View Full Version : Stephen Hunt

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

BigmanCas
21/04/2008, 11:52 AM
I don't think Stephen Ireland should be slagged off if he comes back. O.K. inventing fake dead grannies is not the cleverest thing to do but ffs people forget his partner had a miscarraige and that is not as easy to deal with as people think believe me I've been through a couple of them in the last couple of years.
He is not good enough to start anyhow. let him off!!!

21/04/2008, 12:12 PM
I watched the interview for 5 minutes, cringed and turned over to the Shawshank Redemption. Class film.

Morbo
21/04/2008, 12:22 PM
I don't think Stephen Ireland should be slagged off if he comes back. O.K. inventing fake dead grannies is not the cleverest thing to do but ffs people forget his partner had a miscarraige and that is not as easy to deal with as people think believe me I've been through a couple of them in the last couple of years.

Of couse he is going to get a slagging, to pretend he wouldn't would be being dishonest. I haven't forgotten the miscarraige story, I just don't believe it. Seriously the miscarriage story just doesn't add up, I can buy his gf not wanting to say she had a miscarriage over the phone but why wouldn't Ireland just come clean when confronted by the fact that his granny was still alive instead of inventing another dead granny? There was no need for him to lie about the miscarriage a 2nd time, there would have been no shame in just saying his gf didn't want to say she had a miscarriage, the only reasonable explanation as to why he invented another dead granny was that that was the best excuse the idiot could think of at the time

Paulie
21/04/2008, 12:23 PM
He was extremely nervous. Also, as someone else said, he appears to say whatever pops into his head.

saint morrissey
21/04/2008, 2:21 PM
must say i dont believe the miscarriage story either and hunt saying how ireland left them in the lurch against czech republic would seem to suggest that he doesnt believe it either.

21/04/2008, 2:24 PM
in that case, lambaste the fecker. I thought the miscarraige story had been verified. what was the problem then? did he just not want to play ?

Yoda01
21/04/2008, 2:32 PM
in that case, lambaste the fecker. I thought the miscarraige story had been verified. what was the problem then? did he just not want to play ?

for what it's worth, i know his girlfriend and the miscarrige story is true, still the chav deserves to get all the lambasting that will come his way and i'd say hunt will be there leading it :D

21/04/2008, 2:36 PM
Why does he deserve it. would you stay if it was your partner? I had to drive to dublin from Castleblaney while my partner miscarried and to this day I don't know how I didn't crash. I couldn't even remember the journey as soon as I got out of the car. He should have came clean straight away there is no doubt about that but a miscarraige is a very personal thing and considering his age and the reaction of Hunt I can understand why he was reluctant to come out with it if he felt he'd be ridiculed by his own team mates

Yoda01
21/04/2008, 2:41 PM
Why does he deserve it. would you stay if it was your partner? I had to drive to dublin from Castleblaney while my partner miscarried and to this day I don't know how I didn't crash. I couldn't even remember the journey as soon as I got out of the car. He should have came clean straight away there is no doubt about that but a miscarraige is a very personal thing and considering his age and the reaction of Hunt I can understand why he was reluctant to come out with it if he felt he'd be ridiculed by his own team mates

oh i didn't mean he deserves a lambasting for his girlfriend having a miscarraige, that was most unfortunate and i wouldn't wish that on anyone! i meant he deserves a lambasting for getting the hump when the other lads were giving him stick about his hair and purely for driving a pink range rover!

21/04/2008, 3:00 PM
oh i didn't mean he deserves a lambasting for his girlfriend having a miscarraige, that was most unfortunate and i wouldn't wish that on anyone! i meant he deserves a lambasting for getting the hump when the other lads were giving him stick about his hair and purely for driving a pink range rover!

Ah thats all right. yeah he deffo deserves stick over that car. I assumed he was photographed moving his girlfriends car but have been reliably informed that it is actually his

carloz
21/04/2008, 4:49 PM
I really think he could have put just a bit more thought into his comments about Ireland. Saying they were talking behind his back, that he will get a bit of abuse if he comes back! It wasnt hard for him to say that he will be welcomed back by the players. Yes obviously he is angry about what happend before the Czech game, just like all te fans were, but there was no need to say that on TV. his comments on Staunton were quite fair. It was a little cringeworthy watching it though

Seagull-4-life
21/04/2008, 5:32 PM
I watched the interview for 5 minutes, cringed and turned over to the Shawshank Redemption. Class film.

