View Full Version : Stephen Hunt
Pages :
[
7]
zenokelly
08/02/2008, 4:49 PM
1st of all McGeady was not that outstanding the other night he made a few good runs using his pace and not much end product.
Then you can add in his performances in Slovakia and Czaech Republic, our 2 most vital matches of Stan's reign, they were absolutely shocking. And who's place did he take in them games? the man who is not afraid to speak how he feels, the truth, no bull****, no mollycuddling a **** that has ruined our U21s and has taken the life of a tortoise to appoint a manager due to his fiddling around with coaching courses and having an agenda to manage the team against Brazil.
Hunt has a right to speak his mind, especially when he has looked pretty good in the games he's played for Ireland, and gives his backside for the cause. Look at what he did in Prague before the sending off.
He deserved his place the other night and I agree with him speaking out about it.
By the way, can't wait to see McGEady lighting up the next world cup, with him being the best winger in the world and all:rolleyes:
Nipper
08/02/2008, 4:56 PM
We'll see how quick he is to speak his mind when Trap/Venables doesn't automatically pick him.
beautifulrock
08/02/2008, 4:56 PM
Hunt has a right to speak his mind, especially when he has looked pretty good in the games he's played for Ireland, and gives his backside for the cause. Look at what he did in Prague before the sending off.
:
Zeno every one thoughts on Given are well documented here and the vast majority agree he is totally useless. But on topic Hunt is no more than average and his sending of in Prague really irritated me.
08/02/2008, 4:57 PM
I think mcgeadys not a patch on hunt, and the list of awards mean **** all, stokes proved the spl is a joke, mcgeady would struggle to get into most epl teams. He certainly wouldnt displace hunt at reading. And i thought hunts form would have guaranteed him a start. Its doyle that should have been worrying. Back to form and clinton morrisson, form obviously means nothing to don givens.
08/02/2008, 5:05 PM
RTE showed snippets of an Interview with Hunt after the match and immediately I thought he was having a cut at Givens and Staunton with the reference to the player in form. .
Yep, I noticed that too. He obviously felt hard done by not starting which is good as it shows hunger. He wasn't having a go at McGeady though as he spoke about not playing players "in form" and I think he meant for the Brazil game anyway Duff getting in ahead of him.
My God, the slightest criticism of McGeady and the Celtic mob are in quickly :D Eirebhoy, quoting Dunphy doesn't help your case!!
BradyIsMyHero
08/02/2008, 5:08 PM
Hunt was fairly dreadful in last game against Cyprus, but is playing well for Reading this season.
Jury still out on McGeady. Playing ok in a very mediocre league (remember - the one where Anthony Stokes was leading scorer ?) but had a reasonable game on Wednesday.
Good to see players looking to get their place. Fair play also to Hunt for having a go against Don ("I should really be the gaffer even though I'm a lousy U21 manager") Givens
Nipper
08/02/2008, 5:16 PM
Hunt was fairly dreadful in last game against Cyprus, but is playing well for Reading this season.
Jury still out on McGeady. Playing ok in a very mediocre league (remember - the one where Anthony Stokes was leading scorer ?) but had a reasonable game on Wednesday.
Good to see players looking to get their place. Fair play also to Hunt for having a go against Don ("I should really be the gaffer even though I'm a lousy U21 manager") Givens
I doubt any of them want to sit on the bench in fairness. The others just have the cop on not to moan to the media about it.
08/02/2008, 5:34 PM
some people really dont have a clue, and it makes me think and wonder if thats what managers think no wonder some of them are so poor.
Duff: Is the best winger we have, no matter what he does for club ( he might not be the same player we had ), but if you watch him for Ireland he always stands out, dont be looking at duff thinking everytime he gets the ball he has to do magic, thats looking back at the really 2 good seasons he had, world cup and the season after that. He is still our best winger at the moment. we missed him dearly in the last qualifying campaign, cos we created very little once he wasn't there - even less than normal, which admittedly isn't much anyhow!
