View Full Version : Daryl Murphy
Pages :
[
2]
Lets hope he starts over that donkey Jon Stead.
Fergie's Son
12/02/2006, 9:32 PM
It's funny, I remember a number of commentators in England demanding that Stead be put into the England squad for Euro 2004. Similar to how many people were pushing to get Miller into the Irish squad. Serves as a timely reminder that one good season does not an international player make. We should be mindful of that when looking at Ireland, O'Brien and Doyle. Hell, Jonathon Douglas was playing centre-mid for Blackburn two years ago and now he's lucky to get a game for Leeds.
Let's hope Murphy continues to develop and get opportunities.
12/02/2006, 10:21 PM
Just seen Murphys goal on TV, he had no right to get past the defender
(Stalteri, who is keeping Kelly out?) but he knocked if behind him and had
the strength to fight his way round him and score from a tight angle.
Robbies goal was just a tap in but he did well to lose his marker (Breen)
and make space for himself. Nice drive from Dunne too.
Murphy is on no win situation at Sunderland. Might get a chance in the 1st division next season though. Long way off international quality yet though.
13/02/2006, 7:04 AM
Well done Daryl, very good goal and as an Arsenal fan I was doubly happy for him!
Good point above about Stead. He couldn't stop scoring when he moved up into the p'ship. Now look at him.
Murphy has something Ireland lacks though - height & strength. Alan Lee is rediscovering his form & one of the two may just be worth a squad place just to bring something different to what Robbie, Doyle, Elliott & Clinton can bring. Lee in particular is proving a real handful & is getting his head on the end of everything.
We're not exactly spoilt for choice. If we had to pick a squad based on players being "international quality" we wouldn't even be able to field a full XI.
On Jonathon Douglas - I think he's pretty much a regular for Leeds, no?
as_i_say
13/02/2006, 8:05 AM
yeah it may be just one goal for murphy but we really need to consider all strikers-he's still playing in the premiership. apparently alan lee is playing great for ipswich-another big lad
13/02/2006, 8:14 AM
apparently alan lee is playing great for ipswich-another big lad
Watched the Coca-Cola Leagues highlights programme on Sunday morning and he looked a threat alright. Gets up well for the ball.
At the weekend, Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle, Daryl Murphy and Alan Lee all scored. If Jon Macken ever gets called up to the Ireland squad again, there's something seriously wrong!
13/02/2006, 11:42 AM
Great to see a player form here doing well like that. Fair play to Mick for signing him. Good finish too.
Remember him scoring the winner against us season before last.
Another 2 fingers to the ****s who slag our league from the barstools.
Greenbod
13/02/2006, 2:22 PM
Another 2 fingers to the ****s who slag our league from the barstools.
Don't quite get your point. I'm not one to slag our league, but isn't he playing in the English premiership because he was seen to be too good for our league.
13/02/2006, 3:29 PM
Daryl Murphy is a c**t !!:D
I had a €50 treble yesterday:
Celtic v Rangers-no 2nd goal @ 4/1
Man City 8/11
Spurs 4/6.
That would have been a nice €700 odd quid, so as I said, Daryl Murphy is a c**t !!:D
Fair play to him though...took it really well, but Staltieri needs his ass kicked big-time. Keeps Mick in a job for another week...
adamcarr
13/02/2006, 3:38 PM
Don't quite get your point. I'm not one to slag our league, but isn't he playing in the English premiership because he was seen to be too good for our league.
He was far from too good for our league. If he was still here he'd be a top player in the league but not in the top 5. Kevin Doyle was too good for our league and now he's proving it abroad, Daryl still has to prove himself in England.
Greenbod
13/02/2006, 3:59 PM
He was far from too good for our league. If he was still here he'd be a top player in the league but not in the top 5. Kevin Doyle was too good for our league and now he's proving it abroad, Daryl still has to prove himself in England.
I don't disagree with you and never said he was too good for our league myself, however I was responding to NY hoop's "2 fingers" comments. I really don't think what Daryl does at Sunderland says anything at all about our league. If he was playing for Waterford and scoring against Sunderland... that would say something about our league.
13/02/2006, 4:10 PM
I don't disagree with you and never said he was too good for our league myself, however I was responding to NY hoop's "2 fingers" comments. I really don't think what Daryl does at Sunderland says anything at all about our league. If he was playing for Waterford and scoring against Sunderland... that would say something about our league.
