View Full Version : Football Manager 2009

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

21/11/2008, 5:35 PM
Yeah he's not bad, i've scraped a few 1-0 wins and he's got the goal, but Drogs bought him from Derry so he'll be leaving at the end of the season.

Finding players is so hard in this game, especially strikers.

EDIT: Feck ye Jebus!, Mustapha Hadji is a referee in FM 2009:(

I was looking forward to getting a goal machine.:(

He starts the game with a club called Fola Esch and he's a playmaker not a striker

21/11/2008, 8:24 PM
Is the A Championship in the game?

21/11/2008, 9:03 PM

No sir it is not.

Apparently they decided to put in millions of annoying little glitches instead

harpstilidie
21/11/2008, 11:23 PM
He starts the game with a club called Fola Esch and he's a playmaker not a striker

Is that the same guy who played for Coventry City?

22/11/2008, 2:38 AM

Yeah, he's 36 when you start the game, still the best player in the league of ireland by miles though

22/11/2008, 3:08 PM
I play the game online with my uncle/cousin.

Your uncle is your cousin? :eek:

No. This annoys me. Especially as there's only one reserve division now consisting solely of premier reserve teams and Mervue are inexplicably the only non-league team to pop up in the underage section. I have taken my ball and gone sulking to the Swedish 4th tier instead where I am blissfully ignorant of any such glaring errors.

No sir it is not.

Apparently they decided to put in millions of annoying little glitches instead

I bet they could have put in the A Championship and kept at least half of their glitches too if they really wanted to... :(

And Aston Villa. He was to be the star of my aborted Limerick game after signing for a princely sum of 300euro a week for which he humiliated opposition left-backs and turned his nose up at my lack of experience. Then the game refused to load for no apparent reason. And when I started afresh in Lulea he was absent from the database. It just was not meant to be. So I signed a decent Russian left-back called Mitlin from some amateur side of jokers instead.

22/11/2008, 5:32 PM
Then signed Cawley,

Him and Ruaidhri Higgins doing a great job in midfield for me.

24/11/2008, 9:49 PM
Just got on to my second season in the game (2009) and the First Division has each club playing 44 games instead of 33.. Amateur mistake.. :rolleyes:

harpstilidie
24/11/2008, 10:40 PM
Just got on to my second season in the game (2009) and the First Division has each club playing 44 games instead of 33.. Amateur mistake.. :rolleyes:

That was the same in 2008.

24/11/2008, 11:30 PM
Suspensions carry from season to season....as do the cards:(

11 games in Mauro Almeida has been suspended for 7, with 5 more coming up.

FFS

Boo_Boy
25/11/2008, 3:26 AM
11 games in Mauro Almeida has been suspended for 7, with 5 more coming up.
FFS

Mauro is a yellow card addict.

25/11/2008, 10:53 AM
Mauro is a yellow card addict.

happened me too

about 30 games in and hes had 3 reds and 9 yellows...

hes been banned for about 6 games!

Coming 2nd with only few games to go, 3 points behind Drogs..

Cork are 10th with about 15 points :eek:

Boo_Boy
25/11/2008, 11:49 AM
The corkies have got through to the Uefa Cup group stage in my game.:eek:

They beat hearts 1-0 away and held them to 0-0 in the 2nd leg.:)

Im really shocked, i didn't know it was possible, 1st time in the history of my CM/FM career that a LOI team has qualifyed for the group stages.

25/11/2008, 1:48 PM
Joe Gamble's senior cap ignored in the database...

And I am the only one staggered by the length of his injury list? :eek:

25/11/2008, 2:12 PM
That was the same in 2008.

There was only ten teams in the division in 2008 so only 36 games... Maybe it was like that in the premier, I didn't notice as I wasn't playing in that division..

L37Ultra
25/11/2008, 3:05 PM
I'm waiting to get this until after exams for obvious reasons. :)

What is the Limerick squad like in it? Is it better that last years game?

25/11/2008, 3:31 PM
Top 3 in my first season was 1. Drogs, 2. Bohs, 3. Derry. Was close til the end but squad was too small to cope, intend to sign a few covering players and increase my deoth for next season.

