View Full Version : Keith Fahey

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

16/08/2009, 10:11 PM
However, McCann is defnitely more a Trap style midfielder and if he does well (he looked decent yesterday) then he should get a call up. Maybe Fahey could fill a hole in one of the wide positions. At the moment only Duff looks good in the wide roles.

There's no doubt that McCann is more the type of midfielder that Trapp likes. Thats a shame though

Billsthoughts
16/08/2009, 10:32 PM
does youngirish fancy mccann or what?

I thought fahey did quite well today he was neat and tidy on the ball. he was playing man united the day after arsenal trounced everton. he will be a bit more adventorous against other teams. united closed him down fair quick whne he had the ball so they obviously rated him.

16/08/2009, 11:45 PM
McCann is more an all round midfielder than Fahey, who is probably a little more creative. Both decent prospects but McCann is likely to improve as he is still very young.

Hibernian
17/08/2009, 12:19 AM
Taught he was decent today have to say

Only thing is he seems a bit petty pushing away Berba at one stage and having spat off with Fletcher when he got booked and also digging with Evra.

Seems to be a Robbie Savage type of attitude by what I saw, but decent game all same like said

Colbert Report
17/08/2009, 12:50 AM
He must be in with a shot for the Ireland squad at this point. I was very much a Fahey skeptic until I saw him play today against Manchester United, the biggest team in England and probably the world.

17/08/2009, 9:09 AM
Only thing is he seems a bit petty pushing away Berba at one stage and having spat off with Fletcher when he got booked and also digging with Evra.

Seems to be a Robbie Savage type of attitude by what I saw, but decent game all same like said

Sign of confidence I thought. He was clearly kicked late by Fletcher (who was booked). Fahey did't do anything that any single midfielder wouldn't do.

Roy Keane made a nice career out of it

17/08/2009, 9:15 AM
his fitness would be better now and he would be alot sharper playing against better players every week.... you cannot ask someone to go from playing against the likes of Sligo or Galway etc to play against Italy in a vital world cup qualifer.... and I say that as a LOI season ticket holder

I think this is a valid point but isnt it great to see yet another player successfully making the move over from LOI to EPL/Championship. Of all the Irish players with promoted teams, I think Fahey is going to get better and better as the season goes on.

I mean from the perspective of that the standard in the LOI has undoubtedly increased in recent years. Having watched a little of the Celtic game the other day, I would strongly argue that at least the top 4/5 teams in the LOI would pose a greater challenge to Rangers/Celtic in the SPL than the other team in it.

shaneker
17/08/2009, 10:55 AM
He should have been in. Only country in the world where a player performing at an elite level in the national league wouldn't even be considered for a place and all because of the British centric mentality that Irish football has.

I'm suprised more LOI fans have absolutely no time for the National team.

As far as I'm concerned a stronger picking players based on players playing in National League culture is needed. If a player is playing in the lower divisions of English football he shouldn't be considered over a player in LOI. Couldn't even imagine Norway picking English second division players.

Seriously, have you ever even been to a foreign country? Watched football there, spoken to their fans? 'Only in Ireland, only in Ireland, only in Ireland.' Get over it - it's arse. Where I live, the biggest club is an hours journey away, and every football fan I know supports Chelsea/Arsenal and/or one of the Prague teams (about 2 hours away). You reckon China's domestic clubs get the same interest that AC Milan or Barcelona do? You think the Malaysian national side is selling out their games when Man Utd aren't in town? Look at the Slovakian national side - they pick players from West Brom, AC Cesena (Serie B) and FC Mainz (only just promoted from 2. Bundesliga, the Slovak captain has played for them for 2 years).

I agree with your point about the LOI, it's neglected by the national team and deserves more focus when it comes to picking players. There are talented players in the league - Fahey being the most recent example (as well as Murphy, although I'm mostly basing that on what people on here say). But please lose the deluded self-hating idea that this is specifically an Irish phenomenon. It's not. Other countries follow foreign teams ahead of their own leagues, and other countries pick players in higher quality leagues ahead of their own domestic leagues. It's a shame, and you're right to be annoyed about it as a die-hard LOI fan, but it's not just an Irish thing.

