View Full Version : Football Manager 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10

Wangball
19/02/2009, 8:39 AM
Bite me Wangball :mad::p

You love it!:eek:

niallsparky
19/02/2009, 10:48 AM
I do think it's a shame that SI don't regard a proper test cycle as a priority before a release , it makes buying the game before the first patch has been released a frustrating experience

They do though. Fact is that a tester group won't be able to uncover the sort of problems that mass market will.

19/02/2009, 3:28 PM
They do though. Fact is that a tester group won't be able to uncover the sort of problems that mass market will.

Fact is that they tend to rush release the game (ususally for the Christmas market) before it's anywhere near ready and rely on patches to make it more playable afterwards. They're hardly alone in this (Spore anybody?) but it's of the more annoying things about the internet explosion for me. There seems to be no intent to release a bug free, completed game upon first release anymore because, 'shur everybody has the internet and by patch 25 or 26 it'll be more or less done'.

The opening day of FM 09 was an unmitigated farce!

gufc2000
20/02/2009, 9:17 AM
http://www.sortitoutsi.net/ has everything you'd ever need.

Once they are downloaded, how do you actually install them on the game?

Graemerz
20/02/2009, 11:32 AM
Once they are downloaded, how do you actually install them on the game?

create a graphics folder within the Documents/Sports Interactive/Football Manager 2009 folder.

gufc2000
20/02/2009, 10:32 PM
Each time I try to download from www.sortitoutsi.net (http://www.sortitoutsi.net) it keeps coming up as not a specified download file or not a supported file type. Its p##sing me off now

harpstilidie
22/02/2009, 1:42 PM
Each time I try to download from www.sortitoutsi.net (http://www.sortitoutsi.net) it keeps coming up as not a specified download file or not a supported file type. Its p##sing me off now

Have you got Winrar installed on your comp because you have to extract them using it?

gufc2000
22/02/2009, 3:08 PM
Have you got Winrar installed on your comp because you have to extract them using it?
No I don't have that

22/02/2009, 3:11 PM
There's your problem then.

22/02/2009, 5:09 PM

But the testers are logging bugs in pre-release testing - that SI then just ignore or cba to fix.

FM09 is so abysmally bad - and looks like it may get worse with the third patch (based on what a tester has told me) - that I've gone back to FM07 - which when fully patched is a pretty decent game

02/03/2009, 1:17 PM
I've updated the new FM 9.3.0 database update to include the transfers as recorded in the Transfers thread (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=106437) on Foot.ie, correct as of last night.

http://rapidshare.com/files/204401947/LoI_9.3_Update_1-3-09.tar.gz

It's 82mb, use winzip or winrar (fairly standard kit) to put the folder into your "Sports Interactive/Football Manager 2009/data/db/" folder.

Tip/Request: Before launching into a long, many-league proper game, start a quick 1 league game with the League of Ireland and take a look around your team/other teams for any ommissions or mistakes, I haven't changed much apart from the transfers and swapping Mervue, Dundalk, Cobh to the 1st, Prem and A respectively. Pop any suggestions/mistakes into this thread or my PM box and I'll try to fix them.

Rapidshare really is the quickest way to get this but I'll try to get a torrent going later - can't do so in work.

Aaron
02/03/2009, 10:20 PM
I've updated the new FM 9.3.0 database update to include the transfers as recorded in the Transfers thread (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=106437) on Foot.ie, correct as of last night.

It's 82mb, use winzip or winrar (fairly standard kit) to put the folder into your "Sports Interactive/Football Manager 2009/data/db/" folder.

Tip/Request: Before launching into a long, many-league proper game, start a quick 1 league game with the League of Ireland and take a look around your team/other teams for any ommissions or mistakes, I haven't changed much apart from the transfers and swapping Mervue, Dundalk, Cobh to the 1st, Prem and A respectively. Pop any suggestions/mistakes into this thread or my PM box and I'll try to fix them.

Rapidshare really is the quickest way to get this but I'll try to get a torrent going later - can't do so in work.

Doing the same myself, but also creating new young players not in the db. Also getting staff as correct as possible and also the Board as correct as possible.

My db will have Dundalk in the Premier in place of Cobh, with Cobh dropped out alltogether with Mervue in the First Division

02/03/2009, 10:36 PM
Doing the same myself, but also creating new young players not in the db. Also getting staff as correct as possible and also the Board as correct as possible.

My db will have Dundalk in the Premier in place of Cobh, with Cobh dropped out alltogether with Mervue in the First Division

Fair play, if you want to use mine as a base to add the young players into, feel free, consider it GPL'd. Those divisional changes are in there too.

03/03/2009, 11:25 AM
We still have a number of trialists training with the club who will probably get offered contracts this week. Also, although they aren't listed as 'out' in the transfers thread there are a few players in FM who aren't with the club anymore. I'll try and get a definitive player/staff/board list together by the end of the week for Dundalk.

