Grinder64
27/04/2010, 5:49 PM
Predictions

Fixtures
Tuesday 27/04/10 @ 18.30
Croom Utd X Summerville Rvs,

Thursday 29/04/10 @ 18.30
Shannon Town 1 Dromore Celtic,
Caherdavin X Star Rvs, (We'll take a draw as we'll be missing a few)
Ballynanty Rvs X Granville Rgs,

Saturday 01/05/10 @ 18.30
Charleville X Croom Utd

Is that an excuse already cause Caherdavin will be missing a few (judge and corky) for starters but they know there is a job to be done so lets get it on and looks like the loser will be in 1A next year

Bring on Thursday

whistleblower
27/04/2010, 10:01 PM
result: Croom 1 Summerville 0

abbeyvale
27/04/2010, 10:02 PM
Is that an excuse already cause Caherdavin will be missing a few (judge and corky) for starters but they know there is a job to be done so lets get it on and looks like the loser will be in 1A next year

Bring on Thursday

Not an excuse pal just stating facts, we have two of our best players definitely missing and possibly also our top goalscorer (who is 50/50), but thats what squads are for, so we'll plug away with what we have and see how we get on...........its a must win game for Caherdavin, a draw would do Star providing they win their last game away to Balla "B" which won't be an easy game either, so we'd rather not have to go to LIT looking for a win.

Caherdavin v Star should be a cracker, and may the best team win, and yes the loser will be playing 1A again next season (but only if Shannon beat Dromore).

abbeyvale
27/04/2010, 10:08 PM
(Max Pts) Team Pl W D L F A Pts
(46) Shannon Town 21 13 4 4 43 24 43
(47) Star Rvs 20 12 5 3 57 27 41
(45) Caherdavin Celtic 20 11 6 3 44 20 39
(41) Granville Rgs 20 10 5 5 31 21 35
(37) Summerville Rvs 21 9 7 5 34 19 34
(35) Charleville 19 8 5 6 28 26 29
(28) Janesboro B 21 7 4 10 35 51 25
(26) Prospect Priory 21 7 2 12 21 33 23
(29) Ballynanty Rvs 20 6 5 9 34 34 23
(27) Dromore Celtic 20 6 3 11 28 37 21
(27) Croom Utd 20 6 3 11 34 55 21
(10) Herbertstown 22 3 1 18 21 53 10...............Relegated

Herbertstown withdrawn from the league.

Results
Tuesday 27/04/10
Croom Utd 1-0 Summerville Rvs,

Fixtures
Shannon Town v Dromore Celtic,
Caherdavin v Star Rvs,
Ballynanty Rvs v Granville Rgs,

Charleville v Croom Utd

Tuesday 04/05/10 @ 18.30
Janesboro v Prospect Priory

Thursday 06/05/10 @ 18.30
Caherdavin Celtic v Charleville,
Granville Rgs v Summerville Rvs,
Ballynanty Rvs v Star Rvs,
Dromore Celtic v Croom Utd,

Promotion Run In.

Shannon Town: (1)
Home: Dromore,

Caherdavin: (2)
Home: Star,
Away: Charleville

Star: (2)
Away: Balla, Caherdavin

Granville: (2)
Home: Summerville,
Away: Balla,

Relegation Run In

Boro (1)
Away: Prospect

Balla (2)
Home: Granville, Star

Prospect (1)
Home: Boro

Croom (2)
Away: Charleville, Dromore

Dromore (2)
Home: Croom
Away: Shannon,

CupWinner99
28/04/2010, 1:13 PM
Not an excuse pal just stating facts, we have two of our best players definitely missing and possibly also our top goalscorer (who is 50/50), but thats what squads are for, so we'll plug away with what we have and see how we get on...........its a must win game for Caherdavin, a draw would do Star providing they win their last game away to Balla "B" which won't be an easy game either, so we'd rather not have to go to LIT looking for a win.

Caherdavin v Star should be a cracker, and may the best team win, and yes the loser will be playing 1A again next season (but only if Shannon beat Dromore).

Missing/injured players should not be used an excuse. Junior teams no matter what level are always missing players. Very rare a team can put out it's best team. Especially mid week games. As you say, that's what squads are for.

Should be a massive crowd at the Greenhills. I'd imagine Star will be hoping for a strong referee. Best of luck to both teams.

By the way, when was the last time Caherdavin played Premier football?

