View Full Version : 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.
Pages :
[
1]
Candystripe
28/10/2008, 1:00 AM
So now as the final is between the Big club and us MInnows (as the big pub call us) who do you's think will won?
Who will you be shouting for?
Will you be going,if so with which set of fans will you stand with?
What do you think would be a decent attendance for the cup final?
With no free tickets for kids will the big club muster up 3,000 for the annual showpiece game?
Mr Maroon
28/10/2008, 1:05 AM
Best of luck to Derry. I'd like to go but not sure yet..
joey B
28/10/2008, 3:01 AM
Good luck to both sides,could'nt give a monkey's who wins just hope for a good spectacle . And one more thing to the fans of both clubs stop the sniping its getting embarassing :rolleyes:
Hibs4Ever
28/10/2008, 7:34 AM
Best of luck to Derry. Hope you win
28/10/2008, 7:49 AM
Good luck to both sides,could'nt give a monkey's who wins just hope for a good spectacle . And one more thing to the fans of both clubs stop the sniping its getting embarassing :rolleyes:
Agreed.
Also, please let the weather be less foul than the last two years.
Terry-Lander
28/10/2008, 9:26 AM
Derry fans were excellent in Terryland. Hope they win and hope to be there amongst ye!
WoodquayBoy
28/10/2008, 9:36 AM
Would prefer to see Derry win as they knocked us out, but seen as there is a Galway lad (Stephen O'Donnell) and former United player (Gary Deegan) with Bohs, I'll be shouting for the League champions.
Terry-Lander
28/10/2008, 9:39 AM
Would prefer to see Derry win as they knocked us out, but seen as there is a Galway lad (Stephen O'Donnell) and former United player (Gary Deegan) with Bohs, I'll be shouting for the League champions.
There is a former United 'manager' with Kildare but it doesn't mean I'll start shouting for them. :D
londonhoop
28/10/2008, 9:42 AM
Are tickets on sale yet?
If so where?
Burny89
28/10/2008, 10:10 AM
not yet, the FAI confirmed tickets will be able any date after the 22nd of November
eamo1
28/10/2008, 10:10 AM
In my opinion the 2 best footballing sides in the Country are playing in the final.Speaking to Derry fans after last Sunday's semi they arent confident of winning.Who can blame them though,Bohs are absolute class but i think Derry are about one of the only sides who can beat them.In saying that though-
Prediction:2-0 Bohs.
WoodquayBoy
28/10/2008, 11:00 AM
There is a former United 'manager' with Kildare but it doesn't mean I'll start shouting for them. :D
Good point!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
SunderlandBohs
28/10/2008, 11:54 AM
not yet, the FAI confirmed tickets will be able any date after the 22nd of November
:confused:I thought the final was on the 23 November?
listowelceltic
28/10/2008, 12:11 PM
Will be shouting for derry. Was in terryland last sunday as a neutral but was in the derry section. Amazing fans. Never stopped singing before during and after game. Very friendly also. Just hope its a good game though. Was at last years final and conditions were miserable. Hopefully the dubs come out for this one and fill the rds
28/10/2008, 12:14 PM
and fill the rdsthe RDS??
Disgraceful. :mad:
I'm sure dcfcsteve will have something to say about that. :D
28/10/2008, 12:40 PM
the RDS??
Sure - even the FAI wouldn't be stupid enough to play the Cup Final in the home ground of one of the finalists...
Shelsman
28/10/2008, 1:14 PM
I'll be up for Derry because I don't like Fenlon ( because of his attitude and approach to European games -i.e. inferiority complex and sure we won't win the cup anyway ). I'd also like to see a provincial club win it and Derry will draw a huge crowd and it will be a big thing for the city.
All said and done, if Bohs win the double it might shut Roddy Collins up. Every Sunday in the Star on Sunday he's always saying "when I won the double with Bohs we [did whatever]". He also tells everyone that the league hasn't progressed in the last 8 years -which is of course when he ( guess what ) -won the league with Bohs. This might finally shut the fool up. Don't be surprised though if he tries to water down Bohs double if they win it -sure it could never be as good as the double he won coz the opposition was way better when he was manager and he had a smaller budget etc etc etc.
28/10/2008, 1:25 PM
I'll be going to the match with thischarmingman so I suppose I better go for Derry.. As long as it's more competitive than the LC final I'll be happy! :ball:
I hope they both get 4 players sent off and the game is abandonned and they decide just to award the trophy to Galway to really annoy people/
Pack of sniping, whinging old women.
28/10/2008, 1:35 PM
Can I just inquire early as to how well lit the training pitch is?
28/10/2008, 1:36 PM
I hope they both get 4 players sent off and the game is abandonned and they decide just to award the trophy to Galway to really annoy people/
Pack of sniping, whinging old women.......you do realise there is a real world outside of the internet and that the drivel uttered by keyboard warriors may not fully represent the clubs they support?
I'd use as reference the hilarious boycott of this site by some of your fans for a perceived anti-cork bias.....
28/10/2008, 1:41 PM
It's shaping up to be a good one. Bohs have been outstanding this year but Derry have been the only side that have really put it up to them when they've met in games.
No matter how well Bohs have done this year, they've only taken two points from Derry and haven't scored against them.
......you do realise there is a real world outside of the internet and that the drivel uttered by keyboard warriors may not fully represent the clubs they support?
I'd use as reference the hilarious boycott of this site by some of your fans for a perceived anti-cork bias.....
No......really?
Is this supposed to make the 'keyboard warriors' less annoying or something? Given that Im not a Derry fan it would be quite tough Id imagine to know what fully represents the club, similarly with Bohs.
Therefore I'l judge on what is put in front of me by fans of those clubs online given that its online we'l have to read all this rubbish again once the final is over.....
No......really?
Is this supposed to make the 'keyboard warriors' less annoying or something? Given that Im not a Derry fan it would be quite tough Id imagine to know what fully represents the club, similarly with Bohs.
Therefore I'l judge on what is put in front of me by fans of those clubs online given that its online we'l have to read all this rubbish again once the final is over.....
Great post MICLS.
i hate to reply to this thread as i promised my self i wouldnt get involved in the baiting and obvious WUMming that the Derry fans are renowned for when it comes to Bohemians and Pat Fenlon. Please see the first post of this thread for a mild example.
The attitude of Derry fans this year to the supporters of a team that has traditionally taken Derry's side in a lot of matters over the years and supported them through tough times has led to them quickly becoming the most despised set of fans amongst Bohemians fans. Its a pity really.
They plague our site with ridiculous posters posting ridiculous wind ups. I am surprised that these people have so much time to spend posting rubbish on another clubs thread. Quite sad really.
This post has nothing to do with any insecurity over not having beaten Derry this year as i think this Bohemians team has nothing to prove to anyone. Fair play to Derry for their performances against us, truly. But they will have to try and put those performances in week in week out against every team if they are to have any hope of winning the league.
I hope for a good final also. I will be watching online from Canada and i am looking forward to great support from both sets of fans. I just wish that Derry would stop the bohs bashing at every opportunity as the two sets of fans used to have a great relationship and mutual respect.
MMVIII
28/10/2008, 2:04 PM
Would like to see Derry win it, although Bohs really have been a different class this year so chances of this happening are slim!
28/10/2008, 2:44 PM
Great post MICLS.
i hate to reply to this thread as i promised my self i wouldnt get involved in the baiting and obvious WUMming that the Derry fans are renowned for when it comes to Bohemians and Pat Fenlon. Please see the first post of this thread for a mild example.
The attitude of Derry fans this year to the supporters of a team that has traditionally taken Derry's side in a lot of matters over the years and supported them through tough times has led to them quickly becoming the most despised set of fans amongst Bohemians fans. Its a pity really.
They plague our site with ridiculous posters posting ridiculous wind ups. I am surprised that these people have so much time to spend posting rubbish on another clubs thread. Quite sad really.
This post has nothing to do with any insecurity over not having beaten Derry this year as i think this Bohemians team has nothing to prove to anyone. Fair play to Derry for their performances against us, truly. But they will have to try and put those performances in week in week out against every team if they are to have any hope of winning the league.
I hope for a good final also. I will be watching online from Canada and i am looking forward to great support from both sets of fans. I just wish that Derry would stop the bohs bashing at every opportunity as the two sets of fans used to have a great relationship and mutual respect.
http://www.frequencycomputers.co.uk/file/other18.gif
You forgot, "Won't somebody please think of the children?" :rolleyes:
Burny89
28/10/2008, 3:04 PM
:confused:I thought the final was on the 23 November? It is
http://www.frequencycomputers.co.uk/file/other18.gif
You forgot, "Won't somebody please think of the children?" :rolleyes:
very good, well articulated and witty comeback as usual. :rolleyes:
typical Derry response really and illustrates the sentiments behind my post. But yeah, you and your mates should keep logging in to our site and posting sh1t if it makes you feel good.
Are you lot not embarrassed by the way you are acting towards Bohs this season? Theres sour, theres bitter and then theres Derry.
I'd use as reference the hilarious boycott of this site by some of your fans for a perceived anti-cork bias.....I just thought they were all banned :confused:
We(Galway Utd) have a shiny new DVD coming out of our cup run so the final will be declared void and we will be presented with the trophy at half time in our last home game.;)
28/10/2008, 6:50 PM
So now as the final is between the Big club and us MInnows (as the big pub call us) who do you's think will won?
Who will you be shouting for? bohs
Will you be going,if so with which set of fans will you stand with? i have got my free ticket from attendin the fai fans forum.. not sure where i will be that day
What do you think would be a decent attendance for the cup final? any attendance than our cup final last year
With no free tickets for kids will the big club muster up 3,000 for the annual showpiece game? no problem there
28/10/2008, 9:00 PM
the RDS??
Unlucky razor - I'm delighted it's the RDS, for so many reasons.
At least there's still one important cup final doesn't have its venue magically picked at the 11th hour..... :D
28/10/2008, 9:10 PM
Three posters........
28/10/2008, 9:14 PM
Given that Im not a Derry fan it would be quite tough Id imagine to know what fully represents the club, similarly with Bohs.
Therefore I'l judge on what is put in front of me by fans of those clubs online given that its online we'l have to read all this rubbish again once the final is over......You don't go to games and talk to other fans then?
You must have a warped view of the world if you use internet fora as a proxy for reality.
brianw82
28/10/2008, 9:46 PM
......you do realise there is a real world outside of the internet and that the drivel uttered by keyboard warriors may not fully represent the clubs they support?
Actually, you'd be surprised at how well internet forums mirror real life opinions sometimes.
lofty9
28/10/2008, 10:15 PM
We seem to have the indian sign over them in the FAI Cup and an indian sign over Fenlon. If Bohs have a go at us, we will cause them all sorts of problems with pace on the counter attack. Farren has tormented Burns and McGuiness throughout their careers. Both players know it too. Hopefully this continues. Should be a good game, hopefully the weather is better than the previous years.
adamd164
28/10/2008, 10:18 PM
Should be a good game. Hope Bohs win it.
SwanVsDalton
28/10/2008, 10:44 PM
Great post MICLS.
Cripes.
I just wish that Derry would stop the bohs bashing at every opportunity.
Cripes x2
Are you lot not embarrassed by the way you are acting towards Bohs this season? Theres sour, theres bitter and then theres Derry.
Cripes almighty.
Good luck to both sides in the final - though obviously more luck to the City I hope. Should be a good game and a decent attendance. Wish I could make it over from London.
28/10/2008, 11:05 PM
Three posters........
it's more than three but, even if it wasnt, thats three too many people from Derry with nothing more productive to do than post wind-ups on a message board for Bohemians fans.
Cripes is right!
28/10/2008, 11:20 PM
In my opinion the 2 best footballing sides in the Country are playing in the final.:eek:, first time I've seen Bohs being described as 'best footballing side'. Not meaning to have a go at Bohs but the football they play isn't great, they did get the results though, which can't be argued with.
Hope Derry win.
SwanVsDalton
28/10/2008, 11:26 PM
it's more than three but, even if it wasnt, thats three too many people from Derry with nothing more productive to do than post wind-ups on a message board for Bohemians fans.
Cripes is right!
Like the four too many Bohs fans who had nothing more productive to do than tear up a Derry bar last year?
Stop dragging up irrelevancies to slander a whole group of fans.
Bohemian1890
28/10/2008, 11:32 PM
Like the four too many Bohs fans who had nothing more productive to do than tear up a Derry bar last year?
Stop dragging up irrelevancies to slander a whole group of fans.
