View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

the real deal
04/05/2010, 2:45 PM
its looking most likely by points and fixtures that the favs are kilmallock or wembley as i believe both corbally and carew wil win one more game if not a draw each.........

mulla
04/05/2010, 2:50 PM
its looking most likely by points and fixtures that the favs are kilmallock or wembley as i believe both corbally and carew wil win one more game if not a draw each.........

surely the boro will do corbally a favour last game of season?

leather
04/05/2010, 2:54 PM
Why????
what are you implying?

faces
04/05/2010, 2:55 PM
think we will get somthing out of last two matches and hopfuly every team will play out season to there potential.at the end of the day you are either good enough or not

the real deal
04/05/2010, 2:57 PM
that wont happen pal if that was the case corbally i doubt would be where they are now and doubt carew would have beat the boro sunday thats just the way it is pity there isnt something in place to stop it and give teams a fair chance....

faces
04/05/2010, 3:13 PM
exactly but we will battle away and see how we get on.

Football Alien
04/05/2010, 3:21 PM
that wont happen pal if that was the case corbally i doubt would be where they are now and doubt carew would have beat the boro sunday thats just the way it is pity there isnt something in place to stop it and give teams a fair chance....

Cant speak for Carew v Boro match but in fairness since Corbally got a few players back they have really settled down and got some decent results, they def aint the 2nd worst team in prem but thats just my opinion! i think Wembley could be in serious trouble for relegation at this stage!!

leather
04/05/2010, 3:22 PM
I suppose the boro will also do mungret and pike favours...

the real deal
04/05/2010, 3:26 PM
no one is suggesting favours its just teams are playin for nothin dont take it as serious its as simple as that and u can say what u like bvout it thats the way it is.......what if there was an end of season tournament top four teams maybe two semis and a final for some trophy then teams would have something to play for teams wouldn be gettin handy wins etc its just a suggestion to the problem......

whitestripe
04/05/2010, 3:48 PM
Between the weather and everything else the season gets dragged out. Just have 10 teams in the league? Would make for a more competative season and shorter season?

thomas72
04/05/2010, 4:00 PM
no one is suggesting favours its just teams are playin for nothin dont take it as serious its as simple as that and u can say what u like bvout it thats the way it is.......what if there was an end of season tournament top four teams maybe two semis and a final for some trophy then teams would have something to play for teams wouldn be gettin handy wins etc its just a suggestion to the problem......

i agree carew v boro you could see carew wanted it more they chased and tackled everything towards the boro thats because carew needed 3pts badly. E.G look at UL there a very good team a good starting 11 but they have played not even at half of what they can do because there is nothing to play for

tedd11
04/05/2010, 6:06 PM

not a bad idea real deal.i think it would be a good option to try something like a top 4 playoff.every year this kind of thing happens,some teams season is practically over in march and when a team is safe in mid table they tend to have problems fielding teams as lads who may be working etc wont get off for a match whereas if there was a cup game or important league game they would

tedd11
04/05/2010, 6:12 PM
was watching sky sports news yesterday and there was a big topic on with alot of interviews about the serious decline in 11 a side sunday league football in england which is fairly similar to our junior leagues.the decline in teams and clubs being able to field teams was truly shocking.one lad being interviewed was saying that his team had there match postponed 5 weeks in a row due to other team not turning up.money and costs for the clubs seemed to be a huge issue.does anybodyhave an opinion on how healthy our leagues are in limerick?premier is obviously strong but are we staring to experience the same thing heading down the divisions to 2a,2b,3a etc? they were saying that 5 a side astro leagues being held on weeknights were killing 11 a side sunday soccer.

widow
04/05/2010, 8:15 PM
Have to agree. The numbers playing ball on sunday mornings is dropping and so is the quality. standard of the premier overall is poor, some might come back and say that we got 3 teams into the semi final of the FAI, (Pike pending), but I think this just shows the even bigger decline in junior soccer in the whole country. Put it this way. Alot of fellas would enjoy a game of astro twice a week during the week then get up on a sunday morning to play.

the real deal
04/05/2010, 10:00 PM
i think maybe it could be tried out for one season anyway then aa balla regional and the boro would be more interested than they are at this moment in time in the league..........

abbeyvale
04/05/2010, 10:36 PM
(Max Pts) Premier P W D L F A Pts
(54) Fairview Rgs 19 14 3 2 50 14 45
(59) Pike Rovers 15 12 2 1 48 15 38
(44) Janesboro 19 10 5 4 43 29 35
(46) Regional Utd 18 11 1 6 55 32 34
(38) Ballynanty Rovers 19 9 2 8 47 40 29
(35) Aisling Annacotty 20 8 5 7 38 30 29
(35) Mungret Reg 19 7 5 7 33 31 26
(31) Carew Park 19 6 4 9 26 26 22
(28) Wembley Rvs 20 7 1 12 23 40 22
(28) Corbally Utd 20 6 4 10 25 47 22
(27) Kilmallock 20 6 3 11 25 33 21
(7) Geraldines 20 0 1 19 25 83 1..........Relegated

