View Full Version : Mayo League Football 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

renovater
22/02/2007, 8:16 PM
Can you detect 'chest bashing' in that Reno? - jesus we put up with your crap dont we? he's just making a point.

And before you get all worked up - I could'nt care less whether we're the ugly old granny, or the fine young niece of any football fraternity.

Shh.

I said shhhh!
Can you not write without lowering the tone, and respect the other view.
If some one wants to boast how long they are in football, then except others fine it offensive,:mad:

renovater
22/02/2007, 8:38 PM
I hear the Mayo League are now a closed shop, while they continue every year ask clubs to put people forward to help run the League, they now appear to be selective as to who they want rather than who should be aloud to go forward at next week A.G.M.
They now say because they the League hadn't recieved notice with in 21 days refuse the nomimnation of one person, who I believe would have been an addition.
However the league itself can at any time co-op any person if there are seats to be filled on the committee at its monthly meeting. sounds Like THE Eldce commonist Party:mad:

pixiehead
23/02/2007, 12:36 AM
I hear the Mayo League are now a closed shop, while they continue every year ask clubs to put people forward to help run the League, they now appear to be selective as to who they want rather than who should be aloud to go forward at next week A.G.M.
They now say because they the League hadn't recieved notice with in 21 days refuse the nomimnation of one person, who I believe would have been an addition.
However the league itself can at any time co-op any person if there are seats to be filled on the committee at its monthly meeting. sounds Like THE Eldce commonist Party:mad:

You wouldnt get it in A war torn African dictatorship :o

Mad Moose
23/02/2007, 9:37 AM
:

Ha ha sounds a little like an organisation the Mayo League is affiliated to. The boys in place must have rang Merrion Square for advice on how best to run things. Delaney even personally answered the call.

I was hoping to make the agm on the 28th but it wont happen. No point in me making a wasted trip home.

the grape vine
23/02/2007, 3:14 PM
i presume most club's a back training at this stage ? any clubs playing friendlys in the comming weeks ahead ??

the dude
23/02/2007, 4:02 PM
ballyheane are playin fahey rovers in ballyheane on sunday. kick off 12 o clock

pixiehead
24/02/2007, 3:14 PM
i presume most club's a back training at this stage ? any clubs playing friendlys in the comming weeks ahead ??

Snugboro Lost 3-1 to KNock/Kiltimagh Friday nite i heard. Also there has been an addition to the Mayo team...... Wait for it........ Wait for it........... John MCCarty of Snugboro :eek: :eek: Maybe Gary Breen will get the next call up if thats the case :D

renovater
25/02/2007, 6:00 PM
ballyheane are playin fahey rovers in ballyheane on sunday. kick off 12 o clock
Fahey were no match for Ballyheane game over after 10Minutes.It LOOk like an England team Change the entire squad just gave a run to everyone.Final SCORE
6-1.
Big improvement on two years ago only manage to win 3-2 :)

the grape vine
26/02/2007, 11:48 AM
Fahey were no match for Ballyheane game over after 10Minutes.It LOOk like an England team Change the entire squad just gave a run to everyone.Final SCORE
6-1.
Big improvement on two years ago only manage to win 3-2 :)

and was it that ballyheane where very good or fahy very poor ???

terrier
26/02/2007, 7:17 PM
Well said. If you look at the development that the BH club has undertaken over the last number of years and compare it to Westports developemnts (lack of) no contest. What this club has acheived off the pitch is a credit to all involved and with their youths coming through they should be applauded and are a credit to Mayo football

as a westport person i must reply to gnashers rubbish statements before it starts up trouble with other clubs.i agree with closing time, bh with their pitch and facilites are top class,celtic light years ahead in proper development of youths mr.naughton and mr. gavin hold your heads up.others like claremorris,knock,erris puting things in place.westport has none of the above,please god things look like changing with possible new youth committee.our junior team has taken a step backwards but the players are there to get back to the top........so gnasher i strongly advise more observing less typing.....stick to the cockrel piece:D