Back on topic - watched the game on a poor stream, but Fahey looked dangerous and tenacious, as well as looking very comfortable on the ball. Definitely didn't look out of his depth at EPL level.

17/08/2009, 2:09 PM
Gustavo is a busy man by the looks of it.

Brendan 82
17/08/2009, 2:12 PM
Gustavo is a busy man by the looks of it.

Nothing like a Keith Fahey thread to spice things up. Fahey has already been the death of one now infamous poster; more may follow

Kildare Lad
17/08/2009, 2:17 PM
Thought Fahey looked very comfortable and calm on the ball, never seemed to panic despite being closed down quickly. Rarely gave away possesion too. Only criticism I have of him is that he runs very close to teammates with the ball alot of the time, in positions where he is a useless target for a pass.

Do people think he will be a regular in the starting XI for Birmingham this season? I'm not an expert now but I didnt think before the season began he would be a regular for them and if Birmingham had only have played 4 in the middle yesterday would he have started?

17/08/2009, 2:24 PM
Stay on topic please lads

17/08/2009, 2:26 PM
Thought Fahey looked very comfortable and calm on the ball, never seemed to panic despite being closed down quickly. Rarely gave away possesion too. Only criticism I have of him is that he runs very close to teammates with the ball alot of the time, in positions where he is a useless target for a pass.

Do people think he will be a regular in the starting XI for Birmingham this season? I'm not an expert now but I didnt think before the season began he would be a regular for them and if Birmingham had only have played 4 in the middle yesterday would he have started?

I think he'll be a regular for them but not neccesarily first choice every week

adamcarr
17/08/2009, 2:51 PM
I think he'll be a regular for them but not neccesarily first choice every week

He'll probably be playing on the left side of midfield, McCleish isn't a big fan of wingers.

17/08/2009, 3:49 PM
Seriously, have you ever even been to a foreign country? Watched football there, spoken to their fans? 'Only in Ireland, only in Ireland, only in Ireland.' Get over it - it's arse. Where I live, the biggest club is an hours journey away, and every football fan I know supports Chelsea/Arsenal and/or one of the Prague teams (about 2 hours away).

But please lose the deluded self-hating idea that this is specifically an Irish phenomenon. It's not. Other countries follow foreign teams ahead of their own leagues, and other countries pick players in higher quality leagues ahead of their own domestic leagues. It's a shame, and you're right to be annoyed about it as a die-hard LOI fan, but it's not just an Irish thing.

Back on topic - watched the game on a poor stream, but Fahey looked dangerous and tenacious, as well as looking very comfortable on the ball. Definitely didn't look out of his depth at EPL level.

i have bolded and underlined the important part of your post. These Czech fans you refer to support either their "local" team or an english team and their local team. The majority of Irish people dont do that, they just support an english side and ignore quality live football only a short trip from their house. Thats very different to what you point out. I have no problem with anyone that supports Liverpool while making frequent trips to see their local team - it demonstrates that they actually enjoy football in all its forms and that, for me, is a good thing. The premiership obsessed Scandanavians, Chinese, Japanese, Australians all follow this trend - they follow an English team but also attend their local leagues games. Again, its different to what you claim is the same problem...

Anyway, fair play to Fahey, im absolutely delighted for him and he is a credit to himself and to the LoI.

DeLorean
17/08/2009, 4:01 PM
they just support an english side and ignore quality live football only a short trip from their house

An awful lot of the people you refer to wouldn't agree with you that it is quality live football.

Anyway, fair play to Fahey, im absolutely delighted for him and he is a credit to himself and to the LoI.

Way to stay on topic;) I concur though.

Junior
17/08/2009, 4:02 PM
i have bolded and underlined the important part of your post. These Czech fans you refer to support either their "local" team or an english team and their local team. The majority of Irish people dont do that, they just support an english side and ignore quality live football only a short trip from their house. Thats very different to what you point out. I have no problem with anyone that supports Liverpool while making frequent trips to see their local team - it demonstrates that they actually enjoy football in all its forms and that, for me, is a good thing. The premiership obsessed Scandanavians, Chinese, Japanese, Australians all follow this trend - they follow an English team but also attend their local leagues games. Again, its different to what you claim is the same problem...

Is the poster not siggesting that they in the main support the big clubs whether they be in Prague or in England, rather than say the local provincial club?

Drumcondra 69er
17/08/2009, 4:18 PM
An awful lot of the people you refer to wouldn't agree with you that it is quality live football.

An awful lot of people who've probably never been to an LOI game.

However, as an LOI season ticket holder I must say that the bleating from some LOI fans on here can be embarrassing at times. Yes, the top end of the LOI is now a reasonable standard but players need to be tested at a higher level week in week out, not for 6 or 7 games a season before they'd be ready for international football. I hope Fahey keeps it up in the EPL and gets his chance but he wasn't ready for it last season regardless of how well he played against Hertha. Particulalry as Trap was trying to mould a group of players devoid of all confidence into something resembling a team at the time.

17/08/2009, 4:31 PM
Yes quite right, it is embarassing. It must be even more so for actual LOI fans who can see this such as yourself drumcondra.

Only saw highlights of the UTD game unfortunately, on BBC MOTD2 and all I saw of fahey was the chance he hit from outside the box. NOw i only saw the highlights, but a lot here have made out he played very well, if thats the case then surely he should have been in more of the highlights or the highlights should have included more of fahey.

17/08/2009, 4:38 PM

But by any reasonable comparison taking into account the difference in results over the last ten years it is at least the level of football similar to domestic leagues that attract good domestic support - Scottish, Swedish, Danish, Austrian.

Way to stay on topic;) I concur though.

erm... thanks... :o

Is the poster not siggesting that they in the main support the big clubs whether they be in Prague or in England, rather than say the local provincial club?

possibly Junior but it can also be read that alot of Czech people go to great lengths to get to a game involving a local club...

kingdom hoop
17/08/2009, 4:49 PM
a lot here have made out he played very well

Hang on. Some people said he played quite well, but I've just read down through the last few pages and only one person said he played very well.

So it would probably be more accurate to say that you're making out he played very well based on people saying he'd a decent game. I watched the first half and that's probably how I'd describe his performance. He played one great pass that I remember and generally was very composed on the ball, making snappy passes and keeping the play moving on the few occasions Birmingham had the ball.

DeLorean
17/08/2009, 4:50 PM
An awful lot of people who've probably never been to an LOI game

I went to a few Cork City matches during the couple of yrs I lived there. Overall I wouldn't have considered the standard all that great. The best I seen them play was in the Setanta Cup against Clifftonville but I'd put that down to the Irish League being a lower level again. Over the two years I was there I saw St. Pat's (1-0), Bohs (0-1), Rovers (1-1), Waterford twice (2-0, 4-0) and in years previous to that I had seen Shelbourne (4-4), Bohs (1-1) and Derry City (1-1). Hardly a die hard fan but would have watched them on TV whenever they were on as well, which more often than not comes across worse than being at the match I accept. All I am saying really is that I don't think one has to be completely ignorant to not have a great love for the LOI.

17/08/2009, 4:55 PM
Only saw highlights of the UTD game unfortunately, on BBC MOTD2 and all I saw of fahey was the chance he hit from outside the box. NOw i only saw the highlights, but a lot here have made out he played very well, if thats the case then surely he should have been in more of the highlights or the highlights should have included more of fahey.
I have the game recorded so I can watch it again but I didn't notice Fahey that much apart from that. Wasn't paying 100% attention though as I was doing other things while watching the match.

Birmingham fan comments for a bit of perspective:
http://bcfcforum.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=53813

18. Keith Fahey - 7.5/10 - A little anonymous at times, but that's him. When he did what he does best he did it brilliantly.

Fahey ~ 8. Showed some really good touches and good intelligence on the ball.

For me, Vignal, Johnson and Fahey were 8's.

Keith Fahey : 8
Great intelligence on the ball - link up play with Carsley and Ferguson was sweet. Like to have seen him go on a run with it and try and take on one or two players though. His long range effort was decent, but we didn't see enough of his forward driving runs.

