View Full Version : Attendances 2022

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

EalingGreen
28/02/2022, 12:08 PM
If you think public funding anywhere works on the basis of one body spending money and then expecting it to be paid back by a higher authority in the future without any formal agreement to do so, then you clearly don't understand how public finances work.

Er, Stormont will disburse this funding to the relevant stadium owners. And who owns the Brandywell? That would be Derry & Strabane Council!

Which is why the local SDLP Councillors are demanding the money be paid out now (don't mean to get political, but SF councillors can't say anything, since it is their Minister who is in charge of Sports funding)

Serious question here - have you ever set foot in the Brandywell ? Because from the sounds of the above you don't seem to know the stadium at all.
Not since it was all rebuilt, no.

But looking at the plan, the Farran Stand could be extended the full length of the pitch, while there should still be space for a small stand behind one of the goals, no?

Which might not take it up to 8k (quoted as the ballpark figure for The Oval) but would make a substantial increase to The Brandywell (double it?)

https://www.derrydaily.net/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/Brandywell-redevelopment-plan-1-e1628678507864.jpg

EDIT: Just seen your post #146 and I would count DCWA's observations above yours (see eg #140).

28/02/2022, 12:12 PM
It should be a requirement of league membership that clubs have to issues attendance figures for every game.
Meh. People just won't believe them anyway.

SeanDrog
28/02/2022, 12:57 PM
Drogs vs UCD free entry (online tickets) this weekend.

28/02/2022, 1:10 PM
It should be a requirement of league membership that clubs have to issues attendance figures for every game.

They do have to send a figure onto the FAI for every game.

EatYerGreens
28/02/2022, 1:49 PM
Er, Stormont will disburse this funding to the relevant stadium owners. And who owns the Brandywell? That would be Derry & Strabane Council!

Which is why the local SDLP Councillors are demanding the money be paid out now (don't mean to get political, but SF councillors can't say anything, since it is their Minister who is in charge of Sports funding)

All of which is a side step from the point I challenged you on. Which was your claim that the Derry council spent money on Brandywell in the expectation that Stormont would pay some of that back to them form this £36m stadia fund. Which is just made up nonesense (presumably to dig yourself out of the whole of saying that Brandywell was looking for £10m out of the fund) Hence why you've deflected onto something unconnected in your respnose here after I challenged you on that claim. Please stop making stuff up.

Not since it was all rebuilt, no.

In fairness, it shows :)

But looking at the plan, the Farran Stand could be extended the full length of the pitch, while there should still be space for a small stand behind one of the goals, no?

Which might not take it up to 8k (quoted as the ballpark figure for The Oval) but would make a substantial increase to The Brandywell (double it?)

https://www.derrydaily.net/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/Brandywell-redevelopment-plan-1-e1628678507864.jpg

EDIT: Just seen your post #146 and I would count DCWA's observations above yours (see eg #140).

All of which I addressed above. Maybe 2,000 form the Mark Farren Stand, and at best 100-200 behind one goal (?) ? Which would make the stadium something like 5,500 absolute max. So where are you getting 8,000 from ?

Apologies if I'm being robust in my challenge on this, but after your performance on the Third Tier thread I'm growing weary of someone from outside our league barging in to lecture us on stuff they clearly don't understand, and in some cases are even patently making up.

EalingGreen
28/02/2022, 3:14 PM
All of which is a side step from the point I challenged you on. Which was your claim that the Derry council spent money on Brandywell in the expectation that Stormont would pay some of that back to them form this £36m stadia fund. Which is just made up nonesense (presumably to dig yourself out of the whole of saying that Brandywell was looking for £10m out of the fund) Hence why you've deflected onto something unconnected in your respnose here after I challenged you on that claim. Please stop making stuff up.

There is no question but that DCFC qualifies for a share of the £36m allocated for Stormont's Sub-Regional Stadium funding - everyone accepts that.

At the time it was first announced, it was widely believed that Glens and DCFC would each get c.£10m (Robinson's and McGuinness' work, basically).

