View Full Version : 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10

Cormac
24/11/2008, 11:05 AM
I agree with poster above, Great Match, Gutted with the result, The ref had a shocker, But we should be used to that by now in ireland..

Fair play to Bohs, yous have had a great season, Murphy is top class! Why wasnt kalonas on from the start, he's a top player and caused us problems from the moment he came on!!

Can Bohs repeat this feat next year?? Not if Derry have anything to do with it :-)

Candystripe
24/11/2008, 11:16 AM
Just saw this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Whooooooooo!

This is taken for the FAI's own site.

Derry will, with justification, point to the referee’s decisions that, on the one hand, denied them a penalty claim in the opening minutes and, in the second half, ruled against them in awarding a penalty that produced a vital goal for Bohs.

The early denial occurred in the fourth minute when Sammy Morrow was tumbled between Ken Oman and Owen Heary in the penalty area. Viewed on TV replay, Derry looked to have a good case.

The penalty decision in the 70th minute for Bohs was extraordinary. Sammy Morrow was deep within his own penalty area when he ducked his head to deflect a left-wing corner downwards on to the turf and when the ball rebounded to strike his hand the referee penalised him.

There was clearly no advantage to Derry in the incident and even less evidence, it that were possible, that there was any element of deliberate handball on Morrow’s part. But it was a penalty and Jason Byrne did what good professionals should, he hammered the penalty home.

Full Match report here
http://fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=38

Here is what RTE wrote.

RTE's rating of the referee:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/1124/player_rating_eircomleague.html

Referee Anthony Buttimer deserves his own individual rating after getting several key decisions wrong on an afternoon when his consistency was always going to be a telling factor in the outcome of the game. Pat Fenlon is sure to be grateful after he waved away early Derry penalty appeals and then awarded Bohs a contentious penalty for Morrow's not overly deliberate 'handball'. However, he also ensured Fenlon wore an orange bib for the duration of the match (to the amusement of the Derry fans!) after his assistant Eddie Foley ruled against the black tracksuit top he had worn without question all season. There was also a blatant corner won by McGinn in the first half ruled as a Bohs goal-kick. These are a few glaring lowlights off the top of my head after a long day, but you get the picture. Nothing short of the proverbial stinker!

2/10

Candystripe
24/11/2008, 11:32 AM

24/11/2008, 11:36 AM
The keeper being off his line you mean? That hardly ever gets called, unfortunately. I doubt Doherty was any better.

LOL at having to uncensor the file name. :D

irishultra
24/11/2008, 11:44 AM
first time posting since first half yesterday. dont know what people were thinking, the first half had nothing, just looked awful but OMG then the game came into life.

niall mcginn what a little player he is for LOI standards anyway. great balance, decent intelligence, only thing he lacks is a finish.

murphy what a keeper, his save was amazing and showed the type of keeper he is.

Kalonas changed the game, quality player. I wish bohs could keep him for the champions league next season.

Jersey Cow
24/11/2008, 11:54 AM
Derry certainly were the team that tried to get it down and pass it about...thought the crowd was 50/50 even though Bohs fans seemed to be totally outnumbered around Ballsbridge..where are all these people all season though???.........what I find strange is Fenlon spouting about Murphy for Ireland....he didn't fancy him when he had him at Shels afew seasons back on trial and had Williams/Delaney instead :confused::confused::ball:

24/11/2008, 12:11 PM
Great contest. Great atmosphere. Both sides and both sets of fans a credit to the game.

Pity about the unsporting whining led by Kenny and the blatant RTE bias and incompetence, but at Bohs we've become used to that.

What do you expect Kenny to say? He has just lost a Cup final on penos, after an incident packed game with several contentious decisions(which many neutrals on here have mentioned).

"Yeah well, there's always next year"?

Quotes such as "On the day we performed absolutely brilliantly in difficult conditions, but we have come out the wrong side of it. It is hard to take, but that's life," he added" can hardly be construed as whining?

He cares, and it hurts like hell when you lose like that.

The game had everything and there had to be a winner. It wasn't us, and the more rational Bohs fans on here realise the margins.

