View Full Version : Football Manager 2009
Pages :
[
2]
Some people are now saying that when you get the game installed you have to go away and install DirectX 9 to run it properly as it's not built in to the game :rolleyes:
I was gonna buy it, but people are having less problems with the pirated version, guess what I'm gonna do
14/11/2008, 4:17 PM
Why can't they just let us install it the "old-fashioned" way? :rolleyes:
14/11/2008, 4:19 PM
Sounds like a lot of unecessary hassle. Glad I didn't buy it.
14/11/2008, 7:48 PM
Got it registered in the end. They are idiots for not realising everyone would be trying to activate it online at the same time!
The 3D match view isn't working for me.. I mustn't have high enough specs for it. :(
14/11/2008, 7:49 PM
I got mine registered just now.
Clearly, it was all the el fans clogging the system.
14/11/2008, 11:05 PM
Got mine last night (2am ish) - so bypassed all these problems - bought it online via Steam so it was installed and patched automatically.
You can use all the graphics from 08 in 09 with no problems.
Very impressed with it so far - the patch makes so much of a difference.
The 3D is grand (i'm on a new laptop I got a couple of weeks back - so it runs fine) - nothing better than seeing Jason Byrne stuff one in the top corner against Shels from 25 yards at a virtual Tolka Park.
Data looks fine - everything is where it should be.
Sadly no Kevin Hunt - even as a coach or such :(
Anyway - I've been invited to an "Ireland Trial Day" where I can run the rule over two teams of players who have been released by their clubs with a view to signing them - which is a nice touch.
Also found out that you can add individual journalists into the game - with their own characteristics (inflammatory, probing, boring, etc.) who then appear in the Press Conferences.
A lad I know has done a massive one of those files for England - gonna have a look and try to do one for the League
15/11/2008, 1:15 AM
Enjoying it so far.
The 3D view might not sound great (or look it) but it's a million miles better than the old way.
It's a lot easier to sell players on this one. I remember on previous versions, you had to repeatedly slash a player's price before any club would bid for him.
AFAIK, the update came with the one I got as well. On the New Game screen, there was a choice to load datad from two files. The automatic one seems to be an updated version which is pretty good.
15/11/2008, 12:47 PM
Sligo Rovers - Favoured personnel: Don O'Riordan?!
Legend - Sean Flannery!?
15/11/2008, 12:53 PM
They have Paul Smyth with Monaghan Utd in the game even though he has been with us for 2 seasons now..
15/11/2008, 2:35 PM
Yeah have to say, the EL is very shoddily researched.
Mark Hutchison with Rovers, Gavin Peers listed as RB, Steve Feeney as CB, Raff only a RW same as Ventre RB only & Cash RW only.
David McDaid is also in the game twice...
Poor form from SI. Lazy.
fionnsci
15/11/2008, 4:46 PM
I just brought this home but the disk seems to be faulty. It wont load and the computer thinks that the drive is empty. Its not a problem with the computer because it recognises other games. Has this happened to anyone else?
15/11/2008, 9:56 PM
a balls really. Theres a problem with the typing, the speed of the game, some of the players faces are all f..ed up, 3d is ****e, squads are wrong..
very poor from SI
16/11/2008, 9:21 PM
Downloaded the patch and the 3D is working for me now. Pretty snazzy alright. It'll add loads of time to completing a season though. I've ended up watching pretty much all of my matches..
boovidge
18/11/2008, 9:09 AM
are the uk and ireland still counted as one country, preventing naturalisation of British-born players in Ireland?
18/11/2008, 9:51 AM
I downloaded it last night on a demo. It's for half a season, but it'll take a lot of gameplay to get it to that point. Downloaded it on a mac but the 3D gameplay is just names floating around rather than players... that's surely not what its meant to look like?
18/11/2008, 10:00 AM
I just brought this home but the disk seems to be faulty. It wont load and the computer thinks that the drive is empty. Its not a problem with the computer because it recognises other games. Has this happened to anyone else?
