View Full Version : TV Programmes You'd Recommend To A Friend
Pages :
[
10]
Anyone be watching Camelot on RTE over the past few weeks with Joseph Fiennes as Merlin and Eva Green as morgana , good show but nothing special it starts on C4 next saturday for anyone who has missed it
We have it ready to go, as it was filmed locally.
Blue Bloods has the double bill this evening to prove whether it's worth persisting with, after the extremely cliched opening. Finished CSI: Crime Scene Investigation season 11 last night - pretty good ending and not a bad season. It is one we tend to watch on TV rather in blocks though.
07/06/2011, 12:31 PM
Chigao code is brilliant and yes I'm currently watching Geordie shore it's very entertaining. 1st ep. Was much better than 2nd however so I hope it's not going on a down hill from here on it, advert for ep. 3 looks good
07/06/2011, 10:38 PM
We have it ready to go, as it was filmed locally.
Blue Bloods has the double bill this evening to prove whether it's worth persisting with, after the extremely cliched opening. Finished CSI: Crime Scene Investigation season 11 last night - pretty good ending and not a bad season. It is one we tend to watch on TV rather in blocks though.
Half way through the second episode.
It's terrible. Absolutely terrible.
born2bwild
07/06/2011, 10:43 PM
Eastbound and Down. Season 1 is very funny.
07/06/2011, 11:15 PM
Eastbound and Down. Season 1 is very funny.
It surely is. Can't get the missus to watch it.
Anyone know where else I can catch the Chicago code other than sky one and Atlantic.
born2bwild
07/06/2011, 11:27 PM
It surely is. Can't get the missus to watch it.
What's not to like? Topless crack ho with amazing funbags riding a jet ski to the tune 'Black Betty'...Kenny's coke induced 'dance' incorporating slick 'come throwing' gesture ending in puke...Stevie's promotional video for Kenny's comeback...
Season 2 is not as good.
For Chicago Code www.veehd.com
07/06/2011, 11:27 PM
Blue Bloods is alright. Standard enough US cop fare. Cliched yes, but the main actors are all above standard. Only seen a couple of episodes, and wouldn't make an effort to see it but there you go.
Chicago Code has been cancelled, so no real point in hunting it down.
07/06/2011, 11:30 PM
I told her that b2b.
Dodge, despite its cancellation I've heard good things though I'll only have it from episode four hence my request. Blue Bloods is mind boggling. Was episode 3 any better?
07/06/2011, 11:35 PM
Dunno. Only watched the 3.
Chicago Code is the same level IMO
Thought Blue Bloods was ok - won't be going out of my way to get it, but I'll probably watch on TV (afaik I'm still allowed to watch that way! :) ). It has some potential at least, with the secret society angle, even if I can probably guess the way that'll go in the longer term.
Will check out The Chicago Code. Caught bits and pieces of Detroit 187 - anyone seen enough to make a call on it?
btw How did RTE end up so far behind with CSI - they were plugging the start of CSI Season 11 starting soon, when it finished last night on five!
08/06/2011, 8:27 AM
Dunno. Only watched the 3.
Chicago Code is the same level IMO
Well then it shouldn't take that long to.get into from episode 4.
Macy, never heard of Detroit 187. Cád é sin?
Another cop drama - RTE 2 have it on late on Thursday night iirc. Michael Imperi is one of the main characters (Christopher from the Soprano's). Wiki is telling me it wasn't renewed by ABC.
08/06/2011, 2:13 PM
Another cop drama - RTE 2 have it on late on Thursday night iirc. Michael Imperi is one of the main characters (Christopher from the Soprano's). Wiki is telling me it wasn't renewed by ABC.
Well then it must be great. Will check it out later. And then episode 3 of blue Bloods...
08/06/2011, 9:41 PM
I think you lads would all like Celebrity Salon.....tonight Georgia Salpa and Rosanna Davidson were giving breast massages........
08/06/2011, 11:18 PM
Was looking forward to Detroit 187 but another standard cop show. Stopped watching once it became clear it was going to be cancelled
So now all my hopes for a GREAT tv show rest with the upcoming HBO show Luck. Everything about it speaks to
Me
09/06/2011, 8:45 AM
I think you lads would all like Celebrity Salon.....tonight Georgia Salpa and Rosanna Davidson were giving breast massages........
The breasts they were massaging weren't exactly the stuff of fantasy. It's decent trash tv though.
