View Full Version : 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.
Pages :
[
10]
As an aside re the crowds - one thing that surprised me.
At one point during the game I looked over to the Bohs section of the Grandstand, and every single fan in sight was sitting down. I then looked around the Derry side and every fan in sight was standing up. I looked over at the Anglesea, and the situation seemed to be the same over there.
At 3 other times during the game I made a point of doing this comparison again, and the situation was the same - every Bohs fan sitting, every City fan standing.
Says a lot.
Bullsh!t!:rolleyes:
bohs til i die
24/11/2008, 9:10 PM
He would have made the correct call if he waved play on
I somehow dont think you'd be saying this if it had happened.
Well I was in the south stand and seen the incident clearly. I couldnt believe it then and still cannot believe it, but thats football. You were probably far away when watching from the stands, so I wouldnt argue with you shouting for it then. But when the replays are shown, clearly shows it was never a peno. I have no doubt had the shoe been on the other foot you would have said it was never a peno.
SwanVsDalton
24/11/2008, 9:42 PM
I'd expect a bit of a moan but with it a well done. Remember: it's supposed to be a sport.
I think most agree that Derry shaded it over the 120 -- just. We had as many shots on target; your keeper kept you in it at vital moments. The penalties etc. are debatable, and IMO you lot got away with murder in the tackles. And so on, as we have seen, ad nauseum.
What certainly is not justified is the Derry shriekfest that has ensued. Undignified and distinctly lacking in class.
Talk about overdramatic. Most Derry fans have been accepting of the result whilst posting that, in their opinion, they felt hard done by. Any football fan in our position would say the same.
Most (even the ones who have been most vocal on Buttimer) have also congratulated Bohs on winning the cup. Reading this thread it sounds like some want Bohs fans would like everyone in the league to stop what their doing and immediately salute 'the greatest side that ever strode across LOI turf'...;)
And I repeat, never a penalty. Seriously in the split second between mis-heading the ball into the ground Morrow moved his hands out in front of himself and 'caught' the ball? Holy moly...if roles were reversed I would have no qualms in saying 'no peno'. But, of course, that's just because me (and everyone else) are Derry fans.
But that's football. See yous again next season, minus Buttimer with any luck.
sligored
24/11/2008, 9:44 PM
as a neutral in this i have a lot of sympathy for derry in the penalty decisions as i believe hearys tackle was clumsy but you could understand a ref not giving it if he is not 100% sure.
However i cant for the life of me understand why buttimer gave the pen against morrow.
the only thing i will say about buttimer is that i can understand why he made fenlon wear a bib as his coat clashed with the bohs colours - as a former linesman at a fairly high level it could have resulted in confusion on an offside decision when the lino was looking across the line.
it is for this reason that subs are made warm up at the end behind the linesman.
it did not matter what colour kenny was wearing as the lino was facing away from him
however i would like to congratulate bohs on a magnificent achievement and feel this crap about them playing unattractive football is wide of the mark.
special word of congrats for rossi and liam burns.
I hope you watched MNS tonight to realise just how wrong you are on this....
i dont understand how you and so many others cant seem to understand why it was a penno??? its not rocket science, you might say morrow did not gain an advantage by it hitting his hands... if the ball had been crossed in and hit him i could understand this line of thinking (although you see those given as pens every week too) but he brought it on himself, he headed the ball onto himself and when it hit his hands he did gain an advantage as it enabled him to clear it. not the huge controversy everyone making it out to be, the ref was well within his rights to give it and bohs fans would have felf very aggrieved it it had not been given
bohs til i die
24/11/2008, 9:59 PM
Well I was in the south stand and seen the incident clearly. I couldnt believe it then and still cannot believe it, but thats football. You were probably far away when watching from the stands, so I wouldnt argue with you shouting for it then. But when the replays are shown, clearly shows it was never a peno. I have no doubt had the shoe been on the other foot you would have said it was never a peno.
If youve read what i have said on here, from watching it several times on TV it is a stone wall penalty. The ball would have been around his head if he hadnt blocked it down with both hands enabling him to clear it. Thats a clear advantage gained by him and im amazed nobody else can see why he gained a considerable advantage from it, including the so called experts on RTE.
24/11/2008, 10:07 PM
And I repeat, never a penalty. Seriously in the split second between mis-heading the ball into the ground Morrow moved his hands out in front of himself and 'caught' the ball?
Having seen the replay, I beg to differ. Stonewall, cut and dried, definitive penalty.
Incidentally, contrary to the misunderstanding you seem keen to foster, not all Derry fans have joined in the mass injustice industry. In among the sad santas, quite a few decent, sporting fans made it their business to offer no-quibble congrats to Bohs fans outside the RDS afterwards. Most of the hot air has been in print and in TV studios and, of course, on foot.ie.
GalwayRed
24/11/2008, 10:08 PM
Both sides deserved to have a penalty. No doubt Morrow was tripped i dont know why Bohs fans are trying to argue that one. Can understand derry fans being annoyed at the penalty that was given but i have to disagree with the pundits. Morrow did gain an advantage in handling the ball even if it was ball to hand it still made his job of clearing the ball easier as the ball hitting his hand allowed it to bounce down to a nice height to boot the ball clear. Have to admit that at first i thought it was the wrong decision but looking at it again i hink the ref was right.
Both sets of supporters were fantastic despite the fact neither set of fans wants to admit the other were well supported
SwanVsDalton
25/11/2008, 12:18 AM
Having seen the replay, I beg to differ. Stonewall, cut and dried, definitive penalty.
Incidentally, contrary to the misunderstanding you seem keen to foster, not all Derry fans have joined in the mass injustice industry.
Eh? I wouldn't really label what I posted as fostering, especially next to comments like 'Derry shriekfest'. But this forum does feature a lot of 'hot air' as you pointed out. ;)
As for the peno I honestly don't see how anyone could say it was stonewall...but that'll go round and round so I'll leave it at that.
Dalymountrower
25/11/2008, 8:42 AM
Looking back on the game again I can see how Buttimer gave the penalty and non penalty decisions , he also , to a fault , tried to let the game flow and so allowed a lot of ankle crunching tackles and played advantage or ignored them. In fairness to both teams no players started rolling around in agony when they were hit.
I think both clubs should be proud of their respective players and their respective fans, despite the copious neat vodka being consumed around the ground there were no notable incidents of physical aggression between sets of supporters, despite the laughable FAI "segregation"
Anyone notice the bizarre accoustics in the RDS? In the middle of the Grandstand you could hear only the Derry fans , step 10 yards to your left and you could only hear the Bohs fans. Listen to the TV coverage and you can only hear Derry fans, look at the Youtube coverage of the penalties and theres little or no cheering when Derry score and the opposite when Murphy saves etc.
Candystripe
25/11/2008, 2:40 PM
Is this the first ever cup final in europe that there was no toss of a coin to decide which end the penalties were taken?
As for the two penalty decisions, "ball to hand is not an infringement" according to the FIFA website in the rules of the game section.
"an illegal tackle in the box" is a penalty according to the same website, so that is why Derry fans were p1ssed off.
No one is accusing Bohs of cheating, it's just that Buttimer made some wrong calls including some which went against Bohs as well.
Looks like Bohs fans just can't admit that they got the rub of the green in the most important calls.
25/11/2008, 2:49 PM
From a neutral point of view, it was a great game. Derry shaded it I felt, but i wouldn't say they were robbed, and I thought that there should have been NO penalties in the game. The one given was a shocker of a decision, as the handball was absolutely and obviously unintentional.
dublinred
25/11/2008, 2:59 PM
Can't even beleive Buttimer got to even ref the final this is the same tool who made a joke of the league on the opening day of the season at the pats v Sligo rovers game , his refereeing skills defo are not up to cup final standard and it showed badly again on sunday.
25/11/2008, 3:20 PM
Is this the first ever cup final in europe that there was no toss of a coin to decide which end the penalties were taken?
Because tossing a coin to decide which end is to be used would be against the Procedures stated in the Laws of the Game:
Kicks from the Penalty Mark
• The referee chooses the goal at which the kicks will be taken
• The referee tosses a coin and the team whose captain wins the toss
As far as I remember - it was an amendment to Law which was proposed - but not voted in by the International FA Board (the body which lays down the Laws)
As for the two penalty decisions, "ball to hand is not an infringement" according to the FIFA website in the rules of the game section.
"an illegal tackle in the box" is a penalty according to the same website, so that is why Derry fans were p1ssed off.
No one is accusing Bohs of cheating, it's just that Buttimer made some wrong calls including some which went against Bohs as well.
Looks like Bohs fans just can't admit that they got the rub of the green in the most important calls.
first of all there was a toss to decide where the pens were taken or maybe 1st pen taker
second of all that was not ball to hand, if the ball had been crossed in and hit him directly it would have been, morrow headed the ball into the ground then almost caught it enabling him to clear it, gained an advantage therefore not ball to hand
inchicore_saint
25/11/2008, 4:00 PM
Brought my nephews to the match.Great game and atmosphere but Derry were robbed.
25/11/2008, 4:10 PM
Bullsh!t!:rolleyes:
A considered and well argued response there Leejo....:rolleyes:
Bullsh!t how ? As in the Bohs fans I saw sitting down as far as the eye could see were really just midgets standing up, and the City fans were really just tall people sitting down ? Or bullsh!t as you don't like to hear something like this, regardless of the fact it's true.... ? :confused:
well it is complete crap to be fair, i was in the grandstand, didnt see 1 person sitting down... suprised ye derry fans are in any position to comment on what the bohs fans were doing didnt think you would be able to see them over that chip on your shoulder
I gave the response your posts deserved, because - it is a blatant lie.
Do you honestly thinks every single Bohs fan was sitting down while ever single Derry fan was standing up for the 90 minutes. Or did you happen to skip over the last 3 blocks of the grandstand where the NBB/BSC/random singers were? Talk about being bitter! :rolleyes:
Apart from a pocket of fans in the Anglesea stand, behind the goal and possibly down the far end of the grandstand as well (I couldn't see that far as i was down the other end in the singing section - standing ironically) Derry fans were sitting.
No mention of the fact that when your side were collecting their medals they came around and appealed our fans because lo and behold the 100,000 Derry fans had all left. That's not to take away from the Derry fans though, the drum banging, GAA jerseys and Santa suits really showed you for the bell-ends you are.
Candystripe
25/11/2008, 6:11 PM
Anyone notice the bizarre accoustics in the RDS? In the middle of the Grandstand you could hear only the Derry fans , step 10 yards to your left and you could only hear the Bohs fans. Listen to the TV coverage and you can only hear Derry fans, look at the Youtube coverage of the penalties and theres little or no cheering when Derry score and the opposite when Murphy saves etc.
They obviously started singing properly for the first time during the pens.
Thankyou for confirming that even in the middle of the Grandstand that you could only hear Derry.
I just watched the pens from a video a Bohs fan made.
I know most keepers come of their line but waaaaaooooooooo go to 2.12 in this and that is amazing how Murphy got away with that!
http://fr.youtube.com/watch?v=BNz3nZXinO0&feature=related
http://www.extratime.ie/media/extratime/imageupload/FAI-Ford-3.jpg
bell-ends Leejo? surely not!
They obviously started singing properly for the first time during the pens.
Thankyou for confirming that even in the middle of the Grandstand that you could only hear Derry.
I know most keepers come of their line but waaaaaooooooooo go to 2.12 in this and that is amazing how Murphy got away with that!
And thank you for confirming Derry fans are bitter and very, very, very, bad losers.
Goalkeeper in a steps off his line shocker! fookin hell he's not the first and certainly won't be the last to get away with it. Get over yourself, it happens all the time.
Candystripe
25/11/2008, 6:42 PM
Yes there were a while lot of Derry fans dressed in Santa suits. One of the reasons were it was a charity fundraiser for "Children in crossfire"and "Mc Millan cancer".
We broke the world record last dec when getting over 13,000 dressed up in the city centre easily beating the Las Vegas and Liverpools attempts.
I still wouldn't wear it at a cup final though. :)
Candystripe
25/11/2008, 6:46 PM
And thank you for confirming Derry fans are bitter and very, very, very, bad losers.