Hunt: keep your mouth shut and get on with the game, Kingdom, you called it rightly in your assessment of the current crop, I think it has something to do with the change in Irish society in general as well. I like watching Hunt, but he is limited and he should know this and be thankful for where his determination and self-belief have got him, but keep shtump. Decent impact sub thats about it.
McEddy ( can ye lads start spelling his name right btw ) - as brady calls him -Im with Bill on this one, he hasn't done a great deal for ireland yet, look what stokes was doing up in scotland, awards in scotland mean nothing, so dont start throwing used toilet paper as though its valuable. One good night does not a sweet prince make...i.e. one game does not mean anything...
BigCas: are you seriouslly not a Celtic fan, or do you just have a massive boner for Mcgeady?!
I read this thread and I would say everyone has given one good part of a post, and then the next one is completely irrational and illogical. One or two have been somewhat sensible on this, mainly you Kingdom and Bill!!
Fergie's Son
08/02/2008, 5:54 PM
Well McGeady is still young and he has had some credible perfomances in the Champions League against some very strong teams. He hasn't been great fro us but other than Prague I can name players who have been a lot worse. He's young and he has plenty of time on his side. I do think a move away from Scotland would help him as would a manager who gives him a specific task.
All in all, he's a decent player who I really think will get better.
Hunt is a good impact sub and I am glad we have him. I'm guessing his comments had more to do with his dislike of Givens than anything else.
shaneker
08/02/2008, 6:14 PM
One question - when was the last time Duff put in a truly excellent performance in a competitive game for Ireland?
08/02/2008, 6:58 PM
2002?
08/02/2008, 7:01 PM
My God, the slightest criticism of McGeady and the Celtic mob are in quickly :D
I believe he was our motm on Wednesday so of course I'm gonna reply to those saying he wasn't great (I hope people realise by now that I stick up for Duff just as much when he gets criticised). We must have much, much, much higher standards than Celtic fans. And believe me, Celtic fans have high standards. In fact, the only players in the current squad regarded as good enough by most are Boruc, Brown, McGeady, Naka and McDonald (as well as Hinkel who has hardly played yet).
As for Stokes. Play him the way Falkirk played him and he'll get you goals. I don't even think he's played 1 game in that role for Sunderland.
"I do think a move away from Scotland would help him as would a manager who gives him a specific task."
I couldn't ask for a better coach than Strachan to get the best out of him. If they're still working together for the next few years he's going to turn into an excellent attacker imo. There's many a manager that would have told him to play as a winger, beat his man and get crosses in. Strachan has him using his brain more. Basically doing what Mourinho tried to do with Duff but is having a lot more success.
I'm over the moon that he played well on Wednesday as there's no excuses now with regards his confidence. He has done it in front of 70,000 Irish, the Irish players and against a quality team. That'll really kick him on now and I'd be surprised if he's not a regular in the team now for years.
jmurphyc
08/02/2008, 7:19 PM
One question - when was the last time Duff put in a truly excellent performance in a competitive game for Ireland?
When has any one of our wingers put in a truly excellent performance since then? Off the top of my head he played well at the March home games last year, and also against the Faroes at home in the World Cup Qualifiers. If he can stay fit for the whole campaign, I'd fully expect him to put in at least one exceptional performance in the next qualifiers.
beautifulrock
08/02/2008, 7:27 PM
I read this thread and I would say everyone has given one good part of a post, and then the next one is completely irrational and illogical. One or two have been somewhat sensible on this, mainly you Kingdom and Bill!!
Good work Paul, thanks for giving us all the heads up, it saves me having to read all the other "illogical" posts, :rolleyes: you are some tickets I will say that. If I could have also your take on climate change and the US Elections it will save me buying the papers. Thanks in advance:rolleyes:
Armando
08/02/2008, 7:53 PM
He was pretty damn good against the Czechs at Lansdowne Rd.
Also, in that game he set up Kilbanes goal and in the last minute put it on a plate for Keane who steered his header wide at the back post.