This would fit in with the rationale of having another couple of decent-sized, UEFA-standard stadia for important games at the next level down from senior internationals. Building in Belfast and Derry also satisfied both communities, as well as widening the geographical spread.

While DCFC's share will have been due to be paid to the stadium owners, in this case the Council. Which in turn means the Council felt able to advance a significant sum (£7m?) to circumvent the delay from Stormont fannying about, while now awaiting the balance (£3m?).

You seem determined to contradict everything I've written on this topic, so if anything I've written above is incorrect, then I'd be interested in hearing how so from you*.

As for the details (capacity, exact sums etc), I freely acknowledge that I don't know these; then again, neither do you.

Nonetheless the general principle of what I've posted remains: a very significant sum from Stormont was allocated to redevelop the Brandywell, with this to be used by the stadium owners (Council), to provide a major increase to the capacity and facilities in the ground.

* - I'd appreciate if you kept to the subject of DCFC/Brandywell, rather than launching ad hominem attacks on other matters, in a transparent attempt to deflect from the fact that you have got this wrong.

28/02/2022, 4:23 PM
Derry v Shamrock Rovers - 3,325

The match was sold out, as I'd tonight's. The capacity of the Brandywell is approximately 3,700, so not sure how they arrived at that figure.

Are media, hospitality and the like included in the figures? Or is it counted on actual tickets sold?
Mind you, it is always convenient for the club to claim the lower attendance.

28/02/2022, 4:56 PM
The match was sold out, as I'd tonight's. The capacity of the Brandywell is approximately 3,700, so not sure how they arrived at that figure.

Are media, hospitality and the like included in the figures? Or is it counted on actual tickets sold?
Mind you, it is always convenient for the club to claim the lower attendance.

Why do you think that?

EatYerGreens
28/02/2022, 5:08 PM
There is no question but that DCFC qualifies for a share of the £36m allocated for Stormont's Sub-Regional Stadium funding - everyone accepts that.

Well no actually, The money is for stadiums and not for clubs. It would therefore be the Brandywell and Derry council that qualifies, not Derry City. It's not just a pedantic point, it's an important distinction.

At the time it was first announced, it was widely believed that Glens and DCFC would each get c.£10m (Robinson's and McGuinness' work, basically).

Widely believed by who ? You're the only person who's ever claimed Brandywell was supposed to get £10m from this Stormont fund. I challenge you to provide any creddible sources which state that. It has always been just £3m for the Brandywell from this sum.

While DCFC's share will have been due to be paid to the stadium owners, in this case the Council. Which in turn means the Council felt able to advance a significant sum (£7m?) to circumvent the delay from Stormont fannying about, while now awaiting the balance (£3m?).

This is just made up though. The Couciil in Derry didn't advance money re the work at Brandywell. It was always going to pay 70% of the total £10m cost with the other £3m coming from this Stormont fund. And no-one knew at that time that there would be the ongoing delays that Stormont have done on this ever since. I'm sorry, but you're just desperately trying to make it look like what you've been saying on this issue is right when it patently isn't.

You seem determined to contradict everything I've written on this topic, so if anything I've written above is incorrect, then I'd be interested in hearing how so from you*.

I'm determined to contradict you on the things you write which are incorrect, And i've repeatedly pointed out in what way they're incorrect, and provided evidence re the £7m council funding. You've provided no evidence to back up your various claims re Stormont Sub-regional fund agreement to pay £10m for the Brandywell, the council expecting that fund to repay it etc). And some of it is patently just wrong. Yet you continue to double-down on it all - just like you did in the Third Tier discussion when you were pulled up there for saying stuff that was just wrong.

As for the details (capacity, exact sums etc), I freely acknowledge that I don't know these; then again, neither do you.

I think it's fair to say from everything we've both written that I at least have a clearer and better grasp of this issue than yourself.

* - I'd appreciate if you kept to the subject of DCFC/Brandywell, rather than launching ad hominem attacks on other matters..

If you don't like being pulled up for barging into debates with patently false claims that you then argue to the death to try to defend in a Trumpian manner, then don't act that way :cool:

in a transparent attempt to deflect from the fact that you have got this wrong.

Oh FFS. Now you're just gaslighting :D

EatYerGreens
28/02/2022, 5:09 PM
Why do you think that?

They pay VAT on gates in the north.

28/02/2022, 6:10 PM
Tax dodging Derry, no wonder yiz can outbid us for our players:eek:

28/02/2022, 7:03 PM
Looks like 1400 at the Bowl. A few seats going in the stand, but not many

oriel
28/02/2022, 10:03 PM
Dundalk v Finn Harps, 2,676 not bad for a Monday with limited away support. Keeps the avg at just over 3k but of course only 2 home games in.

source: https://twitter.com/jamesrogersie/status/1498405640087220228?s=20&t=DsoJIqC8F8GZp57kfzu1dw

joey B
28/02/2022, 10:12 PM
4107 at Rovers/Drogheda.

D24Saint
28/02/2022, 10:13 PM
Excellent crowd in Dalymount tonight must have been at least 3000 at the game. The facilities for away fans in particular tonight were horrendous. The first three games of the season have shown that the dickensian facilities in the LOI will hamper its growth if it’s not sorted out soon. It’s hard to pick what’s worse between Tolka, Richmond & Dalymount. The lack of infrastructure for 2022 is pathetic, not entirely the clubs fault.

joey B
28/02/2022, 10:22 PM
Excellent crowd in Dalymount tonight must have been at least 3000 at the game. The facilities for away fans in particular tonight were horrendous. The first three games of the season have shown that the dickensian facilities in the LOI will hamper its growth if it’s not sorted out soon. It’s hard to pick what’s worse between Tolka, Richmond & Dalymount. The lack of infrastructure for 2022 is pathetic, not entirely the clubs fault.

We've signed a couple of players that have played for 3 diffrent Slovakian teams and the stadiums they play in compared to the majority in our league is embarassing,they are'nt even some of the bigger teams in that league........

28/02/2022, 11:48 PM
Dundalk v Finn Harps, 2,676 not bad for a Monday with limited away support. Keeps the avg at just over 3k but of course only 2 home games in.

source: https://twitter.com/jamesrogersie/status/1498405640087220228?s=20&t=DsoJIqC8F8GZp57kfzu1dw

Yeah, same announced in the ground. Decent for a Monday night. Was pleasantly surprised to see about 80-ish Harps fans three days after an away trip in Dublin.

ontheotherhand
28/02/2022, 11:59 PM
Yeah, same announced in the ground. Decent for a Monday night. Was pleasantly surprised to see about 80-ish Harps fans three days after an away trip in Dublin.

Jaysus I'm after reading that in your own voice after your star turn on BtS last week Nigel.

vinnie
01/03/2022, 1:13 AM

Was only saying to the younglad tonight that FAI usually give yiz a game in tallafornia on a Monday cause it's so easy for yiz to get down

01/03/2022, 1:02 PM
Normally Pats on a Monday night at some stage in the season. Happy enough the next one is Sligo midweek.

Calcio Jack
01/03/2022, 6:28 PM
Rovers given an away allocation of 1,150 tickets for Pats match - sold out in 5 minutes

Calcio Jack
02/03/2022, 10:52 AM
Rovers given an away allocation of 1,150 tickets for Pats match - sold out in 5 minutes

Was too good to be true - Pats had an issue with their ticket app’ , so ‘sold out’ was displayed in error.

Tickets still available for away end

placid casual
02/03/2022, 1:09 PM
How do you get tickets in the away end Calcio? I can only see tickets for pats fans

D24Saint
02/03/2022, 1:16 PM
How do you get tickets in the away end Calcio? I can only see tickets for pats fans

When I got away tickets for Dalymount it was via a link from Pats. It could be the same for Friday , you should have a look at rovers social media instead of direct from the pats site for away tickets.

02/03/2022, 1:50 PM

Link set to members this morning, ST holder access tomorrow assuming there are tickets remaining.

placid casual
02/03/2022, 2:19 PM
Thanks WAR, that makes sense.

Straightstory
04/03/2022, 9:27 AM
Drogs v UCD sold out for this evening. I was sceptical about the idea of giving out free tickets - but it seems to have worked.

oriel
04/03/2022, 10:54 AM
Attendances are so good starting off this season, if we remove UCD (with respect), the 'lowest' so far is probably going to be Drogs free in game tonight of around 2k.

This is some start, also when you have to factor in both FH and Sligo are playing their first home game this weekend, and bumper crowds should be expected there, with decent travelling support too I would imagine.

2 Year Contract
04/03/2022, 11:53 AM
Drogs v UCD sold out for this evening. I was sceptical about the idea of giving out free tickets - but it seems to have worked.

Depends on how you define 'worked'. Obviously the club will make nothing from tonight’s game but I’d say the hope is that some of the people who attend tonight that wouldn’t normally go to games will come back again (preferably as frequently as possible) so in that sense it’s too early to tell if the idea has worked.

On the other hand a sellout crowd against UCD is something that will benefit the players on the pitch and could help spur them on to 3 points in what would normally be most clubs lowest attended fixture. Again though, won’t be until half 9 tonight to see if that worked ;)

yurt
04/03/2022, 2:20 PM
To be fair we can definitely say the idea is a success based on the fact they're going to have a full house vs UCD. You can only really judge the event itself, all the other stuff which comes after that is too intangible to quantify.

A full home crowd creating a good atmosphere and seeing their team win would be a massively successful evening for the Drogs. Really hoping the casual fans get a decent game that's worth talking about.

2 Year Contract
04/03/2022, 2:40 PM
To be fair we can definitely say the idea is a success based on the fact they're going to have a full house vs UCD. You can only really judge the event itself, all the other stuff which comes after that is too intangible to quantify.

A full home crowd creating a good atmosphere and seeing their team win would be a massively successful evening for the Drogs. Really hoping the casual fans get a decent game that's worth talking about.

Yeah true, it’d still be very hard to gauge who out of the following home games crowd were there based on their experience of the UCD game or ortherwise.

As you say fingers crossed for Drogs that it’s a positive evening for those floating fans anyways

redarmyfaction
04/03/2022, 3:56 PM
Pats announce sell out tonight.

Shinkicker
04/03/2022, 9:18 PM
Free entry or not, good football or not. There were 2 terrific goals which could draw people back for more. Well done Drogheda!!

04/03/2022, 10:25 PM
3,022 at Edp what a 2nd half

PartySaint
04/03/2022, 11:00 PM
The Sun and The Times reporting a 5,500 sellout in Richmond.

2 Year Contract
04/03/2022, 11:15 PM
3,022 at Edp what a 2nd half
Brilliant crowd for Galway in the FD!

Great to see 2 sold out fixtures in the Premier tonight also. Really impressive crowds across the board this year so far

05/03/2022, 12:00 AM
Hearing that there were some tickets not scanning properly in Finn Park. Haven't seen any official attendance but looked to be a decent crowd in. Would have said around 2,500 at least. Good Bohs crowd up too.

D24Saint
05/03/2022, 11:17 AM
The Sun and The Times reporting a 5,500 sellout in Richmond.

Unbelievable crowd , the biggest I’ve seen in Richmond.

Calcio Jack
05/03/2022, 1:07 PM
Unbelievable crowd , the biggest I’ve seen in Richmond.

Last time I saw that size a crowd there was when Gordon Banks played for you against Rovers during Giles era- and he pulled off a stunning save from a 30 yarder by of all people Eamon Dunphy and we lost 1-0 then as well- think it was 1977 !!! Great to see sell out crowds around the league

D24Saint
05/03/2022, 1:19 PM
Last time I saw that size a crowd there was when Gordon Banks played for you against Rovers during Giles era- and he pulled off a stunning save from a 30 yarder by of all people Eamon Dunphy and we lost 1-0 then as well- think it was 1977 !!! Great to see sell out crowds around the league

Ive seen it said that when we played cork in the late 90’s there was 7k at it. I’ve no idea how that many was supposed to get in considering there was no stand behind the goal and only a hill with limited space.

oriel
05/03/2022, 4:06 PM

2,024 as per extra time, saw a clip of the game and plenty of space in the 'away' stand which appeared to be home fans for this game, still a good initiative to try something like this.