So now all my hopes for a GREAT tv show rest with the upcoming HBO show Luck. Everything about it speaks to
Me
Still waiting to start Season 2 myself, but did Treme not do it for you? "Luck" looks interesting, and I guess that explains Hoffman doing the ads for Sky Atlantic.
btw If I caught the ad right, RTE2 doing another double bill of Blue Bloods next week. Not sure that shows great confidence in it, trying to rattle them off quickly!
Recently finished the 1st season of V (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1307824/), good sci-fi show but its a bit like a poor man's Battlestar Galactica(http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0407362/)
born2bwild
16/06/2011, 12:49 AM
Deadwood is excellent. HBO series; don't know if it's been mentioned before in this thread. Really authentic (I'm guessing) in realistic details and language.
Closed Account 2
16/06/2011, 3:01 PM
Anyone watch the scheme on bbc the other night ?
It was a fly-on-the-wall about life in a Killie Housing Estate.
Still waiting to start Season 2 myself, but did Treme not do it for you?
Probably a bit harsh on it as it wasn't The Wire. Just found it lacking a bit of pace. Seems like forever between seasons too.
btw If I caught the ad right, RTE2 doing another double bill of Blue Bloods next week. Not sure that shows great confidence in it, trying to rattle them off quickly!
Maybe, but they know they're playing catch up with Sky too.
Its been renewed in the US...
16/06/2011, 6:54 PM
Anyone watch the scheme on bbc the other night ?
It was a fly-on-the-wall about life in a Killie Housing Estate.
This was on bbc scotland ages ago and on the net - it ran to about episode 3 and then things got a bit hairy after that, I think one of the people on the show was involved in murder/drugs or something that involved breaking the law so the last two episodes werent aired??? So I wonder what new cleaned up version the bbc are showing now?
But its certainly bleak!
Lev Yashin
17/06/2011, 10:52 AM
Anyone watching Community?
Great Sitcom from the states about a community college.
Dont think anyone over here is showing it but well worth finding online.
17/06/2011, 11:03 AM
Anyone watching Community?
Great Sitcom from the states about a community college.
Dont think anyone over here is showing it but well worth finding online.
Yeah, I watch it, think I know about two other people who have heard of it
the two paintball episodes (well, one stand alone, one two-part episode) are some of the funniest TV I've seen in years
17/06/2011, 11:08 AM
TV3 definitely showed it for a bit. Dunno if they still are.
Terrific show, and agree on the paintball epsiodes
17/06/2011, 12:23 PM
Is that the show with Chevy Chase?
Probably a bit harsh on it as it wasn't The Wire. Just found it lacking a bit of pace. Seems like forever between seasons too.
I've started season 2, and admit it's been slow so far. But The Wire could actually be like that. And I'm a bit disappointed it's only 11 episodes - thought they'd go for a few more at least.
17/06/2011, 2:56 PM
Is that the show with Chevy Chase?
that's the one, helped reignite his career
he turns a bit nasty as the second season progresses
I've started season 2, and admit it's been slow so far. But The Wire could actually be like that
yeah but you got the sense with The Wire that even in the slower bits, literally canything could happen at aany moment to take you in a new direction
Treme doesn't really have the same effect.
Like I said, its harsh to compare the two
Neish
18/06/2011, 10:38 PM
Anyone seen Justified http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1489428/
It popped up in my recommendations in Amazon looks decent, just wondering if anyone has seen it and whats the verdict?
watched the first 2 episodes of Shameless (US version) last night. Its surprisingly good if you ask me. I would definitely recommend it. Helped out by Emmy Rossum who i now would like to bone quite badly. (meant in the sense that i really badly want to bone her as well as that i would expect my performance to be quite bad as usual). Some good pics of her better scenes out there for those that are interested... :)
http://images.starpulse.com/news/bloggers/10/blog_images/emmy-rossum-shameless.jpg
25/06/2011, 12:17 AM
watched the first 2 episodes of Shameless (US version) last night. Its surprisingly good if you ask me. I would definitely recommend it. Helped out by Emmy Rossum who i now would like to bone quite badly. (meant in the sense that i really badly want to bone her as well as that i would expect my performance to be quite bad as usual). Some good pics of her better scenes out there for those that are interested... :)
http://images.starpulse.com/news/bloggers/10/blog_images/emmy-rossum-shameless.jpg
So sport... when's the wedding again? :)
Yeah I enjoied Shamless USA too, a lot of people were giving out about it not being as good as the British one( but TBH i find the british one getting a bit old). Good show and yes Emmy Rossum does help it out
bluemovie
26/06/2011, 9:12 PM
Shameless USA is very good. Not perfect, but better than I thought. US shows are usually 'watchable' partly because they fill them with "the beautiful people". They often don't have the emotional core of British programmes, but have people like Sophie Vergara just wandering around.
As has been said, the first episode of Bluebloods (all I've seen) had more cliches than you could shake a stick at. It was as if they wanted to make an omelette without cracking eggs, put all their eggs in one basket, counted their chickens before they were hatched AND were running around like headless chickens.
What I've seen of The Walking Dead is excellent although it could end up tedious like Lost. I'm a sucker for Zombies even if all the films/programmes are kind of samey. I'm likely to dip in and out and miss episodes though. Not a Sky-plusser. Since I haven't been on this thread in months, May and early June were made extremely pleasurable by the second series of both Psychoville and, even more so, The Stewart Lee Comedy Vehicle. Superb.
27/06/2011, 12:08 AM
Anyone seen Justified http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1489428/
It popped up in my recommendations in Amazon looks decent, just wondering if anyone has seen it and whats the verdict?
Yes, absolutely superb. Timothy Olyphant is incredible in it too
Was recommended to me by a friend and I watch several episodes back to back on a plane. Didn't want flight to end
Yes, absolutely superb. Timothy Olyphant is incredible in it too
Was recommended to me by a friend and I watch several episodes back to back on a plane. Didn't want flight to end
Cheers may get it then so
28/06/2011, 11:48 AM
Justified is well worth a watch.
I've got the 2nd series on my Sky + box and am saving em up.
Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle is one of the best things on TV for some time, both series.
Would also point to Phone Shop as one of the highlights of the past few weeks, brilliant show, being repeated since it debuted on E4 late last year.
Have Sirens on the + lined up for tonight, been looking forward to it since the trailers.
29/06/2011, 12:24 PM
Watched the first episode of phone shop and thought it was next to unwatchable.
Neish
04/07/2011, 10:03 AM
The U.S. Version of "The killing" starts on C4 this thursday 7th July, havn't seen it but watched the original Danish version which was excellent and had more twists than a song
http://www.channel4.com/programmes/the-killing
The U.S. Version of "The killing" starts on C4 this thursday 7th July, havn't seen it but watched the original Danish version which was excellent and had more twists than a song
http://www.channel4.com/programmes/the-killing
Reminder folks this starts tonight on C4 at 9pm. It meant to have a different ending for those who have seen the original danish version
07/07/2011, 10:01 AM
Thanks for the reminder.
Watching The Killing - not sure "enjoying it" is quite the right phrase, but so far it's quality.
"The Hour" starts tonight on BBC2 at 9 - set in a 1950's investigative TV programme - looks like it could be interesting. Starring Dominic West, and supposed to be the BBC's answer to Madmen, but I'm not letting that comparison put me off. I know some of ye will have trouble tearing yourselves away from Blue Bloods....
19/07/2011, 2:26 PM
Watching The Killing - not sure "enjoying it" is quite the right phrase, but so far it's quality.
"The Hour" starts tonight on BBC2 at 9 - set in a 1950's investigative TV programme - looks like it could be interesting. Starring Dominic West, and supposed to be the BBC's answer to Madmen, but I'm not letting that comparison put me off. I know some of ye will have trouble tearing yourselves away from Blue Bloods....
Seriously? Mad Men is one of the best shows on right now.
Just wasn't getting it. Plus it tended to be accompanied by an earbashing about how the women were being treated.
Big fan of Mad Men here. Can't wait to see hwo thigns unfold
The US version of the Killing started off terrificly, and then got really bad, really quickly. Like stupidly bad.
Haven't seen, nor do I have any intention of seeing, the Danish version
Ya should its very good, bit of a slow starter but get good after 4 or 5 episodes which isn't bad as season 1 has 20 episodes
Lev Yashin
19/07/2011, 6:28 PM
The fourth season of Breaking Bad started in the States last weekend.
For anyone who hasn't seen the first three seasons i cant recommend it enough.
Ya should its very good, bit of a slow starter but get good after 4 or 5 episodes which isn't bad as season 1 has 20 episodes
I just couldn't concentrate for that long on subtitles. The little one has murdered my attention span/ability to stay awake
I've heard its excellent
bluemovie
22/07/2011, 3:36 PM
How soon does the Killing (US) go bad cos I've really liked the episodes on Channel 4 so far?
A couple of decent comedies I've stumbled across recently - Twenty Twelve about the build-up to the Olympics (think it was on BBC3 before and is now being repeated on proper BBC) and Him & Her (which probably made the same move) - very low key, but funny.