Candystripe
24/11/2008, 12:39 PM
and the more rational Bohs fans on here realise the margins.

Holy sh1t, I just read the Bohs forum and apart from posts during the game they are the most un-gracious winning cup teams fans ever!

Talking about "posts during the game" they siad that the 2 pens were wrong calls but obviously like anyone would they didn't give a sh1t.

wexfordned
24/11/2008, 12:53 PM
Holy sh1t, I just read the Bohs forum and apart from posts during the game they are the most un-gracious winning cup teams fans ever!

Talking about "posts during the game" they siad that the 2 pens were wrong calls but obviously like anyone would they didn't give a sh1t.

Most un-gracious fans gave the Derry players a round of applause at the end of the game when they came down their end of the ground, but don't bother mentioning that.

Its a bohs forum so shock horror it will be biased. I bet the derry forum is equally biased the other way, deal with it.

shantykelly
24/11/2008, 1:19 PM
Most un-gracious fans gave the Derry players a round of applause at the end of the game when they came down their end of the ground, but don't bother mentioning that.

Its a bohs forum so shock horror it will be biased. I bet the derry forum is equally biased the other way, deal with it.

nah, the bohs fans this season have basically turned into shel's fans of previous years - heads in the sand, arrogant as ****. they got out of jail yesterday alright.

wexfordned
24/11/2008, 1:27 PM
nah, the bohs fans this season have basically turned into shel's fans of previous years - heads in the sand, arrogant as ****. they got out of jail yesterday alright.

When a team wins the league with a record points total, record margin of victory, most goals scored & fewest conceded I would imagine their fans would be arrogant as **** (especially after clinching a double)

24/11/2008, 1:35 PM
any arrogance comes from the utter disdain with which Bohemians and the achievements of this team are treated on this messageboard.

Engage a bohs fan in decent conversation about the club issues or the team performances and you will get a good discussion. Attempt to wind up and spout crap and you will get the arrogance. Its the same for all fans on this messageboard, get over it.

Maybe we are ungracious winners but you guys are terrible, terrible, terrible losers.

ger121
24/11/2008, 1:41 PM

You'd swear the way you are going on we got battered yesterday... Both teams had plenty of chances, there was contentious decisions as well (there always is) bottom line is, we stuck four penalties in the back of the net, you scored two. That's the only fact that matters....

robertob
24/11/2008, 1:43 PM
congratulations to Bohs! However, it's a little bit sad for Derry because I think they were the better team. They would have deserved the cup win in my mind. But ok, that's foootball and a penalty shootout is actually a lottery.

All in all it was a fantastic final. Great football of both teams. So much passion, fighting spirit and nice football too. Maybe the best game between two irish teams I've ever seen yet. Wonderful finish of a interesting season.

24/11/2008, 1:44 PM
Thread dissolves into pathetic keyboard warrior-esque drivel again.......

24/11/2008, 1:48 PM

see? this is what i mean. What is the purpose of that post? Does it encourage discussion? What benefit does that post do to the point that you lot are trying to make? Ironically enough, the only "pathetic keyboard-warrioresque drivel" since the game is the post i have quoted.

ger121
24/11/2008, 1:50 PM

Nothing wrong with healthy debate. I thought forums where all about expressing your opinion, which you've done above and I'm doing now....

24/11/2008, 2:24 PM
see? this is what i mean. What is the purpose of that post? Does it encourage discussion? What benefit does that post do to the point that you lot are trying to make? Ironically enough, the only "pathetic keyboard-warrioresque drivel" since the game is the post i have quoted.

Nothing wrong with healthy debate. I thought forums where all about expressing your opinion, which you've done above and I'm doing now....
When two sets of people have polar opposite views, and they have expressed them, then re-expressing them is a waste of time.

Derry fans broadly think that the ref handed you the victory, your support is crap, Fenlon is Satan and you bought your success with money that wasn't yours.

You disagree with all the above and point to the scoreboard and the history books which will record that you won the double.

Where's the discussion there?

24/11/2008, 3:04 PM
When two sets of people have polar opposite views, and they have expressed them, then re-expressing them is a waste of time.

Derry fans broadly think that the ref handed you the victory, your support is crap, Fenlon is Satan and you bought your success with money that wasn't yours.

You disagree with all the above and point to the scoreboard and the history books which will record that you won the double.

Where's the discussion there?

good man yourself. Maybe we should just make this message board redundant based on that philosophy?

Wind your neck in and take your oil. Its a bit of craic - this message board is sterile enough, its the banter and opposing views that make it fun and worth registering for...

and yes, we won the double and that is all that really matters at the end of the day.

whiteshorts
24/11/2008, 3:11 PM
It was a good advertisment for LOI football.

24/11/2008, 3:12 PM
What do you expect Kenny to say? He has just lost a Cup final on penos, after an incident packed game with several contentious decisions(which many neutrals on here have mentioned).

"Yeah well, there's always next year"?

Quotes such as "On the day we performed absolutely brilliantly in difficult conditions, but we have come out the wrong side of it. It is hard to take, but that's life," he added" can hardly be construed as whining?

He cares, and it hurts like hell when you lose like that.

The game had everything and there had to be a winner. It wasn't us, and the more rational Bohs fans on here realise the margins.
I'd expect a bit of a moan but with it a well done. Remember: it's supposed to be a sport.
I think most agree that Derry shaded it over the 120 -- just. We had as many shots on target; your keeper kept you in it at vital moments. The penalties etc. are debatable, and IMO you lot got away with murder in the tackles. And so on, as we have seen, ad nauseum.
What certainly is not justified is the Derry shriekfest that has ensued. Undignified and distinctly lacking in class.

24/11/2008, 3:23 PM
My father was there today who was brought up as a protestant, but has supported derry all his life, ok he mighten sing the national anthem or know the words to it, but he wouldnt show the disrespect morrow did today, he was only trying to bring attention to himself.

I'd say making zero effort to learn the words of one's own national anthem, a la most of the Derry support (and a large chunk of the Irish population in general), is a thousand times more disrespectful than someone with differing and competing allegiances not facing a flag when an anthem is being sung. Your sense of proprtion is way out here.

Out of curiousity - did you sing it yourself at the game yesterday ? I could only hear two voices singing it in my block - myself and a friend's dad (who is an Irish speaker). That out of about 100 people within earshot. Now that's genuine disrespect for you... :o

24/11/2008, 3:28 PM
I'd say making zero effort to learn the words of one's own national anthem, a la most of the Derry support (and a large chunk of the Irish population in general), is a thousand times more disrespectful than someone with differing and competing allegiances not facing a flag when an anthem is being sung. Your sense of proprtion is way out here.

Out of curiousity - did you sing it yourself at the game yesterday ? I could only hear two voices singing it in my block - myself and a friend's dad (who is an Irish speaker). That out of about 100 people within earshot. Now that's genuine disrespect for you... :o

Well said.

The 'attention seeking comment' from flexy was out of order. You have no idea as to his reasons.

KevB76
24/11/2008, 4:54 PM
Great match, thoroughly enjoyable for the neutrals, especially compared to the damp squib that was last years final. Both clubs a credit to our league :ball:

dortie
24/11/2008, 5:08 PM
Not at all.

I still think Sammy should've faced the flag, if rugby players like Davy Tweed (shudder) managed it without turning to stone then its not that difficult.

Anyway, not a big deal in the grand scheme of thinks and he did his talking on the pitch.

It was a disgrace what he did, a total disgrace !!! And to think some idiots within our support would try and makes excuses for him makes me cringe. He showed bitterness in his actions, like to see McGinn try that one in Windsor, there would a public uproar.

I couldnt care less if he score 5 goals yesterday, hes gone down in my estimation from here on in.

24/11/2008, 5:52 PM
I'd expect a bit of a moan but with it a well done. Remember: it's supposed to be a sport.
I think most agree that Derry shaded it over the 120 -- just. We had as many shots on target; your keeper kept you in it at vital moments. The penalties etc. are debatable, and IMO you lot got away with murder in the tackles. And so on, as we have seen, ad nauseum.
What certainly is not justified is the Derry shriekfest that has ensued. Undignified and distinctly lacking in class.

Seriously.:rolleyes:

Imagine the situation had been reversed. There'd be no Bohs fans crying blue murder? The eejits on both sides would reverse roles.

24/11/2008, 6:16 PM
myself and massop 10 had the pleasure of sittin with magicme at the match.. it was great to go as a neutral and enjoy the occasion!! i thought derry won the vocal choir easily i very much doubt that bohs would have song the lads off the pitch if they lost the peno shootout.. but hey thats my opinion...

sonofstan
24/11/2008, 6:27 PM
Seriously.:rolleyes:

Imagine the situation had been reversed. There'd be no Bohs fans crying blue murder? The eejits on both sides would reverse roles.

Nah... it's a contest they win hands down - years of practice nursing grievances as M.O.P.E. (Most Oppressed People Ever)

bohs til i die
24/11/2008, 6:45 PM
A great game, Derry played very well and the final ball a few times let our superiority down.

50/50 crowd. Can't coment on who were the loudest as I was in section D of the Angelsea stand so obviously only heard ourselves naturaly.

Deegans tackle was terrible and a red card 90% of the time.

Was disgusted with the two pen decisions by a ref who lost the plot.

Bohs took there chances and we didn't take ours..............end off!

Congratulations Bohs on winning the double, but you's know in your heart that you's got out of jail.

How do you reckon we got out of jail? We hit the crossbar with a free kick, Brennan also messed up another good chance ad we did have several other chances, Kalonas being the best of them.

The way some Derry fans are going on you'd think it was all one way traffic for 2 hours.

I havent seen the Derry penalty that wasnt given but the ref was spot on with the Bohs one. Morrow had both hands out in front of him and nearly caught the ball. If it was up the far end Derry would expect it to be given so it was a penalty.

As for Deegan's tackle, I seem to remember a few years ago when Killian Brennan was sent off playing for Derry (v Shels in league cup final) for a two footed tackle that Derry fans were moaning about how it was never a sending off. Time to take off the goggles lads and get some sense of objectivity.

Candystripe
24/11/2008, 6:47 PM
Did anyone notice both Fenlon and Heary refare to "us" when they spoke about losing to Derry on pens whien Derry played Shels?

A strange thing to say unless they think maybe Bohs are Shels in disguise.

Aaron
24/11/2008, 6:51 PM
How do you reckon we got out of jail? We hit the crossbar with a free kick, Brennan also messed up another good chance ad we did have several other chances, Kalonas being the best of them.

The way some Derry fans are going on you'd think it was all one way traffic for 2 hours.

I havent seen the Derry penalty that wasnt given but the ref was spot on with the Bohs one. Morrow had both hands out in front of him and nearly caught the ball. If it was up the far end Derry would expect it to be given so it was a penalty.

As for Deegan's tackle, I seem to remember a few years ago when Killian Brennan was sent off playing for Derry (v Shels in league cup final) for a two footed tackle that Derry fans were moaning about how it was never a sending off. Time to take off the goggles lads and get some sense of objectivity.

Was just about to say the same thing to you:rolleyes:

You obviously cannot differentiate between hand to ball and ball to hand. The corner came in and Sammy headed the ball down, the ball bounced up and hit him on the hand. How can that be intentional. Then again Morrow was brought down in the 4th min and the ref bottled it.

Also you refer to Killian Brennan hitting the bar. How about rewind 40 odd seconds earlier to Owen Heary diving on the edge of the box. Shambles of a decision which could have proved costly at that time

I am gutted we lost, I could cry about it all day but its gone. Bohs put the ball in the net more times than us at the end of the day, that cannot be changed. We will be back challenging next season. You win some, you lose some, thats just football and its why we love it.

CharlesThompson
24/11/2008, 6:55 PM
This is just an observation. I spent the first half in Block N and could not hear the Derry support singing. The singing from that Block was practically non stop for the duration of the first half.

I watched the second half from about the middle of the Grandstand right beside the Derry support and could literally on hear them singing from that time on till the final whistle.

Having watched the match recording today it seemed evident to me that RTE had miked the Derry City support for the match and had ommited to mic the Bohs support. As I say, this is my observation.

On the attendance (here we go again) but I would say that IMO Bohs probably shaded the amount of support. This opinion is based on the North Stand having more in it than the South Stand. The Grandstand (where I sat in the second half was about 10-15 yards inside the half Derry were defending) was more than half populated by Bohs support and the Anglesea Stand was shaded by Derry. There really was not a lot in it tbh.

It is easy to understand why anybody looking at the match on the TV would consider that Derry significantly outnumbered the Bohs support, but that just isn't the case.

--------------------------

I must say though that the craic with the Derry support where I was during the second half and extra time was brilliant. Good fun, lots of smiles and good natured banter. Really enjoyable.

Candystripe
24/11/2008, 7:00 PM

1st point.......A clear dive from Heary so ball would have been cleared with no danger.We also messed up plenty of chances with McGinn being to greedy.

I've only seen two posters and Bohs fans on various forums who thought it was a penalty.Every media group and almost every neutral fan thought it wasn't and that Morrows was speaks for itself!

I was in section D of the Anglesea and saw the both incidents very clearly and since on TV and agree with what the pundits said and even what the F.A.I. wrote on their own website.

So are you agreeing that Deegan's tackle was a red card as it would be hard to disagree even with rose tinted glasses.

Yes there were a few other dodgy decisions for both sides and Buttimer was pure sh1te but that doesn't make it right and he should never be allowed to take charge of even an U16 game.

Again well done for winning the cup as what Buttimer done had nothing to do with Bohs, but it dosen't make losing any easier.

24/11/2008, 7:09 PM
Having watched the match recording today it seemed evident to me that RTE had miked the Derry City support for the match and had ommited to mic the Bohs support. As I say, this is my observation.

On this. heard a good few BOhs chants on the tele in the first half. Then at some stage during it someone blasted the ball into one of the mics. The commentators mentioned it and said if you dont hear the noise from there that's why.

I assume it was over by the Bohs fans.

bohs til i die
24/11/2008, 7:14 PM
1st point.......A clear dive from Heary so ball would have been cleared with no danger.We also messed up plenty of chances with McGinn being to greedy.

I've only seen two posters and Bohs fans on various forums who thought it was a penalty.Every media group and almost every neutral fan thought it wasn't and that Morrows was speaks for itself!

I was in section D of the Anglesea and saw the both incidents very clearly and since on TV and agree with what the pundits said and even what the F.A.I. wrote on their own website.

So are you agreeing that Deegan's tackle was a red card as it would be hard to disagree even with rose tinted glasses.

Yes there were a few other dodgy decisions for both sides and Buttimer was pure sh1te but that doesn't make it right and he should never be allowed to take charge of even an U16 game.

Again well done for winning the cup as what Buttimer done had nothing to do with Bohs, but it dosen't make losing any easier.

If Deegan was sent off I would have had no complaints about it. He wasnt. He got away with a borderline challenge but he wasnt the only player on both sides who got away with bad tackles.

However, the penalty we got was a stone wall penalty. Watched it several times and he moves his hands out in front of him in line with the bouncing ball. It was certainly not ball to hand. If his hands didnt move the ball wouldnt have hit his hands (note plural, both hands, hard to be ball to hand when the ball hits both hands)

24/11/2008, 7:29 PM
On this. heard a good few BOhs chants on the tele in the first half. Then at some stage during it someone blasted the ball into one of the mics. The commentators mentioned it and said if you dont hear the noise from there that's why.

I assume it was over by the Bohs fans.

They had an "atmospheric" mic (basically a microphone on top of a pole which would pick up the crowd noise) set up in the gap between the Grandstand and the stand behind the goal at the Bohs end (the corner into which Kalonas ran when he scored the winner) - and I do seem to remember the ball hitting it at that point you mention

Candystripe
24/11/2008, 7:31 PM
However, the penalty we got was a stone wall penalty. d

Sweet jeez, I give up.

