View Full Version : TV Programmes You'd Recommend To A Friend

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

07/09/2010, 2:50 PM
you seen True Blood?
Watch that.

13/09/2010, 12:26 PM
C4 have a lot of their cool dramas up now on you-tube which is excellent.
http://www.youtube.com/4oDDrama

Well worth a watch are GBH, Dockers, Ghosts, North Square, Never Never, Teachers, and Traffik (the original)
Brilliant British drama

14/09/2010, 7:48 AM
Season 4 finished - probably between that and Season 2 for my favourite so far. It's that feckin good I might start it again when I finish!

14/09/2010, 11:42 AM
Season 4 of the Wire is a masterpiece.

Fester
17/09/2010, 1:40 PM
True Blood and Mad Men or perhaps Spartacus. Pillars of the earth also a good watch.

Razors left peg
17/09/2010, 7:44 PM
If the tv show of Pillars of the Earth is as good as the book its a must see

Billsthoughts
20/09/2010, 8:20 PM
C4 have a lot of their cool dramas up now on you-tube which is excellent.
http://www.youtube.com/4oDDrama

Well worth a watch are GBH, Dockers, Ghosts, North Square, Never Never, Teachers, and Traffik (the original)
Brilliant British drama

am watching " a very british coup" on this.
aged very well. would recommend it. tour de force performance from aeghas mcanally of anything goes fames' dad.

Billsthoughts
20/09/2010, 8:25 PM
oh and watched the pilot for this last night.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Increasingly_Poor_Decisions_of_Todd_Margaret
very funny. one for the arrested development fans as has david cross and will arnett.
david cross is a loser who gets sent to england to work.......and makes increasingly poor decisions!!!

Razors left peg
20/09/2010, 10:30 PM
Just watched the first episode of Boardwalk Empire, thought it was excellent

27/09/2010, 9:17 AM
Finished The Wire last night. Definitely one of the top 3 ever. Season 2 or Season 4 my favourites.

I'll be looking a Broadwalk Empire.

I stumbled across episode 1 of the excellent "Boys from the Blackstuff" last night. BBC4 are repeating it on Sunday nights.

Onefootednopace
27/09/2010, 12:05 PM
An idiot abroad. Very good show. Hilarious viewing

Have to agree with you there, the first episode was excellent and I'd say episode two will be even more entertaining judging by the preview shown at the end of last weeks show.
Maybe it's not for everyone as Pilkington seems to have a mentality and sense of humour that you either love or hate.

27/09/2010, 1:03 PM
Cha'mone Mo Fo Selecta on ? over a few nights last week.

28/09/2010, 10:43 AM
Have to agree with you there, the first episode was excellent and I'd say episode two will be even more entertaining judging by the preview shown at the end of last weeks show.
Maybe it's not for everyone as Pilkington seems to have a mentality and sense of humour that you either love or hate.

Havent seen it yet, will catch up on it later. Do u reckon Pilkington is really that mad or is it all an act?

Onefootednopace
29/09/2010, 8:12 AM
Havent seen it yet, will catch up on it later. Do u reckon Pilkington is really that mad or is it all an act?
He seems to come across as being naturally funny but it's hard to tell if his lines are staged seeing that Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant have created the show. However, it's well worth watching especially for Pilkingtons reactions to different cultures and situations.

05/10/2010, 8:44 AM
Missing the wire, so I've acquired "The Corner" and "Treme" - are the any good and which to start with? Think "The Corner" might be too similar with too many crossover actors with The Wire?

The Good Son
05/10/2010, 8:55 AM
The Corner is good, but nowhere near The Wire in my opinion. I did it the same way as you are doing, watched The Corner after The Wire, I think it might have been better the other way round.

05/10/2010, 9:02 AM
Missing the wire, so I've acquired "The Corner" and "Treme" - are the any good and which to start with? Think "The Corner" might be too similar with too many crossover actors with The Wire?
Treme is very good, but you have to pay attention to everything that is said. Lot of characters too, so I found it hard to follow in places

Lev Yashin
05/10/2010, 1:54 PM
Just started watching Breaking Bad. It's very good. it's about a chemistry teacher who also works at a car wash finds out he has lung cancer. Cracks and decides he can make more money cooking crystal meth. It's is darkly funny in places and just really well written and acted especially by the lead, who was the father in malcolm in the middle.

