View Full Version : Mayo League Football 2007
Pages :
[
14]
MayoToffee
11/04/2007, 8:57 PM
i take it all back enjoy div 2,,, you could be there for a while!!!!!!!!!!
celtic c is their 3rd team .the town is a first team
J B is one of the top ref's in mayo;) :D :p i just think you should be uping your standards to get out of that div.....
2nd last year, & should hav won t playoff, semi final of mayo cup, so thats a bit of progress... in comparrisions to year previous.
JB ya i agree super ref unreal, different class, a real pro!!
gunner1
12/04/2007, 8:41 AM
2nd last year, & should hav won t playoff, semi final of mayo cup, so thats a bit of progress... in comparrisions to year previous.
JB ya i agree super ref unreal, different class, a real pro!!
was'nt it 4th , behind ballyheane b in 3rd .:D
Ranger
12/04/2007, 9:51 AM
Have to agree with what you've said ranger, but not too many reports since this post! Its interesting to plough through the web and see how many clubs in mayo league have websites, and if they are updated on a regular basis. Just as you, (and reno i think), have said before, why does'nt everyone post a link to any relevant mayo league websites (club or otherwise) on this forum? Probably our best source of info with the mayo website still not updated?:ball: Anyone any thoughts???:ball:
Even the http://www.mayoyouths.ie/ webiste seems t have gone on the blink!!
FFS the leagues started last week and no results to be seen anywhere!
If there is anyone reading this who is involved in the administration of the leagues PLEASE sort it out!
MayoToffee
12/04/2007, 10:02 AM
was'nt it 4th , behind ballyheane b in 3rd .:D
lol
4th in the league so and two defeats all year tuff league this div2
gazza2
12/04/2007, 10:53 AM
Claremorris - Ballyheane = Draw
Erris Utd - Ballina Town = Away Win
Manulla - Glenhest Rovers = Home Win
Westport Utd - Celtic = Home Win
Snugboro - Crossmolina = Away Win
12/04/2007, 11:30 AM
Even the http://www.mayoyouths.ie/ webiste seems t have gone on the blink!!
FFS the leagues started last week and no results to be seen anywhere!
If there is anyone reading this who is involved in the administration of the leagues PLEASE sort it out!
Back up.
Ranger
12/04/2007, 11:45 AM
Back up.
Thanks joe
So do I take it you are involved with the Youths set up?
12/04/2007, 11:51 AM
Nah, That's all Dave Breen. Does anyone have a full list of fixtures for Mayo Junior football for the whole season? I asked the Snugboro Secretary but he only had a few weeks.
pixiehead
12/04/2007, 2:28 PM
Nah, That's all Dave Breen. Does anyone have a full list of fixtures for Mayo Junior football for the whole season? I asked the Snugboro PRO but he only had a few weeks.
I Think It was the secretary you got them off!! Not the PRO :rolleyes:
12/04/2007, 2:30 PM
That's what I said!, though I had been drinking 75 hours straight when I got them so it could of been the tooth fairy for all i remember
pixiehead
12/04/2007, 2:34 PM
That's what I said!, though I had been drinking 75 hours straight when I got them so it could of been the tooth fairy for all i remember
Smart Arse ( Edit) :D
swinfordfc
12/04/2007, 2:53 PM
No wonder ye lost 3-0 first day out :D
renovater
13/04/2007, 1:12 AM
[QUOTE=mandarin frogs;663898]Have to agree with what you've said ranger, but not too many reports since this post! Its interesting to plough through the web and see how many clubs in mayo league have websites, and if they are updated on a regular basis. Just as you, (and reno i think), have said before, why does'nt everyone post a link to any relevant mayo league websites (club or otherwise) on this forum? Probably our best source of info with the mayo website still not updated?:ball: Anyone any thoughts???:ball:[/QUOT
RE Press they only print what they want to. ideally this is the place to put it up here, and create our own Mayo Web page on club reports.
Regard to press all they want you to is name the teams and goal score's and when the goals were scored.one paragraph.
short_frank
13/04/2007, 4:29 AM
Sorry to come back on this subject but I felt I had to have one final say after reading the piece in the Mayo News replying to the views expressed here about the media coverage.
I take on board and agree that the MAFL's marketing of it's product is woefully inadequate but I think some of the other points he raised in the MN were well wide of the mark.
No one has ever said that we want 3/4 of the sport pages for, as he alludes, a sport that only has the following to justify 1/4 of the sports pages. All we have said is that we want a fair coverage for what is, I would think, the second largest participation sport in the county.
He also said that we should look at what coverage the other papers are giving to Soccer. Well that is the whole point that none of the papers are giving a fair coverage to soccer in the county. If he wants to see how a paper covers the second biggest sport let him read the Connacht Tribune as an example.
Reading his article it seemed to me to be a pathetic attempt to defend an indefensible position.:mad:
pixiehead
13/04/2007, 11:22 AM
Sorry to come back on this subject but I felt I had to have one final say after reading the piece in the Mayo News replying to the views expressed here about the media coverage.
I take on board and agree that the MAFL's marketing of it's product is woefully inadequate but I think some of the other points he raised in the MN were well wide of the mark.
No one has ever said that we want 3/4 of the sport pages for, as he alludes, a sport that only has the following to justify 1/4 of the sports pages. All we have said is that we want a fair coverage for what is, I would think, the second largest participation sport in the county.
He also said that we should look at what coverage the other papers are giving to Soccer. Well that is the whole point that none of the papers are giving a fair coverage to soccer in the county. If he wants to see how a paper covers the second biggest sport let him read the Connacht Tribune as an example.
Reading his article it seemed to me to be a pathetic attempt to defend an indefensible position.:mad:
MY sentiments Too !!
Thunderblaster
13/04/2007, 9:06 PM
That's a bit of a strange one even for the Mayo league banned from being a suporter but not from playing in games.
Are there suggestions of a possible loophole in this??
Thunderblaster
13/04/2007, 9:15 PM
think it is good for celtic & mayo to have him back.
when he's playing football he's as good as you get in mayo!!!
Does Celtic or Mayo really need him back? He may be a good player but he is a greater liability with his attitude.
robben 11
13/04/2007, 9:58 PM
Does Celtic or Mayo really need him back? He may be a good player but he is a greater liability with his attitude.
nothing better than 'ATTITUDE'..
Fireball
13/04/2007, 10:31 PM
Email received this evening.
CHANGE TO FIXTURES
I wish to advise all Clubs that due to a shortage of referees for next Sunday 22nd April all Super League matches will be played on Saturday 21st April at 6.30pm. It is possible that we will have to play matches on Saturdays until the official Saturday matches kick in on 19th May.
On behalf of the L.M.C. I apologise for any inconvenience caused but it is a priority that fixtures are played.
Yours in Sport,
John Durkan,
Secretary.
the dude
14/04/2007, 9:21 AM
nothing better than 'ATTITUDE'..
maybe u should start a stevie ryan fan club or something
robben 11
14/04/2007, 9:28 PM
maybe u should start a stevie ryan fan club or something
mabye you should stop been so smart good lad
gnasher
16/04/2007, 10:37 AM
mabye you should stop been so smart good lad
An S Ryan fanclub! Why we have a wall full of personalized torture instruments in the dungeon of the sports park with his name all over them. That's what I call a fan club.:D
renovater
16/04/2007, 9:18 PM
Email received this evening.
CHANGE TO FIXTURES
I wish to advise all Clubs that due to a shortage of referees for next Sunday 22nd April all Super League matches will be played on Saturday 21st April at 6.30pm. It is possible that we will have to play matches on Saturdays until the official Saturday matches kick in on 19th May.
On behalf of the L.M.C. I apologise for any inconvenience caused but it is a priority that fixtures are played.
Yours in Sport,
John Durkan,
Secretary.
Well the league will do what it has to do,as long it gets its fixtures played.
regardless of clubs.they could extend the league up to 31st december
renovater
16/04/2007, 9:27 PM
he was suspended as a supporter not a footballer think thats competely different ruling, as for unsucessful i think not... hes a celtic nut and wants to get back in the mix with the coveys...
Sorry robben for not getting back to answer your query regards to Mr Ryan.
Once you are suspended you remain suspended in all activity, after all he baned from football grounds, regardless whether he wears a football jersey or casual dress wear.
But should he have played then Westport could place an objection and claim the points.
Thunderblaster
16/04/2007, 9:33 PM
As far as I'm aware, Mr. Ryan was nowhere to be seen around the hallowed grounds of the Holy Temple that is the Sports Park on Sunday. He would have got a great Westport Cead Mile Failte if he did turn up!!;) :D
Mad Moose
17/04/2007, 9:03 AM
Can somebody fill me in on what exactly happened last season with Stephen Ryan. I take it the incident happened at Celtic Park but what exactly did he do and what punishment did he get. I remember reading of it at the time but the saga continues. I know it was at the end of last season.
I've come across supporters been banned in the past. I think Finn Harps had more people banned or threatened with a ban than they had coming through the gates so I'm aware of typical behaviour that constitutes a ban.
GlenhesTilliDie
17/04/2007, 9:54 AM
Can somebody fill me in on what exactly happened last season with Stephen Ryan. I take it the incident happened at Celtic Park but what exactly did he do and what punishment did he get. I remember reading of it at the time but the saga continues. I know it was at the end of last season.
I've come across supporters been banned in the past. I think Finn Harps had more people banned or threatened with a ban than they had coming through the gates so I'm aware of typical behaviour that constitutes a ban.
What does it say about mayo football , depriving a young talented footballer live steven from playing !! i thought the mayo leagues motta was 2 promote youth soccer !! Steve was banned for giving his opinion on a referee decision, and shocking decisions might i add , so wats the problem ! u swear he boxed the ref (wats ur opinion Jimmy Blake)
pixiehead
17/04/2007, 2:52 PM
What does it say about mayo football , depriving a young talented footballer live steven from playing !! i thought the mayo leagues motta was 2 promote youth soccer !! Steve was banned for giving his opinion on a referee decision, and shocking decisions might i add , so wats the problem ! u swear he boxed the ref (wats ur opinion Jimmy Blake)
Shouting abuse at a ref and insulting him is hardly giving your opinion or mabe it is in Glenhest :mad:
FahyForever
17/04/2007, 4:10 PM
Well said Frank. As far as I can see, given the chance to provide the "in-depth analysis of the game in the county" as they promised in the first Counter Attack installment, The Mayo News decided instead to put the blame on anybody but themselves.
Padraic Burns made some salient points regarding the listnessness of the footballing governing body in the county, but literally everyone involved in the sport was aware of that. Joe Butler was where organisation and promotion started and stopped (at least on a Junior level TB!). However, deflecting responsibility is a cowardly retort to the accusation of a "lack of media coverage" and "lack of quality and detailed match reports" as Mr Burns put it.
With regard to the references to our forum, and to myself in particular, I am stunned by the fragility of the arguments made by PB (Seen as how abbreviating is currently fashionable apparently). He basically made three points;
1. The standard of GAA is better in Mayo than almost anywhere else in the world.
2. GAA is better supported than football and therefore deserves more coverage
3. In comparison to other provincial papers, Mayo News is fantastic in terms of Football coverage.
Let me give my opinion on these points;
1. What was in question was the standard of reporting, not the standard of football. A high-quality match is no guarantee of high-quality coverage. Not only is this point nonsensical, as well as being made in quite an accusatory and barbed manner -"It's time for FF and people like him woke up to this reality" - it's also a bit of an insult to Mayo Football and the people who work within it. Like saying - "You're too incompetent to pay attention to".
2. This too, is totally obvious. When I wrote to Edwin Mc Greal (who by they way made his point this week be writing a really good article on Castlebar Youths rather than throwing a hissy fit) I stated, as I have on these pages, that we only wanted and expected a small percentage in ratio to the GAA. It's about quality PB, not quantity.
3. This is fallacious, as well as pointless. I have no interest in other provincial press and nor should the Mayo News. They should strive to be top of the class, rather than saying "At least we're not at the bottom!"
At no stage was this about personal attacks, bias or animosity. It was a few people, interested in Football, trying to raise a debate about media coverage of our sport in the county. If, rather than explaining to me what I don't "grasp", and giving me an unwanted "bit of advice" Mr Burns spent more time writing good articles, everyone would be happier.
mandarin frogs
17/04/2007, 5:23 PM
Well said Frank. As far as I can see, given the chance to provide the "in-depth analysis of the game in the county" as they promised in the first Counter Attack installment, The Mayo News decided instead to put the blame on anybody but themselves.
Padraic Burns made some salient points regarding the listnessness of the footballing governing body in the county, but literally everyone involved in the sport was aware of that. Joe Butler was where organisation and promotion started and stopped (at least on a Junior level TB!). However, deflecting responsibility is a cowardly retort to the accusation of a "lack of media coverage" and "lack of quality and detailed match reports" as Mr Burns put it.
With regard to the references to our forum, and to myself in particular, I am stunned by the fragility of the arguments made by PB (Seen as how abbreviating is currently fashionable apparently). He basically made three points;
1. The standard of GAA is better in Mayo than almost anywhere else in the world.
3. In comparison to other provincial papers, Mayo News is fantastic in terms of Football coverage.
1. What was in question was the standard of reporting, not the standard of football. A high-quality match is no guarantee of high-quality coverage. Not only is this point nonsensical, as well as being made in quite an accusatory and barbed manner -"It's time for FF and people like him woke up to this reality" - it's also a bit of an insult to Mayo Football and the people who work within it. Like saying - "You're too incompetent to pay attention to".
2. This too, is totally obvious. When I wrote to Edwin Mc Greal (who by they way made his point this week be writing a really good article on Castlebar Youths rather than throwing a hissy fit) I stated, as I have on these pages, that we only wanted and expected a small percentage in ratio to the GAA. It's about quality PB, not quantity.
3. This is fallacious, as well as pointless. I have no interest in other provincial press and nor should the Mayo News. They should strive to be top of the class, rather than saying "At least we're not at the bottom!"
At no stage was this about personal attacks, bias or animosity. It was a few people, interested in Football, trying to raise a debate about media coverage of our sport in the county. If, rather than explaining to me what I don't "grasp", and giving me an unwanted "bit of advice" Mr Burns spent more time writing good articles, everyone would be happier.
You've outdone yourself again fahy. Well said:) :ball:
gunner1
17/04/2007, 5:28 PM
there was a lot worse said by both sets of supporters on the day in milebush.
! u swear he boxed the ref (wats ur opinion Jimmy Blake)[/QUOTE]
i think you might be referring to some other incident, as JB was not the ref,it was mr,who has now retired :D :D :D its a good job he wasn't reffing Celtic v rangers ,there would be no fans left,the game needs Passion and big games need supporters with Passion.
gunner1
17/04/2007, 5:32 PM
great bit of reading,:ball:
Mad Moose
18/04/2007, 8:45 AM
there would be no fans left,the game needs Passion and big games need supporters with Passion.
I wouldn't agree with you Gunner on the basis of passion is one thing but breaching ground rules is another.I've seen supporters at the club your avatar represent display passion by throwing drumsticks for example but that kind of behaviour is unacceptable and the person was rightly banned by the club. I wouldn't condone such behaviour and any abuse verbal or otherwise is unacceptable and has to be stamped out. You can display passion without behaving like a thug and sadly that becomes so much part of the game that people feel the need to behave like that in the name of 'passion'.
I've seen enough of it in my time and it ruins the enjoyment for others and so it has to be stamped out.
Having said that I've caused my own fair share of hassle, most notably of late at both the home of Sheffield Wednesday and Hartlepool Utd. Both incidents were unfortunate however. I did however have Hillsborough closed down for 15 to 20 minutes due to a security alert and I was filming at Victoria Park when I shouldn't have been and I near had the camera taken off me. :o
Oh by the way Gunner I'm not having a go at you or suggesting even that you condone bad behaviour. Just picked up on the reference to passion.
FahyForever
18/04/2007, 8:54 AM
Just noticed that Soccerbot has got the details posted up for the Super League and the two Second divisions, although, bizarrely, not the Premier or First divisions! Anyone have a clue as to why that might be?
robben 11
18/04/2007, 11:26 AM
well im sure im not the only one looking forward to saturday evening fixtures, i mean thats what its all about enjoying the football and hitting the pub for a good session with the lads after we are amatures after all, 2 training sessions during the week followed by a match then getting locked, enjoying the banter with the rivals... its also nice to be sitting top of the table hope the heane can keep it up, im sure wel be a hard team to crack this year...
I see the coverage in the connaught of weekend matches was good, but lower divisions seem non existent to the press, ah well :cool:
Ranger
18/04/2007, 1:03 PM
What's the story with the youths and schoolboys site?
No updates???
mandarin frogs
18/04/2007, 8:16 PM
well im sure im not the only one looking forward to saturday evening fixtures, i mean thats what its all about enjoying the football and hitting the pub for a good session with the lads after we are amatures after all, 2 training sessions during the week followed by a match then getting locked, enjoying the banter with the rivals... its also nice to be sitting top of the table hope the heane can keep it up, im sure wel be a hard team to crack this year...
I see the coverage in the connaught of weekend matches was good, but lower divisions seem non existent to the press, ah well :cool:
Fair play to ya robben- spot on! Isnt that what its all about-enjoyment.:ball:
Thunderblaster
18/04/2007, 8:33 PM
FahyForever was a happy camper with the report. Was talking to him today.
GlenhesTilliDie
19/04/2007, 9:05 AM
there was a lot worse said by both sets of supporters on the day in milebush.
! u swear he boxed the ref (wats ur opinion Jimmy Blake)
i think you might be referring to some other incident, as JB was not the ref,it was mr,who has now retired :D :D :D its a good job he wasn't reffing Celtic v rangers ,there would be no fans left,the game needs Passion and big games need supporters with Passion.[/QUOTE]im aware who was reffing the game , i was talking bout a certain S&F player who boxed Jimmy B;ake a couple of years ago
GlenhesTilliDie
19/04/2007, 9:10 AM
Shouting abuse at a ref and insulting him is hardly giving your opinion or mabe it is in Glenhest :mad: well if a ref makes bad decisions time after time , IN MY OPINION he shouldnt be reffing ,maybe dats why he retired ?? Ref's get paid 2 do a GOOD job not take the ****
juan pablo
19/04/2007, 1:13 PM
just a quick question, how many people on this forum actually send in a report to the papers every week??
its interesting how since a few weeks ago when we were all criticising the lack of coverage the papers give to the soccer how much the newspapers have actually been reading these comments, thought the papers covered quite a few matches this week, good to see, keep it going.
just a quick question, how many people on this forum actually send in a report to the papers every week??
its interesting how since a few weeks ago when we were all criticising the lack of coverage the papers give to the soccer how much the newspapers have actually been reading these comments, thought the papers covered quite a few matches this week, good to see, keep it going.
I agree juan pablo,in fairness it is probably hard to get reports on all games
juan pablo
19/04/2007, 1:32 PM
well i think there are a fair scatter of us here representing clubs, i think a brief match report - 10-15 lines max typed up seeing that our typing skills which is fair to share is quite literate, could be mailed in to the papers, we'll see how the papers react when they have 10+ match reports to make the deadline for the papers, if they dont put the reports in than their is a problem and should be addressed!!!!
its a known fact that the GAA dominate the whole of the county and right it should,but soccer is still every bit as popular so don't see why even coverage cannot be given, hands up how many ppl would buy all the local papers just to see read all the match reports!!!!!
nice little added profit for the papers me thinks!!
views/comments???
pixiehead
19/04/2007, 2:20 PM
Fahy4ever 10- Padraig Burns 0
Long live the Fahy!!!! legend. Fahy 4 President :)
pixiehead
19/04/2007, 2:22 PM
God Man is that all you think About is Drink :eek: Feckin Students :D
Cloggs
19/04/2007, 3:58 PM
here here!i think that the papers should be given a bit of credit where credits due.the people who write the papers are obviously reading these forums and taking on board what us joe soaps are talking about and they appear to be ready to give soccer far better coverage so fair play to them i say and i echo juan pablo's sentiments with keeping it going!:D
and i send in a general report on whats coming up in our own club each week and the papers print it so no complaints from me for that!;)
Thunderblaster
20/04/2007, 12:10 AM
I'm sure that we will bring some good news to the poor!!:D Don't forget boys and girls, Padraig Burns fav sport is association football, so he is not the man to publically execute!!:eek:
juan pablo
20/04/2007, 2:52 AM
whatever you say padraic!!!!!:D :D :D
r.rover
20/04/2007, 9:48 AM
God Man is that all you think About is Drink :eek: Feckin Students :D
dead rite its all about the few trainin sessions the game, and then the pub, when we all go pro we can lay off the booze:rolleyes:
20/04/2007, 11:21 AM
Padraig Burns has been banned from Foot.ie for making veiled threats about posts in this thread. Please don't discuss him any more on this forum, he obviously doesn't warrant your attention. I'd suggest that you file your complaints about him directly to the newspaper in writing.