View Full Version : TV Programmes You'd Recommend To A Friend
Pages :
[
3]
10/08/2007, 10:06 AM
Peep show maybe. Haven't seen enough of Darkplaces. Might Boosh isn't a sitcom and never heard of might toss
It's Darkplace. 6 episode run. Very silly.
anto1208
10/08/2007, 10:24 AM
Peep show maybe. Haven't seen enough of Darkplaces. Might Boosh isn't a sitcom and never heard of might toss
Mighty boosh is a sit com ( situation comedy ) where people get into humourous situations .
Darkplace is very funny if you have seen the office he is the weird IT guy that comes to fix tims computor . was made in 2004 but the show is sold as one that was made in the 80's but was too out-there for channel 4 to show
Modern toss is nt really a sit com more a series of sketches still quite funny on bravo after 12 at night ( adult swim )
Peep show is the funniest thing on tv from either tha UK or the US at the moment
Burny89
26/08/2007, 9:36 PM
Anybody watching Flight of the Conchords on HBO
GuisaSaigon
29/08/2007, 3:33 PM
Fonejacker on E4 is hillarious they only made 6 and are showing repeats at the moment. It's genius.
stann
29/08/2007, 11:15 PM
'You don't just jump into bed with Terry Tibbs' :D
Brilliant show!
humpmeister7
31/08/2007, 11:01 PM
I'll put Prison Break out there, although series 2 got a bit silly. Series 1 was brilliant, get it on dvd
31/08/2007, 11:10 PM
Sherry fitzgerald...!!!!
Ahhh no, wait. That's the agent - I'd recommend - to a friend.....
31/08/2007, 11:11 PM
Anyone remember Sledgehammer - a cop show comedy starring David Rasche(I think) - from mid-eighties/early nineties??
Used to love that when I was a kid. Like a series of the Naked Gun film....
humpmeister7
31/08/2007, 11:12 PM
Police Squad, only aired 6 shows I believe but they were quality!:o
10/09/2007, 9:10 PM
King of Queens is class. Doug and Arthur are just comical geniuses together in it. Becker(not being made anymore), with Ted Danson, is also very good.
11/09/2007, 10:55 PM
King of Queens is class. Doug and Arthur are just comical geniuses together in it.
Arthur is the best. I like Doug too but not as much.
Becker(not being made anymore), with Ted Danson, is also very good.
Becker's ok. Just as long as the scenes don't include Becker.
12/09/2007, 8:28 AM
I cried last nite coz Veronica Mars is finished. Not sure if there is another series on the way either. What will I do! Am watching the re-runs too but I need some more Mars!!!
Nope, its finished for good.
And :rolleyes: at people thinking "King of Queens" is class. passable comedy with the odd laugh, but there's no way people could make it appointment TV
12/09/2007, 9:39 AM
Nope, its finished for good.
I know. :mad: Just spent last 10 mins when should be working googling to see what can find out and it seems that is over for good. Rob Thomas is apparently planning on doing a movie in a few years though based on Veronica in the FBI. That would be great!
anto1208
12/09/2007, 9:53 AM
My new best friend , same guy that did High spirits with shirly Ghostman a spoof Phychic ( like all the others but this guy is a comedian taking the **** ) also a very good show .
Anyone that believes in Phychics should watch this :p
My new best fried is kind of reality TV this person has to pass off an actor ( mark wootton) as his long lost best friend to all his friends and family for the weekend and they will win 10 grand if they do it , they have to go along with everything he says so when he tells one blokes friends that he is gay he has to agree, the stuff he comes out with is hillarious and seeing the contestant nearly brought to tears .He is a different charactor each week .
Here is the first episode
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=ndIJ-or7FbQ
12/09/2007, 9:57 AM
They had that on Channel 4 years ago!