11/10/2010, 8:43 AM
Quite enjoying Love/ Hate. I know it's a bit of a back handed compliment, but a step up from the usual RTE fare.

18/10/2010, 1:25 PM
Anyone watch When Harvey met Bob? Not bad. Thought geldofs portrayal was a bit cartoon moany and doped up rather than animated and anger-motivated. Still -not bad mind.

because I'm petty and love finding bloopers -my favourite scene is one where the camera is sidestage capturing the setup and soundcheck and there in the foreground is the unmistakeable form of a black plastic hardcase with amber straps and handles for cymbal stands made by the imaginatively monikered Hardcase Co. (est 1992) :-D

colinf
01/11/2010, 8:48 AM
love/hate was very good i thought. best irish programme ive seen (apart from fair city). fair city is THE best programme of all time. cant wait for Damo to get another hammering

A N Mouse
07/11/2010, 11:51 AM
Anyone seen Bored to Death?

Normally I see yer man Jason Schwartzman and want to watch something else, but this was ok. Also Ted Danson, and the beardy bloke from The Hangover.

And on bbc there's The Trip. Rob Brydon and Steve Coogan play themselves. Brydon's another one I find hit or miss, but this had some great moments.

08/11/2010, 9:18 AM
Started Madmen, but we've abandoned it 4 in. Just not working for us. Started "Treme" last night. So far so good. John Goodman has had some great TV roles the last few years (West Wing, Studio 60 and Treme come to mind).

Missed The Trip. Looked like it could be good.

bluemovie
10/11/2010, 3:38 PM
I'm not trawling through 19 pages so has anyone seen City of Men (the series)? It's a follow-up to City of God and was later adapted into the film City of Men. I bought the first two series in HMV the other day for €5.99 (9 half hour episodes). Watched the first two episodes last night. Very good. Much more light-hearted than the films, but really entertaining. There were 4 series in total so I'll try to buy 3 & 4 too. Anyone seen them all?

Neish
10/11/2010, 4:40 PM
I'm not trawling through 19 pages so has anyone seen City of Men (the series)? It's a follow-up to City of God and was later adapted into the film City of Men. I bought the first two series in HMV the other day for €5.99 (9 half hour episodes). Watched the first two episodes last night. Very good. Much more light-hearted than the films, but really entertaining. There were 4 series in total so I'll try to buy 3 & 4 too. Anyone seen them all?

Saw season1, good but nothing special. Thought there was only 1 season must check out the others

TenaciousDee
09/12/2010, 3:36 PM
In the search for new TV programmes to watch a lot of my friends told me this was the be all end all this year. Has anyone else watched this? I finished the final episode and I have to say I do not see why so many of my friends are creaming themselves over it. Its okay and that is it. First episode was an eighty minute cliche of the Zombie genre, a lone survivor wakes up in a hospital and goes in search of his family, cue are they alive or they not cliche story arc.

The third episode was the best of the lot but most episodes reminded me of some of 24's/Lost's episodes were the writers abandoned the main stories to came up with one off storylines that seemed stupid just to fill in the episode quotas. With the characters some of them are just used as background and I struggled to connect with all but one and that is the character you are supposed to hate yet I like him. Quite a few have been killed off but with each one I just thought "Who gives a ****?" I am praying for the episode Sarah Wynnes Calles' character gets ate alive because it is such a useless lead character. That "sex scene" with her in the woods just made me uncomfortable, it was like watching the gang rape scene in I Spit in Your Grave.

I have read that the showrunner wasn't very happy and sacked all of the writers for season two which may improve the show (I remember a certain late 90's-00's TV phenonomen doing the same thing at the end of its first season) but at the minute it just reminds me of Sarah Connor Chronicles, hyped up with so much promise only to fall flat on its face.

Anyone else feel the same or am I going to be attacked with a littiny of the same abuse I get from my Zombie Holocaust riding mates?

10/12/2010, 10:57 AM

Still missing The Wire?
Have you seen Homicide - life on the streets - about the homicide squad in Boston?
Different set up from the Wire but stands up well.
First 5 series and a few episodes from series 6 (the subway episode and the man with the dog episode), imo,contain some of the best tv drama.

10/12/2010, 11:19 AM
Its based in Baltimore, not Boston. Not a co-incidence as from the same person as The Wire. Its like a network version.

Last season of it was horrible but great stuff in the years before hand. Was being constantly comapred to NYPD Blue at the time, but I think its stood up fairly well

10/12/2010, 1:40 PM
Still missing The Wire?
Have you seen Homicide - life on the streets - about the homicide squad in Boston?

Watched some of it on the tele years back. May think about it in the future alright. I'm enjoying Treme, the missus hasn't really got over the wire yet to committ to another show.

10/12/2010, 1:44 PM
If you're into those shows, Generation Kill is a must. It's a docu-drama by David Simon & Ed Burns with Evan Wright, based on the latter's book on his time imbedded with recon marines in the invasion of Iraq.

10/12/2010, 2:56 PM
In the search for new TV programmes to watch a lot of my friends told me this was the be all end all this year. Has anyone else watched this? I finished the final episode and I have to say I do not see why so many of my friends are creaming themselves over it. Its okay and that is it. First episode was an eighty minute cliche of the Zombie genre, a lone survivor wakes up in a hospital and goes in search of his family, cue are they alive or they not cliche story arc.

The third episode was the best of the lot but most episodes reminded me of some of 24's/Lost's episodes were the writers abandoned the main stories to came up with one off storylines that seemed stupid just to fill in the episode quotas. With the characters some of them are just used as background and I struggled to connect with all but one and that is the character you are supposed to hate yet I like him. Quite a few have been killed off but with each one I just thought "Who gives a ****?" I am praying for the episode Sarah Wynnes Calles' character gets ate alive because it is such a useless lead character. That "sex scene" with her in the woods just made me uncomfortable, it was like watching the gang rape scene in I Spit in Your Grave.

I have read that the showrunner wasn't very happy and sacked all of the writers for season two which may improve the show (I remember a certain late 90's-00's TV phenonomen doing the same thing at the end of its first season) but at the minute it just reminds me of Sarah Connor Chronicles, hyped up with so much promise only to fall flat on its face.

Anyone else feel the same or am I going to be attacked with a littiny of the same abuse I get from my Zombie Holocaust riding mates?

are you talking about The Walking Dead (starring Egg from This Life)? If so, i find it adequate viewing. Deteriorated rapidly from a very promising start. Everything since episode 3 has been poo in my opinion.

10/12/2010, 8:42 PM
Its based in Baltimore, not Boston. Not a co-incidence as from the same person as The Wire. Its like a network version.

Last season of it was horrible but great stuff in the years before hand. Was being constantly comapred to NYPD Blue at the time, but I think its stood up fairly well

Yeah of course Baltimore, I just had Boston in my brain at the time, not a nice feeling.
It was beginning to fade out in series 6, but yet there are still 2 or 3 first class episodes peppered in that series, the subway was one and another was with Paul Giamatti guesting.
I might of watched series 7, but my heart wasn't in it.

In all honesty, NYPD blue after the 1st series, is not in the same ballpark, the script alone was banal, the plots soapy, but carried by very good acting.

TenaciousDee
10/12/2010, 10:07 PM
are you talking about The Walking Dead (starring Egg from This Life)? If so, i find it adequate viewing. Deteriorated rapidly from a very promising start. Everything since episode 3 has been poo in my opinion.
That's the one. Honestly I don't get the fascination with it. As I said it is just ok and all it does is pass 45 minutes or so but my mates have gone into depression now that they have to wait until October to see it again.

But for those who may want to get into an older TV series I would recommend Murder One. It was released in 1995 and was the biggest TV show of that year. From Stven Boccho it was a court room drama that followed one case from the crime to gathering evidence, jury selection, trial and aftermath. Was very addictive viewing and I quite often watch the first season over on DVD. Second Season wasn't so strong when they replaced the leading character and was cancelled mid-season as it went up against Friends in a ratings war in Ameica. I highly recommend it.