Fahey ~ 7. Showed some really good touches and good intelligence on the ball.

Keith Fahey : 8 - Looked fantastic last year looked just as good in his first taste of Premier League football, played great alongside Bazza and looked a threat going forward.

Fahey 6, got stuck in and played nice passes. Looks good at this level by didn't get a chance to shine in that role.

http://bcfcforum.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=53809&st=25

Fahey - Splendid Premiership debut by the Irishman ....looks very comfortable on the ball.....wore himself out but so refreshing to see he wasn't overawed by the surroundings....Great game, Keith

http://bcfcforum.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=53806&st=75

Fahey needs to get in the game more, he's not done anything! (at half time I think)

I reckon Fahey was fantastic today.

DeLorean
17/08/2009, 4:58 PM
But by any reasonable comparison taking into account the difference in results over the last ten years it is at least the level of football similar to domestic leagues that attract good domestic support - Scottish, Swedish, Danish, Austrian

Yeah but I think the people who consider the LOI rubbish would have a similar view on these leagues. The thing is it shouldn't really matter too much about the quality in relation to attendances. If I was from Cork City I'm sure I would have developed into a more devout fan just by liking the club so therefore I'd go to the games. For some reason in Ireland people just don't seem to care but that's their choice.

17/08/2009, 4:59 PM
Hang on. Some people said he played quite well, but I've just read down through the last few pages and only one person said he played very well.

So it would probably be more accurate to say that you're making out he played very well based on people saying he'd a decent game. I watched the first half and that's probably how I'd describe his performance. He played one great pass that I remember and generally was very composed on the ball, making snappy passes and keeping the play moving on the few occasions Birmingham had the ball.

Thats it exactly. I think the term I used on another forum was that he looked like he fit in at that level. If you weren't looking out for the ex-LOI player, you couldn't have picked him out.

Razors left peg
17/08/2009, 5:33 PM
I've litterally just 2 minutes ago had a mate of mine tell me that Jay O Sheas performance when he came on is proof that the LOI is crap.When I asked him about Keith Fahey he just shrugged and said that one good game proves nothing..... I swear there are so many so called football fans that havent a clue about football.
This is the same guy though that has sworn to me for ages that Lucas at Liverpool is excellent and will be a massive player this season and that he was Liverpools best player against Spurs on Sunday, so I really dont know why I even bother talkin football with him...

Ok deep breaths.... rant over ...:o

17/08/2009, 6:59 PM
I swear there are so many so called football fans that havent a clue about football.
You'd think out the 400k who are supposed to be playing football week in week out, that there would be an amount of football sense floating about to appreciate that it was an amazing day and debut for Jay O'Shea. Seems like many Irish people in order to manufacture a sense of fandom for a hyped up team in a foreign country, have to deny appreciation of the LOI football at home.

Plus they know nothing :)

17/08/2009, 8:03 PM
I watched him 3 weeks ago in the Carlisle, its pretty amazing to think that within a menstural cycle of the average women he was playing at Old Trafford, its was understandable that his legs resembled those of a young foal taking its first tentative steps. Hopefully Fahey takes him under his wing and helps him settle in. At least two people who have no time for the LOI were talking to me about the LOI because they were amazed that O'Shea was playing in the LOI just a couple of weeks ago, it might just serve to highlight the league a wee bit more.

17/08/2009, 8:18 PM
I watched him 3 weeks ago in the Carlisle, its pretty amazing to think that within a menstural cycle of the average women he was playing at Old Trafford, its was understandable that his legs resembled those of a young foal taking its first tentative steps. Hopefully Fahey takes him under his wing and helps him settle in. At least two people who have no time for the LOI were talking to me about the LOI because they were amazed that O'Shea was playing in the LOI just a couple of weeks ago, it might just serve to highlight the league a wee bit more.

well said all round.

17/08/2009, 8:23 PM
Yeah but I think the people who consider the LOI rubbish would have a similar view on these leagues. The thing is it shouldn't really matter too much about the quality in relation to attendances..

Irish people mightnt rate those leagues particularly highly but that doesnt matter at all when the paying customers in those countries do rate it and attend their domestic game in far higher percentages than Irish people and the LOI. This is the point i am making and it highlights the difference in mentality between the Irish and most other countries when it comes to football. Though having said that i do take on board all your other points.

Drumcondra 69er
17/08/2009, 9:32 PM
Irish people mightnt rate those leagues particularly highly but that doesnt matter at all when the paying customers in those countries do rate it and attend their domestic game in far higher percentages than Irish people and the LOI. This is the point i am making and it highlights the difference in mentality between the Irish and most other countries when it comes to football. Though having said that i do take on board all your other points.

Problem is a huge amount of the Irish soccer public are event junkies. Hence why Dalymount had a sell out with more people present tonight for a game between Bohs reserves and a Liverpool XI made up of players that haven't started shaving yet and who won't get near their first team this season then we had for our Champions League qualifier let alone any league games......

shaneker
18/08/2009, 6:11 AM

You are correct, the local club (in a town of roughly 40,000) gets double figure attendences, although I believe a club on the outskirts of the town may get a hundred or so. To be fair, this is a hockey town. The club an hour away is in the capital city of the region and is also in the top league here, and nobody I know supports them, they all support a big team in Prague (that's the 2-hour journey) and/or an English side (always Arsenal and Chelsea for obvious reasons).

Sorry for the confusion.

18/08/2009, 8:47 AM
I've litterally just 2 minutes ago had a mate of mine tell me that Jay O Sheas performance when he came on is proof that the LOI is crap.When I asked him about Keith Fahey he just shrugged and said that one good game proves nothing..... I swear there are so many so called football fans that havent a clue about football.
This is the same guy though that has sworn to me for ages that Lucas at Liverpool is excellent and will be a massive player this season and that he was Liverpools best player against Spurs on Sunday, so I really dont know why I even bother talkin football with him...

Ok deep breaths.... rant over ...:o

Are they the kinda conversations where you feel like you are flogging a dead horse, and that you end up feeling like you know less about football, and they "think" they know more because they beleive they are a "proper fan" of an English team?!

Razors left peg
18/08/2009, 9:31 AM
Are they the kinda conversations where you feel like you are flogging a dead horse, and that you end up feeling like you know less about football, and they "think" they know more because they beleive they are a "proper fan" of an English team?!

There are a certain type of football fan in Ireland that make u want to scream sometimes.The people that post on this forum are pretty much all Irish fans so I think its hard for us to understand the attitude of some people that would prefer to see Liverpool or United win rather than success for the National team. These same people of course are band wagon jumpers as soon as we qualify for a world cup or something.

I remember one instance in particular where I was watching the Slovakia game in a pub in Galway, when they equalised in the last couple of minutes there were a group of fellas close to me that I would see regularly enough watching Skys Super Sunday in the pub, who started laughing and saying ah sure Ireland are sh1te anyway. To even think of getting fella like that up to support their local LOI side would be impossible.

Dont get me wrong Im a bit of a Man United fan myself so Im not against the Premiership at all. I get friday night in Terryland but while I love the LOI players need to make the step up from it in my opinion if they want to make the breakthrough in the Ireland squad on a regualar basis.So I was over the moon to see Keith Fahey play so well in Old Trafford and Jay o Shea come off the bench to make his debut so soon after leaving the LOI.Jay has a long way to go to be a regular but for someone to say to me that because he didnt play well in the 10 minutes on his debut is proof that the LOI is crap. well its the day after and Im still annoyed as hell about it:)

DeLorean
18/08/2009, 10:32 AM
You're better off just laughing at those guys and using lots of sarcasm to take the p!ss out of them instead of wasting your time and annoying yourself by arguing your points with them. It's not always easy but you'd definitely feel less annoyed at the end of it.

I remember one instance in particular where I was watching the Slovakia game in a pub in Galway, when they equalised in the last couple of minutes there were a group of fellas close to me that I would see regularly enough watching Skys Super Sunday in the pub, who started laughing and saying ah sure Ireland are sh1te anyway

When I was watching the friendly against Norway in a pub last year these fellas came in and looked up at the score. We were leading 1-0 and one of them asked somebody who scored. He was told Robbie Keane and then he said "oh yeah...and the useless c*nt can't score for Liverpool at all", as if scoring for Liverpool was more important to him that scoring for Ireland. The thing is I'm sure the same idiot was probably slagging off Keane the year before when he was playing better for Spurs than Ireland.

Dont get me wrong Im a bit of a Man United fan

I have to ask so- what's the story with the username?

Razors left peg
18/08/2009, 11:01 AM
I have to ask so- what's the story with the username?

Houghtons goal against Italy is my fav Irish goal

DeLorean
18/08/2009, 11:02 AM

Shame on me, Razor Ruddock and his dangerous left peg was in my head.

18/08/2009, 11:05 AM
The "Chipper" :D

MeathDrog
19/08/2009, 2:15 PM
Hopefully for the occasion of it all, not the goal itself. It was a fluke.:D

Razors left peg
19/08/2009, 2:33 PM

it hit the net with the Italian keeper waving at it.... good enough for me:)

19/08/2009, 2:57 PM

was watching that game with the extended family in a pub in Galway and my cousin, depressing Roscommon basterd, refused to celebrate the goal as it was, in his words, "flukey".

The whole country leppin up and down except for one grumpy teenager.

Brendan 82
19/08/2009, 3:31 PM
There are a certain type of football fan in Ireland that make u want to scream sometimes.The people that post on this forum are pretty much all Irish fans so I think its hard for us to understand the attitude of some people that would prefer to see Liverpool or United win rather than success for the National team.

I know someone exactly like this. I was talking to him one day about the Stephen Ireland issue. He was all like: "Sure why would he come back like? Ireland don't have the players so its a waste of his time like." This guy is a massive Liverpool fan, watches them every weekend, never been to a LOI match.

Then after the Italy away draw I saw him playing 5 a side the next day and I go: "Hey good result for Ireland last night wha? well pleased". He goes: "Well they should have won really, I don't think they played well at all like". So if we don't have the players, how could we get an away draw to Italy? Surely this would suggest that the players are at least somewhat decent enough to qualify when they are put together correctly
This makes no sense, it sometimes feels like there are people who want the national side to fail. Why? I don't know. Maybe its so that they don't have to actually support anyone other than the English team who has their loyalty. I guess some of the Irish side might play for a rival professional team in England or something, I don't know really. Baffles me

19/08/2009, 5:19 PM
i have a theory that they are taking their imitation of your local die-hard Liverpool or Man U fan to the next level, i.e. apathy for the national team as you only identify with your club team...

19/08/2009, 6:28 PM
i have a theory that they are taking their imitation of your local die-hard Liverpool or Man U fan to the next level, i.e. apathy for the national team as you only identify with your club team...

that will all change a week before the Italy game.........they'll take a sudden interest in the national side and be begging for a ticket!

irishultra
19/08/2009, 6:58 PM

We're not Irish we are scouse.

On the website IrishKop someone actually said that. :o

irishfan86
20/08/2009, 1:48 PM
I've got to say Fahey didn't look up to much against Portsmouth (a very bad Portsmouth at that).

Maybe it was tiredness after chasing the ball all game against United on the weekend, but never looked dangerous.

Bottom line, as the final match before Friday's squad announcement he did himself no favours.

20/08/2009, 2:14 PM
It will be interesting who will get Millers place in the squad. It cant be Miller as he has no club, surely he cant be in the squad.

Stephen Reid
Chris Mc Cann
Andy Reid
Lee Carsley
Keith Fahey
Stephen Ireland
Owen Garvan

20/08/2009, 2:15 PM
Was there any of the Irish setup at the game?
Or any midweek game for that matter?

MeathDrog
21/08/2009, 2:34 AM
was watching that game with the extended family in a pub in Galway and my cousin, depressing Roscommon basterd, refused to celebrate the goal as it was, in his words, "flukey".

The whole country leppin up and down except for one grumpy teenager.
Haha. I was only 2 at the time. Obviously can't remember. It was a fluke, but who gave a fcuk.

21/08/2009, 9:31 AM
Skstu, where was the depressing roscommon basterd from?! Thats rossies for ye!!