View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2009/10
Pages :
[
20]
Lev Yashin
11/05/2010, 7:59 PM
shannonman. have ye heard anything yet from league ... when will decision be made about objection
Heard nothing...i would assume a decision will be made tonight....not sure though
abbeyvale
12/05/2010, 9:01 PM
(Max Pts) Team Pl W D L F A Pts
Shannon Town 22 14 4 4 49 25 46.......Promoted
Star Rvs 22 13 6 3 59 28 45............Promoted
Caherdavin Celtic 22 12 6 4 52 22 42
Summerville Rvs 22 10 7 5 35 19 37
Granville Rgs 22 10 5 7 33 25 35
Charleville 22 8 5 9 29 35 29
Janesboro B 22 8 4 10 37 52 28
Ballynanty Rvs 22 7 6 9 37 36 27
Croom Utd 22 8 3 11 38 57 27
Prospect Priory 22 7 2 13 22 35 23
Dromore Celtic 22 6 3 13 30 45 21...............Relegated
Herbertstown 22 3 1 18 21 53 10...............Relegated
Final Table prior to objection being resolved.
gaidin
13/05/2010, 7:34 AM
Any update with the objection? Have the LDMC looked at it?
Lev Yashin
13/05/2010, 9:58 AM
Any update with the objection? Have the LDMC looked at it?
I was told it'll be next Monday before we know anything...
gaidin
13/05/2010, 10:37 AM
You'd wonder why so long.
blueboy2
13/05/2010, 3:48 PM
They have to go through all the Referees reports and check and see what was sent out fines and suspensions and the dates on them.
Lev Yashin
17/05/2010, 9:49 PM
Heard Star just "won" the league....
francesco_1
17/05/2010, 10:46 PM
Fair and square?
twohalves
17/05/2010, 11:32 PM
The biggest waste of peoples time this season.A meaningless objection which results in a huge anti-climax in the second highest division in Limerick.Must feel sorry for Shannon Town who did absoloutely nothing wrong and ended up with more points after 22 games!!! Bad form really.Where will the managerless Star go and collect the trophy and after 9 months of football and hard slogging it's a shame that it ends like this.I think they would have gained more respect if they did the right thing and leave Shannon enjoy the league victory.I guess the 48 hr objection time is surely gone is it??
Shortstop
18/05/2010, 6:34 AM
This is an absolute joke, the limerick commity have ruined another good season of football, nothing new there then!!
Lev Yashin
18/05/2010, 7:12 AM
Think it's better to just let this lie lads. We are gutted needless to say. We worked hard to finish with the most points but what's done is done. We have a cup final tomorrow night so dwelling on this won't help. And who knows we might win the league next season! ;)
gaidin
18/05/2010, 7:39 AM
Think it's better to just let this lie lads. We are gutted needless to say. We worked hard to finish with the most points but what's done is done. We have a cup final tomorrow night so dwelling on this won't help. And who knows we might win the league next season! ;)
Did the LDMC give ye the reasons for their decision?
Lev Yashin
18/05/2010, 7:55 AM
Did the LDMC give ye the reasons for their decision?
I got a couple of texts last night to say star had won. But nothing else. Dunno the ifs and buts. Would we be in our rights to ask fir proof or a report or something???
footie freak
18/05/2010, 9:09 AM
I got a couple of texts last night to say star had won. But nothing else. Dunno the ifs and buts. Would we be in our rights to ask fir proof or a report or something???
absolutley discusting, star are absolute joke for this excuse of an appeal. abbeyvale said about 2weeks ago that the club had no idea of an appeal going in... complete rubbish. its a shame that the ldmc allowed this to happen and to be honest its not much of a good way to say that ye are champs. at the end of the season shannon town were and are top of the table and champs in my eyes and deservingly so. its a huge pity star could just not take there beating and admit to have finished 2nd in the league, any way best of luck to both teams next season in premier, star wont get much sympathy up there against top sides of town with future appeals.
candystripes
18/05/2010, 9:59 AM
what happens balla b so
gaidin
18/05/2010, 10:14 AM
Id say ye would well within your rights to ask for reasons why star were awarded the points.
old git
18/05/2010, 11:18 AM
Id say ye would well within your rights to ask for reasons why star were awarded the points.
league should at least contact shannon town and explain why star were awarded the points !! but can't really see this happening... they have a website why dont they even publish verdicts of appeals onto this and let everybody know what is happening
Lev Yashin
18/05/2010, 12:21 PM
league should at least contact shannon town and explain why star were awarded the points !! but can't really see this happening... they have a website why dont they even publish verdicts of appeals onto this and let everybody know what is happening
They are sending us a letter.....
Goals4fun
18/05/2010, 12:24 PM
another objection involving the ldmc........when did the game change from 11 v 11 on a green field.......
best of luck to town in the cup final, some silverware would be nice.....
leather
18/05/2010, 12:27 PM
When team starting putting illegal players in the 11 on the field
gaidin
18/05/2010, 12:29 PM
Who ws illegal?
francesco_1
18/05/2010, 12:39 PM
They are sending us a letter.....
Its sad really, its only amateur football. Next a team will be putting in an objection if the grass is to high or the opposition's sock didnt match they're shorts.
With the exposure objections are getting this year, next year clubs will be trying to figure out how the other 'amateur' club made a mistake, rather then trying to beat them on the pitch.
Sadly its the way the game is going if this year is anything to go by.
leather
18/05/2010, 12:52 PM
If teams persist in playing Illegal player then it perfectly within the rights of the other teams to object...not saying that it is an ideal situation but them's the rules..
twohalves
18/05/2010, 12:57 PM
If teams persist in playing Illegal player then it perfectly within the rights of the other teams to object...not saying that it is an ideal situation but them's the rules..
Ultimately the clubs have the responsibility to ensure that all players listed on the matchcard are legitimate and not suspended but in fairness if the team only gets docked 3 points and a slap on the wrists they will keep persisting in breaking the rules - In this case it was more costly to Shannon (who had nothing to do wit the matter) than Balla who are still safe from relegation.Surely if the LDMC were to introduce maybe a 9 point deduction for a team if they are knowingly playing an illegal player it would deter teams in breaking the rules??
francesco_1
18/05/2010, 12:57 PM
The way its going the losers are the winners and visa vesa.
francesco_1
18/05/2010, 1:02 PM
What if a team is picked in good faith? It happened few times this season.
Lev Yashin
18/05/2010, 1:08 PM
What if a team is picked in good faith? It happened few times this season.
Well that's my thinking and that's why I couldn't see star having a case....I mean why would balla play a player thy knew was suspended in such a high profile game where they would surely get caught out I mean there was a massive crowd there.
footie freak
18/05/2010, 1:45 PM
Well that's my thinking and that's why I couldn't see star having a case....I mean why would balla play a player thy knew was suspended in such a high profile game where they would surely get caught out I mean there was a massive crowd there.
amazing isnt, all year how up to date we were from abbeyvale with all his super updated tables, fixtures and results but yet no sign of him filling us in from stars point of view on this issue. typical, keep ur head low bud. i wouldnt blame you or ur star team- mates for lying low for a while, embarrassment
leather
18/05/2010, 1:47 PM
Good faith and ignorance are no form of defense...
gaidin
18/05/2010, 1:48 PM
amazing isnt, all year how up to date we were from abbeyvale with all his super updated tables, fixtures and results but yet no sign of him filling us in from stars point of view on this issue. typical, keep ur head low bud. i wouldnt blame you or ur star team- mates for lying low for a while, embarrassment
Star didnt really do anything wrong here. They felt balla played an illegal player and objected which they have a right to do. From talking to the Balla lads a few days after the star match they are convinced that none of their players were illegal. Obviously the LDMC feel that Balla did play an illegal player so star get the points. End of. Star were well within their rights to object if they felt an illegal player played.
