View Full Version : Adam Idah F. Celtic b.2001
Arent we, as football fans, all on the rollercoaster of hope and optimism with massive peaks and valleys of both depending on the time of day and what we had for breakfast? In 99% of cases on here and elsewhere, todays cynic is tomorrows dreamer.
Now I've swung back down again
It's worse than it was before
If I hadn't seen such riches
I could live with being poor
I do think it’s significant that his recent performances have been whilst playing as part of a front two. He’s looked very isolated playing for Ireland and generally hasn’t looked like scoring or even getting into scoring positions. It’s something that Kenny / Barry need to think about. The change to a back three was about recognising our strengths, maybe time to play Robinson and Idah as two central strikers with the width coming from proper wing backs. The formation would give us an extra body in midfield as well.
Think he'd face similar issues in a front two with Robinson. He's playing well with Pukki at the moment but at times he's like a number 10 dropping back for the ball with Pukki playing further forward.
If we were to play him in a front two would probably need to pair him with someone like Connolly more than Robinson.
Razors left peg
17/01/2022, 4:01 PM
Jaysus Sam - I think you're one of the more informed posters here, but you don't half do extreme optimism!
I don't think it's hyper-critical to say that Idah's first touch in acres of space nearly cost him his goal, or that his one-on-one miss in the second half was as bad as you'll see. Let's also note an Everton side in disarray - 6 points from 39, which has got Benitez sacked.
It's great to see him getting game time, but one scrappy goal is long long way from forming half of a "mouthwatering" attacking partnership with one of three guys who've done nothing at senior level yet, one of whom isn't even sure if he wants to play for us!
Norwich - still on course to have the worst goalscoring record in English league history - have an easy-ish run of games coming up. Watford, Palace, Southampton, Brentford and Leeds in the next eight games (along with Wolves, Man City and Liverpool). Let's see how those go before setting him targets like yours! :)
His 1st touch for the goal was poor but he reacted well to finish. In general his 1st touch is excellent. His hold up play at the weekend was similar to the away Portugal game for us where his touch was brilliant.
Ive been on the fence with Idah, but he was due a bit of luck. He works hard, and was very unlucky not to score in previous game with a brilliant bit of skill and shot.
Yes its only 1 goal but the signs that he is emerging into a very good player are there.... try to enjoy it
17/01/2022, 4:20 PM
Yeah, he recovered well to score for sure, but a better defence won't give him the chance to. He works hard, but I think he lacks a bit of composure in front of goal tbh (the one-on-one a great example of that). It's why I don't see him as a 25-40 goal international striker, but more a potential Shane Long (or dare I say it, a Conor Sammon!) - will hold the ball up and bring others into the game, but won't score a huge amount himself.
If he improves and becomes international standard, then great - but balanced discussion is better than getting carried away about how he'll be part of a mouthwatering striker partnership in a few years' time.
Razors left peg
17/01/2022, 4:37 PM
You're comparing a 20 year old starting in the Premiership to Conor Sammon..... think about that for a second!
Olé Olé
17/01/2022, 4:41 PM
Yeah, he recovered well to score for sure, but a better defence won't give him the chance to. He works hard, but I think he lacks a bit of composure in front of goal tbh (the one-on-one a great example of that). It's why I don't see him as a 25-40 goal international striker, but more a potential Shane Long (or dare I say it, a Conor Sammon!) - will hold the ball up and bring others into the game, but won't score a huge amount himself.
If he improves and becomes international standard, then great - but balanced discussion is better than getting carried away about how he'll be part of a mouthwatering striker partnership in a few years' time.
Are you trying to assert your own opinion here or the importance of "perspective"? The subjectivity involved here with regards to estimating how far Idah can go is immense. It feels to me like you believe your opinion to be more balanced than some of the others here. But that is also subjective.
People can get carried away based on what they have seen if they believe what they have seen merits that. I would argue that, in my view, calling Idah a potential Conor Sammon goes quite some distance the other direction and beyonds the realms of balance.
17/01/2022, 5:01 PM
The Conor Sammon thing is jokey - I'm allowed to as a UCD fan who doesn't get to see many of our players capped at international level. A look at the Sammon thread will confirm that.