What? Scoring for Waterford against Sunderland in a friendly wouldnt prove anything.
Daryl is playing in one of the best leagues in the world and its great to see a player from our league, hopefully, making it.
Barstoolers slag off our league and therefore our players. I dont see the confusion.
13/02/2006, 4:14 PM
I was watching the spurs game from the comfort of my couch much more comfortable than a barstool to be honest. Good goal by Murphy though. I thought Keanes movement was top class also.
13/02/2006, 4:23 PM
Another 2 fingers to the ****s who slag our league from the barstools.KOH
Isn't it true that the Irish that don't make it in the UK come back to the Eircom League while most of those that can play at a higher level go across the water. Sad but true so there's no point in comparing the EL with English football.
There is no doubt that many EL League players have made it in the UK but there still wouldn't be a huge amount that have made the transition. From the 70s I remember Gerry Daly and Mick Martin (Paddy Roche sort of made it and then imploded). Paul McGrath in the 1980s. Who else as a matter of interest has successfully made the transition (too lazy to think).
p.s. I am not a barstooler.
13/02/2006, 4:24 PM
Now that you're here Owlsfan, how bad was Leon Best on Saturday? And why no Whelan? Dropped, injured or suspended?
ColinR
13/02/2006, 4:25 PM
Barstoolers slag off our league and therefore our players. I dont see the confusion.
yes, but they also slag off sunderland and their players (perhaps more so than players in our league).
its not exactly a badge of honour to be a current sunderland player
because Murphy scored a goal against Spurs its stands to reason that he should be the next Irish international manager in my book
we couldn't do much worse
boom boom!
livehead1
13/02/2006, 10:01 PM
because Murphy scored a goal against Spurs its stands to reason that he should be the next Irish international manager in my book
we couldn't do much worse
boom boom!
boom boom, war gwon wit dem ting....indeed
zinedineontour
14/02/2006, 8:40 AM
yes, but they also slag off sunderland and their players (perhaps more so than players in our league).
its not exactly a badge of honour to be a current sunderland player
very true ... elliott probably gonna get 15mins for reserves tonight be great to see him back ..
14/02/2006, 3:06 PM
Now that you're here Owlsfan, how bad was Leon Best on Saturday? And why no Whelan? Dropped, injured or suspended?
Didn't see the game. Whelan was suspended. Should be back tomorrow for the game against Coventry. Best came on as a sub and was lively by all acounts although he did have a 1 on 1 with the keeper and missed :(
Were you at the Millwall game ? What did you think of the goal :D :D
14/02/2006, 4:26 PM
pity that an eircom league player has to go abroad and score one goal in a game after coming on as a sub to have been seen to have "made it"
14/02/2006, 4:28 PM
Were you at the Millwall game ? What did you think of the goal :D :DMissed it in the end. was off work sick with bronchitis & decided not to go.
14/02/2006, 4:31 PM
If Murphy gets called into the squad as some suggest on the basis of one goal ahead of the players who consistently outshone him when he played here I'll finally have lost whatever shred of faith and interest I had in this team.
Sure the Indo was suggesting today he had now put himself in the window for international callup. :rolleyes:
Paddy Garcia
14/02/2006, 8:51 PM
Surely the likes of Doyle, Morrison, Lee, O’Brien (McGeady & Elliot if fit) and even Foran are miles ahead of him in the pecking order.
.....of course hope things change and he makes a compelling case!
14/02/2006, 10:43 PM
Does scoring a goal in the Premiership meet the criteria to be an Irish international these days?? If so, we ought to be laughing at ourselves.
Paddy Garcia
15/02/2006, 8:08 AM
[QUOTE= The FAI's love for all things English is just so embarrassing.[/QUOTE]
Agree with the sentiments expressed re-Murphy - but can't see the above at all. Have the FAI been calling for Murphys call up?
Also the last three managers they have appointed have been Irish, when agruably there have been better qualified candidates from abroad inc. England - especially in the case of Kerr & Staunton.
Additionally we have recently seen a policy where the pursuit of 2nd and 3rd generation Irish players has been deemed undesirable - particularly at underage levels. The threads on this forum suggest the legacy that has been left in terms of playing talent is not viewed too highly.
Does not suggest to me an FAI love of all things English.
Paddy Garcia
15/02/2006, 4:09 PM
. As I pointed out they have a story on their website entitled 'Daryl Murphy leads the charge for a place against Sweden'. .
