View Full Version : Mayo Super League 2009

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

FahyForever
18/02/2009, 1:54 PM
How do people see this years Super League going? Do you think it´s fair to say that with Castlebar Celtic going into the A Championship and their B team taking over the reins in the Super League that the favourites to go down would be two from Fahy, Kilmore and Castlebar? S+F seemed to be top five material to me last year, possibly even as high as top two or three. The contenders for the title should be Westport (who must be hot favourites again), Ballina and.... who else?

Will Snugboro continue last years progress? What of last years mid-table teams? Which direction will Manulla, Erris and Ballyheane be going?
Can either Fahy or Kilmore stay up?

Would be interested in people´s opinions, any word on how the rule changes may affect things, or transfer news or new signings.

hoop4life
18/02/2009, 2:13 PM
How do people see this years Super League going? Do you think it´s fair to say that with Castlebar Celtic going into the A Championship and their B team taking over the reins in the Super League that the favourites to go down would be two from Fahy, Kilmore and Castlebar? S+F seemed to be top five material to me last year, possibly even as high as top two or three. The contenders for the title should be Westport (who must be hot favourites again), Ballina and.... who else?

Will Snugboro continue last years progress? What of last years mid-table teams? Which direction will Manulla. Erris and Ballyheane be going?

Would be interested in people´s opinions, any word on how the rule changes may affect things, or transfer news or new signings.

have to agree that westport and ballina will be favourites. i can see ballina pipping westport this year.
however, as for celtic being favourites to go down, i cannot see that happening. we will still have a decent super league squad and we also have a few more 16, 17 and 18 year olds that are probably too young to play eircom league so you add last years b team along with some of the kids, we should have a squad capable of finishing in the top four.
kilmore will probably go down but if fahy can keep thier full squad for the full season they might have a chance of staying up. they have a few decent players.

renovater
18/02/2009, 8:27 PM

Will Snugboro continue last years progress? What of last years mid-table teams? Which direction will Manulla. Erris and Ballyheane be going?

Westport in a league of there own, with Celtic have to say regrouping for a year, with some of there players trying to find there feet, with there new dizzy height. as for Manulla should put a real challenge should they decide to return to 2 teams from 3 Erris will put in good displays win some lose some .
Ballyheane/ Snugboro will battle to stay ahead of the bottom 2 of Fahey and Kilmor. Should have more in there locker than the two teams coming up.
Have to say same old story.

theboy
19/02/2009, 8:40 AM
You think fahy and kilmore will have more in the locker than Celtic B and S&F???? have you seen fahy or kilmore play much??

FahyForever
19/02/2009, 9:06 AM
You think fahy and kilmore will have more in the locker than Celtic B and S&F???? have you seen fahy or kilmore play much??

Who thinks this? Are you hearing voices in your head?? Nobody made that claim on this thread. Fahy and Kilmore were ´the two teams coming up´ Renovator was referring to, if thats what you meant. I like way you emphasise your ´point´ by giving capital letters to S+F and Celtic B and not to Kilmore and Fahy! Could you be anymore condescending?

theboy
19/02/2009, 7:17 PM
Who thinks this? Are you hearing voices in your head?? Nobody made that claim on this thread. Fahy and Kilmore were ´the two teams coming up´ Renovator was referring to, if thats what you meant. I like way you emphasise your ´point´ by giving capital letters to S+F and Celtic B and not to Kilmore and Fahy! Could you be anymore condescending?

I could be.... i must have picked his quote up wrong. relax!!

FahyForever
19/02/2009, 7:35 PM
I have done. It just seemed that you were writing teams off already! So is it true what you said that if the B teams were to come first and second in the Premier league then nobody would go down from the Super league? It seems a bit unfair on the like of Claremorris and Bangor who would have stayed up last year. And very lucky for Kilmore and Fahy! But I suppose it´s similar to the situation with new division 3; some teams are going to get dealt a bad hand...

GoodFootball
19/02/2009, 8:16 PM
I'd say it will be tough to stay up in the super league but we are taking it seriously and will have a much stronger squad than last year, fitter and hard to beat. I think apart from Westport giving us a hiding, we will give a good game to any of the rest of them.

We have an ok record against super league teams in our history whenever we met in cups. Twice taken Ballina to extra time, losing to Celtic by an odd goal, beating Manulla and losing in the last min to them last year, beaten snuggies more than they have beaten us, taken erris to pens.

S & F will be looking forward to us having beaten us 4 times last year.

We'll be looking to Celtic, Manulla, Ballyheane, Kilmore and possibly Erris to pick up points. Anything against S & F, Westport, Ballina, Snuggies will be a bonus.

Westport will win the league this year easily, ballina 2nd, S & F 3rd, Snuggies 4th.

Bottom Kilmore, 2nd last and 3rd last us and Celtic dont know what order...

hoop4life
19/02/2009, 8:51 PM
I'd say it will be tough to stay up in the super league but we are taking it seriously and will have a much stronger squad than last year, fitter and hard to beat. I think apart from Westport giving us a hiding, we will give a good game to any of the rest of them.

We have an ok record against super league teams in our history whenever we met in cups. Twice taken Ballina to extra time, losing to Celtic by an odd goal, beating Manulla and losing in the last min to them last year, beaten snuggies more than they have beaten us, taken erris to pens.

We'll be looking to Celtic, Manulla, Ballyheane, Kilmore and possibly Erris to pick up points. Anything against S & F, Westport, Ballina, Snuggies will be a bonus.

Westport will win the league this year easily, ballina 2nd, S & F 3rd, Snuggies 4th.

i can't honestly believe that some of you lot think we will go down. we have a squad that will easily finish in the top five at least. our super league squad will not be an exact replicate of last years b team. with new signings coming in it will mean that some of the super league squad from the last few years will still be playing super league and i'm not saying that we will win it but we certainly won't be battling relegation.

FahyForever
19/02/2009, 9:09 PM
For a start, I never said I thought ye would go down. I just asked if it was fair to say that the three teams going up (apart from S+F) were the most likely to be struggling next year. With Castlebar going to A championship it´s effectively the B team replacing them. So that was the three I referred to.

Castlebar always have youth coming through and if you say there are some current Super League players staying in the Super league then that will only make ye stronger again. But persuming ye will ´easily finish´ top five ´at least´ sounds like misplaced optimism.

hoop4life
19/02/2009, 10:13 PM
For a start, I never said I thought ye would go down. I just asked if it was fair to say that the three teams going up (apart from S+F) were the most likely to be struggling next year. With Castlebar going to A championship it´s effectively the B team replacing them. So that was the three I referred to.

Castlebar always have youth coming through and if you say there are some current Super League players staying in the Super league then that will only make ye stronger again. But persuming ye will ´easily finish´ top five ´at least´ sounds like misplaced optimism.

i wouldn't say it is being optimistic. we have ambitions to win everything we enter as would the likes of westport, athenry and all the top junior clubs in ireland would aswell and i'll be realistic in saying that we probably won't win the super league. however, in my opinion the squad that will be playing in the super league should be capable of finishing in the top five.
sorry if i'm sounding cocky but thats my opinion and from a fans point of view and i'm sure the players would feel the same, we would feel that it wouldn't be a great season if we didn't finish in the top five

theboy
20/02/2009, 9:04 AM
I have done. It just seemed that you were writing teams off already! So is it true what you said that if the B teams were to come first and second in the Premier league then nobody would go down from the Super league? It seems a bit unfair on the like of Claremorris and Bangor who would have stayed up last year. And very lucky for Kilmore and Fahy! But I suppose it´s similar to the situation with new division 3; some teams are going to get dealt a bad hand...

as far as im aware that will be the story, if manulla b and westport b finish in the top 2 of the premier no one will go up and no one will come down, i think they are doing away with the possibility of teams finishing 4th and 5th in the premier league going up into the super league. i think this is right.

theboy
20/02/2009, 9:10 AM

sounds like ye are putting alot of effort into next season and fair play to ye. to be honest a dont think many SL teams will like playing the like of fahy, s&f or celtic b. i think it'll make the SL a bit more interesting but agree that westport will be the team to beat, they have some top class players. the boro i dont think will post as much of a challange as they did last year as i think SG is there many player( any truth in him joining the celtic A-league squad??) if erris continue there good run they could be there with a good go. ballina need to have mick duffy fit, manulla and ballyheane will be around mid table. hard to say where the likes of fahy,s&f and celtic will finish, but these 3 teams will take points from teams.

hoop4life
20/02/2009, 11:49 AM
sounds like ye are putting alot of effort into next season and fair play to ye. to be honest a dont think many SL teams will like playing the like of fahy, s&f or celtic b. i think it'll make the SL a bit more interesting but agree that westport will be the team to beat, they have some top class players. the boro i dont think will post as much of a challange as they did last year as i think SG is there many player( any truth in him joining the celtic A-league squad??) if erris continue there good run they could be there with a good go. ballina need to have mick duffy fit, manulla and ballyheane will be around mid table. hard to say where the likes of fahy,s&f and celtic will finish, but these 3 teams will take points from teams.

ballina will push westport all the way this year. westport are still a very good side but IMO they are not the force that they use to be. think manulla could be dark horses this year if they can keep their full squad together. they have a decent squad and also have a few decent youngsters coming through. s & f, ballyheane, boro around mid-table. don't think kilmore will stay up but fahy might have a chance. where are fahy playing their home games this year? this could be a big factor because if they play in milebush astroturf, the likes of westport, ballina and celtic would pass them off the pitch out there.

GoodFootball
20/02/2009, 12:34 PM
ballina will push westport all the way this year. westport are still a very good side but IMO they are not the force that they use to be. think manulla could be dark horses this year if they can keep their full squad together. they have a decent squad and also have a few decent youngsters coming through. s & f, ballyheane, boro around mid-table. don't think kilmore will stay up but fahy might have a chance. where are fahy playing their home games this year? this could be a big factor because if they play in milebush astroturf, the likes of westport, ballina and celtic would pass them off the pitch out there.

Not fully decided yet I think, a nice tight pitch would suit us surely. Who knows though we might surprise a few and play them off the pitch with a nice passing style :)

hoop4life
20/02/2009, 12:40 PM
Not fully decided yet I think, a nice tight pitch would suit us surely. Who knows though we might surprise a few and play them off the pitch with a nice passing style :)

ya i did hear that ye were the arsenal of the premier division last year.!!;)

r.rover
20/02/2009, 12:50 PM

would i be crazy in suggesting that a bigger pitch might suit fahy, hope to get the lads as fit as possible and hope to play a bit of football ourselves? i know the idea of a good super league team like westport and a few others could play us of the pitch, but surley their skills would be even more effective on a tight pitch where close control of the ball is crucial???

Fish-Head
20/02/2009, 2:15 PM
as far as im aware that will be the story, if manulla b and westport b finish in the top 2 of the premier no one will go up and no one will come down, i think they are doing away with the possibility of teams finishing 4th and 5th in the premier league going up into the super league. i think this is right.

So what would happen if Erris and Manulla were the bottom two in the Super and if Erris B and Manulla B were the top two in the Premier?

hoop4life
20/02/2009, 2:59 PM
So what would happen if Erris and Manulla were the bottom two in the Super and if Erris B and Manulla B were the top two in the Premier?

nothing i'd imagine. both clubs would stay in super league and prem. division.

Fish-Head
21/02/2009, 10:21 AM
nothing i'd imagine. both clubs would stay in super league and prem. division.

Why would you imagine that?

GoodFootball
21/02/2009, 3:30 PM
would i be crazy in suggesting that a bigger pitch might suit fahy, hope to get the lads as fit as possible and hope to play a bit of football ourselves? i know the idea of a good super league team like westport and a few others could play us of the pitch, but surley their skills would be even more effective on a tight pitch where close control of the ball is crucial???

Dont agree, more space = more ablity to exploit weaker teams or be exploited by stronger teams. We can be a tough team to beat on a tight pitch where the bigger sides like westport are easier to close down and have less time on the ball. Easier attack on the break then too. Milebush wouldn't be the ideal place to bring Westport :ball:

I expect we will be alot fitter this year and stronger in depth...there seems to be more organisation and committment about us so far so hopefully it continues all season and we have our best 16 available every week when it starts.

hoop4life
21/02/2009, 7:35 PM
Why would you imagine that?

what could happen? if manulla b went up and manulla a went down, the next season, manulla would register their best players b so they would have their strongest squad playing super league. doesn't matter whether its a or b team, the club would still have a team in super league

renovater
22/03/2009, 1:57 PM
To be honest Castlebar Celtic will have a strong side due a number of players that have returned from other leagues. As for S/f will they at least have History at playing the highest level.
Think of Fahy or Kilmore, they are just kick around teams, who will do no justice to the Super League. Only leave red faces to those who run it.
Sorry to say I can't share the same enthusiasm as you do

FahyForever
22/03/2009, 10:20 PM
What enthusiasm are you referring to there? TheBoy was saying that Castlebar and S+F are stronger than Fahy and Kilmore, which is fair enough. Why you have to jump in criticising teams before they even get a chance to play in the league is beyond me.

Just what is a ´kick around team´? How does a team ´do justice to the Super League´? And why would the performance of two teams ´leave red faces to (sic) those who run it´? What, basically, are you talking about?

GoodFootball
23/03/2009, 7:46 AM
To be honest Castlebar Celtic will have a strong side due a number of players that have returned from other leagues. As for S/f will they at least have History at playing the highest level.
Think of Fahy or Kilmore, they are just kick around teams, who will do no justice to the Super League. Only leave red faces to those who run it.
Sorry to say I can't share the same enthusiasm as you do

This makes no sense, its hard to argue with your point when you cant communicate it yourself in a small paragraph...

Fish-Head
23/03/2009, 8:28 AM
Communicate it yourself?

That hardly makes sense either.

GoodFootball
23/03/2009, 10:05 AM
Communicate it yourself?

That hardly makes sense either.

Meaning he can't communicate his point to us!!

If he could, then we might be able to argue the point.

Loving your name ;)

hoop4life
23/03/2009, 3:54 PM
Just what is a ´kick around team´? How does a team ´do justice to the Super League´? And why would the performance of two teams ´leave red faces to (sic) those who run it´? What, basically, are you talking about?

i think he means that ye are a country team with a lot less technical ability than the other teams and ye will try to 'oof it and kick other teams off the pitch to try and get results.

not my view, but i thinks its what the renovator is trying to say!!! ;)

GoodFootball
23/03/2009, 8:34 PM
i think he means that ye are a country team with a lot less technical ability than the other teams and ye will try to 'oof it and kick other teams off the pitch to try and get results.

Renovator/hoop4life

Not long since Celtic used to try to beat teams by hoofin, long balls, kicking other teams off the pitch. Seemed to work most of the time under Dykes, something he was well known for himself!

If we have to take a leaf outta their book to get results I for one would be happy to do so ;)

By the way, not to burst your urban bubble you think you live in but we're all country teams in the ML. The alternative is city and there's no city in Mayo last time I checked :D

hoop4life
23/03/2009, 9:12 PM
Renovator/hoop4life

Not long since Celtic used to try to beat teams by hoofin, long balls, kicking other teams off the pitch. Seemed to work most of the time under Dykes, something he was well known for himself!

If we have to take a leaf outta their book to get results I for one would be happy to do so ;)

By the way, not to burst your urban bubble you think you live in but we're all country teams in the ML. The alternative is city and there's no city in Mayo last time I checked :D

look mate, i said that that is not my opinion of fahy rovers. i think that is what the renovator was trying to say. my opinion of fahy rovers is that ye are a tough, physical side that work hard for each other and are hard to beat, something similar to erris.

don't know why ye keep referring back to the dykesy era. yes, two years ago, he played long ball football and i wasn't in favour of it but it got results and if ye get results by doing the same, then good luck to ye. everytime the subject of any team playing direct football comes up, everyone mentions celtic under dykesy. no one ever mentions the good football that we played before him of after him, do they??

as for the urban bubble gag, i'm not going arguing with you about culchies or townies but i've lived in a major town for over 50 years and wouldn't consider myself or castlebar celtic to be country!!

as i said in previous posts, i think fahy will be a tough side to beat for teams and i think that it is good to see new blood in the super league, like ye and kilmore so don't be trying to start arguements when i'm encouraging ye and kilmore in the super league and hoping ye do well to shake things up and make the super league more interesting.

GoodFootball
23/03/2009, 9:37 PM
look mate, i said that that is not my opinion of fahy rovers. i think that is what the renovator was trying to say. my opinion of fahy rovers is that ye are a tough, physical side that work hard for each other and are hard to beat, something similar to erris.

don't know why ye keep referring back to the dykesy era. yes, two years ago, he played long ball football and i wasn't in favour of it but it got results and if ye get results by doing the same, then good luck to ye. everytime the subject of any team playing direct football comes up, everyone mentions celtic under dykesy. no one ever mentions the good football that we played before him of after him, do they??

as for the urban bubble gag, i'm not going arguing with you about culchies or townies but i've lived in a major town for over 50 years and wouldn't consider myself or castlebar celtic to be country!!

as i said in previous posts, i think fahy will be a tough side to beat for teams and i think that it is good to see new blood in the super league, like ye and kilmore so don't be trying to start arguements when i'm encouraging ye and kilmore in the super league and hoping ye do well to shake things up and make the super league more interesting.

Never said it was a bad thing to be a physical side...

Nobody labels sides as country or town these days, bit old fashioned to think that a side from a town would play a nicer style of football? but as you say no point in arguing that one. In the eyes of Dublin we're ALL culchies!

Hopefully we do ok in the SL, good to see some people would like to see us do well, just like we would like to see Celtic fly the flag for Mayo in the A League :)

theboy
24/03/2009, 9:20 AM
when is celtic's 1st game in the A league? has there been any fixtures given out yet for the SL?

FahyForever
24/03/2009, 11:54 AM

I had worked out that that was what he meant Hoop, I just wanted to point out to him that everything he writes is rendered incomprehensible by mixed metaphors, cliches, jargon and jumbled up sentences. For ´kick around´ he presumably meant ´kick-about´, ´leave red faces to those who run it´ I´m guessing is some mix of ´egg on their faces´ and ´red in the face´, ´do justice to the Super League´ is just a heap of ****, but might have something to do with´do themselves justice in the Super League´. His wonderfully random ´sorry to say I cant share the same enthusiasm as you do´ is a reference to absolutely nothing whatsoever.

I would have no problem with any of this, and wouldn´t be so pedantic either, if he didn´t insult teams who have yet to kick a ball in the Super League. We may well finish bottom and play unstylish football, but at least wait until it happens before you start hurling abuse.

24/03/2009, 4:32 PM
I had worked out that that was what he meant Hoop, I just wanted to point out to him that everything he writes is rendered incomprehensible by mixed metaphors, cliches, jargon and jumbled up sentences. For ´kick around´ he presumably meant ´kick-about´, ´leave red faces to those who run it´ I´m guessing is some mix of ´egg on their faces´ and ´red in the face´, ´do justice to the Super League´ is just a heap of ****, but might have something to do with´do themselves justice in the Super League´. His wonderfully random ´sorry to say I cant share the same enthusiasm as you do´ is a reference to absolutely nothing whatsoever.

I would have no problem with any of this, and wouldn´t be so pedantic either, if he didn´t insult teams who have yet to kick a ball in the Super League. We may well finish bottom and play unstylish football, but at least wait until it happens before you start hurling abuse.

The whole world is not against you,dont worry...Please stop trying to be petty about everything....Or are you a professor of english.Everytime someone says something,you have to be politically correct even about the vocabulary people use

GoodFootball
24/03/2009, 5:22 PM
The whole world is not against you,dont worry...Please stop trying to be petty about everything....Or are you a professor of english.Everytime someone says something,you have to be politically correct even about the vocabulary people use

1924 stop trying to rise people because it always ends with you rising quicker than a priest in a barney suit!

Get back to football talk :ball:

25/03/2009, 2:49 PM
1924 stop trying to rise people because it always ends with you rising quicker than a priest in a barney suit!

Get back to football talk :ball:

Thats a very rich coming from you!!!!!!

Look at your colleagues posts,keep it to football as you say!!

hoop4life
26/03/2009, 4:40 PM
when is celtic's 1st game in the A league? has there been any fixtures given out yet for the SL?

i dont know. the a league is starting on the 5th of april but the fai have told celtic that they wont have to play any games until they are finished in the connaught cup

30/03/2009, 12:03 PM
Super League Fixtures (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=6940&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&sportid=8&countyid=37&club_id=3994&compid=9923&from_date=30/03/2009&to_date=30/03/2010)

hoop4life
30/03/2009, 4:05 PM
could be a bit of a banana skin for us on the opening day. where is it being played?? if its in the astro we will win it comfortably. celtic played charlestown yesterday in celtic park. won 6-1. very impressive second half. passed them off the pitch

achillrover
30/03/2009, 4:10 PM
ya but they are division 2.... ye're a super league team. Ye would want to have a little bit more ability/fitness than them at this stage of the season to be honest

hoop4life
30/03/2009, 4:22 PM
ya but they are division 2.... ye're a super league team. Ye would want to have a little bit more ability/fitness than them at this stage of the season to be honest

i know that and we should be beating them by that score, but im saying that the performance in the second half was very good. i think thats what pre-season friendlies are about, performance over results

achillrover
30/03/2009, 4:57 PM
true enough

pinero
30/03/2009, 8:59 PM
well who is going to win super league this year, i see iorras are playing westport away last game of season, does anyone think the winner will be from these two

GoodFootball
30/03/2009, 11:03 PM
could be a bit of a banana skin for us on the opening day. where is it being played?? if its in the astro we will win it comfortably. celtic played charlestown yesterday in celtic park. won 6-1. very impressive second half. passed them off the pitch

Think were playing our home games in castlebar towns pitch this year. Hopefully that's the case, I agree we need a nice tight pitch to beat teams like Celtic. Happy enough that it's the first game, always seems to be a close game no matter if it's fahy against Celtic a or b last few years. Be interested to see how he get on without 352 and the a league lads!! After westport it's the game I'm looking forward to most this season...

threefivetwo
31/03/2009, 3:53 PM
goodfootball i'd say it was mostly because of all our banter on this ya wish i was playing?? :) hopefully it's a good thing for us we're playing in the a league, we'll just have to wait and see, that being said i'd prefer to be playing in the brandywell or terryland or somewhere like that instead of castlebar town pitch, has it been confirmed yet? it will definitely be the worst pitch in the mayo league anyway!

hoop4life
31/03/2009, 3:56 PM
Think were playing our home games in castlebar towns pitch this year. Hopefully that's the case, I agree we need a nice tight pitch to beat teams like Celtic. Happy enough that it's the first game, always seems to be a close game no matter if it's fahy against Celtic a or b last few years. Be interested to see how he get on without 352 and the a league lads!! After westport it's the game I'm looking forward to most this season...

agree moneen park will help ye a lot. pitch is very poor and tight. i hope that ye fix up the ground a bit. last time i was there it was in a very poor state.
hopefully it wont be tight this time!! ;) id say it will be though, especially out there. everyone wants to start off with a win.

FahyForever
31/03/2009, 3:56 PM
Seriously? Is it that bad??

GoodFootball
31/03/2009, 4:15 PM
agree moneen park will help ye a lot. pitch is very poor and tight. i hope that ye fix up the ground a bit. last time i was there it was in a very poor state.
hopefully it wont be tight this time!! ;) id say it will be though, especially out there. everyone wants to start off with a win.

As it will be our first time playing there, it will be more like home advantage to Celtic. I believe they are fixing up the pitch as we speak.

Cut the sideline by the 18 yard box and let the grass grow ;)

Ah no, contrary to what people think we are never encouraged by any manager to play a physical game but to keep it on the ground and try and play ball. Something tells me physical might work against ye though so maybe just this once haha, only messing :)

gunner1
31/03/2009, 4:16 PM
goodfootball i'd say it was mostly because of all our banter on this ya wish i was playing?? :) hopefully it's a good thing for us we're playing in the a league, we'll just have to wait and see, that being said i'd prefer to be playing in the brandywell or terryland or somewhere like that instead of castlebar town pitch, has it been confirmed yet? it will definitely be the worst pitch in the mayo league anyway!

i have to agree with most of what you are saying, i have been to every pitch in the county and its not the worst but the club house needs a lot of work,well run down,and not mayo league standard. maybe fathy will spend a few pound on the upkeep if they use it for their home games.by the way best of luck in the L.O.I.

threefivetwo
31/03/2009, 4:18 PM
cheers bud!!