28/04/2010, 1:22 PM

Caherdavin have never been in the premier before which makes the next two matches even bigger for the club.

leather
28/04/2010, 1:25 PM
I think that caherdavin came close a few times before...late 80's they came close to premier and got to a lawson cup final...also in the mid 90's they were not that far away either...they used to play out in barry's cross at the time..

Fairkop
28/04/2010, 1:35 PM
Missing/injured players should not be used an excuse. Junior teams no matter what level are always missing players. Very rare a team can put out it's best team. Especially mid week games. As you say, that's what squads are for.

Should be a massive crowd at the Greenhills. I'd imagine Star will be hoping for a strong referee. Best of luck to both teams.

surely both teams would expect a strong referee,its a huge game and given caherdavins home defeat to shannon they will have plenty to prove.star will probably start favourites,hope its a good game though on THAT pitch i doubt it.

abbeyvale
28/04/2010, 3:01 PM
surely both teams would expect a strong referee,its a huge game and given caherdavins home defeat to shannon they will have plenty to prove.star will probably start favourites,hope its a good game though on THAT pitch i doubt it.

How do you maintain that Star will start the game as favourites??? especially considering they are away from home against a team that MUST win.
Caherdavin will definitely start the game as favourites with home advantage, home crowd and a good home record.

28/04/2010, 4:13 PM
I don't think there are any favourites really. If you go by the league table both should be pretty evenly matched. I know Star only need a point but i'm sure they will be looking for the 3 as much as Caherdavin so both teams have as much to play for. If the Caherdavin vs Shannon match is anything to go by there should be a big crowd sown for this. I'm predicting a last minute winner from Caherdavin to win 2-1.

On The Ball
28/04/2010, 4:55 PM
I don't think there are any favourites really. If you go by the league table both should be pretty evenly matched. I know Star only need a point but i'm sure they will be looking for the 3 as much as Caherdavin so both teams have as much to play for. If the Caherdavin vs Shannon match is anything to go by there should be a big crowd sown for this. I'm predicting a last minute winner from Caherdavin to win 2-1.
It's up for grabs now

mysteryman
28/04/2010, 4:57 PM
abbeyvale with herbertstown withdrawing does it mean that the 2nd and 3rd from bottom teams get relagated or just the 2nd from bottom?? and if its just 2nd from bottom i presume herbertstown will be dropped a few divisions meaning three teams from each league from 2a down get promoted?? would that be correct??

francesco_1
28/04/2010, 6:11 PM
abbeyvale with herbertstown withdrawing does it mean that the 2nd and 3rd from bottom teams get relagated or just the 2nd from bottom?? and if its just 2nd from bottom i presume herbertstown will be dropped a few divisions meaning three teams from each league from 2a down get promoted?? would that be correct??

They wont promote 3 teams from all those divisions. It may just be that 1B has a team less next season.

Im also backing Star to beat caherdavin in a close match 1-0.
Shannon have been nervy of late but should have enough to beat Dromore 2-0.

Prospect play their last match on tuesday while the other two bottom teams play thursday, i think that is stupid in fairness, if croom get a win on sat and we lose to Boro on tuesday then croom have nothing to play for in the last match V dromore who would then pass out prospect with a win.

The games should be played on the same day how hard would it be.

Dkid
28/04/2010, 7:43 PM
well mystery man,same thing happened to conagh last season and they got relegated to 3b from 1b i think,and three from 2a went up to 1b that was hospital who finished third,and corbally b who finished in 8th in 2b last season got promoted to 2a along wit the top 2 from 2b,so i presume that the same will happen nxt season maybe from 3b down if thats where they put herbertsown,but u never kno wit the ldmc they seem to be making new rules every season!

francesco_1
28/04/2010, 9:54 PM
Prospect V Janeboro changed to Thursday 06/05/10 @ 18.30

Sence prevails.

28/04/2010, 10:14 PM
LDMC also promoted, Caherdavin, Cappamore, Knockainey and Summerville from 3B to 3A this season so they could do anything with divisions depending on what teams are around next season.

Grinder64
28/04/2010, 10:52 PM

Only ball hopping about the excuses part abbeyvale, as you say it will be a cracker and may the best team win, there are worse pitches than the greenhills(not many). Congrats on a great job on foot.ie this year you kept everyone on this thread happy with all your updates well done and the best of luck to both teams tomorrow night.

abbeyvale
28/04/2010, 11:00 PM
Only ball hopping about the excuses part abbeyvale, as you say it will be a cracker and may the best team win, there are worse pitches than the greenhills(not many). Congrats on a great job on foot.ie this year you kept everyone on this thread happy with all your updates well done and the best of luck to both teams tomorrow night.

