View Full Version : Attendances 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

ger121
28/04/2023, 10:26 PM
1567 at the Bowl

I know there was a big Bohs crowd there but plenty of UCD fans around me tonight. I won’t lie, I haven’t been to the bowl in a while but it felt like there was a game on there tonight when you got into the campus grounds.

EatYerGreens
28/04/2023, 10:52 PM
1567 at the Bowl

Is that capacity ?

Buller
28/04/2023, 11:40 PM
5,512 at Tallaght tonight v Sligo

Knocklyonhoop
29/04/2023, 12:04 AM
5,512 in Tallaght on a bank hol weekend v a team most view as relatively irrelevant (sorry!), isn’t bad!

oriel
29/04/2023, 12:11 AM
5,512 in Tallaght on a bank hol weekend v a team most view as relatively irrelevant (sorry!), isn’t bad!

Don't flatter yourself KH, the LOI performed well and really didn't miss Rovers (Shamrock) for the period 2013-2018, plus a fair few teams came to Tallaght and handed out some decent spankings in that period too. We were one of them and won a League title there, and a league League Cup.

Sligo from a town of 25k usually draw just under 3k home support btw.

sbgawa
29/04/2023, 9:21 AM
That'd a really strange response to Kh making a pretty reasonable comment that 5500 on a bank holiday weekend isn't a bad crowd against sligo. It's a simple statement of fact thatvfor rivers supporters a game against sligo is a nothing sort of game that doesn't have the edge that derry pats dundalk bohs, even shels would have. Its an eminently skipable game for non die hards

Shearer
29/04/2023, 9:46 AM
715 at the Markets Field

Abbeyman
29/04/2023, 11:51 AM
715 at the Markets Field

Numbers are really poor at Treaty matchs considering their expecting 30,000 at Limerick V Clare in the hurling tonight.

Whilst Junior Soccer is very strong in the city , from the perspective of drawing big crowds Hurling & Rugby are the only sports in Limerick with large attendances .

Shearer
29/04/2023, 1:51 PM
Numbers are really poor at Treaty matchs considering their expecting 30,000 at Limerick V Clare in the hurling tonight.

Whilst Junior Soccer is very strong in the city , from the perspective of drawing big crowds Hurling & Rugby are the only sports in Limerick with large attendances .
I would say the crowds are consistent with senior football in Limerick with the last 40 years. That said, it could and should be better.

oriel
29/04/2023, 2:34 PM
That'd a really strange response to Kh making a pretty reasonable comment that 5500 on a bank holiday weekend isn't a bad crowd against sligo. It's a simple statement of fact thatvfor rivers supporters a game against sligo is a nothing sort of game that doesn't have the edge that derry pats dundalk bohs, even shels would have. Its an eminently skipable game for non die hards

It was a very good crowd, plus Rovers gathering steam so not unexpected.

There was no need for this comment though 'a team most view as relatively irrelevant', flashes of semi arrogance about it.

oriel
29/04/2023, 2:36 PM
2,825 Dundalk v Drogheda

Not sure what the away support was last night, the terrace section wasn't full but Drogs had front corner of stand, so prob 500 all in?

Means just over 2,300 home fans, its clear 500+ are not going anymore since we stopped winning / challenging for league titles. Our highest for the season so far is 3,700 or so, recent results obviously not helping but still a little disappointing.

Slartibartfast
29/04/2023, 3:08 PM
Drogs sold out the away allocation and asked for, and received, more stand tickets. Not sure what that totals to.

redarmyfaction
30/04/2023, 12:05 AM
It was a very good crowd, plus Rovers gathering steam so not unexpected.

There was no need for this comment though 'a team most view as relatively irrelevant', flashes of semi arrogance about it.
Is semi what ye call complete and absolute in Dundalk?

nr637
30/04/2023, 8:42 AM
Not sure what the away support was last night, the terrace section wasn't full but Drogs had front corner of stand, so prob 500 all in?

