View Full Version : Mayo Super League 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20]

Norm
16/11/2009, 12:02 PM
What does it say about Fahy, gettin beat 8 - 1 by the worst team to win the league in some time. Not lookin good for ye next year.

I guess it says we were beaten by a far better team. We have no excuses. Ballina played quality ball and were well worth their win, they could have scored a few more if it wasn't for a few nice saves from our keeper.
Yesterday's result is now history, we won't remember it come next year and neither will most of Mayo!
We've enjoyed our 1st season, got a couple of wins and waited up. It's alot more then was expected of us.
Competition will be stiffer next year and that can only be a good thing. Whither we can wait up next year remains to be seen, either way yesterdays result would be a very poor method of determining Fahy's capabilities for the summer '10.

GoodFootball
16/11/2009, 12:32 PM
What does it say about Fahy, gettin beat 8 - 1 by the worst team to win the league in some time. Not lookin good for ye next year.

No business trying to rise Fahy people we are more than happy with our first season.

As always, your making a good impression on here! Your credibility is gone out the window and if i was No 7 I wouldn't bother posting again, no real point...

No. 7
16/11/2009, 3:49 PM
Agree Tommy Walsh, Lawless and Geraty are better than Joe. Peter Burke?? are you joking, played against him the last day and while he used to be one of the best his mayo days are behind him.

"Joe will be in the squad for Mayo" play it back to me at the end of the season.

So will Gary Goggins...and maybe more of the Fahy Elite if we keep up our performances!

Its the end of the season GoodFootball and i'm playin it back to you. How many had ye in the first Mayo Squad?

Cloggs
16/11/2009, 4:07 PM
Its the end of the season GoodFootball and i'm playin it back to you. How many had ye in the first Mayo Squad?

goggins was a shoe in for the squad at least,that was coming from the mayo manager himself,until he went travelling.joe keane declined the offer of playing with the mayo team but thanked them all the same.

on another note fair play to ballina.worthy champions of the super league this year.also fair play to clew bay utd on getting promotion to the premier division,with little or no notice takien of them until it was too late to stop them.sound bunch of lads and fully deserve to go up:ball:

Norm
16/11/2009, 4:20 PM
No. 7

None.

Aside from proving that goodfootball is not great with a crystal ball, what exactly is your point?

FahyForever
16/11/2009, 5:10 PM

Number Seven is a good name for you, you obviously watched Grizzly Adams back in the day. ;)

slab11
16/11/2009, 6:42 PM
Well done to Ballina. Deserved title!

GoodFootball
16/11/2009, 10:33 PM

As you've read already Joe Keane turned down the chance to play, his choice. And as has been pointed out Gary Goggins was up for selection, unfortunately for Gary it coincided with his plans for travel.

Thanks for playing it back to me though, any more invaluable posts on the horizon?

I would ask what club you belong to so I could come up with some criticism of you but I dont really care ;)

GoodFootball
16/11/2009, 10:40 PM
I predicted we would stay up...got it right. Happy enough all round :ball:

swinfordfc
17/11/2009, 5:17 PM
Congrats to Ballina on wining the super league....

mossy
18/11/2009, 9:24 AM
How many had ye in the first Mayo Squad?

I would like to put this post down to lacking knowledge of Mayo Squads History.
FACTS
1. If you play for Celtic or Port your in . If not then you would want to be a 'Ballina Duffy' or a 'Heane Burke' to make it. Please note that this is prior to the recent Ballina appointment.
2. Manulla has to have a representative in the panel regardless of how good/bad he is . Looks good in Club of the Century applications
This doctrine works as well at underage level, the only tangible difference being that it is worse. Any Celtic player will tell that it is harder get on the Celtic team than the Mayo team at underage level.
And to think that I could point the finger at my Bogball friends who only seem to select players at Minor level for Mayo if and only if Daddy is a prominent official of the GAA.

GoodFootball
18/11/2009, 11:27 AM
FACTS
1. If you play for Celtic or Port your in . If not then you would want to be a 'Ballina Duffy' or a 'Heane Burke' to make it. Please note that this is prior to the recent Ballina appointment.
2. Manulla has to have a representative in the panel regardless of how good/bad he is . Looks good in Club of the Century applications
This doctrine works as well at underage level, the only tangible difference being that it is worse. Any Celtic player will tell that it is harder get on the Celtic team than the Mayo team at underage level.
And to think that I could point the finger at my Bogball friends who only seem to select players at Minor level for Mayo if and only if Daddy is a prominent official of the GAA.

