View Full Version : 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10

Tir Oilean
23/11/2008, 4:48 PM
Crowe cursing on the telebox! Hilarious! Well done Bohs comiserations to Derry

hedderman
23/11/2008, 4:49 PM
Absolutely sickened! Really great game of football. Think we should've won. Undone by some awful refereeing and a penalty shootout. I'm off to have a cry:(

23/11/2008, 4:54 PM
Can't beleive im saying this but, I feel sorry for Derry, much the better side and only for 3 poor decisions they would have won it. The first one was obviously the awful balls up in awarding the penalty to Bohs.
Second and third were both the fact that McGinn took on shots where Farren was free for the square ball to tap into the net.
Murphy proved himself to be top keeper in the league too.

Great advert for the league, well done to both sides.

Flexy
23/11/2008, 4:54 PM
superb game from Derry, commiserations... both teams played some great footie.

Not rubbing it in or anything but COME ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!
Well done bohs, but Buttimer better ne show his face in the brandywell again hes a cheating ****, he bottled every big decision and of course gave it his favourites way. hes a tit

hedderman
23/11/2008, 4:59 PM
Can't beleive im saying this but, I feel sorry for Derry, much the better side and only for 3 poor decisions they would have won it. The first one was obviously the awful balls up in awarding the penalty to Bohs.
Second and third were both the fact that McGinn took on shots where Farren was free for the square ball to tap into the net.

very good point about McGinn's decision making, especially the second chance. He forced a great save from Murphy but Farren would've scored. Thought Higgins' passes made a real difference when he came on.

Didn't even get to see the penalty shootout. Wtf happened with the stream?

23/11/2008, 4:59 PM
Can't believe they're criticising Bohs style of football. They were pretty dull at the start of the year but they've kept getting better and have been clearly the best team this year. No need for it if you ask me.

Flexy
23/11/2008, 5:00 PM

Murphy for ireland he was superb today AGAIN. MC Ginn wont be with us next season after that display im sure we could get 500k for him no bother. Im sure lots of scouts there today as well. Can ask much more of the boys today they were a great credit to the club. CITY TILL I DIE

23/11/2008, 5:01 PM
Its hard to be magnanamous after a ref performance like that.

Bohs scored the penos, we didn't so fair play on that score <gritted teeth>

23/11/2008, 5:02 PM
very good point about McGinn's decision making, especially the second chance. He forced a great save from Murphy but Farren would've scored. Thought Higgins' passes made a real difference when he came on.

Didn't even get to see the penalty shootout. Wtf happened with the stream?

apparently it was only "booked" for a certain amount of time. Ridiculous. I switched to the radio and just caught Derrys miss before Kalonas seaaled it.

23/11/2008, 5:05 PM
thanks for a great game Derry - the best team over the course of the season won the double so justice done in my opinion.

im off to get drunk.

Championes, Championes!!!

Thought they shifted 4-5000 tickets :confused:

They did. Derry fans were just louder.

Derry were the better side but Bohs worked hard to stay in it.

Buttimer was shocking but whats new, should have booked a few Derry players earlier too, it wasnt all one sided but the major decisions went against Derry.

Congrats to Bohs, have been outstanding this year. Enjoy it

SMorgan
The "Buttimer" Final.

Shocking!!

How can there be any justification for Deegan not being sent off?

Drumcondra 69er
23/11/2008, 5:08 PM
Delighted with the outcome but after staying uptill 4 in the morning in fcuking Brisbane to watch it I cannot believe that RTE let the stream die right when the shootout was starting, incompetence of the highest level and indicitive of what's wrong with state bodies in Ireland. Feel cheated!

Unlucky Derry, you probably shaded it, excellent match.

23/11/2008, 5:16 PM
of course gave it his favourites way. hes a tit

:rolleyes: Yeah he's one of those Cork people with a secret love for Dublin clubs.....

he was incompetent end of story. Don't start going on with the bias crap again

hedderman
23/11/2008, 5:22 PM
:rolleyes: Yeah he's one of those Cork people with a secret love for Dublin clubs.....

I'd agree about poor refereeing rather than biased reffing. He was very lenient with yellow and red cards for both teams.

His poor decisions cost us more in the end though.