Thunderblaster
26/02/2007, 8:08 PM
as a westport person i must reply to gnashers rubbish statements before it starts up trouble with other clubs.i agree with closing time, bh with their pitch and facilites are top class,celtic light years ahead in proper development of youths mr.naughton and mr. gavin hold your heads up.others like claremorris,knock,erris puting things in place.westport has none of the above,please god things look like changing with possible new youth committee.our junior team has taken a step backwards but the players are there to get back to the top........so gnasher i strongly advise more observing less typing.....stick to the cockrel piece:D

Welcome aboard terrier. Great to have another Westport man on this. The Renovater will be looking forward to analysing your posts. Have to say that gnasher is a very passionate Westport United fan, like myself, and will always stick up for the cause, but at times he needs to take a little step back and look at the bigger picture. We all can keep raving about winning the FAI Junior Cup till thy kingdom come but when the current side breaks up and if little talent follows through, there is no point moaning on the demise of the junior team. Some little bugger is going to write in reply "told you so!!" As I said before, being stuck in the past does not develop any football club.

swift
27/02/2007, 12:14 AM
:D :D :D
Welcome aboard terrier. Great to have another Westport man on this. The Renovater will be looking forward to analysing your posts. Have to say that gnasher is a very passionate Westport United fan, like myself, and will always stick up for the cause, but at times he needs to take a little step back and look at the bigger picture. We all can keep raving about winning the FAI Junior Cup till thy kingdom come but when the current side breaks up and if little talent follows through, there is no point moaning on the demise of the junior team. Some little bugger is going to write in reply "told you so!!" As I said before, being stuck in the past does not develop any football club.

Told you so!!!!!!!!!

robben 11
27/02/2007, 10:58 AM
and was it that ballyheane where very good or fahy very poor ???

fahy were very poor, ireland beating england the nite before didnt help either sides but fahy didnt even have subs, bhane were better off having a v b

pixiehead
27/02/2007, 3:19 PM
fahy were very poor, ireland beating england the nite before didnt help either sides but fahy didnt even have subs, bhane were better off having a v b

How was your head Monday morning ;) :D

robben 11
27/02/2007, 3:38 PM
How was your head Monday morning ;) :D

well not 2 bad didnt go near mantra.... it really makes a difference in the morning so it does....... :cool:

robben 11
27/02/2007, 3:52 PM
forgot to mention a new signing that played in the freindly on sunday against Fahy, Alan Mchugh former ballyglass centre midfielder has signed for ballyheane he played right midfield came of injured though strained his back, but a good player to have within the squad, there was a strong bench on sunday ( matt conroy, paul guths, jamie carr, d.sherdian, hazye, ) very interesting to see the initial squad come 4 weeks 25 + training itl have to be cut down one should think

Thunderblaster
27/02/2007, 6:21 PM
Ha ha sounds a little like an organisation the Mayo League is affiliated to. The boys in place must have rang Merrion Square for advice on how best to run things. Delaney even personally answered the call.

I was hoping to make the agm on the 28th but it wont happen. No point in me making a wasted trip home.

John Delaney will be at the meeting tomorrow night!! Very ironic post!!:eek: :D

gnasher
27/02/2007, 9:07 PM

Rubbish statements? Please clarify - if I make inflammatory statements I try to back them up - I stick with my opinions - take a birds eye view of he situation, how do we get a pitch in the current climate? (Does an acre of land in Erris cost the same as Westport - in what century?) Have you a magic wand to wave cause I'll shut up when I see the wand. I'll agree that I might annoy some people by constantly looking back but me beating my drum about us winning whatever is the same as any other poster beating theirs about whatever brilliant things happen to their clubs. From here on in I'll try a new tactic - no more retrospective views. Promise. So lets have a debate as your so confident that your opinion counts much more than mine newbie - Great to see you finally got the balls to post in - stick to reading 'Birdwatchers monthly' or whatever - I 'm not going to waste my keyboard any more. Hell, if i'm constantly looking for aggro are you my new foe?