12/09/2007, 1:32 PM
Forensic Detectives and another one on Discovery Crime at about half five with a fella who tells stories of the murders in a ridiculous slurred voice with funny anecdotes.
biscuit
12/09/2007, 1:46 PM
i love Deadliest Catch, Ray Mears extreme survival is another great docu-series. Csi las vegas is cool. anyone else like "the Unit" on bravo, thought it was a cracker ,only the occasional "heart warming - america is great" ****€ annoys me sometimes.Only fools n horses , Royale Family (hilarious) , simpsons, FAMILY GUY loads more but im having a brain freeze!!
DIFChick
12/09/2007, 3:42 PM
"Tribe" on BBC is one of my favourite programmes at the moment.
Himself is obsessed with UFC on Bravo. I've watched a few episodes and it's growing on me!
12/09/2007, 3:54 PM
the young ones.
classic comedy
cxkFwwRYnco
Anybody watching Flight of the Conchords on HBO
Flight of the Conchords is on BBC3 Tuesday nights now. I did not get episode 1 but watched episode 2 & was very funny. The Pet Shop video priceless. One of the strangest shows in a while. I am sure I will miss some of the musical references but best suited to music buffs you like intelligent comedy :D
dru6qrRJZ4c
Someone recommended Dexter. Seen some of that too & good show.
2legged tackle
02/10/2007, 12:47 PM
Skins , Scrubs & Heroes.
New series of heroes is out in the US but is online now.
Most of these programmes can be seen *at the usual places
The new Heroes looks worth watching if you've seen the first series.
*(Edited by Dodge - Don't be putting up "iffy" links to copyrighted stuff here)
Watched the first series of Dexter & great show.
Was sick for few days so on marathon of 30 Rock (pretty good) & The Office US (quality dropping in later series.
Wolfie
18/12/2007, 12:56 PM
The Late Late Show
Reddladd
18/12/2007, 1:50 PM
OZ...........the HBO prison drama. Quality storylines and acting!
placid casual
18/12/2007, 2:48 PM
its always sunny in philadelphia
Aberdonian Stu
19/12/2007, 10:31 AM
Came across a newish one (released in the summer) called Burn Notice which USA Network airs in the states. Bruce Campbell plays a supporting role which is all some of us need from a TV show.
lionelhutz
20/12/2007, 11:24 AM
Sorry meant to say "in its current guise". Talk of his best mate leaving, which would destroy it IMO
Not turk is it?? That cant happen - its the chemistry between turk and jd that makes the programme a classic
20/12/2007, 11:44 AM
Shows that I watch now and still enjoy:
Mythbusters - Discovery Channel, fascinating show
South Park
Scrubs
How I Met Your Mother - Channel 6
CSI's
All very good.
Aberdonian Stu
20/12/2007, 5:44 PM
I remember seeing an interview with the guy that plays Turk on the morning that the current season was starting. He said this was the last season, as opposed to just his. I was under the impression that this has been considered the case for some time.
21/12/2007, 12:06 AM
The Mighty Boosh.
It's already been mentioned and it's a bit 'weird' but I caught an episode last night which was pretty good. I saw one a while back which was even weirder.
It's again in 20 minutes on BBC 3 if you can get that.
This is a clip from last nights show.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=bKwQ_zeRwEs&feature=related
21/12/2007, 10:11 AM
The Mighty Boosh.
It's already been mentioned and it's a bit 'weird' but I caught an episode last night which was pretty good. I saw one a while back which was even weirder.
It's again in 20 minutes on BBC 3 if you can get that.
This is a clip from last nights show.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=bKwQ_zeRwEs&feature=related
This is the classic Boosh youtube clip - if you like this, you'll like the show :D
u_hMnT44Etk
I've been taping the excellent but short-lived Andy Barker, P.I. (http://www.nbc.com/Andy_Barker_PI/) on RTE2 (late Sunday night/early Monday morning). Funny show with a proper (but comedic) detective story running through each episode. Like the earlier Andy Richter Controls the Universe you can only catch it at the kind of timeslot that the eircom League Weekly repeat usually airs. Dumped after six episodes that nobody watched (NBC released the series online before it aired on TV) :( You can see the show starting to hit its stride and the potential for greatness was there if they'd given it enough time to find itself.
