no iv have retired from the game, but will be a keen supporter as usuall.:cool:

pixiehead
02/03/2007, 1:14 AM

Im Sure youre familiar with the story of Pinochio :D :p

irishyop
02/03/2007, 8:24 AM
Pixihead,
Was it yourself who was pictured in the Mayo Snews with regards to the Mayo branch of the Galway United supporters?

Forced out of the game by injury was it Robben? With a name like that you would be prone to knee injuries ;)

mandarin frogs
02/03/2007, 4:10 PM

Retired? Drink-related injury in T-Flynns more like! No-one ever fully retires in the mayo league. They might take a "year out", but they miss the drinking and craic, especially you my son!

pixiehead
03/03/2007, 1:48 AM
Retired? Drink-related injury in T-Flynns more like! No-one ever fully retires in the mayo league. They might take a "year out", but they miss the drinking and craic, especially you my son!

Thanks Frogs!!! Now i know exactly who you and Robben 11 are!!!!!! :p Na Na Na Na na!!! ;)

sinabhuil
03/03/2007, 10:28 AM
We drew with Ballinrobe last Sunday 2 - 2. Good well contested game however both teams missing a few regulars. Tomorrow game v Ballyglass should be challenging dependant upon which team they put out.

the dude
03/03/2007, 11:33 AM
We drew with Ballinrobe last Sunday 2 - 2. Good well contested game however both teams missing a few regulars. Tomorrow game v Ballyglass should be challenging dependant upon which team they put out.

and who do you play for

sinabhuil
03/03/2007, 12:19 PM
Alas my playing days are over but I have an interest in Cross Celtic.

pixiehead
03/03/2007, 4:07 PM
Weekend Results

Snugboro 4 - 2 Westport B
Ballyheane p - p Castlebar Town

renovater
03/03/2007, 7:08 PM
good point, what players have got this year that they didn;t have last year !!
They have lost one of there best players to westport so they would be more inclined to be hoping players who want to play at the highest level will come knocking on there door Trainning has resume to tuesday and thursdays. So it depends on what others do.:ball:

renovater
03/03/2007, 7:23 PM
Same aul same aul!!! Rule 34 has been imlplymented so the transfer window closes from 1st august to the 1st January. This means no new players what so ever. Also only 3 subs to be used in ALL competitions ( FIFA rules) no exception. And clubs will continue to pay the €250 that we paid to the league for the Eircom under 21 team but this time it will go towards the improvement of milebush which isnt such a bad thing really and all clubs agreed:cool: It was quite funny to see John Deleaney in the flesh plus he was fashionabley late!! Good Man John. O ya and Jimmy blake gave a talk omn behalf of the the refs and said this year they would tolerate abuse of Match Officals. No ****ing Way he said :D
CLUBS will amaze me just hand over €250 just like that.Do they not pay enough to the Mayo League without them looking for more hand outs.
Tell me what do the League give back in return.
Will your club members be as good to give you an increase in membership,when you ask.Try to remember its not your money its club money and its hard got.:mad:

pixiehead
04/03/2007, 12:33 PM
CLUBS will amaze me just hand over €250 just like that.Do they not pay enough to the Mayo League without them looking for more hand outs.
Tell me what do the League give back in return.
Will your club members be as good to give you an increase in membership,when you ask.Try to remember its not your money its club money and its hard got.:mad:

The point being that absolutley no club objected to the proposal and the last time i looked we lived in a democracy. I appriciate that we dont get a hell of a lot back but its a fabulous facility and if your so against it why where you not there to put in your pennys worth??

renovater
04/03/2007, 5:02 PM
The point being that absolutley no club objected to the proposal and the last time i looked we lived in a democracy. I appriciate that we dont get a hell of a lot back but its a fabulous facility and if your so against it why where you not there to put in your pennys worth??
U are right about one thing, I was not there only because we agreed at club level that we send 2 to the junior meeting and two others two the youths meeting the next night by the way which is where your club sliped up by sending no one.How ever thats for another day. My point being clubs to offen are putting there hands in to deep.I said it before lack of leadership from the floor, my club like all others are guilty,as you said its democracy you and other are afforded the right to vote against it, even if you lose the vote, at leased you made a stand for what you think is right. and that counts for somethink.:)

mandarin frogs
04/03/2007, 6:50 PM
Thanks Frogs!!! Now i know exactly who you and Robben 11 are!!!!!! :p Na Na Na Na na!!! ;)

