11]
footie2008
24/07/2009, 8:51 PM
Missing!!
Notts County Crest
Last seen been abducted by an Mayo Junior Soccer Side
Believed to be currently held hostage in Moneen road
Anyone with any info call crime stoppers immediatley
www.vandanel.co.uk/acatalog/league_two.html (http://www.vandanel.co.uk/acatalog/league_two.html) :eek::eek:
Good spot pixie,i saw the crest on Sky News and then realised where that mad looking crest came from.:rolleyes:
quay heart
25/07/2009, 7:08 PM
I was talking to one of the Westport lads last night and he said there is war going on between there a & b team for players and tensions were high between the managments.
absolute rubbish.:confused:
FahyForever
25/07/2009, 8:08 PM
Fahy 1 Ballina 3
Fahy did make it tough for Ballina but some silly mistakes cost us dearly. Fahy opened the scoring after a very controversial free kick where the ref penalised the keeper for... who knows??? I think it was catching the ball, dropping it and picking it up again? Or something? Goodfootball might have seen it better. Seemed fairly innocuous to me anyway. Gary Goggins set up Mick Goggins who slammed it home. Ballina equalised soon after when a punt forward took our defence by surprise, splitting them in two. Simple finish. Just before half time they scored another when an intended cross found the inside of the back post. We felt hard done by. Fahy were on top in the second half, but it was all scrappy stuff and Ballina defended well, if a bit unsportsmanly (hoofing it as far into the adjoining field as possible over and over again). We never looked like scoring anyway. The game was decided when one of our midfielders (who will remain nameless to save his embarrassment!) inexplicably played a beautiful through ball for a Ballina forward, who really could not miss. Even then Fahy battled hard but it wasn't to be. Not a match for purists, but a very determined performance that might have earned us a bit more. What of Westport? Heard they were one up at half time!
hoop4life
25/07/2009, 9:05 PM
iorras 0-3 westport - great result for them, credit where credit is due
manulla 2-4 snugboro
kilmore beat s&f, dont know score
Not sure what your confused about, the player in question mentioned that A team management have been unhappy a number of times with the use of players in the B team. VOM was playing 2 matchs a weekend and apparently even played 2 matchs on the one day this season:eek:.
GoodFootball
26/07/2009, 9:45 AM
Fahy 1 Ballina 3
Fahy did make it tough for Ballina but some silly mistakes cost us dearly. Fahy opened the scoring after a very controversial free kick where the ref penalised the keeper for... who knows??? I think it was catching the ball, dropping it and picking it up again? Or something? Goodfootball might have seen it better. Seemed fairly innocuous to me anyway. Gary Goggins set up Mick Goggins who slammed it home. Ballina equalised soon after when a punt forward took our defence by surprise, splitting them in two. Simple finish. Just before half time they scored another when an intended cross found the inside of the back post. We felt hard done by. Fahy were on top in the second half, but it was all scrappy stuff and Ballina defended well, if a bit unsportsmanly (hoofing it as far into the adjoining field as possible over and over again). We never looked like scoring anyway. The game was decided when one of our midfielders (who will remain nameless to save his embarrassment!) inexplicably played a beautiful through ball for a Ballina forward, who really could not miss. Even then Fahy battled hard but it wasn't to be. Not a match for purists, but a very determined performance that might have earned us a bit more. What of Westport? Heard they were one up at half time!
Goalkeeper caught ball as it was going out for goal kick, dropped it and a few of us shouted he cant pick it up again and he did. Indirect free kick was the correct decision. Refs dont normally notice this but fair play to the ref on this occasion :D
Ballina are very organised at the back, not world beaters but are very hard to break down. 2 horse race now with Westport I think.
Fair play to Kilmore for first win, takes a bit of pressure off us :)
Not sure what your confused about, the player in question mentioned that A team management have been unhappy a number of times with the use of players in the B team. VOM was playing 2 matchs a weekend and apparently even played 2 matchs on the one day this season:eek:.
