View Full Version : Mayo Super League 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

GoodFootball
03/08/2009, 12:23 PM
u scored...when back in 1978 was it....>? self praise is no praise.....

It was an unreal finish actually! One of FahyForevers best goals...also played in that game, 2004 maybe might be more accurate :)

You are funny paddyirishman, but as your alias suggests, not the sharpest tool in the box :D

murphs jewels
03/08/2009, 11:13 PM
Lets not go back that far in history or start diggin up severe beatings as ye have a few in your own closset.

Best leave it where it is as this could go on for a while and anyway my original post was relating to Westports poor result against a div 2 side and having been at all the divisional cup finals over the last 2 weeks i am more convinced that the margins are getting closer and closer and that getting to the SL is as much a challenge as been there in its self.

theboy
04/08/2009, 9:00 AM
i see from todays papers that the westport team have lost 1 of there managers, who'll be next to take things there? will we go down the route of getting an outsider in to do the job?

Cloggs
04/08/2009, 9:15 AM
i see from todays papers that the westport team have lost 1 of there managers, who'll be next to take things there? will we go down the route of getting an outsider in to do the job?

don't the ins and outs as to why the manager may have left but its a bit poor leaving when they hit a bit of a rough patch!

FahyForever
04/08/2009, 9:30 AM

Which one of them left? PB? Any reasons why in the paper? Not great timing surely but I'm sure he has his reasons...

theboy
04/08/2009, 9:56 AM
No, it was Cusack that left, no reason's in the paper just it was time for a change. i no there goin through a bit of a bad patch but if the manager feels its time to leave they just have to do it.

footie2008
07/08/2009, 9:24 PM
Didnt say anything bout them not winning the SL... And as for underhand comments reguarding Charlestown if you dont know history or facts on what happened better not talk about things you know nothing about.. Still I think we have played Fahy Rovers twice in the last 5 years in cup competitions and turned them over both times. Getting out of the lower divisions is getting tougher and tougher as the teams (in my view) in the premier, 1st and 2nd divisions have little or nothing between them.
I totally agree with your last comment,and the Sl standard is not as good as is perceived.

Score
07/08/2009, 10:26 PM
No, it was Cusack that left, no reason's in the paper just it was time for a change. i no there goin through a bit of a bad patch but if the manager feels its time to leave they just have to do it.

Why they left nobody will know only themselves,I have been told that pb has stepped down as well.Being in management can be cruel,when you win you are a hero,and when you lose it can be a lonely place.From my point of view the two lads were on a hiding to nothing....were they ever going to emulate what they did when they won the FAI?My point is that they will be remembered for what they did in wininng that FAI but now also be remembered for stepping down....seemingly after losing a couple of matches mid season.Mabye there are other reasons that I do not know about and If so I will apologise in advance.The same thing happened earlier this year with snugboro with there manager stepping down and then coming back a week or so later.Its not easy being a manager!!!

GoodFootball
08/08/2009, 10:08 AM
Why they left nobody will know only themselves,I have been told that pb has stepped down as well.Being in management can be cruel,when you win you are a hero,and when you lose it can be a lonely place.From my point of view the two lads were on a hiding to nothing....were they ever going to emulate what they did when they won the FAI?My point is that they will be remembered for what they did in wininng that FAI but now also be remembered for stepping down....seemingly after losing a couple of matches mid season.Mabye there are other reasons that I do not know about and If so I will apologise in advance.The same thing happened earlier this year with snugboro with there manager stepping down and then coming back a week or so later.Its not easy being a manager!!!

Knowing when the right time is to leave is key, before people start to lose respect for ya if your heart isn't in it. I think players and fans in Westport and in Mayo soccer in general will remember this management pairing as one of the most successful in ML history. 3 or 4 Super Leagues, Mayo Cup, FAI Junior Cup, connaught senior cup and a super/westaro cup...

paddyirishman
08/08/2009, 8:26 PM
Dam feckers playing super league during the Mayo 1/4 final. such dopes!
S&f to surpirse again... well capable.

08/08/2009, 11:45 PM
http://www.mayofootball.ie

For those who are interested.

paddyirishman
09/08/2009, 3:54 PM
Come on da Snf!! on their day they can beat any super league team and will prove it. westport next wknd.. think a draw is on the cards but a win possible..who knows.
If they do that will give ballina every chance t claim the title..

GoodFootball
09/08/2009, 8:09 PM
Come on da Snf!! on their day they can beat any super league team and will prove it. westport next wknd.. think a draw is on the cards but a win possible..who knows.
If they do that will give ballina every chance t claim the title..

Don't get carried away there buddy! Westport beat Manulla 4-0 today, think that is a bit of a statement they are back. How will Ballina claim the title if Westport lose next week against S&F?? I assume S&F won today, who did they beat?

We drew 1-1 with Celtic, we could've won it with more clinical finishing but good game of football, passing and movement was good from both sides. Probably a fair result.

GoodFootball
09/08/2009, 8:33 PM
Celtic 1-1 Fahy
Westport 4-0 Manulla
S&F 3-2 Snugboro
Ballina 2-0 Kilmore
Ballyheane p-p Iorras

Leaves it a definite 2 horse race at top and a dog fight between the rest as only 8 pts separate 3rd and 9th now...

Im predicting a finish of:
Westport
Ballina
Iorras
Manulla
Snugboro
Fahy
Ballyheane
S&F
Celtic
Kilmore

How do people think it will finish up?

quay heart
09/08/2009, 8:47 PM
Im predicting a finish of:
Westport
Ballina
Iorras
Manulla
Snugboro
Fahy
Ballyheane
S&F
Celtic
Kilmore

How do people think it will finish up?[/QUOTE]
think its great for fahy we in the port delighted for them.heard today pb staying on as westport manager with brian kennedy i believe the players and committee not happy all wanted a clean slate .is this true ?

GoodFootball
09/08/2009, 9:13 PM
think its great for fahy we in the port delighted for them.heard today pb staying on as westport manager with brian kennedy i believe the players and committee not happy all wanted a clean slate .is this true ?

As an outsider looking in i'd say PB, BK and RR will do a good job for the rest of the season. They know the players, the form and the fitness of them and so are better than getting in some new manager in the middle of the season?! Players should be happy with that.

4-0 hammering of Manulla today plus sorting of management maybe just the tonic they needed now going forward. Best of luck to them in winning 7 of their remaining 8 games :D

rava
10/08/2009, 8:46 AM
I think Westport will go on to win it from here. At the relegation end it looks increasingly likely that only one team will be relegated.

Cloggs
10/08/2009, 10:03 AM
I think Westport will go on to win it from here. At the relegation end it looks increasingly likely that only one team will be relegated.

presumbly theres been no news from the mayo league clarifying what the deal is at the end of the season re the promotion/relegation to/from the super league??:confused:

FahyForever
10/08/2009, 3:23 PM
presumbly theres been no news from the mayo league clarifying what the deal is at the end of the season re the promotion/relegation to/from the super league??:confused:

If they havn't clarified it yet, and I have heard nothing to suggest they have, it's a total disgrace. The only option they have now is to do it the exact same way as last year, otherwise it will be a bit fishy. My guess is they presumed Kilmore and Fahy would go back down and that would have been sound. As it stands, with Celtic a possibility for the drop, they will rethink that.

swinfordfc
10/08/2009, 7:11 PM
If they havn't clarified it yet, and I have heard nothing to suggest they have, it's a total disgrace. The only option they have now is to do it the exact same way as last year, otherwise it will be a bit fishy. My guess is they presumed Kilmore and Fahy would go back down and that would have been sound. As it stands, with Celtic a possibility for the drop, they will rethink that.

it was sorted at the start of the season - it 2 b teams finish in the top 2 of premier division then no team goes up to super league and no team leaves the super league

if 1 team that not a b team finish in the top 2 in premier division - then only the bottom team in super league get relegated and thus replaced

and the obvious one - it 2 team other than b team finish in top 2 of premier division - they go up and 2 come down

all this was sorted at meetings at start of season ......

The Don
10/08/2009, 7:29 PM
it was sorted at the start of the season - it 2 b teams finish in the top 2 of premier division then no team goes up to super league and no team leaves the super league

if 1 team that not a b team finish in the top 2 in premier division - then only the bottom team in super league get relegated and thus replaced

and the obvious one - it 2 team other than b team finish in top 2 of premier division - they go up and 2 come down

all this was sorted at meetings at start of season ......

No. All this was discussed at meetings at the start of season, nothing was ever sorted nor was any offical notification given to clubs. As far as I am concerned everything is the same as previous seasons.

ExCiTeD
10/08/2009, 8:50 PM
No. All this was discussed at meetings at the start of season, nothing was ever sorted nor was any offical notification given to clubs. As far as I am concerned everything is the same as previous seasons.
was talkin to mayo league official at the weekend and i asked about this subject. he told me it was mentioned at meeting recently but nothing is decided as yet. their talking of relegating two teams with no promotion and reducing super league to 8 teams.their his words not mine.the question i have is if they do that and next year westport again finish in a promotion spot are they not then right back where they started.whatever our opinions on it i can tell ye that as of yet the mayo league dont know what their doin(no smart comments please)regards promotion relegation

FahyForever
10/08/2009, 9:07 PM
That's lame. They really have to decide one way or the other and let clubs know where they stand. I can't personally see how the Super League would benefit from being reduced to eight teams, sounds like pointless re-branding to me.

Bestie
10/08/2009, 9:39 PM
That's lame. They really have to decide one way or the other and let clubs know where they stand. I can't personally see how the Super League would benefit from being reduced to eight teams, sounds like pointless re-branding to me.
Do I sense a little bit of fear in your comment. Surely it would make the Super League far more competitive. That has been the case in most Leagues where they have reduced the numbers.

Fair Play
10/08/2009, 9:46 PM
Do I sense a little bit of fear in your comment. Surely it would make the Super League far more competitive. That has been the case in most Leagues where they have reduced the numbers.
I have to agree with you Bestie. We have had crazy results last year with Super league teams winning 10 - 0 in the top division. I think one of the Super League teams lost 7 nil this season. We need an 8 team Super League to make it a better league.

swinfordfc
10/08/2009, 9:49 PM

Well i put it another way ... if Swinford finish in the top 2 of the premier division .... we will play in the super league ...... end of. :D

The Don
11/08/2009, 8:08 AM
Well i put it another way ... if Swinford finish in the top 2 of the premier division .... we will play in the super league ...... end of. :D

And ye fully deserve to be there.

GoodFootball
11/08/2009, 8:11 AM
Correct me if im wrong but only 8 pts separate 3rd and 9th now in the super league after 10 games. Is this not a sign of a competitive league? Its not like one team are running away with it and you certainly cant name the 2 teams who will drop from the division this year. All is still to play for therefore teams need to be competitive. Erris are in thrid but if they lose 2 or 3 games could all of a sudden find themselves in relegation (Just as an example).

The Don
11/08/2009, 8:13 AM
was talkin to mayo league official at the weekend and i asked about this subject. he told me it was mentioned at meeting recently but nothing is decided as yet. their talking of relegating two teams with no promotion and reducing super league to 8 teams.their his words not mine.the question i have is if they do that and next year westport again finish in a promotion spot are they not then right back where they started.whatever our opinions on it i can tell ye that as of yet the mayo league dont know what their doin(no smart comments please)regards promotion relegation

That is scarey. So basically they will make a decision when the league is over.
No doubt this will depend on who finishes in the relegation places. This has Connaught or FAI appeal written all over it. Will the premier division have 12 teams next year then or will the bottom four just be relegated and so on. What a mess.:mad:

swinfordfc
11/08/2009, 8:22 AM
No doubt this will depend on who finishes in the relegation places. This has Connaught or FAI appeal written all over it. Will the premier division have 12 teams next year then or will the bottom four just be relegated and so on. What a mess.:mad:

This is not going to happen this year - might consider it down the road (maybe in 4-5 years time)

rava
11/08/2009, 8:42 AM
You seem to be in the know. So what is going to happen this year or is it as laissez faire as excited said.

Cloggs
11/08/2009, 8:49 AM

this is all rediculous and is a complete joke.surely if the league is thinking of making the super league an 8 team league then that should have been voted on by all of the clubs at the agm.its a farce to be honest!:mad:

FahyForever
11/08/2009, 9:08 AM

Agreed. If Kilmore finish bottom and Westport B in the top two in the premier it will be one down one up. If Fahy finish second bottom it will be two down and up. If Celtic finish second bottom it will be one down and up. Etc. I think the first option is probable, and will save the Mayo League's blushes. It is utterly wrong and imbebilic that it should be as yet unconfirmed at the halfway point in the season though.

rava
11/08/2009, 9:14 AM
Agreed. If Kilmore finish bottom and Westport B in the top two in the premier it will be one down one up. If Fahy finish second bottom it will be two down and up. If Celtic finish second bottom it will be one down and up. Etc. I think the first option is probable, and will save the Mayo League's blushes. It is utterly wrong and imbebilic that it should be as yet unconfirmed at the halfway point in the season though.

I dont see how they will get away with that. Theres too much at stake and I'm sure there would be an appeal from the club finishing behind Westport B.

Cloggs
11/08/2009, 10:54 AM
I dont see how they will get away with that. Theres too much at stake and I'm sure there would be an appeal from the club finishing behind Westport B.

i think that the whole situation is going to open a huge can of worms.the mayo league are surely leaving themselves open to numerous appeals from various clubs if they are relegated/not promoted.

murphs jewels
11/08/2009, 3:44 PM
Wouldn't the whole mess be sorted if we had a seperate division for reserve teams and then things would run smoothly. This nonsence has been going on for years and everyone is sick of it. Last year at the "Open Discussion Meeting" in the Welcome Inn hotel the only support for the reserve teams were them theirselves.
Swinford deserve a place in the SL (If the can maintain their position) like SnF did and to deny them would only cause major upheavel in Mayo football. Celtic B dont look to healthy at the moment and if the do get relegated then Celtic A would automaticaly be able to replace them in the Premier Division if the were to finish in the bottom 2.
But as i said this will only ever be sorted out if we get a seperate reserve league. I know people will say that you cannot put say Westport B in with Bangor Hibs B (Example) but in every football league you will have stronger teams playing weeker teams, thats just the way things are. There are 12 B teams and 1 C team in mayo football at the moment and I think its about time that the MAFL did something about it.
That meeting last year sorted nothing out and now look at the mess we have. No one knows whos moving and whos staying in any division.

quay heart
11/08/2009, 9:52 PM
Wouldn't the whole mess be sorted if we had a seperate division for reserve teams and then things would run smoothly. This nonsence has been going on for years and everyone is sick of it. Last year at the "Open Discussion Meeting" in the Welcome Inn hotel the only support for the reserve teams were them theirselves.
But as i said this will only ever be sorted out if we get a seperate reserve league. I know people will say that you cannot put say Westport B in with Bangor Hibs B (Example) but in every football league you will have stronger teams playing weeker teams, thats just the way things are. There are 12 B teams and 1 C team in mayo football at the moment and I think its about time that the MAFL did something about it.
That meeting last year sorted nothing out and now look at the mess we have. No one knows whos moving and whos staying in any division.

westport b and erris b are in top four because they are better than most a teams.its up to other teams to raise their games or join a pub lge.

murphs jewels
11/08/2009, 11:30 PM
westport b and erris b are in top four because they are better than most a teams.its up to other teams to raise their games or join a pub lge.

Typical B team response. If these players were good enough then they would be in the A team. You dont see liverpool, Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal reserves in the championship trying to get into the premiership even though they are prob better than half the lower placed teams in the premiership. A nonsence reply that we have been listening to for too long and has the Mayo league in a mess. Its time it was sorted

mossy
12/08/2009, 8:32 AM
I thought the rule was/is simple.
If a team finish in the top 2 then promoted.
If a B team finish in top two then cannot be promoted but whereas in the past the teams finishing below them took their place this is now deemed unfair and foregone.
As regards B teams being better than the A teams in the Premier league then this is true on paper, but are they genuine B teams ?
Rumour has it that there is friction in the Port over this where some players want to play all matches - selfish *****s I say but it happens in all clubs including my own. Perhaps Celtic are the only ones who are carrying out the spirit of the law as well as the interpretation of the law. Certainly Manulla abused wholesale in the past as Westport are doing now.
To solve this problem we need to seperate the A players (ie the ones who play for the A team as opposed to those registered as A) and make it very difficult for them to play B. The most obvious way to stop this is to play both teams at the same time. That would ensure that at least 13/14 players are with the A team and those left should be genuine B.

rava
12/08/2009, 8:42 AM

Westport b have fielded stronger sides than their A team on many occassions this season, at least celtic will go down playing the same players week in week out. Westport have used A players at every available opportunity.

rava
12/08/2009, 8:47 AM
I thought the rule was/is simple.
If a team finish in the top 2 then promoted.
If a B team finish in top two then cannot be promoted but whereas in the past the teams finishing below them took their place this is now deemed unfair and foregone.
As regards B teams being better than the A teams in the Premier league then this is true on paper, but are they genuine B teams ?
Rumour has it that there is friction in the Port over this where some players want to play all matches - selfish *****s I say but it happens in all clubs including my own. Perhaps Celtic are the only ones who are carrying out the spirit of the law as well as the interpretation of the law. Certainly Manulla abused wholesale in the past as Westport are doing now.
To solve this problem we need to seperate the A players (ie the ones who play for the A team as opposed to those registered as A) and make it very difficult for them to play B. The most obvious way to stop this is to play both teams at the same time. That would ensure that at least 13/14 players are with the A team and those left should be genuine B.

Dont know why some people keep harping on about this promotion/ relegation rule. As it as been said on here before it was only a discussion,
no decision was ever made.

GoodFootball
12/08/2009, 11:35 AM
New rule - No promotion just relegation because of the recession!

paddyirishman
13/08/2009, 12:50 PM
Can someone comment on the standards of refereeing in the super league..i think the standard had been raised over the years but the last couple of years..the same refs seem to be getting worse. new refs would be greatly appreciated as i believe the current refs have become very bias. after watching a few games this year...a refs influence on most games has over come teams performances which is so wrong. a teams performance is what should win games not some crazy decesions.

Don't get me wrong its a very difficult job n they get alot of stick but is that why they have become bias...? i would like to hear a few opinions on this matter because it has really stood out this year in too many games for many different teams.

13/08/2009, 3:36 PM
Can someone comment on the standards of refereeing in the super league..i think the standard had been raised over the years but the last couple of years..the same refs seem to be getting worse. new refs would be greatly appreciated as i believe the current refs have become very bias. after watching a few games this year...a refs influence on most games has over come teams performances which is so wrong. a teams performance is what should win games not some crazy decesions.

Don't get me wrong its a very difficult job n they get alot of stick but is that why they have become bias...? i would like to hear a few opinions on this matter because it has really stood out this year in too many games for many different teams.

Think of some initiatives to get younger,fitter men into reffing and then things might change otherwise this has been done to death on foot.ie.

I admire anybody who has the "bottle" to be a ref these days.

paddyirishman
13/08/2009, 4:01 PM
thats fair enough but there are no ways and the thing is,...
when refs start to have too much influence over results ....it is ruining the game...they are there t keep it under control and to keep it flowing... and to protect the players.. thats it.

murphs jewels
13/08/2009, 5:32 PM
Due to the sudden death of Jimmy Blakes Wife all games in the Mayo league are posponed this weekend.

Fair Play
14/08/2009, 12:12 PM
thats fair enough but there are no ways and the thing is,...
when refs start to have too much influence over results ....it is ruining the game...they are there t keep it under control and to keep it flowing... and to protect the players.. thats it.
Yes I agree.....it is time that people like you take up the role of refereeing....we will then get the best referees, who are the fittest, know all the rules, apply them fairly and never ever make a mistake or not see an incident. We will have the perfect situation - do you not agree? Try it sometime, instead of criticising.

paddyirishman
14/08/2009, 12:29 PM
Yes I agree.....it is time that people like you take up the role of refereeing....we will then get the best referees, who are the fittest, know all the rules, apply them fairly and never ever make a mistake or not see an incident. We will have the perfect situation - do you not agree? Try it sometime, instead of criticising.

yes i apprciate the difficulty and they need every help possible. But when some major decision are made which seem bias it is hard to take.
I have tried it at friendly under 16.. i barely got the direction rite when there was a throw.. even when i saw who put it out..takes few secs t get that rite ha so i know how difficult it is but when u have a ref and 2 linesmen..i believe the linesmen don't stand out enough in some Major incidents and they leave it entirely up to the ref when they should at least consult. now sayin that they have been fantastic in some games so i can't complain about the linesmen. I think maybe Refs should confer with them more often infact! especially over major decisions before making the decision.
I do think they need help and it does need to be made more attractive for players to actually ref unnder age games etc so when they finish playing themselves maybe then they can ref at a higher level.

pixiehead
14/08/2009, 1:08 PM
Due to the sudden death of Jimmy Blakes Wife all games in the Mayo league are posponed this weekend.

Sympathy extended from all at Snugboro F.C

swinfordfc
14/08/2009, 1:11 PM
Sympathy extended from all at Swinford F.C