View Full Version : Adam Idah F. Celtic b.2001

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

elatedscum
15/08/2024, 12:39 AM
Yeah I heard that, he must have been using a VPN or something. He was committed to the bit if nothing else, a very special kind of weirdo ;)

When I was growing up in the Galway there was a lad that used to go around town thinking he was Elvis, maybe yer man really thought he was Argentinian!

Must have been posting from Argentina. Cause don’t believe he proactively used a VPN in advance of posting thinking that someone might go back to his first posts and check the IP.

I know 2 lads from Dublin living in Buenos Aires - who both moved their independent of each other. I’m sure there’s plenty of Irish lads there. It’s unbelievable how cheap everything is there. You could genuinely live well for about €100 a month. I remember in 2019 eating in a really highly regard parilla that Maradona used to go to all the time and U2 had been and Carlos Valderama and Metallica and so on. Had a 3 course meal for 2 people with fillet and ribeye and the whole meal ended up less than €20, was wild…

Could also just be someone from Argentina with issues… I met a few lads from Chile and Argentina while in South America who had distant ancestors who were Irish - and were passionately irish or whatever - and in Argentina there was a bond over struggles against the Brits, Che and so on…

He’s probably Irish and it’s probably a bit but I also don’t think it’s that unlikely that there’s some football obsessed Argentinian out there, who’s latched on the something as a form of obsession…

Probably doesn’t even matter if he’s real or not, attack the post not the poster etc etc

Razors left peg
15/08/2024, 1:32 AM
Ah in this one case I think attacking the poster is fair game LOL.

15/08/2024, 6:56 AM
Mainly because it was usually impossible to attack the post because it was impossible to work out what the actual point of it was

Olé Olé
21/08/2024, 8:18 PM
Man City heavily linked with Kyogo...

seanfhear
22/08/2024, 10:41 AM
Man City heavily linked with Kyogo...
That could be big dough !

Rayzor
22/08/2024, 11:29 AM
That could be big dough !

Doubt it, he's hitting 30, the celtic board seem to love building up cash reserves, think they'll accept 15m while hoping for 20.

Eirambler
25/08/2024, 12:32 PM
Still doesn't look fully match fit - not ideal ahead of the September games with Ferguson likely out also.

25/08/2024, 12:52 PM
Thankfully he's getting the bit of game time, might make all the difference for in a few weeks.

14/09/2024, 5:01 PM
Still to get off the mark on his return to Celtic - he thought he had broken the duck late on against Hearts today, but VAR ruled it out because Palma was offside.

Champions League against Slovan next up.

Razors left peg
18/09/2024, 8:55 PM
Got a lovely goal in Champions League tonight... but deep down hes still regretting not getting that big move to Sunderland or Middlesborough I think

18/09/2024, 9:16 PM

18/09/2024, 9:59 PM

joey B
19/09/2024, 12:20 AM
Great to see himself and Scales playing and scoring in the Champions League,we need a lot more of our players to start playing Champions League football if we want to improve…..

elatedscum
19/09/2024, 3:24 AM
Good run, nice finish. Lovely pass to Idah to create the chance.

It’s not a bad team that 11. John O’Shea in goal is the obvious shout but I think maybe Darron Gibson, 6 foot tall and I think he played some GAA as a kid.

Gibson

Irwin
O’Shea
Scales
Harte

McGeady
Roy
Miller
Duff

Idah
Robbie

19/09/2024, 6:05 PM

Balls-ie have just plain ripped me off in the second half of this article
(Using archive.ph so they don't get any traffic!)
https://archive.ph/5i9Sr

22/09/2024, 3:31 PM
Two goals in a minute as Celtic go from being 2-1 down at home to Falkirk in the League Cup to 3-2 up. Still 10 to play there.

seanfhear
22/09/2024, 3:47 PM
5-2 to Celtic now with injury time to play.

Snapshot
22/09/2024, 4:00 PM
Falkirk.

seanfhear
22/09/2024, 4:06 PM
Falkirk.Church-Fall.

Razors left peg
22/09/2024, 6:20 PM
Falkirk.

Very observant, you win a cookie

CraftyToePoke
22/09/2024, 6:57 PM
Falkirk.

Where were you the other night when it took him less than ten minutes to register at Champions League level ?

We needed to know who the opposition were & where were you ?

22/09/2024, 7:32 PM
Falkirk.
The same Falkirk that have won five out of five in the Scottish Championship this season, went unbeaten in Scottish League One last season, and knocked out Premiership side Hearts in the last round of the the League Cup?
That Falkirk?

22/09/2024, 7:48 PM
Ah in fairness tets, let's not start talking up unbeaten seasons in the Scottish Third Tier as if it makes them an impressive team. Conor Sammon scored twice against them in the last game of last season for example.

For Idah, it's two goals at a time they were needed (which is good) against a side who'd certainly be English fourth tier at best; maybe even non-league (which is worth pointing out).

And if it helps him develop a goalscoring habit, then I'm fine with him scoring against sides like Falkirk when the chips are down.

Razors left peg
22/09/2024, 7:55 PM
We have a lovely habit of trying to justify every decent performance. We all know that football throws up strange cup results and lower division teams can beat better ones. That's a relatively good lower division Scottish team who Celtic were in a difficult spot against until Idah got the goals. He has a nice habit of getting some timely important goals since he went there last season. It ok to enjoy and not have the constant navel gazing of trying to assess just how much it matters cos of the standard of the opposition.

22/09/2024, 8:04 PM
I think it's perfectly reasonable to note the opposition. It's a fairly big factor like.

Razors left peg
22/09/2024, 8:07 PM
I think it's perfectly reasonable to note the opposition. It's a fairly big factor like.

Yeah but if he didn't score against them there'd be complaints too

CraftyToePoke
22/09/2024, 8:14 PM
The point here isn't Falkirk lads, they're weak by comparison and he'd need to be scoring against them. The point is how absolutely low & lousy it was to pop up here today with that contribution while ignoring the lads goal in the CL in midweek.

22/09/2024, 8:21 PM
Yeah but if he didn't score against them there'd be complaints too
If you're going into hypotheticals, it's probably a sign your argument isn't great too begin with...

I think Crafty's point is much more reasonable

Razors left peg
22/09/2024, 8:26 PM
If you're going into hypotheticals, it's probably a sign your argument isn't great too begin with...

I think Crafty's point is much more reasonable

Huh? My point is simple, there are those that complain no matter what he does. We are allowed to fcukin enjoy him scoring no matter who it's against

22/09/2024, 8:37 PM
We are allowed to fcukin enjoy him scoring no matter who it's against
Yep - and we're also allowed point out that tets' post wasn't quite the gotcha he thought it was, and that the standard of the opposition is absolutely worth a mention.

Razors left peg
22/09/2024, 8:47 PM
Yep - and we're also allowed point out that tets' post wasn't quite the gotcha he thought it was, and that the standard of the opposition is absolutely worth a mention.

Glad you put him in his place, fair play to you.

Snapshot
23/09/2024, 5:20 AM
The point here isn't Falkirk lads, they're weak by comparison and he'd need to be scoring against them. The point is how absolutely low & lousy it was to pop up here today with that contribution while ignoring the lads goal in the CL in midweek.
My comment was Falkirk related. I agree it's better to score against Falkirk than not score against Falkirk.

And fair play to Adam for CL goal, despite playing just 14 minutes.

But, again, while scoring against Slovan Bratislava is infinitely better than not scoring against Slovan Bratislava, it was hardly seismic given Slovan are 45 places behind Celtic in EUFA's ten-year club rankings and Slovakia is seven adrift of Scotland in the associations list.

Sadly, despite Falkirk's burgeoning status as the raging bull of SPFL, they fail to get a ranking. Now that's low and lousy.

Eirambler
23/09/2024, 6:39 AM
I think the two goals were more impressive when looked at in the context of the situation Celtic were in than in terms of the opposition. A team that's winning away from home against much stronger opposition are going to pack the defence and be hard to break down. He managed it twice in two minutes to turn the game around. The second goal in particular was impressive. I would actually rank those higher than the Champions League goal given that the CL game was already won when he scored.

As always the impressive thing about scoring goals for Celtic isn't the standard of opposition you're scoring against (usually weak), it's being able to take the pressure and responsibility of being in a team and in front of a crowd where you're expected to score, and being able to deliver the expectations.

23/09/2024, 7:40 AM
FWIW, this blogger reckons Falkirk gave Celtic their toughest game this season
https://anordinarybhoy.wordpress.com/2024/09/22/we-got-there-in-the-end-but-not-before-the-introduction-of-the-big-guns/

23/09/2024, 9:20 AM
Do you reckon it being largely Celtic's second string had anything to do with that? They made eight changes for the game.

Seriously, let's not talk Falkirk up beyond their station. As I said, Idah has matched what Conor Sammon did in May.

Eirambler has it right when he references (as I did in my original post) the situation Celtic were in at the time. Of course, Idah had been on the pitch the previous hour as well - flicking through the Celtic forum, one of their takeaways is maybe their strength in depth isn't great, and Idah could easily have been one of the four players to come off on the hour mark as he hadn't played well to that point. Then it's a different story of course. Of course he did stay on, and he did score twice - such are the vagaries of football. General impressions are it was Kuhn who really turned things around (two goals and two assists after coming on).

And the other thing to take is that Auston Trusty made his first start, and again if the comments about the game showing up Celtic's lack of strength in depth are correct (and there's an awful lot of whiny Celtic fans), then I'd take it Scales' place in the starting XI isn't under immediate threat either, which is no harm.

CraftyToePoke
23/09/2024, 4:48 PM
And fair play to Adam for CL goal, despite playing just 14 minutes.

There it is there, bit of balance, bit of fairness and basic decency towards a fellow human. Even if it had to be dragged & shamed out of you, you did get there. Fair play.

23/09/2024, 4:53 PM
Falkirk.

Only one Irish player appears to have played for them: Patrick Cregg, apart from the DUP's Sammy Wilson https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Falkirk_F.C._players

elatedscum
23/09/2024, 5:18 PM
Only one Irish player appears to have played for them: Patrick Cregg, apart from the DUP's Sammy Wilson https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Falkirk_F.C._players

There were 3 ex arsenal lads there at the same time: Anto Stokes, Patrick Cregg and Stephen O'Donnell. Might have been others too but those I can remember off the top of my head... <update: Graham Barrett was also there>

Stephen Bradley, also ex-Arsenal was also there a season later. So at least 5 ex-Arsenal Irish lads

Razors left peg
23/09/2024, 6:58 PM

Steve O'Donnell and Patrick Cregg played against Celtic the night Roy Keane got his only Celtic goal. I was at it and I remember Steve O'Donnell swapped shirts with Roy.... the random sh1t you remember sometimes is funny ;)

liamoo11
23/09/2024, 7:40 PM
There were 3 ex arsenal lads there at the same time: Anto Stokes, Patrick Cregg and Stephen O'Donnell. Might have been others too but those I can remember off the top of my head... <update: Graham Barrett was also there>

Stephen Bradley, also ex-Arsenal was also there a season later. So at least 5 ex-Arsenal Irish lads

Stokes had a great run there on loan scored a serious amount of goals was very exciting on here at the time

Snapshot
23/09/2024, 10:24 PM
There it is there, bit of balance, bit of fairness and basic decency towards a fellow human. Even if it had to be dragged & shamed out of you, you did get there. Fair play.Tacky. St Johnstone and Ross County next up. It doesn’t get much better than that.

Razors left peg
23/09/2024, 10:48 PM
Tacky. St Johnstone and Ross County next up. It doesn’t get much better than that.

Factually incorrect..... Dortmund are in between those two games, or do you not count them because they arent as good as Bayern Munich?

24/09/2024, 10:35 AM
Lads, get a room. The sexual tension isn't fun for the rest of us to see.

24/09/2024, 11:04 AM

There were at least 24 Irish former Falkirk players according to Transfermarkt, including Jaze Kabia, Aiden Keena, Connor Sammon, Alan Maybury, Danny Rogers, Shane Supple, Alan Kernaghan, Dave McMillan.

24/09/2024, 11:23 AM
The list OwlsFan mentions is notable Falkirk players - 100 or more appearances or international caps while at the club.

Should have remembered Sammon and McMillan myself obviously. Alan Kernaghan isn't one I'd have thought of though!

24/09/2024, 12:29 PM
Lads, get a room. The sexual tension isn't fun for the rest of us to see.Imho John, an early reprimand for Snapshot would be more appropriate. It has been normal practice to update goals or appearances for any Irish international player on this site since it began. Against good teams or bad teams, it doesn’t matter.

Stu deserved better than the childish sneer in response. The post was worth making.

24/09/2024, 12:31 PM
He did. And yet any kind of actual moderation gets whinging from certain people. So I'll just gently mock him for now, unless he escallates the behaviour.

Eirambler
24/09/2024, 12:43 PM
Stokes had a great run there on loan scored a serious amount of goals was very exciting on here at the time

Falkirk FC would have a reputation in Scotland as being a bit "Rangery", so it's somewhat ironic that it was one of the more successful clubs in the storied career of Anto Stokes, given some of his reported links.

Snapshot
24/09/2024, 1:24 PM
He did. And yet any kind of actual moderation gets whinging from certain people. So I'll just gently mock him for now, unless he escallates the behaviour.In which post am I alleged to have sneered at Stu? Which Stu?

24/09/2024, 1:56 PM
Lads, get a room. The sexual tension isn't fun for the rest of us to see.

speak for yourself.