View Full Version : Football Manager 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10

irishultra
24/12/2008, 3:22 PM
ah man saved me so much work...cheers

but in the game derry are set as a Northern Ireland club(or I changed it cant remember) but the game was playable, so surely using that it would be possible to change individual clubs like Pat's to Irish status?

unless you mean you can't switch the leagues nation.

Graemerz
24/12/2008, 8:00 PM
ah man saved me so much work...cheers

but in the game derry are set as a Northern Ireland club(or I changed it cant remember) but the game was playable, so surely using that it would be possible to change individual clubs like Pat's to Irish status?

unless you mean you can't switch the leagues nation.

You can't change the leagues nation.

Also I'm surprised by changing Derry City to a Northern Ireland club previous worked for you. When I made an All-Ireland league in FM08 I kept all the Irish clubs as they were and the game crashed in and around the time the FAI League Cup was drawn. No idea why that was, but it always crashed. Only when I changed the Irish clubs as N.Irish did it eventually work.

irishultra
25/12/2008, 10:18 AM
hi just got it, links to logos for loi teams and stuff please?

Nollaig Shona

Graemerz
25/12/2008, 6:00 PM
hi just got it, links to logos for loi teams and stuff please?

http://www.sortitoutsi.net/ has everything you'd ever need.

26/12/2008, 12:36 PM
Won't work. Tried it last year.

Fair enough. It worked alright in FM2007 but I don't have FM2008..

shefellover93
26/12/2008, 7:59 PM
Currently in the process of making my own LOI update for my online league. Anyone interested in me releasing it? Would be around the end of Feburary

26/12/2008, 8:27 PM
as someone who hasnt played this game since one of the earliest versions, would it be worth picking up again or has it gotten too complicated over the years?

fionnsci
26/12/2008, 8:57 PM
as someone who hasnt played this game since one of the earliest versions, would it be worth picking up again or has it gotten too complicated over the years?

Ths is my first since CM 03-04 but i find it grand.

irishultra
28/12/2008, 11:07 PM
cant believe how slow it is. i'm playing a small database english premier league and **** sake the processing takes age, and the match screen is soooooo long. it sucks.

worst trouble ive had since i tried playing cm01/02 on my 1995 compaq pc.

irishultra
29/12/2008, 2:50 AM
ah sick of this, seems like the best in the series but just so annoying so gonna have to return to fm07.

is it possible to just extract 09 downloads, for example league of ireland facepacks into fm07?

i bet u cant but i wish u could :(

29/12/2008, 3:28 PM
ah sick of this, seems like the best in the series but just so annoying so gonna have to return to fm07.

is it possible to just extract 09 downloads, for example league of ireland facepacks into fm07?

are you xp or windows 00?

if you got to sigames.com download the V9.2 patch, makes it alot quicker.

Graemerz
29/12/2008, 6:23 PM

Yes, some of it may work.

SwanVsDalton
01/01/2009, 5:41 PM
My first season ended up strangely similar to this years - Bohs won the league at a canter, Derry second, Drogs third. Elsewhere it was a different story - UCD claimed 4th spot, Cork were nowhere and Shams finished bottom after going 17 games without a win.

Stephen Paisley on a free was my only signing of note and he formed an excellent partnership with Mark McChrystal in defence (helpful after Big Clive broke his leg in pre-season). Meanwhile Sammy Morrow been the main man up front while Mark Farren's spent the season being infuriatingly inconsistent.

Great facepacks btw Niall - I used to have a pack with IRL team/competitions logos but need to re-download, anyone know where I could get them?

Also those speaking of the 50 page tactics document - I love it. The creators have released a version every year for the last four or so but this is the first time they've released quite so much (crib sheets and excel docs and all sorts) - it's extremely useful but includes plenty of room for a user to put his own stamp on a formation.

