Manulla 2-0 S & F
Celtic 2-5 Snugboro
Erris 2-4 Ballina
Fahy 0-1 Ballyheane
Kilmore 0-0 Westport
Not bad results for us anyway!
Still gutted bout not takin our chances!:mad:
I think Ballina will take it now!!
Was at Fahy game yesterday and watched the Heane secure themselves another season of mid table mediocrity, that the heane should have won by a lot more need not be addressed here but the profligacy shown was indefensible.
The pitch is as bad as it was 15 Years ago and the bumps are quiet dangerous.
Fahy are tenacious but lack a cutting edge which would leap them up to a Manulla/Snugboro standard ie where they would be guaranteed mid table mediocrity every year as opposed to securing it with 4 games left.:p
The game was mild enough except for a clumsy challange by Podge late in the game which resulted in their left back running the length of the field in an attempt to confront him. Thankfully he never got there but needless to say the officials ignored it and dispatched one of our subs to the clubhouse instead.:mad:
My point here is that whatever about the treatment of our sub the refusal to issue a caution to the Fahy offender was illjudged. The match had an early kick- off and it showed and by this i don't mean by the players.:mad:
Kilmore Fan
21/09/2009, 9:37 AM
Kilmore 0-0 Westport
Disappointed we didnt get a win!
Loads of chances!
Point is needed though..
Anyone have any other results...
Good result for us against Westport, agree we could have won it but happy to get a point from the game all the same.
theboy
21/09/2009, 9:59 AM
things seem to be getting tight now at the bottom of the table, if kilmore keep picking up points they could make life hard for celtic and s&f. fair play to them for not given up when a few teams could have. westport on the other hand i think have let the league slip. its in ballina's hands now if they dont bottle it.
Was at Fahy game yesterday and watched the Heane secure themselves another season of mid table mediocrity, that the heane should have won by a lot more need not be addressed here but the profligacy shown was indefensible.
The pitch is as bad as it was 15 Years ago and the bumps are quiet dangerous.
Fahy are tenacious but lack a cutting edge which would leap them up to a Manulla/Snugboro standard ie where they would be guaranteed mid table mediocrity every year as opposed to securing it with 4 games left.:p
The game was mild enough except for a clumsy challange by Podge late in the game which resulted in their left back running the length of the field in an attempt to confront him. Thankfully he never got there but needless to say the officials ignored it and dispatched one of our subs to the clubhouse instead.:mad:
My point here is that whatever about the treatment of our sub the refusal to issue a caution to the Fahy offender was illjudged. The match had an early kick- off and it showed and by this i don't mean by the players.:mad:
Our left back should have been cautioned for running the lenght of the field to confront your centre half.
Your centre half should have been shown a straight red card.
We are definately lacking a cutting edge, and never really looked like scoring yesterday.
The young lad up front for Ballyheane took his goal very well and looks like a nice player.
The result leaves both teams on 16 points, not sure if its enough to relax yet!
mossy
21/09/2009, 11:25 AM
[QUOTE=Norm;1235857]Our left back should have been cautioned for running the lenght of the field to confront your centre half.
Genuinely dont think a red card was warranted although I have seen them given before most likely at Old Trafford or Manulla the Old Trafford of Mayo Football :D
Sixteen points should be enough methinks but Kilmore not going down without a fight which is unprecendented when one remembers Claremorris, Ballinrobe and Crossmolina before them and also their suspensions..... Quite legendary really:)
Kilmore Fan
21/09/2009, 12:04 PM
[QUOTE=Norm;1235857]Our left back should have been cautioned for running the lenght of the field to confront your centre half.
Genuinely dont think a red card was warranted although I have seen them given before most likely at Old Trafford or Manulla the Old Trafford of Mayo Football :D
Sixteen points should be enough methinks but Kilmore not going down without a fight which is unprecendented when one remembers Claremorris, Ballinrobe and Crossmolina before them and also their suspensions..... Quite legendary really:)
Cheers! It's gonna be a fight to the finish surely.
Has there been any update/announcement on the relegation/Promotion situation?
GoodFootball
21/09/2009, 2:05 PM
Remaining games:
Kilmore (8):
Ballyheane
Iorras
Manulla
S&F
S&F (10):
Celtic
Ballina
Fahy
Kilmore
Celtic (13):
S&F
Ballina
Westport
Ballyheane
Realistically I think Kilmore need 8 pts out of remaining, Celtic could manage 3 pts and S & F could get 6 pts.
