348.photobucket.com/groups/q331/P721R0Z539/P1050059.jpg

http://gi348.photobucket.com/groups/q331/P721R0Z539/P1050060.jpg

http://gi348.photobucket.com/groups/q331/P721R0Z539/P1050071.jpg

TheBoss
16/06/2010, 11:25 PM
Looks great !

Good man Ricky !!
http://www.cricinfo.com/ireland/content/current/story/463398.html

17/06/2010, 1:06 PM
Australia Innings
231 for 9 (50.0 overs)

TheBoss
17/06/2010, 1:35 PM
Good effort, think it is a bit too far for Ireland to get even at their best.

Real ale Madrid
17/06/2010, 2:12 PM
Cracking start for Ireland tho, 42-0 from just 4 overs !

Maybe in with a shout ?

17/06/2010, 2:22 PM
58-0 after 8 overs. No stream available on myp2p unfortunately.

Real ale Madrid
17/06/2010, 2:39 PM
Ireland 80-1 after 11 ovs , require 152 from 234 deliveries, surely in with a big chance now of causing an upset. Lets hope they can do it.

17/06/2010, 2:43 PM
86-2 now after 13 overs. Porterfield still there though thankfully.

17/06/2010, 2:48 PM
As soon as I opened up the updates the wickets started to fall 3/6 runs, I should go back to actually doing some work.

Real ale Madrid
17/06/2010, 2:55 PM
Great ball by ball updates here:

http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/426384.html?CMP=OTC-GCN

Between this and the World cup - today is a little underproductive....

17/06/2010, 2:56 PM
That's the updates I have open, along with the BBC world cup updates. I was being productive for a while there...

Real ale Madrid
17/06/2010, 4:09 PM
not looking so good now just 3 wickets in hand, 155/7 , 77 from 96. Probably too many wickets down now.

Ciaran W
18/06/2010, 2:54 AM
Well done lads :) i turned it on with 134-3 and thats when it all fell apart. Still a great effort though and fair play to the boys :D

Real ale Madrid
22/06/2010, 9:09 PM
Eoin Morgan hit 103 n.o. to lead England to a 4 wicket win over Australia this evening. Turning into a superstar - a superb performance.

WexCar
10/07/2010, 10:59 PM
Ireland (http://wcldiv1.yahoo.net/news/latestnews/news20100711-16.html)win the WCL Division 1 final with a win over Scotland by 6 wickets.

On a related note Ireland play Bangladesh (who beat England for the 1st time on Sat) next Thursday and Friday in Stormont

TheBoss
11/07/2010, 1:00 AM
Never in doubt ! :D

15/07/2010, 2:57 PM
Going rightly V Bangladesh. Updates here: http://www.cricinfo.com/england-v-bangladesh-2010/engine/match/450106.html

TheBoss
15/07/2010, 3:03 PM
Thats a fantastic start again !!, similar against Australia. Can they learn from that occasion ?

15/07/2010, 7:35 PM
Ireland defeat Bangladesh in Belfast (http://www.rte.ie/sport/cricket/2010/0715/cricket_live.html)

15/07/2010, 8:06 PM
They only just beat England so a great win for Ireland especially with such a large margin

ArdeeBhoy
19/07/2010, 11:18 PM
They got their revenge, but a useful win all the same in the first match.

21/07/2010, 1:30 PM
It's not often you see Australia all out for 88!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/shared/fds/hi/statistics/cricket/scorecards/2010/7/85342/html/scorecard.stm

01/11/2010, 10:53 AM
Predictions for the Ashes series: I'd say 3-1 Australia.

18/11/2010, 3:03 PM
Did any one see the add on Sky for the Ashes? Botham dressed up as a Roman soldier giving the players also similarly attired a pep talk.?Cringe making.

21/11/2010, 8:33 PM
What else would you expect? I used to like watching English cricket back in the day when C4 had it but Sky have ruined that good will.

24/11/2010, 4:35 PM
Actually Sky cricket commentators aren't bad. They're a good mix. The only one I don't take to is Botham as he moans most of the time. They don't hype the sport like their football counter parts.

24/11/2010, 9:24 PM
OF,

For me its sound down and TMS on in the background.

England, but just for this one.

Timberlegs
25/11/2010, 1:30 PM
I agree Botham a right sickener.others are bareable in fairness- gud first day for the aussies

25/11/2010, 4:56 PM
I like SKY's cricket coverage, except for Botham whose little Englander tendencies become too prominent. I guess I just don't like him. The rest are great and I love how knowledgable and generally impartial they are. You can actually learn something from cricket commentators in general. I'm not sure I've ever learnt anything from a football commentator.

Anyway, day one very definitely to the aussies. Siddle was on fire and England gave up a lot of chances - it could have been worse for them.

I think it'll be an even enough series. Even many English feel that England's form has been overplayed and that the Aussies' bad form has been overplayed too.

29/11/2010, 7:01 AM
That's an England win for all intents and purposes. They usually lose in Brisbane so they've avoided that, and the Aussies must be demoralised after the last 2 days.

DaveyCakes
29/11/2010, 12:05 PM
Yep, the weakness of the Australian bowling was shown up...

06/12/2010, 11:43 PM
Ryan Harris just got out for a king pair in the Ashes, and it was updated on wikipedia within.....maybe 2 minutes. England cruising to victory against the worst Australian bowling attack in about 20 years. (EDIT: Australia batting now of course, but their bowling is their main problem)

07/12/2010, 2:18 PM
A few changes abound for Australia..four maybe. Katich out for the series, North hopeless, Bollinger and Siddle flat, Doherty....not very good

Sky's coverage is refreshing and honest...especially when Australian Summers are usually covered by channel9 on sky..with channel9 commentary. The worst commentary on the planet. Michael Slater, Ian Healy, Bill Lawry, Tony Greig, Ian Chappell, Mark Taylor..*shudder*

07/12/2010, 6:18 PM
channel9 on sky..with channel9 commentary. The worst commentary on the planet. Michael Slater, Ian Healy, Bill Lawry, Tony Greig, Ian Chappell, Mark Taylor..*shudder*

Agreed except for Greig, who's excellent. Slater in particular is horrible to listen to.

08/12/2010, 4:00 PM
Does anyone remember the p1ss take of Ch9's cricket commentary from about 15 years ago? It was hilarious. I'll see if I can dig it up.

19/12/2010, 9:52 AM
Resounding win for Aussies after England had already won the Ashes in the media (hard to blame them on this occasion) and after Aussies were 69-5 in their first innings.

As Alex Ferguson might say "Cricket, bloody hell".

20/12/2010, 9:34 AM
Yes, sport is a great leveller. The English batting line up is always liable to a collapse when faced with hostile bowling on a bouncy track. An ashes win in Australia is never a cake walk and it's good that it's now game on. Also delighted that the smug Sir Ian Botham has egg on his chin.

05/01/2011, 4:59 PM
Not sure it's done and dusted as the commentators seem to think. Bowl England out quickly and make 450 leaving England a session and a half to make 150. Could be fun.

Disappointed to see Bell going for a review when he edged the ball and the Australians claiming a catch that wasn't. Slippery slope for cricket.