View Full Version : Mayo League Football 2007

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

renovater
22/01/2007, 7:21 PM
[QUOTE=pixiehead;609212]Ya its for a yearly Lotto. And the membership is €150. Youre last line sums it up C.T :)[/QUO

membership seem very dear, or is that the going rate for most if not all the super leauge team's ??
Welll think for one moment,it could cost upto €10,000 to run a club with two junior teams.
so you may pick up €5000 from membership, but you still got to find the other €5000 if you ask me membership in any club should be €200 per player. wnen you think of the fine pitches they now play on.I also think clubs like the League give a good service.:)

renovater
22/01/2007, 7:25 PM
[QUOTE=pixiehead;609221]

and would that €130-€150 cover all the cost for the year, like buses,Insurance, physio etc.. or would the players have to fork out more money again .
you should try a run a club on those cost,you will then see how hard it is.
dont even mention a bus.:confused:

the grape vine
23/01/2007, 2:53 PM
[QUOTE=the grape vine;609216]
Welll think for one moment,it could cost upto €10,000 to run a club with two junior teams.
so you may pick up €5000 from membership, but you still got to find the other €5000 if you ask me membership in any club should be €200 per player. wnen you think of the fine pitches they now play on.I also think clubs like the League give a good service.:)

i think €200 per player is way over priced. and does membership at€150-€200 Include full Insurance, to cover a players wage's and medical bills if he was to break his leg and out of work for 3-6months or he was to tear a hamstring and needed 10-15 session's of physio @ about €40 a session ???:confused: :confused:

sinabhuil
23/01/2007, 4:19 PM
[QUOTE=renovater;609341]

i think €200 per player is way over priced. and does membership at€150-€200 Include full Insurance, to cover a players wage's and medical bills if he was to break his leg and out of work for 3-6months or he was to tear a hamstring and needed 10-15 session's of physio @ about €40 a session ???:confused: :confused:

You must be joking. The insurance cover is very limited and will not include physio. The membership fee covers league affiliation, pitches, training equipment, refs, fines, etc..
The league affiliation covers insurance - Public Liability to third parties, (clubhouses/carparks need specific mention in the policy and may cost more) some limited (€1,000??) for personal injury/loss of earnings for players and no cover for physio.
A player cannot expect to get the type of cover mentioned by grape vine for €3 a week. If players are concerned that they are not covered, and generally they should be concerned, they should seek their own cover. CICE provide general accident cover including sports injuries. People should beware that the cover can be costly and the salesmen can be very pushy. Make sure you know exactly what you are buying and read the small print. Players with dependant spouses or children or players with mortgages or other committments should have seperate cover. Due to the number of accidents and the costs most clubs will be unable to help.
Any other suggestions? Can/do clubs offer additional cover? Any other companies offering cover apart from CICE?
YNWA

pixiehead
23/01/2007, 4:24 PM
[QUOTE=the grape vine;609858]

You must be joking. The insurance cover is very limited and will not include physio. The membership fee covers league affiliation, pitches, training equipment, refs, fines, etc..
The league affiliation covers insurance - Public Liability to third parties, (clubhouses/carparks need specific mention in the policy and may cost more) some limited (€1,000??) for personal injury/loss of earnings for players and no cover for physio.
A player cannot expect to get the type of cover mentioned by grape vine for €3 a week. If players are concerned that they are not covered, and generally they should be concerned, they should seek their own cover. CICE provide general accident cover including sports injuries. People should beware that the cover can be costly and the salesmen can be very pushy. Make sure you know exactly what you are buying and read the small print. Players with dependant spouses or children or players with mortgages or other committments should have seperate cover. Due to the number of accidents and the costs most clubs will be unable to help.
YNWA

Very Informative. Thanks for that Shinabhil :)

irishyop
23/01/2007, 4:28 PM
In our case it is 150 euro per year for membership.
Over the last 2 seasons I have had up on 10 physio sessions for "club" related injuries, all out of my own pocket, also the fact that I was off work for 2 days and the fact I don't get paid when I am off sick left me well out of pocket.
But that is something I accept as we are not a "pro" club with big money behind us, using lotto tickets to pay for our refs, washing the jerseys and that.

pixiehead
23/01/2007, 11:52 PM
In our case it is 150 euro per year for membership.
Over the last 2 seasons I have had up on 10 physio sessions for "club" related injuries, all out of my own pocket, also the fact that I was off work for 2 days and the fact I don't get paid when I am off sick left me well out of pocket.
But that is something I accept as we are not a "pro" club with big money behind us, using lotto tickets to pay for our refs, washing the jerseys and that.

Your dead right yop. Its good that you accept it too. I hear alot of players moaning about " will the club pay for my Physio bla bla bla" The same feckers wouldnt sell a lotto ticket if it was the end of the world. However its also important that clubs dont pay injury bills for the "star" players and not the ordinary Joe soaps or this will open up a huge can of worms :mad:

the grape vine
24/01/2007, 8:41 AM
Your dead right yop. Its good that you accept it too. I hear alot of players moaning about " will the club pay for my Physio bla bla bla" The same feckers wouldnt sell a lotto ticket if it was the end of the world. However its also important that clubs dont pay injury bills for the "star" players and not the ordinary Joe soaps or this will open up a huge can of worms :mad:

i find it very strange that you think it is good for a player to "ACCEPT IT" if he get's injuryed playing ball, if a person was to get injuryed at work i'am sure they would expect there employer to cover the cost???(not that it affect's as i retired now) but having play both soccer & GAA in time and got alot more injuryies play the GAA, the GAA where always behind the players and covered all there injury costs,which only seem correct to me.. look's like soccer is really falling behind the GAA in player welfare dept.:( :o

pixiehead
24/01/2007, 11:09 AM
i find it very strange that you think it is good for a player to "ACCEPT IT" if he get's injuryed playing ball, if a person was to get injuryed at work i'am sure they would expect there employer to cover the cost???(not that it affect's as i retired now) but having play both soccer & GAA in time and got alot more injuryies play the GAA, the GAA where always behind the players and covered all there injury costs,which only seem correct to me.. look's like soccer is really falling behind the GAA in player welfare dept.:( :o

Im really only talking about minor injuries and not that of a serious nature. As for the dirty GAA we all know they can afford the above as they are full of money and where the domonante party for years:mad:

the grape vine
24/01/2007, 11:17 AM
Im really only talking about minor injuries and not that of a serious nature. As for the dirty GAA we all know they can afford the above as they are full of money and where the domonante party for years:mad:

and where would the GAA get there money? i wouldn't say from membership @ about 50 euro.

swinfordfc
24/01/2007, 2:43 PM
Lads,

How will Mayo get on this weekend away to Donegal - think it be alot tougher than people expects as i think they have a few injuries worries going into the game

renovater
24/01/2007, 8:09 PM
I think we all a agree on one thing, football does come at aprice.Some must pay more than others.wheather its €200 or €100 one at the end of the day must make ends meet. and no club offical should have to bare the cost, because of some selfish footballers,who think they are gods gift to man or woman.Its about time they the players face up to the hard facts,:mad: there is no free lunch,and everythink has to be paid for.
I would of thought that every player had at leased medical insurrance from one of the big three.V.H.I. BUBA VIVAS.
But it apears not.the old cleque the club will pay.or the some benefactor will provide out of his pocket.Well that may of happen in the pased,but today no.
so for the last time players please get your heads out of the sand!!!

renovater
24/01/2007, 8:13 PM
Lads,

How will Mayo get on this weekend away to Donegal - think it be alot tougher than people expects as i think they have a few injuries worries going into the game
In the past we would'nt have much joy.But now they have a new believe and a little extra in the tank!!:ball:

Thunderblaster
24/01/2007, 10:27 PM
Mayo has a decent record against Donegal, save for that poor performance in 2005. Away win!!;) :D :ball:

Cloggs
26/01/2007, 7:58 AM
Lads,

they seem to have built up a bit of momentum and theres a fair bit of belief in themselves at the moment so i don't see why they wouldn't be able to pull a decent result out of the trip.all the lads are really playing for the cause at present also.mayo to win 2-1.2-0 if the defence keeps up its recent excellent record!

swinfordfc
26/01/2007, 8:47 AM
i think it might be tough this weekend - a number of players out for a number of reasons but hopefully they still get a win, it is also Ciaran Kelly last game for Mayo before he moves to better things - good luck to him - fine keeper

sinabhuil
26/01/2007, 11:43 AM
i think it might be tough this weekend - a number of players out for a number of reasons but hopefully they still get a win, it is also Ciaran Kelly last game for Mayo before he moves to better things - good luck to him - fine keeper

Where is he going? I thought he already tried the semi-pro game with Sligo. Is Kenneth O'Malley (B'robe) still with Sligo or is he playing any soccer at all?

the grape vine
26/01/2007, 11:47 AM
Where is he going? I thought he already tried the semi-pro game with Sligo. Is Kenneth O'Malley (B'robe) still with Sligo or is he playing any soccer at all?

ATHLONE TOWN.

sinabhuil
26/01/2007, 11:48 AM

Thanks.

the grape vine
26/01/2007, 3:50 PM
From what my sources tell me Murphy is still with the Boro. He said he will either play for Boro or hang up the Boots. Fact!!! ;)

is it true heard last nite k .murphy is taking the ballyheane job after all ??

Thunderblaster
26/01/2007, 5:41 PM
Who is tipped for the chair at the forthcoming MAFL AGM?

renovater
26/01/2007, 7:27 PM
Who is tipped for the chair at the forthcoming MAFL AGM?
There not to many to choose from. Mr Quigley time is up to vacate the chair to Tom Mc Daniel, but Iam being told he will not take it.and is more likely to step away from the league.By all accounts I dont think he even got whats it takes to be Chairman. So that leaves you with Tom Kelly J Durkan which I doubt will take it. then you are left with Gerry Sweeney who I think could only make Vice chair.
My moneys on Donal Benson coming back to the league and walking straight into the hot seat. Mind you he will not see I to I with some of his colleages in the same light as he used to. You will see the big Celtic HAT vs Swinford Hat show.
you may see another Ballyheane man back in the seat.:)
good times ahead.

renovater
26/01/2007, 7:36 PM
After all the bad press Ballyheane had in recent week over P Bourke,it look like they Ballyheane have turned the cornor. Michael Fox is back in the hot seat as Chairman.and he will bring alot of experance with him into the job.
He will run a tight ship and run the club like the league its self.Take no nonsence from anyone.
I see there is new management structure with the like of K Murphy Michael Hastings as trainor Noel tuffy Coach and Colin Conroy for defensive dutys.
It should bring back the steel we are use to seeing at Ballyheane.:)

swift
26/01/2007, 10:36 PM
[QUOTE=renovater;611874]After all the bad press Ballyheane had in recent week over P Bourke,it look like they Ballyheane have turned the cornor. Michael Fox is back in the hot seat as Chairman.and he will bring alot of experance with him into the job.
He will run a tight ship and run the club like the league its self.Take no nonsence from anyone.
I see there is new management structure with the like of K Murphy Michael Hastings as trainor Noel tuffy Coach and Colin Conroy for defensive dutys.

From what I hear he couldnt organise those things you do in a brewery!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
Am I right Micheal

Thunderblaster
27/01/2007, 8:11 PM
After all the bad press Ballyheane had in recent week over P Bourke,it look like they Ballyheane have turned the cornor. Michael Fox is back in the hot seat as Chairman.and he will bring alot of experance with him into the job.

What is the manifesto from the new chairman? What will he do to turn the fortunes of Ballyheane FC from mid table Super League side to serious FAI Junior Cup contenders. What is the underage and ladies policy? What are the plans to upgrade facilities? Will the chairman unite the club, show astute leadership and bring it in a positive direction?

Thunderblaster
27/01/2007, 8:13 PM
There not to many to choose from. Mr Quigley time is up to vacate the chair to Tom Mc Daniel, but Iam being told he will not take it.and is more likely to step away from the league.By all accounts I dont think he even got whats it takes to be Chairman. So that leaves you with Tom Kelly J Durkan which I doubt will take it. then you are left with Gerry Sweeney who I think could only make Vice chair.
My moneys on Donal Benson coming back to the league and walking straight into the hot seat. Mind you he will not see I to I with some of his colleages in the same light as he used to. You will see the big Celtic HAT vs Swinford Hat show.
good times ahead.

Heard a similar story from MF. Feb 15th will unravel all the answers from these pertaining questions.

Thunderblaster
27/01/2007, 8:14 PM
Anyone have any idea when this years leagues start?

March 25th.

Fair Play
27/01/2007, 8:33 PM
March 25th.
I think you got that one wrong Thunder. According to the Mayo website it is 1st April with the A.G.M. on the 28th February.

Thunderblaster
27/01/2007, 9:17 PM
I think you got that one wrong Thunder. According to the Mayo website it is 1st April with the A.G.M. on the 28th February.

Indeed I have. That must have been a late change in plan.

pixiehead
28/01/2007, 12:16 PM
Im aware that alot of rumours go round at the pre season funfair as to who is going where however i heard from a secret agent inside the heane camp:cool: that Padraig Mchale has been recruited by them. Maybe Murphy brought him out. I heard that Murphy dosent really want to do the coaching side so this may be the answer to the problem and im sure he wants to play. anyone heard that. ;)

Thunderblaster
28/01/2007, 7:04 PM
Heard that Mick Wallace and the boys came out of Donegal with a 7-0 thumping of the hosts.:D Heard that Mick Duffy bagged 4, Vinny O'Malley netted two and Philip Devers got the other. I think the critics are well and truly silenced after one of Mayo's biggest ever wins.:D

mossy
29/01/2007, 9:22 AM
What is the manifesto from the new chairman? What will he do to turn the fortunes of Ballyheane FC from mid table Super League side to serious FAI Junior Cup contenders. What is the underage and ladies policy? What are the plans to upgrade facilities? Will the chairman unite the club, show astute leadership and bring it in a positive direction?

Sorry to get involved in this but "upgrading facilities" from a Westport forumite is a bit rich

sinabhuil
29/01/2007, 9:27 AM
Is Kenneth O'Malley (B'robe) still with Sligo or is he playing any soccer at all?

Closing Time
29/01/2007, 11:07 AM

Any new players on the way in. Without PB it will be a fight to stay up. As a club Ballyheane must be one of the best run in the County over the last ten years. Pity the team did'nt preform as good as the committe. Great ground. Best of luck to MF heart in the right place. Is the new trainer the Rugby coach?

Closing Time
29/01/2007, 11:08 AM
Sorry to get involved in this but "upgrading facilities" from a Westport forumite is a bit rich

Well said

Closing Time
29/01/2007, 11:12 AM
good times ahead.
DB would make a great Chairman. Who is the Celtic Hat you are talking about. I know alot of people in Celtic consider the Mayo League anti Celtic believe it or not.

juan pablo
29/01/2007, 3:01 PM
Is Kenneth O'Malley (B'robe) still with Sligo or is he playing any soccer at all?
kenneth o'malley is no longer playing with sligo rovers, to the best of my knowledge he is concentrating on his studies and training with the current /mayo senior GAA team under the new manager and regime!!

How are preparations going sinabhuil with cross?? are ye back training?The Paul Burke tournament will be happening around the middle of February, heres hoping the matches can be played on the grass unlike last year when they had to be played on the Astro Turf in milebush??

What is the story with who's taking over the managerial Reigns in Ballinrobe??

Speculation is floating around as to who??

AGM this friday will reveal all.

sinabhuil
29/01/2007, 3:22 PM
Cross is training large numbers however not much additional quality. Divs 2 will be hard this year with a lot of first teams. However we shoudl show some improvement. Hopefully we will be invited to the Paul Burke Memorial tourno. We like the Astro Turf.

Ballinrobe are a huge club and should really be in the super league. Good luck in 2007.

Thunderblaster
29/01/2007, 5:26 PM

If the proud TB had the money of Bill Gates, Westport United would have the finest of everything to offer in Mayo football, including bikini-clad women employed as cheerleaders!!:eek: :D

Thunderblaster
29/01/2007, 5:30 PM
Ballinrobe are a huge club and should really be in the super league. Good luck in 2007.

Sleeping giant would be a better phrase. Some nice footballers came out of there over the last ten years. If the 'Robe had all their top players, they would be holding their own in the Super League.

renovater
29/01/2007, 6:17 PM
DB would make a great Chairman. Who is the Celtic Hat you are talking about. I know alot of people in Celtic consider the Mayo League anti Celtic believe it or not.
I wouldn't believe all that you here that comes out of Celtic.that all a smoke screen.ask D.B.He would tell you differant,and so would any x Mayo League Man

renovater
29/01/2007, 6:22 PM
Im aware that alot of rumours go round at the pre season funfair as to who is going where however i heard from a secret agent inside the heane camp:cool: that Padraig Mchale has been recruited by them. Maybe Murphy brought him out. I heard that Murphy dosent really want to do the coaching side so this may be the answer to the problem and im sure he wants to play. anyone heard that. ;)
Cant say I have heard any thing that P.Mc Hale going to Ballyheane, No doubt he would make additional benafit to any committee. I believe the man has taken time out, to attented other matters.

renovater
29/01/2007, 6:25 PM
What you are subscribing to is not even worth the comment.

pixiehead
29/01/2007, 11:18 PM
What you are subscribing to is not even worth the comment.

He was only asking a question NO? :confused:

pixiehead
29/01/2007, 11:19 PM
If the proud TB had the money of Bill Gates, Westport United would have the finest of everything to offer in Mayo football, including bikini-clad women employed as cheerleaders!!:eek: :D

Sure use your Ladies Team :D

theboy
30/01/2007, 8:14 AM
Anyone know if this is the senior teams? as we know manulla and Ballina are in the connacht cup. Or is it the youths?

MARY WALSH CUP,
Feb 4th. Kick Off 12 Noon.

Bangor Hibs v Ballina Town (D.McGrath)
S & F v Gurteen ( J.Blake)
Manulla v Westport ( K.Cox)

sinabhuil
30/01/2007, 9:44 AM
Sleeping giant would be a better phrase. Some nice footballers came out of there over the last ten years. If the 'Robe had all their top players, they would be holding their own in the Super League.

Why cant Ballinrobe keep their top players? Surely a big push with a top manager, coaches and facilities could be made and some of their big ex players persuaded to return. Also the club needs an astro pitch for training and matches. Surely one big push should be made to get the club into the super league (and remain there).
I always thought that they lacked enough coaches. Even their ladies section whilst well run by people with good intentions showed in the final analysis that they were suffering from the lack of top class coaching. Maybe all this takes money. If the club were able to attract some of the volunteers that has made their cycling club such a success it may progress. It is hard for the same people to continue year after year. Burn out is bound to happen.
Good luck at the AGM.

the grape vine
30/01/2007, 10:38 AM
Any new players on the way in. Without PB it will be a fight to stay up. As a club Ballyheane must be one of the best run in the County over the last ten years. Pity the team did'nt preform as good as the committe. Great ground. Best of luck to MF heart in the right place. Is the new trainer the Rugby coach?

i think it time now that ballyheane get over the PB thing,( one swallow doesn't make a summer) i think they'll do ok this year,they'll just love it when everybody writes them off and doesn't give them a chance..

Closing Time
30/01/2007, 12:58 PM
I wouldn't believe all that you here that comes out of Celtic.that all a smoke screen.ask D.B.He would tell you differant,and so would any x Mayo League Man
What ever the ex Ballyheane committee men think it still does not take away from the fact that alot of people involved with Celtic still think the Mayo League is anti Celtic, be it true or not. Maybe you can advise what pro rules or decisions Celtic received and not given to another club then maybe this would help change this negative Mayo League feeling held by these people.

The Don
30/01/2007, 1:50 PM
What ever the ex Ballyheane committee men think it still does not take away from the fact that alot of people involved with Celtic still think the Mayo League is anti Celtic, be it true or not. Maybe you can advise what pro rules or decisions Celtic received and not given to another club then maybe this would help change this negative Mayo League feeling held by these people.

What decisions have gone against Celtic. By the way I dont feel the league singles them out.