View Full Version : Eurovision Uberthread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

Gerrit
18/05/2005, 4:55 PM
The Greek one is not bad, though not the type I would run after... Skin a little too tanned for me, not a goth type at all. But may suit if I have a lonely night during a travel to Greece :)

As for the site "All Kinds of Everything": nice part with all Irish ex-participants.

This reminds me of the days when I gambled on the Eurovision contest. Eimaer Quinn's "The Voice" is one of my favourite entry's ever and I was one of the only Belgians who liked the song in advance (i was in trance from the first time I heard it) and one of the only ones that was hoping for an Irish win. This said, the bookmaker in town didn't like me at all the day after when entering his shop :D

I used the same tactics the year after: one bet on the likely winner, one on the country I liked best myself. The year before I had luck with Eimaer Quinn, the year itself my favourite was Finland and it ended somewhere around 17th spot. As the expected winner didn't win at all, it was bye-bye to my cash...

The year after I kinda expected Katrina & The Waves to win, but after the nasty experience the year before I didn't dare to make a bet again... Damn!

I think The Mullans' "When you need me" was a decent entry from Ireland as well, a bit underrated and finished way too love. I also liked Mark Roberts' "Mysterious woman", and my mom was heavily supporting "Is always over now" from Dawn.

I think there's a site as well where you can download all songs that ever entered the actual contest, but I'm not sure of the URL and if the site still exists.

The guy is in Ukraine now ?

Friends of mine, a gay couple in Holland, have been to some ESC finals as well. They are collectors and buy every single CD, single-CD and compilation album of every single ESC participator. Their apartment is filled with over 10000 records of Eurovision alone !

They're also within the Belgian and Dutch ESC fanclubs, of which coincidentially (?) 80% of the members is homosexual... A gay club in disguise it is ! :eek:

As for Donna McCaul, she's more likely to be a contender for the Barbara Dex award, for the worst-dressed performer. That is a real award. She might be beaten to it however by Malta's Chiara, who is a Mary Harney lookalike singing a ballad alone, therby guaranteeing zero chance of winning for her country, who normally send good songs, and do well in the contest. Well, Malta has to be good at something!!! :D

Barbara Dex... Everytime the Flemish enter a song they're way behind in today's music tendencies, but still everytime everyone thinks they'll win straight away. Afterwards the complot theories come up of Eastern European countries having some bizarre anti-Belgian complot... Lisa Del Bo and Barbara Dex got very good comments in advance, but I wonder why. Their songs may have scored well if they came 15 years earlier, but were not according to the Eurovision trends at those times.

I did like some of the Walloon's entries a lot. "La voix est libre" by Frederic Etherlinck (1994) was IMO the best Belgian entry of the past 15 years and had deserved much much more than the mid-table spot it finished on... "Sanomi" of Urban Trad finished second, the closest we came to victory since Sandra Kim actually won for Belgium in 1986. Urban Trad did a very original song and they fully deserved their credits I think. "Nous on veut des violons" by Morgane (1992) could have scored very well but the background orchestra ruined the song unfortunately :(

18/05/2005, 5:38 PM
and also because the thread is likely to remain longer in here, than if it was in OT.

On a lighter note, Greece's Helena Paparizou is one of the favourites to become EBC winner (Eurovision Beauty Champion) 2005, as well as win the contest itself. Her competition will mainly come from Russia's Natalia Paparizou, and Germany's Gracia. There are lots of glamourous foreign girls competing in Eurovision this year, unlike last year, when it was a male dominated event.

* Don't you know my reputation for keeping threads going? :D

* Are they sisters??? :confused: :D And here's me thinking you were taking this seriously :rolleyes: :D

Only kidding, truce?

18/05/2005, 5:38 PM
they could wel be sirhamish but the picture that is dated 1887 i always thought was from the first game played however they may have just made that up. i knw that it is one of the oldest clubs in the west.

staying on topic, who is the favourite to win the eurovision and where willl we come???

18/05/2005, 5:42 PM
. I also liked Mark Roberts' "Mysterious woman", and my mom was heavily supporting "Is always over now" from Dawn.

The guy is in Ukraine now ?

:

I liked that song too, he was a bit tasty as well :D It was a good song for that time as catchy ballads were the thing. Yeah, the guy is a big fan, he went out nearly a week ago, says on his website somewhere. Would love to go for one! Have you ever watched the contest on BBC, Gerrit, with that Brit-licking Irishman Terry Wogan? You have to, it is just so funny, his comments. It won't be the same when he quits, it is a bit of a cult in Australia now, he is a part of it!! :eek:

staying on topic, who is the favourite to win the eurovision and where willl we come???