Fixtures
Thursday 06/05/0 @ 18.30
Pike v Mungret
Regional v Kilmallock

Sunday 09/05/10 @ 10.30
View v Pike
Balla v Wembley
Regional v Carew
Mungret v Dines
Boro v Corbally

Thursday 13/05/10 @ 18.30
View v Carew
Pike v Aisling

Relegation Run In
Mungret (3)
Home: Dines
Away: Pike, Boro

Wembley (2)
Home; ?
Away: Balla

Carew (3)
Home: Balla,
Away: Regional, View

Kilmallock (2)
Home: AA,
Away: Regional

Corbally (2)
Home: View
Away: Boro

Roadend
05/05/2010, 9:09 AM
Have to agree. The numbers playing ball on sunday mornings is dropping and so is the quality. standard of the premier overall is poor, some might come back and say that we got 3 teams into the semi final of the FAI, (Pike pending), but I think this just shows the even bigger decline in junior soccer in the whole country. Put it this way. Alot of fellas would enjoy a game of astro twice a week during the week then get up on a sunday morning to play.

I think any fella who would prefer to play astroball to proper football is someone I definitley wouldn't want in my team anyway in truth.

whitestripe
05/05/2010, 11:07 AM
10 team league
5 match fixture forecast
The option to play games on Saturday evening
All premier teams get a by into later rounds of FAI
Scrap the Touhy

We got a 2 day notification that our last fixture was moved to a thursday evening KO. We will not play agian until 13th May, a two week gap? If you want the standard to improve the whole shooting match needs to be stripped down and re-structured. Give clubs every opportunity to put their best teams on the pitch each week. This will hopefully lead to standards improving and in time should in theory lead to more people going to see junior football.

thomas72
05/05/2010, 11:35 AM
IMO junior soccer in limerick city is ruined there are 2 or 3 teams in the league that has resources that the rest cant match which is making the league predictable and boring.
im not having a go at any club there is more than 1 doing it. E.G if there is a player playing with carew balla UL corbally wembley etc etc who is a fantastic player prob that clubs best player what is happening is you have clubs caling down to the players house OR EVEN HIS PLACE OF WORK asking him to sign with them.
player says no he is happy with the club he is with we all know what happens then he gets offered certin things player rings up his club a few hours later and tells manager im moving to a diff club.
its a joke and the LDMC needs to be having a look at this i the summer then again were is the proof this is going on.

im sure there is alot of clubs that this has happened to just my opinon lads.

francesco_1
05/05/2010, 11:57 AM
Some days when the weather is bad you know that certain fields wont hold up and you still have to travel etc. Clubs could have the option of changing the fixture to the away teams pitch with proper notice to both clubs if they both agreed.

If they held meetings with players from different clubs it would be a step in the right direction and a chance to get ideas across from a players view.

whitestripe
05/05/2010, 1:41 PM
IMO junior soccer in limerick city is ruined there are 2 or 3 teams in the league that has resources that the rest cant match which is making the league predictable and boring.
im not having a go at any club there is more than 1 doing it. E.G if there is a player playing with carew balla UL corbally wembley etc etc who is a fantastic player prob that clubs best player what is happening is you have clubs caling down to the players house OR EVEN HIS PLACE OF WORK asking him to sign with them.
player says no he is happy with the club he is with we all know what happens then he gets offered certin things player rings up his club a few hours later and tells manager im moving to a diff club.
its a joke and the LDMC needs to be having a look at this i the summer then again were is the proof this is going on.

im sure there is alot of clubs that this has happened to just my opinon lads.

I think its each clubs responsibility to raise the bar if they are to compete. Aisling are building a full size artificial pitch to FIFA standards so hopefully some games will be played on a saturday evening under lights. Aisling traditionally don't lose any players to other clubs, Limerick FC have taken a few but players are encouraged to take this move in the club.

It would be a good move if the LDMC looked at the current league set up to see how it could be improved, I don't envy the fixture secretary but maybe his job could be made that little bit easier with a new structure in place. A new look league could benefit everyone?