Ha should've done the same. He kept making the wierdest faces, no wonder he doesn't do interviews so cringeworthy.
Nearly felt sorry for him he's just so........i dunno just awkward kinda

Dublin12
22/04/2008, 5:20 PM
He reminded me of Dougal from Father Ted and why wasn't he playing fro reading on Sat, was he injured ?

22/04/2008, 8:08 PM
He reminded me of Dougal from Father Ted and why wasn't he playing fro reading on Sat, was he injured ?

no, just dropped. same as long. doyle was kept on the bench.

Reality Bites
23/04/2008, 7:35 AM
Face it Hunt while a nice Kid and whole hearted player he is as thick as pig**** no doubt about that.

23/04/2008, 9:30 AM
Big deal - footballer in "not that bright" shocker

24/04/2008, 1:07 PM
Hunt interview online: http://www.rte.ie/tv/tubridytonight/av_20080419.html?2365029,null,228
Click Play Clip under his pic on the right

Interview with Lucy Kennedy as well

24/04/2008, 1:18 PM

Allegedly. I don't think it's been verified by any sort of authority but then again it's difficult to prove without being an insensitive tosser anyway isn't it? Which is handy for a proven liar. I've been through the experience too and wouldn't wish it on anybody but I find it very hard to take Ireland at his word now.

he was very nervous and i dont think tubridy gave him a great interview especially quizzing him over the Ireland affair - what did he expect him to say

So the question shouldn't be asked because players are afraid to answer it?

Agree. He was either incredibly nervous or he is incredibly thick.

He is also a whinebag of the highest order if his column in the Star is anthing to go by. "I should have started against Brazil because I would have liked to..." :rolleyes:

25/04/2008, 3:28 PM

no, just dropped. same as long. doyle was kept on the bench.

my mistake, according to this - http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_3474047,00.html - he was injured

The Republic of Ireland international missed last week's 2-0 defeat at Arsenal because of a hamstring niggle

Duggie
19/08/2008, 9:46 AM
id say his defending might be a wee bit suspect
anyway delaney should get his chance. even kilbane might do a job there if needed.

irishultra
19/08/2008, 9:47 AM
Against bad teams, because his crossing is very good which would be perfect.

musicinmouth
19/08/2008, 11:31 AM
He looked very out of position in the first game of the season. He didn't seem to know what position to take up a lot of the time... maybe he will get used to that... but he looked very good going forward and his crosses were great.

19/08/2008, 4:27 PM
You mods do realise that by combining topics as much as possible you're restricting discussion on current issues? It's a discussion forum and while I can understand deleting a thread duplicating information, one that contains new info on a topic loosely related to another is just silly.

Exactly it's a complete miss-use of the thread concept and I would rather have a bit of dupliction then hundreds of threads mangled into one tangled mess of threads. I don't know who thought up the idea but I wish they hadn't.

19/08/2008, 7:36 PM
Exactly it's a complete miss-use of the thread concept and I would rather have a bit of dupliction then hundreds of threads mangled into one tangled mess of threads. I don't know who thought up the idea but I wish they hadn't.
I thought I'd moved this post but anyway. This discussion moved to here:
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=99158

Scram
31/08/2008, 9:13 AM
Should he be in a starting 11?

Watched him mid-week v Hunderland and yesterday v Crystal Palace. Has one of the best deliveries of a corner in the business with great variety.

If on an Ireland 11, he SHOULD be taking all corners and right side free kicks (to be delivered as opposed to shots).

Problem I would have is if and how he fits in to a starting 11 if all are fit.

Also, I don't see how we can leave a guy like Andy Reid on the bench. Would anyone have starting 11 with Hunt and Andy Reid in it?

How about with Hunt and Andy Reid and McGeady? Suicide?

I'd be for dropping Kevin Doyle at the moment but we don't have a natural striker, Robbie upfront on his owm is out of position but I am of the opinion that you play your best 11 and if goals have to come from midfield, so be it.

Revisit the 4-5-1 we ended up with in Paris when Andy Reid came on for an injured Morrison. We plyed some of the most controlled football and created numerous chaces.

Steven Reid is capable of a holding role in midfield. We could play 4-1-4-1?

How about 4-2-3-1 :confused: ? Very hard to play our best 11 together. Very obvious that we have a lot of options on the wings but a lack of options on strong central midfielders. Is Glenn Whelan really the answer?

Given

Finnan-O'Brien-Dunne-O'Shea/Kilbane

--------------A.Reid-S.Reid---------------------

S.Hunt------------McGeady-------------Duff

-------------------Keane--------------------

Can't have McGeady there!

boovidge
31/08/2008, 6:53 PM
McGeady's position really has to come into question at this point. He had a brilliant first half of the season last year for Celtic but has never performed to his best in an Ireland shirt. I've doubted Hunt in the past but if he's lighting up the championship then he should be given more consideration than he's currently getting.

Ordinary Fan
01/09/2008, 10:41 AM
I would always have had Duff and McGeady starting, Hunt is an effective impact sub for the last 20 minutes. But I have seen hm play a few times this year and his crossing and dead-ball play is way above the other two. With Duff injured he probaly will start against Georgea and will get the chance to show what he can do in a full game.

Duggie
01/09/2008, 10:52 AM
dont really rate hunt all that much - just puts the head down and goes. no real technical skill IMO. has to much to say aswell, gets on my nerve.

smasher
01/09/2008, 2:13 PM
dont really rate hunt all that much - just puts the head down and goes. no real technical skill IMO. has to much to say aswell, gets on my nerve.

If the rest of Irish squad had the same desire to play for Ireland and put in as much effort as Hunt we would be all the better for it.

finnpark
01/09/2008, 2:23 PM
I think trapatonni knows best

If he fecks up then we can call for his head but if Reid doesn't fit into his system then so be it.

Reid is fat and lazy so maybe he wants hard working players that get behind the ball when its lost, exactly like Northern Ireland's style of play ;)

I think Murphy will replace Duff. Hunt is a great sub to come on if you need someone to run at teams to change the game. :)

Kilbane out is a serious loss and as Delaney is not that good imo.

Good luck Eire :ball:

BradyIsMyHero
01/09/2008, 2:56 PM
Hunt is best as an impact sub

Not good enough for a full 90 mins, but great to bring on with 20 mins to go to put a bit of pep into the step

02/09/2008, 8:07 AM
HENETSNTHUP

A Stephen Hunt conundrum.

Carrigaline
02/09/2008, 10:19 AM
Reid is fat and lazy

Have you seen Andy Reid play once this season? Do you realise that he's started every game for Sunderland this season? Do you know he's only been subbed once this season (at the 88th minute)? Do you know that Sunderland fans regard him as one of the best players they have?

smasher
02/09/2008, 10:25 AM
Your point being what exactly? I would not say that being a regular first choice for Sunderland is any great claim!

02/09/2008, 10:44 AM
its better than being 1st choice regular at Reading.

Andy Reid is a class or more above Hunt,although i like Hunt as a sub. he has far too much to say for himself,the day after the San Marino game and i pick up the Star and there he is givin it loads about himself. asked whats his fave moment for Ireland,he says the Czech game....he was sent off for gods sake.

Duggie
02/09/2008, 11:31 AM
FFS andy reid is ten times the player hunt is. reid is pure class. hunt is always in the papers talking ********. really ****es me off.

smasher
02/09/2008, 12:06 PM
When Sunderland's results keep nosediving and Keane sulks for more millions to avoid relegation, Reid will be one of the first to be dispensed with.

Brendan 82
02/09/2008, 2:03 PM
When Sunderland's results keep nosediving and Keane sulks for more millions to avoid relegation, Reid will be one of the first to be dispensed with.

And you will be delighted. Another promising young Irish footballer's career goes down the drain.

Why are you even here? Seriously

02/09/2008, 2:21 PM
last season, when Sunderland's results kept nosediving and Keane sulked for more millions to avoid relegation, Reid was one of the first signings he made.

smasher
02/09/2008, 2:40 PM
I am only stating the blindingly obvvious. Let's cut out the craw thumpin, 'another young Irish blah, blah.....'

colster
02/09/2008, 3:14 PM
If the rest of Irish squad had the same desire to play for Ireland and put in as much effort as Hunt we would be all the better for it.

Yeah and we'd finish a game with 6 or 7 players still on the pitch. Desire and Effort are nothing if he has no end product. He's done nothing playing for Ireland other than run around the pitch like a headless chicken. Reid is an immeasurably more intelligent player than Hunt.

Brendan 82
02/09/2008, 3:21 PM
I am only stating the blindingly obvvious. Let's cut out the craw thumpin, 'another young Irish blah, blah.....'

You have not said anything that is blindingly obvious. Blindingly prejudiced?-Yes

You obviously dislike for Roy Keane. Why that is the case could be for a myriad of reasons but is of no interest to me. It appears that this dislike you have for Keane would not be complete unless you hated the soccer team he manages. That has crept into a dislike for players, even Irish ones, who play at that club.

This obvious lack of objectivity renders your opinion meaningless.

Good day sir.

02/09/2008, 3:22 PM
He's by no means as polished as Reid / Duff / McGeady but Hunt's delivery is excellent and he does add something physically and in terms of injecting tempo. He nearly set up Long for goals at home to Slovakia and made Doyle's goal in Cardiff with a sumptuous cross from the left.

Brendan 82
02/09/2008, 3:24 PM
I would have both Reid and Hunt in my starting eleven. They are two of our best players

03/09/2008, 11:38 AM
I see Hunt was disappointed not to get a transfer to Everton:

HUNT: I WANTED EVERTON MOVE

By Damian Spellman, PA Sport

Stephen Hunt has admitted his disappointment after missing out on a deadline-day move to Everton.

The Reading winger, currently on international duty with the Republic of Ireland, was the subject of a bid from the Merseyside club last night.

However, with the Toffees unable to come up with the £5million up front which would have activated a get-out clause in his contract, the deadline passed without any deal being struck.

Hunt was disappointed the Royals had not been more flexible in return for the service he has given them over the past three years.

He said: "I spoke to the manager (Steve Coppell), the director of football (Nick Hammond), the coaches. They were asking if I wanted to leave, and they knew my stance.

"I haven't been a bad apple in the club over the last two or three years.

"I could have been, but I wasn't. I have been ultra-professional and probably deserve a little bit better from them.

"But then again, I understand where they are coming from. They wanted to keep hold of me. But to further my career, that would have been a good move."

Hunt was not the only Reading player in demand as the summer window close, with striker Kevin Doyle also understood to have attracted further attention from Tottenham as the Dimitar Berbatov saga finally drew to a close.

Doyle, like his international and club team-mate, has not been agitating publicly to leave the Madejski Stadium, and Hunt admitted the pair of them might have got their wish had they been less professional.

He said: "Kevin has acted the same way as me. We have been professional enough.

"At the dinner table today, we had the same conversation with a couple of players who said if they had been a bad apple, then they would have got out.

"Berbatov - I know it is a different scale and a lot of money, but at the same time, it is our careers as well.

"It's frustrating. I am disappointed, but I am ready to go and re-focus on doing what I want to do in my career.

"I suppose you could say I am a little bit wounded and a little bit disappointed, so that will re-focus me into doing well.

"Listen, if a club wanted me that badly, they would have paid the £5million, so I mustn't have been doing that well.

"But at the same time, I have done myself justice in the Premier League when I have played, and I am determined to get back up there, with Reading or without Reading."

EastTerracer
04/09/2008, 3:51 AM
I think Andy Reid's problem at the moment is that Trapp has identified Robbie to play what he called the "Totti role". Throughout his period in charge of Italy he left DelPiero on the bench and used him as a sub as he felt that he couldn't accomodate both flair players in the team. When he discusses Robbie, Duffer and McGeady I think he had identified his main attacking players and Reid is someone he just can't fit into that line.

However Del Piero did make regular appearances as sub in the 2002 World Cup and had a similar impact in 2006 (under Lippi) so I wouldn't write off Andy Reid yet. I do think he needs to improve his physical conditioning but I have no doubt he will have an important role to play at some point in this campaign.

irishultra
05/09/2008, 5:00 PM
It means so much to him to play for Ireland....its great to see players putting their national team first, first Messi, then Killer, and now Hunt..:D

kingdomkerry
05/09/2008, 5:01 PM
Yeah would love to see Hunt play a blinder. I love lads that love their country.

irishultra
05/09/2008, 5:05 PM
Some people will have you believe International football is 'dead', then when players like Messi basically give Barca the middle finger, it just shows its bull****.

youngirish
05/09/2008, 5:08 PM
In fairness there are a few players who I thought have always gave their all for Ireland when they've played:

Given
Dunne
Andy Reid
Duff (when fit)
Hunt
McShane
Kilbane

I wouldn't particularly single Kilbane or Hunt out.