sky blue
18/05/2010, 1:51 PM
I think that any player that is suspended, the ref should be notafied before the game because the ref knows nearly every player anyway. Also then if the opposition knows that the player is suspended they can ask the ref and he can take it from there.
footie freak
18/05/2010, 2:05 PM
Star didnt really do anything wrong here. They felt balla played an illegal player and objected which they have a right to do. From talking to the Balla lads a few days after the star match they are convinced that none of their players were illegal. Obviously the LDMC feel that Balla did play an illegal player so star get the points. End of. Star were well within their rights to object if they felt an illegal player played.
i dont know how u can say its not star fault when they were adiment to get the appeal in and when questioned about it they apparantly didnt know what every one was talking about. just think the decent thing star could do is come on and explain or enlighten the topic..
old git
18/05/2010, 2:10 PM
When team starting putting illegal players in the 11 on the field
could be every week so.. it seems fairly common in league for teams to chance playing illegal players .. plus league only ever tend to favour decisions on certain clubs... is the punishment enough maybe any team playing illegal players should be docked more points / illegal players suspended !!!!!!
old git
18/05/2010, 2:14 PM
I think that any player that is suspended, the ref should be notafied before the game because the ref knows nearly every player anyway. Also then if the opposition knows that the player is suspended they can ask the ref and he can take it from there.
the so called micky mouse league ( clare league ) are we ahead of limerick on idea's on their league website section on red cards and players names & dates they sent off plus all the rules & regulations for league !!
why cant limerick league do something similar .... has anybody out their ever seen a copy of limerick league rules ??
footie freak
18/05/2010, 2:22 PM
the so called micky mouse league ( clare league ) are we ahead of limerick on idea's on their league website section on red cards and players names & dates they sent off plus all the rules & regulations for league !!
why cant limerick league do something similar .... has anybody out their ever seen a copy of limerick league rules ??
the reason why the limerick league rule book is not available is for situations like this where the ldmc can change rules to suit certain clubs. to the best of my knowledge there is a memember from star on the ldmc and he has huge say in matters at the meetings
Fairkop
18/05/2010, 2:27 PM
The ldmc should try and get their hands on it if they could, it would be helpful.
This has been another eventful season in limerick soccer again for all the wrong reasons,the ldmc seem to be caught in the headlights and you can be sure this will happen again next season.
twohalves
18/05/2010, 2:56 PM
Missing the point Shannonman, the objection was apparently for a previous game maybe 3-4 games ago when the Balla man was suspended and played with his name also listed on the card from what I understand.That's why I asked in my initial post about the 48hr objection rule!!
If he played more games afterwards maybe Dromore may have a case and could be saved from 1B and Balla could replace them!!
Goals4fun
18/05/2010, 3:22 PM
there is something wrong in football in limerick if people are willingly playing illegal players to win things....... I would say there were a lot more of teams in limerick between all the divisions who have played illegal players....I believe by all accounts that Hill Celtic and Cals in 1b did to try and starve off relegation/going out of the league....
I think there should be a rule book and all cases of appeals and hearing should be posted on a website so it is clear for everybody. They players with suspensions should be listed also........
I feel sorry for the players of Shannon Town, Pike, and Park as they lost out big style this year , due to objections. Nobody was trying to gain an advantage and the rule and regs have had an impact on their seasons.....It is sad for teams to be playing and training for nearly 10 months , and for a bit of paperwork to come and bite them in the ass...To me that is not what junior football is about.....win it on the pitch. ..... thats where the glory is.....
francesco_1
18/05/2010, 3:22 PM
Missing the point Shannonman, the objection was apparently for a previous game maybe 3-4 games ago when the Balla man was suspended and played with his name also listed on the card from what I understand.That's why I asked in my initial post about the 48hr objection rule!!
If he played more games afterwards maybe Dromore may have a case and could be saved from 1B and Balla could replace them!!
The objection was put in by Star Rovers within 48hrs after the match, as the alleged player in question was suppose to serve a one game ban, it was a question of did he/didnt he serve his ban.
twohalves
18/05/2010, 3:35 PM
The objection was put in by Star Rovers within 48hrs after the match, as the alleged player in question was suppose to serve a one game ban, it was a question of did he/didnt he serve his ban.
He was legit for the Star game by all accounts.Either way it's no way to win a league.Bottom line was that Star could not beat Balla at last game of season and therefore deserved runners-up with promotion to Premier which was a great achievement in itself.What a messy season it was off the field and lets hope it ends with a good game in Jackman tomorrow night.
gaidin
18/05/2010, 3:45 PM
He was legit for the Star game by all accounts.Either way it's no way to win a league.Bottom line was that Star could not beat Balla at last game of season and therefore deserved runners-up with promotion to Premier which was a great achievement in itself.What a messy season it was off the field and lets hope it ends with a good game in Jackman tomorrow night.
Sure if he was legal for the star game then star should not be awarded the points. Simple as. Even if the player was illegal in a previous game.
gaidin
18/05/2010, 3:46 PM
Balla claim he served this ban against shannon...
francesco_1
18/05/2010, 3:51 PM
We'll have to wait to and see what the LDMC say on the letter, or abbeyvale might come on and comment when he is finished drinking out of the cup :).
Lev Yashin
18/05/2010, 4:01 PM
Just to answer that one...its ironic because balla's striker walked toward us in the second half and i asked him who yer man was because he hadn't played against us and he was playing well against Star.
gaidin
18/05/2010, 4:13 PM
Just to answer that one...its ironic because balla's striker walked toward us in the second half and i asked him who yer man was because he hadn't played against us and he was playing well against Star.
So he served his 1 game suspension against ye :)
Maybe he was given a longer suspension than just the 1 game by the LDMC and therefore he might have been illegal against Star.
francesco_1
18/05/2010, 4:31 PM
So he served his 1 game suspension against ye :)
Maybe he was given a longer suspension than just the 1 game by the LDMC and therefore he might have been illegal against Star.
Was'nt that the debate, a player/club has to be told in person/writing that a longer ban has been giving right? So if Balla got no formal confirmation the player would be legal to play or would he not?
Lev Yashin
18/05/2010, 4:40 PM
Was'nt that the debate, a player/club has to be told in person/writing that a longer ban has been giving right? So if Balla got no formal confirmation the player would be legal to play or would he not?
Thats exactly what we assumed...clearly we were wrong...
Anyway im not gonna say anymore on it untill after our final tomorrow night, or i hear whats in the letter.
I'll be curious to hear what Abbeyvale has to say on the matter as he has been pretty honest about the situation so far.
francesco_1
18/05/2010, 4:47 PM
mickey mouse league who do you think you are to call it mickey mouse..yes its behind the limerick league but it is progressing well considering the difference in populations..were you not on the clare league forum complementing them yesterday on reaching the oscor traynor final..so which is it you either like clare league or not..if i'm right did you not spend years playing and supporting newtown???
I think old git was just saying what some people in limerick called it at some point on the forum, he was actually saying the clare league is known as that but they have good protocol in place in regards to sending off's/bans etc compared to the 'mighty" Limerick league.
old git
18/05/2010, 5:03 PM
mickey mouse league who do you think you are to call it mickey mouse..yes its behind the limerick league but it is progressing well considering the difference in populations..were you not on the clare league forum complementing them yesterday on reaching the oscor traynor final..so which is it you either like clare league or not..if i'm right did you not spend years playing and supporting newtown???
read my comment the " so called micky mouse league " this was meant as a dig at limerick leagues.. clare league is way better organised committe /officials and referee's & clear rules .. sorry if i offended you... went down to many newtown games but never played in any..:confused:
old git
18/05/2010, 5:05 PM
I think old git was just saying what some people in limerick called it at some point on the forum, he was actually saying the clare league is known as that but they have good protocol in place in regards to sending off's/bans etc compared to the 'mighty" Limerick league.
your correct with above reply ..