Would have to agree even now still, if you make the Westport team and put any 2 or 3 decent performances in you will make the Mayo squad.

Ballina & Westport made up 9 of starting 11 for the first game last week. I'd say if Eugene O'Gorman and David Cameron were playing well enough it would have been an all 11 from Ballina/Westport.

Ok he threw in a couple of Ballyglass, Manulla, Erris and Ballyheane on the panel. Just for good measure though...some of the inclusions are questionable.

If he keeps winning his methods will not be questioned and hopefully they do well :ball:

No. 7
18/11/2009, 11:44 AM
Would have to agree even now still, if you make the Westport team and put any 2 or 3 decent performances in you will make the Mayo squad.

Ballina & Westport made up 9 of starting 11 for the first game last week. I'd say if Eugene O'Gorman and David Cameron were playing well enough it would have been an all 11 from Ballina/Westport.

Ok he threw in a couple of Ballyglass, Manulla, Erris and Ballyheane on the panel. Just for good measure though...some of the inclusions are questionable.

If he keeps winning his methods will not be questioned and hopefully they do well :ball:

Which players that did'nt make the first Mayo squad would you have in Good Football. I think we all agree that Gary Goggins desrved a shot, also that Curry lad from Snugboro... who else? More importantly who in the squad did'nt deserve to be in it... I have to question the inclusion of Dessie Campbell

rava
18/11/2009, 11:52 AM
... I have to question the inclusion of Dessie Campbell

You would have to question anyone that would have him on their squad.

GoodFootball
18/11/2009, 12:34 PM
Which players that did'nt make the first Mayo squad would you have in Good Football. I think we all agree that Gary Goggins desrved a shot, also that Curry lad from Snugboro... who else? More importantly who in the squad did'nt deserve to be in it... I have to question the inclusion of Dessie Campbell

The small left winger for Erris is the best winger playing in the super league from what i've seen. Also maybe the centre back for Erris. McGreal from Snugboro is good enough. Kilmores goalkeeper is probably good enough.

Agree Dessie Campbell shouldn't be involved, he is average at best.

mossy
18/11/2009, 1:00 PM
You would have to question anyone that would have him on their squad.
What club does the bold Dessie play for I wonder ?
Or to put it another way would he have been there if he played for some other club.:mad:

FahyForever
18/11/2009, 1:45 PM
I'm glad this issue is being discussed on the forum, as it's aggrieved me for a long time. I don't think the issue of favoritism can even be slightly denied, as typified by ex-mulranny player Mick Wallace choosing a Mulranny striker who was the eighth highest scorer in the third highest division on his initial squad. It does seem to be Westport/Celtic traditionally, with a few token inclusions from the likes of Manulla. Erris and Ballina will have a few if they finish in the top three, but it's all quite random.

As for this year's squad, I actually think Ger Bourke is worth his place, as he offers something different, and is handy from set pieces too. Campbell's inclusion is a mystery to me, and though Roger Clarke has had a good season, he must be getting on now. What about Fitz from S+F? Deadly finisher when on his game. Agree with Goodfootball regarding Mc Greal from Snugboro, looked one of the most composed centre halves I've seen, but I understand competition is very stiff there..

My major problem though, is the methods (or lack of such) employed by the management teams. I remember years ago being asked by an under 21 manager to send two or three players (of our own choosing) to the first trial, and I think it gave them a chance to see players they would not have considered otherwise. The mayo manager is not expected to go to division two or three games scouting for talent, but that's where Gary Goggins was in his prime, for example. It should be an even playing field, and every team should be entitled to get a look. That Ballyglass lad would not be noticed only for the fact that he captained Mayo underage. it's not like the premiership where the talent naturally rises to the top; their are some good players throughout, waiting for a chance.

etoo
18/11/2009, 2:15 PM
I'm glad this issue is being discussed on the forum, as it's aggrieved me for a long time. I don't think the issue of favoritism can even be slightly denied, as typified by ex-mulranny player Mick Wallace choosing a Mulranny striker who was the eighth highest scorer in the third highest division on his initial squad. It does seem to be Westport/Celtic traditionally, with a few token inclusions from the likes of Manulla. Erris and Ballina will have a few if they finish in the top three, but it's all quite random.

As for this year's squad, I actually think Ger Bourke is worth his place, as he offers something different, and is handy from set pieces too. Campbell's inclusion is a mystery to me, and though Roger Clarke has had a good season, he must be getting on now. What about Fitz from S+F? Deadly finisher when on his game. Agree with Goodfootball regarding Mc Greal from Snugboro, looked one of the most composed centre halves I've seen, but I understand competition is very stiff there..

My major problem though, is the methods (or lack of such) employed by the management teams. I remember years ago being asked by an under 21 manager to send two or three players (of our own choosing) to the first trial, and I think it gave them a chance to see players they would not have considered otherwise. The mayo manager is not expected to go to division two or three games scouting for talent, but that's where Gary Goggins was in his prime, for example. It should be an even playing field, and every team should be entitled to get a look. That Ballyglass lad would not be noticed only for the fact that he captained Mayo underage. it's not like the premiership where the talent naturally rises to the top; their are some good players throughout, waiting for a chance.

McGreal was asked but hes gone travelling for the year so wasnt around. its hard for the Mayo manager to pick from outside the Super as thats where he only gets to see these players.
Maybe the Mayo FA need to get a man not involved with any team to manage the county team. Thats when he sees players on a more regular basis. And There should be trail games where clubs nominate their best players to go for it.
Also a few years back,maybe 5 or 6 years, clubs where asked did they want any players to be watched by the then county manager(forget who he was) and he could make up his own mind wether he was good enough. that wasnt a bad idea.

GoodFootball
19/11/2009, 6:37 PM

Agree on most points except that Gary Goggins had his best year for Fahy this year, he really uped it for the super league and showed he can score and create chances in the super league. Hard to judge players when they play against weaker opposition in premier, 1st and 2nd divisions. So picking from lower leagues you have to be careful, not all players play better at a higher standard. You must give a proper trial to players though and by all accounts this didn't happen again this year...

renovater
19/11/2009, 8:09 PM
FACTS
Love to know what you are on,
And you seem to appear you have a lot of management experience. for the record what team or teams did you manage that was so successful or are you just simply hurler on the ditch.its does appear the little green man is coming out in you, your attack on Manulla is without foundation, its my opinion you never seen Manulla youths playing at county level. because what you are saying, is that you are questioning the ability of youth county coaches to make selection.
You might try to explain this doctrine you write about that works at under age.
I for one is not aware of it, I would suggest players are selected on how well they perform, not what club they come from. It would be true to say the better players may come from the more successful clubs, but that does not say that clubs who are not successful are represented at county level

GoodFootball
19/11/2009, 9:28 PM
And you seem to appear you have a lot of management experience. for the record what team or teams did you manage that was so successful or are you just simply hurler on the ditch.its does appear the little green man is coming out in you, your attack on Manulla is without foundation, its my opinion you never seen Manulla youths playing at county level. because what you are saying, is that you are questioning the ability of youth county coaches to make selection.
I for one is not aware of it, I would suggest players are selected on how well they perform, not what club they come from. It would be true to say the better players may come from the more successful clubs, but that does not say that clubs who are not successful are represented at county level

What Manulla players should be on the county team then?

short_frank
20/11/2009, 10:49 PM

Once again Renovater talking through his hat (defending Manulla just because he happens to be coaching there now). It is well known throughout the county that if you are from a "smaller" club you will get the proverbial sh**** end of the stick when it comes to county selection. I remember being involved a few years ago with a team (unfashionable small club at the time) that won the U16 league and cup double two years in a row and reached a FAI U16 semi final and yet couldn't get one of the players onto the county panel. We demanded a meeting to ask why and were told straight to our faces that none of them were good enough. Two of that team represented Ireland within the next year and were on the verge of transferring to English clubs but for unfortunate injuries.
This is still the case today. I recommended three players to the U18 county manager two years ago and was given short shrift so I demanded he allow them in and take a look at them. They were playing Mayo league football week in week out and were very highly regarded by anyone who saw them. They were given a trial and despite telling the manager their positions they were played completly out of position and then discarded as not good enough. One of them plays alongside a league of Ireland player in college now and he is raving about the ability of our player.
This is the case and will always be no matter what the league officials tell us.:mad:

Spot Kick
21/11/2009, 6:33 PM
As Fahy Forever has said it is nice to see some reasoned debate on Mayo Oscar Traynor team. I am sure that all the players that are on the panel are worthy of selection and certainly they did well except for the last 10 minutes the last day against the Inishowen league. I do not think that individual players should be commented upon in a bad fashion on a forum like this as none of us would like unfavourable comments to be passed on ourselves. Well done to all the Mayo players and the management for their efforts. I wonder were all those that made the comments on players at the match between Mayo and Inishowen and will they be at the game in Galway.

renovater
21/11/2009, 8:28 PM
What Manulla players should be on the county team then?
I am for one is not saying that any Manulla player should be in this year side.
What I am saying that if they are selected, they are selected like any other player on merit.
I don't go with the **** and bull that its harder to get on to the Celtic Team than the county team, if that was the case why isn't all the county places taken by Celtic. Made by Mossy what do you think?

renovater
21/11/2009, 8:43 PM
Once again Renovater talking through his hat (defending Manulla just because he happens to be coaching there now). It is well known throughout the county that if you are from a "smaller" club you will get the proverbial sh**** end of the stick when it comes to county selection. I remember being involved a few years ago with a team (unfashionable small club at the time) that won the U16 league and cup double two years in a row and reached a FAI U16 semi final and yet couldn't get one of the players onto the county panel. We demanded a meeting to ask why and were told straight to our faces that none of them were good enough. Two of that team represented Ireland within the next year and were on the verge of transferring to English clubs but for unfortunate injuries.
This is still the case today. I recommended three players to the U18 county manager two years ago and was given short shrift so I demanded he allow them in and take a look at them. They were playing Mayo league football week in week out and were very highly regarded by anyone who saw them. They were given a trial and despite telling the manager their positions they were played completly out of position and then discarded as not good enough. One of them plays alongside a league of Ireland player in college now and he is raving about the ability of our player.
This is the case and will always be no matter what the league officials tell us.:mad:

First of all I don't manage an underage team at Manalla,
regards to your other points I don't know who the players you are referring to, so unable to comment.
However I do feel sorry for you, seemed to be grieve as to your players where not selected. beauty is always in the eyes of the beholder.
Managers of any county team have there way of selecting players, some do get it wrong like any big club who will give trail to a player and think he not good enough.
finally I don't where any hat (Manor of speech) for any one I was just giving opinion

Thunderblaster
21/11/2009, 10:08 PM
I don't where any hat

Should the word be "wear"?

Bestie
22/11/2009, 9:28 AM
As Fahy Forever has said it is nice to see some reasoned debate on Mayo Oscar Traynor team. I am sure that all the players that are on the panel are worthy of selection and certainly they did well except for the last 10 minutes the last day against the Inishowen league. I do not think that individual players should be commented upon in a bad fashion on a forum like this as none of us would like unfavourable comments to be passed on ourselves. Well done to all the Mayo players and the management for their efforts. I wonder were all those that made the comments on players at the match between Mayo and Inishowen and will they be at the game in Galway.
You are spot on Spot Kick. I did not see too many people in Milebush for the Inishowen game including Fahy Forever and Mossy. They are entitled to their opinions like everyone else but were they at the last match and will they travel to the Galway match.

renovater
22/11/2009, 4:21 PM
Should the word be "wear"?
Thanks once again Tb ur right
But I take it you get the point I am making

renovater
22/11/2009, 4:26 PM
You are spot on Spot Kick. I did not see too many people in Milebush for the Inishowen game including Fahy Forever and Mossy. They are entitled to their opinions like everyone else but were they at the last match and will they travel to the Galway match.
I think you are dead right, My own conclusion is they just hurlers on the ditch
lack real knowlege:)

short_frank
22/11/2009, 5:20 PM
First of all I don't manage an underage team at Manalla,
regards to your other points I don't know who the players you are referring to, so unable to comment.
However I do feel sorry for you, seemed to be grieve as to your players where not selected. beauty is always in the eyes of the beholder.
Managers of any county team have there way of selecting players, some do get it wrong like any big club who will give trail to a player and think he not good enough.
finally I don't where any hat (Manor of speech) for any one I was just giving opinion

Sorry took so long to reply I had to translate your grammar. Did you not read my point or could you not understand the correct spelling, I said how these lads played for Ireland and the latest ones are highly regarded by those who have seen them play so how could you come up with the statement that "beauty is in the eye of the beholder" when it is obvious that it is not just us who see their ability. If you had read it properly the point I was making was the fact that there is an obvious bias towards the bigger clubs and I used the players I know as an example of this. There are talented players THROUGHOUT this county as well as officials so why don't they be brought in?
This is not a professional league. Very talented players stay with their local clubs because they want to represent their local team so lets not disregard them.

GoodFootball
23/11/2009, 8:41 AM
Sorry took so long to reply I had to translate your grammar. Did you not read my point or could you not understand the correct spelling, I said how these lads played for Ireland and the latest ones are highly regarded by those who have seen them play so how could you come up with the statement that "beauty is in the eye of the beholder" when it is obvious that it is not just us who see their ability. If you had read it properly the point I was making was the fact that there is an obvious bias towards the bigger clubs and I used the players I know as an example of this. There are talented players THROUGHOUT this county as well as officials so why don't they be brought in?
This is not a professional league. Very talented players stay with their local clubs because they want to represent their local team so lets not disregard them.

ZZZZZZ...anyone else bored?

Who do people reckon will have a chance in conn cup from Mayo?

mossy
23/11/2009, 10:28 AM
Cannot agree more .
Whats the story with the FAI Cup is there 6 teams going out this Year as there are 6 Ties - Maybe only Three:mad:
I see the Mayo debate has unearthed neantherdal man.:D

GoodFootball
23/11/2009, 10:33 AM
Cannot agree more .
Whats the story with the FAI Cup is there 6 teams going out this Year as there are 6 Ties - Maybe only Three:mad:
I see the Mayo debate has unearthed neantherdal man.:D

Who are all these very talented players playing in their local team in the lower divisions who haven't got a chance with mayo oscar traynor team?

mossy
23/11/2009, 11:46 AM
Who are all these very talented players playing in their local team in the lower divisions who haven't got a chance with mayo oscar traynor team?
Exactly who are they - perhaps this might be easier on the other forums and not the super league one.:rolleyes:
However who are they exactly ? Can someone from these divisions throw some light on the subject.
Swinford Bangor or Moyvilla perhaps maybe even Clew Bay

GoodFootball
23/11/2009, 3:44 PM
Exactly who are they - perhaps this might be easier on the other forums and not the super league one.:rolleyes:
However who are they exactly ? Can someone from these divisions throw some light on the subject.
Swinford Bangor or Moyvilla perhaps maybe even Clew Bay

Clew Bay have had a great year this year, I watched them a few times and they play a nice brand of football. However, dont think they have any players who would make the Mayo Oscar Traynor panel. Not yet anyway...

Bangor definitely have 2 players, the little guy up front and the free kick specialest central midfielder. They were there in the super league season anyway.

Moy Villa? Swinford have one class player from what I remember...

Cloggs
23/11/2009, 5:31 PM
Clew Bay have had a great year this year, I watched them a few times and they play a nice brand of football. However, dont think they have any players who would make the Mayo Oscar Traynor panel. Not yet anyway...

Bangor definitely have 2 players, the little guy up front and the free kick specialest central midfielder. They were there in the super league season anyway.

Moy Villa? Swinford have one class player from what I remember...

tommy gill would definitely be there or thereabouts i think from clew bay.a very talented player who i think would thrive playing with even better players if he got a chance with mayo.conan dyer is another good young lad playing with them.cannot really comment on other teams as haven't seem too many of them play recently

renovater
23/11/2009, 5:42 PM
Zzzzzzzzz I said I couldn't comment, they are highly rated by you .I am not questioning there ability. Move on:D

GoodFootball
24/11/2009, 8:14 AM
tommy gill would definitely be there or thereabouts i think from clew bay.a very talented player who i think would thrive playing with even better players if he got a chance with mayo.conan dyer is another good young lad playing with them.cannot really comment on other teams as haven't seem too many of them play recently

Conan is 28. He comes from a great area of Louisburgh rich in footballing talent...tommy gill is a good player too. They would be the 2 closest from the clew bay team that could possibly get a trial. But when you talk about danny scahill, david horkan, stevie gavin I dont think either gill or dyar would be at that level yet but we'll see how they up it next year in the premier. Would love to see a few more from the Louisburgh area involved in the county scene...

gufcfan
03/01/2010, 5:05 PM
Hello lads,

Is there anywhere I can get reliable league tables for the Mayo league?

I had a quick look through the thread... are you playing a summer football or something?

pixiehead
03/01/2010, 5:15 PM
Hello lads,

I had a quick look through the thread... are you playing a summer football or something?

www.snugboro.com will get you our club then just go to tables/divisions
MAROOOON ARMY!!!!!!! :)

Bestie
03/01/2010, 9:52 PM
Hello lads,

The league has really been over for the past two months but there was one game left outstanding due Westport's involvement in Connacht and FAI Junior Cup. They also had several players on the Mayo Oscar Traynor side. The weather in recent times did not help either. They still have to play Snugboro. So much for winter football !!!! You can get the table on
http://inform.fai.ie/League/Clubs/portals/MAFL/elveryssportssuperleagueleaguetable.aspx

gufcfan
05/01/2010, 12:06 PM
Does anyone else think it's daft calling you 2nd-tier division the Premier...?