Hear that lads - your Gnasher free from now on - I've got a new plaything.

terrier
27/02/2007, 10:12 PM
Rubbish statements? Please clarify - if I make inflammatory statements I try to back them up - I stick with my opinions - take a birds eye view of he situation, how do we get a pitch in the current climate? (Does an acre of land in Erris cost the same as Westport - in what century?) Have you a magic wand to wave cause I'll shut up when I see the wand. I'll agree that I might annoy some people by constantly looking back but me beating my drum about us winning whatever is the same as any other poster beating theirs about whatever brilliant things happen to their clubs. From here on in I'll try a new tactic - no more retrospective views. Promise. So lets have a debate as your so confident that your opinion counts much more than mine newbie - Great to see you finally got the balls to post in - stick to reading 'Birdwatchers monthly' or whatever - I 'm not going to waste my keyboard any more. Hell, if i'm constantly looking for aggro are you my new foe?

we were offered the pavillion to buy before o connells bought it and then we let the a.club/sports prk com in so there was ample oppertunity to have our own place.ok we happen to live in a very expensive place now but thats what committees are there for to run the club "present with an eye on the future.";) .........

Thunderblaster
27/02/2007, 11:56 PM
Westport United were supposedly once given the opportunity, apparently, many moons ago to buy the Sports Park for £200, which was worth a lot of money at the time and a far-sighted committee member allegedly wanted the club to pursue it. The club supposedly said no to the proposal, possibly due to finance, but if the club did bite the carrot with this alleged wise tale from the 1950's, it could have made millions today out of the property.

pixiehead
28/02/2007, 12:51 AM
forgot to mention a new signing that played in the freindly on sunday against Fahy, Alan Mchugh former ballyglass centre midfielder has signed for ballyheane he played right midfield came of injured though strained his back, but a good player to have within the squad, there was a strong bench on sunday ( matt conroy, paul guths, jamie carr, d.sherdian, hazye, ) very interesting to see the initial squad come 4 weeks 25 + training itl have to be cut down one should think

Ya Alan is a good player and a nice guy too. Deserves better than Ballyglass. Hes a Belcara Man anyway. Heard ye play C/Bar town on Sunday in the Heane. Howd you think that will go. They beat ye last year correct me if im wrong :o . Town have Ex~ Celtic manager Scobby Moran over them Now. Should be an OK Game :ball:

swift
28/02/2007, 3:10 AM

Probably yourself:p :p :p

Mad Moose
28/02/2007, 10:23 AM
John Delaney will be at the meeting tomorrow night!! Very ironic post!!:eek: :D

I'm gutted I cant make this one.I'm up and down the road all week so I have to send somebody else in my place.

Anyone else here attending tonight. I've been thinking on this. I'm tempted to go and ask questions of Delaney. I so want to be there for this.

So with this in mind how might somebody get a message to Delaney on the night. I have a couple of suggestions.

1) Ringing a taxi firm, asking them to turn up at Milebush and open the door and call taxi for Delaney just as he is about to address the agm.

2) Get up and walk out. I'd sooner have a cancer stick than endure listening to Delaney.

3) Questioning Delaney about what his thinking is on him been considered one of the most unpopular people in this country and the fact he is one of the most unpopular CEO's of the FAI.

4) Asking Delaney if he directs the Mayo League in terms of how they should present themselves and highlight to him that much like Merrion Square the Mayo League is a closed shop and is this a co-incidence.

Feck it I might go to this after all!!!:p

Brendan

swinfordfc
28/02/2007, 10:49 AM
I'm gutted I cant make this one.I'm up and down the road all week so I have to send somebody else in my place.

Anyone else here attending tonight. I've been thinking on this. I'm tempted to go and ask questions of Delaney. I so want to be there for this.

So with this in mind how might somebody get a message to Delaney on the night. I have a couple of suggestions.

1) Ringing a taxi firm, asking them to turn up at Milebush and open the door and call taxi for Delaney just as he is about to address the agm.

2) Get up and walk out. I'd sooner have a cancer stick than endure listening to Delaney.

3) Questioning Delaney about what his thinking is on him been considered one of the most unpopular people in this country and the fact he is one of the most unpopular CEO's of the FAI.

4) Asking Delaney if he directs the Mayo League in terms of how they should present themselves and highlight to him that much like Merrion Square the Mayo League is a closed shop and is this a co-incidence.

Feck it I might go to this after all!!!:p

Brendan

See your looking well in the Paper today :D

Mad Moose
28/02/2007, 11:01 AM
See your looking well in the Paper today :D

Ha ha what have I done now. Oh Ken's pic. Did he get my name right then. What paper do I feature in. Dont all rush out at once there now to pick it up.

irishyop
28/02/2007, 11:59 AM
What paper do I feature in. Dont all rush out at once there now to pick it up.

I think it was the Irish Catholic or the Far East :p

robben 11
28/02/2007, 12:04 PM
Ya Alan is a good player and a nice guy too. Deserves better than Ballyglass. Hes a Belcara Man anyway. Heard ye play C/Bar town on Sunday in the Heane. Howd you think that will go. They beat ye last year correct me if im wrong :o . Town have Ex~ Celtic manager Scobby Moran over them Now. Should be an OK Game :ball:

no we beat them 2-1 but it was touch and go most of the game they gave a great preformance, i think castlebar town wont be the force they were last year, players like sammie earls ( suposed to be joining the heane ) john monroe and johney rowland also training with heane, then theres ingy and terry maughaun missing think there training with snugboro, but then again come start of season id say these players mite find super league different prospect with no disrespect to their ability but s.league is much quicker than than rock bottom league they might head back to Scobby and the town my understanding of the whole situation is that these players have an issue with an other member of the team... Scobby however is working his tacticial magic on some of the team hes made paul maye captain so he wont be moving anywhere which is a shame he is without doubt super league class.
ballyheane should take the game easily on sunday the fittness levels are very high and there is a great spirit out there, a very defiant mood as many have wrote them off, certain players have come in and looked very comfortable in the team but im not getting ahead of myself as it was a bad fahy side that was out.. any luck in your Galway United forum? hows Glenn doing up there he had a bad start i hear?

Mad Moose
28/02/2007, 12:04 PM
I think it was the Irish Catholic or the Far East :p

Are those still going!!!:eek:

I'll get both anyhow just to be sure like.

pixiehead
28/02/2007, 12:39 PM
no we beat them 2-1 but it was touch and go most of the game they gave a great preformance, i think castlebar town wont be the force they were last year, players like sammie earls ( suposed to be joining the heane ) john monroe and johney rowland also training with heane, then theres ingy and terry maughaun missing think there training with snugboro, but then again come start of season id say these players mite find super league different prospect with no disrespect to their ability but s.league is much quicker than than rock bottom league they might head back to Scobby and the town my understanding of the whole situation is that these players have an issue with an other member of the team... Scobby however is working his tacticial magic on some of the team hes made paul maye captain so he wont be moving anywhere which is a shame he is without doubt super league class.
ballyheane should take the game easily on sunday the fittness levels are very high and there is a great spirit out there, a very defiant mood as many have wrote them off, certain players have come in and looked very comfortable in the team but im not getting ahead of myself as it was a bad fahy side that was out.. any luck in your Galway United forum? hows Glenn doing up there he had a bad start i hear?

How do you mean Galway utd Forum?? Do you mean the supporters club??? If so its going ok but for a third week in a row the Connaught Telegraph did not print my article on the Mayo Maroons so im ripping :mad: . Glynn hasnt shone yet from what i hear on Dyke road but he might need a bit of time. Ya i agree with you that some town players will go back. Who do they have a problem with?? Just give me initials if you dont want to say?? ;)

swinfordfc
28/02/2007, 1:09 PM
Ha ha what have I done now. Oh Ken's pic. Did he get my name right then. What paper do I feature in. Dont all rush out at once there now to pick it up.

he has your surname begining with B!!!!! in the Connacht!

Mad Moose
28/02/2007, 1:38 PM
he has your surname begining with B!!!!! in the Connacht!

Oh thats Ken then :(

So I'm not in the Far East then. I'm just after buying it. Irishyop get in here.

Listen where was your representation for the Volunteer Ireland training on Saturday at Milebush?. Oh by the way it was absolute muck. What took 5 or 6 hours could have been wrapped up in a half hour talk. I sort of made my feelings known on the training. If I were representing Goal or Concern for example the training might have been more appropriate.

robben 11
28/02/2007, 2:38 PM
How do you mean Galway utd Forum?? Do you mean the supporters club??? If so its going ok but for a third week in a row the Connaught Telegraph did not print my article on the Mayo Maroons so im ripping :mad: . Glynn hasnt shone yet from what i hear on Dyke road but he might need a bit of time. Ya i agree with you that some town players will go back. Who do they have a problem with?? Just give me initials if you dont want to say?? ;)

do you just leave articles into the office? do you know tom kelly? im sure he'd have no problem putting it in, the player is m.m say you know him think he was out yer direction for a couple of training sessions not sure what the beef is just a small majority of the players dont like his attitude, bordering on dictatorship...lol dont know about that tho.!;)

irishyop
28/02/2007, 2:52 PM
do you just leave articles into the office? do you know tom kelly? im sure he'd have no problem putting it in, the player is m.m say you know him think he was out yer direction for a couple of training sessions not sure what the beef is just a small majority of the players dont like his attitude, bordering on dictatorship...lol dont know about that tho.!;)

I contacted the Far East about it (complaints@fareast.ie) and they said they ran out of ink due to the large size of image!! :eek: But they hope to print a 2 page spread in next months bumper Easter addittion.... ;)

From what I have heard the reason that the Cbar player left Celtic was because of Scoby, so that does not bode well for him.

I would have swore that Paul Maye played for Cbar Celtic against Finn Harps in the Connaught, maybe I was seeing things!!!

Mad Moose
28/02/2007, 3:01 PM
I contacted the Far East about it (complaints@fareast.ie) and they said they ran out of ink due to the large size of image!! :eek: But they hope to print a 2 page spread in next months bumper Easter addittion.... ;)

Are you still chatting about me ya numpty. :D I hope not. If so make yourself known to me and i'll give you an early introduction into next week.

Anyone for the agm tonight then.

Anyone notice how Swinfordfc went missing when I asked him why his club weren't represented at the Volunteer Ireland (in conjunction with the FAI) training last saturday.

Not many clubs present either on the day.

irishyop
28/02/2007, 3:24 PM
[QUOTE=Harpsbear;632732]Are you still chatting about me ya numpty. :D I hope not. If so make yourself known to me and i'll give you an early introduction into next week.

QUOTE]

Having a laugh lad!! But for the record I retract all statements which suggest that Harpsbear is anyway horizontally challenged :D
Better stop now or the mod might think I am throwing personal abuse at ya!! ;)

swinfordfc
28/02/2007, 3:40 PM
Are you still chatting about me ya numpty. :D I hope not. If so make yourself known to me and i'll give you an early introduction into next week.

Anyone for the agm tonight then.

Anyone notice how Swinfordfc went missing when I asked him why his club weren't represented at the Volunteer Ireland (in conjunction with the FAI) training last saturday.

Not many clubs present either on the day.

Wasn't there cause i was next door doing the youth cert training course :D

swift
01/03/2007, 5:45 AM
On a more serious note, with all the money that is floating around the Super League at the moment is'nt it ironic that we could have three clubs go out of existence at adult level at least. The three clubs that I am on about are Glenisland, the Bombers and Ballinrobe. The way things are going we could have a situation just like the Premier League in England where the big clubs get bigger and bigger while the smaller ones are falling apart. Its a crying shame when the big clubs of the county can go and throw a few hundred euro to their managers every week( and I include my own in that) and this happens. Maybe something could be done to help these clubs stay afloat, say, the Mayo League could have a Steering Committee to maybe help them out. Any thoughts???:confused:

irishyop
01/03/2007, 8:36 AM
Is it definate about them 3 clubs? That is an issue alright, with soccer clubs competing even more now with GAA, Rugby etc for local lotto money it is hard to keep a float.

RogerMilla
01/03/2007, 9:00 AM
lads we can't lose the bombers!! best name in the league!

the dude
01/03/2007, 9:13 AM

and whoso playin for ballyheane thatl make them a force in the super league this year

the grape vine
01/03/2007, 9:23 AM
and whoso playin for ballyheane thatl make them a force in the super league this year

good point, what players have got this year that they didn;t have last year !!

mandarin frogs
01/03/2007, 9:45 AM
Snugboro Lost 3-1 to KNock/Kiltimagh Friday nite i heard. Also there has been an addition to the Mayo team...... Wait for it........ Wait for it........... John MCCarty of Snugboro :eek: :eek: Maybe Gary Breen will get the next call up if thats the case :D

Leave Gary Breen alone. He was spotted in buckos last sunday evening!

gazza2
01/03/2007, 10:11 AM
Anyone at the Mayo League Agm last night??

If so how did it go??

Mad Moose
01/03/2007, 10:38 AM

If so how did it go??

I popped on to ask the same question as I was supposed to be present last night. Too much travelling this week. Had to give it a miss.

Mad Moose
01/03/2007, 10:41 AM
Wasn't there cause i was next door doing the youth cert training course :D

Oh it was you that held the whole thing up then.:D

Good man.I was only pulling your leg.

Mad Moose
01/03/2007, 10:52 AM
On a more serious note, with all the money that is floating around the Super League at the moment is'nt it ironic that we could have three clubs go out of existence at adult level at least. The three clubs that I am on about are Glenisland, the Bombers and Ballinrobe.

Sorry Swift but as Chairman of Ballyvary Blue Bombers this is the first I have heard of this and I suppose on behalf of the club I'd like to get some understanding of where this information has come from. Feel free to pm me. The only thing I can think of is the fact we have dropped down through all the divisions of the Mayo League but with thanks to the community of Parke/BallyvaryKeelogues we are very kindly supported. That support is ongoing and very much appreciated decpite our ailing fortunes in the Mayo League.

In terms of league standing after last seasons relegation to Division 2 the only way really is up. I'll do my very best to make sure we are on the way up.

Just to allay any fears there isn't any pending announcement on the future of Ballyvary Blue Bombers existence in the Mayo League but again I would like to hear a little more of where this has come from.

Brendan Grufferty,
Chairman, Ballyvary Blue Bombers.

robben 11
01/03/2007, 10:56 AM

never said the'l be a force, however they will be a very hard team to break down, i watched many of their games last year and they played good football this year will be different the'l be a lot more physical and fit, that in a way is a force in itself is it not............!!!!:cool:

pixiehead
01/03/2007, 11:22 AM
Leave Gary Breen alone. He was spotted in buckos last sunday evening!

OH ya forgot. He was with that crowd of Ballyheane Mental heads twisted Drunk. Ill have to bar them the next time....... but on second thoughts they do fill up the till :rolleyes:

pixiehead
01/03/2007, 11:32 AM

If so how did it go??

Same aul same aul!!! Rule 34 has been imlplymented so the transfer window closes from 1st august to the 1st January. This means no new players what so ever. Also only 3 subs to be used in ALL competitions ( FIFA rules) no exception. And clubs will continue to pay the €250 that we paid to the league for the Eircom under 21 team but this time it will go towards the improvement of milebush which isnt such a bad thing really and all clubs agreed:cool: It was quite funny to see John Deleaney in the flesh plus he was fashionabley late!! Good Man John. O ya and Jimmy blake gave a talk omn behalf of the the refs and said this year they would tolerate abuse of Match Officals. No ****ing Way he said :D

the dude
01/03/2007, 1:47 PM
never said the'l be a force, however they will be a very hard team to break down, i watched many of their games last year and they played good football this year will be different the'l be a lot more physical and fit, that in a way is a force in itself is it not............!!!!:cool:
maybe it is. and will you be playing in the team urself this season