Now when Hunt starts making that kind of contribution for Ireland his supporters over Duff can get back to me and we'll discuss if he merits a place over Duff
08/02/2008, 8:23 PM
Duff has been by far and away our best play along with Given since the '02 world cup imo. Pity we hadn't got motm polls going on this forum before now. Too many people have very bad memories. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if Duff was our best player in close to 50% of the matches he has started since the world cup.
Den Perry
08/02/2008, 9:32 PM
Hunt is a Kunt....he started thelling Steven Ireland to "be a man" in the paper a few months back. what a t osspot
bishbash
08/02/2008, 11:13 PM
hunt has made a great career for himself through sheer hard work and guts even though his talent is limited and for that i commend him. people say he is modest and down to earth but he is an arrogant fella and is extremely mouthy. you cant even try to put him in mcgeadys class he wouldnt hold a candle to him. people have been listening to the likes of brady sayin he is average when he knew nothing about him. after the benfica game it was like who is this fella those pundits sa things sometimes for the sake of controversy after all ronaldo is just hype. wouldnt mind a hype player like that in the green jersey! mcgeady is a quality player who like all pros has had a few bad games but no one tell me kick and run hunt is any where near his quality.
Qwerty
08/02/2008, 11:23 PM
The new manager should impose a gag order on his players as first order of business.
Players should be seen and not heard. Players coming out and saying that the delay ion appointing a new manager is x,y,z is riduculous. Hunt's remarks on Givens were way out of line. I think it's all down to the money and the 7x24 media coverage of football in the UK, these guys are divorced from reality on their inflated salaries and egos.
If talk & bitching could win games our players would be world class, right up there with the Dutch. Shut up and play already...:mad:
billybunter
09/02/2008, 2:11 AM
against slovakia last march.
billybunter
09/02/2008, 2:12 AM
against slovakia last march. next question.
09/02/2008, 9:21 AM
Under Kerr the focal point of our attacking creativity was centred firmly on Duff. The opposition knew this and knew that if they wanted to limit our attacking threat they had to stop Duff. So opposition teams invariably doubled up on Duff and marked him out of games.
When the opposition haven't done this, usually in friendly games, we have witnessed what damage Duff can do. For example, Stan's first game in charge against Sweden. The Swedes let Duff roam free and he duly tore them to bits. When Duff is let roam free like that everyone can see what a talent he is and our expectations on him are consequently raised. The opposition see the same as we do and when we come to competitive fixtures we need to realise that whoever we are played are going to single out Duff as our attacking threat. They know if they want to stop Robbie Keane they have to stop Duff getting the ball.
Whilst I don't think McGeady is at or will reach Duff's "level" I welcome his inclusion in the team because it takes opposition focus away from Duff as McGeady, in his own right, can cause the opposition trouble. McGeady inclusion in the team adds an attacking balance to the team as now we can attack down the right as well as the left wing. We need Duff in the team to win matches and IMO starting with McGeady will help Duff.
As for Hunt, I like his energy but I think that that is really the only dimension to his game. He doesn't have the trickery McGeady and Duff have and anytime I've seen him he looks like he's going to get a booking or red card. As best he is an impact sub but if would be interesting to know what "the iffy reasons" given were.
09/02/2008, 9:50 AM
When the opposition haven't done this, usually in friendly games, we have witnessed what damage Duff can do. For example, Stan's first game in charge against Sweden. The Swedes let Duff roam free and he duly tore them to bits. When Duff is let roam free like that everyone can see what a talent he is and our expectations on him are consequently raised.
I was talking to a Swedish girl about that match a couple of weeks ago and she said the full back that played in that match hasn't been called up since.
09/02/2008, 10:02 AM
I was talking to a Swedish girl about that match a couple of weeks ago and she said the full back that played in that match hasn't been called up since.
Yeah that's right - Alexander Östlund, Southampton's very own Jesus. He doesn't like talking about that match :D. Feel sorry for him as he was first choice for that position and on his way to the World Cup until Damien Duff came along ....