02/01/2009, 12:18 PM
Derry won my first LOI FM09 season,Fingal in the 1st. I finished 7th with Rovers after goin the first 10 games unbeaten, could only get 1 win in 14, against Harps. :( Ended up goin 7 games unbeaten. Strangely enough, i never lost a game with Dick Brush!, then he got injured for 4 months half way through season. Derry won the LC, and Drogs won the FAIC.

harpstilidie
02/01/2009, 1:50 PM
Bohs won the league easily in mine with Drogs second and Galway third :eek:

I got relegated with Harps in the same order as it was in reality with UCD bottom and Cobh second bottom. Cork finished in 9th quite a good bit away from me in fairness.

I did win the league cup beating Sligo in the final and managed to beat Derry for once 2-0 but apart from that it was terrible. Took Gethins 21 games to get his first goal.

Got sacked and only Carrick Rangers :D were willing to give me a job so I just started again with Harps and hopefully can keep them up this time!

Must get a wee craic at that All-Ireland database too. Looks like fun!

harpstilidie
02/01/2009, 1:54 PM
Oh yeah...anymore progress on the First Division facepacks Niallsparky? Love the Premier ones...super job.

shefellover93
02/01/2009, 3:27 PM
I just finished my first season with City. Drogs won it with 3 weeks to go, Bohs second, Derry third

I came 5th which the board was impressed with. I won the FAI Cup, Galway won the league cup and Drogs won the Setanta Cup (I was knocked out of the group by Drogs and Runners Up Pats)

Down the bottom of the table Bray, Cobh and Shamrock Rovers got relegated. Dundalk went up. I also won the MSC!!!;)

02/01/2009, 3:49 PM
Got sacked and only Carrick Rangers :D were willing to give me a job

Ha! didnt know you could manage non-league LOI teams in FM, did Carrick get promoted from "A Championship"?

Tullamore got promoted in my second season, have played 6 games, only won 1, beat Cork 3-0 away :eek:, then drew V Pats 1-1.

Whats everyones team?

this is mine: (Rovers) (5-2-3)
Dick Brush
Michael Keane
Seamie Coleman
Mauro Almieda
Paul Anderson
Danny Ventre
Conor O Grady
Alan Cawley (broke his leg 2nd game, out for 5 months:()
Matthew Judge
Raf Cretaro
Rommy Boco

Subs:
Lee Boyle
Gareth Farrelly
Paul McTiernan
Steve Feeney
Paul Cavener

harpstilidie
02/01/2009, 4:10 PM
Ha! didnt know you could manage non-league LOI teams in FM, did Carrick get promoted from "A Championship"?

Tullamore got promoted in my second season, have played 6 games, only won 1, beat Cork 3-0 away :eek:, then drew V Pats 1-1.

Whats everyones team?

this is mine: (Rovers) (5-2-3)
Dick Brush
Michael Keane
Seamie Coleman
Mauro Almieda
Paul Anderson
Danny Ventre
Conor O Grady
Alan Cawley (broke his leg 2nd game, out for 5 months:()
Matthew Judge
Raf Cretaro
Rommy Boco

Subs:
Lee Boyle
Gareth Farrelly
Paul McTiernan
Steve Feeney
Paul Cavener

Nah you can't manage non-league teams. They are in the IFA Championship this season. Is Feeney any good for you because I was thinking of signing him in my new game?

02/01/2009, 4:31 PM
not great tbh, only have him because hes a decent coach in the game and my budget is €2,200, plus im €800 over my wage budget.

harpstilidie
02/01/2009, 4:57 PM
Right I'll stay away from him then!

I signed a guy called Colin Murray off Kildare County in my last game and he turned out to be a real gem for me. Played almost every game at centre back. Might not be good enough for Sligo mind you since we are dung anyway :D

Rovers fan
02/01/2009, 6:13 PM
Came 6th in my first season with rovers,one particularly bad spell kinda fecked me up. Got knocked out in the semis of both cups by cork. Was doing well in the 2nd season,then signed about 3 or 4 players that were better than what i had but it seemed to disrupt things so i've only gotten 1 point from my last 4 games:(. In 5th place at the moment but there's a big enough gap to 4th. League cup semi coming up against pats too. Not many rovers players left in my team,have signed a good few players whose contracts were up:

GK - chris o'connor(slightly better than brush)
LB - Shaun holmes
CB - Peers
CB - Miguel rebosio(quality peruvian international,my best player)
RB - coleman/Ryan France
LM - Eoin powderly(deadly young fella i got from kildare,he's on the irish u19 team)
CM - O'grady
CM - Ndo
RM - Cretaro
ST - Judge
ST - fenn/donal mcdermott(young fella i got from man city)

Subs:

Bostock(youth player,have had big offers for him but rejected them)
Stuart byrne
timmy purcell
Paul marshall(another young guy i got from man city)
coleman/france
fenn/mcdermott

02/01/2009, 6:48 PM
nice to see you discovered the editor RF :D;)

Rovers fan
02/01/2009, 7:44 PM
???????? Actually haven't cheated all,well I did once. Lost a league game against harps after a last minute goal and restarted and won it. Tbh i don't even know how to use the editor.

02/01/2009, 10:24 PM
Jaysus, howd you manage to sign so many players, Ndo etc.? in my game Rovers budget is about 10k

Rovers fan
03/01/2009, 12:17 AM
If only spent like 3k on players, signed everyone as their contracts ended. My budget for wages is 9.8k a week and i'm a little bit under that at the moment. When youth players get promoted and are gettin £200 a week but they're crap I offer them to clubs for free. Ndo is on £650 a week, second highest earner after france who is on £725. After that i have 5 other players on more than £400. When offering a contract to a player, say he asks for £500 a week, if you offer about £450 you'll get him. Still I may have pretty good players but have yet to achieve anything of note. Very few of the original rovers squad would be good enough for my team now. Just peers and raf are assured of a place. I make money by arranging around 7 or 8 friendlies during the summer against premiership teams,during the summer. I play my youth team so my main players don't get tired and their morale doesn't drop.

niallsparky
03/01/2009, 3:04 AM
Oh yeah...anymore progress on the First Division facepacks Niallsparky? Love the Premier ones...super job.

Yeah, I'm making the First Division facepacks at the moment and have about 5 of them done. I've decided not to release them individually but rather as part of an Eircom League superpack. I may release a beta version of the superpack sometime this month, otherwise it will be released post-patch/data update in time for the new season.

Btw, if people are looking for a First Division pack right now then I'll upload it on request.

harpstilidie
03/01/2009, 11:22 AM
Is there any chance you could upload the Finn Harps' one for me? Be great if you could. Thanks.

03/01/2009, 11:41 AM
A First Division pack would be great instead of having to wait for the superpack. :)

niallsparky
03/01/2009, 4:31 PM
Is there any chance you could upload the Finn Harps' one for me? Be great if you could. Thanks.

No problem.

Finn Harps Facepack:

Sample
http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z6/Niallsparky/parkhouse.png

Download here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=97FA04WN

niallsparky
03/01/2009, 4:34 PM
A First Division pack would be great instead of having to wait for the superpack. :)

Superpack will come out as soon as I'm finished the First Division. I've got 6 done so far. This will be based on the 9.2 database. Then probably sometime in February/March, I'll release a new pack with the updated transfers etc. You can probably expect the 1st superpack (incl First Division) in the next 2 weeks.

harpstilidie
03/01/2009, 4:42 PM
Thanks a lot for that niallsparky. Super job.

L37Ultra
04/01/2009, 2:01 PM
Yeah, I'm making the First Division facepacks at the moment and have about 5 of them done. I've decided not to release them individually but rather as part of an Eircom League superpack. I may release a beta version of the superpack sometime this month, otherwise it will be released post-patch/data update in time for the new season.

Btw, if people are looking for a First Division pack right now then I'll upload it on request.

Do you have a Limerick facepack available to upload? Thanks :)

04/01/2009, 2:10 PM
. I make money by arranging around 7 or 8 friendlies during the summer against premiership teams,during the summer.

thats one thing i find great about FM09, its quite easy to get friendlies against big clubs. i made 200k on friendlies against Spurs, Basel, Sampdoria and Boro. Beat Boro 7-0 and Spurs 8-0, because they just played their youth team. Got 5000+ barstoolers at The Showgies for it too, oh how realistic FM is:D!!

shefellover93
04/01/2009, 3:51 PM
I cheated with money just to see what it was like, and I got United, Celtic and AC Milan to play in a friendly tournament!!

harpstilidie
04/01/2009, 9:50 PM
thats one thing i find great about FM09, its quite easy to get friendlies against big clubs. i made 200k on friendlies against Spurs, Basel, Sampdoria and Boro. Beat Boro 7-0 and Spurs 8-0, because they just played their youth team. Got 5000+ barstoolers at The Showgies for it too, oh how realistic FM is:D!!

Didn't think it was that easy. Must go and organise some friendlies and get some money in the kitty.

harpstilidie
04/01/2009, 9:52 PM
No problem.

Finn Harps Facepack:

Sample
http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z6/Niallsparky/parkhouse.png

Download here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=97FA04WN

Just noticed a problem with one of the pictures in the Finn Harps one. The pic you have for Mickey Funston is actually a pic of Chris Breen.:D

niallsparky
05/01/2009, 2:28 AM
Just noticed a problem with one of the pictures in the Finn Harps one. The pic you have for Mickey Funston is actually a pic of Chris Breen.:D

Oops. I'll fix that in the superpack. :o

By the way, it would be helpful if anybody can report any issues they find with the facepacks. Its quite a mundane process so small mistakes are likely to crop (pun intended?) up.

niallsparky
05/01/2009, 2:41 AM
Do you have a Limerick facepack available to upload? Thanks :)

I've done the Limerick one. Pictures were difficult to find so some of them aren't fantastic, may also be some players for which no pictures were available. Anyway, here you go:

Limerick 37 Facepack:

Sample
http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z6/Niallsparky/colbert.png

Download here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=SCW0CSRM

Graemerz
05/01/2009, 12:36 PM
Looks like Colbert was being fouled in that picture. :D

05/01/2009, 1:49 PM
Either that or he has incredibly long and flexible arms and is scratching his neck.

L37Ultra
05/01/2009, 11:33 PM
I've done the Limerick one. Pictures were difficult to find so some of them aren't fantastic, may also be some players for which no pictures were available. Anyway, here you go:

Limerick 37 Facepack:

Sample
http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z6/Niallsparky/colbert.png

Download here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=SCW0CSRM

Nice one Niall. Fairplay :)

shefellover93
06/01/2009, 12:58 PM
Either that or he has incredibly long and flexible arms and is scratching his neck.

Ahahahaha

TheFingallian
09/01/2009, 2:14 AM
When i first saw the pic it looked like a zombie or something had grabbed hold of his throat.

niallsparky
16/01/2009, 9:16 AM
Out of interest, here's how the facepack downloads are going:

Bohs - 86
Cork - 80
Derry - 75
Bray - 73
Pats - 64
Rovers - 58
Sligo - 50
Galway - 46
Dundalk - 33
Drogheda - 27

shefellover93
16/01/2009, 10:12 PM
Very good, have all of them downloaded anyway so really enjoying them!! Adding a big part to my game! Cheers Niall!!:D:D

FarmHoop
24/01/2009, 9:20 PM
Where do you save patches and such?

shefellover93
24/01/2009, 9:23 PM
My Documents-Sports Interactive

For graphics (Logo's pics ect) you must create a folder called 'Pictures' and then create folders with your subject matter in them

e.g if you want to put in League of Ireland logo's

My Documents-Sports Interactive-Pictures-Logo's-League of Ireland

FarmHoop
25/01/2009, 5:16 PM
i also cant find the data editor, anyone know where it is?

25/01/2009, 5:19 PM
i also cant find the data editor, anyone know where it is?

it should be in the sports interactive folder.

do a search of your computer "FM Editor"