View Full Version : 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.
Pages :
[
8]
bohs til i die
23/11/2008, 8:11 PM
Like dirty gypos do only sing when your winning, never heard you's when yous were losing or drawing
Go and polish your poxy minnow cup and stop spouting ****e.
bohs til i die
23/11/2008, 8:16 PM
Just seen the penalty award on the news and dont know why anyone says it was dodgy decision, the guy practically caught the ball. Stone wall penalty.
harry crumb
23/11/2008, 8:17 PM
We're the best team in the country by a mile, and arguably the best ever.
I just can't see it.
In all the times Ive seen you this year.
From getting played off the park by Bray in 1-1 game to the snatch and grab down at the Cross.
Your dogged and get the results but not very pretty.
CuanaD
23/11/2008, 8:19 PM
Just seen the penalty award on the news and dont know why anyone says it was dodgy decision, the guy practically caught the ball. Stone wall penalty.
Exactly - I was livid at the commentary - as an ex-ref it was an obvious penalty & the commentators showed no knowledge of the rule.:mad:
stickyjoe
23/11/2008, 8:23 PM
Very enjoyable final, the ref was a joke though. How noone was sent off is beyond me!
Funny hearing Heary talking about "we" when referring to Shels losing the league cup final to Derry a couple of years ago
bohs til i die
23/11/2008, 8:26 PM
I just can't see it.
In all the times Ive seen you this year.
From getting played off the park by Bray in 1-1 game to the snatch and grab down at the Cross.
Your dogged and get the results but not very pretty.
When we needed to dig in and get a result we did. In other games we simply passed teams off the park. I think this criticism is total unjustified. We gave Cork a lesson in football in the first 45 minutes last week and there is plenty of other times when we played very good football but never got credit for it.
sonofstan
23/11/2008, 8:29 PM
When we needed to dig in and get a result we did. In other games we simply passed teams off the park. I think this criticism is total unjustified. We gave Cork a lesson in football in the first 45 minutes last week and there is plenty of other times when we played very good football but never got credit for it.
Wouldn't worry about it TBH, BTID - I doubt if the players and managers of other teams in this league are as delusional as the fans about the manner of our achievements.
harry crumb
23/11/2008, 8:32 PM
I haven't seen this Bohs your talking about.
Was the performance today a typical performance?
bohs til i die
23/11/2008, 8:42 PM
I haven't seen this Bohs your talking about.
Was the performance today a typical performance?
Today's performance wasnt typical. Our cup semi final was a typical performance. Really good in one half, fairly average in the other. We've not really put in too many 90 minute performances of high quality but the standard for the most part was much better then today's performance.
We scored the most goals, conceded he fewest, won the most games and set a new points record. We've also scored some of the best goals I have ever seen in the 24 years Ive been going to games. Our 2nd goal against Cork last week was an 11/12 pass move which saw the ball travel about 200 yards before Brennan scored. Probably the best team goal I have ever witnessed in person.
Of all the EL football I have watched on TV this year, Bohs were up there when it comes to entertainment value. Given how our season has gone, I think the players deserve far more credit then they are getting.
Like fenlon you need a pair of glasses and an orange retard bib
bohs til i die
23/11/2008, 8:48 PM
Like fenlon you need a pair of glasses and an orange retard bib
On what basis? A Derry outfield player practically catches the ball with both hands on in front of him 4 yards from his own goal-line. How is it not a penalty?
Whatever gripes you think you have, the penalty decision isnt one of them. The player put his hands out in front of him and the ball hit both hands. Its a penalty.
cheech
23/11/2008, 8:50 PM
Sammy Morrow didn't cover himself in glory during the national anthem. Anyone else notice that?
:confused::confused:
Because he didnt face the flag and start signing it?
It's not his flag or anthem, he stood there quietly. now if he'd started booing or something you might have a point
23/11/2008, 9:11 PM
Well done to Bohs.
It was a very good match. Derry were the better side but credit Bohs for taking it to penos and winning.
On what basis? A Derry outfield player practically catches the ball with both hands on in front of him 4 yards from his own goal-line. How is it not a penalty?
Whatever gripes you think you have, the penalty decision isnt one of them. The player put his hands out in front of him and the ball hit both hands. Its a penalty.
Being honest i think the gripe was that yous got a penalty and buttimer chickened out of giving us one in the first half which was a stone waller. Ive no qualms of bohs winning the cup yous have been the best team this year but as fans we have to speak out more about the officials in our league.
Seen it and was embarrassed as a dcfc fan. Probably his last match for us anyway
Exactly - I was livid at the commentary - as an ex-ref it was an obvious penalty & the commentators showed no knowledge of the rule.:mad:
Rule is hand to ball, on this occassion ball bounced up and hit him on the hand, it was clear to see when he headed the ball in the ground and the ball hit his hand, he didnt even move his hand. difference between you and buttimer is that buttimer should do the same as you and give up if you think that was a penalty
bohs til i die
23/11/2008, 9:21 PM
Rule is hand to ball, on this occassion ball bounced up and hit him on the hand, it was clear to see when he headed the ball in the ground and the ball hit his hand, he didnt even move his hand.
but the Derry guy put both hands on the ball. Ive watched it several times now and cannot see how the ref could make any other decision but to award a penalty.
sonofstan
23/11/2008, 9:25 PM
Seen it and was embarrassed as a dcfc fan. Probably his last match for us anyway
It's silly playing the anthem before a domestic game anyway.
As a matter of interest though; if Niall McGinn or Paddy McCourt start for NI, will you be embarrassed- as a DCFC fan- if they stand to attention and face the flag for GSTQ? or will you be embarrassed if they don't?
23/11/2008, 9:35 PM
Not long home and only beginning to thaw out. What a great game and athmosphere. gutted for Derry fans but well done Bohs.
Really enjoyed myself. Thats entertainment.
It's silly playing the anthem before a domestic game anyway.
As a matter of interest though; if Niall McGinn or Paddy McCourt start for NI, will you be embarrassed- as a DCFC fan- if they stand to attention and face the flag for GSTQ? or will you be embarrassed if they don't?
Id be embarrased if they didnt stand to attention. Its pure ignorance and a lack of respect if you dont. Doesnt matter if your black white catholic or protestant you should stand and observe any anthem whether you like it or not
23/11/2008, 9:39 PM
Not long home and only beginning to thaw out. What a great game and athmosphere. gutted for Derry fans but well done Bohs.
Really enjoyed myself. Thats entertainment.
As another neutral who was at the game I must say it was a great spectacle alright, although cup finals in November are still weird (and cold!). Tough on Derry at the end but they've still had a good season..
23/11/2008, 9:43 PM
Id be embarrased if they didnt stand to attention. Its pure ignorance and a lack of respect if you dont. Doesnt matter if your black white catholic or protestant you should stand and observe any anthem whether you like it or not
It wasn't just Sammy Morrow. I was standing in with the Derry fans and I was the only one within earshot who was actually singing the anthem..
23/11/2008, 9:43 PM
As another neutral who was at the game I must say it was a great spectacle alright, although cup finals in November are still weird (and cold!). Tough on Derry at the end but they've still had a good season..
Thought you might be there alright. It was great how the Derry fans kept singing even after it was all over. Met quite a few of them when they stopped for a toilet break between Carrickmacross and Castleblayney on the way back and you would almost think they had won they were still their effervescent selves.
23/11/2008, 9:45 PM
Thought you might be there alright..
I thought I'd get used to mixing with Premier Division fans again.. ;)
Only seen one other neutral all day though, an Athlone fan.
EDIT - oh and John Gill if he counts?
23/11/2008, 9:48 PM
I thought I'd get used to mixing with Premier Division fans again.. ;)
Only seen one other neutral all day though, an Athlone fan.
EDIT - oh and John Gill if he counts?
Rub it in ya git! :mad:
I was sitting with Martinho and Massop10 (Longford Town) while Sligo Rovers Committee were sitting behind me and some people from Cork were behind them. In front of us were 2 Sporting Fingal too.
Met Tom - he has a "Christmas box" for me! :D
23/11/2008, 9:49 PM
As a matter of interest though; if Niall McGinn or Paddy McCourt start for NI, will you be embarrassed- as a DCFC fan- if they stand to attention and face the flag for GSTQ? or will you be embarrassed if they don't?Not at all.
I still think Sammy should've faced the flag, if rugby players like Davy Tweed (shudder) managed it without turning to stone then its not that difficult.
Anyway, not a big deal in the grand scheme of thinks and he did his talking on the pitch.
It wasn't just Sammy Morrow. I was standing in with the Derry fans and I was the only one within earshot who was actually singing the anthem..
My father was there today who was brought up as a protestant, but has supported derry all his life, ok he mighten sing the national anthem or know the words to it, but he wouldnt show the disrespect morrow did today, he was only trying to bring attention to himself.
23/11/2008, 9:50 PM
I was sitting with Martinho and Massop10 (Longford Town) while Sligo Rovers Committee were sitting behind me and some people from Cork were behind them. In front of us were 2 Sporting Fingal too.
Met Tom - he has a "Christmas box" for me! :D
I was in with the regular fans, no prawn sandwiches for me! :p
Not at all.
I still think Sammy should've faced the flag, if rugby players like Davy Tweed (shudder) managed it without turning to stone then its not that difficult.
Anyway, not a big deal in the grand scheme of thinks and he did his talking on the pitch.
Do you think he will be with us next year, i know linfield are sniffing around him
sonofstan
23/11/2008, 9:55 PM
Not at all.
Fair enough.
Like I said, don't think they should play it anyway; it's not an international.
23/11/2008, 10:02 PM
I was in with the regular fans, no prawn sandwiches for me! :p
No prawn sandwiches for me either, am a veggie! :p
Dalymountrower
23/11/2008, 10:10 PM
just over 10,000 at it shocking support for Bohs id say Derry outnumber them 4/1
Err on the basis of what evidence?
I was actually there , yes v. noisy vodka soaked Derry fans ( and fair play to them) but neturals admit Bohs outnumbered them marginally, Bohs majority in Grand stand, slightly less than Derry in Anglesea and Bohs more behind the Goals, FAI seem to have had no control over entry, no turnstiles, some tickets scanned some not, No freebies counted, if the stadium holds 15,000 then there were twelve there, we sold 5,000, FAI probably trying to stiff both clubs. Hand to ball for peno, justifiable, Reynolds influnce obvious for thuggish targettting of Brennan , first half. Man of the match was either Oman or Delaney, (surprisingly good)
23/11/2008, 10:15 PM
Err on the basis of what evidence?
I was actually there , yes v. noisy vodka soaked Derry fans ( and fair play to them) but neturals admit Bohs outnumbered them marginally, Bohs majority in Grand stand, slightly less than Derry in Anglesea and Bohs more behind the Goals, FAI seem to have had no control over entry, no turnstiles, some tickets scanned some not, No freebies counted, if the stadium holds 15,000 then there were twelve there, we sold 5,000, FAI probably trying to stiff both clubs. Hand to ball for peno, justifiable, Reynolds influnce obvious for thuggish targettting of Brennan , first half. Man of the match was either Oman or Delaney, (surprisingly good)
Ah Christ,
All this thread needs, a ****ing contest over the attendance:rolleyes:
Dalymountrower
23/11/2008, 10:19 PM
bohs system is a bit like irelands when u think about it.
You dont seem to think before you post, christ knows how you came up with this latest non sequitor
Dalymountrower
23/11/2008, 10:27 PM
It was probably one of the best games seen this year in the league, fair play to bohs on winning the double, but we'll be back next year stronger and more determined thought we played some great football today and our midfield had the better of boh's
I agree Flexy, thought it was a fascianating evenly balanced match, your midfield was better on breaking through and supporting the mostly single front man. Amazed that you werent closer to us in points at the end of the season, Derry were easily the 2nd best team this season and would reckon they will be there or thereabots to win next year . Word of praise for the left sided midfielder Grey.
rebelarmyexile
23/11/2008, 11:18 PM
From the RTE website, at least they consider the attendance impressive!
Pat Fenlon's men came out best following the first ever FAI Cup final penalty shoot-out after 120 minutes of football failed to separate two very evenly matched sides in front of an impressive crowd of 10,281.
NavanBohs
24/11/2008, 12:15 AM
Derry outnumering Bohs 4 to 1 :D
Fairly even support from both sides. Cant believe there was only 10,200 there, if that ground holds 16-18,000 then theres no way there were 6-8000 empty seats.
And as for our crowd being quiet...are you being serious?? the grandstand was rocking throughout. We couldnt actually hear the Derry support at all, except for a few faint drum beats, and Im not even ripping the **** there, maybe they couldnt hear us from their end either.
Great day out, Dalyer was mental tonight
:ball:
SwanVsDalton
24/11/2008, 1:08 AM
Just landed back in London after a long, disappointing day so I'll throw in my thruppence.
Well done Bohs. More clinical, composed and hard-edged when you needed to be - it was a winners mentality. We gave it are all and, IMO, shaded it in terms of how the two teams played. But all that counts is that you got the result and congratulations for that.
Thought Buttimer had a fairly poor game and, sorry, it was never a penalty against Morrow - he misheads it into the ground and the ball plays off his hands. What footballer on this earth would be able to get his hands out of the way in that split second?
But that's the way it crumbles - nothing really went for us today. We even managed to lose all three coin tosses. It wasn't to be but I'm proud of the team, I think we played the better football and we were desperately unlucky.
BTW was RTE has Niall McGinn as MOTD is that official? He didn't have a great game by his standard this season and he blew 5 chances on goal. Just on the City team I'd have had Doherty, Deery, Molloy, Farren, Morrow and Big Clive (who hopefully changed a few minds today) ahead of him.
The Sheliban
24/11/2008, 1:23 AM
No argument with the comments over the unpunished bad tackles, but I thought the penalty definitely was a penalty.
Its one thing someone firing a shot at you from three feet away and the ball hits your hand - no way of avoiding it.
However, the ball swings over from a corner and you make a hames of it, then I reckon its a penno, whether intentional or not. Hard luck but you take your oil.
24/11/2008, 1:59 AM
I was at the game and thought there was more Derry fans at the game and they were also making more noise. It was a great game and great atmoshere.
24/11/2008, 4:12 AM
Going back to the Deegan challenge that he was cautioned for (I was at the game itself in the Grandstand - so only saw it in real time) - I know for a fact that referees in England (and I would have also thought Ireland) are directed that if a challenge comes in two footed - but gets nothing but the ball (i.e. a clean challange but made with two feet) - then it's a yellow card. If same type of challenge connects with the player first, then it's a red.
Just in Dublin Airport atm waiting for a flight to Birmingham in an hour - a great day out - a decent game of football. Quite a bad wind blowing through the RDS (it was actually colder than it was when I was in Norway two weekends ago!).
Couldn't hear the band at all for the anthem - good support from all involved, and a good way to seal the season.
Straightstory
24/11/2008, 8:47 AM
Great game. Derry deserved to win. Murphy should be in Irish squad. Pathetic attendance. Barely 10,000 for Irish football's showpiece and biggest day of the year. Makes me despair. There should be 30,000 at our cup final.
24/11/2008, 8:56 AM
Great contest. Great atmosphere. Both sides and both sets of fans a credit to the game.
Pity about the unsporting whining led by Kenny and the blatant RTE bias and incompetence, but at Bohs we've become used to that.
24/11/2008, 9:41 AM
Couldn't hear the band at all for the anthemThis was very noticable on the TV, there were at least three bits of the anthem being sung at the same time at one stage.
24/11/2008, 10:07 AM
Out of curiosity were any of the Irish management team at the game? Trap, Tardelli, Brady? I'd imagine they would have been impressed by Murphy, apart from a few dodgy kicks he was excellent.
ger121
24/11/2008, 10:18 AM
I was at the game and thought there was more Derry fans at the game and they were also making more noise. It was a great game and great atmoshere.
Would say it was around 50/50. Though have to say I was in the middle of the Grandstand and the Derry fans where making all the noise. Where also a lot more colourful. (Must have been some run on Santa Suits in Derry)
24/11/2008, 10:19 AM
This was very noticable on the TV, there were at least three bits of the anthem being sung at the same time at one stage.None of them by Sammy Morrow.... :D
24/11/2008, 10:34 AM
Around Ballsbridge before the game it looked like Derry would seriously outnumber Bohemians but once inside the ground it was about 50/50 alright..
Candystripe
24/11/2008, 10:58 AM
A great game, Derry played very well and the final ball a few times let our superiority down.
50/50 crowd. Can't coment on who were the loudest as I was in section D of the Angelsea stand so obviously only heard ourselves naturaly.
Deegans tackle was terrible and a red card 90% of the time.
Was disgusted with the two pen decisions by a ref who lost the plot.
Bohs took there chances and we didn't take ours..............end off!
Congratulations Bohs on winning the double, but you's know in your heart that you's got out of jail.
Murphy has to be called up to the Irish squad as everytime I've seen him he has been brilliant.
Like another Derry fan I though McGinn didn't have a great game compared to his normal and made a few wrong decisions when a pass was the better one.
Can anyone see why we reckon big Clive has been a good player for us this season as he has been very steady all season apart from the odd cockup.