There is a point there though in comparing playing style, which I made. And Sammon has played more PL games than Idah too. Idah can have more potential than Sammon while still being a comparable kind of player - that is, a physical forward who doesn't score many but who can hold the ball up well and bring others into the game
(Also, phrases that start "I think..." are clearly just my opinion and open for discussion on a discussion forum)
Razors left peg
17/01/2022, 5:08 PM
The Conor Sammon thing is jokey - I'm allowed to as a UCD fan who doesn't get to see many of our players capped at international level. A look at the Sammon thread will confirm that.
And Sammon has played more PL games than Idah too.
You would expect so considering Idah is only feckin 20.... Sammon has played 32 times in Premiership compared to Idahs 27.
27 appearances in the Premiership is very creditable for any 20 year old. You should have stopped at "Conor Sammon thing is jokey".
samhaydenjr
17/01/2022, 9:09 PM
That's exactly it for me. I mean, if he scores again at the weekend there's some will have him up for a Ballon d'Or nomination in 12 months.
By way of context, this is a post from sam on the Aaron Connolly thread - three years ago!
https://foot.ie/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by samhaydenjr https://foot.ie/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png (https://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=1997300#post1997300)
OK then... Obafemi is now a Premier League scorer and full international, Connolly is on the verge of his league debut for Luton, Afolabi is lining up a move to Millwall, Kayode is in matchday squads for Rotherham, Keena scored in the Scottish Cup and is in Hearts' matchday squads, Parrott is training with the Spurs first team and Oko-Flex is scoring regularly for Celtic's reserves. The wave is starting to crest lads
Like I say, the insight into variously obscure up-and-coming youngsters on here is great, but jaysus, a sense of perspective is needed (as slk has outlined perfectly for me). A sense of perspective is not negativity.
Hey Stu, happy to keep perspective and willing to temper optimism where justified. And yes, I acknowledge that the breakthroughs haven't been as fast and complete as I might have hoped for when I wrote that post but there has still been significant progress. So lets first look at the players I mentioned:
- Connolly - from a wasted loan period at Luton to a brace against Spurs - 45 Premier League appearances, 5 Premier league goals plus 3 in the EFL Cup. Eight international caps. Some question marks about his professionalism and his later performances were underwhelming. But still considered good enough for a loan to a big Championship club where he has already had his first start. Not quite 22 yet - surely a qualified success
- Obafemi - Over 30 EPL appearances for Southampton with four goals. Injury, a question mark about his professionalism and Che Adams limited later appearances but another big Championship club have paid over $1.5m for him and he is playing semi-regularly - still only 21
- Parrott - over 50 appearances at Championship and League One level - all on loan so Spurs don't seem ready to offload him just yet. Ten international caps, two international goals - not yet 20 years old
- Afolabi - yes, the Celtic move has not worked out and I'm not really counting on him as our goalscoring saviour as he has not really impressed much on his loan spells - and there is talk that the Bhoys are ready to offload him (https://thecelticstar.com/celtic-open-to-offers-for-ireland-under-21-striker-jonathan-afolabi/) that said, he has played nearly 40 games at Scottish Championship level and has just turned 22 so I will reserve full judgement until we see if he makes a good move
- Keena - yes, Keena has failed to establish himself at a high level and will likely be a lower level pro for now, anyway - could still be a late bloomer
- Kayode - Had a couple of successful lower-level loans including scoring 11 in 39 league appearances for Carlisle. Is now playing regularly for Rotherham's first team - only 21
- Oko-Flex - EPL debut starting to look imminent as he is on West Ham's bench most weeks - might still be a teenager when that happens
And the ones I didn't mention in that post starting with the man of the hour:
- Idah - hat-trick in the FA Cup, 13 international caps, managed 3 Championship goals in spite of limited opportunities under previous manager. New manager gives him a proper go go and he breaks his EPL duck almost immediately - not yet 21
- Scully - didn't even know who he was when I wrote the original post and he's already scored over 30 times for Lincoln - still only 22
- Ferguson - in the same position as Oko-Flex, plus he's already scored his first against senior opposition and set up a winner in The Cup and he's still only 17!