Goals4fun
05/05/2010, 1:44 PM
the league need to be more professional from pitches (certain standard for different divisions) to referrees (each clubn have to have nominated 2 lines men ). ...... the fixtures need to be transparent and fair. (we were down for a cup final tomorrow, and then the week before they change the plans to suit other teams even though we asked for the weekend off the game is on this friday)

junior football is in the decline as a lot of lads just want a bit of fun and crack during the week and their nights out at the weekend.

the dazzler
05/05/2010, 3:05 PM
the league need to be more professional from pitches (certain standard for different divisions) to referrees (each clubn have to have nominated 2 lines men ). ...... the fixtures need to be transparent and fair. (we were down for a cup final tomorrow, and then the week before they change the plans to suit other teams even though we asked for the weekend off the game is on this friday)

junior football is in the decline as a lot of lads just want a bit of fun and crack during the week and their nights out at the weekend.

watch we will beat pike sunday mullins and mc,garry out for season they have no 1 to fill in hope they get back in fai aswell beat them in final or forwards will have field day:roll:

serpico
05/05/2010, 4:09 PM
watch we will beat pike sunday mullins and mc,garry out for season they have no 1 to fill in hope they get back in fai aswell beat them in final or forwards will have field day:roll:

Same old bull coming out of yere mouths as usual.what bout enright and cleary.is it true yere not having a gate there Sunday and letting pike in for nothing after the carry on of some of yere supporters and committee members last thurs night.they know who they are.

Doodle
05/05/2010, 5:33 PM
Summer soccer is the answer, no matches off, games played midweek or saturdays and no crap weather conditions. Get more people
out watching too, you could have a 2 week shutdown for hols too. We didn't play a match from end of oct till the middle of feb and pitches
wouldn't need as much money pumped into them for their upkeep either. its win/win

Poolman
05/05/2010, 6:18 PM
Summer soccer is the answer, no matches off, games played midweek or saturdays and no crap weather conditions. Get more people
out watching too, you could have a 2 week shutdown for hols too. We didn't play a match from end of oct till the middle of feb and pitches
wouldn't need as much money pumped into them for their upkeep either. its win/win
The best post i have seen some of the crap coming out with clubs that are struggling on the field is unreal, thomas72 i think seem to have a gripe with not been able to compete with the top teams ye cant compete with the bottom teams thats the problem carew park have, and as far as players been tapped up ye had no problem taking players from different clubs, dassler when you say we do you mean fairview or does it mean you will get the nod to start, junior soccer should be summer soccer i think it will come in surly after this year.

thomas72
05/05/2010, 6:32 PM
The best post i have seen some of the crap coming out with clubs that are struggling on the field is unreal, thomas72 i think seem to have a gripe with not been able to compete with the top teams ye cant compete with the bottom teams thats the problem carew park have, and as far as players been tapped up ye had no problem taking players from different clubs, dassler when you say we do you mean fairview or does it mean you will get the nod to start, junior soccer should be summer soccer i think it will come in surly after this year.

junior soccer is what is been played not LOI thats my point but as expected you come back with a smart reply. its not just carew its 3/4s or more of the league that cant compete there is a LOI club that cant compete with the carry on thats going on around the town. if these clubs have so much resources why dont they step up a level munster senior league because limerick must be getting really boring.

silvercircle
05/05/2010, 7:41 PM
great post daz....how much will be charged on Sunday morning , i need to know because if i can't afford it I can't climb over a wall...because i just had my hair done ask KK he might help out

gommie06
05/05/2010, 7:59 PM

Man seriously you still sayin we're the second worst team in the league? We've beaten regional (fair enough not their strongest team), drew with a strong aisling team and beat kilmallock (relegation) geraldines (relegation)..its not like we've been handed points from these teams!you seem to just come on here puttin other teams down..

faces
05/05/2010, 9:37 PM
not over yet my friend wait till the fat lady sings or your post might come back to haunt you.

neverseenit
05/05/2010, 9:54 PM
can someone tell me why killmallock are playing thursday night when carew park have 1 match less played than them....surely carew should be playing thursday night and you have all the bottom teams with 2 games left...is it the LDMC fault again or what?

the real deal
05/05/2010, 10:02 PM
im sorry if thats the way it comes across pal it looks like im gonna be wrong so that should be enough for u.......

gommie06
06/05/2010, 9:03 AM
not over yet my friend wait till the fat lady sings or your post might come back to haunt you.

Who's post?mine?never once said we're safe (relegation) means relegation battle as in we were hardly handed points from ye out in kilmallock were we?ye got awfully sour though!

abbeyvale
06/05/2010, 11:52 AM
Ken (Spud) Mc of Ballynanty Rvs
Lads, just want to wish Ken all the best in the coming days, as he has had a terrible accident in the last day or two.

thomas72
06/05/2010, 12:32 PM
Ken (Spud) Mc of Ballynanty Rvs
Lads, just want to wish Ken all the best in the coming days, as he has had a terrible accident in the last day or two.

sad to hear care to what happened al if not its ok

Poolman
06/05/2010, 12:38 PM
I think wembley or carew will go down fairplay to corbally no one gave them a chance, they are doing enough every year to stay, i also think it will go to the last match of the season.

faces
06/05/2010, 1:10 PM
that was my interpretation of your post and name me one team that wouldnt get sour losing a 6 pointer match.just goes to prove that it meant a lot to the lads losing.oh ya also well done to corbally for geting back in amonst the scrap after being wrote off 5 months ago.

Football Alien
06/05/2010, 1:20 PM
Its gonna come down to the wire alright!even at this stage its too close to call, i reckon there'll be a playoff game in jackman to see who gets relegated, dunno who'll be in it though!!!

best wishes to spud as well, any idea what happened?

gommie06
06/05/2010, 7:21 PM
that was my interpretation of your post and name me one team that wouldnt get sour losing a 6 pointer match.just goes to prove that it meant a lot to the lads losing.oh ya also well done to corbally for geting back in amonst the scrap after being wrote off 5 months ago.

In all fairness theres a difference in caring about losing a game and tryin to start a fight because of it..it is too close to call though could be any of 4 teams i think..wembley looked home and dry a few weeks ago but have been dragged back into it!

mulla
06/05/2010, 7:23 PM
can someone tell me why killmallock are playing thursday night when carew park have 1 match less played than them....surely carew should be playing thursday night and you have all the bottom teams with 2 games left...is it the LDMC fault again or what?

strange one alright as the ldmc put the corbally- dines games back to sunday last to play the same time as other teams in the relegation battle as it was origionally fixed for tue after the bank holiday and the dines also requested it to be off till tuesday

thomas72
06/05/2010, 7:46 PM
regional 2 kilmallock 3

regional 2 up and cruising fair play to kilmallock they battled back well they got there winner in the last kick of the game any team from 4 for the drop it could go any way

sorelooser
06/05/2010, 8:11 PM
Dont usually post but heres my opinion for what its worth. Every team play eachother once then split the league and play each of the other 5 teams in your section. This way teams in mid table with nothing to play for will not be influencing the relegation battle making it fairer and more competitive. It reduces the amount of league games and your finishing position is your seeding for the following yrs Lawson, Fai and MJC.

Restrict the amount of players a team can sign to between 17-20, if they wish to sign some1 in transfer window they have to let a player go. This would restrict the big clubs from signing massive amounts of players for their bench and increase the standard across the league. Just a thought...

serpico
06/05/2010, 8:12 PM
regional 2 kilmallock 3

regional 2 up and cruising fair play to kilmallock they battled back well they got there winner in the last kick of the game any team from 4 for the drop it could go any way

Pike 2 mungret 0 Barry, moloney.great result for kilmallock.fair play to ye faces.

serpico
06/05/2010, 8:20 PM
Pike 2 mungret 0 Barry, moloney.great result for kilmallock.fair play to ye faces.

If kilmallock beat aa they will stay up def.

Poolman
06/05/2010, 8:32 PM
Carew and wembley will be shaking in their boots after tonights result.bit strange Carew weren't playing tonight.balla and fairview had no game and they have to play both of them.if pike beat view on Sunday the league is over.why was mungret playing pike tonight when it should have been the boro.is it true boro got it off to go training with their new gaffer because they were training

blueboy2
06/05/2010, 8:44 PM
Boro got it off because their B team were playing Prospect Priory they couldent play two matches on the same night.

serpico
06/05/2010, 8:54 PM
Why's that don't they play 2 games every Sunday ???????:confused:

serpico
06/05/2010, 8:59 PM
Ye must have played well tonight faces. Who got yere goals and had you any hurlers.

faces
06/05/2010, 9:04 PM
geting tight now lads.fair play to our lads tonight after going 2 goals down.best of luck to our keeper robbie egan who is called up to international duty the weekend and well done to mike culhane who stood between the post for the first time in six months tonight and performed superbly and also the b team players who were superb tonight.SOUND SERPICO.NO HURLERS AND NO NUMBER ONE KEEPER.PAUL DOONA,MARK HAYES AND SEANY KELLY SCORED.

blueboy2
06/05/2010, 9:08 PM
Exactly i was talking to one of the Prospect lads and they refused to play the Boro last tuesday night as they wanted all 1A matches to finish on the same night so no favours or phone calls could be made. Then what do the council do they pull the Boro Premier teams game so they would have everybody available to play against Prospect.