If it helps attract more, its working.

BTW what is the capacity these days of the ground?

SeanDrog
05/03/2022, 4:49 PM
2,024 as per extra time, saw a clip of the game and plenty of space in the 'away' stand which appeared to be home fans for this game, still a good initiative to try something like this.

If it helps attract more, its working.

BTW what is the capacity these days of the ground?

I believe the capacity is 2300 - yep away section max half full. I reckon some took the free tickets then on the cold night decided not to go - shame as there were plenty of people looking for tickets after it was sold out.

05/03/2022, 5:24 PM
Ive seen it said that when we played cork in the late 90’s there was 7k at it. I’ve no idea how that many was supposed to get in considering there was no stand behind the goal and only a hill with limited space.

Ive often thought the same when the Oriel Park record attendance of 18k is mentioned. The ground hasnt changed that much since then really, similar footprint. I know there were temporary wings to the stand which dont sound at all safe albeit with a whole different level of H&S. A friendly v Liverpool in the 90's didnt break 10k I think and people ended up sitting on the sideline so 18k?? The only reason I wish I was older so I could have been there!

oriel
05/03/2022, 6:40 PM
I was at all of these big Euro late 70's / early 80's games in oriel park as a kid, Celtic 79 I think was the record at 22k, then Spurs 81 at 18k, and 17k for Liverpool a year later, it reduced each time.

There was an incredible health and safety temp stand erected on the main stand side, which consisted of about 5 or 6 rows of wodden planks, and it covered the entire side, corner flag to corner flag. Also for all 3 games the little stand behind the town end goal was still up, it had around 10 rows but was fairly big, it ran from behind the goal to the corner flag shed side.

The other amazing stat, and this was up there with anything Kenny did, all those home games from PSV in 76, Hadjuk 77, Linfield, Hibs Malta, Celtic 79, Porto 1980, Fram Iceland and Spurs 81 all unbeaten at home, finally ended by the Euro Champions Liverpool in 82.

joey B
05/03/2022, 9:06 PM
3,257 at the Showgrounds tonight.

oriel
05/03/2022, 9:12 PM
Its just a super start to the season by all clubs crowd wise, add in big numbers from the FD, with 5k from Cork and Galway 3k+ and Waterford well over 2k, there is real optimism.

redarmyfaction
06/03/2022, 9:26 AM
3,257 at the Showgrounds tonight.

There was probably more, gates without turnstiles were opened to alleviate congestion. We could have done with a few less of the Scumdalk brigade some of whom didn't condescend to go to the game making arseholes of themselves after.

06/03/2022, 2:35 PM
I was at all of these big Euro late 70's / early 80's games in oriel park as a kid, Celtic 79 I think was the record at 22k, then Spurs 81 at 18k, and 17k for Liverpool a year later, it reduced each time.

There was an incredible health and safety temp stand erected on the main stand side, which consisted of about 5 or 6 rows of wodden planks, and it covered the entire side, corner flag to corner flag. Also for all 3 games the little stand behind the town end goal was still up, it had around 10 rows but was fairly big, it ran from behind the goal to the corner flag shed side.

The other amazing stat, and this was up there with anything Kenny did, all those home games from PSV in 76, Hadjuk 77, Linfield, Hibs Malta, Celtic 79, Porto 1980, Fram Iceland and Spurs 81 all unbeaten at home, finally ended by the Euro Champions Liverpool in 82.

I know there are bits of footage but I dont think Ive seen photos of the temporary seating empty or even good photos of the stand side of the ground full.

oriel
06/03/2022, 2:48 PM
There was probably more, gates without turnstiles were opened to alleviate congestion. We could have done with a few less of the Scumdalk brigade some of whom didn't condescend to go to the game making arseholes of themselves after.

I'm sure you seen the videos doing the rounds then, seemed to have been a lot of Sligo accents involved in starting the trouble after the game.

06/03/2022, 6:29 PM
We had a decent crowd at our game 600 announced by announcer. Good turnout of Cork City fans!