Sadly, Andy Richter will now always be known as successful sitcom Kryptonite and that guy who was Conan O'Brien's sidekick.
21/12/2007, 11:03 AM
Sadly, Andy Richter will now always be known as successful sitcom Kryptonite and that guy who was Conan O'Brien's sidekick.
And Ali G's husband in talladega nights.
Scrubs was offcially in its last series (even having a farwell tour) but creator Bill lawrence said he wwouldn't let the WGA strike ruin his plans for a finale to the show so they may be back next year.
And I disagree with Pete, the last season of the US office was as close to comedy gold as anybody has got in years (honourable mention to series two of Arrested Development)
I have only seen up to the end of series 3.
Beavis
21/12/2007, 2:43 PM
"Tribe" on BBC is one of my favourite programmes at the moment.
Good show that. Yer mans a bit of a hero.
Did anyone see that 'Equator' programme where the presenter went nuts with jublilation every time they crossed the equator, at a point according to his GPS gadget. Hugging and hi-fiving with dudes who havent a clue why hes randomly exploded into joy on some meaningless journey they make every single day.
Since that whenever we cross a border,eg Slovakia into Czech Rep.,Ireland to Wales ye gotta hi-five and cheer randomly in the name of that bloke who loves the equator.
ramsfan
24/12/2007, 2:38 PM
cant beat the classics like
only fools and horses
open all hours
porridge
and of course father ted
great new shows are
IT CROWD
Ramsays kitchen nightmares
Neish
20/06/2008, 10:31 AM
God a new one for ya all
Dexter http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0773262/
Got the first season recently of my sister, decent show IMO. Nowhere near as good as my top 3 Sopranos, The Wire and OZ but it good and gave me something to watch untill Season 5 of OZ is released at end of the month.
20/06/2008, 11:00 AM
I watched Dexter. The first season's just finished here. I like it a lot.
The premise is odd. The title character is a forensics specialist on blood for the Miami police, who is also a serial killer who only kills other serial killers. The first season (13 episodes) is going reasonably cheap on amazon, I think.
20/06/2008, 11:13 AM
Dunno if i've mentioned it on this thread but chuck is excellent. Really light and fluffy but funny enough to keep me entertained throughout
20/06/2008, 11:17 AM
When's that on, and what channel? I've been meaning to catch an episode.
20/06/2008, 12:15 PM
8 out of 10 Cats.
God a new one for ya all
Dexter http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0773262/
Got the first season recently of my sister, decent show IMO. Nowhere near as good as my top 3 Sopranos, The Wire and OZ but it good and gave me something to watch untill Season 5 of OZ is released at end of the month.
I recommended above. Series 2 is also very good as different plot to series 1 & writers like to finish with conclusion. Still find it strange it shown on ITV.
20/06/2008, 12:32 PM
I recommended above. Series 2 is also very good as different plot to series 1 & writers like to finish with conclusion. Still find it strange it shown on ITV.
Series two isn't over here yet though?
Boo_Boy
20/06/2008, 12:35 PM
Series two isn't over here yet though?
July 6th of FX AFAIK
Scrubs s my favourite show on tv at the moment but series seven is poor so far
IMO Scrubs was funny for 2 or 3 seasons, got very predictable and repetitive after that
Razors left peg
25/06/2008, 12:50 AM
Some that havent been mentioned yet....
The Unit
Criminal Minds
Chuck
Reaper
25/06/2008, 6:51 PM
Reaper had an interesting pilot but quickly ran out of steam after that.
Razors left peg
25/06/2008, 7:13 PM
Reaper had an interesting pilot but quickly ran out of steam after that.
Its not the greatest show ever made but its good light viewing and worth a few laughs
Boo_Boy
26/06/2008, 2:36 AM
Chuck, Burn Notice, Monk & Psych are the one's i mainly watch.