Duff also ended the international career of a Danish full back - can't remember his name but he never played for Denmark again after we beat them 3-0 6 or 7 years ago.
09/02/2008, 10:28 AM
Good work Paul, thanks for giving us all the heads up, it saves me having to read all the other "illogical" posts, you are some tickets I will say that. If I could have also your take on climate change and the US Elections it will save me buying the papers. Thanks in advance:rolleyes:
rock: are ye upset i didnt include you?! I meant to actually, dont get so upset, it was just a mistake. I wont forget next time ;)
Btw, I don't really know much about climate change other what what I read, so you need to keep buying those papers and reading those books....:)
Duff has been by far and away our best play along with Given since the '02 world cup imo. Pity we hadn't got motm polls going on this forum before now. Too many people have very bad memories. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if Duff was our best player in close to 50% of the matches he has started since the world cup.
09/02/2008, 10:39 AM
Under Kerr the focal point of our attacking creativity was centred firmly on Duff. The opposition knew this and knew that if they wanted to limit our attacking threat they had to stop Duff. So opposition teams invariably doubled up on Duff and marked him out of games.
When the opposition haven't done this, usually in friendly games, we have witnessed what damage Duff can do. For example, Stan's first game in charge against Sweden. The Swedes let Duff roam free and he duly tore them to bits. When Duff is let roam free like that everyone can see what a talent he is and our expectations on him are consequently raised. The opposition see the same as we do and when we come to competitive fixtures we need to realise that whoever we are played are going to single out Duff as our attacking threat. They know if they want to stop Robbie Keane they have to stop Duff getting the ball.
Whilst I don't think McGeady is at or will reach Duff's "level" I welcome his inclusion in the team because it takes opposition focus away from Duff as McGeady, in his own right, can cause the opposition trouble. McGeady inclusion in the team adds an attacking balance to the team as now we can attack down the right as well as the left wing. We need Duff in the team to win matches and IMO starting with McGeady will help Duff.
As for Hunt, I like his energy but I think that that is really the only dimension to his game. He doesn't have the trickery McGeady and Duff have and anytime I've seen him he looks like he's going to get a booking or red card. As best he is an impact sub but if would be interesting to know what "the iffy reasons" given were.
great post. very well thought out summation.
09/02/2008, 11:00 AM
I would like to see Hunt get 45 mins in the middle of the park. He is usually a decent passer of the ball, he has plenty of energy and isn't afraid to get a foot in. It might be terrible but it could work.
Lets call a spade a spade. Our central midfield partnership hasn't worked for a long time. I don't subscribe to the theory that Lee Carsley is doing anything positive for us. He is playing a different role for us than he is for his club and it unbalances us. This is the galling thing about the last campaign. The most ridiculous things were tried. Andy Keogh perfect for the "hole" played on the right, yet not once was a bit of outside the box thinking used for the central midfield problem or how to solve it. Lots of kids were brought through, Long, Keogh, Murphy, that weren't really needed either because they weren't consistently getting game time or there were perfectly good existing internationals in those positions that were ignored, yet it was the likes of Potter mcCann, Garvan who have been playing consistently for 2 seasons or so that were ignored. Its time to bring these guys on now and mould them. It has to happen sooner or later, and due to the dearth of talent in the middle of the pitch I think it has to be sooner.
09/02/2008, 11:29 AM
kingdom, ive seen that mccann fella twice live, and he was overshadowed by other players, particularly kyle lafferty from what I remember. So i think he has a lot more to do before he deserves a call up. On the hunt thing Ive thought about this before, he is a real box to box type player I reckon, as he would run his heart out, it would be interesting to see his positional sense though, I wonder would he just be a headless chicken running all over the place, or would he have good positional sense, that and the fear of him getting sent off would worry me about playing him in midfield, because he is so uber-exuberant that he could get caught up in the whole thing, and start flying round the place. Thinking outside of the box is key to the next manager, something done like this could be the key to unlocking this team to greatness.
09/02/2008, 11:46 AM
There's no way Hunt has the positional sense to play in the centre for us imo. Very similar to Kilbane really.
kingdomkerry
09/02/2008, 12:18 PM
McGeady is a class attacking player. I would have him nearly first on the team sheet for every home game. I would play a more defensive player/formation for away games.
Obviously stan did'nt agree he played McGeady for away games and dropped him for the home games
RivaldoBabb
09/02/2008, 1:37 PM
Duff has not had a decent game for anyone since Ranieri left Chelsea
Rubbish.
Duffer has probably been OUR best player in the last 3 years. I couldnt give a fiddlers about what he does at club level, its what he does in the green that counts for me, and he has been brilliant, look at the 2 games last year in Croker, he was the one class act in green amongst a load of headless chickens.
Noelys Guitar
09/02/2008, 1:56 PM
Pat Dolan said on Setanta that Hunt was told by Givens that Duff was playing because he is Damien Duff!
09/02/2008, 2:25 PM
That's fair enough. Club form shouldn't matter for a player like Duff. He's too good to drop and constantly proves that for Ireland.
09/02/2008, 2:30 PM
that's 3rd hand information, at best, coming from Dolan. Dunno how much stock I'd put in it
09/02/2008, 2:32 PM
Should he even be asking why he didn't get a starting place though? Respect the manager no matter who it is.
09/02/2008, 2:38 PM
Respect the manager no matter who it is.
Yeah, good point.
It's not like Givens is going to be picking the next team. Is he?
09/02/2008, 2:48 PM
I've heard it said a few times during the last year, most tellingly in a Daniel McDonnell article, that there is an old guard / new guard split in the camp. I think players like McShane, Hunt and Doyle feel that some of the others are living off their 2002 reputations. The rumoured situation above is consistent with this.
In my opinion Hunt should stay quiet. If the manager wants to pick an attacking line up in a meaningless exhibition match then that's his prerogative. At least he's in the squad and gets used unlike Clinton Morrison. Daryl Murphy should have got time alongside Robbie on Wednesday but I haven't heard him complain.
McGeady and Duff both did enough to justify their starts on Wednesday and though I'm a fan of Hunt, I thought he was very poor when he came on.
Hunt is a Kunt....he started thelling Steven Ireland to "be a man" in the paper a few months back. what a t osspot
Have some respect for a man who is proud and passionate to wear the green of ireland. Hunt has contributed quite a bit for us in the last 12 months. He has also been playing consistently well with his club (so much that keane considered his worth at €7m).
He may have mouthed a bit, but he's a bit of charachter (a welcome in this age of overpaid footballers).
Qwerty
09/02/2008, 5:24 PM
What are the chances that Stephen Hunt is one of the main reasons that Stephen Ireland isn't too keen on playing for us right now?
09/02/2008, 5:27 PM
Very slim. Unless I'm missing something.
09/02/2008, 5:28 PM
Yeah Ireland is jealous of Hunts hair.
Greenforever
09/02/2008, 6:22 PM
Yeah Ireland is jealous of Hunts hair.
you got that right in one:D
antrimgreen
09/02/2008, 6:37 PM
Mc Geady IMO, is very good for Celtic but when he puts on the green jersey for Ireland IMO he is pish poor, friendlies matter not and he was very poor in our qualifiers. Just cause he gets the ball runs directly across the pitch does nothing but looks like he has done something doesn't mean he is great Bigmancas. Hunt for me would have started, but he should not come out bitching to the press, bite your teeth and work even harder in training for the starting place.
09/02/2008, 6:38 PM
Jesus terrible tackle on Hunt by Carsley, Hunt was not too happy at all. Very bad tackle but not quite as bad as Hunts tackle at Man City I think.
09/02/2008, 6:49 PM
Mc Geady IMO, is very good for Celtic but when he puts on the green jersey for Ireland IMO he is pish poor, friendlies matter not
Obviously they don't but I'm pretty sure after seeing him against Brazil that his confidence problems are sorted. He was a nervous wreck in most Ireland games beforehand but was incredibly confident on Wednesday.
Just cause he gets the ball runs directly across the pitch does nothing but looks like he has done something doesn't mean he is great Bigmancas.
It really depends. He might play 40 simple passes in a game. That may be good enough to help us outpass a team. He doesn't need to be making defence splitting passes to prove his worth in the team.
09/02/2008, 11:32 PM
McGeady's only a kid FFS, a great talent. If he was 28 and regularly crap for Ireland then write him off but he played poorly when he was 20, years before many players even get capped. He has shown enough to show that he has immense talent but is still work in progress. Sometimes I wonder if we deserve talented players given how they're treated.
You've also got to ask what Staunton told McGeady to go out to do and what he ever said to him. I'm not deflecting blame for McGeady's poor showings in eastern Europe but you get the impression he was told "you play out left" and not much more.
I tell you what: I'm bloody glad we have him and not Scotland.
09/02/2008, 11:34 PM
Also, if we ever improve our set pieces there are no better players than Duff and McGeady to draw fouls in dangerous areas.
Bondvillain
10/02/2008, 1:06 AM
Also, if we ever improve our set pieces there are no better players than Duff and McGeady to draw fouls in dangerous areas.
I'd agree, but I'd also go so far as to include Hunt in that.
While not as gifted technically as Duff or McGeady, His brain is seemingly always three steps ahead of his feet, and his speed & momentum, if trained, could be relied on to get a free in a dangerous position.
He does always seem to be a target, and his talent for a theatrical fall after a heavy tackle could benefit us greatly.
finnpark
10/02/2008, 1:38 AM
Stephan Hunts remarks in todays paper beggars belief. Giving out about Don Givens not picking him as he is in form? Keep talkin like that and he'll not endear himself to the new boss. He might be playing reasonably ok but not near good enough to displace the wingers on show. It really pains me to hear people cheer his name as if he is the messiah. He is a substandard international player - playing not bad with a team who will probably be relegated from the premier league - and just so happens has a lion heart. He does not have anywhere near the ability of Damien Duff and Aiden mc Geady. Any challengers? Good to see Mc Geady play well at croker - He does not deserve the slating he gets from some quarters. He is our greatest talent and deserves respect and encouragement. After all he is only 22. Bring on Terry Venables and quick!!! Sack Delaney and Givens NOW
You actually think that Duff and McGeady are better than Hunt? :eek: And Miller? :eek:
Hunt is in outstanding form and himself and Ireland are Ireland's best 2 players for the next 2 years.
Duff should retire
finnpark
10/02/2008, 1:40 AM
Since making his début, aged 18, McGeady has picked up the following awards:
December 2004 - SPL Player of the Month
Season 2004/05 - Celtic Young Player of the Year
November 2005 - SPL Young Player of the Month
Season 2005/06 - SPL Championship winner
Season 2005/06 - Celtic Young Player of the Year
August 2006 - SPL Young Player of the Month
September 2006 - SPL Young Player of the Month
October 2006 - Young Player of the Month
Season 2006/07 - Celtic Young Player of the Year
November 2007 - SPL Player of the MonthHe deals week in week out with naysayers and people who want to cut him down at every turn beacuse he is the best thing Scotland have produced in years / maybe ever and he has decided to play for his spiritual home. But then there are people like yourself Bill who make him maybe regret his decision. It is terrible that he is getting slack here as well as there. He has started how many competitive internationals - maybe 4? and you have written him off at 22 Bill. You know nothing and remind me of E Dunphy. He wasn't the worst in Bratislava - Stephan Ireland, Jonathan Douglas, Sheasy were worse. He was the easy sub. Granted poor in Prague - but look what happened his replacement.. Waken up Bill.
These are all Scottish League results. They meaning absolutely nothing. :rolleyes: