View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2009/10
abbeyvale
05/06/2010, 9:45 PM
bottom 2 will probably be the same unless they get some major signings in the summer.thats just my opinion.what do you think yourself abbey.
Yeah, your probably correct, but stranger things have happened.
IMO The league will be split in 3 next season..........
Pike, View, Boro, Regional, Balla
Middle
Mungret, Aisling, Carew
Bottom
Corbally, Kilmallock, Star & Shannon
abbeyvale
05/06/2010, 10:57 PM
i don't know about that abbey unless carew,kilmallock and corbally get in new faces(star&shannon as well) i could see all five of ye fighting for relegation next season but as you said stranger things have happened
So your only adding Carew to my bottom 3rd prediction, and the more teams fighting relegation the better for teams like Star.
abbeyvale
06/06/2010, 12:06 AM
who knows everyone had corbally wrote off after a couple of games this season but they fought hard to stay up (same with kilmallock and carew) i hope ye don't go straight back down and stay in premier,great to see star back in premier best of luck anyway for the new season i hope your not hanging up your boots just yet:crossed:
Thanks, but I haven't decided yet, I might drop down a division or two as I can't committ to training twice a week and turning up every game which is whats required in the Prem................
Begrudger
06/06/2010, 1:09 AM
So your only adding Carew to my bottom 3rd prediction, and the more teams fighting relegation the better for teams like Star.
Mungret could be involved in a relegation fight aswel they got off to a flyer this year two or three wins in the first five or six games will give any team a great chance of staying up, But a the opposite is true also and a good thumping early on can be very hard to recover from.
svillerovers
07/06/2010, 12:35 PM
Summerville rovers Have a new website for all summerville information.. www.summervillerovers.com .........Also Astro Turf available to rent for 30 euro per hour for the months of June,July and August..
Bonovox
07/06/2010, 2:03 PM
svillerovers - excellent job and great value on the Astro!!
thomas72
07/06/2010, 4:12 PM
hard to say lads until we see what signings are made by clubs but i do agree those teams need new players.
passandmove
07/06/2010, 6:33 PM
After seeing the premier league line up for next season it really hit home that we at wembley are no longer a prem club.We dont feel we were the 2nd worst team in the league but from march on the league became a bit of a lottery with clubs not trying and that.Congrats to both corbally and kilmallock and best of luck to both star and shannon next season,hopefully we can keep a hold of our better players and try and bounce back at the 1st attempt.
Has a top scorers list came out yet?
blinkx
11/06/2010, 12:44 PM
I'd reckon Alan Barry has it by a long mile, must have gotten 4 or 5 hatrick's this season easily?
3 Heroes
11/06/2010, 2:02 PM
http://www.limericksoccer.com/goalscorers.htm
the bandit
11/06/2010, 5:48 PM
http://www.limericksoccer.com/goalscorers.htm
There only up to march,he has a lot more than 24.top scorer by a mile.top player who also won player of the year up there.I think he has won that for all the clubs he played with.great attitude and there's plenty of more to come from him I'd say.
The age is catching up with him a bit though must be in his 30's??
abbeyvale
11/06/2010, 11:16 PM
The age is catching up with him a bit though must be in his 30's??
Whats wrong with being in your 30's??? some of the best players in town are in their 30's..........
I could name a team of Prem players that are over 30 that would do well in the Prem.....
the bandit
12/06/2010, 10:17 PM
Whats wrong with being in your 30's??? some of the best players in town are in their 30's..........
I could name a team of Prem players that are over 30 that would do well in the Prem.....
You're dead right al.best players in town r in their 30s
francesco_1
13/06/2010, 11:47 AM
You're dead right al.best players in town r in their 30s
Who is the oldest regular prem player still playing up till this season?
thomas72
13/06/2010, 1:06 PM
Who is the oldest regular prem player still playing up till this season?
id say eddie hickey and ger ned eddie im nearly sure is 42yrs old and ned is 39 this year
nothing wrong with been in your 30's once you look after yourself, how old is he?
francesco_1
13/06/2010, 8:19 PM
id say eddie hickey and ger ned eddie im nearly sure is 42yrs old and ned is 39 this year
What about gordan stewart, though he would be older then them.
abbeyvale
13/06/2010, 9:56 PM
lads watched alan barry play a few times dis year and from what i seen he could play a good few years yet
Alan Barry is no more than 32/33 and has a lot of ball left in him yet, if he decides to play on.
tedd11
13/06/2010, 10:58 PM
Alan Barry is no more than 32/33 and has a lot of ball left in him yet, if he decides to play on.
think alan barry is 31.in fairness on his day ned is a handful for any defence.didnt think he was 39.fair play if he is still going strong at that age.afew lads have retired in recent years who played well into there 30's.sure tom o connell must of been at least 45 playin with regional up to 3 years ago i think.is pat boland still playing with star abbeyvale?
thomas72
14/06/2010, 10:06 AM
What about gordan stewart, though he would be older then them.
gordon is 35
abbeyvale
14/06/2010, 1:28 PM
think alan barry is 31.in fairness on his day ned is a handful for any defence.didnt think he was 39.fair play if he is still going strong at that age.afew lads have retired in recent years who played well into there 30's.sure tom o connell must of been at least 45 playin with regional up to 3 years ago i think.is pat boland still playing with star abbeyvale?
Alan is a year older than me, so that would make him 32, Pa Boland played his last game for Star 2 years ago..
connie
14/06/2010, 2:01 PM
Eddie hickey is 37/38 hes roughly 6yrs olde than me.
Poolman
14/06/2010, 2:25 PM
H ha ha ha ha ha ha ha you have to be 40 or 41 at least
francesco_1
14/06/2010, 2:25 PM
Connie you will be playing over 40's before Eddie I think you have the dates wrong :)
Goals4fun
14/06/2010, 2:42 PM
Connie you will be playing over 40's before Eddie I think you have the dates wrong :)
sure you can't blame him, rumour has it , his birth cert broke when it fell off the table and hit the ground.....
Roadend
15/06/2010, 9:07 AM
Alan is a year older than me, so that would make him 32, Pa Boland played his last game for Star 2 years ago..
So he played illegally for Star under 15, 16 years ago, I must see can I put in an objection:)
abbeyvale
15/06/2010, 7:47 PM
So he played illegally for Star under 15, 16 years ago, I must see can I put in an objection:)
OK He'll be 32 this year. Happy?
tedd11
23/06/2010, 6:40 PM
abbeyvale,do you know when the new season is starting?i presume sometime in august?have you heard anything?
Lev Yashin
23/06/2010, 6:53 PM
I heard its thursday 19th of august. :ball:
tedd11
23/06/2010, 9:14 PM
I heard its thursday 19th of august. :ball:
thanks shannonman