View Full Version : Mayo Super League 2009
Pages :
[
3]
Fish-Head
01/05/2009, 11:16 AM
I've been kept fairly up to date on his situation as my girlfriend is his neighbour.
I know everyone here is concerned about him but I'd prefer not to post details on the internet.
hardcore
01/05/2009, 3:51 PM
I've been kept fairly up to date on his situation as my girlfriend is his neighbour.
I know everyone here is concerned about him but I'd prefer not to post details on the internet.
Good call. Anyone associated with soccer in Mayo will wish him well, and great to see all the posters on here doing so. Puts all into perspective:ball:
hoop4life
06/05/2009, 10:11 AM
for the fahy lads,
how is castlebar towns ground looking for start of new season?
what is pitch like and have ye fixed up the ground any bit?
r.rover
06/05/2009, 10:55 AM
for the fahy lads,
how is castlebar towns ground looking for start of new season?
what is pitch like and have ye fixed up the ground any bit?
pitch is actually pretty good, wev trained on i t a couple of nights and found it grand, digs up a small bit in the wet, but thats to be expected i guess, we have played on a hell of a lot worse!
hoop4life
06/05/2009, 11:03 AM
pitch is actually pretty good, wev trained on i t a couple of nights and found it grand, digs up a small bit in the wet, but thats to be expected i guess, we have played on a hell of a lot worse!
good to hear
Closing Time
06/05/2009, 2:34 PM
Not a bad pitch but super league standard I just dont know. Whats the story with the fencing around the pitch or do you need this in the super league anymore.
theboy
06/05/2009, 4:10 PM
How are the super league teams fixed for the first round of the mayo cup this weekend?
hoop4life
06/05/2009, 4:44 PM
How are the super league teams fixed for the first round of the mayo cup this weekend?
celtic u18s, a league side and super league side all playing on the same day. id say we will be stretched with a fair few u18s playing their game and for the super league side
Cloggs
07/05/2009, 5:39 PM
we're down for a home game against knock/kiltimagh in the first round.missing a few from what i hear.what are knock/kiltimagh like this season?
Bandit
07/05/2009, 9:13 PM
we're down for a home game against knock/kiltimagh in the first round.missing a few from what i hear.what are knock/kiltimagh like this season?
Depends on the GAA,our A team played them this year in a friendly and lost 3-1.If the GAA is on they will be miss a few i would say.
gunner1
08/05/2009, 2:27 AM
Saturday 16th May 2009
Connacht Senior Cup Final
Westport Utd. v Athenry 6.30pm Milebush Park
Westaro Cup—Round 1
Ballyheane v Snugboro Utd. 6.30pm J. Cawley
Castlebar Celtic v Straide & Foxford Utd. 6.30pm P. Foley
Manulla v Fahy Rovers 6.30pm H. Loftus
Ballina Town v Kilmore 6.30pm J. Blake
McHale Agri Stores Cup—Round 1 (1st Leg)
Straide & Foxford Utd. ‘B’ v Ballyvary Blue Bombers 6.30pm J. Donoghue
Hollister v Bangor Hibs.’B’ 6.30pm M. Moran
Crossmolina ‘B’ v Kiltimagh/Knock Utd. ‘B’ 6.30pm S. Moran
McDonnell Cup—Round 1
Swinford ‘B’ v Glenisland Utd. 6.30pm K. Cox
Sunday 17th May 2009
Tuohy Cup—Round 1
Castlebar Celtic ‘B’ v Manulla ‘B’ 2.30pm M. Regan
Ballinrobe Town v Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’ 2.30pm M. Walsh
Partry Athletic v Crossmolina 2.30pm D. McGrath
Bangor Hibs v Claremorris 2.30pm M. Halligan
Tonra Cup—Round 1
Inver Utd. v Ballyglass 2.30pm A. Nevin
Achill Rovers v Kiltimagh/Knock Utd. 2.30pm P. Foley
Mulranny Utd. v Ballyheane ‘B’ 2.30pm S. Manning
Clew Bay Utd. v Killala 2.30pm T. Hoban
Glenhest Rovers v Urlaur Utd. 2.30pm P. Redmond
McDonnell Cup—Round 1
Cross Celtic v Snugboro Utd. ‘B’ 2.30pm M. Kelly
Moy Villa v Claremorris ‘B’ 2.30pm V. Conlon
Conn Rangers v Ballina Utd. 2.30pm B. Blake
achillrover
08/05/2009, 3:22 PM
they are handy enough, striker handy enough when gets on the ball - captain - started dropping deep late in our match and created a little bit. and as far as i know there is no GAA on this weekend so they should have full squad!
played them once already .... won 5-2
playing the B team on sunday in chadwicks cup
and then playing the A team the week after again in the tonra!!
we'll be sick off them
Cloggs
08/05/2009, 3:54 PM
they are handy enough, striker handy enough when gets on the ball - captain - started dropping deep late in our match and created a little bit. and as far as i know there is no GAA on this weekend so they should have full squad!
played them once already .... won 5-2
playing the B team on sunday in chadwicks cup
and then playing the A team the week after again in the tonra!!
we'll be sick off them
cheers for the info lads.don't really know what we'll be like ourselves until we get our first competitive game under our belts.we played them in the cup last year and were well beaten by them 3-1 so would be nice to reverse that this year!in saying that i'd also take 1-0 (to us i'd hope!!:D)
hoop4life
10/05/2009, 9:13 AM
chadwicks cup
ballina utd 1-6 celtic
theboy
11/05/2009, 2:19 PM
First round of the westaro cup this weekend... good way for some teams to get a good run out before the start of the SL the following week.
manuman
12/05/2009, 12:05 AM
My money is on iorras for the super league this year lads i wonder what price they are with the bookies? I know it is between them and westport to lift the super league trophy, but i think they will edge westport this year. It has been made quite clear this year that both these teams are as strong as any junior club in the country with Ballymun and St. peters who both defeateated the mayo teams in extra time and penos reaching the final. :ball::ball: Thats my opinion!
How do you know already its between these 2 teams???? Erris were shocking against Snugboro at the weekend and if they take the league as serious as last year they might be relegated this time. They had a good run in the FAI because of the GAA season being over and had them players to come back, especially the keeper(thats not taking away from were they got in the FAI though).
In my opinion, you cant look beyond a Westport League win again especially with Celtic A taken out of the equation. By far the best footballing team in the league. But thats just my opinion.
GoodFootball
12/05/2009, 8:04 AM
Westport
Ballina
Erris
Manulla
Snugboro
S & F
Celtic
Fahy
Ballyheane
Kilmore
3 tier: Tight at the bottom but defo the bottom four in any order, mid table could go anyway and Westport will win the league with 4 or 5 games left this year. Erris have to prove they can perform in the league, im not convinced their that good yet.
yellowmonkey
12/05/2009, 2:16 PM
My money is on iorras for the super league this year lads i wonder what price they are with the bookies? I know it is between them and westport to lift the super league trophy, but i think they will edge westport this year. It has been made quite clear this year that both these teams are as strong as any junior club in the country with Ballymun and St. peters who both defeateated the mayo teams in extra time and penos reaching the final.Thats my opinion!
I understood this was an irish junior soccer forum "MANUMAN" :D:D:rolleyes:
Westport
Ballina
Erris
Manulla
Snugboro
S & F
Celtic
Fahy
Ballyheane
Kilmore
3 tier: Tight at the bottom but defo the bottom four in any order, mid table could go anyway and Westport will win the league with 4 or 5 games left this year. Erris have to prove they can perform in the league, im not convinced their that good yet.
Dont know why you include Ballyheane in the bottom four, that doesnt make any sense.
threefivetwo
12/05/2009, 3:34 PM
can't see erris being any good really judging by them last sunday, they were very ordinary, they did well in the cup but in theleague it's a different story, the only advantage they have is their pitch that know one likes going downtoo. i was talkin to johnny o brien last sunday and he was saying that ballyheane have a few galway players coming down with him. they were beating westport 2-0 in a friendly 2 weeks ago and took of the galway lads and ended up losing 3-2 so don't write off ballyheane, they'll be above erris anyway!
pinero
12/05/2009, 3:45 PM
Iorras named 18 players in their A team squad this year and there was 10 missing against snugboro,working,exams,injuries and their manager was missing,had family commitments on day and from reports Iorras deserved at least a draw.Westport team to beat this year, but iorras will not be far away,roll on the league.
west awake
12/05/2009, 4:05 PM
can't see erris being any good really judging by them last sunday, they were very ordinary, they did well in the cup but in theleague it's a different story, the only advantage they have is their pitch that know one likes going downtoo. i was talkin to johnny o brien last sunday and he was saying that ballyheane have a few galway players coming down with him. they were beating westport 2-0 in a friendly 2 weeks ago and took of the galway lads and ended up losing 3-2 so don't write off ballyheane, they'll be above erris anyway!what galway lads are down with ballyheane?if it's just rangers players jonny brings down believe me ballyheane won't be up there with westport and co.
hoop4life
12/05/2009, 9:02 PM
manulla will be dark horses i think.
westport only beating ballyheane when they took their best players off and suppose to be poor enough against our b team last week. i saw them against st peters not long ago and they weren't great either. i know that they are still favourites but maybe this team are coming near the end of their teather?? have they anyone good enough to replace the likes of vinny o'malley, brian kennedy and ray mcloughlin who are with the b team?? their youth record would suggest not but i do not know any of their youths so i cannot comment. maybe they do. the super league might not be the walk in the park that everyone thinks. this westport team (who have been a fantastic side down through the years) cannot keep going on forever. their legs or their hunger for the game cannot be the same as it was 5 years ago. i'm not posting this comment to start an arguement, i'm just putting my point out there and i'm sure a lot of you will think i'm mad but people have to agree that this team cannot keep going and eventually their dominance of the last 7-8 years will come to an end.
it will be interesting to see who takes over then?? westport will always still be there and there abouts as they are a big club with a lot of players. our best players will be with the a league side so who else is going to challenge over the next 5-10 years??
GoodFootball
13/05/2009, 8:54 AM
manulla will be dark horses i think.
westport only beating ballyheane when they took their best players off and suppose to be poor enough against our b team last week. i saw them against st peters not long ago and they weren't great either. i know that they are still favourites but maybe this team are coming near the end of their teather?? have they anyone good enough to replace the likes of vinny o'malley, brian kennedy and ray mcloughlin who are with the b team?? their youth record would suggest not but i do not know any of their youths so i cannot comment. maybe they do. the super league might not be the walk in the park that everyone thinks. this westport team (who have been a fantastic side down through the years) cannot keep going on forever. their legs or their hunger for the game cannot be the same as it was 5 years ago. i'm not posting this comment to start an arguement, i'm just putting my point out there and i'm sure a lot of you will think i'm mad but people have to agree that this team cannot keep going and eventually their dominance of the last 7-8 years will come to an end.
it will be interesting to see who takes over then?? westport will always still be there and there abouts as they are a big club with a lot of players. our best players will be with the a league side so who else is going to challenge over the next 5-10 years??
Ages of Westports squad:
Under 21s - Keegan brothers, young fella who got his leg broken last year, 2 goalkeepers
24 -David Horkan
25 - Joe Lawless, Ger McLoughlin, Colin Navin, Danny Scahill, David Hoban, Eoghan McHale, Colm Keane, Austin O'Malley
26 - Dessie O'Malley, Kevin Joyce
27 -Martin Geraty
28 - David Cameron
Over 30 - Martin McGreal
Looking at this evidence I'd say they may dominate for another 7-8 years ;)
Fish-Head
13/05/2009, 9:38 AM
Horky told me he was giving up to the footie to surf full time!!
GoodFootball
13/05/2009, 11:01 AM
Horky told me he was giving up to the footie to surf full time!!
Horky is good for the odd porky I reckon ;)
No. 7
13/05/2009, 11:15 AM
Hey GoodFootball, who was in goal for ye at the weekend. 7 goals conceded. Had ye the full team out? Any ex Castlebar Town players playin? I hear a few of them are training with ye......
threefivetwo
13/05/2009, 11:47 AM
what galway lads are down with ballyheane?if it's just rangers players jonny brings down believe me ballyheane won't be up there with westport and co.
i don't know their names i'm only going on what the ballyheane lads were telling me. they'll still do alright though, besides westport no other team really will be winning nearly every game, and ballyheane would still be stronger(i think) than most other teams in the league.
GoodFootball
13/05/2009, 2:10 PM
Hey GoodFootball, who was in goal for ye at the weekend. 7 goals conceded. Had ye the full team out? Any ex Castlebar Town players playin? I hear a few of them are training with ye......
Missing 6 regulars including myself who'll be pushing for places, 1st competitive game this season.
2 lads from Castlebar Town have signed, one played in goal other at centre back.
It was just one of those games, defending out the window by half time at 4-3 to them. Both sides just went for it, mad game. Not so happy to concede 7 goals. Positive is we scored 6.
Alot of hard work to be done, but good amounts coming to training now :ball:
2 lads from Castlebar Town have signed, one played in goal other at centre back.
This could be the reason ye conceded 7 goals :)
hoop4life
13/05/2009, 4:15 PM
Ages of Westports squad:
Under 21s - Keegan brothers, young fella who got his leg broken last year, 2 goalkeepers
24 -David Horkan
25 - Joe Lawless, Ger McLoughlin, Colin Navin, Danny Scahill, David Hoban, Eoghan McHale, Colm Keane, Austin O'Malley
26 - Dessie O'Malley, Kevin Joyce
27 -Martin Geraty
28 - David Cameron
Over 30 - Martin McGreal
Looking at this evidence I'd say they may dominate for another 7-8 years ;)
fair point and they probably will still dominate for a while with our first team gone. no other team has stood out at youth levels for the past 5 years also so it'll take a bit to stop them but they have not had a break for a while and might be a bit sluggish. having said that, as i have said for a while, they will still more than likely win the league this year with manulla and maybe ballina and erris pushing them.
on another note, who are the castlebar town lads playing with fahy?? i bet all yer players will be back saturday week against celtic!! ;)
manuman
13/05/2009, 10:26 PM
'etoo' what has that comment about irish junior soccer got to do with anything?? I aint a journalist I am writing this as an honest opinion ok less of the smat ass who do you think you are??:cool:;)'eamon dunphy'??this is about expressing an opinion and that is what i am doing. "westport" "westport" "westport"....iorras always give them a good game there not all there made out to be beleive me i know what I'm talking about.The westport lads are honest footballers and they'd be the first to tell you how tough of a game iorras give them. whats this bulls**t about iorras and GAA players???????Iorras have a few Gaa players, what difference does that make? they are commited to both teams and fareplay to the lads. Iorras won't be relegated beleive me, its between Iorras and Westport this year scroll back to this qoute at the end of the super league and you'l see, Iorras were missing 10 players from first team squad the weekend!!! how would westport do against snugboro with ten players from first team squad absent.. doesent say much for snugboro only winning 2-1..............In my opinion Kilmore are more of a threat to Iorras and westport than some of the teams that are been listed as serious canditates..wake up and smell the roses lads give credit where credit is due..no disrespect to snugboro just think peple are writing off iorras at a very early stage Iorras love that though and will thrive on it!!:D
'etoo' what has that comment about irish junior soccer got to do with anything?? I aint a journalist I am writing this as an honest opinion ok less of the smat ass who do you think you are??'eamon dunphy'??this is about expressing an opinion and that is what i am doing. "westport" "westport" "westport"....iorras always give them a good game there not all there made out to be beleive me i know what I'm talking about.The westport lads are honest footballers and they'd be the first to tell you how tough of a game iorras give them. whats this bulls**t about iorras and GAA players???????Iorras have a few Gaa players, what difference does that make? they are commited to both teams and fareplay to the lads. Iorras won't be relegated beleive me, its between Iorras and Westport this year scroll back to this qoute at the end of the super league and you'l see, Iorras were missing 10 players from first team squad the weekend!!! how would westport do against snugboro with ten players from first team squad absent.. doesent say much for snugboro only winning 2-1..............In my opinion Kilmore are more of a threat to Iorras and westport than some of the teams that are been listed as serious canditates..wake up and smell the roses lads give credit where credit is due.
'MANUMAN' - i didnt mention anything about irish junior soccer. that was yellowmonkey. and i still dont get that comment. Regarding my GAA comment, i was just saying that when the super league games clash with GAA games you will be missing some of your best players and again you might struggle in the league as was the case last year. of course missing ten from the first team is going to weaken any team but is this going to happen to ye throughout the season? and if so from erris's performance last Saturday you wont be up there challenging. thats just my opinion. Not starting a fight, Erris are a sound bunch of lads and i hope a lot of teams are up there challenging at the end of the season.
[quote=manuman;1159866]'etoo' what has that comment about irish junior soccer got to do with anything?? I aint a journalist I am writing this as an honest opinion ok less of the smat ass who do you think you are??'eamon dunphy'??this is about expressing an opinion and that is what i am doing. "
Bit harsh when i didnt say it :(
14/05/2009, 9:20 AM
Flip sake etoo, will you keep your opinions to yourself!
:):):)
threefivetwo
14/05/2009, 11:50 AM
'etoo' what has that comment about irish junior soccer got to do with anything?? I aint a journalist I am writing this as an honest opinion ok less of the smat ass who do you think you are??'eamon dunphy'??this is about expressing an opinion and that is what i am doing. "westport" "westport" "westport"....iorras always give them a good game there not all there made out to be beleive me i know what I'm talking about.The westport lads are honest footballers and they'd be the first to tell you how tough of a game iorras give them. whats this bulls**t about iorras and GAA players???????Iorras have a few Gaa players, what difference does that make? they are commited to both teams and fareplay to the lads. Iorras won't be relegated beleive me, its between Iorras and Westport this year scroll back to this qoute at the end of the super league and you'l see, Iorras were missing 10 players from first team squad the weekend!!! how would westport do against snugboro with ten players from first team squad absent.. doesent say much for snugboro only winning 2-1..............In my opinion Kilmore are more of a threat to Iorras and westport than some of the teams that are been listed as serious canditates..wake up and smell the roses lads give credit where credit is due.
who's the ten?? would they have been starting?? thats where squad comes into it, you can't have any excuses, look at celtic, we went up to tullamore last week in a stronger league and won 2-0 missin 9 first team players.... most of who have started in the last few games! not getting thick i'm just trying to make a point!! you shouldn't be saying things like that saying that it doesn't say a lot for snugboro if they only beat ye 2-1, sure didn't they beat erris last year too??
GoodFootball
14/05/2009, 12:26 PM
fair point and they probably will still dominate for a while with our first team gone. no other team has stood out at youth levels for the past 5 years also so it'll take a bit to stop them but they have not had a break for a while and might be a bit sluggish. having said that, as i have said for a while, they will still more than likely win the league this year with manulla and maybe ballina and erris pushing them.
on another note, who are the castlebar town lads playing with fahy?? i bet all yer players will be back saturday week against celtic!! ;)
Hopefully all will be back, fit and available for Celtic!
Whose on this Celtic team anyway?
manuman
14/05/2009, 1:21 PM
Nothing like a bit of controversy lads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!;);)
manuman
14/05/2009, 1:28 PM
Snugboro good side I didnt mean that in a disrespectful way was just saying dont get to excited, ,eric reilly, shane & Benny nallen,2 gaughans, Micky togher, Johny Donoghue thats 7 players that usually start.. thats enough now we'l just let the football do the talking. should be a huge occassion when Iorras take on Bohemians in a friendly on 26th june. Great 4 Mayo soccer apparently there bringing there full squad down.
14/05/2009, 1:38 PM
Nothing like a bit of controversy lads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!;);)
Just admit it manuman, you had a few pints last night, came on here, seen a few people were writing off Iorras and you had a bit of a rant. We've all been there. Sure half the people on here are drunk.
Important to have a strong squad, that was one of Snugboros strengths last year, 20 lads all fighting for a place, keeps it competitive. It might be there downfall this season.
manuman
14/05/2009, 2:42 PM
ya i had a few brandys alright i admit it.. sorry feel like dunphy now drunk in the studio!!!!!!!!!:eek: Say noth n ya?????????????:cool: ya snugboro not a bad side they could take points off anyone on there day really.
Closing Time
14/05/2009, 2:45 PM
Hopefully all will be back, fit and available for Celtic!
Whose on this Celtic team anyway?
Cant be giving away important team news like that. Next you will want to know the statring 11 and what formation the manager is going to use. Nice try
Closing Time
14/05/2009, 2:47 PM
Snugboro good side I didnt mean that in a disrespectful way was just saying dont get to excited, ,eric reilly, shane & Benny nallen,2 gaughans, Micky togher, Johny Donoghue thats 7 players that usually start.. thats enough now we'l just let the football do the talking. should be a huge occassion when Iorras take on Bohemians in a friendly on 26th june. Great 4 Mayo soccer apparently there bringing there full squad down.
Why were they missing. When the gaa and football clash who will the choose to play for, then we will know if Iorras will be in with a shout of coming second behind Utd.
manuman
14/05/2009, 2:51 PM
Well sure we'l see what happens I guess!! your entitled to your opinion.. As far as I know the 2 wont clash to often this year, I know its tough going but it is possible to play both sports & if they do have the gaa players they wont be far away, what do ye think?
Closing Time
14/05/2009, 2:51 PM
Just admit it manuman, you had a few pints last night, came on here, seen a few people were writing off Iorras and you had a bit of a rant. We've all been there. Sure half the people on here are drunk.
Important to have a strong squad, that was one of Snugboros strengths last year, 20 lads all fighting for a place, keeps it competitive. It might be there downfall this season.
Bar Paul Curry, Russell & Barry who are you missing from last season. See you have signed ex Celtic player Paul Flanagan and Niall Gallagher and Griffin from Manulla/Ballyheane and a polish lad. Sounds if Boro did OK
14/05/2009, 3:20 PM
Bar Paul Curry, Russell & Barry who are you missing from last season. See you have signed ex Celtic player Paul Flanagan and Niall Gallagher and Griffin from Manulla/Ballyheane and a polish lad. Sounds if Boro did OK
They should do alright when everyone is fit but at various stages they'll be missing people and I was just saying thats when your squad comes in useful. They should have a panel of 16 when everyone is fit and theres no reason why they can't call up 3 B lads to occupy spaces on the bench when necessary. If Johan and Damo get a solid 11 committed to training and playing every week, then they'll have a good season. Won't go giving away any valuable team information but from a squad of 20 named at the beginning of 2008, 10 players have left for various reasons but replaced by 6 good players that you've mentioned. Paul Curry is a big loss though.
Cloggs
14/05/2009, 4:04 PM
Cant be giving away important team news like that. Next you will want to know the statring 11 and what formation the manager is going to use. Nice try
that'd be great thanks!!!!:D:D
GoodFootball
15/05/2009, 7:46 AM
Best of last years B team minus retirees plus young lads and cast offs from the 'A' panel I take it?!
Should be alright...best of luck anyway!