Means just over 2,300 home fans, its clear 500+ are not going anymore since we stopped winning / challenging for league titles. Our highest for the season so far is 3,700 or so, recent results obviously not helping but still a little disappointing.

That away support of around 500+ is a great turnout for Drogs. From previous post over the years there was always comments on how poorly supported Drogs were, especially in the 'Louth Derby' fixture at OP!

30/04/2023, 6:33 PM

Ah it wasnt really, it was dismissive and did come accross as dripping with entitlement and I was rolling the eyes. That said, and I dont mean this disrespectfully, Sligo are a club that few, if any, have significant beef with and so can lacks that edge that can get a floating fan through the turnstiles. When Sligo have the best facilities developed by a LoI club and can focus resources on their team, win a title or two and that 'edge' will happen!

Candystripe
30/04/2023, 10:45 PM
Derry v Pats was another sold out game in the Brandywell. With terrace tickets now being on sale that would mean 3,800 but i would allow 150 season ticket holders to have not been in attendance which would be normal at a guess.

St Patrick's sold out their away allocation.

gufc4life
30/04/2023, 10:57 PM
4300 in EDP v Cobh according to FAI Connect app

01/05/2023, 8:56 AM
Derry v Pats was another sold out game in the Brandywell. With terrace tickets now being on sale that would mean 3,800 but i would allow 150 season ticket holders to have not been in attendance which would be normal at a guess.

St Patrick's sold out their away allocation.

3,054 on FAI Connect

Philosophizer
01/05/2023, 2:04 PM
As we were talking about Dalymount capacity issues recently, I just went on Bohs website to try to buy a ticket for the derby in 2 months time. Tickets apparently went on sale at midday and they’re already sold out. I’m not sure how quickly they sold out but I was checking before 3pm and they had already gone.

SPXcyan
01/05/2023, 2:33 PM
1,853 at the RSC v Wexford.

Candystripe
01/05/2023, 4:42 PM
3,054 on FAI Connect

I would take that with a pinch of salt. Game was sold out and a serious amount were standing either side of the Mark Farren stand and behind the showgrounds end.

01/05/2023, 5:30 PM
759 for UCD v Dundalk

2 Year Contract
01/05/2023, 8:58 PM
4,265 in Richmond with around 300 from Sligo. Another home sell out treated to 0 Pats shots on target

thebronze14
01/05/2023, 9:16 PM
1221 in FP

Slartibartfast
02/05/2023, 10:27 AM
Drogs shels sold out I heard. Looked like shels had a full away allocation too.

SaintMel
02/05/2023, 11:10 AM
It's interesting to compare the rise in football attendances with the decline in gaa crowds. In particular I wonder are the people who drifted to watch the Dublin gaa team coming back to football?

ger121
02/05/2023, 12:34 PM
It's interesting to compare the rise in football attendances with the decline in gaa crowds. In particular I wonder are the people who drifted to watch the Dublin gaa team coming back to football?

Who knows but on a side note. The Gah heads having a meltdown about no live games on tv and having to rely on GAA Go did make me chuckle. Welcome to our world lads.

JC_GUFC
02/05/2023, 1:45 PM

I thought GAA crowds were also up this year. Certainly in the league there were some big crowds but maybe it's only certain counties.

pateen
02/05/2023, 2:29 PM
I thought GAA crowds were also up this year. Certainly in the league there were some big crowds but maybe it's only certain counties.

Me aswell

The Wee Oriel
02/05/2023, 5:57 PM
There has been great variance, poor crowds at some particularly in Leinster and in some of the hurling (clear result of lack of competivness impacting crowds) but Ulster GAA has remained strong and Connacht has been ok as well.

SaintMel
02/05/2023, 8:23 PM
Who knows but on a side note. The Gah heads having a meltdown about no live games on tv and having to rely on GAA Go did make me chuckle. Welcome to our world lads.

Yeah the sense of entitlement they had was unbelievable. One game wasn't on and they kicked up a fuss, jesus wept.

