View Full Version : Mayo Super League 2009
Pages :
[
5]
At the end of the day if ye played Westport tomorrow they would still give ye a good lesson in football. Compare player for player to see how far behind Westport ye still are in football.
Looks like Celtic are begining to think their above ML all of a sudden....you'd swear ye won the ML ten years in a row the way you go on!
Mabye Westport would give celtic a lesson,Somehow I dont think it would happen week in week out.The A league is most definitely a stepping stone to the First Div and hopefully further.I think that celtic deserve a lot of praise for taking the step and also without paying players to do it.
I know of at least Two Super league Clubs that pay players.
Be fair at the same time,they didnt just talk about going into the A League,they did it.At the end of the day they are not only representing castlebar they are also representing mayo.
And as you well know they are not above the super league,they are part of it.Like every other club they play an integral part in its set up
theboy
21/05/2009, 2:15 PM
Thats my opinion,no need for explanation.
Look at the standard of player who has jumped on the celtic bandwagon to clarify this.They are punching above their weight.
Thats your opinion fair enough, what would westport do if the door was open for them to join the mickey mouse league? would they take it??
what players do think in your opinion are punching above their weight?
But as always the same, someone on mayo tries something new and people like you knock it all back.
r.rover
21/05/2009, 2:24 PM
this debate is so pathetic its not even funny, thought it was a super league forum, not a " have a go at celtic" one, fair play to celtic, we would all like to be playin in league of ireland full stop. does anyone want to talk about super league football no?
theboy
21/05/2009, 2:42 PM
this debate is so pathetic its not even funny, thought it was a super league forum, not a " have a go at celtic" one, fair play to celtic, we would all like to be playin in league of ireland full stop. does anyone want to talk about super league football no?
well said..
FahyForever
21/05/2009, 2:54 PM
Agreed. There is absolutely reason for criticising Celtic for joining the A league, as they are doing so as a result of their ambitions as a club and are entirely justified in doing so. A quick look at the achievments of their youth teams verifies this beyond doubt. If they can have some of the best youth teams in the country why not aim high? I think these arguments stem from two roots; Westport/Celtic rivalry and some very immature people (a minority in fairness) trying to rise people with unfounded, unjustified, childish remarks.
Boro86
21/05/2009, 2:58 PM
Can we get back to the media coverage and not a celtic/westport slagging match
FahyForever
21/05/2009, 3:01 PM
I wonder how Kilmore are getting on pre-season? 4-3 against Ballina in the cup was no bad result. And going down there is always an ordeal. I think they will surprise people this year if they can put out their full team. There seems to be a weight of opinion that claims Kilmore and Fahy are relegated already (See Mossy Lally's casual dismissiveness of both teams in his Mayo News article last week) but I think thats a little premature. They may well go down, but they will cause a few upsets along the way anyway.
r.rover
21/05/2009, 3:20 PM
I wonder how Kilmore are getting on pre-season? 4-3 against Ballina in the cup was no bad result. And going down there is always an ordeal. I think they will surprise people this year if they can put out their full team. There seems to be a weight of opinion that claims Kilmore and Fahy are relegated already (See Mossy Lally's casual dismissiveness of both teams in his Mayo News article last week) but I think thats a little premature. They may well go down, but they will cause a few upsets along the way anyway.
thats not a shabby result for kilmore alrite, no harm mossy writin us off, let him off!
Closing Time
21/05/2009, 3:55 PM
Spot on there boro86.
You`d hardly know it has begun.
As for that A-league, it`s mickey mouse stuff played by wannabees who are average in the extreme.Glorified junior soccer with a lot of travelling is all it is.
100% correct if that what you think. But you have let yourself down with a statement like that and it shows you have very little knowledge of the Irish game. Of course the current Utd team would do very well in this league and possibly (IMO) are good enough to win it with their current squad. But we will never know which is a pity for the players and their true football supporters. The standard in Mayo Junior football IMO gets worse every year (We all know Utd current team are top class and will be for 5/6 more years but after that I am not so sure) and I see it hitting a new low this year. Bar one or two games the ball is in the air 80% of the time and I cannot understand why the players nowadays are not as good as years gone by.
Closing Time
21/05/2009, 4:32 PM
Just my honest opinion...its a B league for people who wanna play in the LOI but aren't good enough to get paid.
Im sure the lads feel like better players playing in it but at the end of the day all the teams are reserve sides of LOI!
Super league is less travelling and not that far off it standard wise. Each to their own though...