Of new shows alot of people go on about Sons of Anarchy whih I must finally get round to seeing. Modern Family is quite good and next month Californication returns too, can't wait for that.

03/01/2011, 12:51 PM
I've just seen the first 4 episodes of The Walking Dead (plan on watching the other 2 tonight) but I'm enjoying it so far anyway.

Have heard good things about Breaking Bad (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0903747/) too, the 1st series is being repeated on FX from Wednesday night so will be recording that.

05/01/2011, 11:27 AM
Half way through Breaking Bad series 2. Quality drama. Hilarious at times.

Walking Dead was an easy watch. I'll watch series 2.

I'm looking forward to the Sky Atlantic channel.

ken foree
06/01/2011, 3:14 PM
Yeah of course Baltimore, I just had Boston in my brain at the time, not a nice feeling.

wow i'd rather have boston on the brain than baltimore, yikes ;)

Cuyahoga
16/01/2011, 5:55 PM
Malcolm in the Middle
Eggheads
Pointless
Podge and Rodge show
The Catherine Tate Show

Billsthoughts
16/01/2011, 8:47 PM
episodes looks like it good be quite funny.
anyone seen community? supposed to be very funny and has chevy chase in it?

stann
17/01/2011, 1:37 PM
Pointless

Was hoping to see this posted up, otherwise I was going to have to resurrect the "Guilty pleasures" thread. :laugh:
Love it! The best kind of quiz/game show, the only one I've ever been compelled to Sky+, can't wait for it to return.

The first, well, episode of Episodes was good, looks like it might be a winner alright.

17/01/2011, 2:29 PM
episodes looks like it good be quite funny.
anyone seen community? supposed to be very funny and has chevy chase in it?
yeah, it's excellent
skip the first four or five episodes of the first series, until they lose the cheesy English professor, and it really takes off
the Christmas episode in the current series was excellent

17/01/2011, 11:19 PM
I watched Community because of Joel McHale, but it can be very formulaic. Chase is a total letdown, although to be fair, I haven't really laughed at anything of his since Fletch.

17/01/2011, 11:59 PM
I watched Community because of Joel McHale, but it can be very formulaic. Chase is a total letdown, although to be fair, I haven't really laughed at anything of his since Fletch.
Chase gets more demented as the series goes on, he's funny in an "old guy trying to be down with the kids, but says loads of racist/sexist/anti-semitic" kind of a way
I'd rank the paintball episode from series 1 and the Halloween episode from series 2 as some of the best comedy I've seen in a long time

also, Alison Brie, oh my word, yes.

cornflakes
18/01/2011, 6:24 PM

Does he still make The Soup? Always liked that programme, haven't seen it in ages tho

18/01/2011, 7:51 PM
Dunno, I stopped watching it meself while back. It's a laugh, but you can only take so much of some things.

The paintball episode was a laugh alright. Haven't see the halloween episode. Sticking to Cougar Town and Modern Family at the moment, although admittedly Modern Family isn't much better. Apart from the massive boobs of course.

21/01/2011, 2:23 PM
Cougar town Dahamsta?!

21/01/2011, 4:15 PM
I can't decide if that was sarcasm or a question. Erring on the side of caution.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cougar_Town

cornflakes
21/01/2011, 5:50 PM
Courteney Cox is looking a lot better with age

Just thought I'd say that

22/01/2011, 1:17 PM
I can't decide if that was sarcasm or a question. Erring on the side of caution.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cougar_Town

I'm taking the mick! Fair play to owning up to Cougar town. Brave man.

22/01/2011, 2:30 PM
I've no shame in saying I think it's one of the best sitcom in production at ghetto moment. It's not the mist original sitcom ever written, but compared to the likes if Modern Family it's positively groundbreaking!

23/01/2011, 10:00 PM
Spartacus: Gods of the Arena, the prequel mini series to Spartacus: Blood and Sand, has just started in the States
Checked out the first episode, more of the same - blood, over the top action, nudity, blood, Xena going gay, blood, and blood

Daft as a brush, but good fun.