View Full Version : Keith Fahey

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

WexCar
31/01/2009, 4:01 PM
starts on the bench for game at sheffield wednesday.

game starts at 5.20 and is live on SkySports 1

irishultra
31/01/2009, 6:15 PM
in the midst of mindless long balls and generally lack of composure, fahey came into his own. brilliant watching him when he actually got the ball, so composed, a real irish underage style ball player player who normally never make it.

31/01/2009, 6:29 PM
Sigh! 93rd minute equalised for Birmingham :mad: One or two nice touches from Fahey when he came on. O'Connor and Potter for Wednesday didn't impress me.

FarBeag
31/01/2009, 6:29 PM
Came on for the last 20 mins or so.Changed the game imo.Very good use of the ball ,brought other players into the game and got stuck in when needed. I would love to see him get a full game.

31/01/2009, 6:51 PM
Obviously 'm biased but I think he made more telling passes in his 15 minutes or so than the rest of the two teams put together. He's played a part in all 4 games he's been eligible for so far and interestingly Birmingham haven't conceded a goal when he's been on and have scored 4. Bouzza misses next week so he'll probably get his 2nd start. Around 50 or so Pats fans heading over for a **** up

14/02/2009, 3:42 PM
Just scored for the Brums. Meant to be good!

tommy_c12000
14/02/2009, 3:47 PM
Just scored for the Brums. Meant to be good!
Saw that alrite. "A cross is delivered by Keith Fahey, Keith Fahey gets on the score sheet with a goal from close range to the top right corner of the goal." - BBC Sport. Fair play to him

Razors left peg
14/02/2009, 3:47 PM
He's not going to score and I don't expect him to score anything in the championship this season.

He'll drop out of the first team before long, then when Birmingham get promoted he'll get offloaded on loan to some crappy SPL side where he'll continue to look awful before getting released on a free and rejoining pats.

quality forecasting!!

tommy_c12000
14/02/2009, 3:57 PM
Sounds like a quality goal. This is from de forum.
"Guys guys guys - that was best Blues goal I've seen at home in a long while.

Fahey from a ridiculous angle - runs in from left down byeline infront of Tilton and chips keeper - looked impossible - he was almost on the line but just curled inside the far post - confidence and quality- just what we've been lacking.

He ran off with his hand cupped over his mouth as it to say 'look what I've just done!'
Set your Sky Plus for later"

Saint_Charlie
14/02/2009, 4:02 PM

Delighted for him. Take note Trap!

kingdomkerry
14/02/2009, 4:05 PM
How much did pats get for him?

14/02/2009, 4:07 PM
fair play the lad. Great news. Suddenly the barstoolers will be asking questions...

irishultra
14/02/2009, 4:11 PM
and th could have been watching his talent in their own league for the last 5 years.

seriously well done ciaran, your judgement astounds me.

Saint_Charlie
14/02/2009, 4:11 PM
How much did pats get for him?

300k.

Rises by another 400k if Brum are promoted and Fats plays 60% of games.

kingdom hoop
14/02/2009, 4:16 PM
Suddenly the barstoolers will be asking questions...

Well in fairness I'm sure everyone would like to know how much he'll cost in Fantasy Football next year if Birmingham get promoted.

Buller
14/02/2009, 4:17 PM
Where's Ciaran?! :rolleyes:

Originally Posted by Ciaran

He's not going to score and I don't expect him to score anything in the championship this season.

He'll drop out of the first team before long, then when Birmingham get promoted he'll get offloaded on loan to some crappy SPL side where he'll continue to look awful before getting released on a free and rejoining pats.

You based all that on the fact that he came from the LOI... bravo! You've probably never even seen him play. He's quality.

sligofan4ever
14/02/2009, 4:26 PM
Yes, but only briefly.
Hey if I'm wrong I'll hold my hands up and admit it, I'm very rarely wrong when it comes to judging players though. ;)

Were waiting :).

Supreme feet
14/02/2009, 5:17 PM
Glad to see Fahey doing well. Chris McCann also scored today for Burnley, and Michael Doyle got one in the FA Cup against Blackburn - and got MOTM, apparently. All good news.

soccerc
14/02/2009, 5:36 PM

15/02/2009, 12:45 AM
Some very interesting comments from the B'ham city fans message board forum:

"Today there was a light, a very bright light in the darkness of St Andrews. Maybe the manager is staring to notice this light? Fahey was like a breath of fresh air, head always up when the ball was at his feet, always in space when we had the ball and more than willing to track back and cover when we didn’t! If only we had another 10 with a similar attitude, his goal I am told was deliberate and not an attempted cross as I 1st thought!!"

"Fahey may be the bloke we've needed in midfield for about 30 years."

"Keith Fahey: We've got a player on our hands. I only wish he (or someone like him) had been here all season, things would have been so much different. He looks a bit lightweight and I doubt he'd make too much of an impression in the prem but that's a debate for another day, possibly. I thought he meant his goal but I accept that it's up for debate. If he did mean it then it's the greatest goal I've seen down the Blues since??? since??? Larsson's against Sheff W on the last home game of the last season we were in this division I suppose, if not longer."

"Fahey looks a class act, and he must be given a starting position against Coventry. I would like to see him and Carsley in central midfield. I know my dislike of anything to do with Bowyer is coloring my judgement, but I think Fahey is the future for Blues, and we should play him in his natural position."

"Fahey is already proving to be a very good signing and just what we needed."

15/02/2009, 7:45 AM
Sunday Times says it looked suspiciously like an attempted cross. Might vindicate Ciaran :)

Fair play to the lad. I hope he continues to do well for many reasons, not least because we could do with an elegant athletic midfielder in the Ireland team but also just to continue to show that the domestic game is capable of nurturing talent if they remain at home for long enough (Ok, I know that Fahey has been to the UK and back but the LOI was certainly pivotal in his development and a good enough shop window for those prepared to look).

robertob
15/02/2009, 8:00 AM
Great - The first goal for Fahey! I was really happy when I saw it yesterday in the liveticker.

Btw: Anywhere a video with his goal?

15/02/2009, 8:02 AM
I expect it'll be on ITV's "The Championship" this morning, and SKY's Football League Review which is shown a few times during the week.

15/02/2009, 10:24 AM
Just saw the goal on ITV, no replays. Looks to me like he definitely meant it. Beautiful poked lob.

Keen2win
15/02/2009, 10:26 AM
Haha its just after being on The Championship.

Id say it was a shot and it was some goal :D

brianw82
15/02/2009, 10:27 AM
Just saw it too. Class goal, whether he meant it or not!

Saint07
15/02/2009, 10:46 AM
definitely meant it, quality goal!!!

15/02/2009, 11:06 AM
Just saw the goal on ITV, no replays. Looks to me like he definitely meant it. Beautiful poked lob.
He said himself that he did not mean it.

Anyway, Birmingham fans giving him high praise after his performance yesterday. Most people on their forum say that he has to start in the middle for them next week.

Hibs4Ever
15/02/2009, 11:50 AM
He said himself that he did not mean it.

Depends on who you believe. He told the other players after the game he meant it

15/02/2009, 12:29 PM
Just saw the goal by Keith Faaaahey on Sky Sports, great goal, muppet of a commentator.

15/02/2009, 4:05 PM
Definitely meant it, there was no one else in the box

livehead1
15/02/2009, 4:26 PM
Definitely meant it, there was no one else in the box

Wouldn't be the first time an Irish player crossed the ball into an empty box though would it...

15/02/2009, 5:04 PM
Nope, one of the few times an irishman has chipped the keeper though

15/02/2009, 6:59 PM
Peach of a goal whether he meant it or not :)

cheifo
15/02/2009, 11:09 PM
Based on what we saw from the fella last season its not difficult to believe he is capable of intentionally scoring like that.

seanfhear
16/02/2009, 7:19 AM
It looked like he meant it to me and it was a cracking goal.

16/02/2009, 7:35 AM
KUNP00HOkk8

16/02/2009, 7:53 AM
There was no-one in there to cross to, looks like he meant it.

GLad to see him get off to a good start, anyone who say him play last season knew that he was well capable of holding his own in the Championship, anyone who didn't see him play and made sweeping statements based on his being an LoI player is probably going to avoid this thread for the forseeable future.

16/02/2009, 8:37 AM
There was no-one in there to cross to, looks like he meant it.
:confused: They were at least two Birmingham players in the box (that could be seen anyway). He's said more than once that he was trying to cross it. Don't know how anyone can still try and claim he meant it.

16/02/2009, 8:50 AM
:confused: They were at least two Birmingham players in the box (that could be seen anyway). He's said more than once that he was trying to cross it. Don't know how anyone can still try and claim he meant it.

Where are these claims? he told some people I know that he meant it. The one interview I heard he was asked did he mean it and he just laughed.

16/02/2009, 11:20 AM
Birmingham boss Alex McLeish said Fahey's 75th-minute lobbed goal was worthy of Barcelona's Lionel Messi, but the 25-year-old Irishman admitted: 'I didn't really mean it, I was just trying to put it into the zone and I was lucky it went in. It was definitely a cross.'

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1146070/Birmingham-City-2-Nottingham-Forest-0-Fahey-fluke-Blues-lift.html

16/02/2009, 11:21 AM
Right so

BTW the messi thing is laughable (even if he meant it)

Nice little finish but FFS

16/02/2009, 11:34 AM
To be honest if I was Fahey I'd be claiming I meant it :) he'll learn!

16/02/2009, 2:27 PM
whatever about whether he meant it, his touch to bring the ball under control was lovely.

The Brum fans says he's lightweight but if they've seen any of our other midfielders they'd see he's a relative giant.

16/02/2009, 2:44 PM
Did he change his name by deed poll when he went to Birmingham

It would be great if Reading, Wolves Birmingham all got promoted

Hunt
Hunt
Doyle
Long
Gleeson
Ward
Foley
Keogh
C. Doyle
Carsley
Fahey

Have I left anybody out

Saying that Preston have a few Irish lads also in Nolan Elliot and St Ledger and Burnley have Mc Cann

Hibs4Ever
16/02/2009, 2:49 PM
Have I left anybody out

Birmingham's reserve 'keeper is Colin Doyle

16/02/2009, 2:51 PM
http://www.blues.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,10412~1559191,00.html

16/02/2009, 3:01 PM
Wolves are in relegation form at the moment.

16/02/2009, 3:14 PM
So were Birmingham before Saturday.

Billsthoughts
16/02/2009, 8:25 PM
I seen him play against sheff wed a few weeks back and I thought he more than held his own. good to see him get a goal.