View Full Version : Clare League 2009/10
Benjy Riordan
31/12/2009, 1:51 PM
CDSL have called off all League games this weekend
avenueC
31/12/2009, 7:19 PM
i expect avenue /rock / newmarket / bunratty to be in the shake up
they are not in any particular order , but would be nice if it was ;-)
happpy new year
avenueC
01/01/2010, 10:10 AM
i dont reckon they will fade away but its gonna be tight
and just re reading there about avenue getting another week off, do ye think their is some big conspiricy to give avenue the league or what, they have 8 games played, all the teams in the middle have 6 played so the league are trying an balance it out. luck of the draw, im sure they would rather be playing sunday and not doing a sunday/tues/sund/ weds programme at the end of the season that they have done for last 2 seasons.
your right about the relagation,. cant see how burren or oly will sstay up . lifford could string a few wins and stay safe,
so what happens if avenue b win or come 2nd in 1st?
when is oscar traynor draw
talisman
01/01/2010, 1:26 PM
The draw for the quarter finals will take place on Friday the 22nd of January 2010 in the Aishling Hotel.
Remaining teams:
Group 1 - Galway or Mayo (not played yet - Galway need to win & Mayo need a draw)
Group 2 - Roscommon or Sligo or Donegal (Rocommon V Sligo not played yet - Sligo beat Donegal 2-1 & Donegal beat Roscommon 2-1 so all to play for still in this group)
Group 3 - The T.S.D.L. topped the Group with maximum points after impressive back to back wins over the W.W.E.C. League and the Munster Senior League. With International players James Walsh and Paul Breen in the heart of their defence they will be tough opponents for the other Leagues in the last eight.
Group 4 - Was the tightest group with all three teams finishing on three points. The Cork AUL advanced on goal differance from Kerry & Limerick with a 2-0 victory over Limerick in their last match.
Group 6 - Wexford came out on top in with a 1-0 win over Kilkenny in what was a very tough Group.
Group 7 - The Defence Forces were the first to qualify and they achieved this with two wins over Carlow and UCL, they could be the dark horses in the competition as they are a bit of an unknown quantity.
Group 8 - The Dublin A.U.L. secured a 0-0 draw against Waterford on their second attempt. They then hammered Wicklow 10-1 after Wicklow went ahead after two minutes in a game that was hard to describe, this then left Waterford needing to score ten or more goals to advance to the knock-out stages but they could only manage a 2-2 draw.
Truth Meister
01/01/2010, 7:11 PM
your right about the relagation,. cant see how burren or oly will sstay up . lifford could string a few wins and stay safe,
Put yer crystal ball away, you havn't a clue who will stay up. Its going to be very tight down there come april / may
Truth Meister
01/01/2010, 7:15 PM
so you recon bridge utd .rineanna rovers and bridge celtic will fall away..
i think yourselves or newmarket will win it..with rock or rineanna next..i think rats have dropped too many points..and have alot of tough away games left..plus i hear 1 or 2 going abroad too..
what about relegation...
i predict olympic and burren to go down. and lifford to struggle in third bottom..
You dont have a clue what will happen either. Your beloved Rats could find themselves dragged into it too, ye have too many glory hunters out there to stomach the fight.
avenueC
02/01/2010, 5:47 AM
For every man there exists a bait which he cannot resist swallowing.
- Friedrich Nietzsche
its usually planners doing the "baiting"
as for truth meister, it doesnt involve crystal balls to look at a league table at the half way point and use common sense (u seem to lack) and make an opinion as to who is struggling.
oh the impetuosity of youth ( or not , in your case)
Truth Meister
02/01/2010, 9:36 AM
For every man there exists a bait which he cannot resist swallowing.
- Friedrich Nietzsche
its usually planners doing the "baiting"
as for truth meister, it doesnt involve crystal balls to look at a league table at the half way point and use common sense (u seem to lack) and make an opinion as to who is struggling.
oh the impetuosity of youth ( or not , in your case)
Fair play you can use google or wiki;) Yes the league table tells a story but so does recent results. No team is safe nor regegated just yet and no team has won any silverware.
Ever heard of one game at a time? You should know better at your age big man;)
Truth Meister
02/01/2010, 9:42 AM
Relax the chops . Few too many drinks in you. We are entitled to our opinion just like u. Your beloved Newmarket have enough glory hunters and I guarantee we'll finish ahead of ye
Really I'm sure your teammates will thank you for that quote. As if our lads need any more motivation against the mercenaries:p
mastermind1
02/01/2010, 11:09 AM
Anybody know when the clare cup starts and when the draw takes place? its usually early january but i havent heard any gossip about it yet!
mister tee
04/01/2010, 9:03 AM
i dont reckon they will fade away but its gonna be tight
and just re reading there about avenue getting another week off, do ye think their is some big conspiricy to give avenue the league or what, they have 8 games played, all the teams in the middle have 6 played so the league are trying an balance it out. luck of the draw, im sure they would rather be playing sunday and not doing a sunday/tues/sund/ weds programme at the end of the season that they have done for last 2 seasons.
question avenue c on the conspircy,how can avenue play the burren twice in three leaugue games (what a shambles ).the man doing the fixtures should have to explain himself
Planners
04/01/2010, 9:08 AM
question avenue c on the conspircy,how can avenue play the burren twice in three leaugue games (what a shambles ).the man doing the fixtures should have to explain himself
yeah agree Mister Tee - it seems that the fixtures are dictated between the RATS and Avenue - - surprise surprise !!:mad:
Happy new year to ye all by the way
mister tee
04/01/2010, 9:23 AM
yeah agree Mister Tee - it seems that the fixtures are dictated between the RATS and Avenue - - surprise surprise !!:mad:
Happy new year to ye all by the way
its just a phone call away for (bd) of who he wants to play next week:confused:(honestly)
devilfish
04/01/2010, 9:57 AM
its just a phone call away for (bd) of who he wants to play next week:confused:(honestly)
Here we go again!!
Yeah, we asked for 3 away games to start our campaign and have a look at the league table, do we look like we are in our position because of our strategic placements of fixtures!! We're not the ones asking for afternoon kick-offs the whole time!!!
devilfish
04/01/2010, 9:59 AM
Relax the chops . Few too many drinks in you. We are entitled to our opinion just like u. Your beloved Newmarket have enough glory hunters and I guarantee we'll finish ahead of ye
Sorry Special 1, maybe stop pretending to be a rat and stick with those lads in Shannon you play for. At least everyone in here knows who I am, maybe you should reveal yourself too......pm me "team-mate" if I'm wrong!!
devilfish
04/01/2010, 10:37 AM
To be team mates I'd have to lower myself to b team.club mates is a better phrase. :D
For the record all, no PM received....let's leave it at that special 1..
devilfish
04/01/2010, 3:32 PM
I'm hardly going to tell u who I am. Nothing wrong wit a bit of banter wit the village people. How are the knees for this weekend big match v Rhine
So you're not a rat, that's obvious. My knees are good and looking forward to the weekend. I might get the re-call to the A team though after the disappointing performance against Olympic. I'm sorry I was away for that game, could have had a bit of banter with you, although I always get the 2 of you mixed up;););)
Planners
05/01/2010, 9:35 AM
Lads - anyone back training on grass - what are the underfoot conditions like ?
Lads whats going on with the fixtures why was the newmarket game down for 2.30 and now its changed to 11 madness with the state roads will be in asking any team to travel back that early is wrong and why in gods name is the rats and bridge utd match on at 2.30 when its a 5 min drive away from eachother.
MikeBassett
05/01/2010, 9:58 AM
Lads whats going on with the fixtures why was the newmarket game down for 2.30 and now its changed to 11 madness with the state roads will be in asking any team to travel back that early is wrong and why in gods name is the rats and bridge utd match on at 2.30 when its a 5 min drive away from eachother.
This is rediculous alright. Doolin is an hour drive from Newmarket and it's not like the road(s) back to there are good. That road is absolutely ****e at the best of times not to mind in the sub-zero temperatures we're having at the moment, we'll have to get up at the crack of dawn to make the 11.00 kick-off.
Truth Meister
05/01/2010, 10:32 AM
This is rediculous alright. Doolin is an hour drive from Newmarket and it's not like the road(s) back to there are good. That road is absolutely ****e at the best of times not to mind in the sub-zero temperatures we're having at the moment, we'll have to get up at the crack of dawn to make the 11.00 kick-off.
Dont worry lad.The league will have to call the games off, the forecast is not good for travelling never mind playing conditions.
talisman
05/01/2010, 11:09 AM
Lads - anyone back training on grass - what are the underfoot conditions like ?
Not really too safe to play/train on at the moment Planners. Astro turf the way to go at the moment for training.
Dont worry lad.The league will have to call the games off, the forecast is not good for travelling never mind playing conditions.
You would have to wonder what was the thinking behind this one lads, what was wrong with leaving this game down for 2.30? That would give the away team plenty of time to travel, plus the roads and the pitch would have thawed out some bit by that stage. Can't imagine pitches being safe for the weekend anyway. 11.00 kick offs are going to have to be scrapped by the looks of it so whatever games the league need to go ahead will have to be 2.00pm at the earliest to give them any hope of going ahead
avenueC
05/01/2010, 2:18 PM
avenue played burren back on 18th oct and again before xmas ther have been oscar traynor, munster junior, league games and cancellations in between. i agree there should be some system to play every one once before the 2nd ha;f of season and play each other again but that cant always and will not always work, because if u have the set fixtures to play every one at start, one after the other , what happens if, few teams progress in fai and munster, if games are postponed, if some teams have no one on ot team, so its not gonna run as simply as eveyone wants, and i cant belive the clare league favour avenue,
as for the match timings, in sure it has to do with ref availability as well,
avenueC
05/01/2010, 3:21 PM
cant please all of the people all of the time ( no google needed there!!!)
Planners
05/01/2010, 3:34 PM
cant please all of the people all of the time ( no google needed there!!!)
Its an Irish thing - you have to find fault with the lads at the top -
May the wind be always at your back AC
avenueC
05/01/2010, 4:38 PM
26/12/2009, 9:56 AM #248
avenueC
"good to se the irish mentality of knocking those at the top come out again, and the anti avenue lads back out in force,."
your re-quoting me planners,,
glad you agreee
for 2010 we will be harmonious and joyful!!
Planners
06/01/2010, 9:25 AM
your re-quoting me planners,,
glad you agreee
for 2010 we will be harmonious and joyful!![/QUOTE]
Is it ever anyother way - -
We trained lastnight , had 22 down - good to see the lads are still up for it - I hear that there are still a few clubs struggling with numbers for training - NOF just to mention one - any other clubs out there who have lost the hunger to do well this year ?
Planners
06/01/2010, 11:06 AM
Your some sh1t stirrer.[/QUOTE]
No , we are here just get the facts - we were hoping for a positive response , it seems to us that they lads who are doing a bit over and festive period will have the edge hence our opinion that the clubs who are stumbling to keep things going may have lost the hunger - the next few games will be very important - if they ever get to be fixed - the longer lads / teams wait the lower the interest gets - that all
Truth Meister
06/01/2010, 11:13 AM
Your some sh1t stirrer.
No , we are here just get the facts - we were hoping for a positive response , it seems to us that they lads who are doing a bit over and festive period will have the edge hence our opinion that the clubs who are stumbling to keep things going may have lost the hunger - the next few games will be very important - if they ever get to be fixed - the longer lads / teams wait the lower the interest gets - that all[/QUOTE]
Its 2010 Planners consortium. Yere legs are another year older, pace a little slower, back a little stiffer - plus GAA training is starting soon. Wheels could fall off yet:D
Planners
06/01/2010, 11:21 AM
Its 2010 Planners consortium. Yere legs are another year older, pace a little slower, back a little stiffer - plus GAA training is starting soon. Wheels could fall off yet:D[/QUOTE]
Maybe but age doesn’t effect experience , ability and sheer class -pace was a problem for some of us but the previously mention accolades more than make up for that - but as previously mentioned ,comments like this are just self praise and its not allowed - but we need to defend ourselves :D
Wheels well secure - but thanks for asking
avenueC
06/01/2010, 3:24 PM
its been 2 weeks of xmas festivities, not 2 months, i
m sure most lads would have done someting fitness wise, and with no games this weekend and with all teams back training this week , there will be no real advantage to anyone, 22 or not at training
mastermind1
06/01/2010, 3:55 PM
It looks like theres gonna be alot of midweek games towards end of season, with clubs still in munster junior,the clare cup has yet to start and the oscars are still going. as for teams losing their hunger i dont think that will be the case, as avenue c said its been 2 weeks and alot of teams are back training now!
Planners
06/01/2010, 4:04 PM
It looks like theres gonna be alot of midweek games towards end of season, with clubs still in munster junior,the clare cup has yet to start and the oscars are still going. as for teams losing their hunger i dont think that will be the case, as avenue c said its been 2 weeks and alot of teams are back training now!
I just hope that the midweek fixtures do not include the likes of OBriens Bridge and Burn as they have done in the past:rolleyes:
Truth Meister
06/01/2010, 4:15 PM
m sure most lads would have done someting fitness wise, and with no games this weekend and with all teams back training this week , there will be no real advantage to anyone, 22 or not at training
The bananna boys have gone for quantity over quality and experience over youthfulness:D
06/01/2010, 4:35 PM
Lads,I know you're bored but I refer you to the first post in this thread ( re -Infraction level),there's no need to thrash the thread just because there's no footie.
avenueC
06/01/2010, 4:36 PM
some weeks ther might just be the chance that there are a few injuries, lads working etc etc so a one off low number at training is not a sign that lads have lost hunger or couldnt be bothered,
of all the teams to be accusing of having no hunger, nof would not be one of them, when it comes to the crunch more often then not they have shown their ability mettle and commitment
they will be there or there abouts at seasons end, and they wil lhave a huge impact on who wins what cos they wont lay down an die to anyone they are playing
old git
06/01/2010, 8:28 PM
disagree i'd say more chance of lads on the p**s for the 2 weeks festivites and with crappy weather can't see to many being into doing some fitness routine.. :D
avenueC
07/01/2010, 8:59 AM
dont judge most people by your standards
talisman
07/01/2010, 9:15 AM
all games off this weekend anyway lads
Planners
07/01/2010, 9:22 AM
good call - makes sense
Planners
07/01/2010, 9:26 AM
some weeks ther might just be the chance that there are a few injuries, lads working etc etc so a one off low number at training is not a sign that lads have lost hunger or couldnt be bothered,
of all the teams to be accusing of having no hunger, nof would not be one of them, when it comes to the crunch more often then not they have shown their ability mettle and commitment
they will be there or there abouts at seasons end, and they wil lhave a huge impact on who wins what cos they wont lay down an die to anyone they are playing
And there I was thinking that the name { your alias } represented the club you support - seems to me that your on the move - transfer window open till the end of the month - Ave to NOF - is that a good decision ? ??
Truth Meister
07/01/2010, 10:36 AM
I do believe their quality beat ye already this year. Credit where it's due they are going ok. Will have to see if they can keep it up. Any truth Newmarket struggling at training
It was a joke. They are doing well. The trick is to keep it going. Traditionally they have a good start, poor middle and do whats needed at the end to stay up. They are in a good position now, can they maintain that? We are still in the mix in the village anybody who gets a few wins will move towards the top of the league
mastermind1
07/01/2010, 10:51 AM
And there I was thinking that the name { your alias } represented the club you support - seems to me that your on the move - transfer window open till the end of the month - Ave to NOF - is that a good decision ? ??
The names on this dont always give the persons real club,however i do agree with wat was said about nof...they ll have a big part to play in the season yet. i just seen the table there and theres been an awful lot of draws this year! i think too many teams are settling for draws when really they should push on to win these games. Liverpool only lost 2 premier league games last year and didnt win.
Stanley
07/01/2010, 11:43 AM
where did you hear this? nothing on claresoccer.net....
avenueC
07/01/2010, 12:36 PM
you gotta be in the know about games being off, they were talked about bring pulled last night cos weather not thawing.
as for transfer window, im sure i can compliment a club without transferring to it. ;-)
CousinSylDolan
07/01/2010, 1:28 PM
With no change in the weather this week and more frost and snow forecasted the CDSL committee have decided to postpone all League matches this weekend.
talisman
07/01/2010, 2:00 PM
where did you hear this? nothing on claresoccer.net....
you need to be in the know stanley! decision was made yesterday evening... dont doubt me:D
old git
07/01/2010, 3:39 PM
dont judge most people by your standards
i never had any standards :D:D
mastermind1
12/01/2010, 9:25 PM
Lads do ye think there should have been a full set of fixtures this week and if the weather improves like it has the games could go ahead and if its still icy they could have pulled the games on friday!
avenueC
12/01/2010, 10:28 PM
the ground would be frozen up to 6 or 8 inches under soil so the 2 days of thawing so far wont have much affect, the stormy conditions ahead wont help the pitches anyway so its prob better to give it another week,
teams must be champing at the bit to get games at this stage