I agree, you are correct - it was a stupid headline for them to put on their website.
. Kerr had no association with the English Premiership so, it seems, Delaney did not respect him..
I think in the final analysis the team which played in the last few qualifiers lacked self belief and really never looked confident in qualifying, supplemented with some poor substitute decisions. Even Duff (a Kerr advocate) has spoken about the lack of team spirit when compared with Chelsea. OK we did not have the greatest talent available but the manager has to take responsibility for team spirit.
My feeling is that Kerr was fairly judged on results - at times it was almost back to talking about gallant failure.
I agree that we should be looking at the players you mention & certainly don't advocate "begging" foreigners to play for us - God knows we can do without the: he qualifies cos he drank a pint of guinness jokes.
However there is a difference in turning a blind eye to players open to playing for Ireland and making an embarassing plea to those uninterested. There is a balance to be had. Obviously the jury is out on Staunton and we need to judge him on the resuts & the quality of the team he puts together. I'm saying (a bit like Jack) that Kerr has not left Stan the easiest task and that it is perhaps only over the next few years that the team will pay the cost of Kerrs approach.
FarBeag
15/02/2006, 4:21 PM
Well Sunderland play Blackburn tonight so hopefully Murphy gets longer than fifteen minutes and prove's that he is not a one hit wonder.
Oh yeah that makes sense:rolleyes: . Dont support the rest of the players just because hes included ahead of Jayo
15/02/2006, 4:50 PM
Oh yeah that makes sense:rolleyes: . Dont support the rest of the players just because hes included ahead of Jayo
Don't support the rest of the players of a british obsessed team with little or no interest in supporting or developing the local game here whos players don't come onto the radar until they play for the worst team in premiership history and score all of one goal no matter what they do here or in europe, it makes sense to me anyway.
Slash/ED It makes no sense to me either. Im of the same opinion as you - I think its a disgrace the likes of Weso (when he played here), Danny Murphy, Owen Hearey, Jason Byrne and Mick Devine... dont get a chance to play for Ireland and suddenly Murphy is now good enough because he scored one goal for Sunderland but unfortunatly thats the way it is and I'll still support MY country regardless
16/02/2006, 12:53 AM
Well Sunderland play Blackburn tonight so hopefully Murphy gets longer than fifteen minutes and prove's that he is not a one hit wonder.
Your wish has been granted, he got 16 minutes :D
Obviously Mick has been following this thread and values your opinion :D
They lost 2:0 btw so obviously he didn't score.
It's nice to have another possible option up front though,
Obviously you can't read too much into 1 goal, but he is 6'3, and 12'12"
a bit bigger than most of our other options I would imagine.
1 goal in 189 minutes for Sunderland, if he did that consistantly
he would be their top striker (and possibly top premiership striker!!).
Obviously you can't read anything into such sparce stats but I did like
the way he turned what looked like a nothing situation into a goal, (we
could do with that from time to time!!).
I'm not saying he should be in the squad, just another player to keep
an eye on, and at 6'3" it shouldn't be too hard to spot the big f***er ;)
16/02/2006, 7:27 AM
I think it's pretty obvious our top 4 forward options are Keane, Doyle, Elliott & Morrisson. Putting Elliott's injury aside, only Morrisson is on a backward trend at club level. They can all hold the ball up well but none is particularly tall. Any squad should have at least the option of a tall striker in my opinion, and the only two that spring to mind are Lee & Murphy, and if Staunton is to build for the future Murphy's call up could be justified. It's nothing whatsoever to do with one goal in England making him better than any eL option.
I know there are others who'd advocate Jason Byrne ahead of him but are you comparing like with like? Of the tall forward options available from domestic football, Ward at Bohs looks more like an alternative to Lee or Murphy and I think he should be involved with the U21s if he's still eligible.
Trundle's obviously in with a shout but he's a different type of player altogether.
16/02/2006, 4:57 PM
Jason Byrne is no midget, he'd certainly be taller than Keane or Doyle and has played up front on his own to great effect numerous times. He is also very, very good in the air, he could easily fill that roll for Ireland, you don't need to be Quinns size to do it nor do you need a striker who is tall just for the sake of him being tall.
livehead1
16/02/2006, 6:34 PM
Jason Byrne is no midget, he'd certainly be taller than Keane or Doyle and has played up front on his own to great effect numerous times. He is also very, very good in the air, he could easily fill that roll for Ireland, you don't need to be Quinns size to do it nor do you need a striker who is tall just for the sake of him being tall.
indeed, but you need somebody better than jason byrne at international level!!! cant even believe his name is being mentioned
Murphy better start the next match,Kyle and Stead have been poor.Kyle wasted an opportunity in which he should have scored and Murphy set up Lawrance with a great cross which he wasted.
indeed, but you need somebody better than jason byrne at international level!!! cant even believe his name is being mentioned
He has'nt been given a chance.Were not spoilt with strikers Byrne is big,strong,better than Robbie,Doyle and Morrison in the air and a GOALSCORER.
16/02/2006, 7:48 PM
He has'nt been given a chance.Were not spoilt with strikers Byrne is big,strong,better than Robbie,Doyle and Morrison in the air and a GOALSCORER.
how many does he score with his head? Robbie is weak in the air, but that's due to his size
to say he's better than those 3 is simply outrageous, even if he was, there is no way he is going to get into the squad at the moment as he is out of season and not fit for a league game, let alone international
Roverstillidie
16/02/2006, 8:19 PM
and you have seen him play how often?
he may not be as techically gifted as keane or doyle but he has consistently scored goals against all opposition he has been up against domestically and in europe for 4 odd years now.
and a cocky ***** as well.
livehead, your condascending attitude and ignorance of irish football has shone on many occasions, so name me 1 other eligible player who has scored more european goals?
16/02/2006, 8:31 PM
indeed, but you need somebody better than kevin doyle at international level!!! cant even believe his name is being mentioned
That would be you this time last year in the same thread, have no doubt about it.
Ad for your need better than Byrne remarks, all I'll say is, thank the good lord we've been blessed with international class strikers like doherty, macken and murphy instead.
And Byrne is definitely better than those three players in the air, no question about it whatsoever. Doesn't make him a better player, he's obviously not better than Keane it goes without saying, but he's better in the air and gets a fair few headed goals every season.
Put simply, this time last year, in the same league, Jason Byrne was a better striker than the man everyone seems to think will be our next first choice striker (And a month ago turned down an offer 4 times the one for that striker to goto the Swedish champions), and you're writeing him off? Sheer stupidity especially given our options, if he isn't given a proper chance over 2006 Staunton is a very short sighted man who will find he's very very short of options up front if hit by a few injuries and goes throwing on the likes of Doherty again.
Jason Byrne would be in list of international forwards but not in top 4 or 5. Maybe 6-7th.
jorge
17/02/2006, 12:07 PM
how many does he score with his head? Robbie is weak in the air, but that's due to his size
to say he's better than those 3 is simply outrageous, even if he was, there is no way he is going to get into the squad at the moment as he is out of season and not fit for a league game, let alone international
better than Robbie,Doyle and Morrison in the air
kingdom hoop
08/04/2007, 12:12 PM
i could only find his thread in waterford so posted new one here in honour of his great goal yesterday
a great bit of individual skill to flick the ball over two defenders, control on chest and volley home with aplomb. though this magical post on a sunderland board contextualizes it a bit; 'Putting the ball over their heads and sending them flying in the wrong direction is a bit like pretending to throw a stick for the dog then keeping hold of it' - in reference to gary breen and his partner! keane said afterwards murphy has great talent. he seems fond of his stepovers alright from what i've seen. isnt much between keogh and him
The Man Himself
09/04/2007, 2:55 PM
and to think we sold him for 100 grand just to pay off our ex chairman (gerry o brien)
what a rip off:eek:
eamoss
09/04/2007, 3:26 PM
tWZ_8qx5krU
Noelys Guitar
28/04/2007, 3:19 PM
Murphy gets better and better evertime I see him play. Looks like hes not bothered sometimes but this guy has real class. Scores his fair share of goals. And has excellent tecnique. Rarely wastes the ball and was the best player on the park for Sunderland yesterday in a crucial game for them. I was wondering why both Quinn and Keane rate him so highly. Had seen him play last year and thought he was too slow and prone to giving the ball away cheaply. But he just keeps on improving. Great to see. This current Irish squad with Colin Doyle coming through just keeps getting better and better.
Philly
28/04/2007, 3:46 PM
Yeah you could see it when he was with Waterford too, just nobody watched....
Will be interesting to see how he does in the Premiership.