03/03/2009, 3:18 PM
We still have a number of trialists training with the club who will probably get offered contracts this week. Also, although they aren't listed as 'out' in the transfers thread there are a few players in FM who aren't with the club anymore. I'll try and get a definitive player/staff/board list together by the end of the week for Dundalk.

There were a few that had been removed in the latest update (28th Feb) so maybe they're covered.

Having a good up to date Wikipedia entry is a good idea for any club so I'd suggest putting your definitive list there.

niallsparky
03/03/2009, 5:58 PM
Any chance one of you DB editors have been creating a changelist? It would be handy to float it around to some of the big updates that come out from FM Weegie etc. I couldn't count the number of times I had to re-update after downloading one of their updates last season.

juan pablo
03/03/2009, 11:39 PM
Hi all,

Just wondering does anyone know where i can..... how do i say it nicely and discreetly enjoy this game............. find this game online...;) PM me anyone that can help me.

Thanks.

04/03/2009, 11:39 PM
Any chance one of you DB editors have been creating a changelist? It would be handy to float it around to some of the big updates that come out from FM Weegie etc. I couldn't count the number of times I had to re-update after downloading one of their updates last season.

My own edits are almost entirely composed from the Foot.ie transfer thread on March 1st, which in itself is I guess a 'change log'. I'll try to get a change log done, excluding the ones that FM did themselves. Not now though, it's late. One more item for the to-do list!

Hi all,
Just wondering does anyone know where i can..... how do i say it nicely and discreetly enjoy this game............. find this game online...;) PM me anyone that can help me.
Thanks.
http://store.steampowered.com/app/10540/ there you go.

07/03/2009, 2:56 PM

I downloaded the database, good work.

These changes also need to be added in for Dundalk:

Staff:
Our chairman should be changed from Tony O'Kane to Padraig McGowan.
Gerry Scully (assistant manager) is not longer at the club.
John Whyte should be a coach and not assistant manager.
Joe Miller should be appointed as assistant manager.
Jimmy Brown should be added as a coach.

Players:
Morgan Cranley should be removed.
The following players should be added:
Michael McGinlay (MC/ST)
Michael McKerr (DR/MR)
Dwight Barnett (ST)
Neil Gallagher (GK)

niallsparky
21/03/2009, 7:24 PM
Lads, I'd like to point out that the people at FM Weegie (http://weegie.fmupdates.net/index.php?act=idx) have agreed to include LOI updates in their data update. This negates the need to re-update your own database all the time. I've forwarded on a list to them of the transfers so far.

Their next data update will be out on March 27th, from here: http://weegie.fmupdates.net/index.php?showforum=25

harpstilidie
26/03/2009, 11:37 AM

How are you getting on with this CTID?

On another issue, I've tried managing Harps twice and have gotten relegated twice and sacked both times. Finding the game extremely difficult. Any tips? Hard to attract and sign players as well but I guess that's nothing new with Harps :D

Managing Fisher Athletic now in the Blue Square South but can't get into it at all. Havn't played it in ages.

Boo_Boy
26/03/2009, 12:39 PM
Injurys in this game suck, i came from the Serie C2 all the way up to Serie B, i got 3 serious injurys in my first 2 games and now my striker got injured for 3 weeks.

3 games, 3 losses, no goals and bottom of the league with 6 of my starters injured.

Aaron
29/03/2009, 8:01 PM
How are you getting on with this CTID?

On another issue, I've tried managing Harps twice and have gotten relegated twice and sacked both times. Finding the game extremely difficult. Any tips? Hard to attract and sign players as well but I guess that's nothing new with Harps :D

Managing Fisher Athletic now in the Blue Square South but can't get into it at all. Havn't played it in ages.

Going good so far, shouldnt be too long before its all complete

29/03/2009, 8:06 PM
Always a shame when you take a club as far as they can go and then you lose interest when you take over at another club. Happened to me there with AFC Wimbledon, took them from BS South to League One, secured to mid tables in a row and got offered the Fulham job in the Championship, took them to the Premier and lost interest after another mid table season.

harpstilidie
30/03/2009, 2:22 PM
Going good so far, shouldnt be too long before its all complete

Great stuff. Looking forward to it.

gufc2000
04/04/2009, 10:58 AM
I've taken on the job of Annan Athletic in the Scottish 3rd Division. Riding high, only November yet in my first season and I'm three points behind the leaders.

Anyone know when the next official patch is out?

niallsparky
05/04/2009, 12:22 AM
i've taken on the job of annan athletic in the scottish 3rd division. Riding high, only november yet in my first season and i'm three points behind the leaders.

Anyone know when the next official patch is out?

fm 2010.

gufc2000
05/04/2009, 5:27 PM
fm 2010.
Is there no patches/updates until then?

niallsparky
05/04/2009, 10:30 PM
Is there no patches/updates until then?

No, but there should be a good few data updates.

gufc2000
06/04/2009, 1:49 PM
No, but there should be a good few data updates.
Is that like squad updates and that?

irishultra
06/04/2009, 9:58 PM
ii created munich rovers a real team and am trying to bring them to the bundesliga...its gonna be tough and i havent got a hopp like hoffenheim :(

considering taking the faroe islands job as well as an ode to kerr

06/04/2009, 11:03 PM
Went straight from Rovers to Blackburn, won 2 League Cups with Rovers, left them with a decent squad, took one lad with me. When i took over Blackburn they were 17th with 10 games to go, finished 9th, now in my 2nd season with them, in 6th and have a dacent aul team. Drogs got to Champs Leauge group stages.

irishultra
06/04/2009, 11:10 PM
how hard do ya reckon it is to get champions lg? i always change the strength of loi in editor and change reputations of clubs

06/04/2009, 11:11 PM
how hard do ya reckon it is to get champions lg? i always change the strength of loi in editor and change reputations of clubs

Its preeeeeety hard, unless you have a big budget.

irishultra
06/04/2009, 11:19 PM
Its preeeeeety hard, unless you have a big budget.

ye my best result in europe was a 3 -0 win with drogheda over olympiacos but like my team was edited using editor must be really tough with default settings..ok getting past round 1 and 2 but the third knockout stage yikes

niallsparky
06/04/2009, 11:44 PM
ye my best result in europe was a 3 -0 win with drogheda over olympiacos but like my team was edited using editor must be really tough with default settings..ok getting past round 1 and 2 but the third knockout stage yikes

I got out of the Group Stages with Bohs in '08 after about 5 seasons. Lost to Juventus in the knockout rounds. '09 seems to be tougher though.

harpstilidie
07/04/2009, 10:28 AM
I got Harps to the last 16 in the Champions League in the 03/04 game...was probably around 2011/2012 in the game when I did. Chelsea knocked me out. Havn't got close since in any of the newer games. They have definitely got tougher.

Wangball
07/04/2009, 10:55 AM
In 03/04 I got Shelbourne into the Semi Final of the Champions League in my fourth season with no editing! As soon as starting the game I'd sign a guy called Dudu Cearense (sp) on a free, he'd take up nearly all of your wage budget but he'd always sign, the rest were just free transfers or loans...snd season Dudu would of scored 20 goals from midfield and be worth 3 or 4 million, sell him and buy a Belaraus international called Sergey Kisliy (£250k) from BATE & Freddy Guarain (£400k) & the goalkeeper from Envigiado, I would also sign Nik Besagno on a free and Eddie Gaven who wouldn't always sign...then I'd use the rest of the money to buy loads of Irish players...Tom Lyons from Palace & Willie John Kiely (Then Aberdeen) were favourites - that team walked the league and made progress in the Champions League - you'd then sell the foreign superstars for a small fortune and before you'd know it you'd have 12 or 13 million to buy yourself a squad! Probably not the most realistic of the FM games but certainly the most playable

irishultra
07/04/2009, 11:47 AM
wow :)

im currently managing germany and its pretty fun. i mean i could pick a squad full of goalkeepers. some of the appearances are insane. schweinsteiger is like only 26 and has 90 caps, mertesacker(his dribbling ability is 1 lol) is close behind him. ive basically formed a new squad and i hope to play until 2018 world cup.

most of my better players dont start for their club but kroos has come in and excelled so ive dropped ballack back into a sitting playmaker role.

gomez is scoring for fun in the league but he needs about a zillion chances to score internationally

Aaron
13/04/2009, 3:10 PM
Just waiting on some UCD and Kildare County info and when thats done i'll release the update. Its all this seasons squad. I have tried to get as much of it right as possible.

niallsparky
13/04/2009, 5:30 PM
Just waiting on some UCD and Kildare County info and when thats done i'll release the update. Its all this seasons squad. I have tried to get as much of it right as possible.

Nice one. Have you sourced your information directly from the clubs or from fans?

Aaron
13/04/2009, 6:38 PM
Nice one. Have you sourced your information directly from the clubs or from fans?

Fans, mostly ones who would know more than others

17/04/2009, 12:34 PM
I only bought it today, taking ages to joke. Im going to start with rams, and pretend the last year never happened. Oh happy days when we were higher than limerick. After writing this im afraid that because its online yolk it might be updated, i hope its not.

24/04/2009, 1:22 AM
lads how do i get into the editor???

24/04/2009, 2:05 AM
Usually you can find it at Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\football manager 2009\tools\data editor.

24/04/2009, 12:18 PM
Sports Interactive folder instead, if you didn't install it through Steam.

24/04/2009, 2:53 PM
End of the first season - I'm managing in the Netherlands with it's crazy playoff systems - so I'd thought I'd have a look at the League of Ireland

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3630/3470362939_e344f50c6c_o.png

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3613/3471177796_4c7e46cc45_o.png

Pretty much a perfect season for Bohs fans :D

shefellover93
24/04/2009, 3:31 PM
Lost out on the league by 4 goals. Close season!!

Aaron
25/04/2009, 12:07 PM
Update is now done. Will upload shortly. When starting a season select 2009 and the league format will be as it is in real-life

niallsparky
25/04/2009, 1:46 PM
Nice one. Looking forward to it.