View Full Version : 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.
Pages :
[
3]
Candystripe
31/10/2008, 4:14 PM
Bohs havw had thw worst attendances all season for a team that win the League...a sad reflection on LOI??...a sad reflection on the club not to promote games??)no kids go free at the title presentation against Derry), or a sad reflection on the type of football that is being played by overpaid players??...................
Probably the latter from all the games they played by them against us anyway.
Update on ticket prices.
From Derry city chairman.
The FAI have asked us to encourage the 'singing' sections from each club to go behind the nets - prices behind the nets will be 15 Euro for Adults and 5 Euro for a child and its open seating with no specific seat numbers etc...
The 2 stands will be 25 Euro for adults and 10 Euro for kids with specific seat numbers[/quote]
31/10/2008, 4:20 PM
better than your sh1thole. :)
I wouldn't be that harsh on Dublin.
Anyway, its the weekend, I'm sure you've got seals to club or whatever it is you do over there.
im on bear-watch this weekend. Seal clubbing last weekend. Got me a big un.
31/10/2008, 6:12 PM
The FAI have asked us to encourage the 'singing' sections from each club to go behind the nets -
Another genius stroke by the FAI - encourage the most vocal, atmosphere-creating fans to go into the parts of the stadium with no roof (so sound dissipates upwards) and where if the weather is bad (high chance) the atmosphere will be literally dampened.
Honestly - do the FAI make decisions like this to be deliberately stupid, or is it just a subconscious skill by now....?
Candystripe
31/10/2008, 6:46 PM
Another genius stroke by the FAI - encourage the most vocal, atmosphere-creating fans to go into the parts of the stadium with no roof (so sound dissipates upwards) and where if the weather is bad (high chance) the atmosphere will be literally dampened.
Honestly - do the FAI make decisions like this to be deliberately stupid, or is it just a subconscious skill by now....?
Agreed, I still think the singing sections from both sets of fans should ignore them and go into the Anglesea stand.
31/10/2008, 7:03 PM
Hopefully,
Ridiculous advice from the FAI. Hopefully both sets of fans will ignore completely.
brianw82
31/10/2008, 7:25 PM
I don't think they thought about the weather when making that suggestion. More likely they just wanted it to look good on telly.
31/10/2008, 9:53 PM
Bohs havw had thw worst attendances all season for a team that win the League...a sad reflection on LOI??...a sad reflection on the club not to promote games??)no kids go free at the title presentation against Derry), or a sad reflection on the type of football that is being played by overpaid players??...................
The Kids Go Free promotion was in place for the Presentation game - and is in for the last game of the season
http://www.bohemians.ie/index.php/club-news/kids-go-free-for-remaining-home-fixtures.htm
Who ever made that decision at the FAI should resign now they are a bunch of muppets who only care about themselves, Roy Keane was right years ago before the world cup about the idiots who run our game
01/11/2008, 10:34 AM
Who ever made that decision at the FAI should resign now they are a bunch of muppets who only care about themselves, Roy Keane was right years ago before the world cup about the idiots who run our gameBit over the top, no?
Dalymountrower
01/11/2008, 11:09 AM
Incomprehensible post, are you referring to the UCD game? About 200 Bohs fans there from what I could guesstimate and less than a hundred not applauding when Bohs scored, dreadful crowd , dreadful night. Are you referring to the Derry game ? Looked about 2,800 -3,000 to me with about max 50 Derry fans there and usual compliment of faux Lambeg Drums and Pat the Rat banners. Are you talking about a season average? Circa 2,000 which is pathetically 3rd highest in the league,.....What relevance does your post , as far as I can understand it,have for a cup final thread???
Derry
01/11/2008, 11:28 AM
Incomprehensible post, are you referring to the UCD game? About 200 Bohs fans there from what I could guesstimate and less than a hundred not applauding when Bohs scored, dreadful crowd , dreadful night. Are you referring to the Derry game ? Looked about 2,800 -3,000 to me with about max 50 Derry fans there and usual compliment of faux Lambeg Drums and Pat the Rat banners. Are you talking about a season average? Circa 2,000 which is pathetically 3rd highest in the league,.....What relevance does your post , as far as I can understand it,have for a cup final thread???
I don't know how many was at that game but the stand was about 2/3 full. So how many does it hold? Of these there had to be close to 1000 kids. There were very few in the rest of the ground.
viagogo
02/11/2008, 3:11 PM
Got letter from FAI offering me Grandstand seats. Does anyone know if this is the covered stand. Got tickets off the FAI last year and they were at the other side.
03/11/2008, 8:33 AM
Got letter from FAI offering me Grandstand seats. Does anyone know if this is the covered stand. Got tickets off the FAI last year and they were at the other side.
Both sides are covered.
Grandstand is the new stand.
03/11/2008, 9:21 AM
Derry have asked for an initial allocation of 7,000 tickets.
Also - the referee for the Final has been appointed - it's Anthony Buttimer
Candystripe
03/11/2008, 6:34 PM
Don't think Buttimer will make much difference as they're all crap.
I think we should sell out those 7,000 quick enough.If the Derry public were told thats all we were getting they would sell out within a week though :D
Do anyone know how many Bohs have asked for yet?
03/11/2008, 7:10 PM
not yet confirmed - should know in next day or two.
I'm actually glad it's Buttimer - he's not that bad and certainly an entertaining man-manager
03/11/2008, 8:03 PM
LMAO
It would be great to be fair if the Big club could even get within a thousand or two of our support for the final.
Its an awful pity you don't win trophies for the amount of glory-hunting day trippers you can get to go for a big day out in Dublin. Where were they all for the semi-final?
03/11/2008, 8:03 PM
I think we should sell out those 7,000 quick enough.If the Derry public were told thats all we were getting they would sell out within a week though :D
In fairness, Derry people will leave everything to the last minute regardless if there's 7 or 7000 tickets.
03/11/2008, 8:11 PM
Its an awful pity you don't win trophies for the amount of glory-hunting day trippers you can get to go for a big day out in Dublin. Where were they all for the semi-final?
LMFAO ! Bohs pick-up a bit of silverware once every five years if they're lucky, and they suddenly think they're Real Madrid...! :o
Don't worry - it'll be back to your usual trophyless ways again next season fella.... :cool:
And a Bohs' fan trying to criticise City over support ? For everything else in life there's Mastercard...
03/11/2008, 8:18 PM
Bohemians trophies in the 3 main domestic competitions since we joined the league in 1985...3 league titles and 2 FAI Cups.
Derry City trophies in the 3 main domestic competitions since were joined the league in 1985...2 league titles, 4 FAI Cups, 9 League Cups.
Minnows.
03/11/2008, 9:54 PM
Bohemians trophies in the 3 main domestic competitions since we joined the league in 1985...3 league titles and 2 FAI Cups.
Derry City trophies in the 3 main domestic competitions since were joined the league in 1985...2 league titles, 4 FAI Cups, 9 League Cups.
Minnows.
Three league titles this decade!
Last time you won the league?
LMFAO ! Bohs pick-up a bit of silverware once every five years if they're lucky, and they suddenly think they're Real Madrid...! :o
As I said, three league titles this decade. Only Shels have a better record in that respect. Tin pots don't count as silverware btw.
And a Bohs' fan trying to criticise City over support ? For everything else in life there's Mastercard...
Not criticising you over support, criticising your blow-hard attitude to the fact you'll get a load of people wearing GAA style headbands who only go to big games, out waving flags for you at the cup final.
Candystripe
03/11/2008, 10:21 PM
Three league titles this decade!
Last time you won the league?
As I said, three league titles this decade. Only Shels have a better record in that respect. Tin pots don't count as silverware btw.
Not criticising you over support, criticising your blow-hard attitude to the fact you'll get a load of people wearing GAA style headbands who only go to big games, out waving flags for you at the cup final.
So, if you's had won the LC last season it wouldn't count as silverware :confused:
The people we'll bring to the F.A.I. cup final will actually pay to get in and not be given free tickets like the big club had to so it might look better on MNS when you's won your 5th trophy in 20 odd years :D
03/11/2008, 10:30 PM
The people we'll bring to the F.A.I. cup final will actually pay to get in and not be given free tickets like the big club had to so it might look better on MNS when you's won your 5th trophy in 20 odd years :D
The kids go free is in place at most games and it only applies to the Shed end (Des Kelly Stand). Its not promoted properly so, at the game you refer to where we won our fourth trophy in seven years (and thats trophies that other clubs actually try to win) there was 100 or so there on that.
03/11/2008, 10:48 PM
we won our fourth trophy in seven years (and thats trophies that other clubs actually try to win)
So Bohs subsidised buses to a final for a trophy you didn't want to win.......
That is just financial madness. Oh wait, it's Bohs;)
I'll have whatever the Rhyll directors are having.....:D
Candystripe
03/11/2008, 11:26 PM
Its not promoted properly so, at the game you refer to where we won our fourth trophy in seven years (and thats trophies that other clubs actually try to win) there was 100 or so there on that.
Does the Leinster Cup and President's Cup count as silverware as your website proudly boasts?
So well done on winning your 5th trophy in 29 years. If you's beat us you's will have drawn level on what you call major trophies.
BTW if you's are running subsidised buses to this years final again maybe you could pick me up in O' Connell St about 1pm.
04/11/2008, 6:35 PM
BTW if you's are running subsidised buses to this years final again maybe you could pick me up in O' Connell St about 1pm.
Why don't you pop up to the Marquee in Dalyer. Buy a weekend entertainment ticket (price tbc) and you get transport to the RDS thrown in.
On counting the Presidents Cup and the Leinster Senior cup, of course they are going to be on your honours roll but they aren't something we boast about. As for caring about the LC last year, of course once we got to the final we wanted to win but up until that most of us couldn't have cared less. We played a virtual reserve side against you this year ffs!
Candystripe
07/11/2008, 12:16 AM
Why don't you pop up to the Marquee in Dalyer. Buy a weekend entertainment ticket (price tbc) and you get transport to the RDS thrown in.
!
Don't think I'll bother. You's will all be getting your excuse's in early now with Mc Guinness being suspended for the final apparently :D
"Aye but we didn't have Mc Guinness on" I can hear it already :p
07/11/2008, 8:26 AM
Sweet Jaysus - Bohs even need to provide transport across Dublin now to get any sort of support !!:eek:
The club must be down as 'registered carers' for a large number of your fans, the way they have to hold your hands to get yous anywhere..... :o
Candystripe
07/11/2008, 3:00 PM
So with the s***e hitting the fan today who will now be paying for the subsidised buses?
Will Bohs still be about to play the final?
garyderry
07/11/2008, 3:17 PM
Sweet Jaysus - Bohs even need to provide transport across Dublin now to get any sort of support !!:eek:
The club must be down as 'registered carers' for a large number of your fans, the way they have to hold your hands to get yous anywhere..... :o
could hardly believe it myself when i read it Steve,
For feck sake its WALKING distance
Candystripe
07/11/2008, 7:44 PM
i will be going,supporting Derry:D
How many Derry fans will be making the journey?
In 2006 it was 12,000 apparently!
Imo the RDs is a good ground to have the final,Croke park would be too big and it has to be in Dublin so
Probably nearer the 10,000 mark for this one as Bohs wouldn't play as atractive football as Pats did then.
I have a feeling there may be more nuetrals at the game this year though!
[quote=Candystripe;1054671]Probably nearer the 10,000 mark for this one as Bohs wouldn't play as atractive football as Pats did then.
I think you may be way off the mark their candystripe with your 10k fans. I think 5 6k will make the journey down if that. I would be questioning those fans who go down and who dont go to the brandywell every friday nite were are they then to supoort the club. They should be giving the money at home to the club instead of just going to the final
07/11/2008, 11:27 PM
I would be questioning those fans who go down and who dont go to the brandywell every friday nite were are they then to supoort the club. They should be giving the money at home to the club instead of just going to the final
Cup Final attracting a bigger crowd than every day ordinary games shocker !
Have you just started following football or something Flexy ?
Haven't you heard of 'human nature' either....?
07/11/2008, 11:29 PM
Probably nearer the 10,000 mark for this one as Bohs wouldn't play as atractive football as Pats did then.
I have a feeling there may be more nuetrals at the game this year though!
Personally I think the upper-end of our expectations would be for 7,000 City fans.
Agree on the neutrals though. It's a much more interesting draw this year. If the weather holds out there should be a good 1,000 or more of them there.
I expect 5-6,000 from Bohs, and a total crowd of up to 15,000.
The kids go free is in place at most games and it only applies to the Shed end (Des Kelly Stand). Its not promoted properly so, at the game you refer to where we won our fourth trophy in seven years (and thats trophies that other clubs actually try to win) there was 100 or so there on that.
Are you for real. There had to be over 1000 kids there that night. They were queued up outside the ground with their teachers, and they were all in the main stand.
On counting the Presidents Cup and the Leinster Senior cup, of course they are going to be on your honours roll but they aren't something we boast about. As for caring about the LC last year, of course once we got to the final we wanted to win but up until that most of us couldn't have cared less. We played a virtual reserve side against you this year ffs!
No you didn't. That was just being used as an excuse for the hammering you got. You never could take your oil.
CharlesThompson
09/11/2008, 12:15 PM
No you didn't. That was just being used as an excuse for the hammering you got. You never could take your oil.
Sweet Mother of Jesus, what is it with you lot. So what? You beat us in a league cup match! Whoop de doooooo! Get over it ffs.
09/11/2008, 3:09 PM
Sweet Mother of Jesus, what is it with you lot. So what? You beat us in a league cup match! Whoop de doooooo! Get over it ffs.
I'm not sure what you think 'getting over a victory' actually entails ?! :confused:
Sems it's the Bohs fans who just can't come to terms with their League Cup final defeat - one year on.... :eek:
bohs til i die
09/11/2008, 4:17 PM
I'm not sure what you think 'getting over a victory' actually entails ?! :confused:
Sems it's the Bohs fans who just can't come to terms with their League Cup final defeat - one year on.... :eek:
Damn right we are. Big Clubs shouldnt lose finals to minnows :)
09/11/2008, 4:49 PM
Big Clubs shouldnt lose finals to minnows :)
Indeed.
We didn't....
Founders
09/11/2008, 4:55 PM
Thats what Derry do.When Shels were the top team in the country,Some Derry fans use to always moan on shels web about something or anything:rolleyes:.
Have you just started following football or something Flexy ?
Been with the club since 1985 steve but wot infuriates me we get 10k going to a final yet still we only manage 3k at home games. I know not everyone can get to every home game but not 7k of a difference. these other 7k should put their money into their local club week in week out
CharlesThompson
09/11/2008, 5:19 PM
I couldn't give a sh!t€ that you beat us in a league cup match now. It's over ffs. I stand by my point that you should 'get over it ffs' because you lot never let it go. It's brought up time and time again and I along with most other Bohs supporters couldn't give a toss about you beating us 4-1 in a LC match this year. We won the fookin' league for Christ's sake. Have your league cup, well done! Just stop bringing your win against us up at EVERY OPPORTUNITY.
-----------------------------------------------------------
In relation to the amount of 'extra' fans Derry might bring with them to the RDS. So what. Every team that goes to the FAI CUp Final brings more supporters with them then their average gate. If Derry have more latent support, or hangers on than anybody else then fair play to them. We'd all love to bring a huge support to any game. But at the end of the day, it's who turns up every week to watch a their team play that's important and NO team in this league can lord it over any other because even if somebody is averaging 3,000 a week, it's still crap.
Reading some posters on here is like listening to them argue that their form of leukemia is better than everyone elses!
Trainee
10/11/2008, 2:01 AM
I hope this game is a sell out and a great game to watch so the league can get some positive media coverage afterwards
Best of Luck to both teams
Who bloody cares who will bring more.
Who bloody cares who won what this season - doesnt matter a toss to the game ahead.
Who bloody cares who was big in the 80's (werent Duran Duran big back then too?)
What counts is who will win the game in a couple of weeks time.
Any chance of a bit of informed opinion about that anytime soon?
FFS, argueing over support in this league is just pathetic !!!
Kildare Lad
11/11/2008, 1:05 PM
Whats the story with tickets? Where would I get them?
BrayUnknowns
11/11/2008, 1:13 PM
In relation to the amount of 'extra' fans Derry might bring with them to the RDS. So what. Every team that goes to the FAI CUp Final brings more supporters with them then their average gate.
Spot on. Our first cup final in 1990 was in Lansdown Road and i would say out of the 25,000 at the game, at least 16-18,000 of them were Bray "fans". We brought about 5,000 in 1990 to Tolka. Our average gate at present would be well below 1,000. Cup finals always bring the fairweather supporters out for the big day.
11/11/2008, 3:12 PM
Whats the story with tickets? Where would I get them?
You can get them from either club or via Ticketmaster:
http://www.ticketmaster.ie/artist/975287?tm_link=tm_sports_f7
11/11/2008, 3:14 PM
Spot on. Our first cup final in 1990 was in Lansdown Road and i would say out of the 25,000 at the game, at least 16-18,000 of them were Bray "fans". We brought about 5,000 in 1990 to Tolka. Our average gate at present would be well below 1,000. Cup finals always bring the fairweather supporters out for the big day.
We also brought a 1,000 to a cup semi up in Drogs in 2005.
11/11/2008, 3:58 PM
Worst thread ever.
FACT.