Exciting enough at the bottom, still reckon Westport will win title, anyone giving odds :eek:
Has there been any update/announcement on the relegation/Promotion situation?
Looks like only 1 up 1 down. Unless Bangor can overhaul Westport b.
Thats what I thought.
There will be some head scratching if Bangor manage to finish 2nd in the Prem league and C/bar Celtic finish in a relegation spot in the S.L.
swinfordfc
21/09/2009, 2:35 PM
Thats what I thought.
There will be some head scratching if Bangor manage to finish 2nd in the Prem league and C/bar Celtic finish in a relegation spot in the S.L.
Why may i ask?
Can Celtic A be relegated when their B team is already in the P.L.?
If not, it would mean an 11 team S.L next year & a 9 team Prem League.
GoodFootball
21/09/2009, 3:02 PM
Can Celtic A be relegated when their B team is already in the P.L.?
If not, it would mean an 11 team S.L next year & a 9 team Prem League.
If Celtic A get relegated then Celtic B get automatically relegated. ML would have to decide then if 2 or 3 teams should go up from division 1 and if 1 or 2 should be releagted along with celtic b.
Celtic B look as good as gone anyway...
Were we missing many yesterday Norm? What was the lineup?
If Celtic A get relegated then Celtic B get automatically relegated. ML would have to decide then if 2 or 3 teams should go up from division 1 and if 1 or 2 should be releagted along with celtic b.
Celtic B look as good as gone anyway...
Were we missing many yesterday Norm? What was the lineup?
Thats messy.
I guess the whole situation is not ideal.
Sent you a PM.
Kilmore Fan
21/09/2009, 3:35 PM
Remaining games:
Kilmore (8):
Ballyheane
Iorras
Manulla
S&F
S&F (10):
Celtic
Ballina
Fahy
Kilmore
Celtic (13):
S&F
Ballina
Westport
Ballyheane
Realistically I think Kilmore need 8 pts out of remaining, Celtic could manage 3 pts and S & F could get 6 pts.
Exciting enough at the bottom, still reckon Westport will win title, anyone giving odds :eek:
That doesn't make sense. That would leave us all on 16 points!!! Think about it
GoodFootball
21/09/2009, 3:49 PM
That doesn't make sense. That would leave us all on 16 points!!! Think about it
What you mean? No rule that says ye cant finish on same pts. If it does finish like that ye would wanna improve the goal difference!
Ye have alot to do really, but ye're not giving up ;)
Kilmore Fan
21/09/2009, 4:05 PM
What you mean? No rule that says ye cant finish on same pts. If it does finish like that ye would wanna improve the goal difference!
It wouldn't be decided by goal difference from what i've been told.
FahyForever
21/09/2009, 5:47 PM
It wouldn't be decided by goal difference from what i've been told.
As far as I know, it hasn't been for ages. Teams finishing on the same points go to a play off in a promotion/relegation situation..
slab11
21/09/2009, 7:42 PM
Well we have a better defensive record than Castlebar and S&F!Just scoring goals seems to be our problem!
I think if we get 6 0r 7 points out of our remaining games that would nearly do it!It will go to the wire id say!!
GoodFootball
22/09/2009, 12:52 PM
Well we have a better defensive record than Castlebar and S&F!Just scoring goals seems to be our problem!
I think if we get 6 0r 7 points out of our remaining games that would nearly do it!It will go to the wire id say!!
10 in 14 is pretty bad alright, best of luck anyway. I'd say S & F will stay up myself, its Celtic ye wanna pass out which will be tough seen as they already 5 pts ahead of ye...they have tough games left though!
slab11
22/09/2009, 9:40 PM
10 in 14 is pretty bad alright, best of luck anyway. I'd say S & F will stay up myself, its Celtic ye wanna pass out which will be tough seen as they already 5 pts ahead of ye...they have tough games left though!
Its hard to call it! We're determined to wait up though!
Is there no super league matches this weekend......
quay heart
23/09/2009, 7:55 AM
still reckon Westport will win title, anyone giving odds :eek:[/QUOTE]
not while they have eejits in charge of the team,no burns the weekend i heard.i believe b manager took training after cusack left but now they have ring and c manager in charge ?