Heard of it happening to some people over on the SI forum, bring the disk back and replace is it is the only answer it seems. The games outlet you picked it up from should know this is the case with some copies anyway so there shouldn't be a problem
MikeBassett
18/11/2008, 11:50 AM
Does anyone know or have new facepacks, competition logos, new kits etc for FM 2009? Can't find too many through Google
thedoyler
18/11/2008, 12:05 PM
I think overall the game is good the only issue I have with it is that i believe that the current and potential abilities of the players are wrong. Alan Gough 100 current and skippy 73. Doesnt make sense really.
anto1208
18/11/2008, 12:34 PM
So is it worth getting i havent played FM since 2007 i got 2008 but 2 games into the season i lost all will to live playing it starting all over again after such an impressive run in 2007 . i have allways wanted a 3d player view so this has tempted me but does it actually reflect the game ie if some one is getting 10/10 ratings can you spot him playing well on the 3d view or is it just a gimick.
18/11/2008, 3:18 PM
Does anyone know or have new facepacks, competition logos, new kits etc for FM 2009? Can't find too many through Google
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=106450
Boo_Boy
19/11/2008, 1:04 AM
So do any of ye have some bargain buys or spotted some young talent that you can get on the free? ( im playing with Sligo Rovers so no ridiculous ones! :P )
I've found one good one so far.
Name: Solomon Oladele
Nationality: Nigerian
Team: FK Jagodina
Looks like he could be a great player in the future.
BTW: Searching for gems is my favourite part of this game:D
Mustapha Hadji now plays for Limerick, and he's ace. Check him out
19/11/2008, 1:47 PM
Lads, is it just me or is there no player pictures? I;m playing as Wycombe in League 2.
Confused and annoyed.
19/11/2008, 1:51 PM
I thought the player pictures were always something that you had to tack on yourself?
I think i'll wait till after the new year to get this one with a decent patch and just play the hell out of 08 over Christmas
19/11/2008, 2:01 PM
Lads, is it just me or is there no player pictures? I;m playing as Wycombe in League 2.
Confused and annoyed.
I've player pictures for the lower leagues in England anyway..
Is your 3D working tcm?
Bunny Kelly
19/11/2008, 6:22 PM
Anyone able to edit the teams/leagues as I need to bring Kilkenny back to their former glory!!
I want to manage in Ireland but can't bring myself to take-over anyone else
Confused and annoyed.
There's facepacks out online for it, check over on SI Forums for them
19/11/2008, 7:24 PM
I've player pictures for the lower leagues in England anyway..
Is your 3D working tcm?
Pics seem to be working now whatever I managed to do. 3D working fine though the delay at the beginning of the match and after tactical changes is a bit annoying. That said, when you actually get to see Ciaran Martyn bang one into the top corner from 30 yards out it all becomes worth it. Can't beat watching your team actually play, despite the fact I have some gripes about it.
Anyone got any good player tips? I'm playing 2 games, one as Derry, one as Wycombe. Signed Alan Cawley for my Derry side and he seems to be doing a good job this far. Any of the Dundalk players any good holidaysong? I toyed with signing Martin but didn't in the end. (In FM08 I used to sign a 'Chris Templeman' from a non-league side who would always score 25+ a season for me. ;))
19/11/2008, 8:42 PM
Any of the Dundalk players any good holidaysong? I toyed with signing Martin but didn't in the end.
Ian Ryan and David Cassidy would be the only ones worth signing. Not sure if they'd cut it in the premier though.. I'm still stuck in the first division unfortunately. I'm under more pressure than John Gill! :eek:
Hit up Mustapha Hadji. He's 36 and plays amateur in Luxemburg but is definitely good enough for Derry and wycombe. He signed for Limerick anyway so he'll sign for both of those
19/11/2008, 9:35 PM
Hit up Mustapha Hadji. He's 36 and plays amateur in Luxemburg but is definitely good enough for Derry and wycombe. He signed for Limerick anyway so he'll sign for both of those
I tried but couldn't find him. I have a medium database set, maybe I should have made it bigger. :(
Boo_Boy
20/11/2008, 4:14 AM
I tried but couldn't find him. I have a medium database set, maybe I should have made it bigger. :(
He messing, nobody called Mustapha Hadji in the game..
20/11/2008, 3:21 PM
Lads, do you reckon we should pick a lower league team somewhere and see who does better as them? We could post a screenshot at the end of every month in the game to show how we're improving/winning/getting battered?
20/11/2008, 6:37 PM
Signed him for Rovers in 08 and he singlehandedly got me to Europe for 2 seasons. At 37 and 38 years of age.
Classy.:D
20/11/2008, 6:52 PM
Lads, do you reckon we should pick a lower league team somewhere and see who does better as them? We could post a screenshot at the end of every month in the game to show how we're improving/winning/getting battered?
Or there's always the Gundo challenge.
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57166770&postcount=1
I'm on medium too and he's there :confused:
Boo_Boy
20/11/2008, 7:30 PM
I'm on medium too and he's there :confused:
I've tried my game with a medium database and my one with a large one and he's not...
20/11/2008, 7:35 PM
does the 3D work with the EL or is it that my computer (XP) cant take it?
i have the boxes ticked and everytihng, but the option on matchday screen is blanked out.
20/11/2008, 7:54 PM
I've tried my game with a medium database and my one with a large one and he's not...
Try load players from Morocco or Luxembourg if you're really that desperate for him.
It's happened on older versions where players turn up on some games you have and don't on others.
does the 3D work with the EL or is it that my computer (XP) cant take it?
i have the boxes ticked and everytihng, but the option on matchday screen is blanked out.
If your game doesn't load the 3D engine you'll need to download Direct X 9 and you should be fine then
20/11/2008, 8:40 PM
If your game doesn't load the 3D engine you'll need to download Direct X 9 and you should be fine then
doesnt X9 come with the game?
Nope, it was meant to but...well I guess we all know the score with this version
Boo_Boy
20/11/2008, 8:46 PM
Try load players from Morocco or Luxembourg if you're really that desperate for him.
It's happened on older versions where players turn up on some games you have and don't on others.
Oh i am desperate, really desperate. Boco has gone over 17 hours of football without a goal, Judge and McTiernan have a virus and are out for the next 2 weeks and all i got is McDaid.:(
20/11/2008, 8:50 PM
McDaid scores like a trooper for me!
Boo_Boy
20/11/2008, 8:58 PM
Yeah he's not bad, i've scraped a few 1-0 wins and he's got the goal, but Drogs bought him from Derry so he'll be leaving at the end of the season.
Finding players is so hard in this game, especially strikers.
EDIT: Feck ye Jebus!, Mustapha Hadji is a referee in FM 2009:(
I was looking forward to getting a goal machine.:(
20/11/2008, 10:53 PM
How is everyone else doing with Rovers?
3 games left and I'm embroiled in a relegation battle, 3 clear of Cobh...4 teams fighting it out...
20/11/2008, 11:02 PM
Derry have just won 5 in a row, including a 4-0 win at Dalymount and a 5-1 trouncing of Sligo at the Showgrounds. Cork and Cardiff have offered 80k and 85k respectively for Ciaran Martyn!
Boo_Boy
21/11/2008, 1:24 AM
3 games left and I'm embroiled in a relegation battle, 3 clear of Cobh...4 teams fighting it out...
Just escaped relegation on GD by 2 goals.
Decided to start again but this time start in Jan 2009 not Jan 2008. I've sold Doherty to pats for 50k and Cash to wycombe for 80k, brought in Shaun Holmes from harps, John Ruddy and Ross Campbell set to join of free transfers in June:)
No idea how i managed to sign them, Nick Colgan want to play for Rovers too:eek:
21/11/2008, 2:44 PM
got sacked 17 games in :D
so re-started and sold Cash for a stupid amount of money. Then signed Cawley, and a left back from Sheff Wed. im 2nd with 10 games gone, ony beaten once! :D
21/11/2008, 4:23 PM
Glad to see I'm not the only doing ****e with them so:)