You may well know who robben 11 is, but you'll never unmask the frogs!!!!!! reply with initials sherlock!!

mandarin frogs
04/03/2007, 7:10 PM
never said the'l be a force, however they will be a very hard team to break down, i watched many of their games last year and they played good football this year will be different the'l be a lot more physical and fit, that in a way is a force in itself is it not............!!!!:cool:

You've been rumbled robben! pixies got your number!!!

the grape vine
05/03/2007, 8:56 AM
i see after yesturdays game's in the connacht cup, no mayo side in the last 8 of the cup, this surely will re-open the debate on winter v's summer season!!
my guessing on it is that the 8 teams left are not the best teams,but just 8 teams in the middle of there season and "match fit"(huge difference in being fit and being up to the speed of things and being match fit) ???

pixiehead
05/03/2007, 1:09 PM
U are right about one thing, I was not there only because we agreed at club level that we send 2 to the junior meeting and two others two the youths meeting the next night by the way which is where your club sliped up by sending no one.How ever thats for another day. My point being clubs to offen are putting there hands in to deep.I said it before lack of leadership from the floor, my club like all others are guilty,as you said its democracy you and other are afforded the right to vote against it, even if you lose the vote, at leased you made a stand for what you think is right. and that counts for somethink.:)

yOu are right in a way but in fairness how many teams actualy would vote against the league proposal. If a club did that they could risk being jumped on in the " long grass" Am i right?? As regards the Youths not sending a representitive we have seperate committees so i didnt realise they werent in attendance however i will put them over my lap for that :rolleyes:

pixiehead
05/03/2007, 1:15 PM
i see after yesturdays game's in the connacht cup, no mayo side in the last 8 of the cup, this surely will re-open the debate on winter v's summer season!!
my guessing on it is that the 8 teams left are not the best teams,but just 8 teams in the middle of there season and "match fit"(huge difference in being fit and being up to the speed of things and being match fit) ???

O Please please please dont bring that up again GV. Look 90% of the league prefer summer soccer and our pitches cant cope with the weather its as simple as that ........ Its not going to change. Ballina Manulla ect are still on the go from last season and in the middle of serious fitness training so the argument that its fitness is not vaild chief!!

pixiehead
05/03/2007, 1:19 PM
You may well know who robben 11 is, but you'll never unmask the frogs!!!!!! reply with initials sherlock!!

Chief inspector Pixie thinks Robben 11 is S.W
Frogs i think you are J.C

Anyhow yer not going to tell me anyhow :D But ill search the ends of the earth until i get to the bottom of it!! Ill get ye Feckkers HE HE :D

the grape vine
05/03/2007, 1:40 PM
O Please please please dont bring that up again GV. Look 90% of the league prefer summer soccer and our pitches cant cope with the weather its as simple as that ........ Its not going to change. Ballina Manulla ect are still on the go from last season and in the middle of serious fitness training so the argument that its fitness is not vaild chief!!

i not lookin to change back to winter, some of us did play winter back in the auld days,and i agree it can be very messy. but mayo teams are at a huge disadvantge, by not playing week in week out while competing in both the Connacht cup & F.A.i. cup.. it just a point i making, not looking to start another endless debate !!!!:)

mandarin frogs
05/03/2007, 3:27 PM
Chief inspector Pixie thinks Robben 11 is S.W
Frogs i think you are J.C

Anyhow yer not going to tell me anyhow :D But ill search the ends of the earth until i get to the bottom of it!! Ill get ye Feckkers HE HE :D

Cant comment on robben, but keep guessing on the frogs!!!:) ill let you know if your warm!

renovater
05/03/2007, 8:24 PM
yOu are right in a way but in fairness how many teams actualy would vote against the league proposal. If a club did that they could risk being jumped on in the " long grass" Am i right?? As regards the Youths not sending a representitive we have seperate committees so i didnt realise they werent in attendance however i will put them over my lap for that :rolleyes:
By the way I am not having a go spoke to someone at your club and try to smooth out the non attendances with them.
Regards to long grass Its called democracy never live in fear.:)

renovater
05/03/2007, 8:32 PM
Cant comment on robben, but keep guessing on the frogs!!!:) ill let you know if your warm!
Listen for the last time stick to the thread and stop getting personal.
It does not suit you.By the way our friend pikie is making a valid point winter football and summer fottie don't mix well when it comes to external competition

Thunderblaster
05/03/2007, 11:22 PM
Anyone looking at the excellent mayo.fai.ie lately? I read that there will be no more updates on it for the moment and it is a shame. Joe Butler has put in huge work into that site and he must be congratulated on that. Would like to see it up and running again.

mandarin frogs
05/03/2007, 11:43 PM
It does not suit you.By the way our friend pikie is making a valid point winter football and summer fottie don't mix well when it comes to external competition

You never seem to make any sense. How can someone get "personal" about anything on this, or any thread? As i said on your "rule 34" thread, i doubt that your christian name is actually "renovater"! Or have you grasped that concept yet? I think you take all this a bit too seriously my son! As per usual, I await the inevitable reply, full of comma's and full-stops, and of course, correct spelling. (at least i try to spell correctly, oh no... thats a bit personal, dont want to upset anyone).:rolleyes:

the dude
06/03/2007, 11:18 AM
did any clubs play any friendlies at the weekend?

the dude
06/03/2007, 11:26 AM
Anyone looking at the excellent mayo.fai.ie lately? I read that there will be no more updates on it for the moment and it is a shame. Joe Butler has put in huge work into that site and he must be congratulated on that. Would like to see it up and running again.
ya it was an excellent website. it was very handy to get up to date information on the mayo league. does it say when it'l be up and running again?

swinfordfc
06/03/2007, 1:43 PM
Hope the mayo.fai.ie website is up and going some time - very good web site and well done to joe butler for running it

pixiehead
06/03/2007, 1:47 PM

We are only havin a bit of craic!!! Dont get whos being personal?? And a Pikie is an English Tinker :D

pixiehead
06/03/2007, 1:50 PM

Yes!!!1 down and one to Go :D Are you A McK ?? ;)

pixiehead
06/03/2007, 1:51 PM
Rumour Has it that MAD MICK is to Get the Ballyglass Job!!! ;)

the dude
06/03/2007, 2:01 PM
Rumour Has it that MAD MICK is to Get the Ballyglass Job!!! ;)

they must be hard up a manager if there gettin him. he was useless as the ballyheane b manager lst year

the grape vine
06/03/2007, 2:11 PM
they must be hard up a manager if there gettin him. he was useless as the ballyheane b manager lst year

YA, hear he rearly turn up for training a was late for a lot of game's, by what i hear, he thinks he the "special ONE":p

swinfordfc
06/03/2007, 2:59 PM
Ya,
i hear he spends more time in Cafollas in Castlebar than training any team :D

pixiehead
06/03/2007, 4:39 PM
Ya,
i hear he spends more time in Cafollas in Castlebar than training any team :D

Ya Bit like Yer Tyson is it. Fool :mad:

mandarin frogs
06/03/2007, 5:29 PM
Yes!!!1 down and one to Go :D Are you A McK ?? ;)

No, getting colder. Would'nt surprise me if he was on here somewhere, under a different guise, but he ain't the frogs my son! No reply from Robben???;)

mandarin frogs
06/03/2007, 6:06 PM
We are only havin a bit of craic!!! Dont get whos being personal?? And a Pikie is an English Tinker :D

Hear,hear pixiehead! Well said my son! People should'nt take these things so seriously.:)

short_frank
07/03/2007, 12:41 AM
I have heard Glenisland and Ballinrobe B have gone. Are Ballyvary down to one team now?

did any clubs play any friendlies at the weekend?

Partry played Westport B in Milebush on Sunday in desperate conditions and were unlucky to only come away with a 1-1 draw.

Anyone any ideas on how the relagation/promotion issues for each division will pan out. Could be a few tight divisions.

pixiehead
07/03/2007, 1:14 AM
I have heard Glenisland and Ballinrobe B have gone. Are Ballyvary down to one team now?

Partry played Westport B in Milebush on Sunday in desperate conditions and were unlucky to only come away with a 1-1 draw.

Anyone any ideas on how the relagation/promotion issues for each division will pan out. Could be a few tight divisions.

Last i heard Ballyvary had only 3 turn up for training. I feel very Sorry for Glenisland. Its a sad state of affairs. But this is My whole point that i made some while Back. If Players dont get involved in the day to day running of their clubs they will just vanish into thin air especially Rural Clubs. This wont be the last Club to Fall victim of an every increasing self-centered society :(

pixiehead
07/03/2007, 1:17 AM
No, getting colder. Would'nt surprise me if he was on here somewhere, under a different guise, but he ain't the frogs my son! No reply from Robben???;)

If you tell me if your on the Heans A or B ill have you figured out by the end of the week. Thats a promise. MAybe some free beer might intice you from your Shell :D ;)

swinfordfc
07/03/2007, 8:56 AM
Think K+K could win Division 2 this year

theboy
07/03/2007, 9:10 AM
heard S&F have got 2 new managers, any truth in this? could be a turning point for the senior team.

Anyone have any idea when the fixtures are out? i no the dates are set but who is playin who on the first day?

FahyForever
07/03/2007, 3:03 PM

I heard that Glenisland have decided to get it together and put in a team this year. I know that at their AGM they decided not to enter one but heard a few people rallies around to ensure their survival. Know they have lost a few pllyers, including one really good player to Glenhest. Not 100% sure or anything, that's just what I heard.

swinfordfc
07/03/2007, 3:15 PM
I heard that Glenisland have decided to get it together and put in a team this year. I know that at their AGM they decided not to enter one but heard a few people rallies around to ensure their survival. Know they have lost a few pllyers, including one really good player to Glenhest. Not 100% sure or anything, that's just what I heard.

In Connacht Telegraph, it has in Division 2b Glenhest United - i take this to be Glenisland United - thing its a tying error or am i wrong?

Lassy
07/03/2007, 3:48 PM
im thinking typo error :confused:

the grape vine
07/03/2007, 3:57 PM
anyone any tought's on the Sligo Rovers job, would the "gray one"(as he called here) be interested in the post ?? :confused:

sinabhuil
07/03/2007, 5:19 PM
Lost 2 nil to Ballyglass on Sunday. Atrocious conditions. B'glass much better than us. To be fair we were probably missing 6 of our normal starting team. We were however useless in the first half when we played with the wind.

Cant believe that Glenisland could be finished. They have their own ground, training area, dressing rooms, etc. We would kill for this. Try to keep it together lads. Also pity that Robe only fielding an A team. Where will all the B team players get their football?. Like Ballyvarry we have found training very hard to organise this year with players away at college, work, injuries, etc.

Any one on for a challenge match at the weekend?

mandarin frogs
07/03/2007, 6:04 PM
If you tell me if your on the Heans A or B ill have you figured out by the end of the week. Thats a promise. MAybe some free beer might intice you from your Shell :D ;)

Honestly not involved with b'heane, dont know why you'd think that! Colder and colder! like the beer idea though!:) Did you take that photo of ticker and barry redmond above the bar? must be 10 years old?

mandarin frogs
07/03/2007, 6:29 PM
In Connacht Telegraph, it has in Division 2b Glenhest United - i take this to be Glenisland United - thing its a tying error or am i wrong?

Be interested in yours, or anyones, opinion regarding the structure of mayo league division 2. It must be very hard to motivate a team to get out of this division. A team cannot plan from season to season, because they dont know who they will be playing against in that season, as the division is split into groups a and b, and the teams you faced last season may be in the other group this season. Add this uncertainty to the number of teams pulling out of the league, and the introduction of new teams,( be it new clubs, existing clubs entering b teams, or c teams in celtics case), and its a lottery!
Even then, second place in your group will get you into a set of 2 playoffs to get promoted. So, an unlucky team, with potential, may be stuck in that division.
So whats the alternative? is it time to revert to a 10-team division 2, with the other 5/6 teams forming a division 3? These teams can easily play 3/4 rounds in the league until the league entry means a 10-team division. This "division 3" existed in the past in the Mayo league, albeit with more teams in the overall mayo league at the time( newport town, parkside celtic, ballina rovers, etc...). Surely this would be fairer on progressive division 2 teams? Welcome any thoughts. Tom Kelly take note!!:)

renovater
07/03/2007, 9:32 PM
anyone any thoughts on the Sligo Rovers job, would the "gray one"(as he called here) be interested in the post ?? :confused:
He wouldn't get past the gate, he would be considered a traitor to the team he was to love