View Full Version : The Cricket Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20

25/06/2014, 9:12 AM
Stuck between a rock and a hard place yesterday. Which would I watch when I got home from work. The football or the cricket? The game between Italy and Uruguay was looking tedious so I watched the cricket for a while with England's last wicket hanging in there. However, the football was bound to get better so I taped the cricket and went back to the football. Well worth it for the last bit(e)s of drama and when that was finished went back to the taped cricket. Fast forwarded up to the last 8 overs and watched England fight to save the game. On to the last over and the tape ends !! Holy shoot. The game had gone beyond the timing for the recording. Disaster made even worse when I jumped over to Sky to see the BREAKING NEWS bar. Sri Lanka win the final test. Really gutted to miss out on historical drama like that all because of Suarez's dentures! Sigh.

25/06/2014, 12:48 PM
Disaster for me too. I had to leave the house at 6.55pm to be at my running club for training.

The footy was pretty dull and I had spent the afternoon watching the cricket (I'm changing jobs so have a bit of time off) expecting it to be over well before the footy anyway. When the footy started I flicked between two footy games and the cricket, not really getting a proper handle on any. I then pressed record with two overs left to go and started watching it when I got home from running, only for the recording to stop with 5 balls left to go. I assumed they just batted out the over, even though it was Anderson on strike and couldn't believe it when I later saw the Sky Sports Breaking News ticker announce Sri Lanka's series victory.

Only in cricket can one find a situation like a batter facing 60 balls without a single run exciting! Both Tests went down to the last over, and in the first Test England were inches from getting the win. Fine margins and all that.

Sri Lanka's victory ruined my imaginary English tabloid headline:

England Earn Improbable Draw
(and our cricketers got a draw too) :)

25/06/2014, 4:23 PM
If it happened to the two of us in this small community, it must have been widespread. Bizarre we both had the same experience.

I thought Moheen might have made a better effort to try and face that last over. Despite having faced the 60 balls, Anderson never looked secure, which is fair enough for a No. 11. Anderson has a bit of a mouth on him so wasn't too gutted for him but it would have been some achievement to bat out those overs for a No. 11.

05/07/2014, 11:12 PM
Strauss, thinking he was off air, calls KP an absolute c*** on Sky today!

ArdeeBhoy
06/07/2014, 9:37 AM
And he's right.

Two Saffas bickering.

21/08/2014, 7:58 PM
Apparently our cricket GiG won the European t20 championships last week. I only found out on thescore.ie this evening.

Well done girls, and Trent Johnson.

Am I imagining it but did this one slip under the radar?

I'm away in France on holidays.

10/02/2015, 7:18 AM
Scotland posted 296-6...(6-296 cos they're in Oz) after the first innings of the warmup game.

swinfordfc
10/02/2015, 12:30 PM
Scotland posted 296-6...(6-296 cos they're in Oz) after the first innings of the warmup game.

and Ireland crashed in reply ....... i fear for them in the world cup .....

10/02/2015, 4:29 PM
That's a horrible big beating against a fellow associate member. Let's hope it just a minor blip, although results recently suggest otherwise. Could be an embarrassing world cup campaign.

Real ale Madrid
12/02/2015, 10:29 AM
Ireland beat Bangladesh by 4 wickets overnight.

Fixtures are:

Mon 16th Feb (10.00pm Sun Night) v West Indies
Wed 25th Feb 3.30am v UAE
Tue 3rd Mar 3.30am v South Africa
Sat 7th Mar 3.30am v Zimbabwe
Tue 10 Mar 1.00am v India
Sun 15 Mar 3.30am v Pakistan

Need to beat the UAE and Zimbabwe and then pull off a shock to reach the Quarter-Finals. Maybe Pakistan will have qualified already come the last game. Best of luck to them. Lets hope for a few shocks from somewhere as its always a more interesting tournament if the top teams are scrambling to get into the quarter finals.

14/02/2015, 12:35 PM
Another duck for Eoin Morgan this morning.

Crosby87
15/02/2015, 9:27 PM
This may as well be in Finnish. I just do not get cricket. So Ireland are losing? How long do you get to hit the ball?
http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015/engine/match/656407.html

15/02/2015, 9:37 PM
Great start, brilliant, got mixed up with the times, thought it was 11.00 in the morning, got an early start to work in the morning but................this looks great

16/02/2015, 8:52 AM
Was full certain that Ireland had made a complete balls of things and 300 was unreachable on current form, so I went to bed after the West Indies innings......ye of little faith.

What a super win that was and should set it up nicely for Pakistan game next Sunday.

Real ale Madrid
16/02/2015, 8:59 AM
Was full certain that Ireland had made a complete balls of things and 300 was unreachable on current form, so I went to bed after the West Indies innings......ye of little faith.

What a super win that was and should set it up nicely for Pakistan game next Sunday.

We don't play Pakistan until our last game on March 15. Next up UAE on Wednesday week.

As for the game itself watched until about 1am and got up at 5.30 then to see how they were getting on. Looks like a super effort on the run chase. Only 6 times have a team chased over 300 to win a World Cup game - 3 of them have been Ireland (v Eng and v Ned in 11' & v WI 15')

Zimbabwe on the 7th of March is the key game now.

16/02/2015, 9:16 AM
Ah, my mistake. Reading the fixtures wrong.

swinfordfc
16/02/2015, 10:03 AM
I watched until the 40 over of the Irish bowling ..... the first 35 overs were top class ..... got abit lose then .... have to tighten this up and we there abouts.... The bowling was pretty good! .... Well done to Ireland again .... top class!

16/02/2015, 4:12 PM

I got up early (for me) to see the highlights on Sky and they started right at the Irish innings. My God, chasing 300+ I didn't think we had a chance and yet ball after ball (in the highlights) was crashed to the boundary. Tremendous stuff. And of course it couldn't go without without a hitch as quick wickets were lost at the end and I feared the worst but a nice top edge for 4 saw us home. Fantastic win.

16/02/2015, 8:06 PM
It's hard to credit that ye diehard cricket fans haven't got the mettle to watch ireland at the wc live :rolleyes:
Just before I dropped off to sleep I heard on the sports news that Ireland had to chase 304 but before I could I could consider the option to find a stream, I nodded off.
50 minutes highlights here (http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2hbt5y_jyotitry1_people?start=118)
Morgan no longer has days like this.

17/02/2015, 12:34 AM
I think I managed to make it through the first over of our innings. Never thought we'd chase that 304.

17/02/2015, 12:35 AM
I think I managed to make it through the first over of our innings. Never thought we'd chase that 304.
And you call yourself a protestant?

17/02/2015, 7:31 AM
I'm pragmatic. 3/5 historical 300-chases... Dreamland stuff.

What are the bets we'll struggle against the Emiratis?

17/02/2015, 9:38 AM
And you call yourself a protestant?

A real protestant would bemoan the lack of orange on the jersey.
Us part time protestants are happy to just play along with the crowd.

17/02/2015, 11:02 AM
I did read something about a change in the rules regarding field positions which has made 300 less of a barrier than it once was, I can't find it now, but I think it was on cricinfo, might even have been during the match updates. Fun to see another upset at a world cup. All aboard the bandwagon!

17/02/2015, 2:34 PM
I did read something about a change in the rules regarding field positions which has made 300 less of a barrier than it once was, I can't find it now, but I think it was on cricinfo, might even have been during the match updates. Fun to see another upset at a world cup. All aboard the bandwagon!
Powerplays?

Or something else?

18/02/2015, 6:59 AM
I got up early (for me) to see the highlights on Sky and they started right at the Irish innings. My God, chasing 300+ I didn't think we had a chance and yet ball after ball (in the highlights) was crashed to the boundary. Tremendous stuff. And of course it couldn't go without without a hitch as quick wickets were lost at the end and I feared the worst but a nice top edge for 4 saw us home. Fantastic win.

Highlights only ever show boundaries.

Very comfortable run chase, aided by dreadful bowling. We had them on the ropes 4 years ago within 100 runs of victory, then Joyce was bowled and it fell apart after that. This time we steered it home.

Next game against the Abu Dhabis. In theory, it should be our easiest game in the group. No game though is easy for us, this is a nation that lost to an Australian pub side two weeks ago after all.

We played the Abu Dhabis in the 20/20 WC last year. It was too close for comfort, and we only won on D/L after rain and two floodlight failures. So while we should win, it's not won until we get over the line.

19/02/2015, 9:29 AM
They gave the Zimbabweans a scare last night. I think we'll beat both of those to be honest. No worries. Be happy.

19/02/2015, 9:41 AM
Powerplays?

Or something else?

Turns out it was a rule introduced in 2012 so old news at this stage. "the number of fielders allowed to stand outside the 30-yard (27-meter) circle in non-Powerplay overs was reduced from five to four." I think this is what they were referring to anyway.

20/02/2015, 3:00 AM
WOW!!!

Tuned in to the England New Zeland match, it's embarassing!!!

England are being hammered!!!

NZ 47 from 3.2 overs (20 balls) that's about 12 runs and over.

England were all out for 123 (33.2 ovs) 123

NZ now 57 off 4 overs. 14 runs an over, England managed about 4 runs an over!!

swinfordfc
20/02/2015, 8:49 AM
WOW!!!

Tuned in to the England New Zeland match, it's embarassing!!!

England are being hammered!!!

NZ 47 from 3.2 overs (20 balls) that's about 12 runs and over.