Thank you Mr 'on-topic' O'Shea :D , I would love to see Poland win, I really love their song, gypsy style, hope they have plenty of good dancers. But not sure if they will win, but they have plenty of neighbours.

I don't think Greece will win, maybe come 2nd, I would prefer to hear it in Greek. Cyprus have a good chance, they will get the gay vote (which is big in eurovision) and the teeny bopper vote. It is a replica of Sakis(greece) shake your arse carry-on. shake-it shake-it. I liked it and him :o

I think Javine will come in the top 5, could even win it.

Ireland will get to the final and come.......10th :(

Gerrit
18/05/2005, 6:25 PM
I liked that song too, he was a bit tasty as well :D It was a good song for that time as catchy ballads were the thing. Yeah, the guy is a big fan, he went out nearly a week ago, says on his website somewhere. Would love to go for one! Have you ever watched the contest on BBC, Gerrit, with that Brit-licking Irishman Terry Wogan? You have to, it is just so funny, his comments. It won't be the same when he quits, it is a bit of a cult in Australia now, he is a part of it!! :eek:

Terry Wogan is a legend in Eurovision world :)

If I would go to Ukraine (I hope I will someday, but then to live there for a year, the former USSR is a very fascinating place !) I'd catch the festival yeah, but just for the ESC I don't think I'd spend that amount of cash. I will watch it in a pub most likely, same with Ireland-Israel as it seems it's a sold-out and as it seems black market will not be cheap this time :eek:

Mark Roberts had a great song. But he had the bad luck of coming in a very strong year. There was Ireland, Malta brought Debbie Scerri's "Let me fly" which was a good song (and raised many "in advance votes" via a great video full of firework tricks), the UK had Katrina & The Waves, and if I'm not mistaken it was the year Poland sent out Anna-Maria Jopek.

Anna-Maria Jopek was one of my all-time favourites. The video had a very mysterious thing (a bit goth even !) and the lyrics were awesome, if translated to English it was about "I may be just a little piece of sand, but I do exist and I'm there" (the song title "Ale Jestem" means "I exist"). And Anna-Maria was very good-looking as well...
She's still a star in Poland : www.annamariajopek.pl

Poland BTW which has had some very good entries yet, I'd say none of the new Eastern European members have brought so many good songs as Poland.
I liked their entry "I want to know my sin" by Kasia Kowalska in 1994. A very dramatic song, like taken away from a drama musical. I'd say it was more avant-garde, but it is difficult to put a genre on it. It was completely new to Eurovision standards, but she did a very good job ! www.kasiakowalska.pl (if not working try replacing .pl by .com.pl)

BTW, what did fellow Eurovision-watchers here think of TATU participating for Russia ?? It was so bizarre, the Belgian media didn't talk about the songs at all ; it was all about "will they do French kissing on stage or not ?" (the ESC committee had threatened Russian disqualification if they'd do). In the end they'd better had written a bit less about that and a bit more about the participating songs, as TATU behaved very well and did nothing shocking... Much a talk about nothing, and then they didn't even win the contest despite being the chat of the day all weeks before the actual contest.

18/05/2005, 6:45 PM
But not sure if they will win, but they have plenty of neighbours. #

that is another thing that annoyed me about the eurovision, the scandinivians sticking together, the balkans sticking together etc.

what i did find funny though was hte uk giving us a decent scoore and we hardly ever returned the compliment.

18/05/2005, 7:07 PM
(the song title "Ale Jestem" means "I exist"). .

right, cos literally it means 'but I am'. Poland (like a lot of countries should)should enter some traditional highland music, from the Tatras, I have been able to enjoy quite a lot of it (and the dancing, after a few okocim :o ) a few times when I have been in Zakopane + southern Poland. The clothes, music, dancing is great and very typical of a mountain area. I really loved it, so lively and original, but I suppose it wouldn't get the gay-pop vote, which is probably why Poland's 'Czarna Dziewczyna' will not do well, but I hope it does. Some of it is sung in Russian, love the sound of Russian :D

Glad Tatu did not win cos of all the publicity, that would have been pathetic

that is another thing that annoyed me about the eurovision, the scandinivians sticking together, the balkans sticking together etc.

what i did find funny though was hte uk giving us a decent scoore and we hardly ever returned the compliment.

True

Greece and Cyprus are the funniest though...you just know it is coming.
I think cos there are lots of Irish in the UK, that is why the Uk phone vote always favours us, and maybe cos as 2 islands stuck out on the west, there is the neighbourly thing.. :D

Gerrit
18/05/2005, 10:39 PM
right, cos literally it means 'but I am'. Poland (like a lot of countries should)should enter some traditional highland music, from the Tatras, I have been able to enjoy quite a lot of it (and the dancing, after a few okocim :o ) a few times when I have been in Zakopane + southern Poland. The clothes, music, dancing is great and very typical of a mountain area. I really loved it, so lively and original, but I suppose it wouldn't get the gay-pop vote, which is probably why Poland's 'Czarna Dziewczyna' will not do well, but I hope it does. Some of it is sung in Russian, love the sound of Russian :D

I like Poland yeah, would be interesting to make a good trip there. Cities like Krakow are even protected entirely as cultural heritage, makes me expect the best for a possible trip... And forgive me for this note, but I have never ever seen an ugly Polish girl yet. Man, talking of totty :eek: Maybe it's not a good idea for me or any single man to make that holiday, it could be bad for the heart...

As for the lack of Polish folk elements in the music: that goes for every country more or less. Ireland should enter a folk entry (except for Eimaer Quinn can't think of one) and preferably in Gaelige. The UK never ever even considered sending a band from the Scottish Highlands with some bagpipes music. Even countries such as Turkey sing in English nowadays...
Lebanon participates for the 1st time, I'm curious if they will keep the folk alive. Morocco participated once in 1980, they finished last spot if I remember this right, but I'd say it was more because of Europe not being used to this music. I appreciate Arab and oriental music and got some of it on CD, and though slightly more commercial than the true local folk, that Moroccon entry was far from bad.

I don't agree with the neighbours-favor-eachother thing. It's just normal. People from Latvia will have more contact with people from Estonia and Russia than with the average Portuguese or Icelandic citizen. Also, the general taste in music and culture will probably be more alike too in their fellow Baltic states, while people in e.g. Turkey or Ireland will probably have a different approach towards culture and music.
So I would say it's not that unnormal that the eastern countries 'favor' each other, I would not call it wrong. It's kinda logic, and admit: Scandinavians have been doing it for ages, Cyprus and Greece always give each other high scores, Belgium and Holland tend to be good friends, the UK can often count on high votes from Ireland and vice-versa, the former Yugoslav Republics give each other good points... But rather than seeing this as a complot, I'd say it's not unnormal that you share a general taste in music with a neighbouring country.

Apart from that, the few winners coming from those countries got high scores from all other countries, not just from their neighbours. Check Ukraine last year: almost all countries gave Ruslana a decent score, it was not just the neighbours. You can never win a festival like this with only votes from neighbouring countries, if a song wins it's because the majority of Europe (East and West !) agreed it was the best song.

18/05/2005, 11:24 PM
I like Poland yeah, would be interesting to make a good trip there. Cities like Krakow are even protected entirely as cultural heritage, makes me expect the best for a possible trip... And forgive me for this note, but I have never ever seen an ugly Polish girl yet. Man, talking of totty :eek: Maybe it's not a good idea for me or any single man to make that holiday, it could be bad for the heart...

As for the lack of Polish folk elements in the music: that goes for every country more or less. Ireland should enter a folk entry (except for Eimaer Quinn can't think of one) and preferably in Gaelige. The UK never ever even considered sending a band from the Scottish Highlands with some bagpipes music. Even countries such as Turkey sing in English nowadays...
Lebanon participates for the 1st time, I'm curious if they will keep the folk alive.

Apart from that, the few winners coming from those countries got high scores from all other countries, not just from their neighbours. Check Ukraine last year: almost all countries gave Ruslana a decent score, it was not just the neighbours. You can never win a festival like this with only votes from neighbouring countries, if a song wins it's because the majority of Europe (East and West !) agreed it was the best song.

:D Sorry Gerrit ugly Polish girls do exist. I have been in Poland 4 times, Krakow is wonderful, I think you will fall in love with it, I did. Funny, Polish women are generally very beautiful, nice features, some are too skinny though, but the men are not good-looking. Women may be pretty there but their personalities are not, no craic, can be miserable and yappy and a lot of them are gold-diggers. My boyfriend is half Polish/half Spanish so it helps in the looks department :D

The Welsh and Scottish have some wonderland traditional musicians, but true, this would never be considered by the UK. Actually AFAIK, Lebanon has pulled out of the competition, something to do with them not wanting to show the Israeli entrant on Lebanese TV :rolleyes:

19/05/2005, 3:08 AM
Are they sisters??? And here's me thinking you were taking this seriously :rolleyes: :D

Well Ms Pedantic, you correct mypost's error. You can't, can you? :)

Natalia Podalskaya will represent Russia, with a song that will attract the anti-Bush voters. :rolleyes: :(

19/05/2005, 3:46 AM
BTW, what did fellow Eurovision-watchers here think of TATU participating for Russia ?? It was so bizarre, the Belgian media didn't talk about the songs at all ; it was all about "will they do French kissing on stage or not ?" (the ESC committee had threatened Russian disqualification if they'd do). In the end they'd better had written a bit less about that and a bit more about the participating songs, as TATU behaved very well and did nothing shocking... Much a talk about nothing, and then they didn't even win the contest despite being the chat of the day all weeks before the actual contest.

I thought they were certainties to win in Riga, given their popularity at the time. They would have won, as their song was good, but they sung it in Russian, and it cost them votes. No song has won singing in their native language since Dana International won for Israel in 1998. Tatu came third in the contest, and haven't performed in public since.

Belgium were among the favourites to win last year, but failed spectacularly. Xandee's song, finished with 7 points in joint 22nd place, level with Ireland. Unfortunately, Belgium's song this year is a complete waste of time. Nuno Resende looks completely bored on stage performing, and the song won't qualify for the final. For the uninitiated, he's Chris Doran mark II. And look what happened to him....

Now for the good news... Ireland's final semi dress rehearsal was well received by those present in the hall. The bad news, is that the other countries songs around the time of the Irish entry are so poor, that some viewers may well switch off before our performance. We are 4th country from the end of the semi-final, which is traditionally a good place to be, to get votes, and points.

Most countries are as usual, singing in English this year, but Andorra will sing in Catalan; while France, Belgium, and Monaco will sing in French. Some other countries will sing in their own language, and English. Good luck to all the semi-finalists.

10 countries will qualify for this year's Eurovision final. 15 will not. Hopefully, Ireland will get the 70 odd points we need to qualify for Saturday's final, by my next post. Failure to qualify, means it's the next flight home for the McCauls.

19/05/2005, 7:51 AM
Tatu are about to be relaunched as a straight pair. new album being produced by Trevor Horn .

Gerrit

The Flemish entrants would only be understood by The Dutch and some emigrant Afrikaans speakers which might account for Belgiumś lack of votes.
I liked Sandra Kimś effort but my favourite Belgium entry was by Telex. I even bought it. Came nowhere the first time Johnny logan won for Ireland in 1980

Partizan
19/05/2005, 10:37 AM
I liked Sandra Kimś effort but my favourite Belgium entry was by Telex. I even bought it. Came nowhere the first time Johnny logan won for Ireland in 1980

Youre a certified Euro loony... :eek:

-->cue the men in white coats arriving in an ambulance. :D

19/05/2005, 2:04 PM

Look what they are making donna wear, she look like a Roman soldier trapped in the 1980's :eek: :o

There are desperate measures being taken to find a different dress, she cannot wear that.....good news however is that rehearsals are going well, there is more emphasis on the Irish dancing...response is good, do think we'll qualify for final.

donna (http://www.esctoday.com/multimedia/gallery/130/56#picture)

19/05/2005, 5:31 PM
good news, the Irish camp have listened to the criticism and are changing donna's awful dress( see above post) Phew!

This is a link from the keith guy whose site is great (keithm utvinternet etc) he and his 2 colleagues do a daily write-up of the rehearsals etc. It is good.
Looking forward to Poland..... :D

Live write-up (http://www.livejournal.com/users/akoe/)

Roll on 20:00, I'll be watching on net (bbc) or maybe listening to radio2 :mad: , I don't have bbc 3 :mad:

19/05/2005, 6:37 PM
ill sleep easy knowing that donnas dress is being changed. can you email us all on foot.ie a daily report on the eurovision please kt?

19/05/2005, 6:47 PM
ill sleep easy knowing that donnas dress is being changed. can you email us all on foot.ie a daily report on the eurovision please kt?

are ya not watching it on bbc3/internet ya traitor? ;) I will update all you lazybones, and provide the Ireland number :D She is actually wearing trousers now and a black flat cap :confused: Come on hamish and support your muckers from athlone on RTE at 20:00

19/05/2005, 8:30 PM
well, at about the 20th song now-croatia (not bad looking actually, but craaaaap song) , was so p!ssed of cos i could not get the bbc internet streaming to work until half way through :mad: so i was watching a poor quality version on dutch tv :o i am enjoying it, that paddy guy is trying to be like terry wogan! he is not as funny though....watching bbc 3 now. bulgaria now, this is meant to be awful........ come on ireland :o

i missed austria at the beginning :mad: i like it.

the_bonk
19/05/2005, 8:38 PM
Israel to win

19/05/2005, 8:40 PM
well, that is ireland's turn gone, phew! it went well in my opinion, i was nervous for them, maybe cos they're young and it would be nice if it goes well and they get a good result. donna's voice came across really well, dancing was great, but i did not really see that camera sweep across the dancers a la riverdance style that was meant to happen, oh well. i hope they get through, they were lumbered with weak lyrics and not the best song, but they have done their best

good luck

number coming up

jesus, slovenia and bulgaria were awful :mad:

Israel to win

hey cheeky bonk! how's it going? What did u think of ireland? honestly :o

oh, please vote for ireland will you, please? :D

the_bonk
19/05/2005, 8:45 PM
hey cheeky bonk! how's it going? What did u think of ireland? honestly :o

oh, please vote for ireland will you, please? :D
Ill vote Ireland if you vote Israel
DEAL?

19/05/2005, 8:53 PM
Ill vote Ireland if you vote Israel
DEAL?

eh...ok then, we need the votes :o

good thing is u can vote a few songs so, i will vote israel (by force!!), austria, poland and ireland.

ok all in the uk, for ireland

sms 61166 22

phone 09011 21 31 22

vote please

the_bonk
19/05/2005, 8:57 PM
Ireland has one from Israel ....LOL

Good Luck ( you will need it ) ;)

19/05/2005, 9:00 PM
Ireland has one from Israel ....LOL

Good Luck ( you will need it ) ;)

cheers, thought u would've voted more than once!!!! :D

well, I loved the Polish entry, when i heard it i loved it, now the performance, excellent, the costumes, beautiful, singing, dancing etc, ivan, the hunk stripping off for the gay vote. lovely jubbly he is. i really hope they get through, i voted for them anyway.

the_bonk
19/05/2005, 9:17 PM
israel

19/05/2005, 9:17 PM
raging!!!!!!!! no ireland(take heed you're a star), no poland, no austria, fecking raging!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

it is awful, bonk, look at some of the craaaap that got in, moldova, latvia, romania, norway, croatia, denmark. FFS :mad:

are u sure u voted?

congrats but i am raging, maybe ireland did not deserve to go through, but austria and poland did, the voting is awful........

the_bonk
19/05/2005, 9:24 PM
[QUOTE=kerr's tribe]

are u sure u voted?

[QUOTE]

Yep, sorry you didnt quilify .

ccfcgirl
19/05/2005, 9:32 PM
dISSAPOINTING Ireland didnt get through to the final stages.

19/05/2005, 9:45 PM
cheers bonk, yeah disappointing for young donna, she has all the talent, and she was lumbered with a weak singer and a bad song, would love to have been able to watch them in the final, hope they are not gutted. But i am mostly raging at the pathetic voting, terry wogan will be slitting his wrists at what got through!! i think yugoslavia should be formed again, to stop this silly balkan voting"!!!!!!! ;) :D

My Poland and My Austria, raging!!!!!!! :mad:

19/05/2005, 11:33 PM
dISSAPOINTING Ireland didnt get through to the final stages.

is it feck we doont have a worry to be made fools of.

19/05/2005, 11:36 PM
If Ireland would every like to do something meaningful again in this competition (though the words Eurosong and meaningful don't really go together) then take the vote away from the people. Democracy doesn't work damnit.

19/05/2005, 11:40 PM
If Ireland would every like to do something meaningful again in this competition (though the words Eurosong and meaningful don't really go together) then take the vote away from the people. Democracy doesn't work damnit.

Hear hear!!, Linda Martin will be smug tonight, she did not agree with the mcCauls at all. I call for the re-union of Yugoslavia now!!! :D

even holland did not make it, she was a great singer.. :mad:

i can't remember, does this mean we miss a year or does that only happen when you come in the last 4 or something. Bring back Johnny Logan and he will find us a good song&singer. Down with 'You're a Star'!!!!

I look forward to mypost's post sometime tonight, must be devastated, he had more belief in the mccaul's than me. :rolleyes:

19/05/2005, 11:47 PM
I call for the re-union of Yugoslavia now!!! :D

Along with the rebirth of the Soviet Union and the restoration of Danish rule over Scandinavia and the rebuilding of the Holy Roman Empire. ;)

Though Slovenia has a semi-tele voting semi-judge panel system and the least popular guy somehow got in. I'm not sure how Ireland should work it. It seems all of the entrants are relatively dry on talent and or originality anyway.

i can't remember, does this mean we miss a year or does that only happen when you come in the last 4 or something. Bring back Johnny Logan and he will find us a good song&singer. Down with 'You're a Star'!!!!

I look forward to mypost's post sometime tonight, must be devastated, he had more belief in the mccaul's than me. :rolleyes:

Good question (or perhaps not given the general topic :p ). I think only the dead last get relegated out. We won't find out how horrendus we did until after the final voting on Saturday as they don't want to reveal the votes of this round as if may affect later voting.

20/05/2005, 12:01 AM
Good question (or perhaps not given the general topic :p ). I think only the dead last get relegated out. We won't find out how horrendus we did until after the final voting on Saturday as they don't want to reveal the votes of this round as if may affect later voting.

yeah but is it the last few of the final that get relegated for a year......the semi-final does not count i think, we just have to qualify again :rolleyes: we did get relegated not that long ago i remember......

Along with the rebirth of the Soviet Union and the restoration of Danish rule over Scandinavia and the rebuilding of the Holy Roman Empire. ;)

Though Slovenia has a semi-tele voting semi-judge panel system and the least popular guy somehow got in. I'm not sure how Ireland should work it. It seems all of the entrants are relatively dry on talent and or originality anyway.

yeah!!!! then we just might win something!!! :D

20/05/2005, 12:03 AM
yeah but is it the last few of the final that get relegated for a year......the semi-final does not count i think, we just have to qualify again :rolleyes: we did get relegated not that long ago i remember......

Jaysus look at me discussing this thing like it was serious. :o Influence of the girlfriend I tell you. :eek:

20/05/2005, 12:09 AM
Jaysus look at me discussing this thing like it was serious. :o Influence of the girlfriend I tell you. :eek:

wise lady, she's a fan then, i take it? It is so bloody addictive though :o

20/05/2005, 12:11 AM
wise lady, she's a fan then, i take it? It is so bloody addictive though :o

Sort of. She also comes from Slovenia so we look at each other's entrants and laugh and then vote for our respective entrants anyway. :D

20/05/2005, 12:15 AM
Sort of. She also comes from Slovenia so we look at each other's entrants and laugh and then vote for our respective entrants anyway. :D

oh right, they had Omar singing tonight(i think) Jesus , that was bad, I don't think it went through, thank God. No offence... :D

20/05/2005, 12:17 AM
oh right, they had Omar singing tonight(i think) Jesus , that was bad, I don't think it went through, thank God. No offence... :D

He was an accidental entrant of their bizarre voting system and she was pleased to see him out. :p

She's disgusted the Croatian entrant got through. ;)

20/05/2005, 12:23 AM
He was an accidental entrant of their bizarre voting system and she was pleased to see him out. :p

She's disgusted the Croatian entrant got through. ;)

It was craaaaap, could not believe croatia got through, i like the sound of croatian sung, but it was utter sh!te

20/05/2005, 12:24 AM
It was craaaaap, could not believe croatia got through, i like the sound of croatian sung, but it was utter sh!te

It's the same kind of pish they always enter. Totally their type of music. That's Adriatic style.

20/05/2005, 3:47 AM
Holy ****!!!!!!!

I think that best sums up what most people think about the result, don't you???

As expected, most of the countries that qualified were Eastern ones. The actual songs from those countries was irrelevant. Croatia, and Macedonia qualified from the "Balkan Bloc". Hungary, Israel, Moldova, and Romania qualified with Latvia too. Denmark, and Norway went through from the "Scandinavian" block, while Switzerland won the only Western spot, (with an Estonian group).

No Iceland, No Ireland, No Belgium, No Holland, No Portugal. See a pattern here...?? Western countries hopelessly fail in the contest once again. Most of my favourites failed, was particularly disappointed for Iceland, Lithuania, Estonia, and Belarus. They had good songs, but failed to make it.

So it's back to the drawing board for us, and the semi final again next year. YAS will need another re-think next year. The first year we got the last 2004 final qualifying spot, while last year and this year we failed to qualify for this year's final.

People complain about the voting system in Eurovision, but it's the same principle as what happens in YAS, where guess what, everyone votes for their local singer, every week!!! As we can't vote for ourselves in Eurovision, maybe RTE/Eircom should come up with a system where you can't vote for the singer from your local area in YAS also. Otherwise drop the programme, and come up with a new formula for selecting our participant, and song for the contest.

People tell me often that Eurovision is s-hit. But where else would you get global televisual audience of 1 Billion every year? The truth is that it's a contest of a very high standard nowadays, if you don't take the contest seriously, and if you don't have the right package(artist, song, act, PR) you'll get humiliated on the night. Yes, we in Ireland are at a disadvantage with the way the voting system is now, but we don't help ourselves when we send talentless wannabees, and useless amateurs to sing crap songs, in front of a massive TV audience. The Eastern European countries send their best artists to Eurovision, select good songs, spend vast amounts of money to support them with pr trips to other countries, thereby creating awareness of them to gain votes, and treat the contest seriously. That brings them their success. That's what we need to do. Until we treat the contest seriously, and stop dismissing it as s-hit, we cannot compete with them in Eurovision. :(

Ringo
20/05/2005, 6:47 AM
Once again Westmeath disgrace the country :p

20/05/2005, 7:15 AM
Morning Ireland this morning and they McCauls are on saying it's the voting system - the same lame excuse as the last three years about Eastern European countries voting for each other....

If that's the case, well how come all these fookin countries were in the bloody semi final in the first place? Surely they'd be voted through in the main event and the whole semi would be "western" countries.

Shít song, shít format to pick the song and the singers, but RTE make too much money out of it so not willing to go back to the old ways, and then use their "news" programmes to propogate the myth about voting. Afterall didn't seem to effect Israel too much last night.

20/05/2005, 8:32 AM
Once again Westmeath disgrace the country :p

Less of that Ringo :p

Partizan
20/05/2005, 10:02 AM
its the first plane home and back to the halting site for Donna and Joseph. :D

Ringo
20/05/2005, 10:27 AM
its the first plane home and back to the halting site for Donna and Joseph. :D

Pa Doran from last year'll be waiting for them :D

Partizan
20/05/2005, 10:30 AM
Its Doran Ringo..

He's as knackerino as you come.

20/05/2005, 4:23 PM
No Iceland, No Ireland, No Belgium, No Holland, No Portugal. See a pattern here...?? Western countries hopelessly fail in the contest once again. Most of my favourites failed, was particularly disappointed for Iceland, Lithuania, Estonia, and Belarus. They had good songs, but failed to make it.

:(

In fairness, Iceland c*cked it up with the vocals, Belgium deserved to be shot on the spot, Holland was a tribute to Whitney Houston, but i liked it, Portugal were pretty pathetic. And Ireland, well, Karl Broderick is partly to blame for that, his lyrics were childish etc etc.

So it was not all down to eastern voting; Poland, Lithuania, Estonia and Belarus all missed out. The Eurovision seems to be extremely popular in the new smaller countries, former Yugoslavia, and are fanatical about voting, people in the western countries are not as excited about eurovision anymore.

I think the voting should have been open for longer, i only was able to call 5 times! And the songs towards the end of the show had to wait a lot longer to get the number.

Gerrit
21/05/2005, 12:36 AM
Just pointing out that televoting changed nothing: juries also 'favoured' neighbours, it's just because there were less Eastern European participants that it was less remarkable but it happened all the time as well. And can you blame Croatia for sharing a more or less same general taste and culture in music when they're close to each other ?!

"Belgium to be shot on the spot" :eek: But TBH I'm not surprised to read that. Belgium has a good music scene but many talented bands seem not interested in Eurovision anymore, mainly ex-stars who try to re-boost their carreer. The most talented bands will enter national competitions who usually get more attention from local media and audience, same happened in Italy where the San Remo festival was seen as more important than Eurovision. And after a while Italy just didn't bother anymore to take part...