View Full Version : Daryl Murphy
Pages :
[
4]
theworm2345
08/12/2007, 6:02 PM
Crazy rumour mate. Arca's worth about £5m. Connolly's worth a few hundred grand.
Let Gareth Southgate be the judge of that...hes the one who actually played against him
half_full
08/12/2007, 7:33 PM
Amazed if they get that for him. Has he improved to the tune of £1.9m in 2 and a half years?
Sunderland robbed him off us for £100,000, if we hadn't been so stuck for cash at the time we could have negotiated a better deal, maybe £350,000 plus.
Topman
08/12/2007, 7:50 PM
Come on over....everybody Welcome
www.iqpr.org (http://www.iqpr.org)
Ireland QPR :D:cool::)
FarBeag
08/12/2007, 11:23 PM
Was at the game to-day. Murphy came on for Jones in the second half. My God if this bloke gets paid to scores goals there is some hope for us all. He is absolutely horendous.Just a big lanky useless waste of space. Who in their right mind would pay £2m for this?
I don’t rate him at all but Liam Miller was not bad although he was sent off for been a silly boy. Stokes came on with 20 to go but was ineffective. For me anyway i dont think after watching him this afternoon he would ever make a Chelsea player, not in a million years, actually if they got him for free and had to pay him £100 a week they wouldn’t have him.
livehead1
09/12/2007, 11:27 AM
Let Gareth Southgate be the judge of that...hes the one who actually played against him
I always thought you lived in a dream world as regards Connolly and I think you've confirmed it with this latest rambling! Connolly is utter tripe at premiership level. I have a friend player at Middlesborough (B.Hutchinson) who has just broken through and has ten times the potential that Connolly has ever shown at this level. I can bet you whatever you like that they will never ever look at signing Connolly. He has never ever produced the goods at the highest level and never will. Where exactly did you hear this rumour? In your head at about 4 in the morning me thinks! I'd like more than anything to be proved wrong and Connolly bang in 20goals a season in the EP but it aint gona happen so please stop kidding yourself!!
Paddy Garcia
09/12/2007, 12:14 PM
Come on over....everybody Welcome
www.iqpr.org (http://www.iqpr.org)
Ireland QPR :D:cool::)
Never been able to warm to QPR after interferring with Kevin Gallen, as it were.
Deckydee
09/12/2007, 3:22 PM
Paddy,
Yes, we were all p!ssesd over the Gallen thing. His parents are both from Ireland and he should have played for Ireland. What happened was (and I have checked this out big time) is that Gerry Francis who was QPR manager that season (1994-1995) put pressure on young Kevin to play for England. Young keving looked up to Gerry and for this reason choose to play for England at U-21 level. Because (at that time) once you played for anonther country at U-21 level you cannot play for anonther country. He played one match and never again received another callup. All QPR fans agree it was the biggest mistake of his career.
theworm2345
09/12/2007, 4:26 PM
I always thought you lived in a dream world as regards Connolly and I think you've confirmed it with this latest rambling! Connolly is utter tripe at premiership level. I have a friend player at Middlesborough (B.Hutchinson) who has just broken through and has ten times the potential that Connolly has ever shown at this level. I can bet you whatever you like that they will never ever look at signing Connolly. He has never ever produced the goods at the highest level and never will. Where exactly did you hear this rumour? In your head at about 4 in the morning me thinks! I'd like more than anything to be proved wrong and Connolly bang in 20goals a season in the EP but it aint gona happen so please stop kidding yourself!!
I heard it on ReadyToGo, Sunderland's biggest message board. Again, how can you say Connolly is "utter tripe" at EPL level when he has 5 starts (1 of which he got hurt, another where he started up front with his worst possible striker partner, Michael Chopra and he really didn't play badly, just not great either), and a few more 10 minute cameos?
09/12/2007, 6:57 PM
Paddy,
Yes, we were all p!ssesd over the Gallen thing. His parents are both from Ireland and he should have played for Ireland. What happened was (and I have checked this out big time) is that Gerry Francis who was QPR manager that season (1994-1995) put pressure on young Kevin to play for England. Young keving looked up to Gerry and for this reason choose to play for England at U-21 level. Because (at that time) once you played for anonther country at U-21 level you cannot play for anonther country. He played one match and never again received another callup. All QPR fans agree it was the biggest mistake of his career.
It was nothing to do with him 'looking up' to Francis, it was to do with the fact that QPR would not offer him a contract unless he declared for England. At that time the 'three foreigners' rule was in force, Gallen had already been associated as a potential target for Man.Utd. who had their quota already, and as a non-England player, Gallen transfer's value to QPR would have reduced drastically.
Deckydee
10/12/2007, 11:03 AM
I have heard of that before as well. It depends who you talk to.
13/12/2007, 6:32 AM
We shouldn't be too surprised that Irish strikers are struggling to find the net in the top flight. Robbie Keane barely scrapes into double figures in the League most seasons for Spurs.
Republic of Ireland players rarely take the Capocannonieri title in Inghilterra.
The last one was Andy McEvoy at Blackburn more than 40 years ago...
17/12/2007, 6:15 AM
Irish Praha
For your information
Robbie Keane's League goals totals in Tottenham shirt
2002/03 Played 29 scored 13
2003/04 Played 34 scored 14
2004/05 Played 35 scored 11
2005/06 Played 36 scored 16
2006/07 Played 27 scored 11
(source Sky Sports Football Yearbook [formerly Rothmans]
Given the number of games he played 65 goals in 161 is not awful but not spectacular either .
eekers
17/12/2007, 7:49 AM
Irish Praha
For your information
Given the number of games he played 65 goals in 161 is not awful but not spectacular either .
but you have to put that in perspective - 161 appearances is 161 x 90 minutes for keane unlike someone like henry or even doyle.
i'd love to see keanes place in a goals per minute played goalscorers table over the years
Deckydee
20/12/2007, 7:41 AM
Hi,
Just said I would pop in a mention that QPR are about to become the richest club in the Europe.
Just said I would mention that . People have laughed at me long enough :D
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/sport/football.html?in_article_id=503585&in_page_id=1771&ICO=SPORT&ICL=TOPART
lionelhutz
20/12/2007, 1:06 PM
Irish Praha
For your information
Whats his record so far this year? Are all the above based on league games only or overall?
6yardpunisha
20/12/2007, 1:14 PM
Hi,
Just said I would pop in a mention that QPR are about to become the richest club in the Europe.
Just said I would mention that . People have laughed at me long enough :D
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/sport/football.html?in_article_id=503585&in_page_id=1771&ICO=SPORT&ICL=TOPART
wouldnt pin your hopes om Mital, bought steelworks in cork harbour years back for £1, absolutely raped the place and shafted people on their redundancy payments
20/12/2007, 5:47 PM
Whats his record so far this year? Are all the above based on league games only or overall?
That's league only. 8 goals in 13 games this season. You can see a breakdown of his career statistics here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robbie_Keane#Career_stats). It should be pointed out that in his second season with Leeds almost all of his appearances were from the bench.
theworm2345
21/12/2007, 12:41 AM
Found out today that both Connolly and Kavanagh will be let go in January (ot at least Keane will hear offers for them)
If you can bet on these things (I don't know if you can...betting isn't legal here) I'd put your money on Connolly going to Wolves. They can't score recently, McCarthy knows and likes him, and Connolly got Sunderland promoted last year (which is Wolves goal currently...obviously).
I wouldn't put your money on this but perhaps Kav will go to Sheffield Wednesday because he played for them earlier this season and did well. I also think that Keane should at least give the 2 a chance over the holidays before shipping them off...it really couldn't hurt Sunderland at the moment (who could use a goalscorer and a decent player in the middle of the pitch, the fans aren't too happy with Etuhu right now).
theworm2345
08/01/2008, 5:52 PM
Just wanted to post that Ready To Go has had a bit of a problem
http://www.readytogo.net/smb/
RiffRaff
09/01/2008, 8:07 AM
I read a rumour somewhere that Miller will be sold to Watford if Keane gets a couple of new midfielders in the window
Paddy Garcia
09/01/2008, 8:13 AM
I read a rumour somewhere that Miller will be sold to Watford if Keane gets a couple of new midfielders in the window
He would be pushed to make the Watford starting line up.
09/02/2008, 7:37 PM
What a goal by him today and what a pass by Reid, pure class. Moments before that Murphy showed great pace also.
I have been impressed with Murphy anytime I have seen him.
jmurphyc
09/02/2008, 7:48 PM
Yeah he's really starting to look pretty good. He always works hard as well. He could be one of a number of useful back up options we'll have in the World Cup Qualifiers. I'm more happy about Reid though. He came back quicker than anticipated from injury and if he stays fit I fully expect him to become an excellent premier league player.
09/02/2008, 7:56 PM
Some goal alright. And I agree about that burst of pace.
Reid's pass was the definition of the word "vision". Playing that pass straight to a player would be impressive enough but he had to judge how long it'd take Murphy to get to the ball as well. If he hit it to early the pace of the ball would have taken it away from him. Too late and the Wigan player would have had it. Fabulous pass.
http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/7749/reidpassyy3.jpg
olegunnar
09/02/2008, 8:01 PM
Murphy has been in good form lately, well deserving of senior squad status. Is it worrying that Givens couldn't see to give him a minute V Brazil?? Or are we all just past the point where we worry about Givens "grooming" our u21s??
Its a pity that when we get a new manager, the WHOLE International set-up also gets re-jigged!!
Delbertt
09/02/2008, 8:05 PM
Andy Reid is a class act, i believe if Reid can stay fit then we have a very good chance of qualification for the world cup, i also rate Murphy bigtime
09/02/2008, 8:43 PM
Turning into Sunderland's most important player. It seems if he plays well Sunderland do.
I'd say he'll be pushing for a spot in the Irish team in the next few months.
09/02/2008, 8:53 PM
He would be pushed to make the WatERford starting line up.
09/02/2008, 11:25 PM
Andy Reid is a class act, i believe if Reid can stay fit then we have a very good chance of qualification for the world cup, i also rate Murphy bigtimeImagine what he'd be like if he even ever GOT fit :)
If Robbie and Huddlestone can improve markedly under the new Ramos fitness/diet regime, just imagine how Andy Reid could fare. A real genuine talent, no doubt.
Great stuff by Murphy.
Maybe it's just me ****ed watching MOTD on tape, but Roy Keane, unshaven, open necked shirt and brown jumper reminded me of that Iranian PM bloke, Ahmedinijad or whatever he's called.
RivaldoBabb
09/02/2008, 11:33 PM
He has definantly been one of the surprises of the season, he looked decent too in the championship but many (including myself) thought that might be his level, but he has stepped it up and looks a real threat in the premier league.
Other Irish players at Sunderland with bigger reputations haven't produced and look decidedly out of their depth i.e. Paul McShane. I'm still hopefull he will turn into a decent defender, he reminds me of a young Richard Dunne, Slow, Rash and takes up poor positions and Dunne has matured into one of the best in the premiership.
Bondvillain
10/02/2008, 1:08 AM
Maybe it's just me ****ed watching MOTD on tape, but Roy Keane, unshaven, open necked shirt and brown jumper reminded me of that Iranian PM bloke, Ahmedinijad or whatever he's called.
Ditto. I went with either The Iranian bloke or Blackie Connors. :D
dr_peepee
10/02/2008, 8:52 AM
He has definantly been one of the surprises of the season, he looked decent too in the championship but many (including myself) thought that might be his level, but he has stepped it up and looks a real threat in the premier league.
Other Irish players at Sunderland with bigger reputations haven't produced and look decidedly out of their depth i.e. Paul McShane. I'm still hopefull he will turn into a decent defender, he reminds me of a young Richard Dunne, Slow, Rash and takes up poor positions and Dunne has matured into one of the best in the premiership.
I can tell you that game for game McShane since August has had a better over all season than Murphy.. McShane gave some stirling performances at the start of the season. He's only 21. He was a victim of Sunderlands lack of deth as he should have been taken out of the firing line (yes this's a nice way of saying dropped) long before he was. Any mishaps he's had (his fault or not) have generally been in the middle of some solid enough performances.
Wonder strike aside, Murphy played alright yesterday.. At one time he showed a level of pace I didn't think he had to get in ahead of two wigan defender from deep, but fluffed the shot, as he did on another occasion. Keane has said that he sees him as a centre forward though and the goal is to get him back in there (presumably as back up to Jones). He's playing well now over the last few games and long may it continue. He's showing a level of urgency he didn't before. I like him but he needs to use his physique more (like he did for the bolton goal)... And he needs to learn how to jump.
Delbertt
10/02/2008, 8:55 AM
Imagine what he'd be like if he even ever GOT fit :)
Just think Reids one of them blokes; eat a cheese burger put on stone:) i know the feeling Andy
10/02/2008, 11:28 AM
Wonder strike aside, Murphy played alright yesterday.. At one time he showed a level of pace I didn't think he had to get in ahead of two wigan defender from deep, but fluffed the shot, as he did on another occasion.
From the highlights it looked like he had about 3 other chances to score, and put each one into the stand. Still a cracking goal though
10/02/2008, 12:15 PM
Just think Reids one of them blokes; eat a cheese burger put on stone:) i know the feeling Andy
I'm the opposite. I lose about 6 pounds after a night out. Reid looks bigger than ever now. Hopefully he can stay fit for a decent period.
amaccann
10/02/2008, 12:26 PM
He'll never shake the tag unfortunately; I've certainly seem him slimmer looking, but from what I gather Keane has a fairly strict & intensive training program, so he should get into decent shape.
Delbertt
10/02/2008, 1:52 PM
He'll never shake the tag unfortunately; I've certainly seem him slimmer looking, but from what I gather Keane has a fairly strict & intensive training program, so he should get into decent shape.
I'd say most of the teams he's played for have a strict and intensive training program, anyway no matter wat weight he is i'd let him sit in the middle of the park and ping balls everywhere
as_i_say
11/02/2008, 4:09 PM
some pass by the blubberball for murphy's goal though. Lets hope he stays fit.
as_i_say
28/04/2008, 8:41 AM
Another good contribution from murphy at the weekend. Definitely one of sunderlands most consistent performers this season-i'll be looking forward to seeing him in action against serbia. strong as an ox and a great left peg on him
dr_peepee
28/04/2008, 8:58 AM
Have to disagree with you there man. Murhpy hasn't been very consistent at all..
as_i_say
28/04/2008, 9:13 AM
compared with who on the sunderland team?! i think he's been one of their better better players this season from what ive seen of them and he's certainly worth his place in the squad
28/04/2008, 9:46 AM
Was he awarded the goal at the weekend? I've seen it marked down as a Pogatetz OG in some reports
Dr. Ogba
28/04/2008, 10:22 AM
Was he awarded the goal at the weekend? I've seen it marked down as a Pogatetz OG in some reports
looks like both players got a touch but I think Pogatetz's touch was definitely more significant....
Would agree with Dr. P above, Murphy, at times, has looked really promising but he tends to give the ball away very easily and he really needs to work on his finishing. Saying that, I'd say he'll be a useful squad player for us in the coming years...
as_i_say
28/04/2008, 10:32 AM
yeah it was an own goal alright. i only saw RTE's highlights which only showed the goal with no replays but apparently he didnt get the last touch. still fair play to him for getting in there
irishfan86
29/04/2008, 7:37 PM
I think he's a useful squad option for us as a winger only. Far more effective there than up front, where he is close to useless.
12/08/2009, 3:29 PM
Gone to Ipswich for €1.5million. Needs to score a lot of goals to put himself back in contention for International honours. Best way to get noticed in the Championship.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1206075/EXCLUSIVE-Roy-Keane-reunited-Sunderland-forward-Daryl-Murphy-Ipswich-tie-1-5m-swoop.html?ITO=1490
third policeman
12/08/2009, 5:06 PM
Gone to Ipswich for €1.5million. Needs to score a lot of goals to put himself back in contention for International honours. Best way to get noticed in the Championship.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1206075/EXCLUSIVE-Roy-Keane-reunited-Sunderland-forward-Daryl-Murphy-Ipswich-tie-1-5m-swoop.html?ITO=1490
An odd move and disturbing evidence that Keane has learned nothing. I'd hate to think he might displace Walters who is a far superior player. With Garvan already relegated to the bench, looks like Keane is intent on replacing decent Irish players with useless ones. Only a matter of time before he buys McShane, Stokes, Miller and O'Donovan.
tommy_c12000
12/08/2009, 5:25 PM
An odd move and disturbing evidence that Keane has learned nothing. I'd hate to think he might displace Walters who is a far superior player. With Garvan already relegated to the bench, looks like Keane is intent on replacing decent Irish players with useless ones. Only a matter of time before he buys McShane, Stokes, Miller and O'Donovan.
Bang on there. Waste of 1.5m. Keane has learned nothing from his copious amounts of transfer blunders
Razors left peg
12/08/2009, 5:27 PM
Or maybe Keane is looking at players that were successful in getting him promoted from the Championship
Wasnt Murphy bought by McCarthy as opposed to Keane?
Murphy shouldve gone to Hull, would have had an excellent chance of regular first team football in the premiership. Deal was done except for personal terms.