23/11/2008, 5:22 PM

Agreed - but by christ, "incompetent" is an utter understatement with regards to that performance today.

23/11/2008, 5:23 PM
Agreed - but by christ, "incompetent" is an utter understatement with regards to that performance today.

True.....but it's Buttimer, it's not like it's a new thing

Rovers fan
23/11/2008, 5:26 PM
Fair play to bohs,an amazing achievement. Must admit that I feel very sorry for derry though. They have amazing fans,outsinging bohs even after they had lost.

23/11/2008, 5:27 PM
Amazing support by Derry. Bohs fans were very poor.

Great game....... and absolutely freezing too!

irishultra
23/11/2008, 5:29 PM
bohs system is a bit like irelands when u think about it.

23/11/2008, 5:32 PM
One of the worst refereeing performances I've seen. Buttimer you are a disgrace!

Derry deserved to win. Good atmosphere by the sounds of it, all Derry fans though.

Youths4Ever
23/11/2008, 5:33 PM
well done Bohs.

Great game and good advertisement for the league

23/11/2008, 5:35 PM
Murphy for ireland he was superb today AGAIN.

I'm going to jump on this bandwagon. Absolutely outstanding vs Cobh 2 weeks ago and 100 times better today!

MURPHY FOR IRELAND!

Lets start a campaign......Murphy for Ireland sponsored by foot.ie!

Flexy
23/11/2008, 5:36 PM
Will he apoligise after watching a rerun of his performance, no he bloody wont, if i was incompetent like that in my job id be sacked on the spot.

hedderman
23/11/2008, 5:40 PM
You'd wonder how he could referee a game so badly. I think there was an incident where Peter Hutton clattered into a Bohs player on the edge of our penalty area. Buttimer was standing right in front of it and didn't give an obvious free kick.

23/11/2008, 5:41 PM
Will he apoligise after watching a rerun of his performance, no he bloody wont, if i was incompetent like that in my job id be sacked on the spot.

Sure i'd say Pat Kelly thought he was wonderful. The smarmy little sh!te. He is the one and only reason the referees in Ireland are so bad.:mad:
Did ya see him on the pitch while Fenlon was being interviewed going around congratulating and comisserating and telling Buttimer "good game"...........sickening!:mad:

geezer
23/11/2008, 5:44 PM
the man that introduced me to LOI in the seventies gave up the LOI after pat kellys performances he was whistle mad. Then his son normally gets 80% of the televised games and he is useless too

trevy
23/11/2008, 6:01 PM
Well done to both teams. Great game and both teams played good,attacking football and Derry probably shaded the game and unlucky not to win. Brian Murphy excellent again for Bohs. Good finish to whats been a difficult season in Irish football.

Flexy
23/11/2008, 6:33 PM
Well done to both teams. Great game and both teams played good,attacking football and Derry probably shaded the game and unlucky not to win. Brian Murphy excellent again for Bohs. Good finish to whats been a difficult season in Irish football.
It was probably one of the best games seen this year in the league, fair play to bohs on winning the double, but we'll be back next year stronger and more determined thought we played some great football today and our midfield had the better of boh's

Kildareman
23/11/2008, 6:43 PM
I knew I recognised the ref but couldnt place him.

Now I remember, he was in Boylesports last week.......;)

sonofstan
23/11/2008, 6:46 PM
Just home - TBH from high up in the Anglesea Stand, it didn't look like such a great game until the goals started going in - and I wish you'd all take your 'Derry are my second favourite team' goggles off; we were poor for a fair amount of the game, but we still had more to offer in terms of skill and variety than them.

What's Deegan supposed to have done that was so shocking? if it was the tackle that got him a yellow, from directly opposite it looked kosher. Guess I'll have to see it tomorrow.

On the issue of the crowd - reckon we had between 4-4.5k, Derry maybe a bit more, but not hugely outnumbered - I'm not excusing it; within recent memory we get close to that for league matches against Shels and Rovers, and given the Derry fans did a 300m round trip, and we had to hop on a bus, it's a poor enough turnout.The Farrelly and Connor years cost us hugely in terms of fans, and they still aren't coming back.