SaintMel
02/05/2023, 8:25 PM

Maybe but not as far as I can see. Barely 30,000 in Croke Park for two matches at the weekend

sbgawa
02/05/2023, 9:23 PM
Rovers v Bohs sold out for Friday so crowd of 7500 given we lose around 500 seats to seat kills and security.
When the North stand opens in the Summer this game could be a 10,000 attendance...

ger121
02/05/2023, 10:56 PM
Rovers v Bohs sold out for Friday so crowd of 7500 given we lose around 500 seats to seat kills and security.
When the North stand opens in the Summer this game could be a 10,000 attendance...

And even 10,000 seats might not be enough for demand. Crazy levels of interest in the derby.

Buller
03/05/2023, 9:22 AM
And even 10,000 seats might not be enough for demand. Crazy levels of interest in the derby.

We'll have to move the final Dalymount, top-of-the-table, league decider derby, to the Aviva so! :D

Think the new dalyer should be more than 6000, or at least be able to expand in future.

EatYerGreens
03/05/2023, 11:54 AM
We'll have to move the final Dalymount, top-of-the-table, league decider derby, to the Aviva so! :D

Think the new dalyer should be more than 6000, or at least be able to expand in future.

I know it wouln't happen, but I do think Rovers and Bohs should consider trying some future derby games at Lansdowne. Maybe agree to do one each in a season and see how it goes. Market the shiit out of it and see what kind of crowd it can draw. Would be interesting to see what impact it would have on crowds, merchandise, general interest etc. The obvious downside being that both clubs are running at close to full capacity (Rovers much less so once the North Stand opens), so new converts would struggle to be able to get to any further fixtures. But it would be a good problem to have.

It would also highlight whether Bohs using the Aviva whilst Dalymount is being develiped would be a completely daft idea, just a little bit daft, or feasible (e.g with just the lower tier open).

The league is clearly in a growth spurt at the moment, and it is a huge missed oportunity for so many clubs not to be able to take advantage of that due to capacity constraints. It's basically costing clubs and the league not just money now, but also future supporters.

ger121
03/05/2023, 10:42 PM

Latest plans have this now at 8000. Some would say this is not enough. Sure the Aviva was like a 2nd home to us in 2021.

nr637
04/05/2023, 2:22 PM
So, will that be approximately 750 away fans?

sbgawa
04/05/2023, 3:26 PM
So, will that be approximately 750 away fans?

Yep thats the number i heard or maybe very slightly over because of logistics of seat kills

04/05/2023, 3:31 PM
Yep thats the number i heard or maybe very slightly over because of logistics of seat kills

I know your lot are a bunch of thuggish Neanderthals but seat killing is taking your hostility to a whole new level.

sbgawa
04/05/2023, 3:38 PM
I know your lot are a bunch of thuggish Neanderthals but seat killing is taking your hostility to a whole new level.

Well they wouldnt sit down and be quiet, they kept springing up so we had to make an example of a few

toffeejay84
04/05/2023, 7:36 PM
Derry - Rovers 3700 now updated on LOI Connect.

Just two figures still not updated on the app:
Cobh v Kerry (Monday 1st) and Bray v Waterford (Friday 28th)

culloty82
05/05/2023, 8:15 AM
Kerry v Longford appears to be genuinely sold out for tonight, with the ticketing section of the Kerry website stating "No Events Found".

legendz
05/05/2023, 10:59 AM
Kerry v Longford appears to be genuinely sold out for tonight, with the ticketing section of the Kerry website stating "No Events Found".Cash sales at the gate.
https://twitter.com/KerryFC/status/1654425715805396992?t=gV0e7Hu1g01dNxSV-FWNNw&s=19

05/05/2023, 11:10 AM
Awaiting official figures from Bray v Waterford (28th Apr) and Cobh v Kerry (1st May).

PREMIER DIVISION

Bohs - 4,240 (3,209 {2022};2,878{19}; 2,148; 2,006; 1,627; 1,724; 1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488)
Cork - 4,574 (3,517 FD; 2,505; 4,245; 4,559; 2,533; 3,263; 3,777; 1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD)
Derry - 3,489 (3,184; 2,049; 2,297; 1,517; 1,563; 1,124; 1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135)
Drogheda - 2,062 (1,941; 721 FD; ; 377 FD; 850; 583 FD; 813; 1,064; 817; 977; 811)
Dundalk - 2,974 (2,689; 2,775; 2,738; 2,674; 2,738; 3,158; 2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355)
Pat's - 4,442 (3,489; 1,919; 1,621; 1,504; 1,088; 1,321; 1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346)
Rovers - 5,948 (5,379; 3,384; 2,749; 2,809; 2,041; 2,890; 2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779)
Shels - 3,234 (2,913; 1,071 FD; 654 FD; 496 FD; 554 FD; 596 FD; 713 FD; 1,114; 1,187; 781 FD)
Sligo - 3,083 (2,166; 1,995; 1,853; 1,717; 1,750; 1,750; 1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103)
UCD - 768 (953; 739; 365 FD; 236 FD; 297 FD; 216 FD; 397; 487; 506; 558; 610)

FIRST DIVISION

Athlone - 829 (307; 382; 130; 154; 156; 314; 653 PD; 754; 271; 200)
Bray - 782 (482; 773; 643 PD; 966 PD; 957 PD; 769 PD; 718 PD; 891 PD; 965 PD; 1,121 PD)
Cobh - 1,285 (872; 268; 236; 358; 403; 366; 223; 439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681)
Galway - 2,487 (2,081; 780; 746; 1,376 PD; 1,169 PD; 1,290 PD; 975)
Harps - 1,498 (1,293 PD; 1,154 PD; 708; 1,202 PD; 1,216 PD; 784; 449; 479; 429; 433; 644)
Kerry - 1,140 (No previous)
Longford - 742 (500; 610; 449; 342; 488 PD; 803 PD; 567; 379; 365; 315)
Treaty - 774 (695)
Waterford - 2,211 (1,705; 1,496 PD; 2,329 PD; 1,550; 314; 460; 470; 478; 453; 466)
Wexford - 841 (445; 235; 181; 338; 585 PD; 553; 331; 227; 302; 216)

PREMIER AVERAGE: 3,443 (2,687; 2,185; 2,170; 1,902; 1,476; 1,681; 1,502; 1,566; 1,630; 1,547)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 1,260 (1,193; 586; 413; 477; 476; 486; 495; 391; 372; 578)

OVERALL AVERAGE: 2,395 (2,051; 1,500; 1,249; 1,387; 1,117; 1,249; 1,160; 1,140; 1,125; 1,110)

OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 223,786 (486,365; 393,238; 316,515; 376,627; 292,204; 332,805; 297,334)
OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 75,579 (178,000; 79,115; 55,756; 53,461; 52,807; 54,474; 55,408)

OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 299,365 (664,365; 472,353; 372,271; 430,088; 345,011; 387,279; 352,742)

culloty82
05/05/2023, 11:12 AM
Preferable to claiming a sell-out last time, and thereby missing out on walk-ups, so hopefully back in four figures tonight.

culloty82
05/05/2023, 8:52 PM
FAI Connect seems to be patchier than usual tonight, with no data at all for the First Division.

sbgawa
05/05/2023, 9:23 PM
7864 in tallaght which is a stadium record I think. Fair play to the club their was a standby line outside while the crowd settled down inside and some extras were let in .

Jd2793
05/05/2023, 9:27 PM
3.2k in turners cross. must have been 4/500 from pats. good away travelling mob again from a dub side down here.

05/05/2023, 11:12 PM
7864 in tallaght which is a stadium record I think. Fair play to the club their was a standby line outside while the crowd settled down inside and some extras were let in .

Interesting to note that, as it's something that is actively discouraged in the GAA.
How does the standby system work?