View Full Version : Adam Idah F. Celtic b.2001
Razors left peg
08/02/2024, 2:09 PM
This sums up my views. There have been plenty tall and quick strikers with good touches that struggle for goals in their early 20's and turn into really good centre forwards. Drogba and Giroud are the archetypal ones. I think Idah is worth persisting with.
He's also shown at a few junctures that he is capable of scoring good goals and his scoring frequency is scaling.
I'm all here for it.
I doubt he'll ever get to the levels of Giroud and Drogba, but I've said before he could be like Ollie Watkins or Callum Wilson. Both lads had stints in lower divisions than Idah and developed late. They'd be good career target for Troy Parrott too
08/02/2024, 2:51 PM
If fit ~ He'd want to be knocking goals from play, in Scotland playing for Celtic ~ You'd be expected to be knocking goals in, in the Championship if you were playing for a team that has so many advantages against the others ( bar Rangers in Scotland ).In truth, you'd have fancied him to score more if he was in the Hibs team last night. Celtic had very little, if any, advantage over Hibs.
Exgrad
08/02/2024, 3:15 PM
On the whole, i would think it is a "good thing" that Idah scored two goals on his first start for Celtic, including a last minute winner. Looks like penalties don't appear to count as goals for some poeple though. Hopefully he can build on his positive start.
08/02/2024, 4:13 PM
On the whole, i would think it is a "good thing" that Idah scored two goals on his first start for Celtic, including a last minute winner. Looks like penalties don't appear to count as goals for some poeple though. Hopefully he can build on his positive start.
Ah in fairness, that's another strawman post - challenging an argument no-one has made.
Yes, there's a point that it's good he's already off the mark, even if from the spot.
But Stutts, liamoo and Crafty have all outlined chances from play he missed which unfortunately ties in with the general impression we have of him of a forward whose finishing badly lets him down.
Those views aren't mutually exclusive.
CraftyToePoke
08/02/2024, 5:39 PM
I remember four, one saved by Marshall where he should have lifted it, one saved by Marshall's feet with a decent effort but he was later flagged offside, one blasted onto the bar (had to score) but again offside and the worst was a total fluff from 8 yards from a lovely low sqaure ball across the box.
There was a headed chance as well FWIR, might have been after all those other one you mention.
08/02/2024, 7:40 PM
At present he's in the carthorse category. A similar role and build striker for Celtic, Vennegoor of Hesselink ,would have put away those chances. Though the penalties were pure class especially the last one and that counts.
08/02/2024, 9:25 PM
Any guesses on who the previous Irish player to score two penalties in the same Scottish Premiership was before Stokes?
08/02/2024, 9:43 PM
Any guesses on who the previous Irish player to score two penalties in the same Scottish Premiership was before Stokes?
Richie Foran, at a guess?
08/02/2024, 9:49 PM
Richie Foran, at a guess? great guess!
For Motherwell, against Falkirk in November 2006
08/02/2024, 10:25 PM
great guess!
For Motherwell, against Falkirk in November 2006
Couldn't think of any other Irish player who scored semi regularly around then!
Snapshot
09/02/2024, 6:35 AM
I doubt he'll ever get to the levels of Giroud and Drogba, but I've said before he could be like Ollie Watkins or Callum Wilson. Both lads had stints in lower divisions than Idah and developed late. They'd be good career target for Troy Parrott too
At 22, Callum Wilson arrived at Bournemouth and scored 23 goals to win them promotion. Despite a spate of injuries he then scored 44 EPL goals before moving to Newcastle for £20m where he has scored nearly 50 EPL goals.
At 22, Watkins scored 49 Championship goals in three seasons before arriving at Villa for £28m. He is currently on 59 EPL goals, 5 Euro goals and 10 Cup goals.
At 23 (in two days), Idah has been tossed aside by mediocre Norwich. His opposition in coming months, bar a couple, will be the equivalent of Crewe Alexander and Burton Albion. I wish it wasn't, but any comparison to Wilson and Watkins is creative to say the least.
seanfhear
09/02/2024, 7:36 AM
At 22, Callum Wilson arrived at Bournemouth and scored 23 goals to win them promotion. Despite a spate of injuries he then scored 44 EPL goals before moving to Newcastle for £20m where he has scored nearly 50 EPL goals.
At 22, Watkins scored 49 Championship goals in three seasons before arriving at Villa for £28m. He is currently on 59 EPL goals, 5 Euro goals and 10 Cup goals.
At 23 (in two days), Idah has been tossed aside by mediocre Norwich. His opposition in coming months, bar a couple, will be the equivalent of Crewe Alexander and Burton Albion. I wish it wasn't, but any comparison to Wilson and Watkins is creative to say the least.He'd want to improve a lot alright ~ How come he doesn't make better use of his obvious physical attributes ~ I know soccer has become very namby pamby, but surely you can still use such physical advantages !
On my head son ~ Head in where others wouldn't ~ Centre-backs Not pleased to see you ~ True Grit ~
weldoninhio
09/02/2024, 8:58 AM
At 23 (in two days), Idah has been tossed aside by mediocre Norwich. His opposition in coming months, bar a couple, will be the equivalent of Crewe Alexander and Burton Albion. I wish it wasn't, but any comparison to Wilson and Watkins is creative to say the least.
I'd be comparing him more with Cillian Sheridan or Conor Sammon than Wilson or Giroud.
09/02/2024, 11:06 AM
On my head son ~ Head in where others wouldn't ~ Centre-backs Not pleased to see you ~ True Grit ~
Boys in the park. Jumpers for goalposts. Beans on toast. Fly goalie. Four up front. Isn’t it? Wasn’t it? Marvellous.
backstothewall
09/02/2024, 3:09 PM
Boys in the park. Jumpers for goalposts. Beans on toast. Fly goalie. Four up front. Isn’t it? Wasn’t it? Marvellous.
I read this in the voice.
Razors left peg
09/02/2024, 3:44 PM
Pineapple, you see now what I was on about... he might as well retire :p
09/02/2024, 3:53 PM
I... don't really, to be honest?
11/02/2024, 2:17 PM
Pineapple, you see now what I was on about... he might as well retire :p
I think you just have to let people be optimistic or pessimistic about a player without taking it personally if you disagree. Life's too short. Fingers crossed Idah wins the Premiership at 27 after breaking scoring records, but all we can do for now is watch and see how he does playing for a big fish in a small pond.
weldoninhio
12/02/2024, 10:47 AM
I think you just have to let people be optimistic or pessimistic about a player without taking it personally if you disagree. Life's too short. Fingers crossed Idah wins the Premiership at 27 after breaking scoring records, but all we can do for now is watch and see how he does playing for a big fish in a small pond.
Big Fish?? Another anonymous performance yesterday and thankfully hauled after an hour.
12/02/2024, 11:09 AM
Did anyone play well? Did Oh do any better?
12/02/2024, 11:26 AM
Big Fish?? Another anonymous performance yesterday and thankfully hauled after an hour.
From the post you quoted - "see how he does playing for a big fish in a small pond."
Celtic are the big fish in a small pond, not Idah. That's fairly unarguable I think?
something something Connor Sammon.
12/02/2024, 1:37 PM
Sammo was a good penalty taker btw.
Just throwing that out there. :p
Razors left peg
12/02/2024, 3:44 PM
Sammo was a good penalty taker btw.
Just throwing that out there. :p
Someone actually let him be on pens in the first place is the shocker there!
12/02/2024, 4:12 PM
First found that out in a penalty shoot-out in a League Cup first round game in Station Road. Top bins. Shoot-outs are great for finding out that sort of stuff :)
weldoninhio
12/02/2024, 9:42 PM
Did anyone play well? Did Oh do any better?
Oh had a decent chance near the end, deflected over. The other 10 played ok, a lot more control once Bernardo came on. Bernabei had a decent game considering how much stick he’s been getting, Kyogo seems to be coming into some form. Can see Celtic going back to 433 and Kyogo playing centrally with Palma and Kuhn playing either side. Pity to see Abada seems to have jacked it in. Good player on his day.
Exgrad
13/02/2024, 5:49 PM
Hopefully celtic will win a match with idah in the team at some point
Whens the last time he started three times in a row btw.? So getting plenty of minutes now which hopefully he can build on, even if he is losing every game he plays.
Razors left peg
13/02/2024, 5:53 PM
Hopefully celtic will win a match with idah in the team at some point
Whens the last time he started three times in a row btw.? So getting plenty of minutes now which hopefully he can build on, even if he is losing every game he plays.
What are you on about, they won both games he played including a last minute winner from a penalty from Idah
Exgrad
13/02/2024, 8:02 PM
Sorry was just going on the posts here and elsewhere, based on that was hard to believe he was contributing to a winning team.
Razors left peg
13/02/2024, 8:19 PM
Haha, sorry I missed the sarcasm
EAFC_rdfl
13/02/2024, 10:18 PM
Haha, sorry I missed the sarcasm
I'm sooo soooo sorry!
25/02/2024, 11:49 AM
Back on the bench for the trip to Motherwell today. Bit of a surprise, that. They're 1-0 down at half-time so he could well get the second half yet.
Edit - and on at halftime alright
Edit edit - and scores within five minutes. His first from open play for them
CraftyToePoke
25/02/2024, 12:25 PM
Back on the bench for the trip to Motherwell today. Bit of a surprise, that. They're 1-0 down at half-time so he could well get the second half yet.
Edit - and on at halftime alright
Edit edit - and scores within five minutes. His first groom open play for them
Might need a third edit there Pineappler.
25/02/2024, 12:36 PM
Not going to lie - took me a while to spot what you were talking about!
25/02/2024, 12:48 PM
great header
25/02/2024, 12:54 PM
Winner, winner…
Can feel the Weldoninhio fume from here
joey B
25/02/2024, 12:57 PM
Nice finish from him for the second goal!
25/02/2024, 1:00 PM
Best 2 goals of his career imho. Not by themselves (good goals but nothing extraordinary) but in overall context - of both the game and how he needs to make an impact quickly. Just brilliant. Exactly what his Celtic career needs. Instant respect rather than scepticism.
25/02/2024, 1:00 PM
Nice finish for the winner
25/02/2024, 1:01 PM
Winner, winner…
Can feel the Weldoninhio fume from herefair question to ask: would Oh have had the same impact?
Eirambler
25/02/2024, 1:21 PM
Winner, winner…
Poor lad must be seriously conflicted this afternoon after that!
Fair play to Idah - granted Motherwell are League 2 standard, but given the circumstances - on at half time, Celtic behind in the game, looking like falling further behind in the title race, supporters far from convinced with him as a signing, a serious high pressure situation - scoring both the equaliser and injury time winner is a significant accomplishment.
Not sure what it says about the current state of Celtic that Norwich's third pick centre forward is rescuing them against Motherwell, but for Idah himself it's a big step forward.
I only watched the last 10 minutes as I slept in a bit this morning but he played very well it has to be said. The winning goal was a fine finish given the narrative around him alright.
They broke before the third goal and he did really well to retain the ball with some close passing then instead of a head down run towards the goal, he carried the ball to the corner flag and killed 20-30 seconds before winning a throw. Fans seemed to really respond to that too.
25/02/2024, 2:09 PM
Being very harsh but I'd have liked to have seen him attack the 6 yard box when Maeda drilled in a low cross on around 65/70 mins. For some (e.g., Ferguson maybe?) that's instinct but it's also improvable with good coaching. This guy could thrive with a specialist striker coach.
Worth commenting on the athleticism of his leap for the header too, not just the header itself.
Yeah agree him not getting on the Maeda cross should probably be considered a miss even though it wasn't an actual shot.
Absolutely delighted for him to get the injury time winner though to completely shift the narrative around him.
Say what you want around the standard in Scotland but you can't deny the pressure he's under playing as the 9 at Celtic. I just want to see him starting week in week out now and hit the 10 goal mark for the season.
25/02/2024, 4:15 PM
Say what you want around the standard in Scotland but you can't deny the pressure he's under playing as the 9 at Celtic. I just want to see him starting week in week out now and hit the 10 goal mark for the season.
Yep - bit like Kelleher playing the odd Cup game for Liverpool that they're not really that worried about. It's still pressure; just a different kind of pressure
third policeman
25/02/2024, 4:25 PM
Yep - bit like Kelleher playing the odd Cup game for Liverpool that they're not really that worried about. It's still pressure; just a different kind of pressure
Uniquely badly timed comparison. Guess you’re not watching then.
25/02/2024, 4:39 PM
Well ok - not an ideal day for it. But I remember the same point being made about Kelleher last year, that he wasn't playing any pressure games. I didn't agree with that, and the same holds for Idah playing SPL.
Eirambler
25/02/2024, 5:07 PM
Uniquely badly timed comparison. Guess you’re not watching then.
To be fair the fact that Kelleher would have started this game even if Alisson had been fit kind of tells its own story, well and all as he did today.
weldoninhio
26/02/2024, 8:11 AM
Winner, winner…
Was in bed with the mother of all hangovers, so didn't see the game. 2 decent goals, but one swallow (game) doesn't make a summer.
26/02/2024, 8:44 AM
Was in bed with the mother of all hangovers, so didn't see the game. 2 decent goals, but one swallow (game) doesn't make a summer.
What about the other two, and the assist, he's gotten in the five games he's played for Celtic?