View Full Version : Daryl Murphy

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10

SwanVsDalton
12/08/2009, 5:36 PM
Disagree. He would've have been in-and-out of a struggling Hull side and facing quality defenders, with little chance of making impression. Murphy is at his level now, or close to it.

12/08/2009, 6:13 PM
Wasnt Murphy bought by McCarthy as opposed to Keane?

That's correct :)

16/02/2010, 8:03 PM
Another early goal for Ipswich tonight.

TrapAPony
16/02/2010, 9:01 PM
Another early goal for Ipswich tonight.

Ya, they lost 3-1 to bottom of the table Peterborough. Lee Frecklington scored for Peterborough. Surely Roy Keane must be sacked after this result.

16/02/2010, 9:06 PM
not a chance. He's done alright for the last few months and theyre climbing the table (albeit slowly). Id be very surprised if Keane was sacked.

yapster
16/02/2010, 9:46 PM
Murphy will not make the top grade and the Championship is as good as it's gonna get for him.

Yard of Pace
16/02/2010, 10:58 PM
Is Frecklington capable of moving up another division at some stage, does anyone know?

Colbert Report
16/02/2010, 11:07 PM
I doubt it, but hey, if Keith Andrews can do it then why not?

TrapAPony
17/02/2010, 12:59 AM
Murphy will not make the top grade and the Championship is as good as it's gonna get for him.

I actually agree with you Yapster.

Brendan 82
09/03/2010, 11:24 PM
5 goals in 8 games for Ipswich since signing on loan from Sunderland

09/03/2010, 11:56 PM
unfortunately, it just proves to me that he is a good championship player and will score goals at that level but moving up to the next level would appear to be beyond him. Would obviously love if i was proved wrong.

Razors left peg
10/03/2010, 12:03 AM
unfortunately, it just proves to me that he is a good championship player and will score goals at that level but moving up to the next level would appear to be beyond him. Would obviously love if i was proved wrong.

Its amazing the difference in a player though when he is playing regular football, wouldnt rule him out of making a decent contribution at international level just yet... although I dont think he will ever be first choice

yapster
10/03/2010, 12:08 AM
Its amazing the difference in a player though when he is playing regular football, wouldnt rule him out of making a decent contribution at international level just yet... although I dont think he will ever be first choice

Championship player at best...

10/03/2010, 12:10 AM

he's had (very limited) chances so far but i think it might be worth looking at him for the May friendlies again if he can keep this run of form going...

Razors left peg
10/03/2010, 12:21 AM
Championship player at best...

we would hardly have a 5 a side team mate if we ruled out everyone u didnt think was up to it

Razors left peg
10/03/2010, 12:22 AM
he's had (very limited) chances so far but i think it might be worth looking at him for the May friendlies again if he can keep this run of form going...

I think hes a better footballer than Folan so he could be useful in the big man role IF he continues to play well

irishfan86
10/03/2010, 1:55 AM
I think hes a better footballer than Folan so he could be useful in the big man role IF he continues to play well

He may be a better footballer than Folan, but for a big guy he doesn't put himself about much -- I think Folan opens up a lot of room for Robbie by acting as a physical battering ram, and really makes the opposing centre halfs uncomfortable as hell.

I'm not saying Folan is a superstar, but he is effective in his own way, limited though he is.

rebelmusic
10/03/2010, 8:08 AM
Didn't realise he's actually an inch taller than folan. Gotta be said though he's a lot better on his feet. Considering he hasn't been in many squads, maybe the may friendlies and the training camp he'll understand traps game more, and understand the big man role trap would like?

Still though, the fact that he finally hit form after going to the championship does say a lot. I'd love if we developed, but at 26 you'd wonder if there's much more improvement in him?

dr_peepee
10/03/2010, 9:27 AM
He may be a better footballer than Folan, but for a big guy he doesn't put himself about much.

Was just about to say that. Very frustrating player to watch. Good technique but has a laboured style about him. However for a relatively big guy he doesn't use it, and has no leap whatsoever. He got a good goal against Bolton a couple of years ago where he shouldered Kevin Nolan (I think) off the ball and tucked it away and I figured it was going to be the start of the improvement, but never came. I said here a few years ago he could be a poor mans Berbatov and got slated. They're probbly right at this stage.

yapster
10/03/2010, 9:13 PM
At 26 he should be a lot better than he is right now. Again a Championship player at best but a useful squad player I guess...

The Legend
10/03/2010, 9:18 PM
At 26 he should be a lot better than he is right now. Again a Championship player at best but a useful squad player I guess...

im not disagreeing hes no better than a championship player but to be fair he's actually playing up front now and not on the wing, right?

rebelmusic
11/03/2010, 7:11 AM
I believe he is mainly yes and walters has been put on the wing. Although he has played right as well since he went there. But he was tried in the center for sunderland in early keane days and failed to impress

20/03/2010, 2:51 PM
has scored another today against Barnsley

Goal scored by Daryl Murphy from inside the six-yard box to the top left corner of the goal. Ipswich 1-0 Barnsley.

Sullivinho
16/07/2010, 4:20 PM
Signed for Celtic.

http://www.celticfc.net/news/stories/news_160710152835.aspx

16/07/2010, 4:56 PM
Good move for him. Could be the next John Hartson.

blue til i die
16/07/2010, 5:00 PM

Good move for him and great from our point of view. €150,000ish coming our way :D

16/07/2010, 5:21 PM
Jaysus, he should move more often.

Razors left peg
16/07/2010, 5:23 PM

As long as hes not the next Samaras I'll be happy

irishfan86
16/07/2010, 5:37 PM
I honestly think he'll do well in Scotland. May not be prolific (though could be), but will easily get comfortably into double digits. He's also good at setting up teammates as well so his goal tally may only be part of his contribution.

Great move for him I think.

16/07/2010, 6:14 PM
Kinda sorry the Rangers move didn't materialise. Part of that is novelty value for sure but also there's a real chance I think that Lennons tenure could be brief. Smith's a decent manager and there'd have been CL football. Good news for Waterford anyway.

Sullivinho
16/07/2010, 8:54 PM
If he can do as well as another ex-Sunderland Irishman did up there last season, he'll have done very well indeed.

Which does beg an obvious question..

17/07/2010, 12:32 AM
Samaras has actually had a great game since coming on against United. He's scored a penalty (beautifully taken) and would have set up a second had the winger timed his run better.

aidinho
17/07/2010, 3:40 AM
If he can do as well as another ex-Sunderland Irishman did up there last season, he'll have done very well indeed.

Which does beg an obvious question..

doubt that mate, Stokes is a class act when he can be bothered.

Lennon does seems to think this guy can cut it but from what I'm hearing we have another striker lined up and hes Welsh, been here before and hes a team mate of an Ireland goalkeeper.

aidinho
17/07/2010, 4:12 AM
Samaras has actually had a great game since coming on against United. He's scored a penalty (beautifully taken) and would have set up a second had the winger timed his run better.

aye that would have been young James Forrest only 19 and gave Rapheal and Fabio a roasting when he got the chance. and he will be a star for us, hes a cracking wee player.

might hiv an Irish granny kicking aboot so get in now well you can troops if yous want him for Eire.

Junior
17/07/2010, 7:01 AM
doubt that mate, Stokes is a class act when he can be bothered.

Unless it was Liam Miller he was on about;)

17/07/2010, 12:52 PM
He's not an international standard player but it's a good move for him on a personal level. And it's pleasing that Waterford will benefit from the move.

republicofwhite
17/07/2010, 2:36 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if he bangs in the goals and thereby gives definitive proof of how deplorable the standard in Scotland really is...

aidinho
20/07/2010, 9:27 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if he bangs in the goals and thereby gives definitive proof of how deplorable the standard in Scotland really is...

Thats just English arrogance pal. do wish you were born in England? or are you English in disguise.

I would be really surprised if Murphy got even got 10 starts for us never mind 10 goals, whatever you may say about the SPL everybody is right up for it against Celtic.

I reckon Keane scored like 8 goals and the rest were pens.

Nothing against Murphy. in fact Ive never even saw him play and all my Celtic supporters are the same in thinking hes garbage but we will also give the guy a chance but tae be honest I dont hiv much hope like many other Celtic supporters who are quite disillusioned by this signing but as I said before we'll gee the guy a chance.

Supreme feet
20/07/2010, 12:07 PM
in fact Ive never even saw him play and all my Celtic supporters are the same in thinking hes garbage

This is the kind of attitude that forces promising Irish (and British) footballers into reserve team football and the lower leagues. If Murphy was a quick, erratic French-African striker with an exotic name and nice hair, he'd be a more attractive signing, wouldn't he? Murphy (who was rated just as highly as Kevin Doyle four or five years ago) never got a fair chance at Sunderland. Any time he got a run in the team, he was shunted out to the wing. I've seen him play; he's big, powerful, got decent feet and a rocket of a shot. My one criticism is that his finishing can be wayward, but that can be fixed with the confidence that comes from getting a run of games. We have yet to see the best of him, and it'll be interesting to see him playing regularly, which seems likely, judging by what Lennon has said. Successive managers have held on to him at Sunderland, even during two clear-outs, so there must be something there. I think Celtic could have a bargain here; certainly more ambitious to sign a Premiership striker instead of a cheap SPL flavour-of-the-month.

republicofwhite
20/07/2010, 12:32 PM
Completely off the mark aidinho, and off the pace with the rest of the forum as usual. Nothing to do with 'english arrogance', or being 'english in disguise'... fail to see where you plucked those two statements from. I don't think the English leagues are on a pedestal, or are the acid test of football or a standard that can deservedly declare hubris. The opposite in fact. English football lacks technique, and promotes physical brutish football. It has become so limited, that this bare approach is now seemingly inherent. We all suffer as a consequence given our players allow themselves little choice but to head across the water. So if the Premiership isn't what we thought it is, the Championship must be even inferior, but the Championship still exhibits more flair than the SPL, by a mile. I agree that Murphy wasn't given a fair crack of the whip in the Prem, he was constantly played on the wing. But at Ipswich he scored for fun. Ipswich would coast in the SPL, and on paper are a much superior outfit to the likes Hibs and Hearts, and arguably the current Celtic or Rangers outfits(which admit it, due to financial issues, their respective standards are currently in freefall) This is my logic for saying Murphy will do very well for Celtic. He has already scored regularly in a league where the general standard is higher, and should now do so again, even more so.

20/07/2010, 2:29 PM
I would be more than surprised if Daryl gets to start more than a few games, never mind bang in the goals. Lennon appears to fancy him, so who knows what.

aidinho
22/07/2010, 1:20 AM
This is the kind of attitude that forces promising Irish (and British) footballers into reserve team football and the lower leagues. If Murphy was a quick, erratic French-African striker with an exotic name and nice hair, he'd be a more attractive signing, wouldn't he? Murphy (who was rated just as highly as Kevin Doyle four or five years ago) never got a fair chance at Sunderland. Any time he got a run in the team, he was shunted out to the wing. I've seen him play; he's big, powerful, got decent feet and a rocket of a shot. My one criticism is that his finishing can be wayward, but that can be fixed with the confidence that comes from getting a run of games. We have yet to see the best of him, and it'll be interesting to see him playing regularly, which seems likely, judging by what Lennon has said. Successive managers have held on to him at Sunderland, even during two clear-outs, so there must be something there. I think Celtic could have a bargain here; certainly more ambitious to sign a Premiership striker instead of a cheap SPL flavour-of-the-month.

I was only going by my EPL supporting Irish mates pal, as I said I hope he does well for us but yous suggesting he will hit 20 goals in the SPL is gonnae be well wide of the mark.

I'll be honest and admit I wouldn't know the guy if he came up and slapped me in the face because we dont watch crappy EPL teams who are just trying to avoid relegation. but as always we will give him a chance as I previously stated.

irishfan86
22/07/2010, 1:32 AM
I don't think anybody is saying he's a sure thing for 20 goals, but I'd expect in the mid teens easily enough.

22/07/2010, 8:06 AM
I was only going by my EPL supporting Irish mates pal, as I said I hope he does well for us but yous suggesting he will hit 20 goals in the SPL is gonnae be well wide of the mark.

I'll be honest and admit I wouldn't know the guy if he came up and slapped me in the face because we dont watch crappy EPL teams who are just trying to avoid relegation. but as always we will give him a chance as I previously stated.Some of us saw him play in Ireland as well. Imagine that.

Mad.

He's just the kind of player to do well in the SPL IMO. His lack of pace won't be a problem and his strength will be an asset.

22/07/2010, 8:45 AM

I'll be honest and admit I wouldn't know the guy if he came up and slapped me in the face because we dont watch crappy EPL teams who are just trying to avoid relegation

Didn't the league's top scorer (over the last number of years) just sign for a team that finished midtable in the championship?

irishfan86
22/07/2010, 9:12 AM
He's just the kind of player to do well in the SPL IMO. His lack of pace won't be a problem and his strength will be an asset.

Is he that slow? Always thought of him as pretty quick for a big man...

ArdeeBhoy
22/07/2010, 9:20 AM
He'll do OK. Solid but unspectacular.

And for what it's worth, my Mackem mates loved him, as a trier. Just up to the standards of the EPL every week, but hopefully good for the 'Tic?

22/07/2010, 10:05 AM
Is he that slow? Always thought of him as pretty quick for a big man...On the wing he didn't have enough pace at EPL level IMO. Obviously if he's now being played more the way he was at Waterford as a target man its not as big an issue.

22/07/2010, 10:34 AM
Didn't the league's top scorer (over the last number of years) just sign for a team that finished midtable in the championship?
Scott McDonald? top scorer once, a few years back. His departure was for the most part greeted with indifference.
Daryl is a player of some limited skill with little or no aerial ability, who scored on the odd occasion in the English Championship.
IMO, he is of less value than Samaras who has struggled more than impressed.
There is already a similar player ( from Denmark) to Daryl at Celtic. I can't for the life of me see Daryl having any impact other than back-up.

22/07/2010, 10:39 AM
Scott McDonald?

Kris Boyd.

There is already a similar player ( from Denmark) to Daryl at Celtic. I can't for the life of me see Daryl having any impact other than back-up.

Left sided winger/attacker versus a centre forward.