Brian Murphy is a legend, and Kalonas is one of the best players ever to play in this league; Others underperformed today, but the idea that there's something wrong with our style or that it's 'dull' is Roddy ******. We're the best team in the country by a mile, and arguably the best ever.

23/11/2008, 6:46 PM
Just watched the match again when I got home, no idea why, as it made me feel worse.

Well done Bohs, clinical performance when it mattered.

bohs til i die
23/11/2008, 6:48 PM
Well done bohs, but Buttimer better ne show his face in the brandywell again hes a cheating ****, he bottled every big decision and of course gave it his favourites way. hes a tit

The ref was not at fault for Derry's defeat. I dont know about the penalty as I havent seen it on TV yet but he let several Derry players away with very bad tackles early on (on Killian Brennan) but as soon as a Bohs player made the same sort of tackle they got booked.

Derry had slightly the better of the chances but if you dont take them, you dont win.

Whatever people think about who shaded the game etc doesnt really matter, Bohs were deserving winners. We won the league in record breaking fashion and we havent got the credit we have deserved this year. The panel on MNS have always gone out of their way to criticide Bohs this year despite what has been achieved on the pitch.

Flexy
23/11/2008, 6:51 PM
Just home - TBH from high up in the Anglesea Stand, it didn't look like such a great game until the goals started going in - and I wish you'd all take your 'Derry are my second favourite team' goggles off; we were poor for a fair amount of the game, but we still had more to offer in terms of skill and variety than them.

What's Deegan supposed to have done that was so shocking? if it was the tackle that got him a yellow, from directly opposite it looked kosher. Guess I'll have to see it tomorrow.

On the issue of the crowd - reckon we had between 4-4.5k, Derry maybe a bit more, but not hugely outnumbered - I'm not excusing it; within recent memory we get close to that for league matches against Shels and Rovers, and given the Derry fans did a 300m round trip, and we had to hop on a bus, it's a poor enough turnout.The Farrelly and Connor years cost us hugely in terms of fans, and they still aren't coming back.

Brian Murphy is a legend, and Kalonas is one of the best players ever to play in this league; Others underperformed today, but the idea that there's something wrong with our style or that it's 'dull' is Roddy ******. We're the best team in the country by a mile, and arguably the best ever.
Take Murphy ( best keeper by a mile ) and Kalonas out of the bohs team and your not the best by a country mile, evidence of that was shown today on how ordinary bohs are. Deegan dived in with both feet he was a foot off the ground, when you do see it you'll think he was lucky even to stay on the pitch. When you see the pen we should have had and the pen yous got then you'll count yourselves lucky with the result. but well done

Flexy
23/11/2008, 6:55 PM
The ref was not at fault for Derry's defeat. I dont know about the penalty as I havent seen it on TV yet but he let several Derry players away with very bad tackles early on (on Killian Brennan) but as soon as a Bohs player made the same sort of tackle they got booked.

Derry had slightly the better of the chances but if you dont take them, you dont win.

Whatever people think about who shaded the game etc doesnt really matter, Bohs were deserving winners. We won the league in record breaking fashion and we havent got the credit we have deserved this year. The panel on MNS have always gone out of their way to criticide Bohs this year despite what has been achieved on the pitch.
Bohs deserved to win the league no doubt about that, as i said before if you watch a re run of the match you'll see how bad buttimer was, derry should have had a pen, bohs shouldnt have had a pen, fenn lucky to stay on pitch for tackle on hutton, deegan's tackle wouold have killed deery if he had have connected. Pat Morley summed it up by saying buttimer was a disgrace, and that was live on tv.

23/11/2008, 6:58 PM
FFS let it lie Flexy.

23/11/2008, 6:59 PM
There is no "Derry are my second team" folk here. Especially not me anyway.

Derry were the better side and looked to attack at every opportunity.

There was no tackle worse than Deegans in the match. It was an awful tackle and he deserved to walk, if Deery was caught it would have took his ankle off.

Murphy is definitely good enough for the Irish squad, third choice behind Given and Kiely.

Bohs fans were shocking, only at the end up could they be heard and even then Derry fans outsang them. Poor form.

As for not the refs fault? There was no chance in hell any other ref would have given a penalty against Morrow. That would have left the game 2-1 in Derrys favour after 90 minutes, fairly clear in my eyes.