Also, for anyone who's interested, someone on Football365 forum posted the following tactics and pdf files:

50-page .pdf, a cheat sheet, and a load of awesome formations including classic Ajax tactics & Queiroz's asymetric 4-3-2-1.

Read the 50-pager, especially the bits on the top-manager tactic breakdowns - it covers Mourinho, Lippi, Capello, Ferguson, Wenger, Benitez, O'Neill etc including exactly how to set each team up for attacking, standard or defensive play.
It's showed me how I've been using the wrong fowards in the wrong way, how to get the best out of a playmaker, which I've been doing wrong, etc.

http://www.fm-britain.co.uk/downloads/TTF_Documents_Tactics.zip

Of course, there's a danger it might overcomplicate things but seems to be getting a load of rave reviews on those forums.

25/11/2008, 4:00 PM
happened me too

about 30 games in and hes had 3 reds and 9 yellows...

hes been banned for about 6 games!

Coming 2nd with only few games to go, 3 points behind Drogs..

Cork are 10th with about 15 points :eek:

He's missed roughly 65% of my games through suspension I'd say.

niallsparky
25/11/2008, 6:48 PM
Can people post any data issues they find here and I will pass them on to SI. Cheers.

25/11/2008, 10:57 PM
Sligo Rovers are not rivals with Monaghan, and should probably have Derry at lower rating than 80 in that regard too.

Also I'd have Shams in there as "Other Rivals".

Raf Cretaro can play either wing and up front.

Steve Feeney is a D/M/F C and also a Youth Coach.

Rommy Boco should have RB listed as competent or something similar.

There's two David McDaid's in the game, both 17, and with Derry.

Peers is a CB as well as RB

Ventre is a D R/L/C and is probably competent at CM too.

Also our attendance average should be at about 1800.

Our thrid kit is green.

That's all my queries about Rovers anyway until I see/think of more...

Also Don O Riordan is not a legend, and Sean Flannery is not an "icon".

Gerry Carr should be listed as legend. Possibly Cook as well.

(So what if I'm pedantic?)

26/11/2008, 11:24 AM
Can people post any data issues they find here and I will pass them on to SI. Cheers.

Joe Gamble has one senior Irish cap.

Limerick do in fact have SOME rivals...

There are others, will get back to you with them...

26/11/2008, 11:41 AM
Limerick do in fact have SOME rivals...

I think you can probably put Shelbourne down as rivals now...

26/11/2008, 1:56 PM
I think you can probably put Shelbourne down as rivals now...

You're going to upset them by even suggesting that. ;)

On another data issue Conor Molan hasn't played with Limerick in 2 seasons now and while he played everywhere across the defence and midfield was never a striker.

niallsparky
26/11/2008, 5:23 PM
I've also spoken with the the person who does the FM Weegie updates. These are quite frequent and pretty good. He's agreed to include LOI data updates in the data updates he releases if I pass them on so keep them coming. Any of these updates would likely just be transfers and new contracts rather than attribute improvements and positional changes. SI should update that stuff in the next patch though.

Here is the site: http://www.fmweegieupdate.co.uk/

harpstilidie
26/11/2008, 10:21 PM
There was only ten teams in the division in 2008 so only 36 games... Maybe it was like that in the premier, I didn't notice as I wasn't playing in that division..

Whenever you went into the 2009 season after the league format had changed the First Division had 44 games because you played each other 4 times instead of 3.

As holidaysong said this has to be fixed for the patch. Maybe you could pass that on niallsparky. It's while annoying having to play 44 games in one season...took ages!

timmy
27/11/2008, 9:33 AM
Lads only bought the game yesterday. I have had a problem with my internet connection for the last few weeks. is there any way of gettin the game up and running without the internet connection.

27/11/2008, 12:08 PM
Whenever you went into the 2009 season after the league format had changed the First Division had 44 games because you played each other 4 times instead of 3.

Niallsparky, this is the most glaring mistake in the LOI in the game. There should be 33 games in the first division from 2009 and not 44..

27/11/2008, 4:46 PM
Lads only bought the game yesterday. I have had a problem with my internet connection for the last few weeks. is there any way of gettin the game up and running without the internet connection.

There should be a phone number but tbh I'm not sure of the details of that either.

Mr Maroon
27/11/2008, 8:37 PM
Also, for anyone who's interested, someone on Football365 forum posted the following tactics and pdf files:
http://www.fm-britain.co.uk/downloads/TTF_Documents_Tactics.zip

How do you open the formations files in that? They're TAC files

27/11/2008, 9:14 PM

You don't open them. You copy them into the 'tactics' folder wherever your FM game is installed on your computer. You can then use them in the game.

Mr Maroon
27/11/2008, 9:28 PM
You don't open them. You copy them into the 'tactics' folder wherever your FM game is installed on your computer. You can then use them in the game.
oooohh *lightbulb* Thanks

niallsparky
27/11/2008, 10:39 PM
I've created a Bohs one and will work on some other Eircom League ones over the next few days. When they're finished, I'll release an Eircom League superpack.

http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z6/Niallsparky/oman.png

Facepack can be downloaded here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=2PKR5V7Y

Other league facepacks in a similar style can be found here: http://www.fmbosnia.com/forum/index.php?topic=8431.0

27/11/2008, 11:38 PM

Holidaysong got there before me. It's fairly straightforward.

28/11/2008, 2:08 PM
In a cup final V Derry or Pats, and am 4 points behind Drogs with 4 games to go + a game in hand :)

niallsparky
28/11/2008, 11:48 PM
Bray Wanderers Facepack:

Sample
http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z6/Niallsparky/whelan.png

Download here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=761CCYE1

Mr Maroon
29/11/2008, 1:20 AM
It's fairly straightforward.
Yeah, it's obvious now. I was having somewhat of a blonde moment:o

29/11/2008, 1:29 AM
Anyone else think the new game, bugs aside, is fairly **** anyway?

They seem to have gone way too much into how much you have to interact with your player's individual training schedule. They were all giving out about it on another forum and someone posted an online guide as to how to properly prepare your individual players.....it's 50 A4 pages long :o

harpstilidie
29/11/2008, 12:08 PM
I havn't even bought it yet because of all the bad reviews and bugs in it so I'm going to try to wait until all is fixed before buying it. There is part of me that wants to go out and buy it now though.

29/11/2008, 12:39 PM
They seem to have gone way too much into how much you have to interact with your player's individual training schedule. They were all giving out about it on another forum and someone posted an online guide as to how to properly prepare your individual players.....it's 50 A4 pages long :o
Life's just too short...

I hardly ever set player instructions, there's no chance I'll be messing around with individual training schedules.

29/11/2008, 1:19 PM
Life's just too short...

I hardly ever set player instructions, there's no chance I'll be messing around with individual training schedules.

I can't even imagine having the patience to make up individual training schedules. I sometimes make up ones for strikers or defenders but that's the extent of it..

29/11/2008, 1:35 PM
anyone getting bored of the press conference's?

29/11/2008, 1:40 PM
anyone getting bored of the press conference's?

Very. Sent my assistant once though and he cocked it up completely so have to attend them unfortunately to make sure that doesn't happen again.. :o

29/11/2008, 1:42 PM
They are pretty boring but the reactions are pretty funny when you storm out.

29/11/2008, 1:44 PM
They are pretty boring but the reactions are pretty funny when you storm out.

never tried it...
what happens?

29/11/2008, 2:13 PM
They make you sound like a nutjob.

Boo_Boy
29/11/2008, 2:30 PM
When i lose i attend them and storm out immediatly saying:
'(Team name) are who we thought they were, and we let em off the hook!'
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aYKIcnj1MJY

i get a kick out of it:D

But other than that i have it set for my assistant to attend them, he never messes up.

29/11/2008, 6:47 PM
Life's just too short...

Same here. I preferred it when you just found a winning tactical formation and stuck to it home and away.

29/11/2008, 6:55 PM
I just do a training schedule out in the First game for individual positions, save it and import into every other game.

It's good for young players to develop better.

30/11/2008, 8:43 PM
if you set the game to start in Jan 09 - then it uses the 08 structures.

if you set the game to start in Jan 08 but with some leagues which play winter seasons - then the structure is ok - but the winter leagues have nothing scheduled until August 08 - meaning most clubs there do nothing for 8 months

danonion
02/12/2008, 1:41 AM
Anyone want to set up an online game?