- Odubeko - has also scored his first goals against senior opposition and made his senior debut at Huddersfield, even if it was a disappointing loan spell - still in his teens
At this point I really can't see all of them ending up in lower levels or falling out of professional football - and I haven't even mentioned Kenny, Zefi, Kavanagh, McLoughlin, Varian, Cassidy, Armstrong, Drinan and Cannon
At this point, the only young strikers we've talked about who you could really write off as potential internationals are Hale, McAuley and Keena - everybody else is still, to various degrees, on track for solid careers
18/01/2022, 12:39 PM
His 1st touch for the goal was poor but he reacted well to finish. In general his 1st touch is excellent. His hold up play at the weekend was similar to the away Portugal game for us where his touch was brilliant.
or maybe his first touch is what makes the goal by tempting the goal keeper off his line so idah can poke it past him.
who cares anyway..... it ended in the net.
18/01/2022, 12:49 PM
Norwich have put together a video with his every touch against Everton
seanfhear
18/01/2022, 1:17 PM
Norwich have put together a video with his every touch against Everton
He might get Norwich’s player of the season after that match (wink)
18/01/2022, 1:44 PM
That was a good watch. Some of that hold up an link play is genuinely exceptional stuff. The one on one, I don't think he did a lot wrong, touch is good but keep is out like lightening.
18/01/2022, 2:21 PM
He sent the ball sideways!
I don't know did he get caught in two minds between having a shot and then decided to square the ball for Pukki or what. But he had so much time there to slot past the keeper and he panicked.
seanfhear
18/01/2022, 2:36 PM
I don't know did he get caught in two minds between having a shot and then decided to square the ball for Pukki or what. But he had so much time there to slot past the keeper and he panicked.
In fairness, I panicked just watching it.
18/01/2022, 2:57 PM
I think that's it, he was closed so quick it would have been very hard not to hit the keeper so he tried to square it and it didn't work out.
18/01/2022, 3:35 PM
But that's what'll happen at this level - and even at that, I don't think he was closed all that quick; he had time to control, turn, and to take another touch. That's a lot of time.
You can say he's young and he'll learn from it and so on, which is fine, but that doesn't mean it wasn't a bad miss.
18/01/2022, 4:10 PM
That was a good watch. Some of that hold up an link play is genuinely exceptional stuff. The one on one, I don't think he did a lot wrong, touch is good but keep is out like lightening.
I think it proves that his first touch isn't good enough, yet at least, he can't take the turn towards goal as his first touch is always away from him and either into space or away from goal and the defender. If he's closed down he struggles.
seanfhear
18/01/2022, 4:14 PM
Himself and Pukki could make a good old fashioned double act.
kennedmc
18/01/2022, 4:15 PM
Very encouraging signs - well done Adam on that performance. Well done to Dean Smith too. I think he has really got Idah to up his intensity and physicality - impose himself more on the game - and Smith has given him the game time to do it.
Plus he's not even 21 yet! There are going to be mistakes etc. If he keeps this up we could have a very good PL level striker in 2 years times leading the line for Ireland.
texidub
18/01/2022, 8:52 PM
That was an impressive collection of touches from one game. Has the air of a midfield boss about him, despite being a striker. Did he play in midfield earlier in his career?
19/01/2022, 9:30 AM
For the goal, the heavy first touch made it. A softer touch and he'd have had to decelerate and he'd have been tackled from behind. I really don't think he had that much time at all. The defender was tight on him. It'd have taken an amazing touch to take that pass, bring it under control without breaking stride and shoot. Use of both feet might have been better.
19/01/2022, 9:56 AM
My optimism in Idah is that he potentially can be a good player for us, not that he’s a potential Ballon d’Or winner. Sure, 1 goal perhaps was a poor return on the chances he had against Everton but it was a man of the match performance nonetheless from a player finding his feet in senior football. For me, his benchmark is not the World’s best but current and past Irish internationals in his position. Against this measure, his potential is quite high. He's not a Robbie Keane type goalscorer, but potentially he’s an “improvement” on an 88 cap Shane Long.
19/01/2022, 10:20 AM
I think that's a pretty measured bit of optimism. I think there's a chance he could be a huge player for us yet, but things are finely balanced at this point in a career.
Olé Olé
19/01/2022, 11:47 AM
I agree with these points. I'll just say that he executed some things on Saturday and against Portugal away that I wouldn't expect from a 20 year-old striker. Maybe it's because he is more physically developed than other 20 year-olds but the way he held off some of the Everton players was brilliant. There was a spin of Andre Gomes in the centre circle which was delicious too.
Very hard to know which way he will go but I don't want to speculate now. Based on what I have seen when he has played well, he seems to have plenty to his overall game aside from just being a big lad up top. I'm not saying he will reach the same heights, but some of his play on Saturday reminded me of the style of Didier Drogba. Just the way that he took the battle to the centre halves. There aren't many strikers around who enjoy taking the ball with their back to goal and a man touch tight. Drogba was the master of that. Idah sought those scenarios out on Satuday. The movement too - way he came short, went long, went to the sides if needed.
It wasn't the perfect performance and he most definitely needs to improve the consistency of his touch and decision making, not to mention the overall consistency of his performance levels. It was just enjoyable. Let's see where it goes.
ontheotherhand
19/01/2022, 4:07 PM
Funny that we are looking at one debatably bad touch that actually got him a goal when he had plenty of other lovely first touches in the game as Norwich highlighted in their video. The more I look at the goal the more I think it wasn't a bad touch at all. it may have been the perfect touch. Whether he meant it or not.....who cares, he's there to score goals and he finally didQ Everton might be muck right now but he still got MOTM in an EPL game and well...Norwich are brutal too...good going from the lad. I would compare him more to Didzy McGoldrick than Didzy Drogba though......
liamoo11
19/01/2022, 4:28 PM
Funny that we are looking at one debatably bad touch that actually got him a goal when he had plenty of other lovely first touches in the game as Norwich highlighted in their video. The more I look at the goal the more I think it wasn't a bad touch at all. it may have been the perfect touch. Whether he meant it or not.....who cares, he's there to score goals and he finally didQ Everton might be muck right now but he still got MOTM in an EPL game and well...Norwich are brutal too...good going from the lad. I would compare him more to Didzy McGoldrick than Didzy Drogba though......
Let's hope he scores regularly from now on so that in future every goal isn't dissected in the same level of detail
19/01/2022, 4:36 PM
McGoldrick had one senior goal at Idah's age. Drogba had none. Comparisons are hard so far. It's a good thing that Idah's getting games. It's really nice that he's scored. Hopefully he keeps it up.
Exgrad
20/01/2022, 9:04 AM
Anyway....Watford Norwich live on Sky on Friday, hopefully he's starting, and hopefully has another bad touch that results in a goal.
Olé Olé
20/01/2022, 8:25 PM
His performances are definitely grabbing the attention of the media across the way. The Athletic had a piece on Adam this week and there is this on the Premier League website: https://www.premierleague.com/news/2454062
He's really emerged. He just needs to build on this.
Anthony Elanga has had two good games and a goal recently and is a year younger and getting press too but I would be more confident of Elanga sustaining his form for a few reasons.
Will be watching keenly tomorrow night against Watford.
21/01/2022, 11:10 PM
His performances are definitely grabbing the attention of the media across the way. The Athletic had a piece on Adam this week and there is this on the Premier League website: https://www.premierleague.com/news/2454062
He's really emerged. He just needs to build on this.
Anthony Elanga has had two good games and a goal recently and is a year younger and getting press too but I would be more confident of Elanga sustaining his form for a few reasons.
Will be watching keenly tomorrow night against Watford.
Just beware of the inevitability of the positivity correct brigade who are compulsively obliged to reduce anyone's expressed positivity by a factor of x under the guise of 'realism'. The bleak fatalistic adage applies, don't celebrate your team when they score the first goal because the other team will surely score 2 in reply.
It's dangerous to feel positivity in these times.
elatedscum
22/01/2022, 2:06 AM
Another 90 minutes under his belt tonight. Heavily involved in the third goal. Neither a goal, nor an assist but almost something in between. A driven pullback which the defender put into his own net
samhaydenjr
22/01/2022, 2:18 AM
Definitely a quieter game tonight - for the most part his marker got the better of him, until he got the chance to take it to the byline and knock it across for an "own-goal assist". So still doing well - Smith seems happy with him and the system that accommodates him, so it's looking good that he's going to get a reasonable chance to establish himself over the next few months
tommy_c12000
22/01/2022, 12:52 PM
Yeah agree. He was overall poor. Nowhere near as good as the Everton game. He failed to keep the ball on several occasions and was dominated by watfords new signing. His assist hopefully should keep the momentum going
22/01/2022, 3:34 PM
Just beware of the inevitability of the positivity correct brigade who are compulsively obliged to reduce anyone's expressed positivity by a factor of x under the guise of 'realism'. The bleak fatalistic adage applies, don't celebrate your team when they score the first goal because the other team will surely score 2 in reply.
It's dangerous to feel positivity in these times.
You'd swear he was odds on for the ballon d'or the way some of ye go on. God forbid anyone have the slightest reserve talking about a striker with 0 goals in 13 caps. But go on, beat up the straw man.
05/02/2022, 5:17 PM
Another hour today as Norwich beat Wolves in the Cup, though Pukki (and four others) were rested for the Cup, so it's not a 100% endorsement, but gametime always welcome of course. Was put clean through early on but shot straight at Ruddy. Came off a bit past the hour for Pukki as Norwich saw a 1-0 win out. Sounded a bit of a crap game overall.
Crosby87
05/02/2022, 5:22 PM
Came off a bit past the hour for Pukki as Norwich saw a 1-0 win out. Sounded a bit of a crap game overall.
I watched this one. Pukki had a stomach issue and vomited on the side of the pitch.
05/02/2022, 5:23 PM
That was Sargent I think? He was named in the starting line-up but was replaced a short while before kick-off.
Starts again with Pukki up top.
and got an assist for Pukki's opener.
tommy_c12000
09/02/2022, 7:22 PM
How’s he doing? Don’t have access to the game
and got an assist for Pukki's opener.
Fingers crossed Dean Smith has found the system which gets Pukki and Idah playing well together. They're currently out of the relegation zone as things stand.
tommy_c12000
09/02/2022, 10:44 PM
1-1, how did idah do overall?
mark12345
09/02/2022, 10:46 PM
How’s he doing? Don’t have access to the game
Best description of his performance - Ok. Did an awful lot of chasing the ball. And when he got hold of it it rarely stuck. Having a center forward with whom the ball sticks is something Irleand have lacked for a long time.
Don't think he would have started against Man City, but would be his luck if this keeps him out for a bit after getting his first proper run of games as a starter.
Olé Olé
18/02/2022, 8:29 AM
https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/status/1494601129925222409?s=20&t=k5HIxeX7cjNN8sbj3Tm0-g
Out for the reason of the season. Gutting.
Diggs246
18/02/2022, 8:58 AM
Terrible news
Terrible timing as he wasn't automatic first choice for us. Not he will be playing catch up
18/02/2022, 9:08 AM
Horrible luck. Hopefully Norwich stick with him in the Championship rather than signing too much competition with their Pukki money. Next season could really be the making of him if he shows serious goal threat at that level.
18/02/2022, 9:45 AM
That's a blow - and probably out for the four June Nations League games as well.
I wouldn't have started him in the March games, but it's unquestionable that he could have used a run of top flight games to improve. How many careers have we seen stall because a badly-timed injury and a replacement signed when you were out? Not sure how this could have been any worse timing-wise to be honest. Let's hope by August it's all forgotten about.
Horrible luck. Hopefully Norwich stick with him in the Championship rather than signing too much competition with their Pukki money. Next season could really be the making of him if he shows serious goal threat at that level.
Is Pukki linked with a move away? They've got an option to extend his contract for an extra season and given his record at championship level
Unless Sargent and Pukki strike up a good partnership for the rest of the season I think Idah might have done enough to show Smith himself and Pukki could be a good partnership at Championship level. Don't think they'll try bring in a new striker in the summer and would wait to see if they can get promoted again. Blackburn's Brereton would be a good replacement but there'd be major competition for him.