Finally, yes Bohs were the best side in the league and were deserved winners but, that doesn't make then deserving Cup winners.

Jeesh I feel all dirty and wrong for defending Derry, yuk I need a shower, maybe bleached down or something.

brianw82
23/11/2008, 6:59 PM
Cracking match. McGinn and Morrow were suberb, as was Kalonas when he came on. Brilliant player.

Can't believe Buttimer is actually a ref. Unbelievably bad.

bohs til i die
23/11/2008, 7:00 PM
Bohs deserved to win the league no doubt about that, as i said before if you watch a re run of the match you'll see how bad buttimer was, derry should have had a pen, bohs shouldnt have had a pen, fenn lucky to stay on pitch for tackle on hutton, deegan's tackle wouold have killed deery if he had have connected. Pat Morley summed it up by saying buttimer was a disgrace, and that was live on tv.

I notice how you focus on the tackles by the Bohs players yet you fail to mention how bad Buttimer was for the tackles on Bohs players which should have resulted in yellow cards.

Also, we were denied a stone wall penalty in the league against you lot a few weeks ago and you then scored not long after. What is it they say about luck over the course of a season?

23/11/2008, 7:01 PM
take yer oil as ye love to say .

derry made more than a few bad tackled, Deery is a dirty mouthy little c*nt.

Medals on the table minnowsd, we beat yis when it matters.

sonofstan
23/11/2008, 7:02 PM
Take Murphy ( best keeper by a mile ) and Kalonas out of the bohs team and your not the best by a country mile,

I'll have to wait and see the various tackles and stuff then.

I said in my post that much of the team - Brennan, Fenn, Rossi - underperformed today; it wasn't a great display by us by any means; on form, we're way ahead of anyone else, although Derry alone seem to know how to play against it. BTW, thought O'Donnell was our MOTM - guy never gets enough credit, but he was the best central midfielder there today, much more reliable than the much fancied Deegan.

bohs til i die
23/11/2008, 7:02 PM
As for not the refs fault? There was no chance in hell any other ref would have given a penalty against Morrow. That would have left the game 2-1 in Derrys favour after 90 minutes, fairly clear in my eyes.

How is this clear? We got the penalty at 1-1. If it wasnt given then you dont know the rest of the game would turn out.

23/11/2008, 7:04 PM
Have to agree, I thought Bohs best 3 were Kalunos, Murphy and O'Donnell.

O'Donnell was superb in front of the Bohs back 4. Deegan never showed up.

Captain2007
23/11/2008, 7:21 PM
Great Cup Final, good advert for League and well done to Pat Fenlon & Stephen Kenny two excellent young Managers in the league.

Well done to the Derry fans for travelling and giving their team tremendous support.
Pity there had to be a loser!

23/11/2008, 7:47 PM
I knew I recognised the ref but couldnt place him.

Now I remember, he was in Boylesports last week.......;)

Not a smart thing to say in the current state of things. I know your joking but thats how dodgy rumours start!

Flexy
23/11/2008, 7:50 PM
FFS let it lie Flexy.
Thats our problem we let refs walk over us, about time we stood up to them and the fai for being incompetent. Ne Bohs fault for choosing the ref, they won the cup fair and square but its the people who appoint these idiots week in week out who just are not good enough for the task.

Flexy
23/11/2008, 7:53 PM
take yer oil as ye love to say .

derry made more than a few bad tackled, Deery is a dirty mouthy little c*nt.

Medals on the table minnowsd, we beat yis when it matters.
At least he does his talking on the pitch. Remember whos 4 million in debt at the end of the day, hehe

sonofstan
23/11/2008, 7:56 PM
At least he does his talking on the pitch. Remember whos 4 million in debt at the end of the day, hehe

'You won't hold it, won't hold it tight.,
You miss penalty kicks all through the night'

23/11/2008, 8:01 PM
Johnny Logan?! So gay it hurts...

Flexy
23/11/2008, 8:09 PM
'You won't hold it, won't hold it tight.,
You miss penalty kicks all through the night'
Like dirty gypos do only sing when your winning, never heard you's when yous were losing or drawing