Cloggs
27/09/2009, 9:01 PM
Deepest sympathies to the family of Liam McEntee from all in Fahy Rovers.Not just saying this but i thought that he was easily the best ref in the county and he will be sorely missed in the Mayo League.RIP
Kilmore Fan
28/09/2009, 6:53 AM
Deepest sympathies to the family of Liam McEntee from all in Fahy Rovers.Not just saying this but i thought that he was easily the best ref in the county and he will be sorely missed in the Mayo League.RIP
Deepest sympathies to the family and friends of Liam McEntee from all in Kilmore FC.
Leveller
28/09/2009, 1:06 PM
still reckon Westport will win title, anyone giving odds :eek:
not while they have eejits in charge of the team,no burns the weekend i heard.i believe b manager took training after cusack left but now they have ring and c manager in charge ?
Those eejits in charge have delivered 4 superleagues 1 Connacht Senior Cup, and 1 FAI Junior Cup, I think that makes them the most successful managers in the clubs history. Not bad going for eejits.
Thats a hell of a lot more than you have won in your time.
GoodFootball
28/09/2009, 7:07 PM
Those eejits in charge have delivered 4 superleagues 1 Connacht Senior Cup, and 1 FAI Junior Cup, I think that makes them the most successful managers in the clubs history. Not bad going for eejits.
Think quay heart was referring to B manager, C manager and Ring and not Cusack/Burns!
Easy on there boys, Westport look like a team who need a break or some fresh blood in the team/management. Maybe a complete change of management at the end of the season?
quay heart
28/09/2009, 9:03 PM
i was not on about the burns/cusack team.keep your dog on the lead md ...:D
slab11
28/09/2009, 10:28 PM
Ballina will be hard stopped now!!
Leveller
29/09/2009, 8:39 AM
Mistaken identity, I did not know they were other lads training the senior team. Thats new to me. Heard KC left but PB was still in charge.
Dog on a lead? md?:confused:
paddyirishman
30/09/2009, 1:37 PM
Remaining games:
Kilmore (8):
Ballyheane
Iorras
Manulla
S&F
S&F (10):
Celtic
Ballina
Fahy
Kilmore
Celtic (13):
S&F
Ballina
Westport
Ballyheane
S&F have them games all at home bar Fahy, very possible 10 points there, 3wins and a draw wit ballina. lookin at them games, we have the easiest run in especially with most games being in green road! Kilmore r as good as gone although they put up a good fight, is they have many home games, thats the only way they'l get anythin cuz they the only ones who can play with the ball and the wind at the same time. put it on the ground n they fall apart. Interesting finish all the same!
GoodFootball
30/09/2009, 8:20 PM
S&F have them games all at home bar Fahy, very possible 10 points there, 3wins and a draw wit ballina. lookin at them games, we have the easiest run in especially with most games being in green road! Kilmore r as good as gone although they put up a good fight, is they have many home games, thats the only way they'l get anythin cuz they the only ones who can play with the ball and the wind at the same time. put it on the ground n they fall apart. Interesting finish all the same!
Mate dont be so sure of staying up. As for getting 10 pts from last 4 games, what is that based on? S & F have taken 10 pts from 14 games. The only reason S & F will stay up is because only one can go down and unfortunately Kilmore will probably be that team. I had high hopes for S & F at beginning of season but ye have let yourselves down with a bad showing against better opposition.
slab11
30/09/2009, 8:57 PM
You havent seen many of our games recently have you? Especially not the one where we beat ye 1-0, but thats ur opinion!:rolleyes: we'll see who will wait up when the last game is played! Ye wont get a point from ballina either!
Are there any matches this weekend??
Kilmore Fan
01/10/2009, 12:22 PM
Are there any matches this weekend??
The Junior Cup games that were meant to be played last weekend are now on this weekend. So another weekend off:(
GoodFootball
01/10/2009, 12:27 PM
The Junior Cup games that were meant to be played last weekend are now on this weekend. So another weekend off:(
Not good...is this confirmed?
Cloggs
01/10/2009, 2:36 PM
Not good...is this confirmed?
afraid so.the foxtures for this weekend are on teletext p.440 on rte 2
paddyirishman
01/10/2009, 6:32 PM
Mate dont be so sure of staying up. As for getting 10 pts from last 4 games, what is that based on? S & F have taken 10 pts from 14 games. The only reason S & F will stay up is because only one can go down and unfortunately Kilmore will probably be that team. I had high hopes for S & F at beginning of season but ye have let yourselves down with a bad showing against better opposition.
Have u seen any SnF games this year? at least 80% of our losses have been close encounters n the best team hasnt won the match on too many occassions, i agree with you we had a pathetic season n only lucky 1 team is goin down but what we are capable of is what i am hopeing for in the last 4 games. after losing some of the best talent in mayo, with alan mac, ger gaughan, declan tigue and Craig Reape so the spine of our team went missing. even tho some of our performances have been good and still lost. but thats football!
id be happy with 9 points but probably willl take 7 knowing snf
GoodFootball
02/10/2009, 9:06 AM
Have u seen any SnF games this year? at least 80% of our losses have been close encounters n the best team hasnt won the match on too many occassions, i agree with you we had a pathetic season n only lucky 1 team is goin down but what we are capable of is what i am hopeing for in the last 4 games. after losing some of the best talent in mayo, with alan mac, ger gaughan, declan tigue and Craig Reape so the spine of our team went missing. even tho some of our performances have been good and still lost. but thats football!
id be happy with 9 points but probably willl take 7 knowing snf
4 heavy defeats out of 8:
Snugboro United 4 - 0 Straide & Foxford
Westport United 3 - 1 Straide & Foxford
Ballina Town 3 - 0 Straide & Foxford
Straide & Foxford 1 - 5 Westport United
Ye probably will win 2 of your remaining 4 which will keep ye up ;)
paddyirishman
02/10/2009, 11:29 AM
4 heavy defeats out of 8:
Snugboro United 4 - 0 Straide & Foxford
Westport United 3 - 1 Straide & Foxford
Ballina Town 3 - 0 Straide & Foxford
Straide & Foxford 1 - 5 Westport United
Ye probably will win 2 of your remaining 4 which will keep ye up ;)
Score says one thing, performance says another bar the snug boro loss 4 nil. we deserved a point against westport as we were 1 all wit 20mins t go n then jus fell apart.
ya, beat celtic and kilmore draw wit fahy, 7 points.! shud be 9 n draw wit ballina 10 but this seasons been a disaster. thank god th super league is at an all time low standard or we wud be rock bottom without a point.
GoodFootball
02/10/2009, 1:10 PM
Score says one thing, performance says another bar the snug boro loss 4 nil. we deserved a point against westport as we were 1 all wit 20mins t go n then jus fell apart.
ya, beat celtic and kilmore draw wit fahy, 7 points.! shud be 9 n draw wit ballina 10 but this seasons been a disaster. thank god th super league is at an all time low standard or we wud be rock bottom without a point.
Sure we'll see what happens anyway, all the best ;)
slab11
05/10/2009, 4:11 PM
:p Nice to see your confident anyway:rolleyes:
pinero
05/10/2009, 7:53 PM
Big local derby this weekend for Kilmore, fancy your chances now that super league seems out of Iorras reach?
hardcore
05/10/2009, 10:04 PM
Big local derby this weekend for Kilmore, fancy your chances now that super league seems out of Iorras reach?
Draw written all over it:)
slab11
06/10/2009, 12:40 PM
Should be tight....
Although i thought we were playin Ballyheane...
The Point
07/10/2009, 2:23 PM
Hi Quay Heart, last friday evening I received a phonecall about this post, according to a friend of mine it appeared to be referring to me, maybe you are or maybe you are not. I just want to clear the air as I know how quickly rumours spread around Westport.
My initials are MD and I own a dog called buster, but I am not the Leveller, just to get that clear, I would appreciate it if you refrain from making any references towards me being associated with the Leveller or anything else in your posts. :(
I have enough work to do at the club without getting caught up in your differences in opinion with the Leveller. Maybe yourself and Leveller would like to come and help me with some coaching?:D
Thankyou
paddyirishman
11/10/2009, 3:33 PM
S&F Utd get a well deserved point. scrappy game but the two teams cancelled each other out. 2 all it finished. Serious Dent in Ballina's title chances. They tried their best but it jus wasn't to be on the day. Fair result but i Hope Town go on t win it. Westport r barely tryin n they still in it. I hope they don't win it for that reason alone. This year the standard has been so low, "any team" if they'd any consistancey throughtout the season, could have taken the Super league Title.
1 point out of 3, now another 7 out of a possible 9 t come. We'l prob make a mistake against some team by drawin, as the season has been goin like that.
How'd the other results go?
Westport,Kilmore etc?
slab11
11/10/2009, 4:18 PM
Kilmore 0-5 Erris
Did not turn up at all today!:confused: