View Full Version : Eurovision Uberthread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

19/05/2006, 12:06 PM
ya it looked like a priest alright......

19/05/2006, 12:07 PM
Yeah but your man is a cünt and I don't think he#s in on the joke...

19/05/2006, 1:12 PM
surely 16 is still considered a kid ??

Daz Automatic's legal team have assured him that it isn't.

19/05/2006, 3:07 PM
here i think i might like this song cos im a metaller, anyone know where it is?

btw the uk entry is ur man who did the remix of out of touch by uniting nations and also kung fu fighting. he also did a remix of rhinestone cowboy.

he is dead serious and htinks that jemini were found out and he is going to be really good and get loads of votes. he sounded like a right ****.

19/05/2006, 3:14 PM
i like the lithuanian entry i think it was the one with "we are the winners of the eurovision" !

19/05/2006, 3:27 PM
Didn't see the songs but saw the announcment of the qualifiers.

Marty Whelan would definitely have burst into tears if we hadn't gone through:D You could feel his pain each time another country bar Ireland was called out.

The presenters are hilarious/brutal even though she's a babe

19/05/2006, 4:03 PM
The presenters are hilarious/brutal even though she's a babe
She's an actress, it seems: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1172764/

EDIT: Mostly a TV presenter, it seems.

20/05/2006, 6:55 AM
To qualify this year, for next year's final, you must:

Finish in the top ten countries of the final or,

If France, UK, Germany, and/or Spain finish in the top ten, another spot will be created for a qualifier next year, so in theory we could finish in 14th place in the final and still qualify for the final next year.

e.g., In 2003, we finished 12th in Eurovision, but as Germany and Spain finished above us, they opened up 2 qualifying spots down the line, and Mickey Harte claimed the final 2004 qualifying spot for Ireland, by scoring 8 more points than 13th-placed Holland.

Regarding this year's semi-final, there was as usual the good, the bad, and Finland; a stomach-turning act, with a song which should be automatically disqualified from the contest for offensive lyrics, and on taste grounds. :mad:

Very disappointed that Kate Ryan failed to qualify for Belgium, as it was one of the best songs this year. Disaster for Monaco too, as any hope of it qualifying vanished when the song was performed wildly out-of-tune. :(

Eimear Quinn will announce the result of the Irish televote during the voting, for countries who received 8, 10, and 12 points ONLY. Turkey is the last of the 39 countries to announce their results, they and the two countries before them will announce it, in the traditional 1-12 manner.

20/05/2006, 7:52 AM
Qualifying predictions for Eurovision Song Contest Final 2007:

Switzerland - No
Moldova - Yes
Israel - No
Latvia - No
Norway - No
Denmark - No
Russia - No
Macedonia - Yes
Romania - Yes
Bosnia - Yes
Lithuania- Yes
Greece - Yes
Finland - Yes
Ukraine - Yes
Croatia - No
Ireland - No
Sweden - Yes
Turkey - No
Armenia - Yes

20/05/2006, 12:34 PM
I'm rooting for Lithuania, deadly song:D.

20/05/2006, 9:07 PM
Regarding this year's semi-final, there was as usual the good, the bad, and Finland; a stomach-turning act, with a song which should be automatically disqualified ...... on taste grounds. :mad:

Very disappointed that Kate Ryan failed to qualify for Belgium, as it was one of the best songs this year.

*deja vu*

Good Ol' Eurovision....:cool: :D

20/05/2006, 10:23 PM
going by the reaction of the crowd, i have a feeling they will do very well ! if they get through I would nearly but a beat on them in pp, but would have to get the missus to go in a do it !!!:D

WOOOO HOOOOOO GO Lordi !!!! E100 at 12/1 easy money

shedite
20/05/2006, 10:26 PM
Finland won!

Absolutley priceless :D Actually not a bad old tune. I think the costumes put everyone off but if the same song had been sung by a nice clean cut band it would probably have been pretty good anyway. Loads of people would have voted for the stupid factor though. That Latvia (?) song, "We are the winners" finished about 6th too. I'd much prefer a eurovision of funny songs like that than that Brain Kennedy style crap!

And before anyone says anything, I am in the middle of my finals at college so couldn't go out to celebrate the Munster win, and only watchedbits of the eurovision, flicking over from the City/Derry match every so ofter.

20/05/2006, 11:34 PM
Lithuanian song was the best by far, got 12 points from Ireland and 10 from UK, must have gone down well so:D

20/05/2006, 11:50 PM
Brian Kennedy did well in Monaco, 10 points as far as I can remember:eek:.

Cant believe we gave UK 8 points, we don't normally go that high:o.

21/05/2006, 12:32 AM
Congratulations to Brian Kennedy and the Irish team for clinching the final qualifying spot for the Eurovision Song Contest 2007. :) He finished in 10th place with 93 points, 2 points clear of Turkey in 11th.

In the semi-final, Ireland finished in 9th place scoring 79 points. Poland finished 11th, Belgium in 12th, Iceland were 13th, and Andorra were 23rd with just 8 points.

21/05/2006, 5:27 AM
Ireland's successful Eurovision this year, was overshadowed by the vulgar, noise-pollution winning entry from Finland, which is one of the worst acts in Eurovision history. It baffles me to think that the EBU rebuked the Icelandic entrant for using foul language, but freely permit a tasteless act to sing vulgar lyrics, as Finland have done. This is a song contest, not a horror movie. The rules must be changed to ensure that any copycat entries of Finland are disqualified from the contest in future. :mad:

21/05/2006, 5:30 AM
Ireland's successful Eurovision this year, was overshadowed by the vulgar, noise-pollution winning entry from Finland, which is one of the worst acts in Eurovision history. It baffles me to think that the EBU rebuked the Icelandic entrant for using foul language, but freely permit a tasteless act to sing vulgar lyrics, as Finland have done. This is a song contest, not a horror movie. The rules must be changed to ensure that any copycat entries of Finland are disqualified from the contest in future.

onenilgameover
21/05/2006, 8:06 AM
Ireland's successful Eurovision this year, was overshadowed by the vulgar, noise-pollution winning entry from Finland, which is one of the worst acts in Eurovision history. It baffles me to think that the EBU rebuked the Icelandic entrant for using foul language, but freely permit a tasteless act to sing vulgar lyrics, as Finland have done. This is a song contest, not a horror movie. The rules must be changed to ensure that any copycat entries of Finland are disqualified from the contest in future.

ah here...tis funny is all...didnt get my vote though... thought the boz and hertz song was good....

21/05/2006, 9:24 AM
Well done Lordi! Take that grannies!

21/05/2006, 11:20 AM
what were the vulgar lyrics lordi sang? GO FINLAND:)

Is there a rule that states that only songs that certain people like are only allowed to be peformed?

21/05/2006, 11:35 AM
Ireland's successful Eurovision this year, was overshadowed by the vulgar, noise-pollution winning entry from Finland, which is one of the worst acts in Eurovision history. It baffles me to think that the EBU rebuked the Icelandic entrant for using foul language, but freely permit a tasteless act to sing vulgar lyrics, as Finland have done. This is a song contest, not a horror movie. The rules must be changed to ensure that any copycat entries of Finland are disqualified from the contest in future. :mad:

Jeesis Mypost are you still pussin?

What happened last night was actually seismic in a way. Fcuk the silly bloated competition ...that's still a silly bloated competition for gobshytes who'll go back to singing Rhinestone Cowboy at wedding receptions next week.

But what actually happened last night -on a pan European scale -was that an ugly side of conservatism and traditionalism got a mighty fong in the cajólés.

Will those who go in for this thing get the message? Like fcuk they will. Next year you'll have Halloween in May with countless eejits in fancy dress left wondering why they got 'null pwah' and completely missing the point.

Lordi, having broadened the scope of what is an acceptable song*, have inspired me ...next year I'm entering Eurothing and my entry will comprise a small cardboard box with the word 'Song' written on it. Let's push the envelope people ....:D

*...they haven't broadened much actually -it's really just a def leppard-ish dirge with a few Rob Zombie growly vocals chucked in.

21/05/2006, 11:42 AM
Can I be part of your band Lionel? I have a dustbin lid and wooden spoon I could use !:)

anto eile
21/05/2006, 12:42 PM
surely 16 is still considered a kid or am i getting old ??
not really,after all its legal in england

were tatu over 16 when they represented russia a few years ago??

21/05/2006, 1:58 PM
Lighten up

21/05/2006, 3:35 PM

Brian you did your best and you did yourself proud. Don't worry about anyone else :p

21/05/2006, 3:49 PM
ah here...tis funny is all.

If you want a laugh, you'll find it in comedy clubs. Eurovision is a glorified concert, and at concerts, you sing, not laugh. It's also a family show, and Lordi's act/song is unsuitable for family viewing, and should therefore be disqualified from Eurovision. :mad:

21/05/2006, 4:15 PM
It got the most votes.
It must have suited most viewers.
Now Brian Kennedys song, that should have been acompanied with a certificate of caution.
Get up off your knee Brian.

finlma
21/05/2006, 4:30 PM

Are you for real? That is the saddest post in the existence of foot.ie. The Eurovision has nothing to do with music. If you think thats music then you have the same taste as a man with no tongue.
Fair play to Lordi for ripping the p1ss out of the Eurovision and winning me a nice bit of cash.

Brian Kennedy beaten by a monster and a novelty song - couldn't have wished any more for that smug b@stard.

Hope to see more monster based entries and p1ss takes in the future to show the Eurovision for what it really is.

21/05/2006, 5:48 PM
What in the name of hell were they thinking (http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2-2006220698,00.html) ?
We're going to win this competition.;)

shedite
21/05/2006, 6:17 PM
Anybody think it was honestly a decent song? Of the lot, the Finish one is probably the best song. Sure the performance, was funny, but if you heard that song being played by someone like the Chilli Peppers it probably isn't that bad.

21/05/2006, 6:42 PM
Anybody think it was honestly a decent song?
Sadly enough, yes. I actually thought that was one of the most entertaining Eurovisions in general in years. Some hilarious stuff in there, plus of course the return of Terry Wogan (thought he retired from Eurovision a year or two ago?).

The Lithuanian one was the "We are the winners of Eurovision" one - anyone else think it actually got booed when it finished, in between the standard autocue-d massive cheer?

And what was the story with the Dutch lad giving out his mobile phone number?! "Oh yes, it's 69 69 69" :eek: The German presenter on the horse and full cowboy gear (just like the entrants), the really boring Polish lad going "And the 12 points go to...Polandonlykiddingit'sGreece", the Cypriot lad singing the 12 points - must actually get a few cans and a full house next time and try and enjoy the show properly! :D

21/05/2006, 6:42 PM
Ya,great song.

21/05/2006, 6:46 PM
It baffles me to think that the EBU[...]freely permit a tasteless act to sing vulgar lyrics, as Finland have done.
What vulgar lyrics were these? Or is your sense of humour that badly developed?

LeixlipRed
22/05/2006, 2:05 AM

I bet you your the sort of guy that thinks the Da Vinci code is blasphemous right?? i've never read such crap in my life. i was reading it just presuming that the smilie at the end hadnt loaded. but no your serious! ffs, the guys just dressed up like klingons and the last time i looked star trek wasnt a horror film. you need to get out more and stop staying in watching 15 year old reruns of live at 3 with derek and thelma

22/05/2006, 9:06 AM
Can I be part of your band Lionel? I have a dustbin lid and wooden spoon I could use !

...and why not.:cool:

I forgot to mention - I won 70 bucks thanks to Finland as well.

Also I'd like join in congratulating Brian Kennedy on a herculean effort but alas it wasn't to be as Turkey couldn't conjure up 3 more measley points.

Still though -no fault to Brian. If I'd been offered the prospect of Ireland finishing some 150-odd points behind the eventual winner I'd have verily bit the hand off. Well done Brian -couldn't have asked for more.:D :cool:

22/05/2006, 11:52 AM
mypost, are you a devout Christian by any chance?

22/05/2006, 12:09 PM
If you want a laugh, you'll find it in comedy clubs. Eurovision is a glorified concert, and at concerts, you sing, not laugh. It's also a family show, and Lordi's act/song is unsuitable for family viewing, and should therefore be disqualified from Eurovision. :mad:

Eurovision is both seen and structures more as a cabaret than a concert - in which case Lordi's presdence was very fitting.

As for the famile show nonsense - Dr Who is scarier.

I think that sense of humour by-pass operation is proving to be a mistake Mypost... :p

22/05/2006, 12:34 PM
The Lithuanian one was the "We are the winners of Eurovision" one - anyone else think it actually got booed when it finished, in between the standard autocue-d massive cheer?

And what was the story with the Dutch lad giving out his mobile phone number?! "Oh yes, it's 69 69 69" :eek:

The Lithuanian song defiitely got booed in the hall. There were also boos when anyone (like Ireland:D ) gave it high votes.

The Dutch vote guy and the Greek presenter got really narky with each other.

But the Dutch guy was spot on. When I first saw the presenters I thought "Will & Grace".

A final thought.

If we ever win it again how about Podge & Rodge to present it?

Mad Moose
22/05/2006, 2:23 PM
Congratulations to Brian Kennedy on winning for Ireland the Eurovision Song Contest for the countries record 8th time. This was the message from the department of Arts, Sport and Culture minister John O'Donoghue. This press release came out on Saturday 20th May 2006. Not sure if anyone heard this today but the press release was read to the Joe Duffy show on RTE Radio 1 this afternoon.

Brendan

22/05/2006, 2:29 PM
My God, he needs to go to a beautician and get those broken veins seen to if that was he :eek: .

carrickharp
22/05/2006, 2:30 PM
My God, he needs to go to a beautician and get those broken veins seen to if that was he :eek: .
Thought he mended myself!!

Mad Moose
22/05/2006, 5:04 PM
Goes to show how pathetic the government really is. This press release congratulating Brian Kennedy was prepared even before the ridiculous competition took place and went up on the department's website and has been subsequently removed. How pathetic, they had prepared a well done and how brilliant Brian's performance was. Even had he won it who really cares. The competition is a joke and the songs do not matter because you have geographical and political voting. More alarmingly the Irish voters (who would bother) voted I heard today for Lithuania with their ironic effort 'We are the winners'. Now if that wasn't a joke then this country has gone down the pan entirely, at least when it comes to taste.

Brendan

22/05/2006, 5:15 PM
I actually liked brian's song, even though the backing singers were so old-fashioned, they could have picked a few flesh-revealing young wans to reel in a few extra points. didn't i tell ya mypost, you were so wrong AS USUAL about our brian :rolleyes: thinking that those geeks last year cold have done better :rolleyes:

There were some God-awful songs this year, eg Romania, Armenia, France(yawn) and Spain,, those witchy sounding Las Ketchup dung :eek:

22/05/2006, 5:17 PM
Goes to show how pathetic the government really is. This press release congratulating Brian Kennedy was prepared even before the ridiculous competition took place and went up on the department's website and has been subsequently removed. How pathetic, they had prepared a well done and how brilliant Brian's performance was. Even had he won it who really cares. The competition is a joke and the songs do not matter because you have geographical and political voting. More alarmingly the Irish voters (who would bother) voted I heard today for Lithuania with their ironic effort 'We are the winners'. Now if that wasn't a joke then this country has gone down the pan entirely, at least when it comes to taste.

Brendan

You eejit, have you not noticed how many Lithuanians are in Ireland lately. Usually Poland gets a high vote from Ireland but they did not qualify for final :D

TheOwl
22/05/2006, 5:29 PM
I think it is funny how political it all is - take the Top 3 from this year

1. Finland (Scandinavian country)

Votes from other Scandinavian countries
Norway 12 points
Denmark 12 points
Sweden 12 points
Iceland 12 points

2. Russia (former Soviet country)

Votes from other former Soviet countries
Belarus 12
Estonia 10
Latvia 12
Lithuania 12
Ukraine 12
Moldova 10
Armenia 12

3. Bosnia (for Yugoslav country)

Votes from other former Yugoslav countries
Croatia 12
FYR Macedonia 12
Serbia and Montenegro 12
Slovenia 12

22/05/2006, 5:32 PM
I think it is funny how political it all is - take the Top 3 from this year

1. Finland (Scandinavian country)

Votes from other Scandinavian countries
Norway 12 points
Denmark 12 points
Sweden 12 points
Iceland 12 points

2. Russia (former Soviet country)

Votes from other former Soviet countries
Belarus 12
Estonia 10
Latvia 12
Lithuania 12
Ukraine 12
Moldova 10
Armenia 12

3. Bosnia (for Yugoslav country)

Votes from other former Yugoslav countries
Croatia 12
FYR Macedonia 12
Serbia and Montenegro 12
Slovenia 12

Jesus, there are no flies on you! :rolleyes: :D

TheOwl
22/05/2006, 5:43 PM
Jesus, there are no flies on you! :rolleyes: :D

Haha - the research was done to prove a point to my Russian friend, who was boasting about their strong performance!!!

Mad Moose
22/05/2006, 5:45 PM
You eejit, have you not noticed how many Lithuanians are in Ireland lately. Usually Poland gets a high vote from Ireland but they did not qualify for final :D

I believe we didn't get many votes from Poland but as I said it doesn't matter an awful lot.The whole thing is a joke. Def Leppard probably deserved it in the end.

Green Tribe (Why didn't you go for Stans Tribe) I'm reading a book based so far on you location. Iain Banks 'Raw Spirit' and its pretty witty stuff. Well I was reading it and then I picked up 'Pointless' A season with East Stirling. Pretty enjoyable read. On Raw Spirit though I would have to consider it more entertaining than watching that joke the Eurovision.

p.s I've been trying this last while to get my name changed so I'm away to the support forum'

Brendan

22/05/2006, 6:28 PM
mypost, are you a devout Christian by any chance?No, he's a troll, and he's not long for Foot.ie.