Ha ha, no probs..............will you be playing tomorrow?

28/04/2010, 11:04 PM
Ha ha, no probs..............will you be playing tomorrow?

ha ha he wishes. Don't think the old legs would allow him :D

abbeyvale
28/04/2010, 11:16 PM

Fixtures
Caherdavin v Star Rvs,

Charleville v Croom Utd

Tuesday 04/05/10 @ 18.30

Promotion Run In.

Home: Star, Charleville

Relegation Run In
Boro (1)

Balla (2)

Prospect (1)

Croom (2)

Dromore (2)

Grinder64
29/04/2010, 7:30 PM

Fixtures
Caherdavin v Star Rvs,

Charleville v Croom Utd

Tuesday 04/05/10 @ 18.30

Promotion Run In.

Home: Star, Charleville

Relegation Run In
Boro (1)

Balla (2)

Prospect (1)

Croom (2)

Dromore (2)

Caherdavin 1 Star 2
Congrats Abbeyvale and good luck against Balla

lifegoeson
29/04/2010, 8:03 PM
Caherdavin 1 Star 2
Congrats Abbeyvale and good luck against Balla

well done to star tonight... morton and lonergan with the goals..
shannon keeping the presure up with a 6-1 win over dromore. well done to both teams getting promoted

toonfanatic
29/04/2010, 8:03 PM
Shannon 6-1 Dromore.

0-0 half time.
Dromore missed penalty.
Shannon scored. Then Dromore player sent off for handball on the line (should have been free out 30 seconds prior), and Shannon scored penalty and ran riot.
Must win v Croom last day of season.

francesco_1
29/04/2010, 9:21 PM
Shannon 6-1 Dromore.

0-0 half time.
Dromore missed penalty.
Shannon scored. Then Dromore player sent off for handball on the line (should have been free out 30 seconds prior), and Shannon scored penalty and ran riot.

The croom match on sat night will be interesting, If Croom lose or draw prospect are safe, If they win Dromore would have win.

Balla won so they are safe they won 3-2 V's Granville

blueboy2
29/04/2010, 10:32 PM
Boro are safe after tonights results Croom have 2 matches left to save themselves.
Dromore home to Croom and Prospect home to the Boro Thursday night will decide who goes down.

toonfanatic
29/04/2010, 11:01 PM
between Prospect Croom and Dromore to go down. Dromore have to be favourites to go down I reckon.

Lev Yashin
30/04/2010, 7:51 AM
Shannon 6-1 Dromore.

0-0 half time.
Dromore missed penalty.

It wasn't missed....it was saved!! ;)

torres09
30/04/2010, 8:15 AM
balla to do star a favour???????????????????????????????

gaidin
30/04/2010, 9:05 AM

I dont think Star need a favour from Balla...Well capable of beating them without any help..

gaiscíoch
30/04/2010, 9:32 AM
Congratulations to Shannon Town on promotion.
Big boost to football in Shannon to have a team in the premier.

Lev Yashin
30/04/2010, 10:03 AM

I doubt balla would do star a favour....this time last year we went outnto watch geraldines play balla hoping that balla would do us a favour and to be fair even though they had nothing to play for they still gave geraldines a good run...I wouldn't expect any different from them.

Congrats to Star on promotion.

abbeyvale
30/04/2010, 10:24 AM
(46) Shannon Town 22 14 4 4 49 25 46.......Promoted
(47) Star Rvs 21 13 5 3 59 28 44............Promoted
(42) Caherdavin Celtic 21 11 6 4 45 22 39
(38) Granville Rgs 21 10 5 6 33 24 35
(29) Ballynanty Rvs 21 7 5 9 37 36 26
(24) Dromore Celtic 21 6 3 12 29 43 21

Fixtures
Shannon Town 6-1 Dromore Celtic,
Caherdavin 1-2 Star Rvs,
Ballynanty Rvs 3-2 Granville Rgs,

Charleville v Croom Utd

Tuesday 04/05/10 @ 18.30

Title Run In.
Star: (1)
Away: Balla,

Relegation Run In
Prospect (1)

Croom (2)

Dromore (1)

Goals4fun
30/04/2010, 11:52 AM

congrats to shannon town on promotion......
good to see a shannon team in the premier (again)

CupWinner99
30/04/2010, 12:35 PM
The croom match on sat night will be interesting, If Croom lose or draw prospect are safe, If they win Dromore would have win.