England were all out for 123 (33.2 ovs) 123

NZ now 57 off 4 overs. 14 runs an over, England managed about 4 runs an over!!

I wish the English was in our section - we could beat them very well! .... The Scottish will enjoy playing them on Monday!

20/02/2015, 9:22 AM
Poor old Eoin Morgan will be kicking himself for switching. Boyd Rankin sitting somewhere scratching his head too.

20/02/2015, 9:58 AM
I wish the English was in our section - we could beat them very well! .... The Scottish will enjoy playing them on Monday!

They would probaly bounce back when they played us though!!

20/02/2015, 11:05 AM
We'll see in May. Morgan will be with the IPL though.

20/02/2015, 3:29 PM
Morgan looks a broken man.

swinfordfc
21/02/2015, 9:32 AM
West Indies hammered Pakistan today ..... That tightens up the Section .... is that good or bad for us? .... I think we can have a good crack at Pakistan as well now based on this morning!

21/02/2015, 10:17 AM
My guess is good news. We've already beaten the Windies, so they can't hurt us. Pakistan can, but we have more points on board and a game in hand. By the time we play them, we could be out of sight.

Bangladesh's "draw" in Brisbane may really hurt England in the long run.

Bear in mind that if New Zealand win their group, they will play 4th in ours in the quarters. That will be a tall order in their backyard for whoever gets the last spot, which looks like it will go right to the wire.

21/02/2015, 3:14 PM
West Indies hammered Pakistan today ..... That tightens up the Section .... is that good or bad for us? .... I think we can have a good crack at Pakistan as well now based on this morning!

Well I wasnt complaining, ha

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/11001825_781035275278985_7431871722433833880_n.jpg ?oh=18c6e7c55abcd950d8f9ad5c43a02132&oe=554D46EA&__gda__=1435281763_d591870e7842e15f07a4d86e716e5aa f

swinfordfc
21/02/2015, 9:29 PM
Well I wasnt complaining, ha

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/11001825_781035275278985_7431871722433833880_n.jpg ?oh=18c6e7c55abcd950d8f9ad5c43a02132&oe=554D46EA&__gda__=1435281763_d591870e7842e15f07a4d86e716e5aa f

Sweet ...... and fair play to you .... but i would have not put a penny on them after the Ireland game!!!!! :)

23/02/2015, 1:53 PM
Sweet ...... and fair play to you .... but i would have not put a penny on them after the Ireland game!!!!! :)

Not really, they actually did ok against ireland. Pakistan were awful in their first game and Id fancy Ireland to beat them too

swinfordfc
23/02/2015, 2:39 PM
Not really, they actually did ok against ireland. Pakistan were awful in their first game and Id fancy Ireland to beat them too

All i want now is that they beat the UAE on Wednesday! :)

Real ale Madrid
23/02/2015, 7:00 PM
We need to get our run rate as high as possible as if we lose to Pakistan the likelihood is, is that ourselves, Pakistan and the West Indies will all be on 6 points and only 2 from 3 will get into the Q Finals. Lets beat the UAE first - beating Zimbabwe wont be easy by any stretch either.

Real ale Madrid
24/02/2015, 8:22 AM
The West Indies Posted 372!!!! against Zimbabwe - Chris Gayle hit 215. I think the WI are making it into the QF now - so our NRR v Pakistan is going to be the key. Need a big performance tonight.

24/02/2015, 10:45 AM
Looking like we'll need to absolutely hammer UAE.

swinfordfc
24/02/2015, 11:45 AM
No .... just make sure we beat UAE first ..... lets not to cocky! .... we can beat Zim and Pakistan .....

citybone
25/02/2015, 6:04 AM
Looking like we'll need to absolutely hammer UAE.

like you i was confident a hour ago but we have allowed them get a lot of runs and have made it difficult for ourselves. Still winnable

swinfordfc
25/02/2015, 7:39 AM
Our bowling in the last 15 overs is just not good enough .... and O'Brien messing in the 47 overs was a joke! Stirling is a big loss in the battling line so i'm very worry now! .... Its no good beating West Indies if we cannot win this game! ..... Our world cup hinges in the next 2 hours!

Spudulika
25/02/2015, 8:14 AM
Made the mistake of calling in to work from home - ie watch the match. Was up early and delighted with the play, now this! The end of the bowling innings was bad, the batting is somehow disconnected.

swinfordfc
25/02/2015, 8:37 AM
They finished! .... batting is very poor!

Spudulika
25/02/2015, 9:17 AM
The online poll went from 57-43 for Ireland to make the quarters, to now 46-54. Not without hope, but why do Ireland have to always do things the hard way?

Real ale Madrid
25/02/2015, 9:21 AM
Its not over yet - 115 from 75