FFS Every pundit is wrong, every Derry fan is wrong and 80% of the Bohs fans are right!!

24/11/2008, 7:35 PM
They had an "atmospheric" mic (basically a microphone on top of a pole which would pick up the crowd noise) set up in the gap between the Grandstand and the stand behind the goal at the Bohs end (the corner into which Kalonas ran when he scored the winner) - and I do seem to remember the ball hitting it at that point you mention

It was a ground mic that got knocked over.

24/11/2008, 7:35 PM

If we're going into ridiculous reasons, Brennan and Kalonas both crashed into the mic in front of the Anglesea.

bohs til i die
24/11/2008, 7:37 PM
Sweet jeez, I give up.

FFS Every pundit is wrong, every Derry fan is wrong and 80% of the Bohs fans are right!!

Yes the pundits are wrong, The Derry fans are biased and Bohs fans are right.

24/11/2008, 7:40 PM
It was a disgrace what he did, a total disgrace !!! And to think some idiots within our support would try and makes excuses for him makes me cringe. He showed bitterness in his actions, like to see McGinn try that one in Windsor, there would a public uproar.

I couldnt care less if he score 5 goals yesterday, hes gone down in my estimation from here on in.

Get over it, will you.

24/11/2008, 7:40 PM
If we're going into ridiculous reasons, Brennan and Kalonas both crashed into the mic in front of the Anglesea.

Didnt see that.

however the commentators specifically mentioned the other one, and the fact that the sound was gone.

Couldnt tell you where it was though.

Atmosphere on tele depends on where the mics are placed, hard to tell what its really like.

Similarly when you're in a singing section it's almost impossible to hear another team singing.

Neutrals I was talking to have said there was a good atmosphere by both teams but Derry were that bit louder. Seems fair enough

Candystripe
24/11/2008, 7:41 PM
If we're going into ridiculous reasons,

And it was a very cold day and some of them had sore throats so didn't want to agravate them as they forgot there locket sweets.

24/11/2008, 7:42 PM

well really Maribor, you should take it up with micls who posted that as a possible reason. And what he stated was correct as that is what the commentators said on RTE.

The more i see Morrows handball, the more convinced i am that it was a penalty. The more i see Hearys tackle in the box the more convinced i am that it was not a penalty. Funny how that works isnt it?

Most observers, who were posting here, were also of the opinion (on second or third viewing) that Hearys tackle was not a penalty - check a few pages back.

24/11/2008, 7:46 PM

I hope you watched MNS tonight to realise just how wrong you are on this....

24/11/2008, 7:53 PM
well really Maribor, you should take it up with micls who posted that as a possible reason. And what he stated was correct as that is what the commentators said on RTE.

I was trying to stay out of the hysteria, SkStu, couldn't resist it any longer;)

24/11/2008, 8:03 PM
As an aside re the crowds - one thing that surprised me.

At one point during the game I looked over to the Bohs section of the Grandstand, and every single fan in sight was sitting down. I then looked around the Derry side and every fan in sight was standing up. I looked over at the Anglesea, and the situation seemed to be the same over there.

At 3 other times during the game I made a point of doing this comparison again, and the situation was the same - every Bohs fan sitting, every City fan standing.

Says a lot.

24/11/2008, 8:05 PM
Says a lot.

LOL!!! :D it sure does steve!!! :D

says a lot about nothing, ya knobjockey :D

bohs til i die
24/11/2008, 8:06 PM
I hope you watched MNS tonight to realise just how wrong you are on this....

I have watched it several times and cannot see how the ref was wrong.

Put it another way, would you think it would be the correct decision if a Bohs player had done the exact same thing in the Bohs penalty area and the ref waved play on or would you expect a penalty?

Aaron
24/11/2008, 8:17 PM
I have watched it several times and cannot see how the ref was wrong.

Put it another way, would you think it would be the correct decision if a Bohs player had done the exact same thing in the Bohs penalty area and the ref waved play on or would you expect a penalty?

Obviously not!! He would have made the correct call if he waved play on