Honest having a laugh
Stop, you do not really believe what you have just written. I know Fahy has just joined the S/l and you are from Westport but don’t start talking about the S/l until you start watching the games. I have watched the standard of the S/L drop for the last number of years and the proof is that we have a team (no disrespect intended) who were nearly ended up in Div 1 and fair dues to them are now in the S/L along with your own club who finished fourth in the premier (I know Fahy will do well this year in the S/l and deserve to be there on last five years performances) does not say a lot for the standard of football throughout the County. Please point out the quality games that will be on offer this weekend in the S/l and you are telling me they are near the standard of the A Championship please don’t reply with your anti Celtic hat on and think about what you will post. By the way have you seen any of Celtic games this year don’t think so your you would not have made the above statement well I hope not.
21/05/2009, 4:40 PM
Have to agree with Closing Time, the Super League has dropped in quality over the last few years. Westport the only team in the league with quality players throughout the team.
hardcore
21/05/2009, 5:05 PM
Honest having a laugh
Stop, you do not really believe what you have just written. I know Fahy has just joined the S/l and you are from Westport but don’t start talking about the S/l until you start watching the games. I have watched the standard of the S/L drop for the last number of years and the proof is that we have a team (no disrespect intended) who were nearly ended up in Div 1 and fair dues to them are now in the S/L along with your own club who finished fourth in the premier (I know Fahy will do well this year in the S/l and deserve to be there on last five years performances) does not say a lot for the standard of football throughout the County. Please point out the quality games that will be on offer this weekend in the S/l and you are telling me they are near the standard of the A Championship please don’t reply with your anti Celtic hat on and think about what you will post. By the way have you seen any of Celtic games this year don’t think so your you would not have made the above statement well I hope not.
Very well said. Kilmore point well made (with no disrespect to them) andfair play to celtic for thinking of the long-term future. The way some guys are thinking on here, you'd think that celtic had committed a crime!
Closing Time
21/05/2009, 5:11 PM
I havent seen the Mayo News but as far as the Connaught and the Western are concerned the coverage of the start of the league is woeful and non exsistant. Has Celtics games in the A league overshadowed the Super league?? Well so far yes. Each year the connaught does a decent piece on each club and the standings. This year nothing. Im certainly not holding my breath for anything in the advertiser as its coverage of soccer is a joke. Surley the A league and the Super can be given equal coverage?
What are other posters opinions on this( and just to state im not dissing the A league)
The question you asked is the S/l getting the coverage it deserves no but you cannot blame Celtic reports on the LOI Championship as the cause of this. Look this is a Castlebar based paper and Celtic are by far the biggest football club in the area and are playing at a national level and should get the space this warrants (in some of your anti Celtic cases that would be a paragraph) as should the S/l. Look at the coverage Utd got when winning the Senior Cup on Sunday nearly a page & ½ (maybe that took up the Junior League space), Celtic got a ½ page about the game and U-20 league plus the most read Celtic Corner which is really appreciated by the parents and players from the B & C teams who other wise would not get a mention in any paper. Yes the S/l is not getting the coverage it deserves but that is up to the Mayo League to sort this out with the local papers. Remember this is a GAA County and we are no where near the pulling power of this code with regard to support (we are all envious of the Utd support which is wonderful). Without the likes of Tom Kelly, Michael Gallager, Padraic Burns and the Mayo News lads we would have very little space. I know this is very pro Celtic but I just cant help it. My lot for ttb
pinero
21/05/2009, 9:23 PM
Not so sure about the standard in the super league dropping in the last few years,westport seem to be a step above everyone else but still think this years super league will be very competitive,remember westport lost to teams that got to final in both connaught and fai junior cup and iorras who finished mid table lost to winners,also celtic would have got further in fai, if not for the disgracefull refereeing in limerick,its too easy to knock the game in mayo get out and see a few games and ye might be suprised by the standard,dont know about anyone else but best game for me last year was the celtic v iorras 4.4 draw in celtic park near the end of last season, end to end stuff and cracking goals.
GoodFootball
22/05/2009, 8:40 AM
100% correct if that what you think. But you have let yourself down with a statement like that and it shows you have very little knowledge of the Irish game. Of course the current Utd team would do very well in this league and possibly (IMO) are good enough to win it with their current squad. But we will never know which is a pity for the players and their true football supporters. The standard in Mayo Junior football IMO gets worse every year (We all know Utd current team are top class and will be for 5/6 more years but after that I am not so sure) and I see it hitting a new low this year. Bar one or two games the ball is in the air 80% of the time and I cannot understand why the players nowadays are not as good as years gone by.
LOI football is played in the air bar a couple of teams. Celtic will have to adapt to this style of football. Most teams such as pats, shels have a physical backline and a physical striker to play long ball to. Watch MNS you'll see what i mean.
BTW I dont mean any disrespect to Celtic, I think its great they joined the A championship but just because they joined that people are now downing the super league. Its up to the rest of the SL to show they can compete with Westport, not to lie down and say their gonna win it every year for the next 5/6 :ball:
murphs jewels
22/05/2009, 9:02 AM
Draw for next round of the Chadwicks cup published, byes to round 3 for Achill, Glenhest, Moy Villa, Charlestown, Castlebar Celtic, Conn Rangers and Kilmore.
Westport Utd. ‘B’ v Ballyglass
Crossmolina v Kiltimagh/Knock Utd
Manulla v Crossmolina ‘B’
Westport Utd v Bangor Hibs. ‘B’
Ballyheane v Straide & Foxford Utd
Urlaur Utd v Snugboro Utd. ‘B’
Bangor Hibs v Cross Celtic or Swinford
Snugboro Utd v Mulranny Utd
murphs jewels
22/05/2009, 10:56 AM
thats 15 teams inRound 3 - should be 16? who you missing murph's
It could be 1st round fixture between Castlebar Town and Ballina Town 'B' I think, Both teams have withdrawn from the league. Funny how they were drawn against each other and both withdrew. But i think thats where the mystery is.
pixiehead
22/05/2009, 12:02 PM
LOI football is played in the air bar a couple of teams. Celtic will have to adapt to this style of football. Most teams such as pats, shels have a physical backline and a physical striker to play long ball to. Watch MNS you'll see what i mean.
BTW I dont mean any disrespect to Celtic, I think its great they joined the A championship but just because they joined that people are now downing the super league. Its up to the rest of the SL to show they can compete with Westport, not to lie down and say their gonna win it every year for the next 5/6 :ball:
Tell me what games youve attended and seen this? How could you possibly see Shels when their not even shown on MNS? There was certainly no ball in the air the Celtic/A league games ive seen. There is however a huge leap in quaility between the A league and the premier. Celtic have ambition though and people should give them credit. Maybe you should take a trip up to Terryland or the showgrounds now and again and point out the "Physical" Strikers?? Creataro? Vinny faherty? Boco? I dont think so mate!! These guys are footballers!!!!
GoodFootball
22/05/2009, 1:02 PM
Tell me what games youve attended and seen this? How could you possibly see Shels when their not even shown on MNS? There was certainly no ball in the air the Celtic/A league games ive seen. There is however a huge leap in quaility between the A league and the premier. Celtic have ambition though and people should give them credit. Maybe you should take a trip up to Terryland or the showgrounds now and again and point out the "Physical" Strikers?? Creataro? Vinny faherty? Boco? I dont think so mate!! These guys are footballers!!!!
Shels? oops meant bohs as my point was the top teams are physical sides and good in the air.
A big man or 2 is what ye need up front.
And again, thats my point Celtic might need to get more physical to get into the 1st division. All the best to them anyway, they have ambition at least.
GoodFootball
22/05/2009, 1:04 PM
Realise this is a super league forum so wont discuss LOI or A League on here. Think it was me that brought it up :ball:
robben 11
22/05/2009, 8:01 PM
Celtic 1 S&F 3
Celtic missed penalty at 1-1 and utd took their chances. Nothing much between the teams. S&F not bad considering all the players that has left but their back four will leek goals as will ours. Mid to bottomf or both teams. Celtic will improve once they get the leaving certs back.
2 players have left straide and foxford, alan macdonnel and craig reape ( gaa)
gerry gaughan back 1st june, john o hara home end of may ( college ) and macdonnel has been replaced by lad who broke his leg at the club last year adam gallagher and john o hara can equaly slot in centre midfield there no bother, also a lad up from last years b team who could walk on to most of super league teams Shane Bourke great player, fitzi training like a mad man for last 3 weeks and he's back tomorow against the boro after serving his suspensions, tiger in hospital still... so just to put the record straight 2 players! did ya hear that mossy????
hoop4life
22/05/2009, 8:20 PM
will the leaving certs be back tomorrow does anyone know??
who will be in goal or is kevin stenson playing??
also, heard nigel naughton got a bad enough injury playing for mayo u18s last night, how bad is he??
hoop4life
23/05/2009, 8:16 PM
fahy 0-1 celtic im just after hearing
Closing Time
24/05/2009, 10:30 AM
Well done to Mick, Adrian and all the lads on a hard earned victory over a committed Fahy side. Most teams will find it a hard place to go this season and any result will have to be earned. Good to see Noel Marley back after a bad injury last season. Any other results
Footy Mad
24/05/2009, 11:07 AM
Manulla 0, Westport 4
Snugboro 4, S & F 0
Kilmore 1, Ballina Town 3
Closing Time
24/05/2009, 11:38 AM
gerry gaughan back 1st june, john o hara home end of may ( college ) and macdonnel has been replaced by lad who broke his leg at the club last year adam gallagher and john o hara can equaly slot in centre midfield there no bother, also a lad up from last years b team who could walk on to most of super league teams Shane Bourke great player, fitzi training like a mad man for last 3 weeks and he's back tomorow against the boro after serving his suspensions, tiger in hospital still... so just to put the record straight 2 players! did ya hear that mossy????
What happened last night. Great result for the Boro, felt they would win but not by that score, know your backfour is not to S/l standard but didnt think you would concede 4 against the Boro.
FahyForever
24/05/2009, 2:50 PM
Well done to Mick, Adrian and all the lads on a hard earned victory over a committed Fahy side. Most teams will find it a hard place to go this season and any result will have to be earned. Good to see Noel Marley back after a bad injury last season. Any other results
Fair play to Celtic, I thought they were really well organised and I was a bit surprised by how even the young, smaller lads were 100% committed into every tackle. Celtic had the best of the first half and Russell Gibbons scored deservedly. Fahy were on top for almost all of the second half, without ever really looking like scoring, and were left exposed on occasion to Celtic counter attacks. Celtic have a decent mixture of youth and experience but I thought the outstanding player was Joe Keane, our centre half. At 17, James Mc Guaran looks a really composed, classy left-back for Celtic. I was disappointed our first game in the Super League was apparently undeserving of linesmen and felt the ref got some decisions wrong, but that happens in football. Best of luck for the rest of the season.
hoop4life
24/05/2009, 7:20 PM
Fair play to Celtic, I thought they were really well organised and I was a bit surprised by how even the young, smaller lads were 100% committed into every tackle. Celtic had the best of the first half and Russell Gibbons scored deservedly. Fahy were on top for almost all of the second half, without ever really looking like scoring, and were left exposed on occasion to Celtic counter attacks. Celtic have a decent mixture of youth and experience but I thought the outstanding player was Joe Keane, our centre half. At 17, James Mc Guaran looks a really composed, classy left-back for Celtic. I was disappointed our first game in the Super League was apparently undeserving of linesmen and felt the ref got some decisions wrong, but that happens in football. Best of luck for the rest of the season.
thats poor form, super league games always should have 3 officials. who was reffing??
just heard the celtic team a while ago. bit suprised that they played 5 across the middle but fair play to mick and adrian, they got a very good 3 points. also, there was only 2 young lads playing, fitzgerald and mcgaurn who are both 18. dont know if there was anymore on the bench and there was 2 of them injured and the leavin cert lads missing aswell.
all in all a good start for mick, adrian and the lads. well done and keep it up in two weeks at home to erris :):ball:
GoodFootball
24/05/2009, 11:03 PM
thats poor form, super league games always should have 3 officials. who was reffing??
just heard the celtic team a while ago. bit suprised that they played 5 across the middle but fair play to mick and adrian, they got a very good 3 points. also, there was only 2 young lads playing, fitzgerald and mcgaurn who are both 18. dont know if there was anymore on the bench and there was 2 of them injured and the leavin cert lads missing aswell.
all in all a good start for mick, adrian and the lads. well done and keep it up in two weeks at home to erris :):ball:
Draw would have been fair on chances created. Was amused that with all the talk of us being kickers and long ball team that Celtic did most of the physical stuff and played a disciplined long ball game while we tried to play football. Celtic were relieved with final whistle, more to come from fahy fair play to Celtic for adapting their game to suit current players!
What happened last night. Great result for the Boro, felt they would win but not by that score, know your backfour is not to S/l standard but didnt think you would concede 4 against the Boro.
Boro were well worth the 4 nil win. played very well both halves. Sendin off of Seanie Walsh didnt help Straide in the second half but they never looked like scoring throughout.Straide were missing a few players though. No sign of fitzy or Johnny Jordan, two quality players that any team would miss.
A good start for the boro though. Big game next against Ballina.
r.rover
25/05/2009, 11:20 AM
mick walshe was reffing, he was very poor ta say the least, it was meant to be damien mcgrath which might have been fairer, also mcgrath tends to leave the centre circle during the game, but not to take from celtics result, fair play to them, fought hard and its a good start for them. we were dissapointed not to get somthing
Closing Time
25/05/2009, 1:51 PM
Draw would have been fair on chances created. Was amused that with all the talk of us being kickers and long ball team that Celtic did most of the physical stuff and played a disciplined long ball game while we tried to play football. Celtic were relieved with final whistle, more to come from fahy fair play to Celtic for adapting their game to suit current players!
I can only speak about the first half but what football did you play. You’re No 5, how many times did he hoof the ball over our end line during the first half from his own half. Both teams played very little football in the first 45 minutes. I don’t no what game you were watching but 90% of your attacks was through the long ball or cross field long balls. Maybe you changed in the second half but don’t tell me you played any football in the first unless two passes and then hitting a long ball is considered football in your eyes because that what the first half consisted of. Yes each team maybe on two or three occassions did produce some nice football but this was not the norm. The game was full on with both teams hitting hard and fair with very little time on the ball. Standard of the game was better than I expected but not allot. A draw might have been a fair result and bar Russell's well taken goal there was only half chances at best in the first 45 min. Did hear that Kirby pulled of a great save near the end.
Closing Time
25/05/2009, 1:58 PM
Celtic had one U-17 (09/10) two U-18's (this season 09/10) and one U-20 (09/10) starting and had two U-17's (09/10) on the bench with five more U-18/U-19 to come back into the squad once L/cert is over. The Erris game will be another level but if the lads showed the same commitment anything can happen
Closing Time
25/05/2009, 2:05 PM
mick walshe was reffing, he was very poor ta say the least, it was meant to be damien mcgrath which might have been fairer, also mcgrath tends to leave the centre circle during the game, but not to take from celtics result, fair play to them, fought hard and its a good start for them. we were dissapointed not to get somthing
As I only saw the first half. I didn’t see what major decisions went against you in the first 45 mins. Maybe you can advise. I heard that your manager refused to pay him after the game. We all have felt we have been hard done by ref's in the past but once the game is over nothing can be done about it. Yes two more officials should have been appointed for this game which would have taken some pressure of the ref. This is the top league in Mayo and should have three officials at all times
hardcore
25/05/2009, 2:55 PM
As I only saw the first half. I didn’t see what major decisions went against you in the first 45 mins. Maybe you can advise. I heard that your manager refused to pay him after the game. We all have felt we have been hard done by ref's in the past but once the game is over nothing can be done about it. Yes two more officials should have been appointed for this game which would have taken some pressure of the ref. This is the top league in Mayo and should have three officials at all times
Not the first time that 1 official shows up instead of 3. this is wrong and shows huge disrespect to some clubs. "Super League" my A****.
Whats both teams like CT? Season predictions for both?:ball:
hardcore
25/05/2009, 2:57 PM
Wot happened v Boro? They any good?:ball:
theboy
25/05/2009, 3:45 PM
sounds like ye'll be ok. that fitzpatrick lad will be a good addition to have back.
Cloggs
25/05/2009, 8:21 PM
manager refused to pay but pointed the ref in the direction of the treasurer who paid him then.in fairness he did go ott and should have kept the head better.it was very diappointing that the mayo league couldn't have sent all three officials but such is life for the smaller clubs.i presume that all three officials were at the manulla and westport game?on our game the last day against celtic there was some very over the top tackles from the start of the game and i felt that the ref never had control over the game.felt that we were denied a stone wall penalty in the second half when our striker was hacked down from behind but the ref waved play on!we also hit the crossbar in the final minute and the celtic keeper pulled off two very good saves at his near post,one in the first half and one in the second.fair play to celtic though who rode their luck at times but you have to get the rub of the green in the super league and best of luck to yee for the remainder of the season:ball:
GoodFootball
26/05/2009, 8:12 AM
Yes you watched the first half! Second half Fahy got to grips with game and got the ball down and played football, celtic were reduced to even more of a long ball game that you saw in the first half. Kirby got the 3 pts for ye in the end. Thought Celtic lack fitness which could tell against the bigger sides.
Hopefully we get the 3 points against Kilmore which will make up for not getting anything against Celtic.
Both Celtic and Fahy will battle against relegation but the effort put in by both sides might suggest some upsets against the Westports and Ballinas of the league...
hoop4life
26/05/2009, 10:34 AM
Yes you watched the first half! Second half Fahy got to grips with game and got the ball down and played football, celtic were reduced to even more of a long ball game that you saw in the first half. Kirby got the 3 pts for ye in the end. Thought Celtic lack fitness which could tell against the bigger sides.
Hopefully we get the 3 points against Kilmore which will make up for not getting anything against Celtic.
Both Celtic and Fahy will battle against relegation but the effort put in by both sides might suggest some upsets against the Westports and Ballinas of the league...
just after reading report in CT and from what i gather it seemed to be a dull enough affair. both sides had a few chaces with nothing really to shout about. fahy hitting the bar and celtic having one cleared off the line. kirby made a good save in last few minutes and celtic finished game with 10 men after substitute fergal durcan went off injured. also interesting to note is that celtic had two fairly decent penalty appeals turned down, dont no what those at the match thought about them decisions? it will be interesting to read the other local papers to see what they though of the match. also a preview of the sl in the paper which isnt great to be honest. predicts westport for title as everyone else is but doesnt say much about any of the teams really.
No. 7
26/05/2009, 11:08 AM
Anyone know what games are on this weekend, i know its meant to be a free weekend, but what about games called off in previous weeks?
Boro86
26/05/2009, 11:56 AM
MFA cup far as i know. Saturday evening :ball:
hardcore
26/05/2009, 2:22 PM
Speaking of relegation etc.. Does anyone know if the farcical promotion play-off applies this year in the Super League? If memory serves, it was meant to be 3rd bottom in SL vs 3rd top in Prem division , but last year ended in 6th place kilmore promoted. Are they having this again, or is it 2 up 2 down?:ball:
What are this weeks fixtures?
I know Fahy play Kilmore. (Big 6 pointer!)
hoop4life
04/06/2009, 10:36 AM
What are this weeks fixtures?
I know Fahy play Kilmore. (Big 6 pointer!)
ballina v snugboro
ballyheane v manulla
celtic v iorras
fahy v kilmore
westport v s & f
GoodFootball
07/06/2009, 3:19 PM
Fahy 2-1 Kilmore
Tough game Fahy were without 4 regulars but done well. Wasn't at it but heard Sean O'Donnell scored first for Fahy only to be pegged back by Kilmore. 1-1 at half time. Gary Goggins coming up with the winner as he has so many times.
Hopefully more to follow next week but it'll be tough at Snugboro. Expecting that 4 players will be back again but just shows maybe how our squad has more depth this year...
Closing Time
07/06/2009, 4:33 PM
Erris 4-1 Celtic .
Erris lucky, I KNOW 4-1 but two goals came in injury time. Celtic played all the football but erris had the experience.
pinero
07/06/2009, 6:03 PM
Iorras didnt play well gave the ball away very cheaply but never looked like losing were 2.0 and missed a lot of chances on the break to kill off game,gave away good goal by celtic,but raised there game to finish it off, i know they are happy with the win they lost alot of games like this last season,celtic never easy place to go and pick up three points.
hoop4life
07/06/2009, 6:25 PM
cetic were the better side there today.
erris first goal took three richochets before their no.6 tapped it in. second goal was an og, third goal was an excellent strike from 25 yards out and their fourth our keeper (who did play very well considering hes not a keeper) was caught well outside his box and no.9 tapped it in.
erris didn't create that much and celtic missed 4 or 5 chances you would be expecting them to score. deserved a draw at least. good performance from celtic and with a bit more luck and maybe being a bit more clinical in front of goal they could have got at least a point.
GoodFootball
07/06/2009, 6:43 PM
cetic were the better side there today.
erris first goal took three richochets before their no.6 tapped it in. second goal was an og, third goal was an excellent strike from 25 yards out and their fourth our keeper (who did play very well considering hes not a keeper) was caught well outside his box and no.9 tapped it in.
erris didn't create that much and celtic missed 4 or 5 chances you would be expecting them to score. deserved a draw at least. good performance from celtic and with a bit more luck and maybe being a bit more clinical in front of goal they could have got at least a point.
Better side lost like 2 weeks ago in Moneen! Thats the way it goes in the super league, if you dont take ur chances you can be beaten or even hammered undeservably :ball: