View Full Version : 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.
Pages :
[
2]
shantykelly
29/10/2008, 12:02 AM
how does the ticket allocation work out? is it 40/40/20 for derry/bohs/fai? would actually like to see a strong neutral contingent at this, hoping for a great game of football as i dont get to make too many away trips.
shantykelly
29/10/2008, 12:03 AM
shantykellys post has validated your argument about my sweeping generalisations of Derry fans. He seems capable of addressing the merits and faults of a post. Your attempts at a discourse, consisting of "cripes" certainly did not. :rolleyes:
lol :D ;)
SwanVsDalton
29/10/2008, 12:06 AM
fair play SK.
one thing i would like to clarify, is that the Derry fans who post on our message board are the ones that are hard for all the bohs fans to stomach. A lot of the bohs mb regulars who wouldnt be caught dead on this site have pointed out that derry fans, in person, are a sound sound bunch.
but i appreciate your response and maybe i did misinterpret the spirit of the initial poster (though im still not convinced...)
Possibly because I touched a sore nerve with the Bohs fans 'tear-up' bar reference? ;)
Seriously my only point was to show how absurd it was to generalise about football fans and how I resented it. Simple as.
quick genuine question for bohs fans - will there be proper bohs merchandise on sale at the rds on the day of the final? want to get a proper bohs scarf for my collection, not one of those cup final tat ones.
You need some to line the birdcage with or wha'?:p
SwanVsDalton
29/10/2008, 12:11 AM
shantykellys post has validated your argument about my sweeping generalisations of Derry fans. He seems capable of addressing the merits and faults of a post. Your attempts at a discourse, consisting of "cripes" certainly did not. :rolleyes:
Re: Mods - I really tried to resist, really, but I couldn't help it. If you must delete what I'm about to post or ban me or whatever then I'll take my punishment in good faith. But seriously...
CRIPES! :eek:
shantykelly
29/10/2008, 12:17 AM
You need some to line the birdcage with or wha'?:p
as it is virtually impossible for me to get time off work, i really appreciate away trips, and am slowly building up a collection of scarves from away grounds. yes, i know it aint dalyer, but ill get there yet.
29/10/2008, 1:03 AM
quick genuine question for bohs fans - will there be proper bohs merchandise on sale at the rds on the day of the final? want to get a proper bohs scarf for my collection, not one of those cup final tat ones.
SK - not sure on if we'll have anything outside the ground.
If you want to email the guys which deal with our merchandise - they should be able to sort you out: sarah@bohemians.ie should reach them fine.
Candystripe
29/10/2008, 2:01 AM
SK - not sure on if we'll have anything outside the ground.
If you want to email the guys which deal with our merchandise - they should be able to sort you out: sarah@bohemians.ie should reach them fine.
Although you might get the standard message back from them to a Derry fan.
Altogether now Bohs fans..........M****W ;)
But seriously,
Mods, I know this may be deleted but if you read the messages from Derry fans on there forum you may see that some genuine questions have been replied with derogatory comments time after time.One who is a member on the Derry forum has 39 posts in his 1st day and none had any proper purpose but to continually spout political remarks!
So hopefully the keyboard warriers will now desist and this thread can continue in a way to express views on the blue ribbon event and not be dragged down to gutter level!
29/10/2008, 9:34 AM
how does the ticket allocation work out? is it 40/40/20 for derry/bohs/fai? would actually like to see a strong neutral contingent at this, hoping for a great game of football as i dont get to make too many away trips.Is it likely to sell out? I'd say there'll be tickets available for anyone who wants them. It'd be smart to start selling them as soon as possible though in case the weather on the day puts people off like last year.
A lot of the bohs mb regulars who wouldnt be caught dead on this site
It's very hard to get caught dead on a forum.
Unless you post decomposing noises or something like that.
Great post MICLS.
i hate to reply to this thread as i promised my self i wouldnt get involved in the baiting and obvious WUMming that the Derry fans are renowned for when it comes to Bohemians and Pat Fenlon. Please see the first post of this thread for a mild example.
The attitude of Derry fans this year to the supporters of a team that has traditionally taken Derry's side in a lot of matters over the years and supported them through tough times has led to them quickly becoming the most despised set of fans amongst Bohemians fans. Its a pity really.
They plague our site with ridiculous posters posting ridiculous wind ups. I am surprised that these people have so much time to spend posting rubbish on another clubs thread. Quite sad really.
This post has nothing to do with any insecurity over not having beaten Derry this year as i think this Bohemians team has nothing to prove to anyone. Fair play to Derry for their performances against us, truly. But they will have to try and put those performances in week in week out against every team if they are to have any hope of winning the league.
I hope for a good final also. I will be watching online from Canada and i am looking forward to great support from both sets of fans. I just wish that Derry would stop the bohs bashing at every opportunity as the two sets of fans used to have a great relationship and mutual respect.
What a load of sanctimonious rubbish that is. No one wants to get involved in childish behaviour, but you want to jump on your high horse and get in your twopence worth. You're on about Derry people going on the Bohs site, have you read the Derry City site. There are Bohs supporters on the Derry City site and one poster posted 38 times yesterday, with a photo of the Championship trophy in most of them, and an another photo of a 'Tin Pot'. Sort out you own house first.
As we are talking here about MB's lets have a look at the Bohs site. Not once did any of them give Derry City any credit for hammering them 4-1 in the LC. They all took their lead from fenlon who after the game said they had bigger fish to fry.
They don't need anyone winding them up as they start most threads calling the opposition minnows, that's including the rubbish they heaped on Kildare when they played them.
The Bohs forum is also the only forum i now that from the off, they bring politics into the discussion. No matter what a Derry person says, they are hit with a load of political gibberish.
So like i said get off your high horse, stop trying to grab the high ground. Tell your mates for once in their life to show a bit of respect, and try to keep the politics out of it, as that is one way of showing you might have something positive to add to the discussion.
NavanBohs
29/10/2008, 10:12 AM
If not:
http://shop.bohemians.ie/index.php?cPath=23&osCsid=06dae16522a43759f9caf70c48abcf01
Can always order them online...? or if you can wait 'til your next trip to Dalyer our merch is sold in the portacabin beside the chipper by the end of the Jodi stand.
29/10/2008, 10:29 AM
:eek:, first time I've seen Bohs being described as 'best footballing side'. Not meaning to have a go at Bohs but the football they play isn't great, they did get the results though, which can't be argued with.
Hope Derry win.
Mainly because most people buy the Roddy Collins/Sean Connor propaganda on MNS. We play some great football. Look at the build up to goals two and three against Pats. Thats typical of the way we play. Good passing movements are the hallmark of this side. Some people seem to think that good football is only great individual efforts with players beating two and three of the opposition.
29/10/2008, 11:15 AM
Unlucky razor - I'm delighted it's the RDS, for so many reasons.I hope the weather isn't one of them. :D
bring your waterproofs
29/10/2008, 12:18 PM
You don't go to games and talk to other fans then?
You must have a warped view of the world if you use internet fora as a proxy for reality.
The 14 away fans who come to the cross? Not that often no.
I did speak to people up in Derry, they were sound.
You do realise though that I made my comments TO people on the internet ON the internet, right?
shantykelly
29/10/2008, 12:41 PM
cheers lads, appreciate the responses
What a load of sanctimonious rubbish that is. No one wants to get involved in childish behaviour, but you want to jump on your high horse and get in your twopence worth. You're on about Derry people going on the Bohs site, have you read the Derry City site. There are Bohs supporters on the Derry City site and one poster posted 38 times yesterday, with a photo of the Championship trophy in most of them, and an another photo of a 'Tin Pot'. Sort out you own house first.
As we are talking here about MB's lets have a look at the Bohs site. Not once did any of them give Derry City any credit for hammering them 4-1 in the LC. They all took their lead from fenlon who after the game said they had bigger fish to fry.
They don't need anyone winding them up as they start most threads calling the opposition minnows, that's including the rubbish they heaped on Kildare when they played them.
The Bohs forum is also the only forum i now that from the off, they bring politics into the discussion. No matter what a Derry person says, they are hit with a load of political gibberish.
So like i said get off your high horse, stop trying to grab the high ground. Tell your mates for once in their life to show a bit of respect, and try to keep the politics out of it, as that is one way of showing you might have something positive to add to the discussion.
i have nothing further to add to this "discussion". Its an exercise in futility. Good luck in the final.
Well as you started this, i guess you should finish it.
couldnt let it go, no?
All i will say is that the treatment of the poor Derry fans who post on our messageboard is a direct result of and in proportion to the idiocy of their posts. Instead of trying to engage them in some form of constructive argument which appears futile, the decision was taken to reply to the numerous posts from them by simply stating "minnows". It seems to wind you lot up as much as a section of your support loves to wind us up. Again, any "political" references come from posters who are tired of the rubbish spouted on the message board. Then there are those who have registered on your site recently, im sure they have the same reasons for doing this, not that i would agree with it. I have better things to do than register on opposition supporters message boards.
thebohs.com moderators could just ban those involved in this rubbish (like many other forums do) but they like to take a liberal approach to moderating which is their call. If opposition posters come on with genuine questions, as a few corkies and others do, they will be treated with respect.
marty88 and his buddies deserve the responses they are currently getting on the Bohs board, its that simple.
29/10/2008, 8:32 PM
Should be a good game and a decent attendance. Wish I could make it over from London.
Why can't you SvD ?
There's a good crowd of City fans heading over from London already (with the banner)
29/10/2008, 8:36 PM
I hope the weather isn't one of them. :D
bring your waterproofs
Do the two main stands have leaky roofs......? :confused:
Has a second stand been roofed?
What crowd is expected for this btw? Imagine derry will bring quite a big crowd. Given the teams involved would hopefully beat last years attendance anyway
fionnsci
29/10/2008, 9:23 PM
Grandstand (opposite old stand has been roofed). Last years final had about 10,000 at it - should be beaten anyway.
SwanVsDalton
29/10/2008, 10:44 PM
Why can't you SvD ?
There's a good crowd of City fans heading over from London already (with the banner)
I'm not totally ruling it out but it's looking unlikely. I'm doing an MA and it's flat out work round the cup final - if I can blow it off I will and I'll try and get on whatever trip yous are doing!
29/10/2008, 10:46 PM
I'm not totally ruling it out but it's looking unlikely. I'm doing an MA and it's flat out work round the cup final - if I can blow it off I will and I'll try and get on whatever trip yous are doing!
I'm doing an MA as well - with two deadlines the week following the Final....:D
Book them flights lad....
SwanVsDalton
29/10/2008, 10:53 PM
Fair play chief, I'm looking into it..might have to bribe a couple of tutors but I'll see!
Dalymountrower
30/10/2008, 6:54 AM
MA in Post Civil Conflict Dialects by any chance?
30/10/2008, 2:07 PM
MA in Post Civil Conflict Dialects by any chance?
"Book them flights lad" ?
Not unless there's been some unknown civil conflict in Yorkshire, me duck...
Candystripe
30/10/2008, 9:53 PM
Just been announced. Derry are officially the away team for the final so we will be wearing our away "Argentina" rig.
16,000 will be the capacity for the game. Both clubs will share each stand and each will be given an uncovered stand behind the goals each.
edit......Heard the tickets will be €20 stand adult €10 child/OAP
€15 for uncovered.
fionnsci
30/10/2008, 10:09 PM
Will neutrals be able to get tickets at the gate? Any chance of it selling out?
30/10/2008, 10:54 PM
Will neutrals be able to get tickets at the gate? Any chance of it selling out?
I don't think it'll sell out, but will hopefully come close if enough neutrals turn-out.
The weather will play a big part in it.
Wil be interesting to see how many fans Bohs have there.
30/10/2008, 10:57 PM
Wil be interesting to see how many fans Bohs have there.
Why is that?
30/10/2008, 11:24 PM
Why is that?Because you're playing at a venue not too far away so should out-number Derry fans handy enough.
Candystripe
31/10/2008, 1:57 AM
Because you're playing at a venue not too far away so should out-number Derry fans handy enough.
LMAO
It would be great to be fair if the Big club could even get within a thousand or two of our support for the final. Then hopefully we could fill the place between us and would be a great advertisment for the league.
Still don't forsee anyone having a problem getting a ticket for this.Our board was told "as many tickets as you's want"!
If the weather is okay I can see the local LOI fans turning up as it does look like being a good tie.
Dalymountrower
31/10/2008, 7:55 AM
LMAO
It would be great to be fair if the Big club could even get within a thousand or two of our support for the final. Then hopefully we could fill the place between us and would be a great advertisment for the league.
Still don't forsee anyone having a problem getting a ticket for this.Our board was told "as many tickets as you's want"!
If the weather is okay I can see the local LOI fans turning up as it does look like being a good tie.
The last time Bohs played in a cup final in Dublin 4 (1992) the crowd was over 17,000.
Krstic
31/10/2008, 7:58 AM
The last time Bohs played in a cup final in Dublin 4 (1992) the crowd was over 17,000.
Who were you playing?
31/10/2008, 8:37 AM
Who were you playing?
Bohs beat Cork City 1-0
Think Dave Tilson got the goal
Krstic
31/10/2008, 9:24 AM
Bohs beat Cork City 1-0
Think Dave Tilson got the goal
Therefore, it would be safe to say that a sizeable portion of that crowd would have been from Cork.
Dalymountrower
31/10/2008, 9:43 AM
Therefore, it would be safe to say that a sizeable portion of that crowd would have been from Cork.
Newspapers at the time reported that Bohs had between 5-6,000 at the game , Cork had about 9-10,000 with the rest made up of neutrals and Rovers fans cheering for Cork on what I remember as a blustery May day. Dont think either Bohs or Derry will attract that many at the tail end of November.
couldnt let it go, no?
All i will say is that the treatment of the poor Derry fans who post on our messageboard is a direct result of and in proportion to the idiocy of their posts. Instead of trying to engage them in some form of constructive argument which appears futile, the decision was taken to reply to the numerous posts from them by simply stating "minnows". It seems to wind you lot up as much as a section of your support loves to wind us up. Again, any "political" references come from posters who are tired of the rubbish spouted on the message board. Then there are those who have registered on your site recently, im sure they have the same reasons for doing this, not that i would agree with it. I have better things to do than register on opposition supporters message boards.
thebohs.com moderators could just ban those involved in this rubbish (like many other forums do) but they like to take a liberal approach to moderating which is their call. If opposition posters come on with genuine questions, as a few corkies and others do, they will be treated with respect.
marty88 and his buddies deserve the responses they are currently getting on the Bohs board, its that simple.
SkStu, i have no desire at all to prolong this tit for tat post, but i can't let you away with coming on here and blaming all the abuse on your forum on Derry City supporters. I have looked long and hard at your forum, and i can't find any posts from 'Marty' who you keep on about. I have seen a few posts from 'Brandywellpride' and 'football club'. They asked a simple question on cup final tickets and got nothing but abuse in return. Have a look and see how many posters came out with 'minnows', rather than answer what was being a genuine question. if you take a good look on your own forum, you will see that any posts relating to the final start off with an attack on Derry City supporters. Here have a look. Then you can apologise.
http://www.thebohs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8895&sid=78307ba84b064daa03704f13354478e8
31/10/2008, 10:20 AM
SkStu, i have no desire at all to prolong this tit for tat post, but i can't let you away with coming on here and blaming all the abuse on your forum on Derry City supporters. I have looked long and hard at your forum, and i can't find any posts from 'Marty' who you keep on about. I have seen a few posts from 'Brandywellpride' and 'football club'. They asked a simple question on cup final tickets and got nothing but abuse in return. Have a look and see how many posters came out with 'minnows', rather than answer what was being a genuine question. if you take a good look on your own forum, you will see that any posts relating to the final start off with an attack on Derry City supporters. Here have a look. Then you can apologise.
http://www.thebohs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8895&sid=78307ba84b064daa03704f13354478e8
http://www.thebohs.com/forum/search.php?search_author=marty88
Fill yer boots
Derry
31/10/2008, 10:44 AM
http://www.thebohs.com/forum/search.php?search_author=marty88
Fill yer boots
Thanks for backing me up. 'Marty'. has had one post on the Bohs forum since the semi final. He has 4 for the month of October. His last post was to praise Heary, and the one before that was to congratulate Bohs on winning the league, and the other two were not derogatory in any way. This all just shows that SKStu is well to the front when it comes to being a WUM.
Great post MICLS.
They plague our site with ridiculous posters posting ridiculous wind ups. I am surprised that these people have so much time to spend posting rubbish on another clubs thread. Quite sad really.
Ps SKStu you have made as many posts on here in the last couple of days as 'Marty' has on the Bohs forum for the last Month. The difference being your posts were derogatory.
31/10/2008, 10:50 AM
Conveniently ignoring the posts he made before then - as they don't fit in with your agenda
well played, well played
31/10/2008, 12:03 PM
Newspapers at the time reported that Bohs had between 5-6,000 at the game , Cork had about 9-10,000 with the rest made up of neutrals and Rovers fans cheering for Cork on what I remember as a blustery May day. Dont think either Bohs or Derry will attract that many at the tail end of November.There was about 10/12,000 City fans there that day, got absolutely soaked.
Awful day, Awful game , awful performace, I do recall that the Bohs support was made up of a lot of kids that day, such was the high pitch squealing that went on when Tilson scored.
Conveniently ignoring the posts he made before then - as they don't fit in with your agenda
well played, well played
Agenda, i have only been replying to an other's apparent agenda. I haven't the time or the inclination to go through all of 'Marty's' posts, but i have gone back through the 1st page right up to August. and Marty hasn't been abusive in any of his posts. However he has been on the receiving end of a multitude of crude and abusive comments. Just have a wee read yourself.
Thanks for backing me up. 'Marty'. has had one post on the Bohs forum since the semi final. He has 4 for the month of October. His last post was to praise Heary, and the one before that was to congratulate Bohs on winning the league, and the other two were not derogatory in any way. This all just shows that SKStu is well to the front when it comes to being a WUM.
Ps SKStu you have made as many posts on here in the last couple of days as 'Marty' has on the Bohs forum for the last Month. The difference being your posts were derogatory.
derogatory?! Come of it Derry, are you that sensitive?? i can get derogatory if you want you starry mutha!er...
Marty and the bohs mb have a torrid history and id suggest YOU read that and then apologise to ME. Not that i care either way whether you do or not.
And in fairness, I think anyone reading the thread will see that it is the Derry fans and the constant jibes, attempted "point scoring" and petty remarks that are the real WUMs in all this. Im simply trying to not let you m*nno#s have it all your own way. And whether i succeed in that or not doesnt bother me cos i am having a bit of craic doing it.
LoI supporters fans comparing gates or support base is as useless an exercise as can be. All support bases in this league are pathetic. Its a redundant argument. Our support was less pitiful than yours !
I couldnt care less if I was the only one supporting my side at a cup final - especially if we won. Looking back at cup matches I dont really remember if we out numbered the opposition or not, what I remmber is that back pass, that missed tackle, that referee's decision or that cracking goal.
If you are lucky enough to have scored more goals than the other team at full time I can guarentee you that how many you had there versus how many they had, doesnt come into it. You just savour the moment.
And conversely I cant cling to the crumb that we outnumbered the opposition 2 to 1 in a situation where we have just lost a cup final. It really doesnt matter. It doesnt numb the pain.
31/10/2008, 3:20 PM
LoI supporters fans comparing gates or support base is as useless an exercise as can be. All support bases in this league are pathetic. Its a redundant argument. Our support was less pitiful than yours !
I couldnt care less if I was the only one supporting my side at a cup final - especially if we won. Looking back at cup matches I dont really remember if we out numbered the opposition or not, what I remmber is that back pass, that missed tackle, that referee's decision or that cracking goal.
If you are lucky enough to have scored more goals than the other team at full time I can guarentee you that how many you had there versus how many they had, doesnt come into it. You just savour the moment.
And conversely I cant cling to the crumb that we outnumbered the opposition 2 to 1 in a situation where we have just lost a cup final. It really doesnt matter. It doesnt numb the pain.
Spot on.
The more Derry fans and assorted Bohs-hating rabble are there to see the Champions of Ireland win the double, the better.
That's what it's all about, not this incessant and pathetic bleating about crowd differentials that would be eye-wateringly funny if it wasn't such a sad indicator of the state of the game.
31/10/2008, 3:40 PM
derogatory?! Come of it Derry, are you that sensitive?? i can get derogatory if you want you starry mutha!er...
Marty and the bohs mb have a torrid history and id suggest YOU read that and then apologise to ME. Not that i care either way whether you do or not.
And in fairness, I think anyone reading the thread will see that it is the Derry fans and the constant jibes, attempted "point scoring" and petty remarks that are the real WUMs in all this. Im simply trying to not let you m*nno#s have it all your own way. And whether i succeed in that or not doesnt bother me cos i am having a bit of craic doing it.
Back to your snow hole.....
better than your sh1thole. :)
Jersey Cow
31/10/2008, 4:03 PM
Bohs havw had thw worst attendances all season for a team that win the League...a sad reflection on LOI??...a sad reflection on the club not to promote games??)no kids go free at the title presentation against Derry), or a sad reflection on the type of football that is being played by overpaid players??...................