View Full Version : Clare League 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

Planners
22/03/2010, 9:19 AM
The first one was an own goal Planners and dont let dat fella tell you any different...

Taught as much - he said although it did hit the defender it didn't change direction - say no more :)

devilfish
22/03/2010, 9:27 AM
Lot of wonder goals scored in the village yesterday!!

MikeBassett
22/03/2010, 9:33 AM
The first one was an own goal Planners and dont let dat fella tell you any different...

I think you're mistaking here LazyLegs, the own goal by the goalkeeper when he caught the ball and walked 2 or 3 yards behind the line with the ball in his hands wasn't actually given by the ref (I can understand how you thought it was though). So just because you didn't manage to get your toe on Horse's header(which was obviously on target) don't be sour and claim it was an OG. Please read below...

The player who caused the ball to go into their own goal is personally "credited" with the goal as part of the statistical abstract of the game unless a goal is scored after a shot (by the attacking side) is deflected into the net by a defending player. In that case, officials determine if the original shot was on target. If so, the attacker is awarded the goal, even if the shot would have otherwise been easily saved by the goalkeeper.

YNWA
22/03/2010, 9:44 AM
Lot of wonder goals scored in the village yesterday!!

agree great goal,the best ive seen in a while.

CousinSylDolan
22/03/2010, 9:55 AM
agree great goal,the best ive seen in a while.

Which one? 2nd one was best imo even though the 1st was from 60 yards and the 2nd from 55. Dont think we will ever see the like again.

Enjoyable game though played in great spirit by both sets of players(lets not mention managers, well one anyway). Pity the ref would not let the best team win though. He must have had a few quid on the draw

MikeBassett
22/03/2010, 10:11 AM
Which one? 2nd one was best imo even though the 1st was from 60 yards and the 2nd from 55. Dont think we will ever see the like again.

Just got the last 20 minutes so only saw the goal devilfish got. Who got the other long range goal?

out red
22/03/2010, 10:14 AM
O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Avenue United
Referee: P.Sutton 2.30
Assisiant Referees: J.Murray, P.Gleeson

should be a cracker, big game for avenue now, they wont want to drop points three games in a row. Might be worth a trip down for a look??

YNWA
22/03/2010, 10:14 AM

Enjoyable game though played in great spirit by both sets of players(lets not mention managers, well one anyway). Pity the ref would not let the best team win though. He must have had a few quid on the draw

I only saw the one from the kick off after the Newmarket goal,so cant judge it,but it was some strike the keeper might be at fault tho.

Planners
22/03/2010, 10:17 AM
[QUOTE=vidic-class;1337043]Just got the last 20 minutes so only saw the goal devilfish got.

Surly this is a typo -

devilfish
22/03/2010, 10:22 AM
[QUOTE=vidic-class;1337043]Just got the last 20 minutes so only saw the goal devilfish got.

Surly this is a typo -

No and it gets better, the other one was scored by me too!!! Up to 3 now in the goal scoring charts!!

How many have you got!!

Planners
22/03/2010, 10:29 AM
[QUOTE=Planners;1337048]

No and it gets better, the other one was scored by me too!!! Up to 3 now in the goal scoring charts!!

How many have you got!!

Lost count along time ago - - fair play to ye - who were ye playing ?

devilfish
22/03/2010, 10:38 AM
[QUOTE=devilfish;1337050]

Newmarket B, decent side, lots of young players, future is bright!!

Planners
22/03/2010, 10:46 AM
5th in the league - can't see ye getting promotion - best of luck - oh 1 thing this is division 2 - if your not scoring goals after coming from the dizzy heights of a former premier league champion you'd be introuble - big fish small pond !!

CousinSylDolan
22/03/2010, 11:08 AM
5th in the league - can't see ye getting promotion - best of luck - oh 1 thing this is division 2 - if your not scoring goals after coming from the dizzy heights of a former premier league champion you'd be introuble - big fish small pond !!

Ah its great to see the Rovers contingent back chirping again... Amazing what a win can do.

By the way I find it strange that there are linesmen appointed for the BC and Avenue game. We'd all love to have this luxury...

Planners
22/03/2010, 11:21 AM
By the way I find it strange that there are linesmen appointed for the BC and Avenue game. We'd all love to have this luxury...[/QUOTE]

Its a good call from the CDSL imo - all measures should be taken - just in case - - can;t see anything going off both clubs have been warned apparently - but should be a very compeditive game

Ice-man
22/03/2010, 12:45 PM
[QUOTE=devilfish;1337050]

I dont see you on the goal scorers list, what you really meant was you cant remember when you last scored it was that long ago? :p

Ice-man
22/03/2010, 12:46 PM
When is the draw for the next round of the Clare Cup ?

MikeBassett
23/03/2010, 11:04 AM
When is the draw for the next round of the Clare Cup ?

I presume it'll be done either this Monday or Friday week, still two more 3rd Round games to be played.

Planners
23/03/2010, 11:15 AM
I presume it'll be done either this Monday or Friday week, still two more 3rd Round games to be played.

Who's left ?

MikeBassett
23/03/2010, 11:18 AM
Who's left ?

Lifford
Avenue Utd A
Newmarket Celtic A
Bridge Celtic A
Burren Utd
Rock Rovers
Hermitage A/Bridge Utd B
Manus Celtic A/Manus Celtic B

Planners
23/03/2010, 11:21 AM
Lifford
Avenue Utd A
Newmarket Celtic A
Bridge Celtic A
Burren Utd
Rock Rovers
Hermitage A/Bridge Utd B
Manus Celtic A/Manus Celtic B

Thanks - still wide open

MikeBassett
23/03/2010, 1:36 PM
CLARE PEOPLE

are they having a laugh..does anybody edit there reports....I doubt anyone would call their son GOAT...have a look at moher B team sheet...GOAT SEXTON in goals for them...another fine editing job from our JOE..

Spotted that alright and thought it was odd but then I saw it was the Moher teamsheet so I wouldn't be surprised if someone back there is actually called 'Goat' or else their manager didn't know the lad's proper name and just decided to stick in his nickname

studsup
23/03/2010, 1:49 PM
a goat playing and a donkey editing reports..good combination:rolleyes:

In fairness to them this week they've managed to cover all 6 Clare Cup 3rd Round ties over the weekend, although I'd nearly conked out by the time I reached the 2 soccer pages after turning through 21 pages of GAA first :mad::D

Planners
23/03/2010, 2:26 PM
In fairness to them this week they've managed to cover all 6 Clare Cup 3rd Round ties over the weekend, although I'd nearly conked out by the time I reached the 2 soccer pages after turning through 21 pages of GAA first :mad::D

So you read the GAA first ?

Banner_balls
25/03/2010, 1:25 PM
***Clare Cup 3rd Round***
1/1 Manus Celtic A 5/2 Manus Celtic B 5/2
1/3 Hermitage A 5/2 Bridge United B5/1
***Premier Division League***
6/1 Bridge Celtic A 3/1 Avenue United1/4
6/4 Bridge United A 2/1 Burren United6/4
1/1 Bunratty A 5/2 Rock Rovers5/2
***First Division League***
3/1 Sporting Ennistymon 5/2 Mountshannon Celtic1/2
6/4 Kilrush Rangers 2/1 Corofin Harps A6/4
3/1 Kildysart Celtic 5/2 Tulla United A1/2
1/1 Avenue United B 5/2 Turnpike Rovers5/2
***Second Division League***
3/1 Kilmaley Fern Celtic 5/2 Rhine Rovers1/2
1/3 Connolly Celtic 11/4 Shannon Olympic B5/1
1/2 Cratloe Celtic 11/4 Bunratty B3/1
***Third Division League***
6/4 St.Pats 2/1 Corofin Harps B6/4
1/3 Inch Crusaders 11/4 Moher Celtic B5/1
3/1 Rineanna Rovers B 5/2 Hermitage B1/2
6/4 Cooraclare Celtic 2/1 Bridge Celtic B6/4

old git
25/03/2010, 2:27 PM
***Clare Cup 3rd Round***
1/1 Manus Celtic A 5/2 Manus Celtic B 5/2
1/3 Hermitage A 5/2 Bridge United B5/1
6/1 Bridge Celtic A 3/1 Avenue United1/4
6/4 Bridge United A 2/1 Burren United6/4
1/1 Bunratty A 5/2 Rock Rovers5/2
3/1 Sporting Ennistymon 5/2 Mountshannon Celtic1/2
6/4 Kilrush Rangers 2/1 Corofin Harps A6/4
3/1 Kildysart Celtic 5/2 Tulla United A1/2
1/1 Avenue United B 5/2 Turnpike Rovers5/2
3/1 Kilmaley Fern Celtic 5/2 Rhine Rovers1/2
1/3 Connolly Celtic 11/4 Shannon Olympic B5/1
1/2 Cratloe Celtic 11/4 Bunratty B3/1
***Third Division League***
6/4 St.Pats 2/1 Corofin Harps B6/4
1/3 Inch Crusaders 11/4 Moher Celtic B5/1
3/1 Rineanna Rovers B 5/2 Hermitage B1/2
6/4 Cooraclare Celtic 2/1 Bridge Celtic B6/4

bridge celtic 6/1 home win looks good i'm sure they will be up for this game big time :)

avenueC
25/03/2010, 3:19 PM
6/1 for bridge and 1/4 for avenue are crazy odds!!

at the best of times for any team playing down there its really tough..

Wolverine
25/03/2010, 9:08 PM
We are indeed.and looking forward to it. It should be a good one.

avenueC
26/03/2010, 8:34 AM
" are ye travelling with a full squad.."

puerile comment there!!! no need for it.
why wouldnt we be going down there with a full squad...only missing one as far as i can see, sean o meara,,
not too many have gone down and won there so its gonna be very tough

Ice-man
28/03/2010, 2:13 PM
Any results from today ?

out red
29/03/2010, 9:06 AM
Tuesday 06/04/10
Husquarna Maloney Garden Machinery Premier Division League
Lees road Pitch 2: Newmarket Celtic A V Avenue United A
P.Gleeson 6.45
just wondering lads is the venue in this game right. I think the league chairman might want to hold back on his league presentation for a few more weeks:tongue:

avenueC
29/03/2010, 9:57 AM
Presume it's a "typo"
mcdonagh park will do the lads as good as lees road
nice surface

Banner_balls
29/03/2010, 9:58 AM
Does anyone know when the quarter finals draw is taking place for the cup?

out red
29/03/2010, 10:55 AM
Presume it's a "typo"
mcdonagh park will do the lads as good as lees road
nice surface

sorry lees rd isnt a patch on mcdonagh pk. those pitches up there are a disgrace at present

Prem Rep!
29/03/2010, 10:57 AM
The Prego Menswear Clare Cup Quarter-Final Draw will take place on Friday 2nd April at 6.20PM live on Clare FM.

MikeBassett
29/03/2010, 10:59 AM
That was a mistake on the Newmarket V Avenue fixture next Tuesday, it's not on in Lee's Road and out red is right there, the pitches in Lee's Road are not in great condition at all at the moment although when they first opened they were class

Prem Rep!
29/03/2010, 1:15 PM
Any report on Avenue Bridge Celtic game yesterday? Heard it was a great game?

avenueC
29/03/2010, 1:24 PM
I wasn't comparing lees road to mcdonagh Pk
I was saying wherever they play it will be fine

MikeBassett
29/03/2010, 1:48 PM
Any report on Avenue Bridge Celtic game yesterday? Heard it was a great game?

Bridge Celtic were 3-0 up after half an hour. Avenue got a goal back right before half-time. Bridge Celtic went 4-1 up. Then it was 4-2. With 5 mins left Avenue scored again, 4-3. Bridge had a great chance to go 5-3 up in inj time but missed and Avenue went up the pitch and equalised. Big enough crowd at the game

Planners
29/03/2010, 3:19 PM
any trouble ?

studsup
29/03/2010, 3:26 PM
any trouble ?

no. no trouble there at all. lets just say some avenue players didnt travel to the game. avenue had a lot of yellow cards and a man sent off in last 2 or 3 minutes for 2nd yellow...id say there was 6 avenue players booked

Planners
29/03/2010, 3:40 PM
no. no trouble there at all. lets just say some avenue players didnt travel to the game. avenue had a lot of yellow cards and a man sent off in last 2 or 3 minutes for 2nd yellow...id say there was 6 avenue players booked

Sounds like it was a fairly heated affair - or was it an over sensitive ref ?

old git
29/03/2010, 3:45 PM

bit of a joke for a club like avenue if players refused to travel for such important league game .. players let club and themselves down.. hope management remember players who travelled and fought back to earn a draw for them :ball:

CousinSylDolan
29/03/2010, 3:53 PM
I think we all know the player that did not travel, and better for everyone that he did not I imagine.

According to the CL site there were 4 players red carded yesterday. 2 from Burren, 1 from Manus B and 1 from Corofin A. No mention of anyone from Avenue. Might take a few days for all ref's reports to come in to the sec though.

old git
29/03/2010, 5:45 PM

as clare league had warned both clubs about future behaviour ... will any action now be taken against avenue 6 players yellow carded and 1 red carded in 1 match !!! :ball:

avenueC
29/03/2010, 6:35 PM
Old gits anti avenue rants again. Would u like
points deduction or league expulsion for players not being available?
Hardly A crime. Why would they be letting their club down?
Common sense prevailed.
As for numerous cards, if goal difference doesn't matter at end
of season can't imagine lots of cards mattering either :-) :-)

old git
29/03/2010, 9:09 PM
Old gits anti avenue rants again. Would u like
points deduction or league expulsion for players not being available?
Hardly A crime. Why would they be letting their club down?
Common sense prevailed.
As for numerous cards, if goal difference doesn't matter at end
of season can't imagine lots of cards mattering either :-) :-)

not anti avenue i actually praised team for coming back to earn a draw from 3 goals down..
as for common sense prevails .. avenue should have done the decent thing and banned player involved in serious injury to bridge player ... as already stated clare league warned BOTH CLUBS about future behaviour... any team who collects 6 yellows & 1 red during 1 game should be liable for some sort of punishment from league ... especially after being warned and then getting all cards during such a high profile game .. as for players not being available that is an internal matter for avenue ...:ball:

Wolverine
29/03/2010, 10:45 PM
We were 4-1 down.We were playing if our lives depended on it. The ref had to be firm that's why sutton was appointed.it was played with heart by both sides.it was a good by all accounts.you won't see one like it for some time me thinks.

Planners
30/03/2010, 8:58 AM
not anti avenue i actually praised team for coming back to earn a draw from 3 goals down..
as for common sense prevails .. avenue should have done the decent thing and banned player involved in serious injury to bridge player ... as already stated clare league warned BOTH CLUBS about future behaviour... any team who collects 6 yellows & 1 red during 1 game should be liable for some sort of punishment from league ... especially after being warned and then getting all cards during such a high profile game .. as for players not being available that is an internal matter for avenue ...:ball:

have to agree with this

MikeBassett
30/03/2010, 9:17 AM
++Tuesday 30/03/10++
3/1 Moher Celtic A 5/2 Sporting Ennistymon 1/2
6/4 Turnpike Rovers 2/1 Kildysart Celtic 6/4
3/1 Shannon Olympic B 5/2 Bridge United B 1/2
++Wednesday 31/03/10++
5/2 Rock Rovers 5/2 Newmarket Celtic A 5/6