Goalkeeper in a steps off his line shocker! fookin hell he's not the first and certainly won't be the last to get away with it. Get over yourself, it happens all the time.
Here is a site that might interest Bohs.
http://www.lisney.com/
wexfordned
25/11/2008, 6:49 PM
Thats something that happens 9 times out of ten when penalties are taken in every league in the world. How many times do refs call the goalies on it, very very few.
You really are getting desperate now looking for reasons to have a go at ref,bohs etc.
Ref made some dodgy calls for both sides, deal with it for f**ks sake. In the end it came down to penalties. Both sides got 5 each. Not the refs fault you missed twice.
We broke the world record last dec when getting over 13,000 dressed up in the city centre easily beating the Las Vegas and Liverpools attempts.
Well aren't you just great. Now explain to me what that has to do with the cup final?
Here is a site that might interest Bohs.
http://www.lisney.com/
Same with this, what exactly has it got to do with the cup final? Just shows you up for being what you are, Bitter.
Know when you're wrong sunshine and take a lesson from Niall McGinn, at least he has a touch of class about him congratulating Bohs 3 times in his interview and not once complained. You and your bitter little friends could learn a lesson or 2 from him.
25/11/2008, 6:57 PM
The cops came up the steps to try to make us move out of the aisle and failed. Then the stewards tried, and failed. Everyone at our end of the grandstand was standing.
And as for singing Candystripe, you bitter little minnow, we sang throughout the game and for the record I couldn't hear a peep out of you apart from after your goals.
Candystripe
25/11/2008, 7:13 PM
The cops came up the steps to try to make us move out of the aisle and failed. Then the stewards tried, and failed. Everyone at our end of the grandstand was standing.
And as for singing Candystripe, you bitter little minnow, we sang throughout the game and for the record I couldn't hear a peep out of you apart from after your goals.
So, if we are "minnows" does that mean every club in Ireland are also minnows except the mighty Bohs?
There is singing like Bohs fans http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=4K8wr9JnbDs
and then there is singing like Derry fans http://fr.youtube.com/watch?v=J9V3u5yaI_8
http://fr.youtube.com/watch?v=yoyQ6i3jXYo&feature=related
SwanVsDalton
25/11/2008, 7:17 PM
Yada yada yada. It was a great game played in a great atmosphere and both sets of fans were, for the most part, gracious in both defeat and victory. End of.
25/11/2008, 8:27 PM
Yada yada yada. It was a great game played in a great atmosphere and both sets of fans were, for the most part, gracious in both defeat and victory. End of.
This is getting scarily like some sort of IrishLeagueForums thread.......
Lock it now.
25/11/2008, 8:45 PM
Agree with Maribor...time to lock the thread.
Same auld sh!te post after post after post....embarassing at this point. :rolleyes:
Candystripe
26/11/2008, 3:02 AM
Okay, no point as Bohs fans just wont see the truth!
the truth is we have the cup.
Lock away.
jakestephens
26/11/2008, 6:27 AM
As an aside re the crowds - one thing that surprised me.
At one point during the game I looked over to the Bohs section of the Grandstand, and every single fan in sight was sitting down. I then looked around the Derry side and every fan in sight was standing up. I looked over at the Anglesea, and the situation seemed to be the same over there.
At 3 other times during the game I made a point of doing this comparison again, and the situation was the same - every Bohs fan sitting, every City fan standing.
Says a lot.
If i pay 25 euro for a ticket and want to sit down and watch a match then thats what ill do, If you want to pay 25 euro and stand then so be it! Cup finals are won on the pitch, not by the amount of people who are standing at the game. The fact you actually made it your business 3 TIMES during the game to see how many where standing and how many weren't is pathetic! My seat was right beside the derry fans in the grandstand and they where great craic and a credit to there club, pity there's people like you to p**s and moan about something completely irrelevant to the outcome of the game!
cheech
26/11/2008, 8:16 AM
........lo and behold the 100,000 Derry fans had all left. That's not to take away from the Derry fans though, the drum banging, GAA jerseys and Santa suits really showed you for the bell-ends you are.
Ha ha ha ha!
That is funny.