View Full Version : 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10

Dalymountrower
21/11/2008, 11:13 PM
3,500 sold from Dalymount, expect 4,000 by tomorrow plus ticketmaster of about 1,000, should be a decent crowd if theres also 7,000 from Derry and 1,000 neutrals. RDS Holds 15,000?

fionnsci
22/11/2008, 9:05 AM
RDS Holds 15,000?

18,500 for Rugby though I'd imagine that the terracing beneath the Grandstand will be closed. 17,000ish capacity maybe?

Sniffer
22/11/2008, 12:05 PM
3,500 sold from Dalymount, expect 4,000 by tomorrow plus ticketmaster of about 1,000, should be a decent crowd if theres also 7,000 from Derry and 1,000 neutrals. RDS Holds 15,000?

Think it was 15,000 alright for Pats' European game.

22/11/2008, 1:08 PM
Got my tickets yesterday, they are for the Anglesea Stand. Is that with the Derry or Bohs fans?

Don't join the dark side Magicme, come to the red and white...

That's good news on the tickets by the way although it makes you realise just how amazing it was for Drogs and Cork to get 25,000 in 2005.

22/11/2008, 1:13 PM
That's good news on the tickets by the way although it makes you realise just how amazing it was for Drogs and Cork to get 25,000 in 2005.

The buzz around teh City that month(the league decider etc) is what drew the crowd for us. Be surprised if e see the likes of that again. Everyone was talking about it.

Drogs first major trophy and not to far for them. They have a good bandwagon up there too.

10k is a good crowd at this stage, could come close to selling out now.

22/11/2008, 1:19 PM
The buzz around teh City that month(the league decider etc) is what drew the crowd for us. Be surprised if e see the likes of that again. Everyone was talking about it.

Drogs first major trophy and not to far for them. They have a good bandwagon up there too.

Yeah, it really can be about the right combination of circumstances. Both teams were lucky that year. We had third place in the league wrapped up weeks ago, the disapointment of the SC semi and only a small chance of catching 2nd so despite the fact that we've had a terrific season, it ended (league-wise) with a whimper.

manic da hoop
22/11/2008, 1:24 PM
Anyone know what time the ticket booths around the ground open at tomorrow?

atfconline
22/11/2008, 1:31 PM
What is the best way to the RDS coming in on the N4? Their website only gives directions from Trinity? Any way to avoid city centre? What is parking like there?

22/11/2008, 1:31 PM
Anyone know what time the ticket booths around the ground open at tomorrow?

Says on the tickets gates are open at 1:30 so I presume sometime around that.

22/11/2008, 7:05 PM
Got my tickets yesterday, they are for the Anglesea Stand. Is that with the Derry or Bohs fans?

myself and massop10 got our tickets for anglesea stand too..

Dalymountrower
22/11/2008, 7:23 PM
Bohs had sold 5,000 tickets as of this afternoon, could be close to a sellout!!!

CMcC
22/11/2008, 8:17 PM
What's the story with Bohs fans and 'Hold me Now'

Talk about a shocking song to adopt as your terrace anthem..... :eek:

It comes from Bohs visit to Norway when they played Rosenborg. Aparently one local didnt know much about Ireland until Mr Logan's name was mentioned and Hold Me Now was immediately belted out. Aparently he is very big up there. It was that trip's anthem and since then its been sang in Europe (and indeed over all over the country) whenever Bohs play.

Thats the story I was told some time back anyway.

23/11/2008, 1:51 PM
jesus, Stephen Kenny is like the love child of Fr. Dougal and Rainman.

irishultra
23/11/2008, 2:00 PM
great sign of irish patriotism just there by the fans in the rds..the singing of ANB nearly would make the hair stand up:rolleyes:

why isn't kalonas playing?

Tir Oilean
23/11/2008, 2:05 PM
Sammy Morrow didnt enjoy the Anthem!

Tir Oilean
23/11/2008, 2:07 PM
fcukin hell thought that was a peno!

irishultra
23/11/2008, 2:08 PM
peno my hole.

23/11/2008, 2:08 PM
Dead cert peno. Awful decision not to give it. Looks like a big Derry crowd.

23/11/2008, 2:09 PM
looked a peno on first view, on the replays no way was it one...

Tir Oilean
23/11/2008, 2:12 PM
Agreed couldnt really see contact on the replay

irishultra
23/11/2008, 2:14 PM
WTF was that????

irishultra
23/11/2008, 2:24 PM
good dive from heary.

****KKK

Tir Oilean
23/11/2008, 2:25 PM
He fell over! If that was given as a peno to Bohs id say there'd be war.

irishultra
23/11/2008, 2:39 PM
nutsy doesnt look to happy

Bunny Kelly
23/11/2008, 2:41 PM
Would they shut up about the officials, why do they need to moan? Fenlon's tracksuit does not look too different to a Bohs jersey so whats the problem with getting him to put on a bip

irishultra
23/11/2008, 2:44 PM
ye there being pedantic, and its no ****ing deal.

23/11/2008, 2:44 PM
agreed - i can see why he was asked to wear it.

SunnySweeney
23/11/2008, 2:46 PM
enough with the bib .. the commentators are making something out of nothing

23/11/2008, 2:47 PM
George Hamilton has never seen the likes of it!:D

Sure doesn't Paul Cook always wear a bib because of his red jumper and MNS never kick up a fuss.
Commentators are complaining about nothing Buttimer is having a good game only mistake was not booking Morrow!

Rob_the_cat
23/11/2008, 2:49 PM
Don't see why Hamilton kept going on about it. Buttimer has loads of previous in the likes of this.

Just to say, Eddie Foley's last match today. Good riddance to bad rubbish :)

23/11/2008, 2:52 PM
Really good match I think. Both sides trying to play it the right way, plenty of tough tackles, a few decent chances. Looks freezing though, glad I stayed at home rather than being in one of those open ends.

23/11/2008, 2:52 PM
Tbh honest I agree completely with the officials!

And then they're going on Kenny not having to wear one...I'd say that could be possibly because the assistant is on the same sideline he is?

23/11/2008, 2:53 PM
Just to say, Eddie Foley's last match today. Good riddance to bad rubbish :)

Chocolate soldier, Chocolate soldier, Chocolate soldier, Chocolate soldier, Chocolate soldier!:D

23/11/2008, 2:54 PM
Really good match I think. Both sides trying to play it the right way, plenty of tough tackles, a few decent chances. Looks freezing though, glad I stayed at home rather than being in one of those open ends.

i was wondering if i was just being biased in my enjoyment of it. Plenty of intensity, some good footie being played, just need a Bohs goal to top it off...

23/11/2008, 2:55 PM
Playing anthems before domestic cup finals is ridiculous. Even worse having those delinquent Gah ***** from the Artane Band doing the "honours." Shame on the FAI.

Fenn would have gone for that challenge at a different stage of the game.

hedderman
23/11/2008, 2:58 PM
i was wondering if i was just being biased in my enjoyment of it. Plenty of intensity, some good footie being played, just need a Bohs goal to top it off...

Really good game, Bohs playing some nice football but I think that we had the better of the first half.

Wish I was in the RDS rather than watching it over a dodgy streaming connection in France:(

23/11/2008, 3:01 PM
i hear ya hedderman - the rte stream is great quality but very choppy.

think Derry just shaded the first. COME ON THE BOHS!

irishultra
23/11/2008, 3:06 PM
Playing anthems before domestic cup finals is ridiculous. Even worse having those delinquent Gah ***** from the Artane Band doing the "honours." Shame on the FAI.

Fenn would have gone for that challenge at a different stage of the game.

shut up.

gaelic football > soccer

23/11/2008, 3:08 PM
Tbh honest I agree completely with the officials!

And then they're going on Kenny not having to wear one...I'd say that could be possibly because the assistant is on the same sideline he is?

I can't see why they're pontificating from up in the commentary box about how they don't clash. Obviously the official asked for the bib because he's having difficulty. He didn't do it for the craic.

scej
23/11/2008, 3:14 PM
I can't see why they're pontificating from up in the commentary box about how they don't clash. Obviously the official asked for the bib because he's having difficulty. He didn't do it for the craic.

Jaysus, Hamilton and Morley are so annoying with how much they're going on about it. Would they not shut up about it and just talk about the match.

23/11/2008, 3:15 PM
Owen Heary is a disgrasce. Fairplay to Roddy to for pointing it out

drama queens, both of ye. Happens in every single game up and down the country.

fionnsci
23/11/2008, 3:20 PM
Goal, free kick for Derry!!!!

Youths4Ever
23/11/2008, 3:22 PM
what was the wall doing?

23/11/2008, 3:22 PM
Great strike to be honest, better side are leading.

23/11/2008, 3:26 PM
Why would you turn your back in the wall? Whats the point in being there if you are not going to try and stop the ball. If you're not up to it then leave someone else stand in.

Crowe pulled it back.

fionnsci
23/11/2008, 3:26 PM
Great strike to be honest, better side are leading.

Not anymore!!

23/11/2008, 3:27 PM
Great strike to be honest
I thought it was an awful free kick. Just imagine what it would have been like if the wall did it's job properly.

23/11/2008, 3:28 PM
It just got interesting!:rolleyes:

Come on Derry, I have a fiver on ye for a reason!

23/11/2008, 3:30 PM
Yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!

23/11/2008, 3:31 PM
Never a pen!