FahyForever
26/07/2009, 1:24 PM
Goalkeeper caught ball as it was going out for goal kick, dropped it and a few of us shouted he cant pick it up again and he did. Indirect free kick was the correct decision. Refs dont normally notice this but fair play to the ref on this occasion :D
Ballina are very organised at the back, not world beaters but are very hard to break down. 2 horse race now with Westport I think.
Fair play to Kilmore for first win, takes a bit of pressure off us :)
From what I could make out from the Manulla keeper's protests, and from the opinion of some Fahy fans, Peyton only palmed the ball initially, thusly allowing him to pick it up after. Didn't see it so that's only what I heard.
Agree with you about Ballina, hard to break down, we really never looked like scoring from open play. Westport should be good enough to see them off though. The next round of matches could be huge for us, if we can beat Celtic, there is a fair chance that Ballyheane and Manulla lose, which would put us to fifth and give us a big lead over the bottom teams. All conjecture I know, but a possibility if we can give Celtic a game. Speaking of Celtic, fair play to hoop4life for giving 'credit where credit's due', I wonder if it would be reciprocated if the shoe was on the other foot?
quay heart
26/07/2009, 4:03 PM
you said there was war between managers this not true.vom wanted to play b this season with one or two others but injury to few first teamers ment he played both.
portside
26/07/2009, 5:08 PM
iorras 0-3 westport - great result for them, credit where credit is due
manulla 2-4 snugboro
kilmore beat s&f, dont know score
Thanks for that comment hoop4life.
Westside is currently away recieving treatment and under observation in a straight jacket.:)
We have no connection only our westport alliances but no doubt he will surface soon.
That was some result considering the recent results and many injuries we have so credit to all who rallied around the cause.
hoop4life
26/07/2009, 6:32 PM
it was a huge result for ye so in fairness ye do deserve a bit of credit, i think everyone will agree.
as said , it is probably a 2 horse race, as for the bottom, big gap between bottom 3 and the rest, bar a miracle, its a dog fight between them 3
irishyop
27/07/2009, 8:38 AM
Thats a very good result to get down there, when the chips were down it showed Wport can pull it out. Could have been a more interesting SL this year if Erris had taken the points but it looks more like normal service resumed!!!
Hard luck Fahy, still not a bad scoreline!
Leveller
27/07/2009, 8:58 AM
What utter rubbish. If ye were capable of entering a team in the A league ye would. The simple fact of the matter is a club of Westports size should easily have enough players to cope with a few injuries, but instead of building on their success of the past few years to develop a more solid youths structure, they instead decided to basically continue with more or less the same group of players at junior level for the past number of seasons. Now these players are needed but no strenght in dept as far as players go exist within the club. Maybe if some of yere players had not been played two matchs every weekend it would have eased yere injury list:D
What does the A league have to offer? We have already beaten Mervue and won the senior cup. They are a division above the A Championship, the standard is not much higher in the A Championship than Junior fopotball. The only reason Celtic entered it is because they couldnt win the Mayo League even with all their league of Ireland players their own and players they inherited from other clubs.
I think saturdays result answers your question about players being brought through.........
Some of the clubs in the A Championship wil struggle financially and will get fed up with having no success and revert back to Junior Football, in these recessionary times they will find it hard to get the finance to keep going
hoop4life
27/07/2009, 9:21 AM
what does the a league have to offer?? what kind of statement is that?? is the the third tier of the league of ireland, it is a stepping stone to the first division and on to the premier. i'm not saying we will be in the premier anytime soon but the first division in the next few years is a realistic possibility. i suppose when we get there that will be no better than junior football either.
how can you say junior football is as good as loi, read this statement back to yourself, junior football is as good as loi, doesn't make sense does it??
you think we only entered it cause of you lot, we entered it beause we have ambition to play in the first division and beyond and unlike ye, we have the players coming through that are good enough to play loi football and have the determination and ambition to make it in the loi.
ye bet mervues second 11, their fringe players.
also, what does saturdays result prove. were you at the game?? if so, you would have seen that tullamore played with 10 players behind the ball for the game and used every dirty trick in the book to get what they came here for, which was a draw. what about the 2 results before that, 3-1 against sligo and 5-0 against dundalk, i suppose they were just flukes and you'll tell me that dundalk and sligo and useless, ya.
everyone in mayo can see that we have taken a positive step forward in joining the loi apart from you and your westport colleague. stop the jealous rant lads, ye know well that this is a good thing for us but yer pride won't let ye admit it. :ball:
FahyForever
27/07/2009, 9:39 AM
what does the a league have to offer?? what kind of statement is that?? is the the third tier of the league of ireland, it is a stepping stone to the first division and on to the premier. i'm not saying we will be in the premier anytime soon but the first division in the next few years is a realistic possibility. i suppose when we get there that will be no better than junior football either.
how can you say junior football is as good as loi, read this statement back to yourself, junior football is as good as loi, doesn't make sense does it??
you think we only entered it cause of you lot, we entered it beause we have ambition to play in the first division and beyond and unlike ye, we have the players coming through that are good enough to play loi football and have the determination and ambition to make it in the loi.
ye bet mervues second 11, their fringe players.
also, what does saturdays result prove. were you at the game?? if so, you would have seen that tullamore played with 10 players behind the ball for the game and used every dirty trick in the book to get what they came here for, which was a draw. what about the 2 results before that, 3-1 against sligo and 5-0 against dundalk, i suppose they were just flukes and you'll tell me that dundalk and sligo and useless, ya.
everyone in mayo can see that we have taken a positive step forward in joining the loi apart from you and your westport colleague. stop the jealous rant lads, ye know well that this is a good thing for us but yer pride won't let ye admit it. :ball:
Hoop, I think when Leveller said that about 'Saturdays result answers your question about players being brought through' he was talking about the Westport Erris match. His point being that Westport were missing a lot of players and had to use younger ones (Tom Mc Ging, Paul Groden etc) who came through the club.
Apart from that I think that almost everyone realises that the A championship is a step in the right direction for a club with ambition like Celtic. Seen as how Celtic are achieving so much at underage levels I think they are dead right to aim high and think of the future. No reason why they can't perform at the highest level. Fair play to them.
hoop4life
27/07/2009, 9:46 AM
Hoop, I think when Leveller said that about 'Saturdays result answers your question about players being brought through' he was talking about the Westport Erris match. His point being that Westport were missing a lot of players and had to use younger ones (Tom Mc Ging, Paul Groden etc) who came through the club.
Apart from that I think that almost everyone realises that the A championship is a step in the right direction for a club with ambition like Celtic. Seen as how Celtic are achieving so much at underage levels I think they are dead right to aim high and think of the future. No reason why they can't perform at the highest level. Fair play to them.
fair enough, misinterpretation on my behalf.
cheers for proving my point aswell that everyone sees its a good thing for us
Closing Time
27/07/2009, 12:23 PM
What does the A league have to offer? We have already beaten Mervue and won the senior cup. They are a division above the A Championship, the standard is not much higher in the A Championship than Junior fopotball. The only reason Celtic entered it is because they couldnt win the Mayo League even with all their league of Ireland players their own and players they inherited from other clubs.
I think saturdays result answers your question about players being brought through.........
Some of the clubs in the A Championship wil struggle financially and will get fed up with having no success and revert back to Junior Football, in these recessionary times they will find it hard to get the finance to keep going
Any other club bar Celtic from Mayo had joined the LOI is would have been great. Look we could say you were lucky to beat our B team who were missing three or four lads so were does that leave your team. Still the best in Mayo and those players would stand out in the A league but your club had not the fore sight in joining a higher standard league. It’s a pity because everyone would love to see how far this Utd team could go even to Div 1 I would say. So stopping knocking us for moving up on and feeling jealous and bitter about your own club lacking the bottle.
Some of the clubs in the A Championship wil struggle financially and will get fed up with having no success and revert back to Junior Football, in these recessionary times they will find it hard to get the finance to keep goingYou beat Mervue's 2nd team, not the same Mervue that is in the LOI 1st Division. I think one of the best things to come out of Celtic joining the A Championship i believe is the fact that the a can enter the U-20 league, offering Mayo u-20 players a chance to play at a decent level of football.
Westside142
27/07/2009, 3:58 PM
[QUOTE=
Some of the clubs in the A Championship wil struggle financially and will get fed up with having no success and revert back to Junior Football, in these recessionary times they will find it hard to get the finance to keep going[/QUOTE]
Right i`m back...where do i start?
I tried to explain this to that crowd up the road and got slated for it.
They`ll soon get fed up with this toothless league but if thats what they want,we should ditch this row as their argument isn`t holding water.
Back to the proper football and a massive result on saturday with half the regulars missing.
hoop4life
27/07/2009, 6:56 PM
so our national senior league isn't proper football is it?? and the mayo league is??
also, you keep talking about finance. this has been said already by another poster, celtic have planned for the costs of entering the loi and have made sure that it will not put a strain on the club. if there was any financial danger, celtic would not have entered. very good organisation and planning by those in charge
hoop4life
27/07/2009, 6:59 PM
You beat Mervue's 2nd team, not the same Mervue that is in the LOI 1st Division. I think one of the best things to come out of Celtic joining the A Championship i believe is the fact that the a can enter the U-20 league, offering Mayo u-20 players a chance to play at a decent level of football.
agreed. give our young players loi experience and playing regular against high quality opposition similar to ourselves before stepping up to senior loi football, hopefully in the 1st division
Right i`m back...where do i start?
I tried to explain this to that crowd up the road and got slated for it.
They`ll soon get fed up with this toothless league but if thats what they want,we should ditch this row as their argument isn`t holding water.
Back to the proper football and a massive result on saturday with half the regulars missing.
So what was your excuse when you got beaten last thursday....Sing when your winning!!!!!!
GoodFootball
28/07/2009, 8:01 AM
So what was your excuse when you got beaten last thursday....Sing when your winning!!!!!!
To sum up hoop, 1924 and all Celtic lads think they are now in a better league, better standard of football and all the lads are improving, young lads who are coming through are good and they reckon they'll be in the 1st division in the next few years.
Westside thinks ye are wasting time money and resources on this and ye will end up back in the super league again before making the 1st division.
Me, I'm bored with the sh*t debate that will never end. If the LOI is so far ahead of the super league then take the debate to a LOI/A league forum. No disrespect to it but this is a super league forum :ball:
hoop4life
28/07/2009, 8:13 AM
To sum up hoop, 1924 and all Celtic lads think they are now in a better league, better standard of football and all the lads are improving, young lads who are coming through are good and they reckon they'll be in the 1st division in the next few years.
Westside thinks ye are wasting time money and resources on this and ye will end up back in the super league again before making the 1st division.
Me, I'm bored with the sh*t debate that will never end. If the LOI is so far ahead of the super league then take the debate to a LOI/A league forum. No disrespect to it but this is a super league forum :ball:
i think we figured that out alright;):)
i agree will calling it quits though, has gone on to long and we're never going to agree on this subject so as i said a few days ago lets leave it at that
I would 100% Concur with what you say,From a Celtic point of view we are only doing what every suppoter/member would do.Stand up for what we believe is right.Saying all of that it does not mean we are right all the time
Score
29/07/2009, 10:45 PM
I would 100% Concur with what you say,From a Celtic point of view we are only doing what every suppoter/member would do.Stand up for what we believe is right.Saying all of that it does not mean we are right all the time
Any Thoughts on the Westaro Cup Final this weekend?
paddyirishman
30/07/2009, 9:04 PM
Any Thoughts on the Westaro Cup Final this weekend?
1st Thought is: Ballina Shouldnt be there after they're lucky win over SnF and
2nd Thought: I hope Ballina Win!! Come on the Town!!!
Should be a great game.. Ballina when at they're top can play some great fluent football capable of breaking down most teams but Snugboro well capable to Hit them on the counter and to Stop ballina from playing football.
I've a feeling this could go all the way..Maybe Extra time winner or shoot outs to decide the game. 2-2 Fulltime I Think
1st Thought is: Ballina Shouldnt be there after they're lucky win over SnF and
2nd Thought: I hope Ballina Win!! Come on the Town!!!