And like the Derry fans singing sectarian slogans against Linfield??
Stop dragging up irrelevancies to slander a whole group of fans:rolleyes:
28/10/2008, 11:35 PM
cripes! x2
trying to reason with Derry fans is like trying to reason with rainman.
joey B
28/10/2008, 11:40 PM
Another thread descending in to utter tripe :mad:
GROW UP FFS!!!
SwanVsDalton
28/10/2008, 11:47 PM
And like the Derry fans singing sectarian slogans against Linfield??
Stop dragging up irrelevancies to slander a whole group of fans:rolleyes:
Swing and a miss.
Point of my post was to highlight the absurdity of thinking Bohs fans were bar-raiding thugs based on the actions of four people- rather like SkStu general thought's on Derry fans 'plague' like behaviour on the Bohs message board. Quite how that has led to supposed sectarian chanting at the Brandy is beyond me. Never mind eh. :o
shantykelly
28/10/2008, 11:49 PM
Great post MICLS.
We're not really renowned for baiting bohs fans. youse are the league champions, of course other fans are going to be jealous and take pot shots. its not personal, so dont take it as such. i would love to be in that position. as for fenlon? tried and failed at derry, for whatever reason. he's an ex-manager of ours, what do you want us to do, say well done pat, brilliant job, keep up the good work? would rovers fans say that to roddy? think not. and the initial post was a bit tongue in cheek, i thought, referring ot eh fact that bohs fans like to call us minnows and themselves the big club to try and get a rise. and it works with some derry fans, so job done. others see it as the banter it is, and take it in the spirit in which it is hopefully intended.
My attitude to bohs, as a derry fan, is well done on winning the league. the teamwork and consistency displayed throughout the season was immense, as was your final points tally. youse could only beat what was put in front of youse, and by and large thats what youse did. congratulations. (allow us minnows with our tin cup to take some pride out of the fact that the league champions didnt beat us in competition this season so far; its not like we have a league trophy to celebrate over). and as for all the animosity and hatred for all things derry down phibsboro way? dont know where that has come from tbh, always enjoyed the admittedly few trips i got to make to dalyer. if your attitude to an entire group of fans is spoiled by the actions of what, 3 or 4 wums on your website, then i would think that the problem isnt so much derry fans. (plus, try checking out their postings on our own mb, should maybe enlighten you a bit further.) Have to say that i dont know any derry fans that have any real animosity towards bohs, either the team or the club, not the way we did about shels. and that, to me, is something that has been missing this season from the league, real passion between clubs.
again, see above. and its hardly a plague. check out our own mb for their 'home' postings. and i actually agree.
agreed 100%
we arent bohs bashing at every opportunity. certain posters are adopting a shotgun approach to inter-club banter and rivalry, as opposed to the usual water pistol approach.
Roll on November 23rd.
SwanVsDalton
28/10/2008, 11:53 PM
cripes! x2
trying to reason with Derry fans is like trying to reason with rainman.
See the above post. And you continue to make sweeping generalisations...
Another thread descending in to utter tripe :mad:
GROW UP FFS!!!
Fair enough, I just don't like being shoved (with a few thousand others) into a decidedly unrepresentative pigeon hole just because three people made some remarks on some message board. Anyway I think the previous post makes my position reasonably clear.
Back on topic - some cup final was it?
shantykelly
28/10/2008, 11:53 PM
quick genuine question for bohs fans - will there be proper bohs merchandise on sale at the rds on the day of the final? want to get a proper bohs scarf for my collection, not one of those cup final tat ones.
28/10/2008, 11:56 PM
Roll on November 23rd.
fair play SK.
one thing i would like to clarify, is that the Derry fans who post on our message board are the ones that are hard for all the bohs fans to stomach. A lot of the bohs mb regulars who wouldnt be caught dead on this site have pointed out that derry fans, in person, are a sound sound bunch.
but i appreciate your response and maybe i did misinterpret the spirit of the initial poster (though im still not convinced...)
29/10/2008, 12:00 AM
See the above post. And you continue to make sweeping generalisations...
shantykellys post has validated your argument about my sweeping generalisations of Derry fans. He seems capable of addressing the merits and faults of a post. Your attempts at a discourse, consisting of "cripes" certainly did not. :rolleyes: