View Full Version : Stephen Hunt

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

co. down green
20/01/2007, 3:53 PM
Hunt scored again today.

20/01/2007, 3:55 PM
Hunt scored again today.

Convey is on his way back from injury so Hunt will probably be back on the bench.

FarBeag
20/01/2007, 4:26 PM
It all kicked off at the Reading/ Shef Utd game to-day. Hunt was fouled by Keith Gillespie and when he got to his feet Gillespie punched him who in turn was send off.Most of the other players got involved including coaches managers etc resulting in Neil Warnock hiding in the dressing room. Comical stuff. Hunt was involved in everything even scoring a goal. Shane Long also scored.

Irish_Praha
20/01/2007, 7:35 PM
Another man-of-the-match performance. He seems to be playing consistantly well lately. I know sometimes he is just average and is not the type of player thatis likely to change a game with a sublime piece of skill but he rarely has a stinker. He's been compared to Kilbane because of his effort but maybe he has more to offer? I think Stan should have a look at him for at least half an hour against San Marino.

Wolfie
20/01/2007, 9:53 PM
Took his goal well today................

21/01/2007, 1:26 AM
Convey will do well to take Hunt's place in the starting XI if he continues his current form

danonion
21/01/2007, 6:24 AM
Yap yap!
Quiet Gary, I said quieten down now ya bad pup.

Ha ha picturing McCarthy saying that had me ****ing myself laughing!

He get's a game for his club and plays okay so a good coach would take him over kilbane....definatly a squad player.

21/01/2007, 7:09 AM
He's been compared to Kilbane because of his effort but maybe he has more to offer? I think Stan should have a look at him for at least half an hour against San Marino.

Alas he doesn't offer Kilbane's height, something we are sorely lack in the team. Hunt is a very busy like player in the Houghton mould, without the class Houghton had.

21/01/2007, 11:56 AM
I think he's a good little player. He's good in the air. He goes in where it hurts and he gets the odd goal. He's left sided also. He's good at running at people and, as seen yesterday with Gillespie and alot of the Sheffield players he's not afraid to get in peoples faces.

Ireland could do with someone like him right now.

21/01/2007, 6:38 PM
call the lad up and give him his shot. He's part of a successful team that try and play football = worthy a place in the 22 in my book.

irishfan86
21/01/2007, 7:36 PM
The more I see of him, the more I like him.

He has a desire that few can match, and his technical ability is better than a lot of people give him credit for here.

He's not Ronaldinho but he gives a ****, and that's better than I can say for a good portion of the current team.

21/01/2007, 8:28 PM
The more I see of him, the more I like him.

He has a desire that few can match, and his technical ability is better than a lot of people give him credit for here.

He's not Ronaldinho but he gives a ****, and that's better than I can say for a good portion of the current team.

I like him too. He seems a bit of a character. Stan said when he started that the camp was short on personalities. Hunts seems the kind of guy who won't let his relative success go to his head, unlike some I can think of.

That said, he's definitely limited, but I'll always maintain that you don't need quality throughout a team. If Jonathon Douglas can compete against the Czech Republic, Stephen Hunt can do at least the same.

Hither green
21/01/2007, 9:33 PM
I've never particularly rated him. Having said that, and I know he plays a different role, but he's a bit of an Irish Robbie Savage, in that he seems to be able to really annoy the opposition. I can't remember the last player that did that, McAteer perhaps.

That said, he really finished yesterday's goal well. One of those goals you wished they had better coverage as I'm still not sure how he finished it.

22/01/2007, 2:35 AM
surely hunt will offer more than the likes of alan o brian and st ledger squad wise, i feel reland needs aplaher with a pair i feel the current squad are lacking commitment!

22/01/2007, 10:08 AM
Give me a hungry player any day of the week. In the past year we have seen no end of contented millionaires.
Wasn't it great when the Irish used to have a passion and a hunger about us?
Should'nt this be in the Andy Reid thread?:confused:

Bring Back Mick
22/01/2007, 10:39 AM
[QUOTE=Tuff Paddy;608573]Hunt bursts his nuts every time he gets a chance. QUOTE]

And occasionally the opposition goalkeeper's skull with his trailing leg :eek:

Donal81
22/01/2007, 1:24 PM
Hunt doesn't seem remarkably talented but he's spoken of how much he wants to play for Ireland, as did Doyle before him. He wants to play for us, he's playing well in a good side and deserves his chance. If he hasn't done enough to earn it compared to some others in the side, I'm not sure what he needs to do.

He's a bolshy b*stard, which I like. You need someone with a bit of passion, who really wants to be there. In the last campaign, Shay Given was the only one that seemed to really give a monkey's.

blobbyblob
22/01/2007, 2:05 PM
Couldnt agree more - His kind of work ethic, while not pretty all of the time, is infectous and I think a few of our older statesmen need a reminder of what hard work is all about. Bang on with the Given comment.

reder
22/01/2007, 5:13 PM
I have watched him a few times this season and I watched him closely on sat. He was excellent, I really liked his attitude and I for one have not seen a better irish player on the left hand side this season. His form has been way better than Duff's, who seems to have go back to his pre-Souness days. He needs another kick-up the back side and he wont get that at Newcastle.

Hunt should be given his chance. Fair play to Coppell he has built an excellent side there, packed with honest hard pro's. I also loved the way he dealt with the sending off into the after match interviews.

22/01/2007, 5:44 PM
Pat Dolan says Hunt and Long "honest country lads" don't fit the image to make the international team. :confused:

republicofwhite
22/01/2007, 8:14 PM
Pat Dolan says Hunt and Long "honest country lads" don't fit the image to make the international team. :confused:

Thats an absolutely outrageous statement, completely nonsensical. I never knew it was the Republic Of Dublin National Team.

Soper
22/01/2007, 8:28 PM
Dolan is a man not to be listened to.

blobbyblob
22/01/2007, 10:00 PM
Dolan was being sarcastic and critical of Stauntons selections

Wolfie
22/01/2007, 10:21 PM

I think Staunton would be happy to describe himself in the same bracket. :rolleyes:

22/01/2007, 11:35 PM
Dolan was being sarcastic and critical of Stauntons selections
I think he geniunly believes being from the country has affected Hunt's international career. Why he mentioned Long I don't know.

FarBeag
23/01/2007, 8:11 AM
Maybe if you are from Waterford play now and again for Man utd and are utter s*ite then you will get away with it.

Dr. Ogba
23/01/2007, 8:36 AM
I think he geniunly believes being from the country has affected Hunt's international career. Why he mentioned Long I don't know.

Surely its the fact that he only broke into the Reading first team this year and not too long ago was playing in the English third tier for Brentford that has affected his international career??

23/01/2007, 9:27 AM
Yeah this sort of thilng about a Dublin bias is rubbish. Harte was in the team when he was rubbish so too O Shea. It never held back Roy Keane at all. Hunt only made his first Premiership appeartance this season against Chelsea so he can hardly be expecting a call up before then. He should be in the next squad though.

noby
23/01/2007, 10:47 AM
Isn't Waterford a city?
He's from the county.

youngirish
23/01/2007, 1:15 PM
There are only two reasons why Dublin players dominate and have dominated Irish squads.

1. About 2 million people live in Dublin by far greater than any other county in the country.
2. Football (soccer) is by far the most popular sport in many of the larger working class areas of the city whereby it's generally the third most popular sport outside the city.

All these bias assumptions are paranoia gone mad. I wish we had a Dublin bias then maybe O'Shea and Harte as previously mentioned would have never sullied the team in the first place. Also by extension Staunton mightn't have been selected as manager.

P.S. Hunt has never been in an Ireland squad because until very recently he was playing for Reading reserves and Brentford in League 1.

Donal81
23/01/2007, 1:44 PM
A Dublin bias? Now that really is laughable.

Jonathan Douglas is the first player that I can remember coming from Monaghan and making the senior squad. This is either bias or simply reflective of how few good players have come out of Monaghan (I can't think of one other than Douglas).

Maybe there is a subtle bias at juvenile level, however, when an international scout will do the rounds of Home Farm and Cherry Orchard every weekend but will rarely venture down to see some teams playing in Wexford, for example.

27/01/2007, 8:32 PM
Give me a hungry player any day of the week. In the past year we have seen no end of contented millionaires.
Wasn't it great when the Irish used to have a passion and a hunger about us?
We have been lacking someone like that on the pitch for sometime now, bar Given and Dunne.

zenokelly
19/06/2007, 5:17 PM
Reading ace Stephen Hunt has called on the club to give him a new improved deal.

The Republic of Ireland international is seeking parity with the rest of his team-mates after an impressive first season in the Premier League last term.

Hunt was one of the biggest successes at the Madejski Stadium last term with a number of stellar performances.

The 26-year-old only signed a two-and-half-year deal six months ago, but he believes he deserves a new contract for his outstanding form last season.

"I spoke to Steve Coppell and he understands where I am coming from," Hunt told The Mirror.

"I'm not asking for anything silly - just to earn the same as my team-mates."

I never like to see this sort of talk from a player who has really just established himself on the premiership radar and I don't want to get him too far ahead of himself.

Whether he deserves the wage increase or not, it puts him under tons of pressure to perform next season which isn't good if he wants to stay in the Reading team, especially with Convey back on his tail.

Though I am surprised to hear this from a player who in certaijn parts of the media have said that he is a true genuine good lad!

Ceirtlis
19/06/2007, 5:21 PM
Could be the work of his agent, he is setting himself up for a fall though if he doesnt go as well next season. He might have been as well off holding off for a little while longer seen as he only signed the last contract 6 months ago.

19/06/2007, 5:22 PM
Dead right

FarmHoop
19/06/2007, 5:43 PM
It was always going to happen at reading, they were all happy last season but as soon as transfer talk and praise are heaped on them, money becomes the main point,

finlma
19/06/2007, 5:52 PM
He's dead right and of course he deserves to be paid the same as his team mates when he's a first team regular. Everyone gets a raise when they improve their performance - doesn't matter what industry.

The Man Himself
19/06/2007, 7:06 PM
steven hunt deserves every penny hes looking for.
he should be at least on the same money that doyle is on if not more,
id rather have hunt in my team before doyle anyday.

KopKiller
19/06/2007, 9:20 PM
steven hunt deserves every penny hes looking for.
he should be at least on the same money that doyle is on if not more,

Dont believe the Hype, Hunt is a good solid player ... Doyle is pure class.

beautifulrock
19/06/2007, 9:58 PM
Greedy?? thats a joke right, fair play to him

co. down green
19/06/2007, 10:45 PM
Any idea what he is on at the moment, compared to his teammates ?

19/06/2007, 11:21 PM
:confused: any reasons why?

cheifo
19/06/2007, 11:41 PM
Hunt didnt play much in their promotion season so his rise has been remarkable.Could he (and reading)suffer from the infamous second season syndrome next year?I hope not and I dont care about him asking for parity as long as he does the biz for Ireland.Doyle however is class and will bang them in.

shinobi
20/06/2007, 1:02 AM
I believe he's on around nine thousand per week which is probably below the premiership average. He's probably ensuring he gets at least one big payday considering he's well aware of the fickleness of football having being released twice in his career already.

noby
20/06/2007, 7:06 AM
I'd say half the premiership first team players from last season (or their agents) have gone in with similar requests. Just because the Irish media picked this one to run with does not make him greedy.

20/06/2007, 7:08 AM
I'd say half the premiership first team players from last season (or their agents) have gone in with similar requests. Just because the Irish media picked this one to run with does not make him greedy.

spot on

reder
20/06/2007, 8:26 AM
This is typical PL agent stuff. He does deserve parity but personally I believe Reading will struggle next season just like Wigan did this season. Dare I say it but Sunderland could be the new high flyer this season.

endabob1
20/06/2007, 8:34 AM
This is typical PL agent stuff. He does deserve parity but personally I believe Reading will struggle next season just like Wigan did this season. Dare I say it but Sunderland could be the new high flyer this season.

I think Reading will struggle unless Sidwell is replaced, can't take the engine out of the car and expect the same performance.
Sunderland need to spend big imho, they bought and loaned players to get them up, different ball game now I think.

youngirish
20/06/2007, 9:48 AM
I think Reading will struggle unless Sidwell is replaced, can't take the engine out of the car and expect the same performance.
Sunderland need to spend big imho, they bought and loaned players to get them up, different ball game now I think.

I'd be surprised if Coppell doesn't make a few shrewd signings over the next couple of months particularly now he's money from the Halford transfer. I think Reading will possibly be not as good this season as last but I still think they'll be safe from relegation. At present I'd say Fulham, Man City, Birmingham, Derby, Boro and possibly even Portsmouth will be the teams that struggle at the foot of the table in the absence of any new signings.

EalingGreen
20/06/2007, 10:42 AM
I believe he's on around nine thousand per week which is probably below the premiership average. He's probably ensuring he gets at least one big payday considering he's well aware of the fickleness of football having being released twice in his career already.

http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/news/article357006.ece
According to a PFA survey, the average Premiership salary in the 2005-06 season was £13,000 per week.

Salaries will have increased significantly in the season just finished.

And with the massive increase in TV rights due to kick in next season, whereby the team finishing bottom of the Premiership is guaranteed a minimum £31 million a season from domestic TV rights alone (i.e. not including an equal 20th share of the overseas sales, or League Prize money), salaries are predicted to rocket next season:
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,,2102413,00.html

Considering he is 26, he has knocked around in the lower Leagues with Brentford (where he will have been on around £50-75k a year), yet he's been one of the better players in one of the Prem's better teams, I personally don't think it at all greedy of him to require simple parity with his teammates.

This is especially when you consider Reading are one of the 5 or 6 lowest paying teams in the Prem; also that one or other two Prem teams are said to be interested in Hunt. In fact, my guess is that he (or his Agent?) undersold himself when he negotiated his last extension and he's only cottoned on to it now that he's seen what others are getting.

Fair play to the guy - he'll be a long time retired.