Should be a great game.. Ballina when at they're top can play some great fluent football capable of breaking down most teams but Snugboro well capable to Hit them on the counter and to Stop ballina from playing football.
I've a feeling this could go all the way..Maybe Extra time winner or shoot outs to decide the game. 2-2 Fulltime I Think
Cant really see past Ballina,Good football team and on there day can beat anybody,snugboro have huffed and puffed a little this year.Hopefully a good final all the same
murphs jewels
30/07/2009, 11:49 PM
Westport Utd 2 - 3 Moy Villa
Are Westport in free fall or did they just aproach this game with the wrong attitude????? Fair play to the Div 2 side. Great result whatever in house problems might be in the port, Totally overshadows our result against Achill. Also Swinford claiming another SL scalp...... Are the divisions gettein closer and closer?????? Do SL sides think that they can just brush lower divisional teams aside and maybe aproach games in a wrong frame of mind??? Only 1 SL side left in the competition now and im sure they wont be looking forward to whichever side they get ;)
GoodFootball
31/07/2009, 12:25 PM
Westport Utd 2 - 3 Moy Villa
Are Westport in free fall or did they just aproach this game with the wrong attitude????? Fair play to the Div 2 side. Great result whatever in house problems might be in the port, Totally overshadows our result against Achill. Also Swinford claiming another SL scalp...... Are the divisions gettein closer and closer?????? Do SL sides think that they can just brush lower divisional teams aside and maybe aproach games in a wrong frame of mind??? Only 1 SL side left in the competition now and im sure they wont be looking forward to whichever side they get ;)
Record number of question marks there!
As far as I know Westport only have 12 players available to them until Hoban and Dessie return from ban. I'd like to see their starting 11! How are they in free fall? 7 wins from 9 in the super league even though they haven't played that well. I'd say their in pretty good shape after being unlucky with injuries and missing their main strikers fro last 2 and a half games?
Who did Swinford beat? They are decent enough anyway...
Did Dessie and Hoban not serve there automatic one game ban against Erris? they wont get further punishment until the next committee meeting in mid August but i could be wrong on this.
swinfordfc
31/07/2009, 1:16 PM
As far as I know Westport only have 12 players available to them until Hoban and Dessie return from ban. I'd like to see their starting 11! How are they in free fall? 7 wins from 9 in the super league even though they haven't played that well. I'd say their in pretty good shape after being unlucky with injuries and missing their main strikers fro last 2 and a half games?
Swinford beat Ballyheane 5-4 on pens ..... game finish 2-2 aet
Every club has injury problems!!
Who is there main striker that you are referring to Dessie?? Cause he was playing last night!!
murphs jewels
31/07/2009, 1:50 PM
We had a game in Achill at 7-00 last night and that meant we had to leave at 4-30. Do you realise how hard it is to get lads off work and get a team together?? So dont tell me about poor Westports problems. Anyway that aside surley they should have enough strength in depth to see off a Div 2 side???
And as for my free fall comment I think its only 1 win in 4 at the moment for them :confused: Could be wrong and if i am i apologise in advance. There appears to be major crack appearing and from reports they were held in the Changing rooms in Snugboro for over an hour after their latest league defeat. Every side will have small numbers from time to time and injuries so please dont use that same old excuse.
GoodFootball
31/07/2009, 2:39 PM
We had a game in Achill at 7-00 last night and that meant we had to leave at 4-30. Do you realise how hard it is to get lads off work and get a team together?? So dont tell me about poor Westports problems. Anyway that aside surley they should have enough strength in depth to see off a Div 2 side???
And as for my free fall comment I think its only 1 win in 4 at the moment for them :confused: Could be wrong and if i am i apologise in advance. There appears to be major crack appearing and from reports they were held in the Changing rooms in Snugboro for over an hour after their latest league defeat. Every side will have small numbers from time to time and injuries so please dont use that same old excuse.
They'll win the super league this year. Every club has a bad patch.
I like to see Westport do well but am certainly not making excuses for them. Wasn't at the game so cant tell if they are having problems other than poor form.
Free fall is dropping down a few divisions in a few years, not losing 3 games in 4. You know any clubs who went into free fall??????? Stones in Glasshouses, you should know better :rolleyes:
GoodFootball
31/07/2009, 2:44 PM
Every club has injury problems!!
Who is there main striker that you are referring to Dessie?? Cause he was playing last night!!
Whose he? never heard of him :D
I assumed he was banned but as someone pointed out their bans aren't coming into place until the ML meet in August!
Were you at it 1924? Great win for Moy Villa...
Whose he? never heard of him :D
I assumed he was banned but as someone pointed out their bans aren't coming into place until the ML meet in August!
Were you at it 1924? Great win for Moy Villa...
I actually was!!! Westport had about 25 chances but Moy Villa just wanted it more.Westport are a very good team but there form has deserted them this last few weeks,It is not up to me to say what is wrong or right.saying that things are not good at the moment.Dessie and mr hoban served there bans against Erris last sunday pending any further punishment dished out by the mayo league when they meet up.
Were you there Goodfootball!!!! Id say so;)
murphs jewels
31/07/2009, 8:28 PM
They'll win the super league this year. Every club has a bad patch.
I like to see Westport do well but am certainly not making excuses for them. Wasn't at the game so cant tell if they are having problems other than poor form.
Free fall is dropping down a few divisions in a few years, not losing 3 games in 4. You know any clubs who went into free fall??????? Stones in Glasshouses, you should know better :rolleyes:
Didnt say anything bout them not winning the SL... And as for underhand comments reguarding Charlestown if you dont know history or facts on what happened better not talk about things you know nothing about.. Still I think we have played Fahy Rovers twice in the last 5 years in cup competitions and turned them over both times. Getting out of the lower divisions is getting tougher and tougher as the teams (in my view) in the premier, 1st and 2nd divisions have little or nothing between them.
achillrover
31/07/2009, 8:30 PM
seconded
GoodFootball
01/08/2009, 7:45 AM
Didnt say anything bout them not winning the SL... And as for underhand comments reguarding Charlestown if you dont know history or facts on what happened better not talk about things you know nothing about.. Still I think we have played Fahy Rovers twice in the last 5 years in cup competitions and turned them over both times. Getting out of the lower divisions is getting tougher and tougher as the teams (in my view) in the premier, 1st and 2nd divisions have little or nothing between them.
It's clear you were trying to jump on the bandwagan. Are Westport in free fall I believe you asked! From 1924 who said they had 25 chances Thursday night I would suggest it was one of those days.
Shocks happen in cup comps where the lower division teams are more up for it. As you said Charlestown beating fahy last year in the chadwicks ;)
We know how hard it is getting through the leagues, played in all four leagues in 7 years since fahy was refounded. All the best in getting promoted from div 2, with your catchment area we would all expect the likes of Charlestown, achill and balinrobe to be up challenging for SL status ;)
Whipitin
01/08/2009, 8:17 AM
Best of luck to the boro from the boys down under(",) Hope ye win it lads!!!!
murphs jewels
01/08/2009, 9:27 AM
It's clear you were trying to jump on the bandwagan. Are Westport in free fall I believe you asked! From 1924 who said they had 25 chances Thursday night I would suggest it was one of those days.
Shocks happen in cup comps where the lower division teams are more up for it. As you said Charlestown beating fahy last year in the chadwicks ;)
We know how hard it is getting through the leagues, played in all four leagues in 7 years since fahy was refounded. All the best in getting promoted from div 2, with your catchment area we would all expect the likes of Charlestown, achill and balinrobe to be up challenging for SL status
No band waggon jumper here im afraid, and yes I agree about 1 off cup games etc etc but im afraid you are mistaken if you think we have a large pool of players to pull from. On the Sligo and Roscommon borders with Swinford 5 miles up the road (with 2 teams), Urlaur United 7 miles away and Knock 8 miles away. A town where GAA takes precidence and not a single GAA player in the squad (as pointed out history and all that). Once again your facts letting you down:cool:.
Its hard starting from scratch again but we have hard working decent players and if they are giving 100 % then one can ask for no more. I would have to say that we were looking forward to a chance of meeting Westport and maybe thats why im so disapointed. But beleive me when I say that this current crop of players could mix it with the best in the county and nothing would please me more than seeing Charlestown Athletic return to its former glories........heres hopin :)
purplemonkeydis
01/08/2009, 11:01 AM
hey conn rangers are bringing back the glory days,super league here we come,although division 1 would be a good start:)by the way i notice snugboro havnt edited their website since the cup final last weekend,i wonder why???:)
FahyForever
01/08/2009, 1:24 PM
Anyone got any idea of the top scorers in the division? Is it available on the Snugboro website? Couldn't find it. Be interesting to have a look. Who would people bet on for the golden boot?
pixiehead
01/08/2009, 2:42 PM
no band waggon jumper here im afraid, and yes i agree about 1 off cup games etc etc but im afraid you are mistaken if you think we have a large pool of players to pull from. On the sligo and roscommon borders with swinford 5 miles up the road (with 2 teams), urlaur united 7 miles away and knock 8 miles away. A town where gaa takes precidence and not a single gaa player in the squad (as pointed out history and all that). Once again your facts letting you down:cool:.
Its hard starting from scratch again but we have hard working decent players and if they are giving 100 % then one can ask for no more. I would have to say that we were looking forward to a chance of meeting westport and maybe thats why im so disapointed. But beleive me when i say that this current crop of players could mix it with the best in the county and nothing would please me more than seeing charlestown athletic return to its former glories........heres hopin :)
lol :d
GoodFootball
01/08/2009, 2:56 PM
No band waggon jumper here im afraid, and yes I agree about 1 off cup games etc etc but im afraid you are mistaken if you think we have a large pool of players to pull from. On the Sligo and Roscommon borders with Swinford 5 miles up the road (with 2 teams), Urlaur United 7 miles away and Knock 8 miles away. A town where GAA takes precidence and not a single GAA player in the squad (as pointed out history and all that). Once again your facts letting you down:cool:.
Its hard starting from scratch again but we have hard working decent players and if they are giving 100 % then one can ask for no more. I would have to say that we were looking forward to a chance of meeting Westport and maybe thats why im so disapointed. But beleive me when I say that this current crop of players could mix it with the best in the county and nothing would please me more than seeing Charlestown Athletic return to its former glories........heres hopin :)
Why play for Swinford/Urlar/KK United if your from Charlestown? Not a valid excuse mate!! Charlestown has a population of 2500 or thereabouts in a 7 miles radius of the town.
Fahy has a population of under 1000 to choose from! We are in the super league. Westport (3 teams) 5 miles away, Snugboro (2 teams) 10 miles away, Glenhest 5 miles away, Glenisland 5 miles away, Celtic (4 teams) 10 miles away, Ballyheane (2 teams) 12 miles away.
What facts are letting me down? Your excuses are letting you down buddy ;)
01/08/2009, 8:09 PM
hey conn rangers are bringing back the glory days,super league here we come,although division 1 would be a good start:)by the way i notice snugboro havnt edited their website since the cup final last weekend,i wonder why???:):rolleyes:
Congratulations to Ballina Town on winning the Westaro Cup. Wasn't at it, what kind of game was it?
FahyForever
02/08/2009, 8:00 AM
Still I think we have played Fahy Rovers twice in the last 5 years in cup competitions and turned them over both times....
You seem to be quite partisan with your recollection of the clashes between us... I remember fondly scoring the 7th against ye a few years back... That one slip your mind????
paddyirishman
02/08/2009, 5:00 PM
Still I think we have played Fahy Rovers twice in the last 5 years in cup competitions and turned them over both times....
You seem to be quite partisan with your recollection of the clashes between us... I remember fondly scoring the 7th against ye a few years back... That one slip your mind????
u scored...when back in 1978 was it....>? self praise is no praise.....
FahyForever
02/08/2009, 5:27 PM
u scored...when back in 1978 was it....>? self praise is no praise.....
Wow... you're a really fun guy.