Balla won so they are safe they won 3-2 V's Granville

Were Granville short a few bodies or have Balla managed to put a few good results together at the right time of the season?

thomas72
30/04/2010, 2:39 PM
Were Granville short a few bodies or have Balla managed to put a few good results together at the right time of the season?

well done shannon and star rovers well deserved i hope we are in the prem to meet ye next season :clap:

2legged tackle
30/04/2010, 5:16 PM
Well done Shannon Town. Best of luck in premier.:ball:

the quiet 1
30/04/2010, 8:52 PM
Yes I heard that Granville were were short 4 or 5 players, Plus I would say they had 1 eye on there cup semi final on Sunday. Best of luck on Sunday

toonfanatic
01/05/2010, 2:26 PM
Congrats to Shannon Town and Star. Star should wrap up the title against Balla i.m.o.

Change in management for Dromore for last game of the season.... should be interesting to see if it pays off. Couple of last years squad should break their way into the squad for the last game now. Must win V Croom...regardless of Croom v Charleville result

abbeyvale
01/05/2010, 2:59 PM
(46) Shannon Town 22 14 4 4 49 25 46.......Promoted
(47) Star Rvs 21 13 5 3 59 28 44............Promoted
(42) Caherdavin Celtic 21 11 6 4 45 22 39
(38) Granville Rgs 21 10 5 6 33 24 35
(32) Charleville 21 8 5 8 29 28 29
(29) Ballynanty Rvs 21 7 5 9 37 36 26
(27) Croom Utd 21 7 3 11 36 56 24
(24) Dromore Celtic 21 6 3 12 29 43 21

Result
Saturday 01/05/10
Charleville 1-2 Croom Utd

Fixtures

francesco_1
01/05/2010, 9:14 PM
Croom won 2-1 V Charleville.

old git
02/05/2010, 2:09 PM

yes congratulations to shannon town and excellent for football in shannon to have a team back in the preimer ..

francesco_1
03/05/2010, 1:18 AM
yes congratulations to shannon town and excellent for football in shannon to have a team back in the preimer ..

Fair play to Shannon, I hope most of their games wont be called off next year as the field they have is brutal.

Lev Yashin
03/05/2010, 8:23 AM
Fair play to Shannon, I hope most of their games wont be called off next year as the field they have is brutal.

Most of our games weren't called off this year...but, you can put your mind at rest because we have invested heavily in our new pitch to bring it up to a decent playing standard.

old git
03/05/2010, 10:37 AM

to win promotion they must have played and won alot of games all season...!!!! i'm sure shannon town won some games on brutal pitches in limerick as well :D

CupWinner99
04/05/2010, 7:11 AM

Looking at the league table, I would say that there is only two decent pitches in the league.

Shannonman, ignore the begrudgers. Congrats and best of luck in the cup.

leather
04/05/2010, 8:06 AM
dont know about shannon's pitch but i would say at least 4 good pitches..

Lev Yashin
04/05/2010, 8:49 AM
Well janesboro's pitch is good as is balla's charleville granville dromore prospects can be a fine pitch depending on weather but that applies to alot of pitches...bottom line is you play half at home and half away from home so pitches don't really determine that much as both teams have to play on it...look caherdavins pitch lately as it's got harder and harder it has become a nighmare to play on and certainly hasn't helped them.

And anyway as I said there are two teams playing that have to adapt to a pitch...so the arguement is redundant

abbeyvale
04/05/2010, 10:54 PM
Well janesboro's pitch is good as is balla's charleville granville dromore prospects can be a fine pitch depending on weather but that applies to alot of pitches...bottom line is you play half at home and half away from home so pitches don't really determine that much as both teams have to play on it...look caherdavins pitch lately as it's got harder and harder it has become a nighmare to play on and certainly hasn't helped them.

And anyway as I said there are two teams playing that have to adapt to a pitch...so the arguement is redundant

Ye travelling in to watch our game Thursday pal???

Lev Yashin
05/05/2010, 7:06 AM
Would like to travel in and create an atmosphere like ye did when we played caherdavin but we have a semi final of the cup to prepare for too so it'll be up to the management as to what we do...

abbeyvale
05/05/2010, 12:33 PM
Would like to travel in and create an atmosphere like ye did when we played caherdavin but we have a semi final of the cup to prepare for too so it'll be up to the management as to what we do...

Of course, I forgot about yer semi on Sunday,